Children of Nobody (2018) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.8 (scored by 1,916 users)
  • Ranked: #144
  • Popularity: #700
  • Watchers: 5,312

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

128 edits
69 edits
26 edits
16 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Psychosinner
22 people found this review helpful
Jan 18, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
The thing about this show is that starting from the first scene right to the end, there is nothing that can be considered filler content. Nothing is done without reason. You are given a puzzle of a story but the truth is it's not about the answer to the puzzle but about the things you learn getting to it. In a time, where people only want guilty pleasure and happy happy happy, this show gives a voice to so many children who are ignored every day. I'm one such survivor and this story got to me in a way that is hard to explain. Children of Nobody. Can there be a more heartbreaking phrase? The actors made it so you get lost in the fantasy and even root for the villain at times I believe that was the point. That people lose their way. N's story was the saddest and no spoilers but I'm glad finally in a TV show this topic was touched. Honestly just a phenomenal script and acting I wish there were more like this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Adeesal
10 people found this review helpful
Jan 16, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
I just loved this drama... it is the first drama that i have watched during the airing.. without losing interest.. this drama was so interesting and full of suspense that i ended up watching last 5 eps by live streaming... yesssss!!!!! It is that impactful.. every episode will leave you wondering about the next episode.. and all the anticipation that i have experienced it was worth it... it was worth my time.worth my TEARS... yesss i cried alot during this drama... it is a very under-rated drama... i would say it is a HIDDEN GEM in kdrama world.. if you are wondering whether to watch it or not... i would say that you should give it a shot... i was also not sure at the beginning but i am so glad that i started it... i never regretted my decision..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ocia
6 people found this review helpful
Jan 16, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It's a first time I write a review but I can't help but feel the urge to recommend this drama in any way possible I can so here we go!

As a big fan of thrillers, horrors, and criminals I quickly added this drama to my watchlist when it popped out at my recommended page. However, as I lately often end up getting this feeling of disappointment at the end of the drama, either because of the plot holes or tension lost halfway through I didn't watch it immediately nor started watching it with big enthusiasm.
I did have some hopes as I started watching when I found out that Children of Nobody has the same screenwriter as Achiara which I really enjoyed, but worrying that it would end up being another overdramatized, not too interesting series my hopes weren't too big.
How happy I was to find out I had no reason to be worried. From the first episode, I fell in love with the atmosphere, tension, acting, characters... The whole drama in general. I couldn't wait for the next episodes to come up getting all excited since the morning of the day they were coming out.
Obviously, I was still kinda anxious since let's be real here, it happens often that the captivating drama you would recommend to everyone at first becomes a draggy, filled with plot holes mess at the end.
It wasn't the case this time. Children of Nobody gets more interesting as we go deeper, the plot is developing and getting even more intriguing as the action develops, the characters are acting logically are well build and thought through, plot holes are nowhere to be found, therefore as I was watching I was getting more and more invested.

This drama also became the first drama that I'm currently watching with my parents. We are not watching new episodes together but I'm watching them one more time when the lyrics in my native language come out since neither I or my parents are not native English speakers ( which you can probably tell reading the review heh) and they don't understand English enough to watch it.
Anyway, my parents are far from being enthusiastic about Asian dramas in general, but since I'm learning Japanese for 5 years now they just kinda think of it as my passion and weird interest and don't mind it too much, which doesn't stop them from harsh commentary and ridiculing content I sometimes show them.
It was also the case in Children of Nobody case so when I put the first episode on the TV screen in the living room, being all the way enthusiastic and immune to protests, dad was commenting sarcastically about every scene from the start to something like the almost end of the first episode. But as it finished, he fell silent, and after waiting a while he asked: "why are you not playing the next one?" > <. It was the first time it happened and we watched all the episodes available in my language and as I asked if he wants to know when new ones came out, he said he does ><.
Therefore I'm also kind of thankful to this drama for the opportunity of watching it again with my parents as our tastes are usually a lot different > <. I guess it was a good choice to show a psychological drama to pair of psychologists, hah ><.

Anyway not to take too long, in summary:
Children of Nobody is a truly amazing gem and I can't find enough words to express how much I love it.
It became my favorite drama in no time. Excellent acting, thought through rich plot, the tension, not becoming any less interesting, but in contrary becoming more engaging as the action goes... This drama has it all and more.
So if anyone is hesitating: watch it, you're not gonna regret it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Booklover_95
4 people found this review helpful
Jan 18, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
Unfortunately for this drama, it was utterly overlooked due to other dramas airing at the same time. Due to that fact the ratings for this drama in Korea was low but do not let it put you down. This drama is one of the few dramas that have ventured to a side that K-dramas hadn't before. It touches a heavy topic but gives it in a way that can be digested by all. The story behind it is simple. The unfortunate truth is that this will continue. This gives us a dash of reality, the hard truth that is happening in the world. In our country unfortunately these types of abuse is taken lightly. It's swept under the rug saying that it's to teach children. I have many friends who have had the same experiences (not as bad as this but the beating and the mental abuse) but still go on with their lives thinking it's normal. For me this is not normal. The fact that we are beaten is (like I mentioned above) very normal in our country. I would say 95% of our generation would have been beaten and once my own mother has told me that she had beaten by her father to the point she lost three teeth. Asia in that manner is still in the dark regarding these situations. Thus this is a start to let everyone know the truth also to educate people.

Also I would like to especially applaud N's acting here. It is commendable and without doubt he stood out among everyone. His realistic acting made me feel so much for Lee Eun Ho. He brought the character of Lee Eun Ho to life perfectly. His character will stay with me for a long long time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
FreddieFred
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 28, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Okay I mostly went into this drama because I am a huge fan of Cha Hakyeon , and his choice of thriller dramas have been proven good before (Tunnel for example), but also because this is a dark drama from the get go about child abuse. With a lot of thriller dramas or when it is about finding a murderer etc, the plot gets dragged out and has a lot of underdeveloped characters. This really caught me by surprise of how well-written it was. Apparently it is cowritten by one of the writers of Achiara Village, that was a good mystery but fell flat for me so I stopped watching it. But Children of Nobody, really is worth watching it all. The characters, especially female and main characters are so well-acted and well-written, and yes you feel like it goes a bit back and forth in the middle but to be honest I just feel like it is more realistic for the cases shown in this drama.

Especially on topics like child abuse and domestic violence, things can get really dramatized and only shown as a form of miseryporn. Children of nobody does not do that, and really uses their actors (especially child actors who where phenomenal) in a way that still feels respective to the dark stories that come up as the plot goes on.

The only real criticism I have is that even though the writing is really good and holds up, some of the characters (like the police) gets sadly underdeveloped and it feels like they scrapped some extra plot lines for them (especially the female detective) in the end to focus more on the whole. Also, how it ends feels a bit dragged out, but still not at all because how it really shows the characters reactions of the big resolution, but still opens a lot more questions just about how the characters will move on.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jordan Chalmers
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 6, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I am going to have to say this series was an emotional rollercoaster. There was not a single episode wasted that didn't have information that took you to the conclusion at the end. The characters were just wonderful and you really felt for them and connected. The psychological underpinnings have you questioning what you would do under similar circumstances and it's really hard not to side with the criminal they are chasing in this story. Though I loved all the characters I really loved Cha Woo‑kyung's character, she was absolutely amazing. Everyone loves a happy ending but though I loved the ending you really feel a sense of loss and grief in the end. The actual end sequence was probably one of my favorites, the image that it leaves was just perfect. This is not a fun story, it is hard to watch, you go through so many emotions. It will leave you wanting more with each episode. I would definitely recommend this drama, you won't regret it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
majamissa
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 3, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This was amazing.
It's not a happy one filled with romance, but it's raw, showing the truth, that unfortunately happens to a lot of people. It kind of reminds me of the movie "Silenced".
Good and bad is really blurred in this one, and it makes you think hard about if murder is ever okay.

The beginning is very different from the end but in a good way. We meet this mother and wife, Woo Kyung, who's a child psychologist, working at a children's centre. She appears to have it all, but as the show goes on, the curtain is drawn away, and doors that had previously been kept closed are opened, shaking her whole reality. You really fell for Woo Kyung in a lot of ways. There are moments where you don't fully understand her actions, but I guess that's because she too doesn't understand herself. People are complicated.

Then we have Ji Heon, our hot-headed detective. At first, he comes off as this really tough guy, with a dark past, but he really isn't much different from most detectives in drama-land. He's one of the leads, but we don't really know much about him throughout the whole show, except for a few things, which in some ways adds to the show. However, I would've liked to know a bit more about him and his past.

Cha Hak Yeon as Eun Ho really showed his abilities as an actor in this one, and he was probably one of my favourite characters of the show. He's kind, loves children, and is an overall good person. He has a bit of an arch in this show, and as we get to learn more of his past and what he's gone through, you'll find yourself wanting to give him a big hug, and a shoulder to cry on.

Lastly, we have our rookie detective Soo Young, who's new to the whole detective thing. We know next to nothing about her, and it kind of stays that way. She was a bit of a flat character because the few things we know about her. But, for that reason also, I'd say kudos to Nam Gyu Ri, for her performance, since she didn't have a lot to work with.

All of the child actors were great, I can't wait till they grow up. I'm sure they'll be at the top when they get older. Their performances were extremely raw and honest and didn't feel forced at all, like a lot of the times in dramas. The creators of Children of Nobody really hit a home-run when it came to the child actors.

A couple of things are left to your imagination - which I guess is for the best, since some of the neglect and the abuse is really horrible. But it does add to the show's overall feel and message. The biggest things are often the ones left unsaid and for a reason.

So, if you're in the mood for a raw, sad, mysterious drama, where you'll question your morals, then definitely watch it. BUT, if you yourself has gone through any kind of abuse, I would reconsider watching it, since that's one of the main factors of the show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Abbyy
0 people found this review helpful
Apr 19, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
Can't recommend this enough. It truly is one of the most underrated dramas of 2018-19.
That being said, I am so glad Lee Yi-Kyung got to experiment with such a remarkable character exhibiting his versatility, given his flair in comedy has already been established. The story is very engaging and binds everything with so much finesse. Every scene and dialogue is important leading up to the conclusion. Top-class acting as expected from the ensemble as they have already made their mark in the industry.
Kim Sun-a has such a character arc and portrayed her turmoil and frustration with such ease. Her eyes do speak a lot more than what is hidden. The final episodes showcase her explosive acting skills when everything is exposed in the end.
The drama is so well written, much kudos to the writing team for shedding light on a grim and less-explored reality of children.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Reta
0 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
The show was full of surprises from beginning to end. We are clueless around the end as much as we were at the beginning. I was unable to stop watching as the show never approached boring. Also, the topic of child abuse and vigilante retribution is controversial even for the most law abiding citizens. So the show revolves around a very sensitive and engrossing topic. The best part is that we and the characters are asking the same questions, looking for the same answers are just as shocked by the turning of events. I totally recommend this show. It is a masterpiece.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Dramaaddicts
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 24, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
Oh man,,,, lam just speechless after watching this brilliant k drama.One of the best dark intense investigation drama i seen so far. Very intense story with well executed screenplay and some outstanding performances. Actually i felt something weird from the start because the story telling was entirely different and also i have no idea whats happening in the start. Once they enter into the main plot the things are getting really excited. A slow pace making which was good ..

Story -
As i said above the story was different and mind blowing from the beginning. A set of mysterious murders take place without any trace or evidence, the dectatives are trying very hard to figure out the killer. ,There is child abuse and things are quite complicated and even more suspicious. The dectative suspect many people involved in the spot or related to the victims. The investigation going deeply and it also involved emotional pain and suffering.There are some hard hitting emotional moments.. last 5 episode before the finale was just outstanding..

Acting -
All characters are awesome and real. Some of them are very mysterious. You will definitely fall in love with each and every characters

Music-
This is a throughout investigation journey, so the back ground score playing an important part of it. And it was superb. It makes this drama more intense and realistic with that extraordinary bgm.

Making -
Am so stunned to see the technical side of the drama, especially cinematography. It looks so real in each and every frame. The dark scenes are looks so magical and it created a horror feeling in some shots.

Last word -
You guys should just give it a try, its not an ordinary style drama, it has even more realistic emotional intense and mysterious after each and every episodes throughout from the start to end. It will surely surprise you

ONE OF THE BEST INTENSE DRAMA I SEEN

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
c2roxy
0 people found this review helpful
Feb 14, 2019
32 of 32 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
As a Starlight, I watched Children of Nobody for N oppa (who played the quiet Eunho) and for the interesting plot but I stayed for the amazing acting and story. Both the adult and child actors/actresses played their roles perfectly. The soundtrack also fit the drama very well. If you are looking for a Korean drama that has a great story with an amazing cast, I would recommend you watch this drama. If you're not a fan of dark, intense, sad dramas that dives into the dark side of humanity, then this is not the drama for you.
Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 5/32
Novy Meliana Laksanawati
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 6, 2018
5 of 32 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
Maybe you all will not believe I gave all a round perfect star for story, cast, music etc.
It just such a long long long time South Korea did a pure one on those genre, based on child which happend only on big screen like the one Bae Doona eonni took. Just on story itself this drama did ensure their winning, all character have their own past base story which made them do like that, even I who usually get whose the criminal and plotline did lost because their are tons of possibility that happend in here.

The cast from Kim Sunah who get a title of queen of romcom from her previous drama with Hyunbin (My lovely Sam Soon) did a pure genre of these thriller, criminal, etc which drained the actor energy to potray the character, which maybe she did train in Woman's Dignity. Our Lee Yikyung first male lead role *congratulation(if you ruled out Yoo Mi's Room) after countles of supporting character like bully student in School 2013 (our Woobin and Jongsuk oppa deul), young version in Nine, You, Who came from star as the killer's secretary, and Descendant of Sun as contractor worker which made him into a stardome limelight. Nam Gyuri (49days) and N which his acting become more and more better even leap into B class actor after the disaster Sassy Go Go even when the story was good. More of it all the children actor and actress sure did a very good job (cant wait for them grow up like Nam Dareum and do pick a lot of good pieces in drama and movie or another job in variety or such) It make us believe the PD, Screenwriter did their homework for made a plausible story and casting a good actor which sync perfectly into their assigned roles.

Drama set, vehicle, even their costumes will not like your usual drama which a lot of kind ppl scene, this drama is 99,99% art drama. Not so glamorous, pricey (even the real one those are cost us for fasting in months).
Music too sure, keep us being creep as the msytery happen etc. Only a total detective and such will love this kind of story so for others who cant handle it should not watch it because it's not your pinky pinky love story and such plus bit of humour like in Son, The Guest, its total dark drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?