House of Flying Daggers

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 3,128 users)
  • Ranked: #619
  • Popularity: #763
  • Watchers: 4,675

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

13%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

7 edits
4 edits
3 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
Rourou
25 people found this review helpful
Apr 23, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I watched this movie years ago but I still remember its events clearly.
I was mostly attracted by the story : there was Action combined with romance (which is one of the favorite genres that I like to watch).
The story was like a moving painting with all the bright and dark sides of it just like other chinese Fantasy-Wuxia films that manages to keep you interested especially when there are fighting scenes on the screen.
The ending wasn't what we all want it to be but it's sort of expected for this genre of film.
If you're action-romance lover then this film's for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Skye-N-Rain
15 people found this review helpful
Apr 27, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I just finished watching this amazing movie right now.
Up until the end I would\'\'ve given this movie a 10 in story, but the ending just ruined it for me. It wasn\'\'t a bad ending, it just wasn\'\'t my type of ending. Some people will probably love this movie and give it all 10\'\'s but for me the ending just wasn\'\'t how I would\'\'ve ended it so i\'\'m giving the story a 9, the acting was a 10 since all of them were amazing actors, the music an 8 because while it wasn\'\'t the best music it did fit the story just fine. As for rewatch value, while I personally don\'\'t like to rewatch movies or dramas until 1-2 years afterwards, I would rewatch this one so i\'\'ll give it a 7. Overall, i\'\'m giving this movie a 9 because if you\'\'re a fan of any of the cast(lucky me for being a fan of all three of the main actors!), or a fan of the Wuxia genre, or a fan of Chinese choreography, you\'\'ll absolutely love this gem of a film.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Go-To-The-Extreme
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
At the beginning of the movie I couldn't take my eyes off the screen. I wanted to watch it till the end. The storyline was captivating and the acting was outstanding! But as the story progressed I grew restless. The interest was lost and the plot just went on and on without anything happening. Repetition of encounters were too many to count and the action was lost on me to be honest. I think the ending could have been much better. It was predictable and the whole mood of the movie was gone. Anyhow I didn't like the movie because I thought it would be "beautiful" and "amazing" as many reviews on other sites said it would be. I set my expectations too high for this one and it just didn't meet it in the end.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
hwato
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 25, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Just watched this and it has instantly made its way onto my all time classics list. The acting and the action scenes are top notch with a strong female lead. The cinematography is however probably one of the most underrated aspects of this movie. The filming locations are extremely picturesque and use of colour has been extremely effective. There are many vibrant colours used without it becoming tasteless. The plot also follows seasonal colours despite the story only covering a few days.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MochiMin
4 people found this review helpful
Jan 7, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I bought this movie for a dollar when I was like 12 and just because I was all into action asian movies. When I saw the movie I was an expert at this type of movie already and it was similar to others I had seen since there were awesome fighting scenes and music that helped the movie out as well. The beginning of the movie is one of my favorite scenes because the main actress shows how awesome she is and not just here but later on as well. I love movies like this where the female is an awesome weapon specialist or fighter. I like to rewatch the movie because it is an action movie and is very interesting and does not bore you when you watch it again. I might watch it right now after I finish this because writing about it just made me want to watch it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Paimon
3 people found this review helpful
May 23, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
I watched this movie for the first time one day while my laptop was broken to pass the time, and I instantly fell in love with it. After that, I showed it to my sister and that became the first movie we ever saw together, and it was instantly deemed a classic among our lists of movies we've watched both separately and together. The storyline was absolutely captivating and had us hooked from the beautiful beginning to the unexpected ending with its multiple plot twists and breathtaking moments. This movie turned us into fans of the Wuxia genre's unique fighting styles and amazing choreography. The casting was great and they played each of their parts well. We both enjoyed the music, specifically the main theme and its arrangements.



This movie is perfect for those who love the Wuxia and romance genres. I highly recommend!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Grapejuice
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 24, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
The movie was addicting. I can still remember the sad moments so clearly like I saw it just a day ago. I have been trying to find something close to this movie. But on the vail. Even though this movie is not the best of its gerne. And that is what I like so much about this film. It's not perfect, but I still like it as if it was. It's hard to explane. Perhaps my positive view of this movie is because I saw it as a child. And my view of things was very different. It is also the first pure asian movie I saw.

The story was magnificent. I have never seen anything like this before.

Acting was well played. I could never even catch myself thinking that there are cameras filmig this whole scene.

Music was the thing that really made me feel like I was in the middle of the action myself. Even though I didnt quite like the songs. They werent of my taste.

I should watch this again some time. Since the last time I saw it was atlest 5 year ago.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dragynfaerie
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 18, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Fantastic movie! I've watched it a couple of times and it has a home in my movie collection. The story is quite good. The cast is great. The action choreo is terrific. The cinematography is beautiful. It's been a couple of years since I've watched it, but there are scenes that are so vivid, it's like I just finished.
Was this review helpful to you?