A Werewolf Boy

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.9 (scored by 16,124 users)
  • Ranked: #75
  • Popularity: #50
  • Watchers: 25,242

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

43%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

12 edits
8 edits
4 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
xlovelight
133 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2012
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Watched this movie for both Park Bo Young (loved her in Speedy Scandal) and of course, the ethereal Song Joongki. I had high expectations and I wasn't disappointed in any way.

Although this movie was done in flashback, it was easy to follow and did not leave me confused (like certain flashback movies). The story line was great albeit a little too simple, with its fair share of hilarious antics and sad moments that had me crying like a baby. Nevertheless, the story was more than well-supported by an amazing cast. Bo Young was fantastic as Suni. She acted really well and her crying scenes made me cry MORE than her!

The star of the show has got to be Joong Ki, definitely. As much as I love him, I have never really considered him as an amazing actor (because the roles he were given so far were not so challenging, i guess). But he proved his worth in this movie due to his versatility. And catch this - he has barely 5 lines in the entire movie! This goes to show how great of an actor he is, being able to carry a story along just through actions. Super impressed!

I love, love, love this movie and consider this to be the best work of both of them so far. Will rewatch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
VioletSakura
63 people found this review helpful
Jan 19, 2013
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This movie should have been made silent... I mean with no words... I honestly would watch with the same pleasure as I just did... the words in this movie were even distracting... ChulSu's silence was telling so much... so much... the words were unnecessary...

This movie is perfect with just the light and bitter-sweet music and perfect, so perfect acting, the colors it has, the beautiful yellow and deep blue, the calm air it has around...the words are distracting...

If you think you are going to watch a story how a girl made a human out of a boy raised/born as a wolf, you are so far away from what you are going to see in this movie. This is a story about people, how some people look like monsters and are the most humane beings you could find, this is a story about people that look nice, but the worst monsters you could have the misfortune to meet... this is a story about choice and responsibility we bear for every person we meet in our life, how our smallest action can influence their life, how their action - could influence yours, how careful you should be with the words you use, as you never know what it will mean for the person before you...

I am really fighting for words with my brain to explain in what a mess I am right now, this movie just blew the air out of me, and I am really fighting to bring a string of cohesive thought back into my head (that is full of guitars, alphabet letters, yellow fields and blue forests, books and sweaters, shoe-laces and pencils, and finally JoongKi's eyes, oh, those eyes...)

In the beginning I mentioned about the words in the movie, well, believe it or not, JoongKi says only 10 words in the movie (and you'll be sane enough to hear only 1 of them, as then you'll still be holding on, but when the other 9 will be said, you'll be... as I was... weeping into you blanket/pillow, not to wake your parents...)

This movie was one of the most beautifully shot movies I have ever seen, so much calmness and so many colors...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Stephanie0606
10 people found this review helpful
Apr 14, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This movie is so emotional. The story line is great and the chemistry between the leads are just perfect. Of course, i have to admit that i watched this for Song Joong Ki but i now so glad that i watched it. it delivers a beautiful yet innocent love story as well as evoke the feeling of viewers. i'm sure that many will agree with me and of course some won't but for sure, most of you will love this movie as much as i do because it will make you cry nonstop...
Give it a try and all you'll be saying after watching it is wow, what an exceptionally good movie this is.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
liseychan
14 people found this review helpful
Jun 13, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Before watching this movie I heard a lot of people saying that it was comparable to Twilight. There is a notable wolf/werewolf trend peaking right now in music, movies, shows, etc. But this movie has nothing to do with Twilight...Its nothing like Twilight.

The story has good pacing. One thing I can't stand in movies and dramas is that it will be so drawn out and so melodramatic that I just want to hit fast forward. This movie wasn't drawn out and there wasn't any filler. Great attention was paid to constructing each scene. I feel like if you diced up this movie, you could enjoy each scene independently of the whole movie.

All of the cast and acting was well done. However I will admit I was a little disappointed with the "villain" character Ji Tae. He was a little too "stereotypical, cranky rich boy who goes on a psycho rage" for me. But to be fair its hard to find good villains in movies nowadays. But the rest of the cast did a great job. Song Joong Ki and Park Bo Yong are a sweet, heart-wrenching combination! There are many scenes where their chemistry is beautiful. Not going to lie, I cried (and laughed) a lot.

Before watching the movie I was worried about Song Joong Ki's role existing solely to cater to fangirls (such as myself). I was thinking, "Oh no, he's going to play the role of the cute little puppy and he's going to have to learn how to be a human." It had potential fanservice written all over it. But he made the role both cute and legitimate. Its a good watch, I've watched it twice already....and I'll probably watch it a lot more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shaza
11 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Super Natural + Song Joong Ki = a "gotta-watch" movie, before watching this movie I saw it's rating on imdb.com as 6.something and thought, damn! this is only because the movie is not american!! but that was not true.
The movie disappointed me greatly with its story and I felt such a shame for such a great casting and and visual and sound effects, The movie quality was great, but the story was not satisfying at all..
The actors did an excellent job though, if I was to rewatch it I would do so just to see Joong Ki's cute performance.
The ending was annoying and loose. I can't help to feel a sad pity for a movie that had great potentials.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
haha63
10 people found this review helpful
Jun 20, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
I watched this yesterday, and I still can't seem to get over how amazing and tear-jerking this film was! Song Joong Ki was a big factor in why I decided to watch this film, but also because of how well of ratings it was receiving from viewers. Aside from the first 10 or so minutes in the beginning and end of the film, the setting of this film is actually focused more on the past than the present, but it was actually very easy to follow without anything becoming confusing to the audience, so that was good. Although this film is more of a typical "melodrama", I did like how there were incorporated acts of hilarity within the film to show Chul Soo and Soon Yi's progressing relationship.

The acting was absolutely incredible. I was so impressed with Song Joong Ki's performance in this film, and I thought it was amazing how he could portray so much emotion just through movements. It was simply incredible. I enjoyed Park Bo Young's performance just as much. Seeing her character transition from secluded and lonely to more optimistic and open to the people surrounding her was so great to watch. However, Yoo Yeon Seok's character was a little too extreme, and what I considered a villain filler in order to turn the film's plot around. I wasn't sure if his actions were out of jealously because Soon Yi showed more affection to Chul Soo than to Ji Tae, but his actions throughout this film were absolutely infuriating to watch. I mean the lying, sabotaging and arrogance was enough to drive anyone mad. In the end, this film had already gripped me emotionally that I had a hard time pulling myself together once it finished.

I didn't really think I'd like the film's OST as much as I did. John Park's "Childlike" and Park Bo Young's "Prince" were perfect song fillers to go into this film.. Very slow songs, but still compelling to listen to and managed to fit in well with the film.

Overall, a very compelling film that will grip onto you from the beginning to the end. **I will say this though, and consider this a spoiler so read at your own caution, this film had one of the most horrendous and tragic endings I've ever seen in a film.** Your reaction to the ending won't really rely on whether you watch the theatrical version or the director's cut version, because both tell the exact same ending.. And I mean, you'll be sobbing like a baby either way so... This film definitely earned becoming the most successful Korean melodrama film of all time. It was very moving, and had a well told love story with unbelievable chemistry.. I 100% guarantee you will be bawling by the end of the film, but will still come to love it because of the well told and beautiful story it offers. I recommend this film to everyone, but prepare a box of tissues.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
XxRinaxX
9 people found this review helpful
Jan 18, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Ok so I just finished watching this movie a few minutes ago. I'm still crying >.<
So I want to be objective, but how can I be when there's Song Joong Ki staring in this movie ;) ok I'm joking ;)

I think that director of this movie made a good decision to get the story line from present to past and back to present...This way the story isn't that boring and the people who are watching the movie wants to know what really happened at the end :)
The roles that were pleayed by Song Joong Ki and Park Bo Young were fantastic! Od course someone else can have a different opinion, but for me they were really great played. It's not easy for an Actor to play a role without speaking but Joong Ki portrayed his character really well. I was really thinking if he's a wolf ^^
Maybe I didn'y write that much and my English can be off but I would give this movie 10/10 for everything...There wasn't a single thing that I didn't like....and even though at the ending I was crying like a little child I liked the ending...I did also laugh pretty often watching this movie :) S
So I really recomend this movie to everyone :)
Hope they will make eng sub soon :) I will surely watch it again :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
naneun-fabulous
8 people found this review helpful
Apr 8, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie is amazing! The story line is really well written, no plot holes or unnecessary boring bits. Although it's 2 hours long it flew by as it was interesting right from the start all the way till the very end. The cast did a great job, I got attached to the characters which made the movie all the more sad. It isn't all sad, its got some really cute and funny scenes too. This is definitely one of my favourite movies (including non Korean) I think most people would enjoy this movie, I really can't find a single fault in it! Deserves all the popularity and high ratings!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
phryxzia_azalea
12 people found this review helpful
Dec 13, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
story timeline
present------------flashback---------present
Upon watching the first few minutes I assumed that I would be bored 'til the end because it wasn't catchy at all. I expected that it would have a tragic ending based on watching the first few minutes.

Then BOOM... flashbacks entered... "here comes the thunder", taaadddaaa,,, it was a horror movie, I swear!,, ggggrrrrr... so creepy
I thought that this drama would freak me out by the creepiness. But as the story progressed I could not hide the laughter on my face. I have been laughing the entire time. The lite comedy was irresistible.

And lastly, the ending! Upon arriving at the end of the story most people cried (so make sure reserve some tissues with u). I was satisfied with the ending and I was satisfied with the characters' decisions though there still a part of me who says "the ending doesn't deserve to be like that. oohhh, just so sad,!"

Main Characters: boy & girl
-Aggressive to being protective with strong stamina.His character matured along the way especially at the end of the story so watch out.
-Physically weak, quiet but straightforward. She matured a little bit.

*It seemed to me that the two characters only have a pet-master relationship. Although there were times that I could see the deep connection between them which was caressing each other. I fell in love with the cuteness of their innocent actions toward each other.

Chance of laughter: 50%
Chance of crying: 40%
Mixed emotions: 10%
=100% recommended for everyone.

Visual effect: finely done & very neat. Their was a scene which needed more editing but it did not ruin my whole watching experience.
Sound effect and Music: If I wasn't mistaken, only one song was played throughout the movie that contained a very sad soothing romantic effect. The sound effect was executed well that played a big role for the story (startled me a lot), for the characters and also made the theater intensified a lot. So if you want to experience more realistic sound effect I suggest you have to turn on to maximum volume when watching this later on.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
foofu
11 people found this review helpful
Nov 2, 2014
Completed 2
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I watched this with a friend and we both laughed like maniacs for nearly 10 mins at the end. You see, we had been 'saving' this film for a long time and had such high expectations from it. We watched it with keen interest for the first 15 mins, thinking this is the best from Korea, we have to pay attention. But there wasn't any inspiring moment. And so we started anticipating for a revelation to dawn on us through this masterpiece. We waited till the very end, hoping for a climax at the very least. But nothing happened. Nothing. Zilch. Nada. A Werewolf Boy is as mundane as your first working day after the weekend. Its lethargic, uninspiring and something you've to struggle to get through. And so in the end, we laughed at our stupidity for believing that this film was somehow 'a piece of art'.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
i_am_andi
6 people found this review helpful
Mar 22, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This movie is definitely one of my fave. I gave the story a 9 because I was really hoping for a happy ending. Its not that its a bad ending and I'm not a sucker for happy ending, but I just want this one, as an exception, to have a kinda "happily ever after ending". Nevertheless, the story is something different. Its not like any other story. Acting is superb for Song Joong Ki, as always. He is already great in Innocent Man, he is epic and phenomenal on this. With just a few lines and the rest is just pure acting. Its a standing "O". If you are a kdrama fan, you cannot miss this movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Aryael
6 people found this review helpful
Apr 2, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
A werewolf boy is a simple love story between a young man-wolf hybrid and a young woman struggling with depression and boredome due to her illness. Before Kim Suni meets with Chul Soo (the werewolf boy), her life consisted to boredom, constant scribbling of depressive words in her hidden diary and crying in the late of the night. At first, Suni was wary of Chul Soo but soon she devised a method of training him after reading from a book on how to train a dog (why am I not surprised??).

Their relationship started out quite similar to a "master-dog" relationship but as Chul Soo slowly gained understanding of human language, he showed surprising intelligence and emotion. Before long, the attaction between Suni and Chul Soo was quite apparent. As usual, there will be people coming in between the relationship, and in this movie's case- it was a jealous and egoistical son of Suni's father's former business partner.

This is classified as melodrama, so expect something that will start the waterworks. It is a good movie, one worth recommending to friends and families, and one worth re-watching. However, I feel that despite the good storyline, the movie lacks an 'Umph!' factor that will push it to 10/10. It kind of leave me feeling a little flat towards the end, despite the emotional storyline. To be honest, I did not shed a single tear (gasp! how could I not??). I just felt sorry for the couple. The acting was superb, especially Song Joong Ki as the werewolf boy. It is no wonder he earned critical acclaims for his role in this movie. If you haven't watched this movie, find a time and watch it. You won't regret your decision.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?