If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
100 Days with Mr. Arrogant
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 17, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This movie has a typical story line of arrogant rich guy falling for quirky poor girl. It is unoriginal, but it is still cute. Kim Jae Won and Ha Ji Won play their characters well. I liked the ending.

Some parts in this movie are totally gross and could have been left out entirely and I probably would have rated this movie higher.
Was this review helpful to you?
Sophie's Revenge
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 17, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I admit that I watched this because of So Ji Sub. However, I came to find this movie is delightful. Sophie's antics are funny and adorable. The story isn't anything new, but it has a twist that I didn’t' see coming. Zhang Ziyi did a great job portraying Sophie's quirky character. So Ji Sub actually plays Jeff and he really isn’t in the movie as much as I thought he would be. However, I wasn’t disappointed because Ho Peter playing Gorden more than made up for it. Gorden is a sweet, funny character that I completely fell for. I love the artsy feel that this movie has. I will probably watch it again because I truly enjoyed it.

SPOILERISH >>> So Ji Sub doesn’t die in this movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The King and the Clown
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 15, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
hmmmm wat to say, i guess its a ok show. I think it fell down along the story line, but the acting saved it. I was interested to see how they would handle discrimination back in that time especially when it had to do with the King.
The street performers were very good i didnt know they had things like that back then. However that guy was unusually cute that left me feelin uncomfortable, i hope he`s more manly in real life. Any how fairly decent show and can watch so go for it.
Was this review helpful to you?
A Frozen Flower
7 people found this review helpful
Jun 15, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I wasn't going to admit to watching this at first. Not that I'm a prude, but this movie isn't the typical Korean movie. First of all, this is NOT a family movie. Pretty much the whole first half is about sex. The story is original to me, but I’m not that experienced with Korean movies. I thought it was interesting and the ending was great.

Forget the story…
I was totally floored that Song Ji Hyo of Goong and Running Man was in this and doesn’t leave much to the imagination. CRAZY!!! I will never be able to watch Running Man again the same way.
Next there is Jo In Sung who doesn’t leave much to the imagination either and let me just say that even if it is slightly embarrassing it is well worth the look. I had just watched What Happened in Bali and I was not prepared for his role in this movie. I actually kind of felt sorry for his character, because he ended up totally confused and hurt.
Joo Jin Mo is the King in this and I thought he did a really good job. He’s not hard on the eyes either.

Anyway, this isn’t a horrible movie. It isn’t something I typically watch and to be totally honest I would not have watched it if I had known that there was going to be…um…explicit scenes. It just isn’t my thing. I’m not entirely sure if I am comfortable recommending that others watch it either. How about this…watch at your own risk. :-)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Tutor Friend
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
What happens when you mix a little romance, with comedy and some brutal action?? An experiment with nuclear results!! Mhahahah

This is what this movie is. There are fights, broken hearts, changes of hearts, a bit of love and an awesome "bad guy" who turns his game around, to not only win the girl, but also the life his parents wanted for him, and the respect from a mafia boss.... or two!!!

And the best part Gogn Yoo's character is superb!!
Was this review helpful to you?
No Regret
16 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I watched this movie because of recommendation. It has a good story somehow and the acting of the actors was really good. If you have any plan to watch this film then you can't stand for long a hardcore love scene of man to man. Just stop watching it because it talks about a love story between a rich man and prostitute man.

Su-min is an orphan who, having turned 18, is required to leave his orphanage. Unable to pay for university, he heads for Seoul where he works various jobs to pay for computer classes. One of those jobs is driving drunks home from bars. After losing his factory job, Su-min ends up taking a job at a host bar. Initially the boss of this host bar is reluctant to take him on, as he knows from experience that openly gay hosts will often leave when they become romantically involved with one of their clients. Having given up on love, Su-min believes that this won't happen to him, until one day a man from his past enters the host bar. That man, Jae-min, is a former driving client, who has fallen in love with Su-min. Su-min refuses his advances, and accepts him as a client only once, and threatens to kill him if he hires him again. Jae-min is undeterred, and after several weeks go by, Su-min gives in. They are very happy in their relationship until Jae-min's mother discovers them together. She orders Jae-min to marry the woman he's been dating halfheartedly. Su-min is angry. With another man from the host bar, they kidnap Jae-min one night and take him to a shallow grave in the forest. Su-min watches passively as his colleague throws dirt on Jae-min, but eventually moves to stop the plan. His colleague already depressed over a two-timing girlfriend, whacks Su-min with the shovel and leaves the two there in the grave. Jae-min later awakens and takes Su-min to the car and they crash a tree while going back. As dawn breaks in, the two of them start to awake at the same time cops show up at the scene but inside, without paying attention to the cops, Su-min and Jae-min silently reconcile.

I just copy the summary in Wikipedia
;) and I read some write ups about this film was Internationally Compete in Berlin and other countries. Thumbs up for two great actors in this movie, Lee Yeong-hoon and Kim Nam-gil :))

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Man From Nowhere
26 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
The main reason why I started watching this was because everyone on MDL is always recommending it, as well as it being one of the top movies ranked on MDL. I was going on a trip so I stockpiled a few of the top movies and throughout my trip I watched them. I watched The Man From Nowhere or Ahjussi on the plane yesterday and this is what I thought of it...


Story 9/10 : The general story is actually not that original. I've seen many American movies like it (for example Denzel Washingtons' Man On Fire). However, that doesn't lower the entertainment value of this film. This films story has you on the edge of your seat for the ENTIRE film. The scriptwriter(s) deserve much praise.

Acting 10/10 : They were all perfect. Everyone was perfect. I would not have changed any ANYBODY.

Music 7/10: The music was good, but it wasn't anything that I will remember. It served its purpose perfectly, and enhanced the effects of the movie. It's not an OST I will look up and listen to again later.

Rewatch Value 6/10 : This is probably the highest rewatch value i've given to any movie. I'm not someone who rewatches movies or dramas. This movie is action packed, so it should allow for a good rewatch. However, the amount of entertainment you get from this movie does hinge on its twist and turns so that might detract from its rewatch value.

Overall 10/10 : This is a great movie that I'd recommend to people OVER 18. It does have graphic violence and slight nudity. Overall, this is one of the best Asian movies that i've ever seen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
South Of The Border
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Plot: A twist of fate, sometimes things wont go as planned and inevitable. But we never know what looms ahead.
Great movie, but a bit slow though. Its normal for a melodrama to be slow, nonetheless, this movie really touched my heart.

Acting: Of course as usual, we focus more on the main role.

Cha Seung Won never cease to amaze me. I've watched 3 of his drama (the Greatest love, Athena; the goddess of war and City Hall) and 5 of his movies (kick the moon, blood rain, Blade of blood, South of the border, and Eye for an Eye) and so far this is the most melodramic movie he ever acted in and he's really is an amazing actor.

Yeon Hwa (dunno her real name). I wish she can bring out more of her acting, nonetheless, her acting was above average. The chemistry between her and cha seung won in the movie was good too.

Music: I like the music. Happy songs and sad songs were well projected in every scene. It can change the mood of the audience from happy to sad to happy again.

Rewatch Value: I'm not really into melodrama movie, but because i knew cha seung won was such a great actor that i watched this movie. As for rewatching it, i dont think i will want to cry over something twice.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Eye for an Eye
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Wow! two thumbs up movie. For those who loves Ocean 11, Ocean 12 and so on, this movie have more or less the same feeling towards it, but of course more of korean touch.

Plot: Brilliant

Acting: well maybe i'm being bias because i'm a fan of Cha Seung Won, but fan or not, he is no doubt an excellent actor. I can see the good chemistry he emits towards other actors. As for Sung Baek, he carries his part well.

Music: love the soundtracks. It makes my feet thump

Rewatch value: a definite a must rewatch movie.

A strongly recommended movie. A must watch movie!
Was this review helpful to you?
Romantic Island
20 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I have no idea, I just found this film in one of my collections while I had nothing better to do so I just watched it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

This was a multiple stories film, oe of the genres that I like to watch.

Positive points:

*A romatic comedy that had more interesting events than other films from the same genre.
*The three love stories were combined together in a way that would allow the final twist to happen.

Negative points:

*The film's story isn't unique or special. Actually, it was full of cliche and cheesy moments.
*The stories took a boring level at some point.

Story: 6/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Lee Sun Gyun and Lee Min Ki were probably the main reason I continued watching this film until the end not only because of shallow feelings but their characters seemed more appealing than other characters in this film.
*The acting was a strength point that counts for this drama but I can't say the same about charachter because most of them felt annoying most of the time.

Cast: 6.5/10
Acting: 8/10

4)The ending:

An intresting twist accured near the end which made this film a little special than other romantic comedy films.

The ending: 8.5/10

5) My impression (How did affect me):

*There were a lot of boring moments but I didn't fell asleep so that's a good point.
*I only enjoyed the twist near the end but I will probably forget this film very soon.

My impression: 4.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like romantic comedies then you may like this if you don't expect much from it.

Overall: 6/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Fish Story
16 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
The marketing team on this movie must have had one hell of a headache trying to figure out how to make it accessible to a wider audience. They obviously didn't succeed seeing as there was almost no noise about this movie at the time of its release. And that's a shame, considering how well-crafted and intelligent it was.

It actually operates on a conceit that's fairly common these days; the non-linear yet interconnected vignettes that coalesce into an overarching plot. Oftentimes, in these types of films, the actual story is less interesting than the way it's assembled. Take for instance, Christopher Nolan's Memento (2000), which was fascinating for its accurate and chilling portrayal of the nature of retrograde amnesia but would have been merely a middling crime thriller if assembled in chronological order. However, other films use this plot technique in order to symbolically resonate with the themes presented in the story, such as Marc Webb's charming (if a bit precious) (500) Days of Summer (2009). Fish Story definitely falls into the latter category and (at least for me personally) does even a little bit more.

I love the Butterfly Effect. Not the crap film starring Ashton Kutcher but the actual phenomenon. It's something that, when portrayed right, can be smart and gripping. Fish Story uses the medium of urban legend to give some physical form to the theory and to trace the evolution of a myth and its implications for the fate of humanity. It sounds a bit ludicrous and melodramatic, but the film is so self-assured that you really can't doubt its intentions, ones that become more and more believable as the film progresses. And, if all of that sounds lacking in proper gravitas (which it sort of does, on paper), the film also has a recurring theme of resilient underdogs who emerge triumphant or at least at peace at the end of the day. As such, even if the main story doesn't float your boat, there will be definitely something to appreciate in the smaller arcs.

Lest that all might seem a bit stuffy, the film actually has a good sense of humor. One that's a little self-deprecating and rife with situational irony. It might not be a laugh out loud comedy, but it will definitely elicit a wry chuckle or too here and there at the expense of some of the more hapless characters. Which, come to think of it, is essential in a film like this. It's not hard to become pretentious when using this particular film-making conceit, but Fish Story so easily circumvents this pitfall because it knows how to laugh at itself.

Is it the best film ever? No. It's probably not even the best film in its niche genre, but it's definitely safe to say that it stands in the top ranking for being the most fun and the most exhilarating. And also for having a great song. If you're into punk or j-rock, Fish Story (the song) is a satisfying reason enough to give this film a spin.

Tl;dr? Watch it for some intelligent fun, an interesting storytelling format, and a kickass song.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Postman To Heaven
6 people found this review helpful
Jun 13, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
For some reason I just couldn't get into this movie. Even though it's not as long as a series, it took me way longer to finish it.

I felt it started off really slow and everything was kinda slow-paced and dreamlike. I just couldn't get into it. The acting was okay but it was kinda either over-the-top or bland, no balance in the middle.

The visuals were all really pretty and it got better towards the end. I actually really liked the ending. But that's all I liked about it. Kinda a disappointment.
Was this review helpful to you?
From Me to You
8 people found this review helpful
Jun 13, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I resent the high 10's given by some people, because I immediately thought this would be a good movie. It was sweet and unassuming in a way, and I did manage to reach the end of it. But it was sooo...uninventive. The Japanese must really like their scary girls (Nobuta etc) transformed into social butterflies. It explains why there are so many dramas/movies just orientated at this one demographic. But despite me liking the actors, I genuinely found myself not caring much. Watch, if you have nothing else to do. You will like it to some degree, but by how much, would vary on the individual.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You're My Pet
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 12, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Although very excited to watch this movie when I first saw it (as I thought the drama drags a bit) the reviews sort of made me unsure and I wavered. However don't be put of as it is well worth a watch even if you are a fan of the drama.

Although only a 7 for the story as some scenes tend to jump which can be a little confusing, lovely music and fantastic acting by Kim Ha Neul and Jang Geun Seok more than make up for it. With emotional moments and hilarious pet scenes to keep you entertained through out the entire film and into the credits as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
Love Collage
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 12, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
If you watched Tada, Kimi Wo Aishiteru, this is the older version of that movie...You can easily notice, both movie share the same name of lead actors and the general plot..

But both have different way of expressing the plot..You will know if you watch both movies...kekeke!!!

This one is a little darker while Tada Kimi was more of romance...So watching both is not like your repeating watching something that you already watched.I can say that Tada Kimi focused on before they got separated, while Love Collage is the after.

Overall the story is good, it's just that there are some silly scene that can be taken out and be replaced of we can say much more needed scene..It also lacks in the sense of musicality. But nevertheless I liked the movie. I also like the way how they show the love of Shizura to Makoto. And lastly I loved the photographs:-)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?