The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
To The Beautiful You
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
At the beginning, i completely disliked this drama and was about to drop it. I kept comparing it to Hana Kimi and hating it more and more. Finally i came to the conclusion that while Hana Kimi is more of a comedy, To The Beautiful You is a melodrama. HK focuses on the relationships of the students and their growth within the three dorms in a comedic way, where as TTBY focuses on the relationship between the leads in a somewhat serious way.
Once i got past all the comparing, i realised this is actually a pretty good drama on its own. The music was amazing, as expected. And the last episode i was pretty sad to see it end.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
13-sai no Hello Work
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I went into this drama with basically no expectations, and recently finished it so I thought I would write something.

First off, this show is very episodic and I'm not a huge fan of that type.

The story is in it's core pretty fun and interesting, but the whole thing lacks any feeling of importance. Everything the main character does he does for the sole motivation of getting into the 1st Investigation Divison when it seems he is pretty close to getting in there anyways if he just endures it with his current job for awhile. I know it's partly a comedy but still. Another problem is it feels they are not doing much with the time travel aspect which I partly blame on the episodic nature of the show.

The cast is pretty much why I watched this in the first place, Kiritani Mirei, Yokoyama Yu, Mitsuishi Ken, Kudo Ayano and so on builds a very good supporting cast and the main character which I hadn't seen in anything before (Matsuoka Masahiro) was very likeable. They all did for the most part a very good job in this. Unfortunetly not enough to salvage the messy plot.

I don't remember any score from this shows music so I can't say it was great.

So overall, the story lacks any feeling of importance, the cast is pretty good and the music is forgettable. But I must add, the story is sometimes enjoyable and this drama definetly has it's moments. It's not a bad show, it's just not great.

I would give it a weak 7/10 and say that if you like the actors and actresses in this it might be worth to check out, don't watch it for the plot alone.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Pride
10 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
I had to take a few days to process what exactly I liked about Pride, besides the amazingly scrumptious Mr. Kimura Takuya. I'm going to take a different approach to my usual way of reviewing to explain. I'm a working independent filmmaker. I’ve made a couple shorts and am working toward a feature film debut. However, when I watch tv or film & write reviews I tend to focus on entertainment value rather production value (unless the latter is so glaringly bad it warrants a comment) because most people outside the industry couldn’t care less about the technicalities of film production ... so why bother with that stuff.

Every once in a while, though, I come across a show or movie that makes the creative in me sit up and take notice. You start to wonder how your colleagues behind the production got the results they got & how can you do something similar but with your own spin?

My first viewing of Pride consisted mostly of me fangirling over Kimura Takuya like an idiot. For a guy who generally isn't the type of man I’d go crazy for I was just consumed by the sheer beauty, sexiness and utter magnetism of the man. I really couldn’t pay attention to anything else. But on my second viewing, Pride offered up the type of creative epiphany I mentioned above.

The show isn't based on the most stellar of scripts, but where it had its moments of mediocrity (or your standard drama fare, if you will), there were also moments of pure genius that really gave the actors great material to work with. Forget about plot. What this drama got right was exceptionally well crafted characters, brought to life by performances so natural and understated you'll get that feeling of being a fly on the wall eavesdropping on the lives of REAL people. The chemistry between Halu-san and Aki was ridiculous. Sparks flew every time they were on-screen together.

Aki surprised me a lot throughout the drama. At first glance she's your typical Asian female lead -- sweet, dutiful, uncomplaining & from all indication emotionally stable enough to be the perfect helpmate. But Aki, unlike Halu-san, is not really all that meets the eye. Where Halu often speaks of his vulnerabilities Aki keeps so much of her true emotions under wraps that your initial impression of her -- that she's this pillar of strength Halu can lean on -- is severely challenged. There were times when her actions baffled me. I was pretty convinced the writers just wanted to drag things out and frustrate the audience. However, as the show progressed her character unfolds with remarkable depth. She slowly reveals the true Aki, the woman she's kept hidden away from everyone, including us, the audience. Her unfortunate experience in love has shaped her behaviour for the worse, but no one knew to what depth her insecurities ran. When I understood, I got her.

Kimura Takuya's performance was sensational. He's a great actor who took your standard tortured hero and made him quite layered and human. Halu-san is a man of deep passions. He's among those type of people who live by a strict moral code. He's prideful, fiercely loyal, protective of those he cares about, but with an undercurrent of ruthlessness to his character that both excite and scare you. But still Aki was the stand-out character for me. How she's presented at the beginning of the show to what she becomes is just remarkably well written and actress Yuko Takeuchi did a brilliant job of portraying her.

This definitely turned out to be a great character portrait of two people dealing with issues of abandonment and a potent fear of rejection. Pride was a strong theme throughout. Having pride in the pursuit of a dream and having too much pride to pursue what REALLY matters, love. What fascinates me the most about this drama, not just as a viewer who wants to be entertained, but as a creative who wants to write good scripts and attract great talent to my work … is the question of how can I write characters of equal depth and layers? Even if this script wasn’t 100% perfect if I can achieve such moments of pure genius in my own work I’d be well on my way to becoming the filmmaker I want to be.

I can say without much hesitation that Pride is absolutely one of my favourite dramas. I gave it an overall score of 9, instead of 10, because it wasn’t a masterpiece. After 9 episodes I felt like an otherwise appropriately paced story was made to drag a little. I’m satisfied with how things turned out, but not how we got there. The last two episodes toyed with the audience unnecessarily, leading us on a wild goose chase that stressed me out a little because I thought everything was going to fall apart for characters I had invested so much in. I would have preferred being spared the hassle, especially since the story did not benefit from the added drama. They could've wrapped up the whole thing at 10 episodes or choose a different path to the end. But I guess Asian dramas ain't Asian without all the angst.

I also did not care for the theme song, Queen's ‘I was born to love you’. The lyrics are very appropriate to the story, but for a relatively “young” drama it seemed an outdated choice. Pride was released in the early 2000s, but there's nothing remotely 80s about it in style or content so I didn’t like the song in the context of the show.

Overall, I loved this drama. Pride will always have a special place in my heart and I’ll re-watch this for years to come. I’m also never gonna get tired of looking at Takuya-san. Sooo excited that I have all his other dramas to look forward to! Big shout out to Elisabetta and NinaJade82 who “introduced” this beautiful, talented man to me. Now if only I could get a hold of him in real life…! :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You're Beautiful
4 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Looking for a drama with the perfect balance between comedy, romance, and drama? An adorable/funny male lead? Hilarious supporting characters? Episodes that will keep you wanting for more? And best of all, imaginary scenes that will have you ROFL? Then, Ding! Ding! Ding! You're Beautiful is the answer! I never thought a drama would be better than My Girl, my ultimate favorite. But that was before I watched this drama. It's amazing! A must-watch! Sure, it's not perfect. And sure, Park Shin Hye's character, Go Mi Nam, may be kinda dumb at times. But she's funny, too... and who cares, when you've got Jang Keun Suk acting as the male lead, and Jung Yong Hwa (eye candy) and Lee Hong Ki (source of laughter and his memorable line: JOLIIIIEEEEEE!!!!) as the secondary characters? Uee also makes a great antagonist as He Yi! I also want to give a shout out to President Ahn's random english words, and to a scene involving Super Junior's Sorry Sorry. I recommend this to ANYONE, so watch it :P

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
That Fool
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 27, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I dropped this drama at episode 8.

Story::
It was another "fateful" meeting drama. Nothing new that I felt. Truly, it seemed as though the plot was going to deepen in the first couple of episodes but it kept going round and round in circles. Unfortunately, I became too bored to continue.

Acting/Characters::

The characters were the breaking point for me. Acting is fantastic though, these actors can do a very good job. Characters however....I could not stand the goofy-happy-always-smiling-and-jolly guy that the main lead played. It urked the hell out of me.

Music::
Fit very well with the mood.


would never rewatch though...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
East of Eden
15 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I'm writing this right as I finished watching the show with tears running down my face because they just won't seem to stop.

Great story, cast, acting, filled with action, corrupt society. Really kind of like what is happening today.
Story very interesting two babies (Song Seung Hun and Yun Jung Hoon) switched at birth by a vengeful nurse.

I got s attached to this drama, I had to remind tell myself repeatedly that it would soon, then I could go back to my life and resist punching my screen was not an option, lol.

towards the end I started having feelings of resentment towards Lee Dong Wook, as I could not believe that he was so stupid and I actually thought him selfish and ungrateful (as I said I got too attached).

Would I re-watch? No, even though it's a great drama, I was upset with the writers, for making the ending like that. You can't just take a good person out of a drama like that, especially one that everyone depends on.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Rooftop Prince
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
PERFECT TEN!

AMAZING FROM STORY TO MUSIC TO ACTING. i love this show, definitely one of the best drama's i've seen, the story is so great! from beginning to end, its really well made! of course the actors are perfect 10 as well. they made me laugh so much, and cry as well. especially Park ha's step mom. The drama was very touching yet i never had the "DOWN" feeling i get when romantic comedies have a dramatic plot at the middle of the story and will make the whole series gloomy, i never saw that, the last episodes and ESPECIALLY the ENDING was great, definitely one of the best endings! 10!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Princess' Man
7 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
even though it's late, coz this drama aired last year. and i just finished watching this yesterday. this drama was so amazing. i'm really speechless. one word to describe this drama was "excellent"! it was my first time watching a historical drama, or we say historical romance drama that i started loving from the start up to the end. the characters really touched my heart. and i end up crying in every sad scene. in this drama you can really feel the characters love for each other. even though emotions such as anger, hatred and revenge was shown, LOVE is still present. you will feel it between the two characters. and i am just happy because it end in a happy ending. the OST also helps in every scene, it makes the viewers feel the pain of the characters. thumbs up for the OST's of this drama. and also we can get a lesson from watching this drama,like we should not do bad things to others, friends are those people who will help you in times of need, we should not use our power to use other people or to control them,although it hurts, we should forget revenge and just live happily with our love one and started a new life. i'm so speechless on the twist on the last episode. i have no idea, a really good production of drama. a must watch drama to those who have not yet watch this! and also this drama win many awards. and park si hoo and moon chae won got the best couple award :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
To The Beautiful You
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
I've seen the Japanese Drama version (Hana Kimi) and I can say that I liked this one better. Though Sulli is a bit too feminine to pass as a man to me, I think that the rest of the casting was perfect.

The flop between tough and soft was sort of lost because Minho seems soft but he held the part well for the most part.

I preferred this version better to the Japanese version because the pacing was easier to follow and there were a lot less subplots going on. With the main plot and maybe one or two others, it was easy to follow and tied in together nicely. In the Japanese version each episode was like watching a different spin-off of the original series.

Both are very good though, I just preferred this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Orange Days
6 people found this review helpful
Nov 26, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
There really comes a time when you will encounter a truly beautiful work and I can consider Orange Days as one of those. Orange Days is a captivating and heartwarming series that showed the wonders of love, friendship, and dreams for the future.

It is great to watch the smooth development of the story unfold before your eyes. It may not have much of those cheesy scenes unlike some other dramas, but the romance scenes here are sweet, and innocent, in my opinion, if I may add. The friendship between the five characters are good, too! The story made me think of my future again. Somehow, watching this makes me feel nostalgic.

I really commend the actors and actresses for being able to portray their roles very well. It's a well-chosen cast. I wondered how long it took them to be able to learn some sign language because it seems that they're good at it, especially the lead characters. Oh, and it's great that they have chemistry, too!

This series doesn't have that of a memorable music, in my opinion, but I actually don't care that much about it because the great story and acting compensated for it. In any case, it's simple and just suits the scenes where it's played.

I'll definitely re-watch this someday! It's worth it to watch and I bet it'll be worth it to re-watch.

I give this a 9.5 because of the great time I had while watching it. I was a bit hesitant to watch it at first, but I didn't regret trying it. I really recommend it to everyone. It'll be too bad to miss watching something as precious as this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Bridal Mask
10 people found this review helpful
Nov 25, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
I love Bridal Mask so much!!! The acting was superb, and even though the action scenes were quite stylized, I loved it anyway. Bridal mask has such an epic vibe to it. Joo Won and Park Ki Woong really showed how great they are at acting. As a result, they are two of my favourite Korean actors at the moment. The storyline was also very complex and juicy. I think Kang To and Shunji had one of the best bromances in the history of bromances that I've ever seen! :D
I especially loved the first 6 episodes, for reasons that I won't spoil.
I also LOVED the music so much!!! Goodbye Day and Judgement Day are now one of my favourite Korean drama soundtracks. For me, the music in a drama is very important. Usually, it turns out that if a drama has a great OST, I tend to like the drama itself as well. But sometimes it’s just a coincidence.
I also love the complex character relationships. The characters (or at least the important ones) are interesting, understandable, They are also very easy to sympathize with, even when they are doing less than desirable deeds. Gaksital a.k.a. Bridal Mask really highlights how a character can change.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kami no Shizuku
3 people found this review helpful
Nov 25, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I buddy-watched this drama. Well..... There's also the presence of Kamenashi Kazuya ~all smiles~ And as usual his acting was GOOD!!!

This Kami no Shizuku is the last puzzle Kanzuki (Kame) has to solve before he can inherit the wine collection his father left behind.
Kanzuki wasn't on good terms with his Dad till he died, so there were thousands of unanswered questions and the only way Kanzuki could get answers is by solving each and every puzzle his Dad left him. Apart from this, Kanzuki has vowed not to drink wine again at his 20th b'day, but in order to solve these puzzles he will have to at least taste various wines.

Kami no Shizuku isn't all about wine, there's of course romance, comedy and family issues also. I'm seriously waiting to watch a Japanese drama without family-related matters!!!! There's always something about it.

KnS is really educational, they were using wine terminologies and not lay man's language which I really found interesting. There were also side notes LOL!!!! Well, believe it or not I took notes of almost every side note :p. Funny right?? What is left now, is for me to organise a trip to France and spend a year polishing the skills I got from a Japanese drama of 9 eps lol!!!

Notwithstanding, KnS is really a good drama!!!! After watching this drama, you won't be able to drink or look at wines the same again. Well, for me it has changed my whole perspective about wines. So, if you're interested in seeing how good an actor Kame is, or you want to test your knowledge about wines, please do go ahead and watch this drama!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Namae o Nakushita Megami
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 25, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This dorama is about a very common thing in Japanese culture - Ijime (=bullying).

However, this time, it is about the Ijime between mothers, which reflects the social pressure on Japanese mothers perfectly.

Most shows have a very stereotypical way of handling this sort of problem: There's the good guys and the bad guys... and some side-characters... The usual way to portraying such a topic.

Namae o nakushita megami however, portrays very realistic characters, which are neither good or bad, but rather act human. Everyone has their good and bad characteristics and their ways of handling situations.

The story was believable and so were the characters, I must admit, I am not the type that cries a lot, but heck... the kids were so cute and their acting was superb, they made me cry so much >_

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Innocent Man
11 people found this review helpful
Nov 25, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Many reviewers are describing this drama as unique, but I don't agree. I would say this drama is classic, filled with standard drama elements like betrayal, manipulation, love triangles, amnesia, revenge, and the quest for power. What "Innocent Man" does well is that it avoids being predictable, and I was hooked from the very beginning. The story does require you to really suspend belief, and accept some pretty unbelievable actions, but isn't that what good drama is all about? The writers also created some truly multidimensional characters, with a lot of depth, and the perfect cast was found to portray them.

Song Joong Ki is now one of my favorite actors. I loved him in Sungkyunkwan Scandal, and I am shocked by how different he is in this drama. I loved seeing him go from innocent optimist to master manipulator as Kang Ma Roo. I liked never quite knowing his character's intentions, yet he always stayed true to character. He was well matched with Moon Chae-won, who had an equally challenging character to portray. This is the 3rd drama I've seen her in, yet she was unrecognizable at first. I think that is the sign of a truly great actress. They played off of each other well, though one shouldn't expect too much cute chemistry. The romance in this is very heavy, which brings me to Park Si-yeon's role. She does a good job as the easy to hate Han Jae Hee, without making her character too one-note. The characters have enough flaws and redeeming qualities to make their love triangle intense.

The supporting cast is great as well. Lee Kwang Soo & Lee Yoo Bi, as Jae Gil & Choko, had the tough job of bringing some light moments to this intense drama. I also liked Lee Sang Yeob, who was great, but more subtle in his role as Lawyer Park.

My opinion about the music is mixed. I thought it complimented the story well, but one of the main songs sounded a little to close to one of the songs from "Secret Garden". The music wasn't original enough to get higher than a good rating from me.

Overall, I was very entertained by this drama. I can't agree that it's one of the best, but I can't think of many flaws. The only glaring issue I had with this drama was the overuse of flashbacks. Every episode seemed to rely on multiple flashbacks. Sometimes they even flashed back to the previous scene... and more than once. I had to take a story point away for that. After a while it seemed like time filler, not a storytelling device.

I don't think I would watch this again, only because much of the excitement for me was about guessing what would happen next. This drama kept me guessing until the very last moment, and no, I was not disappointed with the ending. I think the slight change in style made sense in the context of what was going on. I was also satisfied with the closure given to the main characters. I'll even forgive Eun Gi for being so ridiculously blind!!! I'll blame that on the accident. lol.

If I do eventually watch it again it will be for Song Joong Ki's performance.

This is an intense, emotional, romantic, melodrama, though I didn't cry at all. For fans of that style, this is a must see. I'd also recommend it to anyone bored by dramas being too predictable. "Innocent Man" won't disappoint you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Girl
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 25, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
For me, this was a masterpiece. I enjoyed it so much, that I finished it in two days... two days that belonged to my exam week.
I truly wanted to give this a 10, bit it's more worthy of a 9. Why? Well, it is really funny. You'll get more than one big round of laughter watching this. Yoo Rin is a really likable character, and Lee Dae Hi is an amazing actress. The two male leads are really nice-looking, Gong Chan is awesome, and Si Yeon did a good job as the antagonist.
However...
The last two episodes made me think that the writers were trying to drag the drama out. I didn't enjoy those episodes. Luckily the last few moments of the drama make up for it, though.
I also want to give a shout out to an amazing scene involving stolen oranges! Really had me laughing with that one, and I still LOL at the memory.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?