Let's Eat (2013) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 5,743 users)
  • Ranked: #1150
  • Popularity: #291
  • Watchers: 11,983

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

41 edits
18 edits
11 edits
7 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
tvN Dramas
150 titles 16 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
confused_student
6 people found this review helpful
Apr 16, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Started watching this because of eat your kimchi's black day livechat and I got hooked so much so that I pulled an allnighter to complete it. It was so adorable and everyone was quite likable and realistic. The food shots were soo well done but I only wish those scenes were a bit shorter because I can only watch someone eat and have orgasms over food for so long (I skipped over a lot of those scenes). One thing I will say was I didn't think this show was going to be so dramatic and creepy i thought it was going to be an easygoing drama but I thoroughly enjoyed it for what it was

NOTE: music selection was awesome!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
meanie
18 people found this review helpful
Mar 3, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This must be one of the most underrated dramas. I'm surprised it hasn't made it into the top 10 recent dramas. Though there are no big name stars, this has to be one of the best dramas that I've seen and reviewed in the last year.

The story is fresh, there's a comedic element, no cliches, a mystery that keeps you guessing (at least till some episodes in) and a fixation on food that makes me want to put my coat on, buy a ticket and fly to Korea to eat what they're eating in each episode!

The main cast do a great job - I love all of the main characters, and they are totally believable in a fun and endearing way. I'd love to live next door to these guys! Should watch this!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WonByungHoon
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 26, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
One word foodporn. This show was all about food and eating from ep 1 to 16 and sometimes 3 times an episode. I liked it because it dint have the crazy ex syndrome. It was all fun and friendly with a lil bit of spookiness. Dojoon was just eye candy and though he talked fast i just could stop staring and longed to see him. He was a liar, player and straight forward guy. My favorite has always been soo kyung. Her acting has always been a hilarious character like in "soul mate and agent oh". I liked how enthusiastic she was about food and eating it, she made us want to eat. The other hilarious characters were attoney kim and oh. They dint really have to do any practice, just their movements and acting made u laugh out loud. Funny by nature.attoney oh was just oblivious to the end just thinking that everyone wanted a piece of her
I dint give it a 10 coz they took too much time focusing on eating that it got monotonous also some hanging and cliché moments.
The theme music was actually weirdly good coz the lyrics is about food. (lets eat by k jun)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
filovedrama
4 people found this review helpful
Feb 10, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.0
WARNING: Watching this drama when you are hungry and/or on a diet may be an extremely bad idea. If you do choose to do, accompany each episode with food LOL

As you can tell from the warning, this is a food-based drama so it showcases a lot of foods. Adding to the blend of genres this drama has, it's also a combination of romance, mystery, and comedy. I went into this drama expecting very little but ended up being a devout fan. The mystery angle of this drama was very refreshing and the overall pace of the drama was excellent. In my opinion, the romance is very practical with the setup of the characters' circumstances compared to most other K-dramas. It wasn't the main focus of the show but nevertheless the couple was cute on-screen.

I won't lie that I had some negative misconceptions about Doojoon's acting before watching the drama. I didn't expect a lot but his acting is fantastic here and he gave the role some great justice. As for Lee Soo Kyung, I was already a fan of her acting since "Call of the Country." Her acting skills never fail to impress me. The other characters were lovable as well and I'd say that everyone's action was smooth like butter, almost very natural. It shows the maturity of the actors in the show with the direction of the production.

The OST for this drama is something I'll say. A hilariously catchy song by K.Jun is the main insert. I can't believe I ended up liking this song so much. It shows how much of a dork I can be but I thoroughly enjoyed the music in this.

Overall, tasty drama with some elements of surprise. It is the kind of drama that you can slowly sink into. Definitely a recommended watch for all kinds of drama watchers.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jo-hannah
6 people found this review helpful
Apr 26, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers
How I thought it was gonna be / how it really was:

1. I wasn't planning to watch this drama because I thought it was gonna be a drama only about food and relationships around food and nothing else but food... But I was totally wrong. It's true that food takes a really important place in this drama, and it will definitely make you hungry to death while watching it and you can even take note of some recipes, but I think that food was just an excuse for the characters to interact between them and it also worked as a stress relief for them, but nothing more, Yes! food is very important in this drama but is not boring because of that and is not all about food food food all the time.

2. I was also expecting this drama to be a super funny and light rom-com, but HELL NO! this drama has so many genres embedded altogether that you don't really know what to expect next. Sometimes the drama literally creeped the hell out of me, sometimes it was really funny, and sometimes it was totaly odd, and definitely this drama is gonna make you doubt of almost every character at least once.

3. The romance in this drama totally takes a second, or even a third place, writers definitely weren't interested on create a love story as the main topic of this show. The relationships and the interactions the character had between them didn't unfold along a love story development, but they took their own courses. If you are expecting a cute, funny, cheesy love story, then don't watch this drama.

What could have been done better? (may have SPOILERS):

1. The whole creepy- killer-thief story could have been done way better, I really wanted this drama to focus on it, but it just took a second place in the story and there were episodes that I was expecting to see some progress about finding out who the killer was, but writers just didn't give us clues to find out, sometimes it felt like they had totally forgot about the killer story and at the end of the episode they were like: Oh! true! we created a killer we have to talk about him a little, I totally forgot! TT_TT I wanted that this creepy background that the first episodes gave us could drive me crazy the entire week thinking who could be the bad guy.

2. I never actually rooted for any couple: I loved the main male lead and the second male lead too, but I didn't feel any sparks when they were interacting with our heroine, it actually felt kind of awkward sometimes (even with the main male lead), that's why I never understood why she fell in love with him, *spoiler* I know that she started to see him in a different way when she found out that he was the blogger of her favorite food blog, but it just didn't feel like a true and honest love feeling. What I mean is that love didn't have enough ground to grow and to develop and to be believable.

Should you watch it then?

Yes! this drama is a good drama, it wasn't flawless but if you want something different from the typical k drama, then watch it, you'll enjoy it...At least I did. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Dana
5 people found this review helpful
Jul 13, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
The most popular opinion I saw about Let's Eat when initially researching it was that it will make you want to eat. A LOT. Psshhh, I thought. I've seen a few food dramas, and none of them really made me want to stuff my face the way people were describing. And besides, sometimes Korean food in dramas doesn't look that appetizing. Live octopus? Ew. Pass.

Let me tell you how wrong I was. I've never wanted to eat so much in my life. It's like I was pregnant, had PMS, and was nearly starved to death at the exact same time. My mouth was watering for the entire sixteen episodes, and my bathroom scale had a big frowny face when I finally finished. I ate enough food to feed a small village - SO embarrassing. But, it's one of the best dramas I've ever seen to satisfy a curiosity about Korean food. They take the time to talk about the ingredients, the cooking methods, the tastes, the textures, and it was all accompanied by excellent filming angles to best show the food. Some dubbed it food porn, and they were so right. From the visual feast to the noises the actors were making while eating, it's a very appropriate term.

While I don't think that the plot was the best, it suited the drama. I wasn't overwhelmed, and it added depth to each scene. It was a complement to the real focus of the drama - the food and the bonding experiences of eating with others. The characters and soundtrack helped round everything out. They were exactly what I'm beginning to expect from tvN dramas - a bit strange and quirky...yet endearing.

Let's Eat had many slice-of-life elements. I felt as if I was there, living in their apartment building and enjoying meals with them. It was so comforting and easy. There'll be romance, but it's pretty slow to progress. The characters have to bond over food for quite awhile before opening themselves up to love. It was a lot like the other plot lines - understated, but a true complement to the food.

Overall, a great drama. My re-watch value is a bit lower because plot and romance are the biggest reasons why I come back to a drama. They were simple and endearing here - just not at the binge re-watch level for me. However, when I'm in the mood for a food drama, this will now be my go-to show. If you are thinking of watching it, be prepared for a drama that will warm your heart, but make sure to lock yourself away from any food. I wish I was kidding. I'm not.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DirtyTeddy
16 people found this review helpful
Jan 16, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
I wanted to wait until the last episode to give this drama a 10, 'cause you never know... (I can't count the number of disapointments I've had because of bad endings), BUT, I coudn't wait and I was right : with every new episode I got more and more excitment and expectations about Let's Eat, I HAD to give it a 10. And, the end wasn't a disapointment.

Why did I started to watch it, even if I'm not usually a fan of food related dramas ? I'm on a diet u.u Why do I continue even knowing that every week I destroy six days of hard efforts ? The acting, the story line, even the music (which is not great but nice nonetheless) but, most of all the characters (even more than the food-porn ! We'll talk about it later ^^).

All of them, and I mean it, are good. The two main actors, Lee SooKyung and DooJoon (whom I really discovered in this series, other than for his obvious good looks) are flawless : the chemistry is great (amazing food compatibility and the same awkwardness !). I also see a lot of myself in SooKyung : I have roommates a bit like her and her neighbors, and I'm the eternal single woman who have amazing talks with her dog and find relief in food u.u But god knows how boring it is to eat alone ! JinYi is too cute for her own good (I've got a friend who's exaaactly her, it's scary), but not anoying as this type of character usually is for me. Same with the lawyer : usually I hate or at least I am bored with this kind of characters and substories, here, it just give the exact good amont of funny moments without seeming completely artificial and usueless compared to the rest of the plot.

Yes, I also think that a drama about food can quickly become really boring, and there is effectively lots and lots of long and terrible eating scenes that make you crave for anything in your fridge (really anything T_T). But what is refreshing in this drama is the great balance between food-porn, craziness (this drama has a craziness level equivalent to a good Jdrama... and Jdramas can go really far sometimes...) and realistic themes that make us sympathize with the characters (here, I mostly think about the awkwardness for single persons in nowadays society who want to keep their private little world and at the same time crave for human contacts).

Conclusion ? Ignore the average ratings and just give it try, it deserves it : this drama is really the surprise of the year for me !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rachel
3 people found this review helpful
Nov 2, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I really enjoyed the characters in this show. The main female character, Soo Kyung, is very relatable, with her love for food and her insecurities as a divorcee in her 30s. The main male lead, Dae Young, is also well developed, an unusual character but relatable and mature in his own way. The second female lead, Jin Yi, is an important catalyst in the story and probably sees the most growth in the show, but perhaps not as relatable to me as the main female.

I've never seen Doojoon acting, and I know it's not his first acting project. I was pleasantly surprised that he did a good job in this show, but was probably helped by the fact that his character did not carry much emotional baggage or gravity.

The progression of the story arcs could have been improved. I mostly enjoyed the development of the love square (?), but the pace was definitely markedly slower compared to other dramas. The suspenseful story arcs were written to keep us on our toes, yet I felt that they fell flat and were resolved without much consequence for the overall story. Jin Yi's suspenseful arc also felt very rushed. The theme I enjoyed most was about single people living alone, but coming together to find family in each other. In this aspect, this drama reminded me of Flower Boy Next Door.

As someone who really enjoys her food, I did enjoy the food porn scenes. It took all my willpower not to stuff myself with food while watching these scenes. It's true that sometimes it felt like the screenplay went overboard with those scenes, but food does play an important part in this movie, sometimes helping to explain the characters' state of minds and the state of their relationships.

On the whole, this is a light and feel-good show with no high drama or angst, yet it kept me invested and gave me many laughs.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mariola
3 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
After months of having this title on my "to watch" list I decided to watch "Let's Eat" this week, then proceed to the "Let's Eat 2". Therefore, let me tell you, this drama is not only cute but super funny! Almost every episode made me laugh! I loved all the cast, even those who annoyed me slightly, won me over! I adored the two kids, the sister and main cast so much that is why I will continue to 2nd drama now after finishing this one.
Let me tell you, the food makes you hungry, the cast makes you laugh, the story flows nicely and if you are ready to laugh a lot this is a drama to watch or marathon! I have to say, after 2nd episode I honestly had to finish all in 72 hrs, and I did!
If Let's Eat 2 is as good as this one, I can't wait for more to come!!! Honestly, great entertainment here! :) :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Aspyre
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 5, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This drama can be described in two words: FOOD PORN.

If you're gonna watch an episode, keep in mind to have sacrifical food nearby, even if it's a small snack, because the meal consumption scenes will leave you hungry all the time.

So what's the plot? Well, here we have a few characters coping with their solitary lives, who bond through most simple, yet effective way ever - food times! When I was watching this drama, I often read comments about a 'foodie club' and I think that's pretty much the best description because their relationships were built and shaped through eating different and delicious meals (among other situations!). Of course, there's a bit of a murder mystery going on, just to add in a thrilling element to the story. But overall, it could be categorized as comedy, romance, friendship, suspense, mystery and slice of life.

It's been awhile since I've seen a good cast like this. Not only are the main characters very unique and different, but the supporting actors as well. We have a brash, confident, independent woman by the name Lee Soo Kyung, who often seems more of an old aunt being suspicious over everyone and plainly being harsh and unfriendly. But is that really so? It is through other characters that main heroine's role is brought out as it actually is, among everyone elses; both of her neighbours, each with their not so easy lives, her annoying boss and her friend's family, they're all well-expressed individuals with constant growth throughout the course of the drama itself. Among everyone mentioned, Lee Do Yeon made the most impact for me. That's because her character accumulated many social stereotypes that are blatanly shown by people surrounding her, which the writers have, in my opinion, deliberately made that way.

The opening song is fun; in fact, most of the songs were pretty good. There's also some karaoke scenes which enriched the sound section, so it's rather solid.

I suppose the rewatch value is okay, but seeing as the suspense would be gone, there's just the usual plot going on...which is, to be frank, nothing special. It's very interesting but it isn't anything revolutionary, unless you're amping up your hunger meter for some spicy chicken delivery. In that case, it's very recommended to watch it again.

So, taking into account the great acting, constant interest level through most episodes, well-thought-out relationships, shameless food porn scenes and a time well-spent, I rate this drama an 8.5. Reason for it not being a 9 is because the last two episodes were less exciting, there was a lack of romantic scenes and Yoon Soo Hee's character seemed toned down in acting quality when compared to anyone else. Overall, this drama made me realize the importance of enjoying your own food and hunting down local restaurants that serve Korean cuisine.

Recommended!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
gwenp29
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Warning: This is not for people on a diet ^_^ or fasting. There is a lot of food porn in this show.

I started this drama because the Eat Your Kimchi crew decided to watch it. I watched the first episode and I liked it but for some reason (I can't remeber what) I didn't continue after that. Yesterday, I decided to start episode 2. I couldn't stop. There's a little bit of everything. There's a bit of mystery, a little bit of romance, a little bit of comedy and a little bit of drama and tons of food porn. If you're wanting like full romance, you'll be a bit disappointed. There's romance but it's not the main focus of the show.

I love the cast. They made me want to eat whatever they're eating. I've watched Lee Soo Kyung in 2 dramas before this. Love her in Soulmate, hated her character in Color of Woman. I love her character here. Lee Doo Joon was not my bias in B2ST but he made me fall for him in this drama. Shim Hyung Tak was annoying in the beginning but then he captures your heart later on. Yoon So Hee, she's like the younger sister you want to protect because she's a bit naive and too trusting. The other casts are good. too.

The music was ok. It's not as overused as some OST's where they play it over and over but it's also not as memorable as the others.

I wish there's a list of the places they visited. Or at least a list of foods they ate. It makes me want to make a trip to the Korean grocery store. Overall, this is a great drama. A definite re-watch sometime later.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BdrMohamed
2 people found this review helpful
Apr 29, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Ok, that's funny :-D

Alot of laugh with the sarcastic way of acting which makes you feel happy and force you to smile

Also it's different. Yes it's about food and relationships but the unique thing about it that this drama
employed the food to serve the rest of the genres.

If you want a drama that's different and hilarious with romance this is your best choice.
Go ahead it's great :D
Was this review helpful to you?