Boku no Ita Jikan (2014) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.6 (scored by 3,550 users)
  • Ranked: #271
  • Popularity: #369
  • Watchers: 10,000

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

19 edits
12 edits
8 edits
6 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Causes Ugly Crying /Heartbreaking
129 titles 77 loves 4
J-Drama
346 titles 43 loves
Favorite Dramas
260 titles 11 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
Juniko
78 people found this review helpful
May 4, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I didn't want to watch that drama. Truth is, I only started it because of Miura Haruma. But I'm glad I did.

I didn't want to watch this drama because I didn't want of another 1 Litre of Tears.(I loved that drama when I first watched it, but it really serves the purpose of making you cry and I'm kinda sick of the genre right now) But it's alright because this one is completely different.

The story is very realistic and not filled with self-pity. In fact, it's a good thing you see Takuto cry in the opening because he hardly does in the drama ( and the few time he does cry he makes sure you cry with him). I won't say much about the story because I don't want to spoil, but all I can say is : this is not a 1 Litre of Tears copy/paste, so don't worry.

Also, I really like how the characters were written. They all have their importance. Even the school girl, who seems pointless at first, actually have a very important part to play in this story. I even got some good surprises : the little brother, for example. I hated him first, but in the end of the drama he was one of my favorite characters of the show.

Acting : Splendid. Realistic. Impressing. Award worthy. That kind of awesome. And no I don't say that just because Haruma Miura knows how to cry. He knows how to make a character who wants to cry smile and make the audience burst into tears. He knows how to show us that he's scared just by drinking from a bottle. He knows how to forget the camera and his everlasting handsomeness to show us how ugly his face can be when panic burst out. He knows how to control - and loose control- of his voice. Most of all : he can really express lots of emotions just using his eyes, which in this particuar case is a priceless asset.

The supporting actors also did a very good job ( I'm already a fan of Tabe Mikako for Kimi Ni Todoke and Ooku and of Kazama Shunsuke for Soredemo Ikite Yuku - from a psychopath to a cutie pie, is there anything he CAN'T do ?). They all really did a great job.

Music : Not a music to make you cry, more a stressful one. That's what I like. Not self pity, but fear of the life that's coming ahead, that's the point of the drama. But there are also sweet musics for the more positive moments. Anyway the main thing is : the music stayed at its rightful place. Helping the show, not trying to make up for an actor's lack of acting skills. There was no need for that kind of music since all the actors did so well. So as a result, there were lots of silent moments, which made the show even more realistic.

There is only one thing I'd like the point out, about this drama. It's too easy.
After seing the drama, a viewer could feel safe again, knowing that no matter what, there is always a way to cope with the disease. But what you could forget is that Takuto comes from a wealthy family, his father even runs an entire hospital. So all this pieces of equipment - none of them are free, and insurance only covers so much - are there because his family has the money. But surely not all the ALS patients have those kind of means. I'm sure they don't all live in Takuto's luxury. Also, not all the companies would accept to cope with an employee's sickness like that. They don't do a pre-hiring health check-up just for the fun of it. So, sure he has a terrible disease, but in his misery he's terribly lucky. I'm sure a drama about a poor, unemployed man living alone facing the same disease would have been unbearable to watch.

But doesn't keep this drama from being really moving and well done, with outstanding acting. Do watch it ! ^^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mysecretsoul
57 people found this review helpful
Mar 21, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
ALS (amytrophic lateral sclerosis) also known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease, is a truly terrible disorder. Sufferers experience progressive nerve degeneration, particularly those which affect motor skills and voluntary muscle movement. Early symptoms include weakness or cramping in muscles, excessive clumsiness, and slippery grip. But these annoyances often develop into full-fledged horrors, as ultimately one loses the ability to control or even initiate basic movement. Walking, chewing and swallowing, even breathing—all of these are gradually made impossible. Worse still, while ALS remains somewhat rare, it is usually fatal...and no cure yet exists.

Boku no Ita Jikan (“The Time I Was In,” internationally titled “The Hours of my Life,”) acquaints viewers with ALS, while painting an intimate portrait of a certain afflicted young man. This drama exults in the ordinary, from sets to characters and even plot points. Yet the propensity toward simplicity is exactly what produces any brilliance it might find. Main character Sawada Takuto could be any 20-something in Japan, but he could just as easily represent any young person anywhere. His goals appear unremarkable, his relationships familiar, his hobbies commonplace. But because they are also realistic, the generated reliability helps to connect viewers to the show. If nothing else, it will leave one questioning themselves. "How have I lived until now? Have I taken my time for granted?"

I would categorize this drama as inspirational, though also quite tragic. Many uplifting moments occur, yet these can be just as painful as the tearjerker scenes. For those wondering, a rather good love story does exist (and with surprising maturity, despite at least one "fish kiss"). There are a few cliches, unfortunately, including the most dreaded irritant: noble idiocy. Veterans of the genre might not enjoy Boku no Ita Jikan as much as others, either; there have been stronger, similar forays, though it brings a youthful flair to the table.

Miura Haruma starred in one of my first experiences with Japanese cinema about a thousand years ago, coincidentally another disease-oriented tale (Koizora). Though I've barely seen him after, I never forgot the effect that initial performance had on me. Meeting Miura-san again in Boku no Ita Jikan, I’m pleasantly surprised at his immense growth from then. His turn as Takuto is delightfully ordinary, yet powerful in its modesty. Most memorable will be his optimistic smile, though there were times I was floored in how deeply I felt Takuto’s fears. An actor with potential indeed.

I found leading lady Tabe Mikako only decent, though she performs well for the most part. Her Megumi takes the longest to “settle” and characterization seems somewhat fluid until around the mid-point. Chemistry with Miura Haruma is consistent, if more strongly felt in later episodes. Saito Takumi looks his best, though character Mukai Shigeyuki possesses a selfish streak. Due to subtle writing and this actor’s innate charm, Shige nevertheless remains painfully human. He might be a flawed jerk in many contexts, but he also has the potential to be genuinely friendly, observant, and likable in others. Nomura Shuhei is also notable, as he develops Rikuto into an surprisingly adorable and complete supporting character.

Pretty music accompanies Boku no Ita Jikan. Of particular note are vocals from Rihwa (“Harukaze/Spring Wind”) and Yuzu (“Yorokobi no Uta/A Song of Joy”). Sound effects are also utilized to a heart-rending degree, including the sound of a ticking clock bridging between scenes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Bambikill
14 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I don't hand out 10/10 very often. The movie or series I reward with such a high score, has to be a masterpiece in almost every single detail. To this drama I can't give anything but a 10.

The visual work wasn't outstanding in any way. There was no amazing costumes, makeup nor special effects. The musical score was very good, but not fantastic. There is no epic, earth shattering plot.
There was just the story of a guy, of a disease and of life. Just that simple. And just that amazing.

Carried by actors with talent, sincerity and emotional depth. Everyone in the cast made a good job,
even though some of the actors were shining just a little bit more than the others.
Tabe Mikako made a beautiful and tranquil portrait of a strong woman and good performances were given also by Asada Miyoko as her mother and Kazama Shunsuke as the likable Mamoru.
I liked Fukikoshi Mitsuru as the neurologist Dr Tanimoto and found Nomura Shuhei as Takuto's younger brother Rikuto, entertaining and endearing in his role as the socially awkward guy - who very clearly has Aspergers syndrome (even if it's never said outright.)
But the monster performance of tremendous impact was of course by Miura Haruma, who shines brighter than a star in the role as Takuto.
I believe there could not have been any better choice of actor for the role,
Miura nails it completely and absolutely CRUSHES any competition from Eddie Redmayne and "The theory of Everything". Stephen Hawking is an inspirational person and that movie was rather good, but how I wish that this series would be the one praised and well known.
Sorry Stephen and Eddie, but Takuto and Miura Haruma kicks your asses big time regarding inspirational impact and acting. I have always liked Miura but now he leapt right up to the #1 spot in my "Best asian actors" list.

As for the emotional impact of the drama - wow.
I have personal experience of the disease. My father died of ALS some years back, only 58 years old, about 2,5 years after diagnosis (rather fast) and 3,5 years after onset of symtoms. I worked as caretaker for him and am very familiar with everything related to the disease, it's progress and the care given to the patient. And I am very impressed by how meticulously every little detail was worked out and how Miura acted his role physically - it was very realistic.
And the agony, the emotions... I was completely blown away. I believed his acting every single minute of the series, I never once thought of him as an actor, but only as Takuto. I still can't shake off the belief that Takuto very much exists, that's how good Miura was.

It's sad, very sad. And painful. And agonizing. It WILL make you cry. A lot. And I mean A LOT.
But it's also beautiful, humorous, heartwarming, insightful, thought provoking and inspiring.
But more than anything else - it's hopeful.
I honestly feel that this story changed my life in a way. It made me think. A lot.
About who I am, what I am, why I am like I am, how I want to be, what I wish for. What my goal is.
Like Takuto, I will try to find my goals.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
olivier
10 people found this review helpful
Mar 9, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is truly a masterpiece!! The acting, script, music everything pitch-perfect!! More than anything else I haven't watched a drama so inspiring that I could think of changing my perspective of life! Haven't seen something so realistic and beautiful in my whole life...

I would definitely recommend it to all my friends!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
yurina_abbey
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 30, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Hours of my Life covered everything I was hoping it would. From the beginning to end of Takuto battling ALS, the relationship of Megumi and Takuto, also the relationship Takuto had with his friends and family before AND after being diagnosed with ALS. The acting is amazing, Haruma Miura and Mikako Tabe were in so deep playing their characters. If you didn't know this was a drama you would probably believe it was a documentary. This was my first time seeing what ALS does to a person from the first signs instead of just seeing the end result. Very informative drama but it keeps you on the edge of your seat with a box of tissues in hand. I personally cried on all but 4 episodes, so many tissues were used in those two days I watched this drama. Hours of my Life is definitely a drama that could be watched again but the question is, do you want to cry that much again? The crying is all worth it though.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pktljames
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 11, 2018
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
I put off watching this forever because I was afraid it would have a gut wrenching ending. ALS is a horrible disease and I couldn't figure out how it could end any other way. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This show takes an incredibly difficult situation and make it lighter than you expect without making light of the situation in any way. In fact, I have made a note of it as perhaps a good show for any family who is dealing with this disease so that they can see that it doesn't mean that the person fighting the disease has to give up on their dreams. However, the dream may end up looking different.

Honestly, this is not a "feel good" type show, but it's also not a total melodrama either. It's a very good series that is very well done and leaves you with much to think about. I was very impressed with all the acting as well as the thoughtful storytelling.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Grace
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
It's once in a blue moon that you find a drama such as this.

We begin with Miura Haruma as Sawada Takuto, a struggling student looking for work after giving up on his parent's dream of him taking over their hospital as a doctor, the role now filled by his younger brother. At the start of the show, Takuto is introduced as a schmoozer who had the charisma and the looks but not the sincerity. Haruma played that very well; charming to the enth degree. As the story progresses, so does Takuto's condition, ALS. Being unfamiliar with the disease, Haruma was excellent in portraying his confusion and distress, as well as his despair and hopelessness when he receives his diagnosis. A particularly notable part of the hopelessness he showed was that he still remained charismatic and true to the Takuto at the beginning of the series; he didn't suddenly have some sort of epiphany and spontaneously change his personality.

Takuto's encounters with the other main character of the series, Hongo Megumi (Tabe Mikako), were effortless. Not only are the actors known to have great chemistry off-screen, but it shows in Boku no Ita Jikan as well. Mikako, being the fantastic actress she is, was able to seamlessly pull off her character. She was sweet and caring towards Haruma as well as those she worked with. Though the parts where she stood out most were her moments of sadness. She was able to gracefully express grief, rather than making her reactions too dramatic. Her interaction with Takuto's friend Mukai Shigeyuki (Saito Takumi) were also great. Her reluctance and hesitance was not too strong, but her wavering feelings were readable.
Saito Takumi also played his character excellently. He was able to show his jealousy in such a manner as to not be offensive but somewhat reasonable. It turned his character into someone easily hated into an interesting person that didn't need to have a set 'good-or-bad' side.

The soundtrack was fantastic. Upon downloading the OST, it's surprising to find out that the songs are bright and delicate, rather than dramatic and thunderous. It shows warmth and sadness, rather than chaos and despair. The songs were few however, and it was obvious when one song had been repeated in the show, which was a little disappointing. Rihwa's Harukaze is a perfect accompaniment to the show and was skillfully selected.

The ending of the show is what made everything overall phenomenal. In such a situation, it was fairly obvious as to what would happen, but the gentle surprise and refreshing ending was superbly well done. At a point when thinking there were only two possible things that could happen, the show opened up a third ending that may not have even been considered.

The downfall were the speeches delivered by Takuto. His life and values were inspiring all throughout the show, but the speeches he had made were lacking inspiration. In something even like "Rich Man Poor Woman", the speeches were thought-invoking and interesting, which was the intention of Takuto's, but it didn't follow through. Some more thought spent on the speeches would have paid over ten-fold.

Each episode was utterly melancholic, drawing out tears with every grimace of pain or hidden feeling. It was very sad, but it depends on the viewer as to how much the scenes could have affected them, rather than having the scenes so sad it was natural to cry. Like, making the situation pitiful and heartbreaking instead of purely sad and devastating.

Overall, the drama is very inspirational and somewhat educational with a stellar cast, fantastic plot and excellent soundtrack. Of the melodrama category, it's advised to bring a box of tissues to accompany a drama such as this.

"1 Litre of Tears" and "Ashita Mama ga Inai" may be a suitable matches for this drama, and "Sad Movie" a great movie complement.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sydney
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 17, 2018
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

A must watch

I watched this drama almost a year ago and it's stuck with me ever since. No matter how many other shows I watch or stories I consume, this one continues to be one that I always think of and recommend first. Boku no ita jikan was full of joy and soul-crushing sadness at the same time. The message was heartwarming, and that has stuck with me continuously as well. When faced with our own mortality, how do we react? What decisions do we make to protect those around us? What decisions do we also make to protect ourselves? If you don't like stories that make you cry for 3 hours straight, this one might not be for you. But if you love a story full of rich characters, all with their own backstories and personalities, goals and ambitions, then this one might just be one to watch. It does have quite a few stereotypical drama themes (illness, romance, etc), but they're easily ignored for the heartwarming characters and the growth of each individual throughout the story. The acting is great as well, so it was easy for me to overlook themes that I may have otherwise disliked.I hope you'll consider giving this one a try! I'm really glad I did.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
possuli
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 19, 2018
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
The ALS in series is actually a terrible disease and pretty painful even if you just know a person that has it. The script and music in the series are very good and I rarely make reviews so I don't know what to type, but this was actually a drama that I would give nearly 10/10, because of all the feels and realistic acting and perfectly fitting music.

Shortly said the series is about a guy that has ALS and has to suffer with it. His family is not really supportive or close at start, but slowly everything starts to become more closer and warmer though the ALS gets worse. I don't want to spoil much, but that's pretty much how it gets going.
(Boku no Ita Jikan honestly feels like something you could relate with, even though you have nothing actually relatable)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Imara
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 22, 2018
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
It’s a very good drama. Not nice, nothing is nice in this one. I've been watching j-dramas and k-dramas for almost two years, and without a doubt, this one is the hardest I've ever seen. So, at I said before, it's good but you should be ready to cry a lot from beginning to end.
Acting: Miura Haruma is simply amazing in this drama. Nobody could have done this lead better than him. The rest of the cast was ok too.
Music: I liked it. Most of the time it was right for the moment… And it made you cry even more.
Rewatch: sorry, but no. Although the positive and meaningful moral of it, I didn't like the end, and it would be too difficult to see it again.
So, if you are a hard crier, cold-hearted, and/or you are not afraid of watching a really good sad drama, go for it. It's worth the time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
bowsrain
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 9, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.0
It took me some time to start watching this drama, as I have already seen 1 Litre of Tears, and I didn't want a similar story. The main reason why I actually picked it up is because of Miura Haruma. I'm glad to say that the story was unlike 1 Litre of Tears - the two stories did have several similarities, but were nonetheless completely different.
You would think, based on the plot summary, that this would be a story about an illness, death and grief, but it's quite on the contrary. This is actually a story about life, happiness, love and the troubles that life throws at us.
I adored all the characters, especially Rikuto. While I hated him at first, I loved how he, and averybody else, evolved and changed.
I felt as if these characters were written specifically for these actors and actresses. They did a brilliant job in this drama, everything felt so natural.
I also loved how everyone was so supportive, his family, friends, colleagues and even passers-by - nobody was mean, judgmental...
My favourite song from this drama is Yorokobi no Uta - Yuzu.
The reason why I gave this such a low rewatch value rating is because I feel like this is something you watch once, and it stays with you forever.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Aish
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 10, 2016
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
I was in love with this show from the first episode.
One of my favorite things about this show is that there's the obvious storyline for the show, but there's an exceptional account of character development for all of the characters. Everyone has a story and it delves into all sides of the life and the lives of the people around the main character, Takuto.
It's got some great heart wrenching moments, some touching moments, some funny moments....all the things that should be touched upon in a drama.
The acting by everyone is just phenomenal.
The music is catchy and allows you to become enveloped in all of the characters' lives.
This will always be my favorite. And I constantly find myself rewatching it.

And for those of you, like me, who love to watch k-drama, you'll be glad to know that this show is very similar to those, and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?