Bara no nai Hanaya (2008) poster

Details

  • Drama: Bara no nai Hanaya
  • Country: Japan
  • Episodes: 11
  • Aired: Jan 14, 2008 - Mar 24, 2008
  • Aired On: Monday
  • Original Network: Fuji TV
  • Duration: 45 min.
  • Genres: Romance, Drama, Family
  • Tags: Single Parent
  • Rating: Not Yet Rated

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 970 users)
  • Ranked: #1082
  • Popularity: #1670
  • Watchers: 2,280

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

13%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

2 edits
1 edit
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
Bi a
27 people found this review helpful
Jan 16, 2012
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I was looking for a drama that is not just a rom com but a one that can stirred my emotions .. ALAS ! THIS WAS THE ONE !.. I just finished watching this drama and let me tell you .. this is one of my fav jap drama now :) ..

Its about a man who is forced to be a father and now living with his daughter .. This story revolves around this man ... few characters show up in his life and stays with him .. :) i love how this drama portrays gentleness and kindness in such a sweet manner..

Excellent acting from both main leads and their chemistry is very pure :) ... Another actor and character that i really liked was the young girl ... She did an outstanding job..

Another best thing i liked was the way writer captured my attention all throughout the drama.. I kept watching episodes one after the other in curiosity to what will happen next.. Story-line is very different and unpredictable .. It had me till the end ..

I liked jap dramas for how they show light and deep moments in such a simple way ... This drama touched my heart in so many places :D :D ... if you really wanted to watch something light yet deep and mature.. give it a go .. i am sure you will NOT regret it :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SeRose
15 people found this review helpful
Jun 27, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Need a shockingly good, slightly melo-ish but mostly heartwarming slice-of-life Jdrama with an excellent cast, beautiful and deep characters, that doesn't feel like work to watch, but still keeps your interest? Can I come up with a longer sentence to describe how gorgeous this drama is inside and out? (Given another 5 minutes, I could probably achieve that.) If your answer is yes, then please do sit down and watch Bara no nai Hanaya.

This is such a lovely atmospheric drama, featuring real and recognizable human beings. Eiji is a simple man with a hidden past, and Katori absolutely does not overact in his characterization. He is slow and plodding, and one of the kindest, most selfless creatures you’ll ever see. Yet the drama weaves his past in such a way that the slow unveiling of his life history and the history of the woman he loved is almost as integral to the story as the events that happen in real time. Throw in his obvious affection for Shizuku, and their own adoption of a neighborly grandmother, another loner desperate to feel needed and loved, and just try not having any feels for this beautiful little family structure.

Keep in mind, all this is even before the lovely Mio steps into their lives, cane in hand, full of anxiety and uncertainty about this new direction in her life. And maybe with just a few secrets of her own, hidden behind a web of lies. And perhaps she’s not the only character to have more than one secret.

Conclusion- I love it. All of it. The only reason it doesn't get a perfect score is probably because of some of the pacing issues, but after I’d finished the drama and started to reflect on it, I realize just how lovely it is. I’m not yet that versed in Jdramas, but I think this was a rare find for me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Skye-N-Rain
24 people found this review helpful
Mar 26, 2011
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This is one of my favorite dramas, but i've tried my hardest to be very unbiased in this review.



First, the story line is absolutely brilliant. It has many twists that'll keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the 11 episodes.



Second, the cast did an amazing job. The characters had tons of chemistry etc.



The music was pretty good. It served its purpose very well.



For Rewatch Value, generally im not someone who rewatches dramas or movies, but i'd have to give this a 7 because it has enough twists that after a year or so you can definitely rewatch it.



Overall, im giving this drama ten for its relatively unique storyline, wonderful acting, and generally for being such a great drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Chocobana
7 people found this review helpful
Apr 12, 2014
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
"The gentle and sad Florist-san."

This quote (by Shirato Mio) properly describes the complex Shiomi Eiji in a few words. The first thing that I really noticed about Eiji was this incredible sadness in his eyes and in the corners of his smiles. His smiles are bittersweet at best; he's quiet, pensive, kind--almost too kind, as though he can never be anything else.

I could only heap praises on Katori Shingo for this understated, delicate portrayal of a man who has numerous scars but tries his best to liberate himself from them. At the beginning, I was struggling to understand this enigma of a person: does he truly mean the things he says? When he says it's fine, is it really? Why does he always view himself as undeserving? Why is there so much sadness integrated into his whole being? I wanted to understand so badly and by the end, I was satisfied with my conclusions.

The plot itself is convoluted and hard to buy but I was able to go beyond that 'revenge' premise to what's truly gold about this show: the characters and the bonds between them.

Eiji's relationship with his daughter, the cute Shizuku, was one of the most moving father-daughter relationships I've ever seen in a drama. And it's a bonus that Shizuku is a level-headed child who is both kind and sweet, though without being saccharine.

Unexpectedly, there were also a few twists in the drama which kept the drama going. While I can't really talk about them, I could just say that they fit well in the story.

I'm so glad that I picked this to watch because the last Japanese drama I've seen was around four years ago (I know, I'm ridiculous). 'Bara No Nai Hanaya' made me remember all the things I loved and appreciated about Japanese dramas. I truly recommend this show and hope you like just as much as I did.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kristal
3 people found this review helpful
May 1, 2016
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
It's so easy for these kind of stories to end up feeling cheesy or clichéd, but this is not the case with Bara no nai Hanaya. The dorama is fresh and delicate, and touches upon various themes like family, friendship, vengeance, and kindness with the utmost sweetness and without too many pretences. Nothing in the story is ever exaggeratedly melodramatic or tragic, but it will make you cry nonetheless. Sometimes you will be happy-crying, sometimes you won't. But you can't help but shed a tear or two because the stories, the characters, the emotions - they're all real and will melt your heart.

I would explain the story but here's the great thing about this dorama: there isn't just one. Every time a plot closes, another one opens up. This makes the story flow beautifully and naturally, and keeps you wondering what will happen next.

The acting was amazingly well done, especially considering there's a child - the girl playing Shizuku - in the cast. Even the supporting cast was great. The only reason why I didn't give it a full 10 is because I don't think I liked Katori Shingo-san's acting in some places.

The music was perfectly suited for the dorama, and I suspect the ED theme will be stuck in my head for quite a while.

This is a beautiful, essentially human, family drama. It's a real gem worth watching, and I recommend it to everyone.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Meena_Drama_Fan
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 27, 2013
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
Full of emotion but you will like it, It will make you think that in this fast fwd. world I m treating people with kindness.

Is money is the only thing, cant people be simple,kind and happy ???

Main lead acting was really good, to live like him is really difficult in this era.

drama was Slow and steady in motion, If you like usagi drop you will like this too.


:)
Meena.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Senpai
0 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2017
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
"Even if we are not relatives, we can be a family if we stay together ..."
It was very good and active, I particularly like the way the J-dramas present their stories, in a slow and well-explored way, assigning premises not only to the protagonists. "Bara no nai Hanaya" has a dynamic of episodes that surprises, the end of the drama even more ... Another highlight is the soundtrack. The background music expresses very well the dramatic charge involved in the story.
Basically, the lesson of this drama is about love. I do not mean in the romantic sense, but in the sense of love of neighbor. That gives us the difficult gift of accepting and forgiving our fellow men.
Does it also address the issue of trust and belief in people? In difficult times like today, where people put themselves first and all relationships seem to be driven only by interest, I think it's worth reflecting on.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Usf4life2
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 20, 2018
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It was the best I've seen in years for jdrama. I've watch a lot of dramas but this one was really the best I have ever seen. Well made story. Love. Betrayel. Hate. Sacrifice and even a little child acting in the episodes. The acting was great. The drama was great. The love story was epic. By all means the best of the best out there. The drama focus on the power of beeing good and how can a single father loves a woman to the fullest. Best drama ever for love fans out there. The drama also focus in revenge and betrayal. And how to forgive the one you love as all humans are not perfect.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?