Queen of Mystery

Details

  • Drama: Queen of Mystery
  • Country: South Korea
  • Episodes: 16
  • Aired: Apr 5, 2017 - May 25, 2017
  • Aired On: Wednesday, Thursday
  • Network: KBS2
  • Duration: 60 min.
  • Genres: Action, Mystery, Comedy, Drama, Investigation
  • Rating: 15+ - Teens 15 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 2,066 users)
  • Ranked: #480
  • Popularity: #533
  • Watchers: 5,220

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

3%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

10 edits
3 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
nikonim
21 people found this review helpful
May 26, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
Have you ever watched a drama, not expecting anything and not knowing anything about but it turns out to be the most amazing thing that ever happened to you?

Am I exaggerating? Sure. However, this drama surely exceeded my expectations! What a refreshing drama! Action, Comedy, Crime, Investigation, Amazing female lead... It's a great package! This drama became something I looked forward to every week.

The acting.. Seol Ok and Wan Seung's chemistry was over the top! It'snot even romantic! I love how they argue, their personalities and roles collide, the (flirty) banter! They're my parents and I love them so much no one can stop me. Supporting characters are amazing! They definitely make the drama colorful and flavorful. I love Seol Ok's smart, witty and brave yet clumsy at the same time.

There are cases that were dragged a little too long... Especially in the first episodes, I honestly didn't mind since I was enjoying everything so much. However, there are certain I wished they went more in depth.

I am seriously expecting a season two. I'm not hoping, I am expecting. Divorce must be done(Ok, I'm hoping this)....Overall, a fun drama! It's stress relieving. If you like comedy and crime or a fun drama in general, give this drama a try!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
All_In
12 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contains spoilers
Queen of Mystery (Mystery Queen) is a mixed genre Korean drama with slice of life/mystery/thriller/comedic elements that overall I found to be a satisfying though sometimes uneven drama. If you want something a little different and romance isn't a must, give it a go.

But first the Cons:

Pacing: After one of the most satisfying first episodes, I found the next two to be in okay territory. This ends up kind of being a cycle with some very enjoyable episodes followed by satisfactory episodes. I did do some skipping here and there but it was limited. Also, one particular mystery in the first half of the drama goes on too long.

Too Much: This drama has solid actors but too many of them and a solid story to tell but they glutted it with more more more. I actually wished the drama had focused less on Inspector Woo, the chaebol characters and really would have been ok never meeting Seol Ok's husband. This is nothing against any of the actors but, rather, the lead actors and the neighborhood crew were so good, it didn't need all those other characters and story lines.

Suspending Reality: Various times there are things left hanging or one particular instance in particular where the audience has to suspend all sense of reality. I will leave it there to avoid spoiler territory but it involves the sister-in-law. Also, like many k-dramas there are some coincidental connections that are just too much to believe but again, this is kind of standard.

The Pros:

Actors: They are all great and a shout out to the leads. I am not as familiar with the actor's dramas, but he has the charisma and timing to pull off comedy without a problem. It actually took me several episodes to realize that the actress was the same one from Heart to Heart. She is lovely. All the co-stars are great as well, and the drama has one of the best, most honest representations of a mother-in-law. I loved that the actress is the same that plays the opposite type in Secret Garden, Heirs and Mask.

Direction Etc: Directions was quite good and music was solid though no OST songs really stuck with me.

Story: Flawed but overall enjoyable and quite honestly something different than a thriller or rom/com. The idea is nothing knew (Scarecrow & Mrs. King - a US show from the 80s - was a housewife and a spy), but I like seeing Korean dramas expand out into other avenues and it gets a little extra love from me for that.

As you can tell I really liked but didn't love this drama. I took a point off for pacing issues and a point off for the uneven story, plot holes and problematic ending. It still gets an 8 from me because this drama made me care about these characters and they grew as the drama went on in honest, realistic ways.

Complaint Other Viewers Have:

Now overall I didn't have issues with the ending because I knew going in everything was not going to be tied up with a red bow. However, there are some unhappy viewers regarding the ending. I felt that I knew where the characters were going so, at the end of the day, I was happy enough with that. At the same time, I understand why others were not. It has now come out that the production team is hoping for a Season 2 so they did this on purpose. Shame on them. I hope they get a second season because they could totally do a fun drama and close up some story lines, but I think the fans deserved better because second seasons are hard to come by in k-dramaland.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KingJ
4 people found this review helpful
May 27, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Queen of Mystery is a must watch drama if you love Mysteries. This drama has mysterious hooked me up !. Every episode got me hooked. I loved Everything about this drama ! .Seol-Ok is such an inspiring character, When she has a mother-in- law always giving her work and no love from her husband ...you know what ? She doesn't care because she is in love with mysteries. This drama will inspire you soo much , Not to give up things in life and work hard. The music was epic , especially the BGM . Ha Wan-Seung , JUST LOVED HIS ACTING AND HIS PASSION and... his teases with seol. It was so beautiful But here is one deadly think the drama ends with three shocking things ;
1 ............
2.............
3.............

Something tells me there will be season 2. There has to eb or i will kill myself for sure. Such a beautiful drama !

The things i want to see in Season 2
Queen Of Mystery - Season 2

1. Love story of Captain Bae and the Cook
2. Little romance of Yoo Seol-Ok and Ha Wan-Seung
3. The Seo Hyun Soo is ALIVE and she is going to Haunt the [email protected]#$k out of everyone in Korea
4. More Corruption in Korea revealed .
5. Seol BECAUSE THE QUEEN OF MYSTERY !!!!!!!
6. Seol becomes a DETECTIVE ( like finally !!!)
7. Hong Joon-O and Ha Wan-Seung Bromance becomes huge and it will kill us all !
8. Kim Ho-Soon may find true love or she gets ruined again ( SHE IS SUPER HOT)
9. The Aujumma's gang is back and The one in the jails gets out and lives happily together.
10. I AM GOING TO KILL MYSELF IF IT SEASON 2 DOES'NT COME .

I LOVE YOU KBS :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lily
4 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contains spoilers
This is a drama I began watching because I didn't have anything else to do and wanted to check out some currently airing dramas. Um - Best Decision Ever!

Unlike other dramas from this year, I didn't hear so much about this one since the main actors aren't that young and don't get as much hype from the typical drama-watcher. But I loved them so much - I think both actors delivered so much more than some currently popular actors, as they added real depth and feeling to their characters.

This drama tackles what happens after the ending of our favourite dramas, when the heartwarming romance is done and you're now the housewife and have to do all the chores for your prosecutor husband's mum. Your husband's never home, and the most exciting thing in your day is that there's a sale on eggs in the supermarket - yes, that is the life of Yoo Seol Ok, that is, until she meets Det. Ha.

Without giving any spoilers, this drama is a fun mix between a crime and romance (though this romance is not very pronounced, but definitely there). I know the leads are not the hottest or youngest but trust me, they are worthy of your time and will win you over through their charms and acting. I absolutely recommend this. I will confess that I started this because I was having "Tunnel" withdrawals at the time but, in the end, I believe this drama turned out better than "Tunnel" (though both are very different).

Of course, I must mention the ending because it's a make-or-break situation for some. This drama ends on an open note, and knowing Korean broadcasting agencies, it is unlikely to get a second season due to its average ratings. The ending is similar to some Western shows - it ends on a sort of cliff-hanger, as if they ended it that way to get you hyped up for the upcoming season. I know many don't like that but after thinking about it, I don't mind it so much. Sometimes, I like to have things be left open for possibilities, because in real-life not everything gets wrapped-up perfectly for you and sometimes you're left out of the loop on some things, and this drama emulates real-life a little too well sometimes. So, from me, the ending gets a pass but it might be different for someone else.

I hope new writer Lee pumps out some more dramas like this one - what an impressive debut!

Watch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
lynnrainey
2 people found this review helpful
Jul 31, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
I had so much fun with this series. It is a quirky comedy/mystery series with interesting characters and great music. I'm not kidding about the music, it's so great quirky piano pieces that give great insight into the plot and how our heroine is going to stop the bad guys.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sandy review
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 8, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 4.5
Before i started to watch this drama. I thought it's a normal detective type of drama. But, after first episode I stuck till the last episode. Everything is fabulous. The way, the investigation described. It is easy to understand for all users . This drama consists slice of action/comedic/mystery/thriller.

Story: How a female lead who's dream was to became a policewomen. But, due to some life problems, she could not achieved her dream. Although, she involved continuously in every investigation........oops that's all i can tell you. To know more watch drama and enjoy.;-)

Acting: Great, all cast members worked hard and i enjoyed it.

Music: For me its average.

Conclusion: It's a great drama with great cast and story. Moreover, it is not a rom-com drama. But in the Queen of mystery 2 there is a some romance. Overall, i enjoyed it.




Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Laetitia
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 13, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
no comment for me!

all i could say it's that it is the only one i want more and more episodes!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MysteryMel-Bookish
1 people found this review helpful
May 27, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
16 eps of "not sure." Potential was there for a 10 rating...

What made me watch - the main two leads, who are stunning actors in their own right and did a fantastic job on the story they were given. Where we get lost is somewhere in eps 10,or 11, or 12 the story-line couldn't decide what to do with this outstanding female detective "lady". The drama is set up like individual scenarios of heinous to bad stories that never got linked until eps ???
As for endings, this will rank as one of the most ill-prepared ending and should be entered as an example of "how to murder a drama".
S2? cannot see these actors coming back to this mess.
What lacked? Character backstory, development, and excessive time spent on silly antics of non essential characters& stories, bad writing, cliches and poor direction giving an overall sense of LOST.
ReW?: Why? poor direction, writing is not going to improve with time.
Overall: watch at own risk, watch for the main leads ONLY, have LOW expectations for any resolution that makes sense. Hope there is no S2 with this caliber of actors who were wasted.
Major drama-lords FAIL - maybe that's what they wanted - a poorly rated show to prove intelligent mature females dramas do not sell or work in drama world. Sorry fellas, we know better. It sells if done well!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BoiceInPink
1 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
Story
For a crime / mystery drama, it has a relatively bright storyline which is refreshing and untypical. The idea of a middle-aged housewife being so hooked onto solving cases in her neighbourhood is really entertaining. Her passion is so adorable, making the mystery cases seem less grim. Every single episode was engaging!


Acting
The two lead actors portrayed their characters very well. Side actors were also great with their supporting roles. The baddies would annoy you, the good guys were hilarious. I have almost no complaints for them.

The only actress I thought was a little lacking was Shin Hyunbin, playing the role of the bad lawyer Jung Jiwon. She would look awkward at times, giving a blank expression. However, her acting does not affect much of the drama.


Music
I do not look out for music in dramas thus I am unable to comment on this.

Rewatch value
I would rewatch this and I would recommend this to all crime drama fans! If you are bored of the mainstream dark crime dramas, do give this a try!
(It's only May but I can confidently say this is my favourite drama of 2017!)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lydia
1 people found this review helpful
May 30, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
The first thing I'll say is, the writers said they were planning on adding a second season and are currently discussing it. That's something I wish I knew when I started this show, but I guessed as much during the last few episodes.

This is the first time I'm writing a review on here, mainly because the 140 character limit on twitter isn't nearly enough for me to write out how many feelings I have about this show. I went into this show expecting a light comedy with a pinch of mystery, and I've never been more wrong. This show had me crying of laughter one moment, yet biting my nails nervous about something a minute later. The acting was great, it was nice to see Choi Ganghee in a role like this, it was the opposite of her role in glamorous temptation, she was much more bright it was refreshing. This was my first time seeing Kwon Sangwoo in anything(although temptation has been on my to-watch list forever), and I didn't have any complaints, at some points his lisp came out and it was adorable enough to be noteworthy! The side members were hilarious, Lee Wongeun was great as always but I'm really wondering if he'll stick with these kinds of roles for a while, most of his roles seem very similar. Overall the cast was hilarious, the side characters contributed so much to this show (I'm assuming to make up for the lacking love-line).

The only negative comments I have about this show are related to the plot. The story was great, there were many interesting side stories as well, so many that it felt like I was watching an American show with multiple seasons. Queen of Mystery put so much time into introducing characters and featuring side stories/cases (that were used to further relationships between cast members so I can't say they had no purpose) and towards the end of the season it felt like the writers suddenly remembered they had a main plot-line. I want to say it felt rushed because of how many things happened but it didn't? Moreso it felt like some things that happened made other things seem less significant, I'm guessing this was just due to how many things they had to show(or that they're going to focus on them in the second season). The writers did a good job of bringing up new story lines in the last few episodes, to set up for the new season but I still felt kind of cheated at how some of these stories ended, because of how unlikely it is for another season to happen in kdramas :/.

Overall the show was enjoyable, the cast definitely left an impression on me so I'll be looking forward to the second season!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OhSoEnthusiastic
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 12, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Hands down, one of the best dramas to come out last year. It's certainly not without flaws. The overarching mystery is rife with plot holes that will infuriate some viewers. But watching this eager ahjumma/curmudgeonly cop duo solve crimes and bicker along the way is so ridiculously entertaining.

I.

Am.

So.

Hype.

For.

Season.

2.

All I can say, GIVE US A LOVELINE!!!!!

Here are some more words, because we now have 500 word requirements for reviews, which is infuriating to no end.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
TaraLynch
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 1, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Mystery Queen (AKA Queen of Mystery)

I loved this drama. It was definitely a mystery/police procedural drama and not a romance drama (if this show was made in the US, there probably might have been a romance subplot between the main two characters but societal expectations in Korea are different and there isn't and that's just fine. It didn't need any romance). This show is about Yoo Seol Ok (played by Choi Kang Hee), a neighborhood ahjumma who is basically like Sherlock Holmes in her ability with deductive reasoning. Seol Ok gets involved in investigating some crimes that occur in her neighborhood because Chief Hong Joon Oh (played adorably by Lee Won Geun), the head of her neighborhood police station, consults her for help with his investigations. They cross paths with Ha Wan Seung (played by Kwon Sang Woo - who can smirk at me any time he wants to, thanks), a detective in the drug unit/violent crimes unit who is something of a loose cannon. He and Seol Ok clash quite a bit, but form a bickering partnership in order to hunt down some criminals. The various cases that they encounter are interesting (watch out for the whole serial killers are like mice - if you see one, you know there are more in the walls - trope) and Seol Ok gets to shine as a not typical female character. The supporting cast in this drama really round out the experience and make you glad to join them each episode.

Don't expect an ending where things are wrapped up tidily. I was honestly a bit flabbergasted by the ending, since kdramas don't typically have multiple seasons but it definitely felt more like a season finale in a U.S. procedural show with some big plot reveals right at the very end. I would not be unhappy if there was a second season of this show. Choi Kang Hee's clear delight in playing Seol Ok is wonderful and the bickering, sibling-like interplay she has with Kwon Sang Woo's Ha Wan Seung is very engaging. Highly recommended, especially if you're looking for something not your typical kdrama fare.

Story is really only minus half a star because of how many loose ends there still were at the end of the last episode.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?