Hong Gil Dong (2008) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 3,569 users)
  • Ranked: #1453
  • Popularity: #445
  • Watchers: 7,857

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

3%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

7 edits
3 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Jeaniessi
32 people found this review helpful
Jun 16, 2011
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I just marathoned this drama and I loved it. Wow can Kang Ji Hwan act his pants off! Typical of the Hong Sisters, this drama starts off looking like a comical farce but develops into a much richer, more dramatic story fairly quickly. I liked how they start out before the legend of Hong Gil Dong has begun and show you how it all started. Hong Gil Dong goes from a layabout wastril to reluctant hero to deserving of his legend and a true hero to the people. Kang Ji Hwan is so good at playing a carefree and careless rogue on the outside who is boiling with sadness, rejection and abandonment on the inside.

There is the central theme of the Gil Dong legend running through out, a series long plot to restore a displaced king and lots of love triangles all around. (love quadrangles?) In the mix, there are several short plot stories and baddies for Gil Dong to fight as he gathers his "band of merry men", rights the wrongs he sees, tries to protect those he loves and begins to suss out the worthiness (or lack thereof) of a future king.

The fusion sauguk element is fun. I wish I was even a little adept at Korean language and culture so I could truly appreciate the popculture and slang built into the language of the characters.

It's swashbuckling, over the top and a lot of fun. The writing is clever with some twists you just don't see coming and game changers that keep you moving along with the 24 episode tale.

I recommend it very highly.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rad_lisette
16 people found this review helpful
Jan 27, 2012
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
A tale of heroism and love, this fusion sageuk (the setting and the costumes are set in Joseon-era times, yet the jokes and such seem more modern) shines with a lot of warmth, humor and love.

Kang Ji Hwan was quite lovely as the main character and his acting stood above the rest of the cast.

The plot moves quite well, with plenty of twists and turns along the way. By the last third of the series, however, I started to feel that the plot was getting a bit repetitive and not as engaging. The ending was a bit predictable to me, but, it was still touching and hopeful.

But all in all, a quite satisfying and suprisingly meaningful drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Fiona
9 people found this review helpful
Apr 10, 2014
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Wow ! Well , every one to there own opinion ! I LOVED this drama ! just amazing .... I was recommend this by a friend and I do not revet watching it ! action , comedy and romance could have not been put together as this drama did! Was exactly every thing I wanted in one place. I would recommend this drama , to people who like historical dramas , and to the people who don't because it is not a typical historical drama( which I mostly hate ) since I can guess wants going to happen . Well this was different , and caught me form episode one
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
zareba
6 people found this review helpful
May 2, 2011
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
A well-developed drama about a group of vigilantes and their dream of getting equality in corrupt nobility/royalty era of Korean history. It dealt with ambition, greed, family, friendship, power struggle, society, injustice, loyalty, and dreams,.



Infused with modern tools and music, it isn't just a typical Korean historical drama. Laden with humor, great costume, scenery and Korean culture - it's a drama that celebrates Korean life, history and culture - a feast for the senses - and heart! Romance, action, history, catchy music, lovable characters and characters you love to hate makes this drama for everyone!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
HeidiLyon
5 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2013
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Based on a recommendation, and because of the cast, I had to watch this drama this week. I so wasn't sorry I did! The acting, story, costuming, and cinematography was great. And honestly, it already had alot going for it... it's a Hong sisters story, it has Jang Geun Suk, and it's a historical. Ticked alot of boxes for me.

Summary: In normal Hong sisters style, the laughs really don't stop. This one had me laughing through most episodes, even while crying. Only one or two episodes seemed to drag a bit, but the story wouldn't have been the same without them. Quite a few twists in the story, some I saw coming, some had serious shock value. The music fit very well, but only one song really stuck with me. Acting was superb, but with cast you should expect nothing less. This was a VERY enjoyable 23 hours... the 24th hour was spent crying myself silly until I looked like a raccoon or something.

Details: I'll talk about the acting first because, in my opinion, it was the best part of the drama. Kang Ji-Hwan and Song Yu Ri were both amazing and so believable that I fell into their characters immediately. You couldn't help but laugh, cry, and struggle with them. I swear, Kang Ji-Hwan has a talent of being one of the most believable men I've ever seen cry, it just tears your heart out. Song Yu Ri pulled off her role till I had to watch an interview with her to see what her true character is really like LOL. Jang Geun Suk, not only gorgeous, but his acting had really improved alot at this point and I would have fallen for him if this was the first time I'd seen him act. The one that shocked me the most, however, is Ahn Suk-Hwan... I knew he was a great actor but he pulled off being the mad king SO much better than I anticipated! He actually looks nothing like himself in his really crazy moments and makes you think that this is, indeed, what insanity does to a person. The rest of the cast were amazing as well, I can't really complain about anyone at all.

The story was refreshing. A little Robin hood, a little Love Story, and all Hong sisters. The puns, the comedic timing, all of it were excellent. They have a great ability to take several different stories, merge them into one, throw in the laughs and make it all fresh and new. I love that about these ladies. As always, there is a moral to the story and it truly makes you think once you've finished the drama. If you don't stand back and look around afterwards, I'll eat my hat.

Overall, a really great drama. The only downside I suffered was the ending was not as I expected, but that didn't make it bad. I cried a hell of alot more than I knew I would but wow. It also contained probably one of the most beautiful scenes of the entire show, and likely one of the top 10 scenes I've ever seen as far as emotional beauty.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
diana_list
4 people found this review helpful
Nov 28, 2012
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I couldn't stop watching this drama once i got started. The story line was great.
Kang Ji Hwan as Hong gil dong was casting magic. I can't think of anyone who could have done a better acting job for that character. Jang Geun Seok as the "Young Master" was amazing. Sun yu Ri was also great and a perfect fit for the part. But those are only the lead characters. There was so much good acting in this drama, there is no way to mention everyone. You need to watch for yourself.
I only rated the music as an 8, because to be honest, I didn't pay much attention to most of it, I was so captivated by the story.
For rewatch value, I only gave this a 5, because emotionally I am not so sure I could watch this again.
I don't think anyone will be disappointed if they watch this..but beware...this story stays with you for days after watching it

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WhiteLilly
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 7, 2015
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
I am really torn about this one.

It begins as the most GOOFY K-drama I have ever seen, totally over the top with modern
vibe and music and awful, cheap wigs. You learn to appreciate it all. Some moments are so
ridiculous and funny, that you will laugh out loud.

But THEN.... the mood of the drama shifts and it becomes something totally different, very
serious and political and tragic. I would have so muched wished for the good vibe to stay
or return at least in the end.

Although I did not appreciate the seriousness and tragedy of the last episodes, I still have
to say it is a very good drama, that will make you laugh and maybe cry.

The main character Gil Dong changes exactly at the same rate as the mood shifts, from a funny
dochebag he becomes this street-hero that fights for his dreams, and it is a transition that was
very radical and yet belivable.
The main female role has a bit too much "I am dumb" going on for my liking, but she was portrayed
very well and remains loveable...

Aaaiiishh... still cannot get over the ending, though... If you want something funny and uplifting, watch
the first 10-15 episodes and then leave it at that, be warned.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
azndrama
1 people found this review helpful
Dec 9, 2012
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
What can I say, I absolutely LOVED the characters and casting in this drama. Each one has their own unique persona and backgrounds, and the way they interact and develop with each other was very well done.

This drama had some great humor in it, but also was very serious and heavy at times. You really felt the highs and lows of the characters. Convincing acting by both lead and supporting actors and actresses.

I also love that this drama had a definite plot and story line to it, other than just romance. The politics and action, all pulled you into the characters and story really well. I hesitate in watching some of the period dramas, but this one was very entertaining in how they infused modern-day humor into it.

Highly recommend if you like action, love interesting characters, and enjoy more than just a point A to B love story.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
loois
1 people found this review helpful
Apr 25, 2011
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I love the story and characters that the Hong sisters created in Hong Gil Dong. They are sometimes hilarious and sometimes noble, but always memorable. Even when they make choices you wish they wouldn't, you empathize with them and understand why they are making their choices. This story is poignant and stuck with me for several weeks after I watched it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kiara
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 30, 2016
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
It's over! Thank god it's over. I struggled with this show. So much so that I contemplated dropping this show, but by the time it got to this point (around episode 17) I had already invested so much of my time that I was determined to finish it.

The show isn't flat out bad, just elements were. For every one thing this show had going for it, two things were dragging it down. For one, 24 episodes was far too long for this show. The last 8 episodes or so were so tedious for me. Two, the show seemed to lack direction. It felt like it didn't know where it was going or what it wanted to be. And when this show was going places none of the places where particularly good. That's not to say none of the episodes were good because there was definitely a few that actually made me want to continue to the next episode, but they were sporadic and few.

The worst part about this show was Jang Geun Suk. I'm sorry, I realize that he is a well liked actor on here and in general, but his performance was wooden and bland. Besides glaring me to death I didn't get much of anything from him. Counting sheep would've been more compelling. Truthfully though the only ones really bringing anything in terms of acting were Kang Ji Hwan (who I found to be incredibly adorable and actually makes me want to pick back up Capital Scandal), Jo Hee Bong (fantastic as the insane king who truly blessed my screen) and Kim Ri Na (I can't help it, good acting can make me like characters that I'm not necessarily supposed to like or root for). Having said that no one (outside of JGS) was particuarally bad, just not memorable or worth mentioning.

The show had some fairly likeable secondary characters in Gomi, Su Jeon (what can I say, I fell for his explosions of love) and Mal Nyeo. I had no complaints when they were on my screen.

Music wise there were only two songs that I even remember hearing and they were both nice (one by a man and the other by a woman). No idea who sings the songs or the titles, but they were nice and helped to set the mood.

Definitely would not watch it again seeing as I struggled the first time around. Can't say I'd recommend, but hey I could be the lone wolf when it comes to not liking this show. Much too campy for my personal taste, but if that's up your alley then this show might be for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?