First Time (2012) poster

Details

  • Movie: First Time
  • Country: China
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2012
  • Duration: 1 hr. 46 min.
  • Genres: Romance, Drama, Tragedy
  • Tags: Tearjerker
  • Rating: Not Yet Rated

Statistics

  • Score: 8.4 (scored by 1,439 users)
  • Ranked: #572
  • Popularity: #1085
  • Watchers: 3,552

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

3%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

1 edit
1 edit
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
ainuuut
52 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a fascinating movie. I am surprised I am the first person to add it to my drama list. At first the movie started off a bit cheesy and I even thought about quiting it but I am glad I didin't because after about 30 minutes the viewers see the other side of First Time. I love how it managed to be both heartwarming and dramatic. Normally, movies about sick people are depressing to watch and it takes a lot of time for me to force myself to watch them. However, First Time is quite unique, because even though it is about a sick person, it does not revolve around a hospital. Also, it was very colorful, the decoration crew did an awesome job. The only complaint I have about this movie is that the main heroine's fantasies were painted in almost-chibis. I don't think these drawings suited the movie.

The acting was very good. I especially enjoyed the main couple's and Jiang Shan's (Shiqiao's mother) performance in the movie.

I love the soundtrack, most of the songs were created for this movie. I especially love the ending song, too bad I can't find it for download yet :(.

Overall, this was a very enjoyable movie. I`m glad I decided to watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Chrisstina
26 people found this review helpful
Jul 1, 2014
Completed 14
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
THIS IS TRULY A FASCINATING MOVIE! At the beginning it was a little confusing and the romance was developing really quickly, but don't give up yet, cause after 30 mins the story is taking a BIG twist! From then the puzzles were putting in their place.
The cinematography was beautiful and the whole theme of a movie. It became my favourite one!

The acting was really, really good, especially the mother's. She must stay strong and do anything to make her daughter happy. The main actress did a great job potraying a sick person whose memories are dissappearing as soon as the new day come, but also a very intelligent young woman. Chao Mark was playing a two roles and he managed it to do it perfectly.

I loved the music. It will give you all the feels and the lyrics are beautiful, especially the song at the end. I couldn't stop crying and I still can't while I'm writing this review. :'(

Overall I can see myself coming back here and watching it all over again in a near future hehe ;) :D
Give it a try and believe me you won't be dissapointed! ^_^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jo-hannah
9 people found this review helpful
Apr 6, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Rarely a movie or a drama leaves on me that feeling of shock and satisfaction and so many tears spreaded all over my face. This movie is for sure a masterpiece to me, the story is so perfectly written and unexpected and there are a lot of surprises that simply fill this movie with awesomeness. I enjoyed and felt every single moment of this movie, since the very beginning. I loved the music, the acting, the characters, the photography (it was AWESOME), the cute drawings she used to make and imagine, the surprises, the stupid smile I had the entire movie and the many tears I cried while watching it, the feeling in my heart while laughing, smiling, and crying with the characters and situations... This movie is pure gold to me and I would recommend it to anyone, and I'd rewatch it one hundred times and even more... Totally loved it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jollibee
5 people found this review helpful
Jan 11, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This movie was just A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!

~STORY~
GREAT!!!
I know it's based on ...ing but this one is much much much much much much better!!!

Whatever ...ing was lacking this movie filled that hollow spot 100times more...

~CAST~
I've always been a big fan of Mark Chao but I've only seen one movie from Angela Baby but i just have to say they were just great here...

The cast as whole has one of the greatest chemistry I have seen in a long time!!!

the mother...
the father...
the friends...
the ex...
and theBoy&thegirl;....

was just epic....

~MUSIC~
This is the only movie I have seen that consistently had the perfect song for every scene...

...I won't mind re-watching it 600times if I have to...
loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!loveit!

~OVERALL~
EPIC!!!

Each connection and emotion was felt and I believe what made it so great was that it did not just explore a boy and girl relationship but everyone around them. I have to say that the friends and the ex did an amazing showing of love as well!!!

watch it!!!watch it!!!watch it!!!watch it!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dpcirizarry123
4 people found this review helpful
Feb 3, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I usually do not watch movies in which one of the characters is sick because I find them very depressing but after reading the reviews I decided to watch this one & BOY AM I GLAD I DID!!! Although my heart was very sad at the end it was a good kind of sad.

This movie keeps you engaged since the beginning. The story is developed in such a way that you have to keep watching. You fall in love with the boy as the girl is falling in love with him. The tender moments are so touching. When they kiss for the first time you feel like it was your first kiss too.

The music in this movie was amazing, especially the last song. I need to find the soundtrack. The scenery was beautiful & they way they filmed the movie was outstanding.

Although the end was sad, my heart was feeling pain but also hope & longing. I will definitely watch this movie again, hopefully with my daughter.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kpopluver3
13 people found this review helpful
Aug 11, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Really great drama that touches your heart. Some part was like heartbreaking and some part was just very touching and some part just made you squeal at their cuteness.
There is like 2 sides of the story, and you first see side A of the story where everything is all fairy tale like, and everything is all like a scene out of a fairytale picture book. All the scene was very romantic and it seems exactly like a picture out of those romantic couple pictures.
Then there is the other side of the story, which is side B in the later half on the story that tells the background of the story and the truth of the story and how all that fairy tale was all planned in the begining and it just breaks your heart. But this later part explain the whole story and you get sad becasue both sides of the story is really sad, and the more sad part is the ending becasue the girl is gone, and although everyone is sad but everyone lives change becasue of that, and they are all left with beaurtiful memories though it really is suuch a shame how they could not be togehter, and that he later realize that what he felt for her was not just a game but acutally real love
The music sung in the movie was all really great and it went well with the drama and the guy sang really good and all the time the guy sang for her it made me went crazy at how loveable and cute it was.
All the acting was really great and the acting felt really true, it was not like bad acting like you see in some dramas these days but it was geninue acting that touches your heart and can make you feel emotional over the drama
If you have a lot of time and looking for a great movie or a great chick film this is the movie for you because it is a beautiful love story that may have been a game in the begining but later turns into real love.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kadiance
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 5, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie develops really slowly, and there are flashbacks, so it might get a bit confusing. I even dropped the movie midway the first time I watched it. It doesn't get interesting until the second half, which made it more painful. As soon as you get past the beginning, I can promise, you won't want to stop. You'll want to see what will happen next, what he wants to do next, how the movie is going to end. It's a really emotional story, though it's a given since the main lead is sick. It's actually kind of cheesy, now that I'm re-watching the second half again. I didn't think it would be good, but now I really want to recommend this to people. It's a cheesy plotline, but I want more people to watch this and have some hope. It all started as a game... but certainly didn't end up with a winner or a loser.
Heads up, it will hurt, so bring out a box of tissues.

STORY: It's surprising. Like... the writers really can drag you all over the place. What you assumed, what you thought, they kind of become useless. I mean some things are given and I won't say what... but as I've mentioned, many flashbacks. They'll slowly unravel the story. Do not be fooled by the first half like I did. Although it's about a sick girl, there's almost nothing medical. It mainly revolved around this girl's first love experience. For me, even when there were times in the movie where I knew what was going to happen... I bawled like a baby. It was emotionally painful. There is a love triangle of sorts, and you have to factor in Shi's overprotective mother. Everyone wants the best for Shi. The writers also throw in sweet stories for Shi's mom and Xia's dad. Both really touching stories. At the end, it was kind of romantic, cheesy... but I came to love the entire thing at the last act in the film. There was a moment for all the confessions towards the end that wrapped up many loopholes, but at the VERY VERY end, there's one final twist that just messes with you entirely. I still can't get over it now. I won't say anything so you really have to watch it to the VERY END. You won't regret it, at least I hope you don't.

ACTING/CAST: I was doubtful of Angelababy's acting. I've only seen her in tabloids and all that, never really seen her act. But she acted out this role really nicely, in my opinion. Given the ending, she can act, in and out of the story line. Mark Chao.. never watched him either and I didn't quite like him in the story. In the beginning, I felt him out of place. But he was the main reason I continued watching, the moment the game was reversed, and the tides have changed. I guess the best scenes of him for me were the really emotional ones, the ones that make you all teary-eyed. I don't know how to explain but... most of the acting crew was amazing. No one was terribly bad that you have to cringe at their acting.

MUSIC: I don't like Mark Chao singing, if that's really him singing. But he sang a beautiful song with meaningful lyrics. It really goes with the movie. There were also beautiful instrumentals that I would like to get my hands on. It made everything so sweet and dreamlike.

RE-WATCH VALUE: Like I've said, it's a slow movie. I wouldn't re-watch this anytime soon. But if I was emotionally stronger, I'd probably re-watch the entire thing one more time... just to notice the details and go through the pain again. The ending... it still gets to me. Reading the ending credits, it was filmed based on the Korean movie, "...ing", so the ending is expected. Ahhhh, just watch it. You can find it on youtube!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
zaskalman
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 18, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This movie just swept me off my feet! I don't cry watching movies very often, but this is the third movie that made me. And I don't cry easily! The only movies that made me cry is One litre of Tears, Titanic and now this one!

I was very surprised by the movie, I thought it would be dull and sad all the way through, but it was really cute and warm. The editing was just so beautiful, and there were plenty of beautiful sceneries. And that's something that's hard to find in movies/dramas these days.

Even thought the plot had many clichés, the script was written well enough to make me love it. I loved the randomness in the beginnin when Gong Ning/Lu Xia first met Shi Qiao.

I really don't know what to say, more than watch it. It doesn't matter with genre you like, everyone we'll definitely like this. It's just a very well-made movie that will make you feel all warm and at the same time cry your eyes out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Trouble-chan
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 22, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I completely understand why so many think it's too sad - it is. But this movie is very good and I found by watching about 30 minutes and then going away for a while and then watching a bit more I got through it without too much of an emotional breakdown and sitting bawling like the world had ended (as I usually do with these types of movies).

I could NEVER watch it in one go though - FAR too sad. But the bit whilst the end credits are running actually makes it not so sad and the twist is really beautiful. I had decided not to watch it at all to start with; but friends who had kept nagging me and so I did, the way I explained, and I'm glad I listened to them......just, you know, DON'T watch it in one hit if you think you might cry - with this movies tears are GUARANTEED....

However, it's good - REALLY good and so, for such a beautiful tearjerker of this magnitude, I'd give it a complete 10/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
nfabjoy
0 people found this review helpful
Jul 2, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0

It’s passable

First Time is a nice enough movie but not particularly a favourite.

Why ?

Firstly - it was a bit of a strenuous watch for me and consisted of an unforgivable start . It was slow and not in a luxuriant way but rather in a lack of ingenuity way . However, I did appreciate the nuance of the story and it did actually pick up at the 40 min mark to the point where I actually wanted to see how it ended . Big points for that but there was really no huge treat to reward those other 40 mins that I can’t let pass.

As for the acting - it was actually good but not memorable . I did not have an aftertaste of them at all but this is because of the storytelling. It’s not their fault . Both are highly popular and acclaimed actors and it shows as they were able to give some fire to this unlit bonfire .

The music was actually in no way memorable nor heightening . There was the guitar piece and that was supposed to be poignant but it all fell flat and that’s the storytelling’s fault . Shame.

Rewatch value is particularly non existent. I cannot possibly go through that 40 mins for sentiment so nah .

As for the overall - it was a passable movie . Not too good but also not that bad . In all honesty the hype surrounding this movie and its lauding reviews is the actors charm . So - if you like these actors (as most people on MDL do ) then go for it . As for me - it was okay albeit not great .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?