Lucky Romance (2016) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 8,475 users)
  • Ranked: #1972
  • Popularity: #166
  • Watchers: 17,107

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

3%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

26 edits
20 edits
9 edits
8 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Favorite Dramas
209 titles 45 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
manicmuse
59 people found this review helpful
Jul 15, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 10
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
I am so sad that this drama is over. Legitimately sad. That's an amazing feat considering how much I thought the first two episodes sucked! I've also managed to give this drama a 10, which may seem illogical based on some of my critiques (and I have many), but I really could not give it even a half point lower... that's how much I loved Lucky Romance. I guess that's fitting since this drama puts feelings over logic as a theme. I feel like Shim Bo Nui, I know it doesn't make sense, but I don't care : p

You should be warned that this is a full on RomCom, so if you're not interested in romance this is definitely the wrong drama for you. If you are a romance fan, even a slight romance fan, then this is a must see! Not because of the story, which follows the standard kdrama romance formula, but what sets this romance apart is the chemistry between the two leads, and that is 100% due to the breakout lead performance of Ryu Joon Yeol as Je Su Ho. He is perfectly cast, and PERFECT is not an exaggeration. I think the first two episodes are boring because they focus on introducing the plot, and on Shim Bo Nui being weird, but as soon as we get to see more of Su Ho the show became instantly addictive.

Hwang Jung Eum has lucked out with many great pairings, but this one is my new favorite. She relies on her usual perky personality, which can be annoying, but it really fit the quirkiness of this character well. I also liked that even though the character was kooky, and irrational, she was also smart, and not just a doormat. Bo Nui is desperate, and self destructive, without losing her charm, which makes her extremely complicated. They both nailed the balance between silly humor and more emotional scenes. They also looked good together, even with her HORRIBLE outfits (I still don't understand the hospital gown couture). My only complaint about the pairing is their kissing scenes... UGH! Joon Yeol gives everything to those moments, including his beautiful lips, and she just presses her lips to his with no effort. It pisses me off too much not to mention it.

The rest of the cast is also amazing. Gary Choi is a great 2nd lead character. I like his dynamic with the leads, and that he's not a villain-type. I've never seen Lee Soo Hyuk in a drama before, so I wasn't initially impressed, but he grew on me quickly. Amy's character was not as likable, but I still think Lee Chung Ah did a great job. The office team is full of great smaller characters, with their own cute little stories (I loved the office bet moments), but the supporting character MVPs are BFFs Dal Nim and Ryang Ha. They really were hilariously cute together, as well as perfect support for the leads. Some of my favorite moments in the show are their banter. They are the perfect comedy relief when the rest of the story gets less humorous too. I really don't think there are any weak acting links in the cast, and it's the cast that drives this show. I am annoyed by the lack of development for Jung In Ki's role, but that has nothing to do with his acting, which I think was spot on, that's the writer's fault.

That leads me to this dramas biggest weakness, and that's the story. Not only is the premise ridiculous, but how it's handled left many questions unanswered. I think that's part of the charm of the story, not having everything defined as 0's and 1's (a major reoccurring theme), but it is also frustrating. Then there are other storylines that are introduced... a missing father... the chicken guy... disgruntled ex employees... but those stories just aren't ever as interesting as the main love story. Even the game development story is only slightly intriguing, and just another brilliant means for them to interact. So I thought the story was pretty average, but I was still a fan of the writing. What I thought the writer did well were actually what the characters said, or how they interacted with each other. Ju Ho has some brilliant moments, and unless he was totally created through improv, the writer deserves credit for making one of my favorite drama characters EVER.

The music got better. I wasn't initially a fan, but I started liking some of the later songs more. What I really love is how they incorporated the song "Sad Fate" into the story. I thought that was very well done.

Now for the real reason behind me giving this drama a 10, and thats the rewatch value. Of course I gave this a 10 for rewatch value, because I am already rewatching, and I'm already up to episode 7 o.O!!! I've never done that with a drama ever!

So overall, this drama may not be perfect, but Ryu Joon Yeol was perfect, and that earns this drama a 10 score from me. I can't believe he's only been in two dramas!!! Obviously I now have to watch Reply 1988! I know that the next drama he's in will probably have me doing a countdown 'till the first episode.

If you're reluctant to watch, just please remember not to judge this drama by it's first couple of episodes. Once this show gets on a roll it is continuously charming until the very end. There are also some great themes about love, life, and "fate" in it that I appreciate. Oh, and I truly appreciate my new ideal kdrama namja chingu... RJY. I have a feeling I'm not alone in feeling that way!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
94loveKdrama
36 people found this review helpful
Jul 17, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
first impression: First two episodes so-so, I was like ok, same goes when I saw the male lead, I was not that interested of him.
if it bores you give this drama a chance up to 4 episodes :)

Story:
it will make you smile like an idiot for an entire episode don't worry it's normal, it will give you butterflies in your stomach,it will make you cringe and giggle for the main couple, it will make you re-watch HIM. yes I'm talking about him, the main character Je SooHo. he is way tooooooooo adorable!
best thing about this drama? Is it will make you think that guys act like girls too when they're in love.
15 to 16 episodes felt like the first two episodes to me though I love how it ended it was beautiful. I would lie If I'd say this drama is perfect, it has it's bumpy road, This is a KOREAN DRAMA so expect it will be cliche. lol. Highly recommended if you're into romcom! recommending it to everyone I mean you are missing a lot of your korean drama journey if if you wouldn't meet the most adorable character/male lead in dramaland.

I cannot guarantee that you'll love this drama but one thing is for sure you will definitely fall in love with the main guy. In my case I simply love it the cast, story, music, everything! :)

Acting/cast:
RJY: At First look he isn't that handsome to me. but lol. there's something about him that as as you get to see more of him you'll get to fall even harder. He is very charming and a great actor, I don't think any actors could pulled off Je SuHoo's character beside him.

HJE: I don't understand why others didn't like her, I was like what is wrong with you people she is basically the main reason I started it!

dalnim and the bff of sooho: funny combination and look forward to seeing them they are both hilarious :)

amy and gary: kinda annoying :p at the end my annoyance towards them lessened. xD

Mother of SooHo is really nice and adorable *wink*

re-watched value: LMAO perfect 10. lol. I have no idea how many time I've watched the 4 to 9 episodes and I'm definitely gonna watch the entire episodes for sure. one time viewing isn't enough you know *wink*

Overall this drama is really good! WATCH IT LIKE RIGHT NOW :) Technically I would have rated it 8.5 to 9 but Je Sooho is way too perfect so I ended up giving it 10! someday you'll understand me. mouhahahah.

WARNING: Je SooHo is a one of kind character. you'll miss him for sure especially his pajama moments at night!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dsjfgajkfd
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 9, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I tried to love Lucky Romance. The characters were likable, the plot was entertaining and reasonably paced, and the story was very quirky. I only had one problem with this drama and that was my dislike of Shim Bo Nui.

I understand that dramas are meant to make the watchers emotional, but Shim Bo Nui is honestly one of the most annoying characters I have ever had the displeasure of watching. I found her to be very manipulaive, selfish, and hypocritical. I was constantly infuriated by her selfish actions. She only thought about herself and would do things that would worry the people aroud her with any remorse.

I could not support her. I found her and her extreme superstitions annoying. She was constantly doing reckless things. For example, around the beginning of the series she would go around the office looking for a tiger while people were working. Her constantly fooling around at work made me reject the characterization of her being hardwaorking. Her constant lies (especially when she basically threatened Soo Ho into fake dating her) were alarming. I know I'm looking too much into this, but I can't help it.

I found myself only watching the show because I liked Soo Ho. I know that disliking a show because of one annoying character (that many others don't agree is annoying) is kind of extreme but she ruined the whole experience for me.

I don't think I'll ever watch this show again but don't get me wrong, it's a good show. This is just one of those cases where one bad apple spoils the whole bunch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Coco
5 people found this review helpful
Aug 7, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.0
While this drama had some good scenes, in general, story lines with pathetic, stupid, or ridiculous female leads are not appealing to me. One either likes that or does not. Hang Jung Eum is the queen of the plucky, messy, highly exaggerated female noble idiot. The low brow humour in her romantic comedy star vehicles is like nails on a chalkboard to me. Having said that, she is a beautiful talented actress and hopefully some day she will get to play a character that does not belong in a cartoon. She is considered a national treasure in Korea. Perhaps in the future she will choose a drama that lives up to the accolades.

If you are a fan of Ryu Jun Yeol, then, of course, you would not want to miss this one. He is captivating, as always and the camera loves him.

Frankly, really good romantic comedy that does not only appeal to the lowest common denominator is hard to come by. This one, again, had its moments, but like "She Was Pretty" falls short.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dedaisies
14 people found this review helpful
Jul 13, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
OK. What hasn't anyone reviewed this drama yet?

This drama is amazing. GO WATCH THIS NOW- and you wont regret it. I am in love with everything the drama offers, it is a really cute and heart-warming drama with an awesome OST. Loved listening to Soyou's and Xia's OST in the drama.

It is what it is. A romance comedy drama. It has romance, it has comedy (a lot of it actually) and the characters are extremely likeable, relatable and a little crazy. Every character in this drama makes the series really fun to watch- from the annoying ajusshis, to the sports star to the crazy girl who secretly has a crush on her CEO.

I admit the superstitions in this drama is ridiculous and sometimes, you'll face palm the main character for it. BUT, that is what the drama is about. If you go with the flow, you'll gradually understand why it came to be like that. This drama has chemistry with EVERY CAST MEMBER. The cast work REALLY WELL together in this drama.

To me, Ryu Jun Yeol is what MAKES THIS DRAMA WORK. I have become his biggest fan after this drama. I think everyone will be able to relate to his character in some way. He is a very fun character and enjoyable to watch. He is different from the typical male leads we often see in Korean dramas and I REALLY LOVE it. I think it's time for the traditional male leads to move aside, and make way for the more down to earth, shy and cute leads to move in.

I admit there are some flaws to this drama. BUT here's a tip. Don't focus on the little details of the story, don't point out the negative points of the story, don't try to out smart the writers of the drama. Just let it go, follow the flow of the drama, relate to the characters and you will find this to be a VERY fun and enjoyable drama to watch. I promise!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Vera
5 people found this review helpful
Jul 15, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
I just end this drama a few minutos ago and i already miss the main couple, they are so cute and pure.
Hwang Jung Eum (Shim Bo Nui) is one of my favorite actress of all time and she was the cause for me to start watching this but the real surprise for me was Ryu Joon Yeol (Je Soo Ho) i can't express his cuteness AGRH aaah his acting is sooo adorable that made my heart melt so much!
About the osts... i like them specially "Electric" Lovelyz Kei but it wasnt as catching as other doramas that i saw.
I really enjoyed and loved this drama and recommend to all of you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sharreb
3 people found this review helpful
Jul 16, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
A nice rom com on the light side for most part. And no better geeky nerdy guy then Je Su Ho. His character is very engaging and once he turns on his charm both Bo Nui and us are goners. Little did you know analytical minds are great at chasing girls. What works is that Su Ho's sincere and earnest decision to help Bo Nui. The takeaway message is that when you care for someone you try to understand them, persuade them if its irrational and when you cant persuade them you compromise. Su Ho literally does all of that. The truth is if he wasnt as tenacious or sincere he would never have moved Bo Nui who dedicates herself and all her world to Bo ra and the superstitions to allow Bo ra to stay save and recover. Although in her case is extreme, most of us can relate to being superstitious and fortune telling and resort to relying on it when all else fails. For Bo Nui it was the only way for her and Bo ra to survive.
3/4 of the way the plot seems to have slowed. And supporting cast in character Gary and Amy wasnt that interesting. They both developed a bit in their character.But Dal Nim, Bo nui's bestfriend is my favorite. Shes really cute and has her own charms.
Kudos to the writers for wrapping up this drama nicely. I love it their reunion ties back to their work. Often we see leads background abandoned secondhalf of a draman not in this case. I find it really sweet and great way to recap back all their times together and what they were to each other. And that letter from Su ho was simple but moving and the turning point to Bo Nui's decision to grow and be better. Su ho although inept and clueless in love always made the best decisions instinctively. He knows when to press the gas pedal and when to pull back to give her space. Oh my heart, il moss Je Su ho very much.
Ost part i love 90% of the songs. I find Junsu's track here better than the one he did for DOTS.
Wardrobe i find the stylist to be very bold. Su ho's tshirts sweats and shorts fit his character well. Most of the time i can tolerate Bo nui's boho look. She has the frame to rock it but 3 layers of denim is wrong. So its a hit and miss. And if theres too much negative comments on some of the dresses layered on bell trousers it means its distracting.
I find i enjoyed the drama better in marathon rather thn 2 episodes a week. Hence the last 6 episodes i waited it to air and watch in a go. Now i hope Ryu picks another nice project. Will miss him on the screen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Bale
3 people found this review helpful
Sep 21, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Ok, I know that it might be very hard to believe, but I really really enjoyed watch this drama.
I agree with the other comments when they say that the first two episodes were so and so, but after few episodes I can tell you that you will change your minds

I'm in love with Ryu Joon Yeol, for me he is the surprise of the this drama. I don't know why he reminds me of a carp, but I love his funny faces. It will make you smile like an idiot,
Please give a chance to this drama 'cause you won't regret it !

What can I say about the female lead acress... at first the female character has annoyed me, but in the end I have understood her and I can say that you have to try to put yourself in her shoes in order to appreciate her true self. She is a very srong woman, and I am glad that in the end she has decided to change her life without being afraid of the future and the bad luck.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MomshieDucK
3 people found this review helpful
Jan 31, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Let me start off by saying I was really superficial watching the first episode and almost dropped it because I didn't think the lead guy was that attractive. So ridiculous!!! This guy turned out to be one of my faves!! His dorky/nerdiness is so endearing and I was so attracted to how all in he went with his feelings. It was sexy to see how confident he turned out with knowing she just needed to catch up to where he was at in their relationship and was willing to wait for however long. This couple is pretty cute and even the secondary couple was cute as well. Pretty light and fluffy nothing too dramatic or super evil characters. Maybe a bit of petty jealousy but nothing too annoying. I like how you see her growth and trust in herself and those around her, where she eventually does grow out of all the luck stuff. Would def give this a chance, don't be like me and judge a book by its cover!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
3 people found this review helpful
Sep 11, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 3.5
Rewatch Value 4.0
A light romance drama, which was based, however, on a silly idea. The girl believes in luck and she goes through rituals or consults her shaman before her every action. That's okay enough. But, half way through, she just changes her beliefs just like that. I know love is strong etc etc but still, I would have preferred a better representation of the girl's personality and inner thought, as her beliefs weren't unreasonable for her. Maybe the cause of the whole romance driven story was the fact that they might wanted to make a light romance drama rather than a little more dramatic. But still, if so, they shouldn't have created such a dramatic background for her. Anyway, other than that, the drama was okay, with a strong and funny start, but with a so so ending. The love story was cute and the couple had some chemistry, but the girl got a little annoying down the way. Still, it was okay, with some great performances. So, 4 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KarolineAskeroed
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 6, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
I honestly didn't have high expectations for this drama when i first started watching it. I hadn't really heard much about it, i didn't really know who Ryu Jun-yeol was and i wasn't a big fan of Hwang Jang eum, although many of the dramas she's been in are on my favourites list. I just think she tends to overdo her acting, but now i think she's either starting to grow on me or that she's become a better actress, i don't know but something has happened.

I started watching Lucky romance because the plot sounded very different and also i was really curious to see what this drama was like because Hwang Jang eum was in it and although she's not exactly my favourite actress she's really good at choosing roles. I really loved her character in Lucky romance, although i have to say that her stylist really should get fired. It was like they were trying to promote as many pieces of clothing as possible in one outfit (maybe that's what they were doing). But besides that, no complaints, i think she played her role well in this drama.

But without a doubt, the one that really stole my heart in this drama was Ryu Jun-yeol's character. I sat through most of this drama smiling like an idiot and wishing i was the female lead because he was so cute. Lucky romance is basically a cuteness overload. I loved the awkward and geeky Ryu Jun-yeol trying to make Hwang Jang-eum's character love him, i loved watching their relationship develop, and i loved the chemistry, it was just so good. If you love romantic comedies then you will love this, this was romance and comedy at its finest. Lucky romance is truly an underrated drama and out of all the dramas i watched in 2016, this was my favourite. I don't even know what else to say than that i absolutely loved this drama, i don't have anything negative to say about it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Melakward
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 18, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Why I watched it: It was mainstream and Hwang Jung Eum tends to pick good dramas.

Was it worth it: Yes.

What I liked the most: Ryu Joon Yeol’s character. I share a few of the same traits as him. Also his hands.

What I disliked the most: The best friend characters were a bit much at times.

Moment Meter: 8/10 – Lots of great moments. After a recent drought, this was the storm I was looking for.

Other thoughts: The beginning was great. I loved the situation that expired during the full moon and the story in general. Some moments were a bit too slow and lost some steam towards the end. Lee Soo Hyuk went for a softer role this time, which I enjoyed. A good amount of romance. Ryu Joon Yeol’s looks have their moments of good looking, and not-so-good-looking. Generally I like him. It was a very easy drama to watch. Would I watch it again? Not anytime soon, but maybe after a good amount of time has passed.

Conclusion: A very good light romantic comedy. There aren’t enough of these coming out these days. :\

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?