Skip Beat!

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 7,849 users)
  • Ranked: #1594
  • Popularity: #150
  • Watchers: 14,267

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

7 edits
4 edits
3 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Lovegood
43 people found this review helpful
May 24, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
I definitely love this drama as much as I loved the ANIME!

At first I doubted if I should watch this drama since I really love the anime/manga and I don't want to be disappointed seeing the actors/actresses ruin the story. But since I really love the story I watched it... and I made the RIGHT CHOICE!

This drama was definitely a SUCCESSFUL one! For the story, I must compliment that they gave justice to the original story... They haven't made a lot of changes... almost the same, so much like the anime, but still, definitely worth watching.

For the actors, I really love the character of Tsuruga Ren in the anime (Dung He Lian in this drama), and I should say Choi Si Won has portrayed Ren's character well (just don't mind the voice dubbing). And I also did love how Ivy Chen portrayed Kyoko. Dong Hae was not bad as well... I really loved how all the cast portrayed their individual roles...

Music was definitely cool and awesome. Rewatch value (though I usually don't rewatch dramas), I would definitely watch this again after a couple of years... Overall, this was great!

You would definitely laugh your heart out! You'll enjoy watching this and for those who have watched the anime, you would enjoy this as much as you've enjoyed the anime version...

I definitely want to see a second season of this drama where they could include a lot more of scenes/story from the MANGA...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Doremeduck
37 people found this review helpful
May 3, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
Skip Beat has to be one of the greatest Taiwanese dramas I have ever seen. The story is really amazing. It's all based on REVENGE!!! Which, you know, isn't the best thing, but the way the theme of revenge is played out throughout the drama really makes it worth it. The importance of this drama is the fact that it is about friendship, and finding your dreams. I loved the focus on determination and perseverance the drama had as well. There wasn't really any focus on romance, being the romantic I am, that's what I was looking forward to, but I don't think Skip Beat needs it. The story was perfect without it, and it does have some ;). This drama was hilarious, and not hilarious in the "haha...that's funny" sort of way, but hilarious in the "What the....what...wha....HAHAHAHA" and it was perfect. I have to give HUUUGE props to the lead actress. She was amazing! Her character was so strange and eccentric, but at the same time amazing. She did a fabulous job! I loved Seeing me some Super Junior!! but I wish that Skip Beat incorporated more of the cast members besides Gong Xi and Lian. It would have been awesome to see the cast members play in with the drama together more. The music was by far the best music I have ever heard for a drama before. I will be purchasing the OST before the week is up. I'm not sure about rewatching though. I mean the drama was amazing, but for some reason the thought of rewatching it is..."ehh" but that's just me. I'm sure a lot of people will think it is worth rewatching a lot more than I do. Overall!! great drama. I enjoyed watching every crazy moment of it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rourou
16 people found this review helpful
Apr 4, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I wanted to watch this drama until the end before writing a review to see what would happen and i'm glad i did so.
The story isn't new for me since it's taken from the manga and the anime i've got to admit that i felt extremly good seeing it come to life by this great cast that couldn't be any better, i mean Siwoon and Donghae were good plus i discovered the uncredible actress Ivy Chan i wouldn't find any one better than her for this role.
The music performed by Super Junior M , Donghae and several other chinese singers was nice, i am not even into chinese language but the songs choice was great.
When i was watching Skip Beat i felt that the episodes were so fast and i always wanted more : i am still demanding a second season because i feel there's still a lot to tell and a lot for us to watch, it has been fun watching this drama.
Basically if you're skip beat fan this is a must watch!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kiwii500
11 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
After reading the manga and watching the anime I had some unrealistically high hopes for this drama. I was expecting it to do what the anime and manga had failed to do. I wanted to finish the story and finally get to the happily ever after. I wanted closure. When the drama first came out I tried to wait a little, because knew I would die if I had to wait for a new episode every week. But after a couple days I gave in. From the amazing theme song that is still in my head in the first episode to the unsatisfying ending in episode 15, everything was awesome. The story was almost the same as the manga and anime and yet at the same time it felt like a whole new drama. The actors were great. The main actress was hilarious, and at times I laughed so hard I had to pause it just to catch my breath.The acting was superb. And the fact that Choi Si Won was playing Ren just made it icing on the cake. I don’t think I can re-watch this right now because it would just remind me all over again about how much I cant wait for the rest of it. Watching this drama was an amazing experience; even the waiting. Every week the actors and the drama just go better and better. You knew what to expect and what was most likely going to happen yet you were still surprised.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xfire
13 people found this review helpful
Apr 15, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
To understand the plot, it would help a lot if you have actually read the manga which is still ongoing as of this writing.

I have not watched Ivy Chen before and I must admit that she kinda irritated me during the first few episodes but she definitely grew on me. Kyoko, which is the girl Ivy was portraying doesn't seem to be as animated as her but nevertheless I would say that I cannot imagine any other actress better fit to deliver this role than Ivy ;D

I was glad that the script writers tried to stick to the manga as much as they can especially for Ren's manager who was definitely very much like the one in the manga and L.M.E's flamboyant president.

If searching for Siwon and Donghae brought you to Skip Beat then I must tell you that the beautiful boys are worth watching ;D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
timewithty
10 people found this review helpful
Jan 23, 2013
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
For me, 'Skip Beat!' was an enjoyable break from watching dramas centred on complicated love triangles (not that there isn't one in SB, only it's so minimal that I'm not sure I'd even call it one...). I loved how the plotline instead focused on Gong Xi's journey to becoming a star, the discoveries she makes along the way, and her revenge on Bu Po Shang (what a jerk!).

However, although it's this idea of revenge that sets Gong Xi off on a mission, I would have liked there to have been more screen-time dedicated to her and Bu Po Shang going head-to-head because the scenes where they do are some of the best! I wish I could have had more of those than those of Siwon... Overall, the plot content was really good but the pace slows a bit towards the end. And if you go into watching SB believing it's just about revenge, then you're wrong.

And Siwon. I almost considered knocking a star off because of him. His character may hold a mask over his feelings and his heart but when I look into his eyes, they are unreadable! Not because they're conflicted but because there really is NOTHING there! He really only had about two or three expressions in this drama, which was somewhat of a joke between my sisters and I as we watched it. Even his responses in certain interactions with Gong Xi felt wrong. Oh the irony (and pain) that Siwon acts as the actor who is the top actor in showbiz. Mind you, my sister and I looked up clips from 'The King of Dramas' and almost fell off our chairs to discover that Siwon had lo and behold...EXPRESSIONS.

Meanwhile, Gong Xi was amazing and so adorable! At least in the first half of the drama, I could always expect her character to surprise me in ways that left one feeling very satisfied and even more involved in rooting for her. I think it's the first time I've ever had real FAITH in a character. I heard that people had previously found Ivy Chen's acting annoying but I think she did a great job!

And MR DU. OHMYGOSH I LOVE HIM. Awesome acting right there! I'd have promoted him to a main role. And adorableness? OH YES.

Since there was no love lost there with Siwon, I was also all goods with the minimal romance in 'Skip Beat!' although the ending left a bit, only a tad, to be desired. The best relationship for me was Gong Xi and Qin's girl-mance...sis-mance... (honestly, there needs to be a girl word equivalent for bromance). They were honestly perfect for each other and so cute together. Again I seriously wish there had been more scenes between them towards the end. Real love doesn't just exist between lovebirds.

I could say more about 'Skip Beat!' but I will leave it there. On that note I must most-definitely end by saying, AI WO BA BU!

Gotta love it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
akuma-chan
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 15, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I read the manga a few times while checking for updates every two days, watched the animation so I know the story to the point that I know exactly what the actors are going to say next. I love the story as you can tell. The actors in this drama are very well selected, only two of them didn't really look like the ones in the manga/animation. The actors did a very outstanding job of portraying their characters while making the character Dun He Lian/Tsuruga Ren realistic. I watched some taiwanese dramas before and skip beat and boys over flowers were the only ones I acually liked. I've watched many dramas, watched many animations, read more than enough mangas, but I must say this story is still one of my favourites.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Juniko
9 people found this review helpful
Apr 5, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I'm a fan of the manga. That's why I gave the first 7 points for the story. I gave an extra point for the drama because it was a faithful adaptation, and they even put the 3D zombies...^^, so 8. But that's all I can give.
I know that those many cuts and this style of directing is typical for most T-drama, but to me cutting the drama this often mean cutting the rythm, and in such a crazy comedy that needs slower moments for sweet or sad scenes, rythm is a priority. So cutting the scene in half and repeating them, and stopping a scene to let us hear what everyone is thinking (in an anime kind of way...but even slower), definitely killed the rythm of some very important scenes, and kept me from being captivated by the story and moved by the characters.

Another thing that kept me from being moved : the poor dubbing. Honestly, how on earth am I supposed to judge the acting if the two male leads are dubbed! Be it an extra or a guest star, ok, but the TWO male leads ! But still, Ivy Chen was a convincing Kyoko, so I gave her 5 points.

The music now. At first I liked it, it was fun, but as the drama went on, I realized how unbalanced it was. They really didn't choose well which music suited which scene, and that's too bad, because it sometimes ruined the mood.

Nevertheless, I gave a 7 in rewatch value because some scenes were really funny (no, REALLY! ) and because...well...I love Skip Beat !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
greysniper
11 people found this review helpful
Mar 8, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
With the last two episodes drawing near, I can see that we are probably going in the way of the Anime and cutting off at a the beginning of the "Dark Moon" portion of the Manga.

With that being said, I believe it is perfectly fair to rate this 8 all around.

It's not ground breaking, it's not idol fluff, so what we get is actually a pretty close live-action to the Manga "Skip Beat!".

Because this is based from a Manga, directing took a more direct approach to the interpretation, meaning Kyoko's evil aura and good and evil spirits come out just like in the Manga/Anime.

Was this a good thing? Yes. Unlike other Manga adaptations where their attempts at showing the Manga-style comedy on screen tended to fall short (Playful Kiss), was badly timed and/or usually made some of us wonder "was that really necessary?", in "Skip Beat!" it felt like you were reading the Manga the whole time. Though I do admit there were some scenes that could have been done better.

Ivy, Siwon, and Dong-hae actually do their respective lead roles justice. Siwon's interpretation of Ren gave me goosebumps.

Mostly because he can get that "shining angry Ren" smile out accurately. As a person who has read, and is still reading the Manga, it was really surprising how dead on he was to it. Even while looking at it, it doesn't look any different than a smile, but the feeling behind that smile was not happy at all.

Ivy's "Kyoko" was actually what sold it for me. She was just as dead on as Siwon's Ren. Wardrobe needed to pay more attention to detail, though, as in a few episodes her hair was longer in some scenes and shorter in others. Her facial expressions were dead on.

Dong-hae's "Shou" was good too, could have been a bit stronger, but really he did a very accurate and sometimes hilariously wacky job.

Yes the show did come off a bit too wacky in some parts but really, that's the best part, when Kyoko goes into crazed fits cus she doesn't want the make-up to come off or the ridiculous bike riding scene in episode one... these are all from the Manga with liberties taken by the director. I don't think it'd have the same appeal if you took them out. Actually, I don't think it would be the same Manga/Anime/Drama if you did.

Now those points is what dropped it down from 10 to 9 for me.

But what dropped it down from 9 to 8 was the dubbing. In the off chance in hell that someone from their production department sees this...

Don't. Dub.

You went and hired Korean actors/idols for your show, the least you can do is not dub them. Pissed me off when you can catch a few of the dubbed areas in episode one.

To summarize: If you haven't read the Manga, a lot of the evil/angelic Gong Xi moments will be lost to you, as you'll be wondering why it's like that, while still laughing at those spirits creeping people out or exacting revenge. If you have read the Manga, you'll be pissed it's only 13 episodes because it's so damn good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Palindrome
8 people found this review helpful
Sep 28, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
You know that feeling when you're watching a really great drama and you can't even enjoy the last episode because well... it's the last episode. So you every other second you're checking the time, waiting. Well that's how i could describe watching every episode of this drama. I didn't want it to end!

Now, I know you could fight me on this and say why not get some perfectly capable Taiwanese male actors to play the part of Bu Po Shang and Dun Helian. However, as far as eye candy go and acting i think they did the job well. Not to mention Ivy Chen was simple adorable.The story is great and there wasn't a single episode that didn't leave me looking somewhat stupid laughing my head off.

Also if you're into romance than this is the drama for you. Who doesn't love a good romantic comedy? So all in all with a great story, good acting, music that goes well I can safely say that this is great drama to watch and perfectly good to re-watch.

Watch it!
P.s if you get stuck on episode 1 it gets sooooooooo much better!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
nancydrew
4 people found this review helpful
Apr 4, 2012
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I really didn't want to like this drama, and before everyone hates me for that statement, its because one of the things I hate to admit the most is the fact that I am a crazed, obsessed, fan girl. Its sad, and I've hidden that fact well from those who know me in person, but its true.
There were a lot of things that I didn't like about this drama, but watching it from beginning to end, (I must note the only reason I kept going was to watch Choi Siwon)I really liked it. The acting was good, considering the circumstances (Choi Siwon and Lee Donghae are not fluent in Mandarin and their parts were dubbed, not to my taste at that) and I have to say that I really enjoyed watching Ivy Chen's performance, though at times I wanted to strangle her character. And of course, Bianca Bai, who I was pleased to say was awesome in this drama.
I enjoyed watching the relationships progress in this drama, granted the circumstances were not realistic, but the progression of the relationships was.
What I didn't like was more that technical stuff, like the fact that there was way too much internal dialogue for the characters and they said a lot of things that seemed obvious, but that's a common thing for Taiwanese dramas, and I did fast forward through a lot of the flashback scenes. There were way too many.
The OST was awesome, I didn't really understand the title song and how it fit into the drama, even with translation, until the end, which you have to watch to find out.
As for my re-watch rating, I don't tend to re-watch dramas, hence the 1.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
biniBningPunkista
7 people found this review helpful
Feb 20, 2014
15 of 15 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
In my opinion, Skip Beat Taiwanese drama version has a lot to offer.

I initially watched this solely for Siwon and no one else. I don't even know who Donghae or Ivy Chen was prior to watching the show. Adding to this... I've also never heard of Skip Beat anime/manga at all! *Ducks in a hole* (No flame throwing from fans please! I'm just being honest here.)

What surprised me though, was how much it worked for me. I guess it's a good thing that I have no idea that this was an adaptation - hence I had nothing to compare it with. Although, I have a bit of hesitation when I learned there was a lot of CG effects where in things were faked - I have a bit of aversion in those things, but it wasn't that bad and the story really hooked me up. The story line was awesome and it hit that funny spot in my heart. Not to forget those heart warming moments with regards to friendship and all those special ties with other people. I'm happy that the focus was not too much on the love story between a man and a woman but about the love for all the people around.

The actors were good in portraying their roles, it wasn't that hard to be absorbed in their "acting within an act" it was really fun to watch. The comedy was really funny as well and Ivy Chen's character as Gong Xi was hilarious. She brought out unexpected fun in the whole duration of the series. As for Siwon... I love watching his facial reactions and his hot choco-abs whenever it's shown but what turned me off was the fact that his voice was off. Since it was dubbed weirdly, they should at least have looked for a voice over who sounds like him. The same goes to Donghae. I do understand that both guys are Korean and they had to do this... but the least they could have done was do it nicely, right?

But anyways... setting this aside, this drama is still one of my favorite ones. Music wise - I got addicted to it and still listen to it up to now. I relieve my favorite scenes whenever I hear the OST. As for re-watching, I have no idea how many times I have re-watched this show anymore since 2011. I was just hooked to watching my favorite scenes again and again.

Over all this drama was fun fun fun. I would recommend it to people who liked the manga and anime. It does not deviate much from the original and yet it also has its very own charm.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?