My Little Bride

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.6 (scored by 6,531 users)
  • Ranked: #1710
  • Popularity: #289
  • Watchers: 9,258

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

9 edits
9 edits
7 edits
4 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Rourou
38 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I was attracted by the synopsis so I decided to give it a try.

2) Storyline/Plot:

The general story isn't complicated nor original; I saw this type of story in "Sweet 18" before yet this film's storyline was really appealing.

Positive points:

*The story was romantic but not too romantic since it focused on family too.
*It had a great combination since it was funny, cute while being a little serious
*The story's developement was amazing to follow.
*The whole adult-child love story was somehow innocent even when they lived toghether: I liked that concept.

Negative points:

There isn't, I just wished that they made this into a drama instead; it would have been perfect that way.

Story: 8.5/10

3)Acting/Cast:

It couldn't been any better even though I am not too familiar with the leads.
*The chemistry between them was somehow captivating even though it wasn't that present.
*Moon Geun Young did a great job in portraying the innocent 15 years old girl with all its sides; whether it was with her husband, her family, her school and everything else.
*I loved how Park Sang Min reacted with his little bride by trying to be the responsible adult but that didn't cut out the funny side of his character.

Cast: 7.75/10
Acting: 8/10

4)The ending:

The type of ending that anyone would like to see even though it was typical but that doesn't deny that it was fluffy.

The ending: 8/10

5) My Impression (How did it affect me):

*I was intrested in the whole concept ever since the film began, I had fun while watching it and it wasn't boring, not even the slightest bit.
*This is is a great memorable film.

My Impression: 9/10

6) Overall :

*If you like rom-coms then you must watch this.
*If you like old-young relationships then this is for you.
*If you like innocent love stories then you may like this.

Overall: 8.5/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MissPetite
19 people found this review helpful
Dec 22, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Let me just start off by saying that... this movie was just too cute :3 Honestly, I didn't expect to like it so much for me to give it a 10! I know the whole forced marriage situation is overused, but for some reason, I felt that it played out differently in this movie.
What I most enjoyed? Kim Rae Won's character, Sang Min, is probably first place. Afterwards, Moon Geun Young. It's funny, because at first I hated Bo Eun for the way she treated Sang Min. But at the end, you can really see she regrets what she did, and manned up to it. Also, her acting is really genuine. I haven't seen many dramas or movies, but I can still say that her portrayal has been my favorite. No exaggerated facial expressions, thank God!
And finally, the story itself. I didn't see any over-the-top "comedy" scenes, or those crazy dramatic scenes you see in most dramas or movies. This was the light-hearted story I've been looking for ever since I started watching dramas. Seriously, if you're doubting about watching this, then don't. I recommend this to anyone!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xXMzSmilesXx
12 people found this review helpful
Jan 22, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
OMG why did I not watch this sooner. I recommend it for everyone. It is so funny, I seriously sat there for the whole time either clapping and laughing like a crazy person, grinning from ear to ear or having tears in my eyes (there was this one sweet part that was just *squeals*)

The story of this movie was cliche, but who the heck cared. It was entertaining and fun to watch. And it contained one of my favourite themes childhood love *swoon*.

Acting I gave it a 10. Moon Geun Young, that girl knows how to act. She played the 15 year old so well (when the movie was shot she was actually 17, I calculated it out of curiosity). Kim Sae Ron, he was soooooo funny in this movie. One of favourite part with him was when he confronted the guy that Boeun was dating, that was just LOL. OMG and the scenes involving them two, were just hilarious.

Music I gave it a 8 because seriously I wasn't paying attention to it. Though at the karaoke scene where the each leads sing a song was no coincidence. Production crew I see what you did there.

Overall I gave this movie a solid 10/10. And I would rewatch it again for sure.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
snow_white
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 5, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is my introduction to the world of Korean dramas and movies and I totally love this movie.
It has a kind of warm feeling with it which makes me happy,every time I watch it.It is my go-to movie and the credit for my present drama love goes to this as well.
The movie has romance,comedy,drama....everything.I liked it so much that when it ended I felt disappointed that why it ended up so soon.
Kim Rae Won and Moon Geun Young are so adorable together and have a great chemistry.
A must watch movie!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Triple-R-
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 29, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
FUN :)) i liked it, wished it was a drama lol. Its really a lovely little show. It had some nice cute parts to it that made me smile over and over, i will definitely be watching this again. I like the fact that he stayed up late at nights finishing her painting that was really cute. Its cute that's the best word for it i wont say anymore.... The school concert part was well.... watch it :)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nanoha27
5 people found this review helpful
Apr 18, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
You will like this movie if:

-you like romantic comedy
- like high school related plots
- older- younger romantic relationships
- simple plots


If you are looking to laugh a little bit and have a good time DEFINITELY watch this movie. The movie plot flows without problem and is understandable. Chemistry between actors is fantastic. You could watch this with younger audience ( 11+) as it doesn't have any R rated scenes in it.

Overall, if you are looking for a sweet ROMANTIC COMEDY for a friday night then this might be your movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
9 people found this review helpful
Jul 7, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is an adorable movie. It is light hearted and funny and has a beautiful love story. I was put off at first at Bo Eun being so young, but while watching Sang Min lovingly try to take care of her, all that changed. You could tell that he would never push her into doing anything that would make her uncomfortable and he tries really hard to make her happy. It made me very happy for her to realize her true feelings. This is a great movie to watch.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Melwill28
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 11, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I really liked this movie. The story was wonderful. I would love to see this in a drama w/ the same actors/actresses but I figure that won't happen. The music was good except it was too loud in certain areas. I will watch this again b/c it was adorable. I think others will enjoy it also b/c it is full of love and fun.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
shountz
4 people found this review helpful
Mar 6, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie was not what i expected but in a good way. I like several things about it.

First it wasn't a very long movie and the plot although not complex moves along very quickly. At first i thought it was ridiculous that her grandfather was insisting on her marrying a guy at least 5 years her senior WHILE she was in high school.But i guess it's a cultural thing (oppa??)

There were some minor characters that i thought were very realistic in their responses to this potentially ridiculous situation. Her mom's reaction and resulting guilt was on point which left me to wonder about her dad , because he didn't seem to concerned at all. Her best friend did a good job at playing up the conflict she was experiencing in keeping her secret while wanting to do what was right. (and she has a great line while they are painting the mural :)

That English teacher was HILARIOUS but i felt so bad for her lol u could smell the desperation through the screen she was the main source of comedy for me.


Both leads are believeable in their roles and i honestly didn't expect the Bo Eun to start leading a double life and being so fiesty, i really enjoyed her performance (although i didn't always sympathize). Sang min was cute and i felt bad for him sometimes, since he seemed to be trying so hard and nothing seemed to be going right for him.

The only real complaint i have about this movie is the lack of insight we get into the thoughts of the leads. We don't really know their back story or the depth of their relationship until the end. Through out the movie we don't get to see how they really feel about each other. Maybe this was the reason that i felt a bit uncomfortable with some of the scenes (like HUH? ,i didn't know he had those types of feelings...ewww).

But in the end it all came together for me. An unexpected, light,funny romantic (ish) romp great for when you're on a drama break

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
5 people found this review helpful
Jun 15, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Yes My Little Bride has a simple story. But somehow its so much more because its funny and it pulls you in. The chemistry between the leads is so great that you root for them. The ending is too cute. Id rewatch this more than once in the same year.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PrettyCarEye
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 30, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Wow, I never expected to like this movie as much as I do. What an awesome, heartwarming little film! At first I had reservations about watching it because let's face it I'm a little too grown to be watching high school movies. Moreover, I felt like I had seen a similar story in the movie Innocent Steps, which I had recently watched, and didn't want to revisit the same plot, enjoyable though it was.

As it turned out, this wasn't your average high school movie at all.
At its core this film is about love, loyalty and growing up. Watching it through a Westerner's eyes a lot of things took me aback (for eg, if I was Boeun's mother I'd never marry her off so soon no matter the circumstances), but upon further reflection I thought what a beautiful selfless act of love for one's family. And ... it was funny to boot!

The lead actress did an amazing job. She was just as sweet and innocent as she was in Innocent Steps, but with a little more feistiness to her character. I totally loved that about her. Her and Sangmin's bickering was so hilarious to watch. They made an awesome couple and I didn't get that creepy cradle robber feeling about their relationship as I got from watching Innocent Steps, a movie which featured the same actress playing a character who is also considerably younger than her male counterpart. (NB: In spite of this Innocent Steps was a great little movie too and this comparison should not deter you from seeing it).

In My Little Bride Sangmin and Boeun had great chemistry. I know I'm always complaining about the lack of believable physicality between characters who are supposed to be intimate with each other (for eg husband and wife) in a lot of South Korean movies, but I have to say I didn't miss it here. Setting aside the age difference, in some cases a film just works without it and this was one of them. Sangmin, Boeun's husband, was adorable in his dedication to her. I trusted that he'd never do anything she wasn't ready for and that the strong bond they'd forged during childhood would hold them together for years to come.

This is getting a high overall score from me not just because of it's re-watchability or even the great performances, but because of its beautiful portrayal of family and taking care of each other. If it's one thing I absolutely love about South Korean films, and the South Korean culture as a whole, it's this.

Highly, highly recommended!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DramaNoona
3 people found this review helpful
Sep 6, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
As a huge fan of the Noona Romance I also really love a good Ahjussi Romance too. I think the age gap relationship has a very unique set of challenges and I enjoy watching these sorts of couples discover their path together. Additionally, the contract marriage and forced living arrangement trope is one of my favorites. So this movie had two excellent things going for it as it was an Ahjussi Romance combined with a contract marriage. This drama required me to suspend my disbelief, especially since she was only 16 and being forced into marriage. But they do have a chaste marriage and perhaps my sensibilities don’t mesh with the cultural sensibilities. Or it was meant to astonish all viewers regardless of their cultural home. Regardless, once I pushed that tidbit aside the movie was adorable. A dash of K-drama misunderstanding, character growth, and excellent interactions between the two leads. Another movie that is very much just a brain-candy experience, but a fun trip all the same.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?