Yuuki (2006) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 1,317 users)
  • Ranked: #1128
  • Popularity: #1458
  • Watchers: 2,615

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

4 edits
2 edits
2 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
DramaBunny
17 people found this review helpful
Dec 28, 2011
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
Where can I begin with this movie. I loved it! The story was so beautiful and tragic, I was crying into my blanket about half the time! I'm not sure how to review this movie without giving away spoilers so I'll just say that it is a must see!

Kazuya Kamenashi as Yuuki is amazing. One of his best acting roles I think I've ever watched him in. He is such and optimistic character, and thinks of others before himself even though he is very ill.

If you don't cry at least one single tear before this movie is over, then you have no soul. It's a really, really great movie!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
darkheart94
8 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2012
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
this tearjerker drama really the best.. it makes u want to live your live to the fullest and won't give up.. kamenashi as yuuki really the best choice ever.. he potray his character so much that makes people watch it want to give courage to him.. he always think bout others even in that state.. i really cried so much (poor my shirt, getting wet by my tears) anyway, i would really2 rewatch it.. although it is short but it is full of message and heartbreaking scene TT^TT
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
haha63
5 people found this review helpful
Apr 27, 2013
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I think this film may end up as one of my favorites. I loved Kamenashi Kazuya playing the role of Yuuki.. I think it fit him best, and I really got to see how much of a diverse actor he is. The plot for this film is indeed a sad and tragic one, but if you look beyond that you'll see there's so many other positive elements that made this so great to watch. As the film went on you really got to explore the true meaning of friendship and how everyone struggles to make the best out of a tough situation. And even though this film doesn't have a happy ending, it teaches you a lot more than you think. I definitely think everyone should give this a shot.. Even if you may not like the actors, or don't like watching sad films, this is definitely worth your time and I almost guarantee you'll love it!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
StellarJ
3 people found this review helpful
Apr 27, 2013
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I don't realy know where to start. At first I just want to say that this movie is a masterpiece. The story, the cast, the acting were perfect.
The whole story is about a very energetic guy called Yuuki. He finds out that he has a disease only 8 people have ever had. Nobody knows the cause of it and it doesn't even have an official title. But Yuuki stays realy strong even when he hears it. He just asks to make up a title for it so that he would know the name of the demon he's fighting. And he stays a synonym to enegy and courage (jap. yuuki-courage). Even the friends who come to visit him say : "I came to encourage him but he ended up encouraging me".
Oh, yeah, one of many things I noticed and loved is that in the beginning of this movie Junji-san said that "Yuuki is nothing special - just someone to spend time together in a foreign country." and then later on he was like : " I thought we could follow wherever he went. I thought our road together was forever." And he talked about how in their 60's they would still be friends and talk about how bad the pensions are. That was touching. TT^TT
So, if you're down and want encouragement and/or just want to cry this is definitely a MUST WATCH! ^^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Meg1014
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 7, 2013
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Very sad but a very moving story. Being someone who was faced with losing a loved one to an incurable disease at a young age, this type of story is always hard to watch. But the courage and positive energy Yuuki possessed was absolutely amazing to watch. It's a hard thing for someone to stay so positive and optimistic when facing death but Yuuki was never short of an encouraging word to each of his friends even though he was the one facing all the hardships. Yes it's sad and tears will be shed but you won't regret watching it. Makes you appreciate life a little more and reminds you that tomorrow isn't a guarantee.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
YusraY
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 6, 2017
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Yuuki to me was like seeing my elder sister fighting her illness. Maybe because it is based on a true story, it feels so real. I know that it is hard for the person who is fighting the illness and usually most dramas and movies portray that really well and make us treasure life and we cry at the end of them. However what makes Yuuki truly different is that it shows the struggle of the people around the people who are fighting the illness. First that initial denial of the seriousness of the situation, then the scrutiny that follows. After that it finally draws on you that a trully loved one is going through so much pain and yet there really isn't much you can do for them. You try and keep a happy face, try to support them but as time passes; you see the cheerful person you once knew slowly losing their smile.

Yuuki in my opinion honestly covers the ordeals of the people around the sick person perfectly.

The acting was just right. It wasn't overly melo or overly bittersweet.

I think this was one of Kazuya-chan's best acted characters.

Everyone was quite relatable. When someone is sick we tend to think that everyone suddenly starts to care for them 24/7 but the reality is everyone has their own life that they have to live even if it hurts to do so. and that was well expressed in Yuuki.

I started crying after the first scene cause all I could think about was my sister. Even though her illness is curable it still hurts us to see her in so much pain and I'm like Hama-chan, trying to pretend everything is fine. It's definitely worth watching, especially if you're feeling down and need a cleanse. Not because it will make you want to treasure life more or anything like that but because you can get a good cry out of it to calm yourself down.

"To comprehend the value of one year,
just ask the student who failed their entrance exam.
To comprehend the value of one month,
just ask a mother who gave birth to a premature baby.
To comprehend the value of one week,
just ask the editor of a weekly newspaper.
To comprehend the value of one hour,
Just ask the lovers who are waiting to meet.
To comprehend the value of one minute,
just ask the people who missed their stop on the train.
To comprehend the value of one second,
just ask the person who managed to avoid an accident just in time.
To comprehend the value of one tenth of a second,
just ask the person who ended up with the silver medal at the olympics.
The hands of the clock will continue ticking.
Therefore treasure every moment you have. And treat everyday as the utmost gift."
~Yuuki

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
LollipopCrash
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 28, 2017
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 10
This movie is awesome. I'm so mad at myself for not finding it sooner, but still this movie is an encouragement for those who are currently losing hope. It was actually the first movie that made me shed tears, and it wasn't one time, I had cried throughout the movie! However, at the end I realize that I didn't cry because of Yuuki death but because of the motivation he left in his friends and the outlook he had on life in general. After finishing the movie you will understand, life isn't for accomplishing goals it's for learning. Even if you loss in a game or even while fighting a disease like Yuuki, as long as you tried your best and change your negative outlook, you've won. It might not be a full victory but you have at least won to life because you will have no regrets in the end. This movie motivates you to keep on trying and gave you a different outlook on life. As for someone like me who have no real experience in this world, the movie guide me toward finding a goal and encourage me to keep on living with a smile. The determination within Yuuki with slowly guide you to seeing the real meaning of victory. I really recommend this movie if you hadn't already seen it before. It's not a depressing movie like I've thought in the beginning but it is a very powerful movie. I hope this is helpful, enjoy!!! ^=^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Taylorgg12
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 20, 2013
1 of 1 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
I don't know how to discribe how amazing Yuuki was because nothing I say will do it justice. I watched this with my friend and we cried our eyes out the entire time it was a beautifully told story. Kamenashi Kazuya did a wonderful job portraying the life of Yuuki, he totally took over the screen, you didn't even notice that amazing actors like Oguri Shun and Fukiishi Kazue were featured. You couldn't help but cheer Yuuki on in his fight against his disease and cry when he was in pain.
This is one of those tearjerkers that are a must see. It makes you appreciate life and the people around you more.
I recommend this to anyone, Happy Watching! :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?