Chronicle of Life (2016) poster

Details

  • Drama: Chronicle of Life
  • Country: China
  • Episodes: 37
  • Aired: Feb 1, 2016 - Feb 23, 2016
  • Aired On: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
  • Original Network: Shenzhen TV
  • Duration: 45 min.
  • Genres: Historical, Romance, Life, Drama
  • Tags: Qing Dynasty
  • Rating: Not Yet Rated

Statistics

  • Score: 7.6 (scored by 397 users)
  • Ranked: #2299
  • Popularity: #2864
  • Watchers: 1,110

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

10 edits
5 edits
3 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
myungsooo
14 people found this review helpful
Feb 24, 2016
37 of 37 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
The show started off extremely promising - an exciting plot that leaves you anticipating future conflicts and the revelation of secrets. However, it slowly turned into a draggy soap opera with mediocre acting (namely by Zheng Shuang) and historical characters behaving uncharacteristically love-lorn. Hawick Lau did a fine job here, except that his default face was a frown and he lacked the aura of a great emperor as Kang Xi was, according to history. His female lead had only two expressions - a poker face and a depressed demeanour. I do have to applaud the acting of Vin Zhang (Rong Ruo) and Edward Zhang (Chang Qing), as they executed their roles very well, especially that of the latter. Overall, this show could have been much more dramatic and intense, given the refreshing storyline. Oh well :(

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
11 people found this review helpful
Apr 3, 2016
37 of 37 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
Chronicle of Life started well, but ended with complete boredom. The premise of the story is good, but the execution was lacking as the story went round and round. The upside and difference in the story is that a majority of it happened outside of the palace and there was less bickering between the women than in other dramas like this. Rest assured that there is some bitterness between the courtesans and of course the mother and grandmother, but it doesn't take up the entire story. One plus is the excellent love in this drama accompanied by cheesiness and cuteness. I like those parts.

I will just be real here. The ending is stupid and at that point I just didn't care anymore. I didn't feel anything for the main characters and was irritated with the writing of some of the other characters. I wish I could post spoilers, because I have some lengthy complaints. I scored COL a little higher because I didn't hate it and I love the cinematography, scenery, and costumes. Plus, the acting wasn't horrible.

I admit that I am a huge Lau Hawick fan, but I felt like he wasn't into his character as the Emperor. I also didn't feel the chemistry between him and Zheng Shuang as Lin Lang. They did have some really cute moments that made me smile. I felt more for Zhang Vin as Rong Rou and Zhang Edward as Chang Qing. I loved the characters and the actors. I felt like Chang Qing was written incorrectly at the end. His character would have made different choices for his love of family. Rong Rou was a beautiful character and I loved him most of all. The acting of the women was good also.

As I listen to the music it reminds me of a different song, but I can't quite put my finger on it. It is making me crazy.

I will never rewatch this.

I don't necessarily recommend this drama. If you like this genre, then it is an ok watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MiraiArtx
3 people found this review helpful
Mar 13, 2016
37 of 37 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I was very excited to start this series, as it had quite a lot of hype and shots of the cinematography were super eye-catching.
The story, like I've seen many others say, was very interesting during the first 7-8 episodes. It was cute, charming, slightly-cliche, and comedic. Around episode 8 though, it was as if a switch just turned on, and the melodrama was brought in. I don't know how, but I swear throughout the series if I had a penny for every time she laid there hurt or sick I'd have like 20 cents. The same tropes are used over and over again, which was really frustrating. That said, I was still able to make it up to episode 33. But at that point I was so fed up, I skipped to the last episode.
The acting wasn't too bad, nor was it great. I've gotten used to the dubbing of the mainland dramas, but if you haven't this ones kind of very obviously dubbed.
The music was actually pretty good, but again nothing exceptional.
There are some good points to this drama though. The cinematography is really really good. The vivid colors of the ancient china set stood out, and was filmed so beautifully. The clothing was really great as well. I do think that this drama had a lot of potential, and if anything just watching the beginning few episodes is pretty good entertainment. I don't think I would rewatch though.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mistborn
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 15, 2018
37 of 37 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Chronicle of life This is my objective review (personally my rating is higher):
Brace yourselves this is a drama adaptation from a novel by Fei Wo Si Cun and has a historical setting, that means angst, a lot of angst and also frustration. Of course this is principally a romantic story, concerning to the main elements is not very apart from usual things like love triangle and secondary male syndrome, personally I found difficult to get used to the couple between the emperor and Ling Lang they had a little development because for like half of the drama she was on Rongruo side, but they didn´t make a wonderful couple either. I´m going to say that despite that there are a lot of charming and lovely moments and also a secondary couple that is even better than the main love triangle, and the drama is fast paced and keep interesting all the time.
There is a wonderful bromance between the emperor and Rongruo, Zhang Bin Bin and Hawick Lau have good acting here and their brotherhood relationship is great. They acted well, their characters are not that impressive but you get the feels from them and they’re very consistent. Also Zhang Bin Bin and Hawick Lau really look good even with that ugly Manchu hairstyle and their characters are really lovely.
The most interesting thing about the drama is the revenge plot against the emperor by Chang Qing (Asihai), but his actions reveal one of the most ridiculous things in the story: the lack of security concerning to the emperor, he is the most important person in the whole empire but his guards are not there when it´s is necessary, this not make any sense, at all.
The most negative point in the drama is the Mary Sue kind of female lead, we can´t blame a lot the actress for her character development, these kind of characters don´t get many chances to become great, but Zhen Shuang has a single “I´m the victim” expression almost all the time and it get annoying in some point the fact that she faints again and again and again.
Concerning to other things there are beautiful sceneries, colors and costumes. Music is not that memorable but suits well to the story and there are a couple pretty songs in the OST.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SaranghaeLindaboo
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 31, 2016
37 of 37 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 2.0
This is my honest opinion. This drama was full of life until the last 3 episodes. It was a drag and it turned out to be very disappointing. Not gonna lie, I was depressed at how bad the ending was, it was kinda like wasting my time to watch this drama. But the acting was on point. I loved all the characters and the how the story began. After that it went down hill.
Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 37/37
Magdalena
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 24, 2016
37 of 37 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 4.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 2.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I feel sorry about starting this drama because I do not like to leave something unaccomplished but I just do not have the nerves to watch it anymore. When it comes to movies, Chinese are unconquerable, however their dramas are nothing compared to Korean dramas. I expected much more but I guess I should not have had such high expectations.

Generally, the story is not so bad. However, do not be that fascinated by the plot. I was deceived by it as well. The acting is average - nothing special that can make you say: "I will watch this because of them and I will check out other movies too". There is no such thing. The main actress' voice is irritating, I am not into that much sweetness and I am not watching dramas in order to feel like I am watching an anime. As for the music - it is good but I do not think it is that important. Music is always good as long as you are a connoisseur.

In conclusion, you should already know what the rewatch value is in my opinion - I am going to drop this drama simply because I cannot stand it anymore. Think wisely before you choose to start spending your precious time to watch this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?