On The Way To The Airport (2016) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 1,811 users)
  • Ranked: #2177
  • Popularity: #807
  • Watchers: 5,019

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

37%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
7 edits
7 edits
5 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Favorite Mature Movies
199 titles 54 loves 1
Favorite Dramas - Happy End
189 titles 26 loves
Cheatin' Hearts
67 titles 19 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
Evony
43 people found this review helpful
Nov 11, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
On the Way to the Airport in a unique drama.

In the ocean of sugary sweet love stories with clichés like accidental kiss scenes and drunken confessions or over the top makjangs with evil in laws and memory losses, I found a drama that is slow paced, mature and tackles some heavy matters with a very realistic approach. I thought it’s impossible to show the story about two people finding love outside their marriage in the world of a very conservative Korean television, so with every episode I watched, I was growing more and more surprised that the drama didn’t change its tone in any of the typical directions, so either overly melodramatic or exaggerated comedy. It finished just as it started: calmly, simply and without big declarations or unexpected plot twists. I agree that the last two episodes weren’t as well-thought as the first part of the drama, but considering this sudden decision to cut it by 4 episodes, I think they did an exceptional work anyway.

I liked the cast. Even though I think that Kim Ha Neul is not a greatest actress, she played the role of a timid, dependant Choi Soo Ah perfectly. She and a male lead, Lee Sang Yoon, had an amazing chemistry. I don’t know how they did it, but every time they touched or even so much as looked at each other, you could feel intense feelings between them. However their chemistry was very mature and perfectly fit for the flow of the story. The rest of the cast was also very good, I especially connected with Soo Ah’s best friend Mi Jin, who was flawed, but that’s what made her very human and likeable.

To sum it up, I really loved On the Way to the Airport and I wish there were more dramas like that. I loved its simplicity and the courage to set the story around subjects that are more often than not considered forbidden. If you’re looking for a break from typical tropes, you won’t be disappointed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Charming92
23 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Who knew forbidden love could be so romantic? On the way to the airport, or the way i want to see it, on the way to happiness was simply beautiful and so elegant despite the controversial concept it is about.



Let me break it down for you, the drama is about 2 beautiful loving soulmates who, by the time they meet, they already have settled down for the wrong people. The drama is about true and fated love, but in its core it talks about putting yourself, your needs first and choosing your own happiness over everything and everyone else. We deserve to be happy and nobody is entitled to strip us of this right!



Yes the drama, on the surface, presents 2 married individuals who, because of different personal circumstances, fall for each other. Don't let this drive you away from this drama. The affair is introduced in the most romantic way possible without being glorified. It's not filthy in any way, quite on the contrary i'd say.



What made the drama stand out was easily the chemistry between the leads. Not the best i've seen but enough to charm you and make you get lost in the sparks. However, the best of the drama for me was the characterization. Seldom do we see such 3D, deep and well-rounded characters that feel like real people. This is one of the dramas that you have to read between the lines to properly comprehend that is going on and why. Many's the time i felt frustrated by the characters' choices and decisions, but this is human nature, scarcely logical sometimes. Moreover, i loved how even the "evil" characters had many layers but if you tried walking in their shoes you could understand where they were coming from, even if you still disagreed with their course of action. Good writing.



Sadly the drama was cut 4 episodes shorts and significant part of the storylines along with some characters were left unexplored. Still the writers did their best to complete the drama is a fulfilling way.



The drama is so natural, based completely on emotions and feelings, the plot devices for the story to unfold are strong and it is never really dragged or anything considering you're into romance and melodrama. However, there are certain drawbacks that refrain me from giving it a higher score.



First and foremost, i feel that the writers were really scared to actually go for it. The build up is there, the reasons, the excuses, the plot that is getting thicker and thicker, the chemistry which is sizzling but there is no climax. Generally the drama lacked the intensity that was needed sometimes, but the drama was special because of its mellow and calm nature. That being said, this aspect of the drama may make some viewers feel a little bored.



Story wise, the drama was solid, i only wished it wasn't so subtle when it came to the affair and also that they wouldn't deem some characters so evil just so they make other character look favorable. Too fake in my opinion.



Continuing to the acting, the overall experience was quite spectacular.

I've seen Lee Sang Yoon in other roles, wasn't impressed. Apparently i hadn't seen his flawless puppy eyes that he so effortlessly demonstrates here. Emotional and passionate, he pulled of his character impeccably.



Gotta hand it to Shin Sung Rok, for being a complete asshole (jn yet another drama i've seen him in). Takes talent to become the perfect antagonist and act like a complete jerk so realistically. His character was rather unemotional and shut down. It takes talent to act as an unemotional jerk and still pour part of your soul in the role! Luscious performance. An actor for me to look out for.



My personal favourite is, hands down, Choi Yeo Jin; the actress deserves more credit, she's been amazing in every project i've seen her in, but she shines here. Loved her character and the friendship subplot that she introduced, she was strong and intelligent and yet so loyal and dependable. Relateable and loveable.



My only issue was with Kim Ha Neul. Not that she was bad or anything, but i did feel that she overacted a lot especially while crying to the point it was fake and, moreover, i couldn't really relate to her in certain scenes while the plot was crafted so conveniently that anyone should have been able to excuse her and identify.



Overall, this is a good watch. Considering this is a melodrama it's not overly heavy, just the right amount. I'd recommend this to melodrama and especially romance fans. Be warned that the romance is not cute and fluffy here, but it is fullfilling (the chemistry is one you don't want to miss out on) in case you want to see something more "serious" let's say. I doubt i'll rewatch this, but it deserves a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
YunYee
4 people found this review helpful
Nov 11, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama is about the story of meeting their TRUE LOVE in a WRONG TIME. I like how this drama define LOVE. The love relationship between a man and a woman, parents to child, child to parents, friends etc. they were all well written. Although this drama is quite a slow-pace drama, the emotional build up of the storyline was well presented. I cried sooo much at the end T.T.

The thing that I like the most of this drama is how they present the emotion of each character. It is very realistic and it makes me think a lot. At first the dilemma is that can the male and female lead be together? Rationally they shouldn't be together, but they were somehow fated to be together as every event/coincident made them met each other. If you were them, will you follow your heart or will you faced the truth. After all the things that they had been through, can they be together? Is it ok for them to be together? In the end, is this the HAPPINESS that they were longing for?

In conclusion, this drama is well presented. Nice storyline, good acting, suitable background music, nice editing! Totally recommend this drama!!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pammo1949
3 people found this review helpful
Nov 11, 2016
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
The question of whether love is fated or love is driven by circumstances is realistically portrayed in this drama. What I love is the step by step decision making that goes into the separation and the divorce and the natural attraction of the leads. This wasn't a lust drama but one of mutual respect for the person that is the object of affection. One of the most satisfying endings for a K drama that usually spoils the ending withe the contrite attempts to redeem characters so everyone has a feel good experience. In real life and in this drama responsibility is the main theme. Responsibility to marriage, children and to self are all analyzed in unique ways. Tolerance and intolerance are so explored. Worth watching again and I thank the writers for seeing this drama through to a mature adult ending not some make believe fairy tale ending.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ivisire
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 11, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I am so glad to know there are people who agree how bad this drama is. This is created by irresponsible people or situations or maybe by being forced to be created by the influence of money. Whatever it is, a great possible of a storyline that could have happened is totally destroyed because whoever responsible for the storyline dont know a thing about love. I mean yeah affairs happen. Yeah twisty personalities exist. But why add background music that is meant to be played while celebrationss or portraying true love scenario to the totally ugly form of emotion that is formed by betrayal in adultery? Am I missing something here? Yeah I too can come up on ways to accept and agree the storyline, but you and I both know its putting cream on crap. Or have the writers totally lost it?

The actors did awesome job, and I like them for it. But this whole script needed only tiny changes to still keep it enjoyable and meaningful, even a drunk reviewer might be able to make that change if he knew the basics of love. morality aside, this is plain stupid. Did they think this will tug the audiences heart more? No, this leeches off undefended psychology of many viewers, while even better result could have been achieved without leeching off of these people. Where is humanity? And what is love? Or has it become plainly and cruely profit oriented? But that doesnt make sense as small changes could have made this drama equally or even more profitable. Or are they that dull? Or is this a satire, parody, or any noir or something? No!! clearly it itself portrays as a love story. which mean this is scripted by irresponsible people who know s*** about love. (sorry, no other way to convey it.)

Or has money prevailed responsibility now? But this drama does show a family (su dooh woo's mother) who want value to their life over money. I positively am hopeful that in the next story the scripters write they keep in mind to add some value to the story.

Being out of convention is good and keeps it modern, but destroying human personalities by knowingly or unknowingly creating irresponsiblity in audience is considered cruel and a crime (within humanity's jurisdiction).

Yeah, plainly, this should have been a story about how their marriages got fixed even though emotional affair possibilies occured. Or atleast show a bit of concern for the kid when their parents split up. But instead, this story falsely portrays happy ending which will by all means is unreal and will be unhappy in real life.

And KBS gives a best couple award? Well, the couple they chose are fake to the core, Untrue, and if they were real, they would have been unhappy for many reasons not even considered to portray in this drama. This is, on overall, a very low intelligent drama about an intelligent soceity, but unfortunetly created by professional and talented cast and direction. And somehow everyone agreed to be irresponsible, or were forced to be.

Like another reviewer here on MDL said, this writer shouldnt write anymore. (I dare say, he please become more responsible, and please realize that being responsible too will bring profit.). And I wish people became more responsible with what they participate to create in.

Note: I dont know whether this review is going to be reported by the brainwashed fans, but I hope it still remains in the vicinity to help save the minds of atleast a handful of people.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sunnie
2 people found this review helpful
Apr 28, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
The drama will either be a hit or miss. Not everyone can read between the lines and not everyone will be able to comprehend. This is not your usual fluffy drama. If you are someone who flare up just by the mention of the word 'Affair' without even thinking the circumstances please stay away from this.

This drama is so beautiful. It'll be extra beautiful only if you get the references completely right from the table to the artwork. I'm amazed by the writing. Take a bow writer-nim. This is all about mutual respect, understanding and giving space to one another. Love others the way they are. Do not take anyone for granted. That's what I understood from this. So beautiful.

This drama is visually stunning with beautiful cinematography, intense acting and a wonderful story.

I loved each and everyone's performance in this. I especially loved our main leads. They created magic with stares alone. Such a talented artists. Both BGM and OST are awesome.

I'll definitely re-watch this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Linus
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 23, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a story that I would love to hate, but I can't because it's beautiful. It plays a trick on you. It shows you how two attention starved souls meet and find comfort in each other, so you end up wanting those two to spend more time with each other. Then you question your own judgment and morals. Do I really want two people to cross the line and cheat?

The characters are so incredibly real. The people in this story are flawed, but relatable. I felt very invested in their lives. I liked all the main and the secondary characters in their own way. These could be my family members, friends or neighbors. I think that this story might be for a more mature audience, though, because it tackles a lot of issues that people in their 30s and 40s struggle with. The question of whether people have the right to be happy is not a trivial one because happiness comes at a high price in this show. Do people deserve a second chance after they made a mistake or not? Should mothers see themselves as women with needs or just parents? What constitutes a working marriage?

What makes this story even more intricate is the extraordinary connection plus sizzling chemistry that the two main leads develop very early on in the drama. Also, the cinematography is beautiful. The leads will only exchange a look and the screen seems to be burning. You feel their pain and their longing. Most of the actors did a great job in this show, but I feel like Lee Sang Yoon, Choi Yeo Yin and Shin Sung Rok were especially amazing. This show might be worth watching just to see Shin Sung Rok as another cold-hearted jerk (he was the bad guy in YWCFTS).

I honestly loved the story, but I can't give it a 10 because it was a bit slow at times. I generally enjoyed the slow pace, but the amount of flashbacks and fillers was a bit too much. I also found the idea of fate in the show a bit naive and too obvious from the start. Apart from that, it was a really good drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Paramirage
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 5, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.5
Story 1.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
Worst concept ever. Writer should not write any drama. This should be his first and last drama. Feeling pity for the kid. This drama shows parents should only think about themselves and their happiness not about their kid. Nothing justify this. If they got divorced before romance then i could understand. Romance acting is great but not justified. This type drama will increase infidelity and will  justify it in society. First worst drama in my history of watching 240 dramas.

Finished the drama because of the mystery to unveil. Did not agree about the ending also. My review is about only story plot. For acting each cast do a good job. This drama is the writer's first drama. I hope that he will never write any drama again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mamapapalong
1 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It is a rare found from Korean drama. It is not a teen cheesy love story, it is a grow up story which is a pleasure to watch coming from Korea.

While it is pretty monotone when comes to Korean drama which is all about prince and princess or cinderella like love story, this is absolutely a rare found.

Struggling with a failed marriage and wrong choices in life, both the characters met outta of faith and putting audiances through a journey of forbidden relationship with many traditional conversative hinderance. Self pity, regret, betrayal and running away trying to find meaningful in life, both characters grow quickly as series progress. While the beginning seems a bit dragging, this is quickly build into a very intense story with two main characters searching for their soulmate in the dark outta public eyes.

The hesitation to express love, the uncharacteristic extramarital affair and the hidden sercrets between two main characters have made this series very enticing to watch. I would highly recommend it for the grown up viewers for whom many may find a lot of common ground with a question, what if? The story would melt your heart from start to the end.

This is not only a pleasure to watch and definitely a rare found with a great story. Music was great and the scenes were beautifully shot, almost feel like a travel log programs sometimes. The story was undeniable well written. I would probably complaint about the second female lead who's life does not really provide a  lot of coherance to audiance outside Korean culture but was well written at the end. I like the endings when her characters grow and trying to made up with the lost time though way overdue.

Afterall, a must watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Erick Febrianto (Youtube
0 people found this review helpful
Aug 11, 2019
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
This drama is fucking idiot dramas, I mean, It tells "NO PROBLEM IF YOUR KID IS GONE, YOU STILL HAVE A MAN YOU LIKE EVENTOUGH HE IS NOT A GOOD MAN"

this drama teaches you to do not worry about anything , Even it is YOUR OWN CHILD. IF YOUR OWN CHILD DIE, NO PROBLEM, LOVE IS BETTER THAN ANY CHILD IN THIS WORLD EVEN IT IS YOUR OWN.

THE MOST STUPID DRAMA EVER. DON'T WATCH THIS.

PLEASE, IF YOU HAVE CHILD , DON'T WATCH THIS, PLEASE TAKE CARE OF YOUR CHILD, CHILD IS NUMBER 1, THEY ARE YOUR OWN BLOOD. MANY MOTHERS DIED JUST TO SAFE THEIR NEWBORN CHILD.,

THIS DRAMA IS JUST FOR STUPID PEOPLE WHO THINK THAT THIS CAN BE REAL IN THE REAL LIFE. BUT ACTUALLY IT CAN'T.

PLEASE SAFE YOUR CHILD MOM, I'M A CHILD THAT LIVE IN BROKEN HOME FAMILY, AND I FEEL SO HURT AND STRESS UNTILL NOW. SO PLEASE TAKE CARE OF YOUR OWN CHILD,YOU CANT DO THAT AFFAIR BECAUSE IT HURTS YOUR CHILDS HEART. THEY NEED MOMS & DADS LOVE. Thx

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
1 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 3.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 2.5
On the way to the airport didn't seem like a promising drama. It turns out, it wasn't. The performances were okay, but the drama was quite boring. The drama focuses on the story of two strangers who meet after a tragedy. They are both unhappy with their marriages and after the tragedy they bond till they start an affair. Towards the end, the story got very boring and tiring. Maybe that's because the romance wasn't very strong. The couple's chemistry was weak, and it was hard to identify with them. The family drama was nice enough, especially the story about Annie's background and the mystery concerning her parents. But, that turned out to be a big flop too. The leading lady was very bleak and with no passion, though the actress seemed to have done her best. Maybe one thing that I have to take from this drama was the way it presented the working woman's position in the society and her struggles to maintain a family and a career, though her background is against it. So, 3 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pinkvanilla
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 10, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I have just finished this drama recently and I have been totally captivated by it and can't stop thinking about it. I had to write a review. It is very different from all the dramas I have been used to watching (the cute romcoms or something that is normal like boy meets girl, etc).

This is totally different, but in a way similar to My Wife is Having an Affair this week (they were competitors at the same time this drama was showing).

On the Way to the Airport or OTWTTA is just more deeper, heartfelt, heart wrenching and just plain touching to the core. It is just so different in a sense that they depicted an otherwise "taboo" topic into something more mild, not vulgar, but meaningful relationship into something more classy. If you know what i mean. Like, the topic is supposed to be disgusting and would make you mad to the core, but with this drama, I just felt everything was done right. Thus the 10 score coming from me.

The female lead must be the most patient and martyr wife and mother I have ever seen but then again, she was able to redeem and stand up for herself with the help of the male lead. The male lead is the most understanding, patient man, although unbelievable, was able to hold on and be strong despite all the hardships he had to face: the death of his daughter (although step), his mother and his divorce.

The husband of the female lead is unbelievably so un-husband like. Like, why would you not live with your wife? Why make her your wife in the first place? Is it just so you could shut up everyone and have a wife, but still play the field again (flirt with every other stewardess who catches your eye?)

The wife of the male lead: I can't really understand why you had to lie about taking care of your daughter? Why are you so pretentious in every way that you cannot feel how sincere and honest man your husband is? That is why you lost him in the first place, not just when your daughter died, you lost him already way before that. The death of your child was just a wake up call for everyone that it was time to move on. Like, you even sent your daughter out to Malaysia on boarding school? Why cannot you take care of you daughter with you there in SK when she is so responsible and not a little baby you have to care for?

Anyway, whatever my questions are, so be it. Just leave it alone. It was all part of what made the story so great in the first place.

And all the plots and subplots are what made the story on what it is. Like, how the female lead's "giving heart" and "giving nature" shone a lot throughout the series and that is what the male lead liked from her in the first place. At-last, he found a woman who is "genuinely" giving, rather that his wife who is just "pretending" to be a giving and a sacrificing woman, when in truth, she is the most selfish person he had ever met.

The female lead is just so naive and innocent, at the same time, experienced too in handling a relationship. I mean, I can't explain how the production did this. It was so mesmerizing from start to finish. I will definitely re-watch this. Oh P.S. I now have the biggest crush on the actor who played the main lead, Lee Sang Yoon. I liked the female lead from the start, Kim Ha Neul, since I watched her on A Gentleman's Dignity. I'm glad to have seen her again on this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?