Calling You (2006) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 1,065 users)
  • Ranked: #2054
  • Popularity: #1838
  • Watchers: 2,158

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

33%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

6 edits
5 edits
4 edits
4 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
• [JP] Movies •
147 titles 140 loves
Causes Ugly Crying /Heartbreaking
129 titles 77 loves 4
Dramas Based on Novels
103 titles 22 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
Johnson-Shampoo
14 people found this review helpful
Oct 2, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Only you can hear me or "calling you" is a sweet movie about romance and youth.
Ryou a timid shy and quiet high school girl who never speaks up, finds a toy phone in a park one day, the toy phone start ringing and she picks up to find shinya at the other side of the call, she starts speaking to him and a friendship is formed between them and soon romance as well.
The movie is rather bittersweet, with a lot of amazing scenery and ost to go with it, it is part sci-fi since they start communicating and talking through telepathy. Ryou opens up and gets the courage to speak up thanks to shinya, shinya played the part of her guardian angel/friend and crush really perfectly.
Note the female lead was only 15 riko-chan did a marvelous job in this movie.
Recommended for everyone who loves some good romance with a twist
8.6/10 shampoo approves
Movie quotes:
"I am alone"
"Read it out loud"
http://www.gooddrama.to/japanese-movie/only-you-can-hear-me
Favorite ost

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NVPrJm6ui20

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kawaikochan
17 people found this review helpful
Jun 3, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is an major romance flick. I'm not a big romance fan, but this film was so good. I'm not sure how to review it without giving anything away, but the story and acting are perfect.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xeenatheprincesswarrior
5 people found this review helpful
Mar 9, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Also known as Kimi Ni Shika kikoenai, is a unique fantasy love story where you can enjoy the country side scenery of Japan. They used telepathy in communicating each other and eventually meet in person.

It is funny somehow, if things likes this happen in real life, I wish I have one friend so I can perfect my exams like what happend in the movie!

I love the mellow song used, it is soothing. The plot is good makes you want to see more in your seat. It is inspiring on how to overcome insecurities and being alone.

The only thing that I noticed is the lack portrayal of emotions of grief, regrets and shock of the female lead when something tragic happened infront of her. I didn't feel it. But she perfectly acted the lack of confidence in meeting the male lead and infront of the others.

There's a third person involve in the telepathy activity which was concluded the relationships to the two lead at the end.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
niQx
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 23, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
you may find it somewhat the same concept from some other movies, but this movie has different taste that surely makes them different from others! if you wanna know what it is, better watch it! I recommend it to watch it until the end. :)
Be sure to don't regret something! Say it already before it's too late.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jbeat
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 15, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
The story was bittersweet and had a peculiar take to it, but it was a tad predictable. I had a idea of what was going to happen - not to my surprise, it did happen. Although it had a calm vibe, I found it rather dragging and dull during the exposition (prior to the rising action). During the first 55 minutes of the film, I ended up pausing it twice because I was already falling asleep. Some parts of the story were not explained, like how their atypical communication came to be.

The acting on the male lead was more exceptional than the female. Although I like the female actress, a number of scenes of her were rather bothersome.

Of all aspects of the movie, I enjoyed the music. It really added to the calm factor of the movie. It soothed my ears as I watched the film. I also ended up "Shazaming" the music in hopes I could find the song title.

Maybe if I watched this in a theatre when the movie just came out 11 years ago, I would prolly enjoy it more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ReikaBleu
0 people found this review helpful
May 16, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers
If the ending was different I would have given this movie a 9.5 or even a 10.

Why does great film end in a sad or tragic ending? That's not even a prerequisite. This could have endes on a happier note.

It was a good movie as a whole. Though I read spoilers, I know how it's gonna end, I did not expect that there was a chance for the ending to change . Gosh. I'm so affected and irritated by the fact that there could have been a chance for a happy ending and people decided not to take such opportunity.

Longer review here: https://elijahmaliksmom.wordpress.com/2018/05/19/only-you-can-hear-me/

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
XiaoMei
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Perhaps, it is next strange japanese movie. After watching I say I cen't understand this plot, but the idea and this all stroy is ok. They could change this thing with cell phone-toy, which suddenly magically disappeared. I suppose that if Ryou and Shinya use this toy and they don't talk by mind, it could be more reliable. At the end, I was moved, but I don't understand why this couple couldn't meet and why there was that finish. Do they live in other space or what? Strange. Very strange.
Was this review helpful to you?