Let's Eat (2013) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 5,743 users)
  • Ranked: #1150
  • Popularity: #291
  • Watchers: 11,984

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

41 edits
18 edits
11 edits
7 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
tvN Dramas
150 titles 16 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
helkwo
12 people found this review helpful
Feb 3, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is now one of my favourite dramas. It is a simple drama about people but really done well. The writing, directing and acting were all fabulously executed. I've never watched a drama where all the characters were so likeable as this. The way Korean food was presented here, just made me salivate every episode and I wonder whether the actors gained weight during the filming of this drama. I thoroughly enjoyed watching this drama and would recommend it to anyone looking for a light drama that makes you appreciate the simple things in life.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
2hyun Polaris
10 people found this review helpful
Jan 16, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I didn't want to watch Let's Eat at first.i mean,the name itself sounded boring.Don't get me wrong,i love food,but a drama about it?not so much.however,as i had nothing better to do,i started watching the drama,expecting to drop it at any point.i was pleasantly surprised though,coz i found my self enjoying it plus i didn't even feel the time passing by.i have finished watching the seventh episode and right now i'm impatiently waiting for the next episode to be subbed and released.the characters are all unique and the storyline is exciting!yes,they do eat..ALOT.but not to the extent where you yawn with boredom.the food looks so good that you just want to grab it off the screen and put it in your mouth.(and you don't even realize that while your stomach is grumbling,you're also learning about the korean cuisine).the main characters are loveable and their acting is great.i think this drama deserves more ratings!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
katslover
12 people found this review helpful
Jan 26, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This Drama is really cool and different. Every time I watch this drama makes me hungry.. lol..

Just as suggestion guys, have something to eat with you if you're gonna watch this drama..

Besides food, the story line is really interesting n have amazing casts.. Can't wait for this drama every week..
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
manicmuse
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 21, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 7.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I figured that I had avoided this series of dramas for long enough, and it seemed to be pretty popular, with good reviews, so I decided to finally give this one a try. It was nothing like I expected. It's a light hearted comedy, with a touch of romance and mystery, and an overwhelming abundance of food porn. I read "food porn" in a lot of reviews, and thought I knew what it meant, but this show gave me a whole new understanding of the term. If you're not a foodie, there's still plenty about this drama that may charm you, mainly the cast. If you hate the idea of watching people eat, turn away from this drama and never look back.

This show is not your standard romcom formula... the kind where most of the focus is placed on 2 characters, and the rest of the cast revolves around them. The center of the show is Soo Kyung, a bitter divorced woman living alone in an apartment complex, but it's also about all of the characters in her life... her coworkers, her bff, and most importantly her neighbors and her adorable dog. The story has a true ensemble feeling, where I actually cared about what was going on with all of the characters. The more I got to know them, the more I loved the show. There are no weak links, including the kids, and yes, even the dog (one of the show's best characters imo). So, why no perfect acting score? Well, because there are a couple of incidental characters that were too bad to ignore, and some really corny moments where the actors have to play up the comedy a bit too much for my liking.

This drama may be Soo Kyung's world, but she is certainly not my favorite of the bunch. She was even sometimes a bit annoying. Yoon Doo Joon as Dae Yeong is what drives the show. He's such an interesting character, and his weirdness, charm, and food rants made it easy for him to steal any scene he is in. Another scene stealer worth mentioning is Lee Do Yeon as Attorney Oh. It really bothers me that her looks are the constant punchline, but I think she took a role that could have been really superficial, and painful to watch, and made her truly funny. She's the quintessential character actress, and although I've seen her in bit parts before, in this show she shines. There's also super cute Yoon So Hee, who I think is worth mentioning. Even her sickeningly cute character has enough depth to make her much more than the stereotype suggests. Unfortunately all of the depth went into the characters, and none went into the plot.

The general story is... cute... and was engaging enough to hold my interest. 3 single neighbors becoming good friends is the basic premise, while loneliness and isolation being major themes. There's a little bit of romantic drama, and the obligatory love triangle, but don't expect too much focus on romantic moments. There is also a random murder mystery inserted, which I don't think worked. It gave the characters something to do, but it's hard to take a scary murder plot seriously in a show this silly. All that to say, if you're looking for an intriguing plot, this show doesn't have much to offer.

Then of course, as the title suggests, in each episode the characters have to find a reason to eat an obnoxious meal. I felt gluttonous just watching. I'm talking extreme close ups, and at least 5 whole minutes of lip-smacking, slo-mo chewing, and watching them eat food like they might actually reach an orgasm mid bite. This is the part that made me avoid this show for so long, but it ended up being one of the parts I anticipated the most in each episode. There was just something fascinating about watching food being enjoyed this much. I also felt a little like a food tourist, since not every dish was familiar. I even liked watching them eat foods that I hate, and I wasn't disgusted. Yes, sometimes I had to press pause to raid my fridge while watching, but it was less about making me hungry, and more about being inspired to appreciate food this much. I think it also makes you appreciate the company you keep when eating food.

Would I watch this show again? Maybe. I can see the appeal of revisiting these characters, but I should also confess that I've already started watching Let's Eat 2. You can say that I was hungry for more *groan* Sorry, I could not resist.

Overall, This show was easy to binge watch, and what it lacked in plot, it made up for in unique characters, laughs, and foodie moments. I'd say it's definitely worth giving it a chance, and I say that as a person who generally hates food centered shows. There's also some hidden depth underneath all of the silliness, which I appreciated, with a nice resolution at the end that got me a little bit in the feels.

I may be late to the table, but I'm glad I finally decided to watch. Sometimes it's good to try something new, that you may not think will suit your taste. It may not be joining my list of favorites, but it turns out that this show was exactly what I was craving.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Linky
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 6, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
One of the most pleasurable drama viewing experiences I've ever had. The characters were so lovable that they drew me into their world enough to make me binge watch this in just a couple days. It is a fun and light drama about everyday, quirky, cute singles and their friendships and crushes with a back drop of delicious food scenes. Some of the themes brought back memories of the days when I was single and lived alone. If you are the type of person who enjoys watching cooking shows for fun you will most likely love this. Every episode features 3-4 long scenes that showcase the food and the people enjoying it. I can see why some people might think there are too many food scenes but I enjoyed them to the last episode and found myself smiling gleefully along with the characters during these scenes. I thought this was a genius idea for a drama because there is never an awkward way to work the food theme into the plot since we all eat several times a day.

The romance builds slowly and organically. In fact halfway into the drama I was perfectly satisfied that this was just about friendship and food and being single. So as the romance started developing I was taken by surprise and delighted that they could so deftly work in a cute little romance and love rectangle into the show. Though the plot takes its time, I never felt bored because it is more about the people and the food than about finding out what happens next. And many scenes stand on their own as entertaining eye candy which makes it a good rewatch drama for me.

I loved all the characters but especially the 2 male leads. Yoon Doo Joon as Dae Yeong is so quirky, funny and likable - boundlessly nice but unpredictable and somewhat mysterious. I love his didactic food sermons and want to be his friend. Shim Hyung Tak as Attorney Kim is hilarious as the vain but endearingly heartsick boss. He is such a funny character - so handsome, yet ridiculous and lovable in his own way. He cracked me up.

There weren't any moments where I felt frustrated or annoyed with the plot or characters as I do when watching most dramas. There is a small mystery thriller sub plot worked in to provide a little extra drama. And I enjoyed this. It is handled lightly and not taken too seriously, but keeps you guessing.

Now I'm going to watch the sequel.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ShEy
2 people found this review helpful
May 1, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Story is average. There are a lot of scenarios that are not connected. characters that are not clear and some that suddenly popped up. This is 30% romance and 70% food.

Casting is okay. Roles are simple.

Music. Hmm its not actually music. There isn't a song that i remember because I feel that they did not pay more attention to it which is a critical part of creating a drama, matching the scenes with the perfect music. The one that caught my attention are the sound effects which made it a bit funny,
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Audrie
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 14, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Beware- this drama will definitely make you hungry! Besides that, this drama is jam-packed with food with a pinch of mystery that overall surprisingly worked together well. If you're looking for a easy drama without too many complications, this is it.

Story: I wouldn't have guessed that a series about food would be able to tie in a sense of mystery- but surprisingly, this drama had accomplished this. Besides the fact that every episode displayed food everywhere and made you crave for korean food, the backstory flowed well and did not become a hindrance as this drama stayed true to its rom-com genre. 16 episodes about people just eating food might be a turn-off to some, but in combination with a touch of mystery and comedy might change your mind.

Acting: The cast were amazing; especially the main cast as their portrayal truly made me like their characters. At the start, you may find some of them annoying in fact; but soon enough, they mature and you begin to like them.

Music: The opening theme was the best- I downloaded the track and the lyrics made me crack up in laugher, the opening theme was meant for this drama. The other tracks were pretty decent as well, but the thought of downloading them did not seriously occur in my mind.

Rewatch: I would have to think about rewatching it since I felt that the beginning was a bit draggy, however it was a decent drama; I would definitely watch it again for the comedy though.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplejoys
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 8, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I love how I get satisfied the most with dramas where I didn't expect much. Oh boy, what a lovely surprise Let's Eat was. It was one of the best underrated kdramas I've seen. Half romcom, half mystery, 100% food porn -- that's Let's Eat.

Its slice-of-life take with a hint of mockumentary is a refreshing combination, not your usual kdrama, and in this case it was nicely presented. It worked because the characters are interesting and relatable.

Lee Soo Kyung as Lee Soo Kyung is so easy to emphatize with despite her paranoia. It's easy to understand where she's coming from, why she's so guarded, except for the times she's eating. Her eating scenes are hilarious and she can easily beat Meg Ryan in orgasmic eating.

Yoon Doo Joon was super effective as Gu Dae Young. I've seen him at Splash Splash Love and both times I loved him. Gu Dae Young is a smooth talker, funny and weird, but you can easily see that he's considerate of others and that he's a genuinely nice guy. His love for food and its proper consumption is so funny and charming, I love how mock-angry he gets when someone says something ignorant about food. I always looked forward to his food spiels.

Yoon So Hee as Yin Ji, Soo Kyung and Dae Young's young neighbor, is so optimistic and amusingly dense. I normally get annoyed with such character but it was easy to like Yin Ji because she genuinely sees the good in people. I saw Yoon So Hee in Marriage Not Dating before, and I must say that I liked her more here.

The supporting characters are all funny although Oh Do Yeon the female lawyer sometimes got on my nerves for being so delusional. The real star though was the dog, Bara.

At the core of this drama is the message that no man can survive alone. Even if you live alone, you need people to lean on -- neighbors, officemates, families, friends. I liked that as the show progressed, I saw how the characters grew and built awesome friendships, most of the time through food.

My question at the end of every food scene -- which is a lot, btw -- is this: how did they not get fat while filming?! At least a third of each episode are just scenes of them eating. The food scenes are so long sometimes that I end up fast forwarding it. I mean, I love food but I was more interested at the stories of the characters.

Although this show was classified as romcom, the romance part didn't come until later and even then I didn't expect it. I really didn't see it coming but man, I loved it. I loved how it slowly developed and that words weren't needed to seal the deal. Which is why I was so sad when I learned that only Yoon Doo Joon starred in season 2. :(

The show could do away with the mystery, especially the second one, but I guess they needed some of it to establish the romance. It just sometimes felt that the mystery was forced.

Overall, Let's Eat was a real treat.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kingsqueen
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 29, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I enjoyed this drama. There was romance, humor, and a little side mystery, not to mention the absolute food porn! :)
There is a LOT of eating in this drama. It's pretty superficial and not very deep, but it's cute. The little mystery will keep you wondering, but otherwise it is just light and fun. If you are a foodie, you'll probably enjoy this a lot. I liked all the main actors also. Yoon Doo Joon really grew on me, and I adore Gu Dae Young as a character.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
0 people found this review helpful
Feb 14, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
One can say only one thing for sure about this drama and that is that the actors can eat. I never actually got the eating deliciously thing that apparently in Korea is a thing, but I finally got it. The actress can really eat deliciously. She does seem to enjoy every bite and more than that it makes you want to eat with her as well. So, this drama can really make you hungry. At the same time, the friendship dynamics between the neighbors were pretty nice and interesting to follow, though the romance was kind of slow and only happened towards the ending. The whole mystery thing was nice as well, although the food was more of the star of the show rather than that. So, all in all, a nice drama, but not a memorable one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pinkvanilla
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 8, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Let's Eat 1 & 2 - Finished this drama and its sequel about food. Watched both part 1& 2 before writing a review. It's great. For me, I would say, its a starter drama for anyone looking to dip their foot in the world of Kdramas, or asian dramas. It has a light story, a bit of suspense and a bit of romance, on both of them. They were made to be like each other but not the exact same plot. And of course, the spotlight on: FOOD. Now that I mentioned it, that was the only negative thing about these dramas, but in a good way (is there such a thing?)...since it spends massive amounts of time focusing on how each character eats and close up angles on food, it makes you very very hungry. So, either eat before watching, or eat while watching. You absolutely cannot eat after watching because you will be very hungry by then. Believe me, you won't be numb watching them focus on food. You will eat absolutely anything while watching this drama (like I did). Also watched this series because of Yoon Doo Joon Oppa, from Splash Splash Love. Also on part 2, there is Seo Hyun Jin Unnie from Temperature of Love. So those were a plus. These dramas are definitely recommended.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MelindaSy
0 people found this review helpful
Apr 15, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
A devil that camouflaged itself as an innocent guilty pleasure that lures and traps you with its food temptation; with no way of escaping.

This food/ comedy/ mystery drama simple yet refreshing premise is revolved around a daily life of 30s years old single, divorced and unfriendly Lee Soo Kyung (Lee Soo Kyung) who shared same apartment floor with quirky neighbors and worked at a small law firm. She has an eating obsession, and that's how she formed bonds with Goo Dae Young (Yoo Dae Joon), Yoon Jin Yi (Yoon So Hee), Kim Hak Moon (Shim Hyung Tak) and other characters. The quirky Goo Dae Young is full of unexpected surprises and will make you hysterically laugh - from his charmingly way with women, to constant bickering about who's better in food department with Lee Soo Kyung. The comedic trio of the law firm Kim Hak Moon (Shim Hyung Tak), Oh Do Yeon (Lee Do Yeon), Choi Kyung Shik (Jang Won Yeong) propelled this drama to a new level of comedic relief. Get ready to love not only the law firm's trio but all the supporting characters.

This drama is not without its flaws, of course. The romance between main leads lacking chemistry and a bit rushing towards the end. The mystery of a serial attacker has served little purpose in developing the story. The mystery plot could be written better. Not to mention, bunch of PPLs might slightly ruined the drama.

Need to relieve stress? Lose appetite? Watch Let's Eat. It's worth of 16 hours salivating in front of your screen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?