My Rainy Days

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 4,111 users)
  • Ranked: #951
  • Popularity: #438
  • Watchers: 7,635

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

23%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

9 edits
6 edits
4 edits
4 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
addicted2dramas
28 people found this review helpful
Sep 4, 2012
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I picked out this movie randomly by looking at the poster. While I expected an immature girl falling in love with her professor, it turned out to be different from what I thought. It was a sweet and touching story. Also, it has its light moments and the rest of it was kind of serious. It was a fairly engrossing film. I cared about the characters and was fairly interested in the plot till the end.

A relationship between a 17 year old girl and a 35 year old guy seems creepy, and if not portrayed correctly it can go terribly wrong. However, this has to be one of the best student-teacher relationships that I have seen. They were very likable together and none of it seemed forced or stupid. Both the older guy and the younger girl had solid reasons to fall for someone so unexpected. I really liked their love. And I was touched by the girl. In the beginning, she is a bad girl. As in real bad- she works as a prostitute and bullies others. When it seemed like she hardly had any redeeming qualities, she changes completely. It's basically about character development which was the focus point of the story. The girl turns into a very nice and serious person. She stops fooling around, studies hard and changes her ways entirely.

The best thing about their relationship was that she changes a depressed, anti-social person to a happy and expressive person. And while she seems so mature in front of her friends, she acts exactly her age with her teacher. She is attracted to his serious side and he falls for her youthfulness. It was very sweet to watch them together.

Another good thing was that we get informed of the incoming "serious" problems beforehand in the first scene itself. I hate when things drop in on the viewer unexpectedly, out of nowhere! I would have liked to focus a bit more on how she became a bad girl because I found that rather interesting.

The movie has a fairly good star cast and I particularly liked the main actress. She was pretty and was able to act well. I also loved the clothes she wore throughout the film. She even made carrying umbrellas look trendy! She had a pretty magnetic personality. I was also happy with the direction of the film. It was not a well written screenplay and there were a lot of inconsistencies with the plot and pace. But that part gets compensated with good cinematography. Even the soundtrack is cool. I loved the songs they played in the background, plus they were in English so I will probably download the soundtrack later.

Anyway, the movie is overall a very nice effort from the director and writers. While it is not THE best, but it is still great and manages to get its point across to the viewer. It made good sense.

I will definitely rewatch it again when I feel like it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
indigox
33 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
I didn't know whether to watch this film or not, I'd never seen the lead actress in anything before and wasn't crazy about the age gap between the leads (I'm shamefully notorious for picking dramas and movies with ikemen male leads). However I'm glad I gave it a shot because this is one of the most enjoyable Japanese films I've ever seen.

Sasaki Nozomi was outstanding as Rio, I was seriously impressed with her ability to master every emotion out there from tragic lover to cold ice queen to bubbly school girl. I often find angsty characters a bit of a bore however hard their lives are but I loved Rio! Her friends were equally likable and I almost wished we could have seen a bit more of them but overall I'm glad the story didn't try and steer off into millions of sub-plots that never get developed like a lot of movies do.

The thing I loved most about this film however was Tanihara Shosuke as Kouki. He was such an ordinary guy, nothing special about him, but the way we saw him through Rio's eyes made him appear to be the most special man on the planet. I was initially put off by the age gap but a few minutes into this film and it was completely forgotten. Straight after watching the film test yourself, would you pick Kouki over a thousand Matsujuns? I felt I could and would (if such a miracle ever occurred).

The story was touching, sad and the leads relationship felt very real, overall a romantic, interesting and heartbreaking film.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hugz_4_mE
17 people found this review helpful
Feb 28, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
They picked the perfect girl to play Rio!.. Her character has so many different personalities and she did an awsome job!.. Professor Ozawa is just an amazing actor and also hot!.. they had a gr8 chemistry and the story itself was great, it shows what is happening in society these days!.. Because I am a single-mom with a daughter, some issues in the movie got me thinking about my own daughter's safety! I AM NOT TALKING ABOUT THE AGE-GAP BUT OTHER ISSUES!(u will know if you watch it lol)... A MUST-WATCH MOVIE AND I LOVEEEEE IT....The age-gap actually was the best part of it hehehehehe!! they sooo cute!..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
11 people found this review helpful
Aug 28, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
First, the actress that plays Rio is brilliant! She managed to capture the different sides to her character. She was able to play manipulative, brave, strong, insincere, and mean as well as sweet, weak, sincere, cute, lovable, and vulnerable. I thought the professor was quite cute in the way he was shy about his feelings for Rio. Although normally I would say its very strange for a romantic relationship to develop between a couple that is 18 years a part, the movie managed to convince me otherwise. I felt emotionally invested in these characters and wanted them to be together. I was satisfied with the ending. Overall this was a very heartbreaking but beautiful movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
herojjsachiko
8 people found this review helpful
Jul 29, 2013
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
Tenshi no Koi is a well written love story with a deep message.

The aspect that impressed me the most was the change of the protagonists.. both had lost interest in life (in a different way and for different reasons), but after they met, Rio goes back to being a girl her age who has to confront with her first love and Kouki, who had lost hope, find himself wanting more time..

Although some aspects have been simplified, I think this is a wonderful movie, it makes you realize that for no reason you should give up living, that fate brings you to unexpected twists and that there is always hope..

The acting was very good and the plot, although it has classical elements, it's very special in its own way.. with a hint of manga :3

The OST is touching but not outstanding..


Ps: sorry for my English

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
GirlOfTheEast
6 people found this review helpful
Jan 11, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Whaaa I really liked watching this. I watched it because there was an article written on mydramalist about memorable kisses. So, I though it was a cute kiss and liked the student-teacher love plot. I decided to watch in because I was bored, not really caring about watching a trailer or whatsoever.

Surprisingly it was not one of those stereotypical teacher-student love stories. The movie was really interesting. Right from the start it grasped my attention.

The main role Ozawa Rio (Sasaki Nozomi) is really pretty like a doll and her character is just great. No wonder she has been modeling for so many years. She makes a grand evolution in her character. I like it when love changes people hihi. Also her acting skills awesome.

Trough at the movie there is a message that you'll definitely catch and will let you think about your own lifestyle.

If you doubt watching this, just do so! You wont regret it.
This is my first review I'm writing so that should say something. If you still are not convinced, watch a preview and check out the high rankings for this movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Konochi
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
I found this movie while looking for an over movie. But I don't regret watching it. The actors are great and I loved the music.

It feels like a cheerful movie most of the time, but this is a serious story. Of people living and spending time with each others while hiding their past.

So it's a really beautiful story and a good movie !!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kuroh Mayuri
3 people found this review helpful
May 4, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Absolutely stunning.

I love the premise and how the story isn't afraid to show controversial realities that people tend to avoid or just flat out ignore. The ending made me cry but what made me appreciate this more is the character development. Not only is this seen through a person's actions but through multiple relationships as well. It really emphasizes the importance of friendship and the bond between two people just as much as the actual romance.

The cinematography is great, actors are on point. I love how they utilize a lot of foreshadowing. How they imply that the end can still become a beginning. I LOVE Kouki, he is such an adorable man. The main leads' chemistry is beyond my expectations.

Surely a must watch! Planning to rewatch it a number of times :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dramaqueen4life
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 21, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
The story seems pretty uninteresting at first look but everything you know would be proven worng
Its not about this creepy\disgusting relationship between an older guy younger woman but more of this relationship between two people who learn to love like they had never before.
the girl turns the world around for the guy by turning this anti social guy into one who starts coming out of his shell and being comfortable with it
The girl is such a 'bad' girl in all sense that it makes one wonder does such type of girls exist..but it turns out she is human after all..;)..her character growth is so vast from being a girl with no morals to someone who stops being a prostitute after just one meeting with a guy..Its too drastic and that's why i loved it..Sazaki Nonomi is just perfect for this role and so convincing as a sophisticated prostitute and a 17 year old at the same time
Tanihara Sosuki is one good actor.Loved him in love shuffle but here i loved him in his anti social stance who just keeps counting his days left instead of the moments he's lived before the inevitable day comes..

The chemistry is heartbreaking as we see this young girl,her heart full wth love trying to make this man fall in love with her.her aggression and energy makes up for the fact that she is a 17 year old girl..first time in love and that this love is there to stay.She turns into such a kind and caring person that it makes me believe that love turns us into better human beings
the music was so pretty and lovable

The romance will probably stick to me all my life..and it has got one of the best kisses..not the lingering ones i like..but those short ones i rarely love..a few seconds where all falls away and click..its gone but the felings remain..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kalahara
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 5, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
When I first started watching this film I thought... What have I gotten myself into? But then it takes a surprising twist on the lead characters I would say the theme to this story is that how one person can come in and change the course of your life. I found the lead actress's in this delightful and rather fascinating to watch in how she keeps changing in her role. There is sort of a dark undertone to the lives the girls are leading so prepare yourself for that but the romance that develops between Rio and the professor makes you see past the age difference. I was not disappointed with the ending.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
NewKDramaAddict
4 people found this review helpful
Jan 11, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I am in awe! Awe, because this is a really great story! I had no idea going in that this would cover subject matters that I never would have believe would be covered in a Japanese movie. I was duly impressed with the acting of both leads. Being relatively new to watching Japanese movies, I was really surprised at the storyline. I totally enjoyed it. I cried three times which although is not a rarity for me, the moments were very sad and endearing. The ending could not have been more perfect.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
shuurei
3 people found this review helpful
Jan 14, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I just finished watching this movie and must say it was worth my time. The leads are both good looking and has great chemistry, the story though a bit unrealistic has its own merit. What i like about this one is the feel-good feeling almost all of the entire movie. the lead actress handles her character really well. A bit sad but a must- watch.
Was this review helpful to you?