Stairway to Heaven

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 3,431 users)
  • Ranked: #1080
  • Popularity: #439
  • Watchers: 6,673

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

60 edits
27 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Skye-N-Rain
74 people found this review helpful
Mar 8, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Let me first explain how I got to watching this drama. I was going on a trip so I filled up on random dramas in case I got bored on the trip, among those dramas was this drama Stairway to Heaven, which I had heard so much about. So the trip comes and goes and one night I end up without internet, unable to sleep, and so I start watching this. In hindsight, I'm both glad and sad to have made that choice. Now onto the review:

Story: 11/10 (because 10/10 is just not enough!): The story is very unique for me (maybe because this was my first drama of this genre). You end up hating the stepmother/stepsister so much that you want to jump into their world, and stab both...repeatedly. What else can I say? Oh right, keep a box of tissues handy otherwise you'll be wiping away your tears using your blanket(true story!) One other thing I enjoyed about this drama is seeing how the main male lead and the secondary male lead work together to accomplish a goal greater than either of them.

Acting/Cast: 10/10 . Everyone in this cast from the child actors from the first few episodes to the adult actors were PERFECT. I had one small dislike in the middle of the drama, and that was how the main female lead cried. Yes. That's all. Later on, I got used to it and it didn't bother me at all, so it was just me.

Music 9/10: I'm actually listening to the OST as im writing this review. It's GREAT, but not a 10. It conveyed the emotion perfectly and all that, so it was good for the drama...but for some reason giving it a 10 would be unfair in my humble opinion.

Rewatch Value: 5/10: I DON'T rewatch dramas or movies 99% of the time which is why I gave it this low of a score.

Overall: 10/10 - This is a masterpiece that every Kdrama fan should watch. But keep in mind, this can cause tears even from the eyes of manly men like myself. However, sometimes while those tears are dropping, your mouth will be smiling uncontrollably.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
delta777
22 people found this review helpful
Feb 9, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
THE ultimate emotional "trial-by-fire" drama of all time(also my 1st melodrama). Watching STH you find yourself being enchanted/heartbroken by the young Park Shin Hye and Baek Sung Hyun, you find yourself screaming and wanting to b*tch-slap Kim Tahee and the evil step-mom and you find your tears flowing at Kwon Sang Woo’s soul piercing, heart-shattering sobs. The result being your fully vested in this hauntingly unforgettable drama. Added bonus is the provoking/beautiful/memorable OST.

7 years ago STH was my first journey into dramaland and even now when I hear "Bogoshipda" their's a quick bittersweet tinge of feeling. A must watch....just make sure to select lighter fare after STH.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
angeltopaz
10 people found this review helpful
Sep 4, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Okay so I watched because of Kwon Sang Woo, if you've seen 'Bad Love' then you'll know the reason. Now the drama:

Kwon Sang Woo- I know his dramas are really great and his emotional scenes are heartfelt. whenever he cried I cried and when he was happy I smiled. the love he has for Choi Ji Hoo (Jung Suh) believing in their love from children, although he was not sure if she would believe him when he said he loved her, cause they were kids and he was questioning the meaning of love, his love for her is astounding. Even when she was 'supposed to be dead' he would not give up and he kept her in his heart.

This drama is about a never-ending love of 2 people who believed that as long as you love each other it does not matter the time you are separated from each other, your heart would always find a way back to each other.

Some scenes I did not agree with, what's with having a relationship with the person your family member was dating? That's so wrong on all accounts. It should matter, it they were intimate, you do not date your relatives past or present lovers. that said -

Shin Hyun Joon (Tae Hwa) the step-brother, after seeing his love for Jung Suh I tried to understand his feelings and after a while I was at a point that I could sympathize with him. Jung Suh, was the first person to show him love, to give him a birthday present, to actually reach out to him as a person, so I could understand the reason he was so attached to her, although it was a bit too much at a point.

This drama is for all mother's to watch so you know the way not to bring up your children. Lee Hwi Hyang (Tae Mira) the evvil step-mother (yes, it needs 2 v's)and kim Tae hae (Yu Ri)
I wanted to hurt these two. really hurt them. I cried until there were no sounds coming out of mouth at the level of evil these two did. And I know it's just a drama which ends at episode 20, but my heart refused to accept that at one point. I had to really take a break and listen to some music before I could continue again.

The drama was worth all the time, tears, smiles, cursing, everything as it has a very good ending. the OST is good also.
So if you like romance, suspense, and everything else then you'll have fun watching this, just be prepared to cray a lot in between, but there are some very good moments, very good, and that makes the rest of the tears worthwhile. This drama is worth 100% in total value.
Enjoy!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pattyrn4
10 people found this review helpful
Oct 1, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is one of the old, classic "slow burn" love stories that is so memorable for its intense love, mesmerizing music, and unforgettable pain. At times the story is corny, impossible, repetitive; however the love between Kwan Sang Woo and Choi Ji Woo make it all believable. It is a copy of the hugely successful Winter Sonata that started my K drama obsession.
STH is my favorite drama, after my "happy fix" Autumn's Concerto. The characters were superb. At first I thought Shin Hyun Joon was too old to be cast as the stepbrother, but his acting won me over.
Every minute of this drama is romance, not a lot of silly fillers. So if you like Romance, you won't be disappointed. Warning: you won't be able to get the music or love story out of your head afterwards!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
FanGran
7 people found this review helpful
Apr 13, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
There is something ethereal about the Ave' Maria choir singing in the background that heightens ones'experience with the "good vs evil" perspective of this show. From the start, one views an interesting perspective on the Cinderella Story.

This stepmother is one of the best evil stepmothers I have ever watched in action....a viper, really.....ready to strike to further her plan. Noone is spared from the poison she spreads....not even her only son.

From abusing "Cinderella's" Father's wealth to promote her daughter and make her desirable for the corporate "prince" to faking hystrionics...she make a great evil stepmother. I often felt like I wanted to scratch the stepmother/stepdaughter's eyes out!

This story is so well-written, very well-acted and the plot twists/turns keep one sitting on the edge of one's seat asking: "what's next?"

A tender moment between Song Ju and Director Jang actually made me cry. Very lovely/caring/respectful relationship.

The love story between Song Joo and Jung Suh 'though rife with one challenge after the other is light, lovely....beautiful and though we have an abnormal version of the love triangle that's a staple to these dramas, the love story shines through. This is a must-see!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Iloveasianndrama
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 4, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I watched this drama a couple years ago. I remembered as a child I was looking for this drama in Viet dubbed because I really wanted to watch it. Then I find it and I was glad I did because this was one of the best drama I have ever watched. Now on to the review:

Story: I thought that it was amazing and well done drama. It was different from the ones I have seen. But that story wasn't really the main point of the drama though; Other stuff were happening throughout the drama. You will hate the stepsister and the stepmom. Also feel sorry for the main actress because I did. Also be sure to have a box of tissues next to you because you will be crying your eyes out. You will laugh and cry throughout this drama.

Acting/Cast: I thought the child actors did a good job, I enjoyed them very much. I also enjoyed the adult actors too; They were amazing :) I was surprised that this was Kim Tae Hee second drama as a actress. She was really convincing in her role as a villain. I really hated her!!! Also I was surprised that the younger Han Tae Hwa was her brother. Overall I enjoy the main actors and the supporting cast.


Music: I enjoyed the soundtrack for this drama especially Bo Go Ship Da. It's a really good soundtrack.


Rewatch: I think I will, but in a couple years ago. This drama I still can't get over how sad it was.


Overall: I would recommend this drama to anyone because it's a really good drama. You won't regret watching it. But be prepared with a box of tissues next to you will need it. I guaranteed. This was one the best one and the saddest one I have every watch. You won't regret watching it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Marooya
11 people found this review helpful
Dec 13, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
To be honest I never had the guts to start Stairway To Heaven ever since it was out and I was a drama fan back then but (I heard many scary things about it being sad/tearjerker) so I was holding back for a really long time. However, I finally got into the mood for the classical K dramas and decided that now is the time (At first I was reluctant I admit it) but after starting it I just couldn't stop anymore...

Story: 2ND BEST MELODRAMA I HAVE EVER SEEN!! I agree with the other reviewer its 11/10 (yes it's that good!). In K dramas mostly the first 4 episodes tend to be very slow, yet in STH from the very 1st episode you're already excited, happy, sad, angry, pissed, curious, hooked and addicted !! You'll experience all those emotions from the 1st episode and that won't stop all through out the drama... Your feelings will not settle down and you won't get a break, the story brings out all your emotions in a very intense way that's why STH is not a drama that you'll forget you simply can't (those emotions will always be engraved in my heart).

Acting: 100/10 the acting part is what brought this story to life even though it's a super melodramatic story yet you'll still believe in every little detail and feel it deep inside your heart... The actors were the core of the story I felt each one of them, the good ones captured my heart and the bad ones kept me screaming and cursing all the time (I literarily wanted to go there and kill the stepmother and her daughter my anger towards them almost cost me a new screen). I loved Kwon Sang Woo before STH but I love him even more now (Man this guy can deliver such intense emotions he keeps your heart beating all the time and breathing becomes a difficult task) The only character that I didn't like Jung Su's father (he was annoying and useless).

Music: OMG I know now why everyone talks about STH's OST I loved every song every melody specially (Only Belong To Me) I just can't get enough of this song. The OSTs in STH are big contributors (along with the actors's performance) they both provoke your feelings extremely.

Rewatch: it might not be a rewatchable drama to most people but personally I would gladly watch it again some day cus this drama stole my heart.

Overall: As a K drama fan STH is a must watch drama... even if melodramas aren't you're type you still need to watch it. This drama is a MASTERPIECE and not watching it means you are missing out on one of the best K dramas that has ever been produced (it's now one of my top 5). 100% must watch !!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ergalvez2000
6 people found this review helpful
Jul 11, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Stairway to Heaven is so far the best drama I\''ve watched. It has a very heartrending story and very good acting by the actors & actresses. It has the best musical score in all the dramas that I\''ve watched. I hope that a good quality video will be uploaded in DramaCrazy.net (the video in this site is not clear)so I can watch it again and again.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kpopx3lover
3 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Stairway to Heaven was I think the best drama I've ever watched. There were some episodes when it made you want to skip the episode and make you feel anxious but I didn't skip any because it wouldn't make sense after. This drama made me cry nonstop, the waterworks kept coming. This drama is romantic, sad, and at some points happy. The characters were very well played. I love Kim Tae Hee but in this drama, she played it so well that it made me want to kill her and she did a good job of it. From the very first episode it made me want to watch even more because when they end it, they end at a very good part. When I want to stop watching the drama, I never could because it kept getting better and better. I even wonder at night before I go to sleep about what would happen next in the drama. She did so many stupid things and it made me mad but still it's a sad story. In the end, she still dies even though they sacrificed everything for her to stay alive. This drama kinda reminds me of Cinderella but even more cruel. This is really good and if anyone is looking for a good and romantic drama, I would recommend Stairway to Heaven!!!!! I LOVE THIS DRAMA >.Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rose15
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 17, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SAAAAAD AND BEAUTIFUL!! This story captures your heart from the beggining. Also from the first episode you will HATE the stepmom and stepsister because they are really reaaaaaaaally evil(great performances by them). The story is so depressing but in a really good way. It was very moving and be sure to have a tissue near when you are watching this drama.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KdramaQueen89
3 people found this review helpful
May 5, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I seriously was depressed while watching this drama and even days after. Its such a roller coaster ride. The leads had great chemistry. I hated all the running they did though and the music kind of got on my nerves. But even with that I cant hate the drama as a whole. I really despised KTH in this drama not because shes a bad actress but I wanted to kill her character in every episode! LOL. She redeemed herself though with MY Princess and Iris=) I dont agree with reviewers that say its a slow paced drama. For a MD its actually pretty fast paced. The ending was too sad that it made me not want to watch other melodramas. Even so, the ending was beautiful. Man I just hate sad endings!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
negu
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 3, 2016
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is a classic Kdrama that is not to be missed.

I discovered this drama back when I spent loads of money on boxed Kdrama DVD sets and sometimes the special features included preview episodes of other dramas. I watched the first episode and it was the first time I was straight up bawling during the first episode and I immediately ordered the whole thing. Stairway to Heaven has all the well-known Kdrama tropes: first love, separation, amnesia, jealous second leads and more, all tied up in a pretty package.

Cast:
Back then, it seemed like Choi Ji Woo was in everything and pretty much everything she did back then was golden. Her younger version was played by Park Shin Hye and I really enjoyed watching her and I somehow knew that she would be going places. Kwon Sang Woo was so lovely to look at. It took me a long while to warm up to anything with Kim Tae Hee because of her character's bulging angry eyes in this, but I guess that's what makes for a good villian. Shin Hyun Joon's character was just heartbreaking, and when I see him I always think of Chul-su oppa who would never get the girl although he tried his damndest.

Music:
I love this OST so much. Kim Bum Soo's I Miss You ???? is probably one of my all time favorite songs and whenever I hear the instrumentals, it totally brings me back to the feels.

Rewatch Value: This is definitely one to keep in the reserves in case you want to have a good cry.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?