Completed
Alex
55 people found this review helpful
Jan 30, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 14
Overall 3.0
Story 3.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
Seriously don't watch this one. I was happy to find this drama out since it looked like a GL so I was happy that Viki is getting wlw relationships some spotlight as well.
But damn I was wrong, I can't believe I survived watching all the 8 episodes. The only pros are that both the female leads acted quite good and that I liked the OST but that's all.
The characters are awful, manipulative and cheating. All the relationships (romantic or friendship) are so toxic it hurts.
I'm not even sure if this can be considered GL since the female leads were always like "we're just best friends" and they had friendship rings and each of them got a boyfriend at the end of the drama. Like what?!
Lesbians and wlw in general deserve much better representation than this sh*t.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Emma
56 people found this review helpful
Dec 31, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 2.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Save yourself from watching this

This show officially wins the title of most fucked up and disgusting television show I've seen in 2020. I'm completely disgusted by this drama. Kairi is fucking disgusting and such a pervert (& like manipulative to the core). She literally kept a pair of undergarments from when Yuri was a child and she calls it her treasure. Besides, when she met Yuri after years of not seeing or speaking to her, she literally stuck her head between her boobs. It's also implied that Kairi likes women because of being abused by men as a child during her idol years. Besides, Kairi truly has never heard of consent or personal space. I'm honestly baffled by this show and the topics it choose to focus on (yes shaving or not shaving your pubic hairs was a major plotline in this drama). I truly hate how this show discussed sexuality (it truly made it sound like you have to be crazy/mentally unstable if you're not straight which is bullshit). Basically every character is unlikable and so many things happen in this drama that are just too disgusting. The "relationship" also makes zero sense. One of the most problematic dramas I've ever seen. I watched this drama so that you don't have to watch this because it's that bad. Please don't watch this, save yourself. I wish I could erase this shit show from my mind. It's that repulsive. We deserve better f/f relationships than this ...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sill
10 people found this review helpful
Apr 11, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

This show managed to break my friend

oh boi where do I even start.
My friend and I like watching trash TV but at the end of this show she was a shell of her past self.

First of all lets start with the show implying that Kairi is only bi bc she was abused as a child. Thats not how sexuality works but okay.
Then we have Yuri finding out about this abuse and what does she do?
She tells Kairis Boss about it and when Kairis mother (who you know abused Kairi) comes to visit, Yuri lets her right in.
She even goes as far as to tell Kairi that she should try reconciling with her mom bc she clearly loves her.

This show also deals with bdsm or rather what people who have only heard about bdsm last week think bdsm is. It is a horrible representation of the community and very harmful to viewers who might not be well educated in those kinds of things.

Yuri is depicted as this innocent lamb who is just so pure. Nah shes just a conservative housewife who judges everyone that doesnt agree with her narrow worldview.

Seriously dont watch this. If you really want a trashy japanese drama to make fun of, go wacth coffe & vanilla. I didint think anything could be worse than that show but compared to yuri and another, coffe & vanilla is a masterpiece.

However if you want to lose your will to live or make a friend never wanting to wacth anything with you ever again this is the show for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kyza
7 people found this review helpful
Jan 26, 2020
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Despite the foreshadowing shown in context, you could not exactly anticipate what would happen right from start to finish. That could be a reason why you could end up marathoning the entire series in one go.
While at a glance it seems like a Yuri/Lesbian drama, it is *far* from one; I have to say it is not even one at all. The story and the characters revolve themselves around character relationship development, human drama, and psychological factors. If you have watched one of Nojima Shinji's work, then you would understand what I mean.

The story goes by in a rush - Yuri meeting Kairi again after so long, and then Kairi suddenly being really friendly and engaging with Yuri. The whole interaction does not really sink in just yet - and it's natural to be suspicious of a character like Kairi who just came from nowhere and on pure coincidence - but Yuri's innocence and honest personality allows Kairi to quickly become a part of Yuri's daily life.

Yuri Dano Kan Dano's story line is not its strong point, but the cast involved in the production of this drama. They're the main reason I decided to finish the drama. They had a strong dynamic and were able to build characters that stuck to their personalities. Baba Fumika was able to portray Yuri's pure and innocent, easily swayed but strong-willed personality really well. Kojima Fujiko was also able to bring out Kairi's mysterious and multifaceted character to life. If Yuri is a light, then Kairi is a shadow. The rest of the cast's characters were not specifically given time to be likable due to the limited amount of scenes they had; Zaiki Takuma's Shuji was able to stand out though. I have to applaud his portrayal of Shuji's fun and quirky playboy persona.

To sum things up, this drama tries to show the contradicting sides between a person who is too innocent and honest to see the darkness in people's hearts and a person who has been in that said darkness for a long time and longs to become someone who has yet to be tainted and wants to be loved without judgment and foul intents. The drama tries to show the dark sides that people may have inside their hearts - wanting, jealousy, greed, longing, and such. It doesn't specifically 'fix' those parts, but shows them to us. Kairi becomes a means for Yuri to see such a dark world while trying to protect the latter from getting tainted by it. The friendship they share does go beyond the accepted relationship between friends - they explore different contexts that may be a taboo to talk about in a conservative society like Japan - making them much more mutual than common friends.

I would not go out to recommend this drama, but if you are a fan of the cast, then you would enjoy the interaction they have between their characters as I see them challenging themselves and going beyond the norm. Just keep in mind that, again, the story, imo, is not really something worth getting into.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
fnifnifni
4 people found this review helpful
Jan 6, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 2.0
Story 1.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

Pissed af

The show had good acting.
Didn't even notice the music sorry...
It kept on going on and on about Kairi's past being the reason she's "messed up". In a gl. Gl as in girls love, a supposedly very much lgbtq+ series. It blamed that past for her sexuality basically invalidating the community and blaming upbringing and experiences for "the way we are". I'm not gonna ramble on about how bad that is ok? I'm closing the matter here saying it's disappointing if not shamefull or even disgusting, you know since it's a show that was supposed to help the acceptance of the community but whatever.
Anyway if we don't focus on the messages it's promoting about how "messed up" kairi is we come across some messages about actual psychological problems such as obsession about how even seamingly innocent things you say can drive someone to a bad place (the impact of your actions) and even about generally how what seams to be is different than what is oftentimes and maybe there are even more like those so I'm willing to go up to 2 stars just for that.
About the plot it was what it was and I'm sure there are people who agree with me but it was not gl. It was a friendship journey or something, idk. The protagonists had at some point desires for one another shown in dreams by the one and small gestures by the other, but no more than that which is basically them literally friendzoning one another. Not a gl

To sum it up, i dont consider this a gl and its attitude towards the lgbtq+ is borderline offensive.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Vi-d
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 14, 2023
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5

The most underrated dorama? As far as my eyes have seen, I believe it is.

Okay, so here is probably the MOST UNDERRATED dorama I have ever seen. I am glad I always check out doramas and animes with my own eyes even after reading reviews and comments.

---

1st. This is the best dorama I have seen fully presenting a relationship between two girls. And by 'fully' I also mean: there is a storyline to follow: start, middle and ending - there is development, with a decent duration and number of episodes instead of mini-episodes or a series with lots of main characters; without overextending with unnecessary stuff.

2nd. This dorama has comedy AND DARK COMEDY as one of its genres; and it also touchs a few 'dark themes' and sexual fetishs here and then, SLIGHTLY. If you can´t take that it´s not the dorama´s fault. And I think it adds a special touch to this dorama where we have a special relationship between two girls. If you are one of those who sees sexualization in every intimate scene between two girls and are bothered by that, then better avoid this. Oh well, can´t them also have sexual desires and fantasies? *sigh*

3rd. This is certainly yuri-sh. In other words, this certainly has girls love vibe to it. They care a lot for each other but this is surely not your typical wish-washy "sismance" nor "just best friends". Surely there is more to it than just 'best friends', and you can easily see that throughout the dorama unless you don´t want. It´s surely NOT a toxic relationship - amazes me some people are saying that.

4th Probably some people are annoyed or something just because one of the girls are "dating" a guy. Well, she´s dating since the 1st episode. From the start she was already dating. But that "dating" can´t be even taken seriously and it´s not even the focus of the dorama and shouldn´t spoil the enjoyment unless you don´t pay attention and go blindly hating from the start.

The acting is very nice. I was specially impressed here, specially compared to some other GL doramas out there.

If you are expecting a pure innocent GL or normal relationship where they will meet, french kiss, start dating and that is it, then this is not for you.

Ah! And it´s a happy ending. Depending on what would you consider to be a happy ending. But yep, ultimately it´s a happy ending. Thank goodness it´s not one of those horrible endings we usually see GL doramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Yoss
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 16, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0

This isn't a GL

i really don't know how someone could see this and think it's good, it's the worst show i ever watched, i don't liked how the lgbtq community was represented, calling L to lesbians, making transphobic "jokes" and in general avoiding queer words, i think this is clasificated as GL because the protagonist kiss a girl ONCE and after licked the other girl's feet and armpits ? I'm seriously disgusted in all ways after this.
the story line is a total shit too,,

VALUE YOUR TIME AND DON'T WATCH IT
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jordan Chalmers
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 14, 2021
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10

Loved it !

I really liked #YuriOrAnother #YuriDanoKanDano starring #KojimaFujiko as Ninomiya Kairi and #BabaFumika as Shinohara Yuri. This was my first GL drama. I would argue this is much more about true friendship than a romantic relationship. I mean they both definitely had feelings that blurred the lines between friendship and romance but in the end I still think it was much more about becoming true friends forever. I've seen a lot of people talking about how messed up this drama is but it really touches on serious issues and the the rather dark actions and feeling that result from being in those types of situations like being a junior idol. It was beautiful that Yuri and Kairi found each other, Yuri could really empathize with Kairi and connect with her in a way only she could and Kairi wanted to protect that aspect of Yuri until the very end. I thought this drama was much deeper than most people realize. With that being said the best parts of this were about Kairi and Yuri most of the other actors and actresses weren't that great and the production was meh. A lot of the GL scenes were more exploratory and funny though I found them awkwardly cute. Though I don't think this was a full on GL drama I really enjoyed it and really think it's worth watching. I honestly wish they made more dramas like this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
CaluuDente97
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 2, 2022
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

Mediocre, pero entretenido

Básicamente la historia gira en torno a una chica llamada Yuri que está siendo acosada, por lo que decide mudarse para intentar evitar al stalker. Lo que pasa es que da la casualidad de que en la agencia de mudanzas trabaja una de sus ex compañeras de la primeria... una chica llamada Kairi que parece tener sentimientos por ella.

Sinceramente no sé cómo empezar esto porque todavía no sé bien qué pensar de lo que vi ?
Por un lado, la serie me resultó adictiva. Literal no podía dejar de ver y simplemente necesitaba saber qué iba a pasar a continuación (entre las protagonistas y con el acosador, obvio). Los capítulos son tan cortos (solo duran 25min aprox) y tienen un ritmo tan bueno, que se siente como si pasaran solos.
Por otro lado, el desarrollo de los personajes está a medias (se necesitaban capítulos más largos o directamente más episodios, porque solo son 8) y el dorama en general va súper bien hasta el último capítulo, ya que ahí se siente como si hubieran querido cerrar todo demasiado rápido. Cuando lo terminé me quedé en plan "¿en serio? ¿es todo?". Una lástima.

Pasando a cosas más alegres, las protas tienen algunas escenas muuuy buenas. Es una serie con clasificación R y, aunque no hay escenas muy explícitas, sí hay momentos bastante sugerentes. *Incerte a Kairi en modo Christian Grey diciendo "mis gustos son muy... particulares"*. Hubo partes en las que pensé "ay, ya se fueron de tema", pero bueno, avisada estaba jaja.
Igual el romance es medio "platónico", aviso por las dudas(?

Otra cosa que me gustó mucho es que a lo largo de la serie hay varias críticas a la industria de un tipo de idol en particular que da mucho asco (la industria, no las chicas).
Kairi fue "modelo" durante su preadolescencia estando obligada por su madre. Básicamente la hacían grabar videos en traje de baño haciendo poses sugerentes (un horror, y esto existe en serio).

Tiene momentos divertidos, momentos de tensión, momentos un poco tóxicos (obvio) y es yuri, así que re va para una maratón, pero nada más, ya que flojea bastante en muchas cosas.

IG de reseñas cortas: @altoplottwist

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
0 people found this review helpful
25 days ago
8 of 8 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers

Sinceramente...me gustó

Si bien vine buscando gl, no me arrepiento de haberlo visto pues, aunque no acaban juntas como pareja, yo creo que, tienen una bonita amistad. Yo no suelo rechazar que traten temas extraños como los fetiches mientras no se vayan muy a lo turbio y lo vean como bueno. Quizá no me asqueó cuando Kairi decía o hacía esas cosas raritas, me dejaba como que en shock, sorprendida y luego me daba risa. Quizás porque tomé esas partes más como comedia y no tan en serio, hasta me parecieron divertidas; lo decía sin dudar.

Algo que me dejó mal gusto, es que Yuri siga con Shuji, que si bien no es realmente una "mala persona" con la intención de lastimar a Yuri, pues acaba haciéndolo pues es un pendejo narcisista que solo se centra en su propia felicidad. Es como un niño que no piensa en las consecuencias de sus actos, actúa estúpidamente en base a sus 2 neuronas pero no es tan inteligente como para "maquinar", pensar en causarle malestar o arruinar a alguien completamente a propósito. En fin la hipotenusa, igual me gustó bastante la manera en que el actor lo interpretó, no se, me pareció bastante simpático el como se expresaba el personaje digamos, precisamente porque es un idiota, y luego queda de piedra cuando lo ignoran.
Obviamente hay algunos otros puntos negativos, como todo.

Ahhhh pondría más cosas pero es tarde y no tengo ganas de seguir escribiendo. Al inicio no pensaba hacerlo, pero luego de ver tantas reviews negativas cambié de opinión.



En resumen, si lo vas a ver que sea con mente abierta, los momentos extraños no te los tomes en serio, mejor como comedia.
Y pues, no se bien como escribirlo pero, no esperes que esto siga una "línea fija" de que, las protas se enamoran y son novias. Su relación termina más ambigua, un poco más que mejores amigas pero no llegan a ser pareja.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Yuri Dano Kan Dano (2019) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 6.1 (scored by 699 users)
  • Ranked: #9975
  • Popularity: #5390
  • Watchers: 1,900

Top Contributors

30 edits
19 edits
12 edits
10 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Mature Dramas
495 titles 400 loves 11
GL shows
106 titles 244 loves 12
WLW ♥
532 titles 277 loves 4

Recently Watched By