Daytime Shooting Star (2017) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.2 (scored by 3,847 users)
  • Ranked: #890
  • Popularity: #487
  • Watchers: 7,347

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

13%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
5 edits
4 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
heyfriday
12 people found this review helpful
Nov 6, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Well not bad, live action. Tbh there are a lot of missing elements (characters & scenes etc) which is totally understandable since its a movie and they cant  really cram the whole manga in it right? So I guess they just picked the important scenes and somehow made it all connected. Which worked for me because I have read the manga.  But on an opposite perspective of a person who haven't seen the manga, I would say that its rushed. I'm not even sure how Mamura fell for Suzume or vice versa. There was also a lack of character depth and growth which is really a bummer.  

Character wise, Mei Nagano was spot on. She was just so refreshing to look at. Miura Shohei on the hand also did great. But sometimes I just want to comb his hair lol (I know, they're just referencing the manga but still...) and Alan Shirahama... well, I may be a little biased about him since I was really pegging for Kentaro, never-the-less,  he pulled it off somehow. The little smiles he makes  were really cute.

All in all, it was a great live action. Plus, it was quite faithful to the manga despite some deleted scenes and characters.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
fri
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 29, 2017
Completed 3
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
Minor spoilers ahead. The Hirunaka no Ryuusei manga has a special place in my heart because of its diverse cast and likeable characters. When I saw that Yamamori Mika, mangaka of HnR, had approved of the movie, I had high hopes thinking this would be a good live-action adaptation. To cut it to you short, it's not. If I were to judge this as a stand-alone film, it would still be bad. The pacing was super rushed, as if the director only took the important plot points in the 70-something chapter manga and squeeze them in a 2 hour film. There's no character development in this film, they're just there, doing things as told. Some other minor plot points were either not included in this film, or completely ignored. For example, Togyuu Minagawa was such a crucial supporting character in order for Yuyuka to move on from Mamura. However, he wasn't even included in this film and that made Yuyuka seem as if she was a character created just for plot/dramatic purposes. Some other plot points missed were Shishio and Suzume's aquarium date, The school culture festival, Romeo and Juliet play, Suzume stumbling across Mamura's family, Shishio's EX-GIRLFRIEND (another character completely disregarded), Shishio tutoring Suzume, etc.
Without these plot points, if I had not read the manga, I wouldn't understand how Mamura fell for Suzume, why was Shishio so indecisive, why did Suzume reach her conclusion at the end of the movie. This was not well executed and made the story in the film seem shallow.
Casting wise, Mei Nagano was a great choice for Suzume, She captured her awkwardness well and did not disregard Suzume's inner dialogue. Miura Shohei was also a well-casted choice for Shishio. The way he said "chun-chun" was cute. Mamura, however, Alan Shirahama did not do him justice. One part of Mamura's character in the manga was that he was very slow in opening up to Suzume. They rushed that in the movie. He was also forcing himself on Suzume a bit too aggressively in the movie. For example, Mamura kissing Suzume on the cheek right after she waved to Shishio was very uncalled for. That's not how it was done in the manga and made live-action Mamura unlikeable for me.
Besides all the negatives in this film, the director did a great job with the sports festival scene, the hospital scene, and the execution of Suzume's final decision at the end. I'm really glad it was faithful to the end of the manga, but this adaptation would have been much better if it had been a drama series (and if they replaced Shirahama with Sakaguchi Kentaro, but that's a personal opinion ;-)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
hardpliers
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 23, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
To be completely honest, were there ever any live remakes that were better than the actual original manga or anime? I guess not, and it's no exception with this one.

The story of Daytime Shooting Star is lovely. For all of you who've read the manga I guess you'll agree that the plot is simple, but very well developed and put out. But the Japanese have this "thing" to completely destroy the amazing manga vibe when they transfer it to the big screens. The whole movie seemed so fake to me. Don't misunderstand me, I love these "corny" and "cheese" Japanese manga adaptations with the whole awkward kissing, starting weird relationships and so on. But the most awkward of it all was the acting in this movie. Is it just me or do we all find the main actress of this movie very strange and unprofessional? I mean, if you read the manga, you would've formed a completely different character of Suzume in your head. To me, the Suzume from the manga is a bit more daring, confident and a whole lot prettier. Sorry if I seem rude or bitchy, but honestly, I couldn't let this slip by without commenting on it. To add, the actor for the role of Mamura is extremely handsome, yet he couldn't fulfill my expectations for acting and being a true Mamura from the manga. Sighh...

I feel as though I'm only giving this movie a higher score is that I've enjoyed the manga so very much. My only wish is that the Japanese would start making manga adaptations with focusing on how to make the characters look and feel like they just walked out of the manga.

If you're a shojo anime junkie/manga reader/corny romance lover, I guess you'll like this film.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
RaquelMaia
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 30, 2017
Completed 5
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I'm so happy for this live action, it was one of favourite mangá.
I know that for a movie isn't so much time to tell everything that the manga have, but some parts were off, it was *how can I explain...* It wa sa rush and only center in one relationship. I feel like the others relation were not so important. Yuyuka give the wrong idea in the movie, some characters *important for the story* were missing too. You really, really need to read the mangá to understant why the story is so amazing.
One point I think that in the movie Mamura was sometimes not like Mamura because he looks agressive into her, to pushy.
The cast I like it, Nagano Mei was so amazing with the character and Moura too.
I love that the ending scene was the same, it was cuteee!! I thought that maybe this were better in a drama style, so much history for a movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shizuka
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 7, 2017
Completed 6
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
I will definitely rewatch it. Overall, the story is excellent! Nagano Mei, was great in this movie.
I really have to recommend this movie. Hirunaka no Ry?sei is a Japanese sh?jo manga written and illustrated by Mika Yamamori. It ran in Margaret from 2011 to 2014. A live-action film of the same name was released in 2017. Suzume Yosano (Mei Nagano) is a first grade high school student. She lived in the countryside, but, due to her parents transferring overseas for work, Suzume now lives in Tokyo with her uncle (Ryuta Sato). Suzume has never had a boyfriend before, but she has feelings for her homeroom teacher Satsuki Shishio (Shohei Miura). Meanwhile, her classmate, Daiki Mamura (Aran Shirahama), becomes attracted to Suzume.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 3, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
A movie that seemed to be predictable, but turned out that it wasn't.
The ending was the best part of the whole movie, but actually I enjoyed
the chemistry between the girl and her two boys. Overall the story
wasn't that bad, though it wasn't something you haven't watched before.
At least, it was cute and sweet, though it did move a bit fast. The
acting was nice as well, simple and not too over the top that manga
based movies usually tend to have. So 6 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
vee
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 22, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
for once a live action shoujo adaptation that didn’t make me cringe and wanna rip my eyes out.

this is my favourite shoujo manga and lemme just say i started this movie with zero expectations cause i know how disappointing and horrendous manga to film adaptations can be and i didnt wanna ruin it for myself. but i was pleasantly surprised, really it was so much better than i thought it would be.

story: the way they managed to fit the story into a two hour film was surprisingly well done. although i was much disappointed that they excluded some scenes and i do feel certain scenes could’ve have been done MUCH better, it honestly wasn’t bad. as a fan of the manga, i’m very relieved and satisfied.

acting/characters: at first i was VERY sceptical about the cast. mainly because i was hung up on kentaro not being cast as mamura, but again, i was pleasantly surprised. miura shohei surprised me the most cause i’ve seen him in a girl and three sweethearts and he was pretty terrible in there lol but he did a really good job playing shishio.

nagano mei was my favourite though. i dont think they could have chosen a better actress to play suzume she was so perfect tbh. and although im a bit disappointed i feel like we didnt get enough of yuyuka’s character, yamamoto maika did an amazing job.

overall i think the movie was good. not The Best but i’m really glad one of my favourite mangas got this good an adaptation.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Life is good
0 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 3.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
Story about a girl ,a boy and a teacher,where a girl come to Tokya from hometown but she unable to find her uncle house and a man help her to found her uncle home and this man turned out to be her class teacher ,in her new day to school she met a boy named mamura ,who was uncomfortable between girls because of his past history which she take an advantage to be his friend she promise her if they were be friends then she would not tell anybody about his uncomfortness and then? love triangle start ..Story full time revolve between three person ,so all I can say it is one time watch .I didn't feel wao to watch this movie .But last scene was good rest story is slow .Not at all feel connected with any character.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
YoongiGotSwag
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
The movie was actually nice and i wasnt disappointed, I hope it gets an anime too xD
I loved all the character but... Mamura...
Its not like I didnt like him but for someone whos kentaro biased, I wanted him to play that role, no offense
Story was a bit too rushed, they missed some important parts. The love story between mamura and suzune was rushed that I started supporting sensei in the movie when I was actually supporting mamura in the manga.
I loved suzune and her actor, she was perfect! I liked sensei too, I think they chose a perfect actor for him too, someone whos both (cute and hot) xD

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Senpai
0 people found this review helpful
Nov 6, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
A very interesting love triangle ...
A 15-year-old inland girl named Suzume Yosano has to go to Tokyo to live with her uncle because of her father's job transfer. Upon arriving in the city, she bumps into a mysterious man who ends up taking her to her uncle's house after she gets lost. It turns out that Suzume will see you much more often by the time she starts school because ... he is her teacher! It is at the same instant that she makes her first friendship in her new college. A shy boy, who does not talk to girls, but who will gradually be conquered by the charisma of the country girl. Suzume's  life will be directly influenced by these two, and she will face a  totally different situation from everything she has ever lived. Shishio or Mamura? What will be the fate of Suzume's heart?
Love triangles are often recurring themes in shoujo manga, later adapted to anime and ultimately to Lives Actions.
"Daytime Shooting Star" focuses a lot on a girl's relationship with a classmate and a ... teacher. Apparently it is a theme that has become more "recurrent" in some series in Japan, the student-teacher relationship. Technically  speaking the film is aligned, the two separate novels that make up this  triangle are so aligned that the viewer gets the taste of want more. Now, on the subject of the cast. For me, the cliche novel did not hurt, but rather the underdeveloped characters. The only complex individual was the teacher, Satsuki Shishio.
In short "Daytime Shooting Star" goes beyond the cliché romance. Viewers need to dig deep to find life lessons and bury subliminal messages, and even when they find that they are not deep. However, this film proves how the heart of a young teen girl can be during her youth. nothing  above expectations, is omnipresent everywhere, the narrative and the  rhythm left more to be desired, and many characters remained stagnated  in a unique way. Although  not original or spectacular, it would still provide excellent  entertainment for those who desire bitter friendship stories.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kitspie
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 3, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
EU NUNCA ODIEI TANTO UMA PROTAGONISTA VSFFFF EU TENHO ASCO DA SUZUME ATE HOJE MENINA BURRAAAAAAAAAAAAA
CARACA SHINSHIO AMOR DA MINHA VIDA EU TE AMOOOOOOOO MUITO MUITO MEU AMOR EU TE AMOOOO!!!! !

MAMURA N TEVE DESENVOLVIMENTO O SUFICIENTE E ELE EH CHATOOOO
ESQUECERAM TOTAL DA MENINA DO MAMURA E DO SHINSHIO NUMA PARTE DO FILME ELES SUMIRAM VSF IGUALZIN NO ANIME FICOU FIEL D+ PODEM CONFIAR ATE NOS DEFEITO Q SAO MUITOS
FILME DESGRACENTO ODIOOOOO TENHO ODIOOOO DA ROTEIRISTA QUE FEZ ISSO A DONA DO MANGA TB VTNC NUNCA VOU PERDOAR. VONTADE DE DAR UMA ESTRELA MAS TEM O SHINSHIO ENTAO VO DA 7.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?