My Mister (2018) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 9.2 (scored by 6,059 users)
  • Ranked: #37
  • Popularity: #182
  • Watchers: 15,288

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

20%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

68 edits
64 edits
53 edits
52 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
James Bond
125 people found this review helpful
May 10, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 12
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
(Slightly) EDITED:
“A story about three brothers in their 40s and a girl in her 20s facing the hardships of life and helping each other through the process.” The initial description of “My Ahjussi” was something along these lines, and as far as the storyline goes, that is enough to tell you the essence of it. A look at the daily lives of three middle aged men and a young girl. How interesting could it be? What could possibly be happening in their lives that makes it engaging enough to have a whole show about them? Is it something extraordinary? Definitely not. Is it something you have never seen before? Not really. But, is it worth watching? Oh god yes.

This show has fascinated me more than any other K-drama so far. If you ask me why, I probably won’t be able to tell you a specific reason. After all, what is so fascinating about going to work, walking your co-worker home, and drinking in a bar with your friends? What is so fascinating about 2 brothers running a cleaning service together? I don’t know. But after you see this show you will see that it most definitely is. “My Ahjussi” got me hooked since the first episode. I found myself waiting for the new episodes each week just to see three brothers suffer at work during the days and drink away their nights. There is no one particular thing that is special in this show, but all the elements of it put together make an extraordinary masterpiece. The actors, the characters, the music, the atmosphere, everything fits so perfectly. The story is not abrupt, it doesn’t have many dramatic moments, yet it can go from heart-breaking to heart-warming in an instant. It is not this fast paced show that will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to end, but it is rather this soft field filled with snow that you will find yourself falling in more and more with each episode. And after it ended, of all the things that can be said about “My Ahjussi”, all I could really mumble was….WOW. You know a show has been exceptional when it makes you feel so satisfied that you watched something so beautiful, yet leaves you with a void in your heart, because it is over and you won’t get to see any more of it.

If I would say all the things I have to say for this drama, this review would be really, really long, so I will just try to touch upon everything I didn’t get to mention. First of all, the three brothers. I really can’t tell which one of them did a better job, they were all phenomenal. Each of them with a different, yet still similar path in life, each of them facing their own problems, yet managing to get through them just because they are together. You could see the pain in their eyes through each and every scene, even in the scenes when they were laughing. This is especially true for the oldest brother, it seemed as if he could break down in tears in any moment. Just by looking into their eyes you could almost feel the burdens they are carrying. And Lee Sun-Kyun…well…I really can’t see anybody else portraying the “Ahjussi” role. He was born for this drama. Everything he did was just so perfect. A friend worth keeping, a son that makes you proud, a brother that is always by your side, and a husband….yeah, I’m not quite sure how to put that last one. Nevertheless, all three of them managed to play their parts so well that you just see the characters, you forget about the actors.

From all the K-pop singers that I’ve seen in dramas, only one left a positive impression on me, and that was Lee Junho. And after this role, IU is the second one. Some may say that you don’t need much acting skills to just walk around with a frozen face and your head down, and barely say anything, but I think that that was definitely not the case here. Quite the opposite actually, she gave away so much by saying so little. You could see that she was full of emotions behind that emotionless face, and the way she managed to show us that was really unique. Small, weak, fragile at first glance, but tough, dedicated to her goal, and ultimately warm-hearted as the drama progresses. “The girl that is always underdressed for the weather” as Ahjussi described her, perfectly portrayed what it means to truly care for someone. Every moment of screen time with her was a pleasure to watch. I haven’t seen her in any other dramas, but for this drama, IU, I salute you.

All the other characters did an amazing job as well. Lee Ji-Ah gave us a mixture of emotions going from extreme hatred to even, believe it or not, sympathy at some points. The CEO and his helpers easily made us despise them, while Jung Hee and Yoora (Nara and Nara) were loveable from start to finish. Even the monk, which we didn’t see a lot of, felt like he had a big impact in the drama. That is just a hint of how good everybody was.

When it comes to the atmosphere and the setting, I usually prefer shows that are set in the countryside, or some aesthetically pretty places, rather than the city, but this one was just so well done that I had really no problem with it, it actually made me like the city a lot more. All the typical city places we see in numerous shows, the offices, the bars, the high class hotels, and middle class apartments, all have so much more meaning now. And the soundtrack…oh the soundtrack… all the melancholy songs this show had actually make me happy when I hear them now, simply because they remind me of “My Ahjussi”.

I could go on and on about this for hours, but let’s wrap it up. Time flies by in a second while watching this show. The world around you feels different while watching this show. There were 16 episodes of it, and it feels like I could watch 16000 more and I will still enjoy it as much as I do now. I long to see a drama that will touch my heart as much as “My Ahjussi”. All the other K-dramas feel so distant, as if they were of a different kind. And they probably were. “My Ahjussi”...is truly…one of a kind. And no matter how much more of this I write, the true beauty of this show can’t be put into words. Just go and watch it. Live it. Hats off.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
melondrx
49 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
A picture is worth a thousand words, and they fully expressed that as profoundly as possible. This is my ultimate, most favourite Kdrama of all time. It might not suit everyone's tastes, but it was the first time I cried because a drama ENDED. Finally a drama that is beautiful and breathtaking from start to end.

I guess if you're the type to prefer fluffy, lovey dovey, Kdrama cliche type of dramas, then this won't be for you. My Mister is completely different in terms of the "Kdrama formula."

After watching each episode, it's fulfilling, yet you are (extremely) hungry for more. This drama gave me the biggest comfort whenever I feel down. Ironically, the drama itself, is depressing, gloomy, and melancholy. You know how whenever you feel sad you want to see things like rainbows, and puppies, or eat good food in order to make you feel happier, yet none of that truly comforts you; or sometimes it might even irritate someone even more. My Mister is that person that would sit by your side, cry with you, hug you, and allow you to release your emotions so you truly feel comfort. It's not a stress reliever, it's something that makes you embrace those emotions and let you move on from them.

I've never seen a drama that portrays depression as realistically as My Mister, heck, I've never seen a drama that actually has depressed leads. Between each and every character, there is a special bond that is strong and meaningful. The relationship between PDH and LJA is not family love, nor romance, nor friendship. It's a different form of love that it's hard to wrap the head around, but the best way to describe it is human love. Human emotions, comfort, and acceptance. Personally, my favorite parts are the interactions between Lee Ji An and her grandmother. I cry in every single scene because it's so beautiful.
Honestly, during the painful scenes, you cry. The touching scenes, you cry. The silent scenes, you cry. And the happy ones, you cry. Maybe I'm just overly sensitive when I'm watching this drama... It's painful but heartwarming.

I think many people who don't like this drama probably thinks: the brothers are annoying or the drama is too slow. You can't really fully immerse into the drama unless you learn to appreciate the brothers, and what they symbolize. Although it feels slow paced in the beginning, trust me, 1 hour 20 minutes feel like 30 minutes.

The cinematography is stunning. Just like how many people said, it's like you are watching a movie within each episode. It's stunning in a way that is effective to convey the story and mood, and the beauty of each character. There is not one character I dislike, not even the bad ones, because they are all so compelling.

Edit:
For anyone who aren't feeling up to expectations, a little disclaimer. Don't dive into the drama expecting to be blown away or be on the edge of your seats the entire time. I watched it week by week, so the drama itself felt like it was very well paced. If you try to binge watch the beginning episodes, it might feel very very slow, eventually losing interest. But the best way to experience the high expectations, is for sure you really need to immerse yourself in small details, and focus on every single aspect in each scene. Sometimes it might even get a bit mentally intensive. As for me, watching it week by week allowed some breaks in between before fully going into analyzing mode. It's kind of like you have to critically analyze every detail in order for the viewer to meet its expectations. If all else fails, then it might just not be your taste and that's all okay :)


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ChinguMode
19 people found this review helpful
May 18, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Sometimes a show comes along that is so insightful, so unexpectedly profound and so transcendently beautiful that you are left without adequate words to describe it. This is that show.

Lee Sun-kyun plays Park Dong-hoon, a numb middle-aged engineer in a tired marriage who finds himself entangled with Lee Ji-an, a very young, almost unsocialised woman played with an extraordinary subtlety and quiet intensity by IU. Ji-an has been tasked to help get rid of Dong-hoon by the CEO of his company, Do Joon-young (Park Young-min) who is having an affair with Dong-hoon's wife. Ji-an wiretaps Dong-hoon's phone and finds herself identifying with his unhappiness, even as she is drawn to his inherent kindness.

Surrounded by a cast of unhappy and dissatisfied people, this is a show about middle age and about failure but in the end about how our lives are enriched by kindness and community. Ji-an is a damaged young woman who has endured almost unimaginable tragedy but through her relationship with Dong-hoon they are both able to heal and to finally pursue happiness.

The performances of the entire cast are extraordinary but it's the sparse script, off-kilter cinematography and haunting pensive OST that give the show a sensibility that's hypnotic, almost mesmerising. It’s melancholic and a little weird – but in the kind of way that people are a little weird. It’s grim and there’s very little joy in it but the tone and lack of joy is presented in a way that makes it analogous to the disappointments and mindless drudgery of middle-age.

But beyond the themes of failure and the cold darkness of winter as a metaphor for dissatisfaction, this is a show about the triumph of kindness. Portrayed so often as a weakness, it is instead Dong-hoon's kindness that is his greatest strength. It is kindness, community and love that is celebrated and through that celebration this show finds a beauty that transcends mere television.

It is, for now, the best show of 2018.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 16/16
ira_Star
38 people found this review helpful
May 12, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I usually enjoy fluffy romance comedies like Weightlifting Fairy and Goblin. Mother, Signal, Tunnel etc are great, but I'm unlikely to rewatch them. So of course the only reason I started watching this grim looking drama before it ended was because of IU. The first episode took my silly "personal preferences" and crushed them under the most beautifully crafted and executed cinematic experience of my life. A story about 3 old men had me shooketh. My Mister takes an unfiltered look at life, serving us the violent, the depressed, the mediocre. But it adds color to this dark narrative by showing us the beauty of human connections. It shows us that all you need is one person in your corner. I'm so thankful to the cast and crew of My Mister for having created this masterpiece, because I learnt so much from this drama, about love, patience, and especially about compassion. It's a must watch, please don't miss out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Elle
14 people found this review helpful
May 18, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
At first blush this drama seems to be dark, depressing and sometimes slow, but taking a deeper dive, this drama completely blew me away. The way My Ajusshi was able to tap into some incredibly deep life truths is so very touching. This drama centers around characters where life has left them behind. Downtrodden and facing failure, these characters will learn to overcome those insecurities in pursuit of their own definition of happiness. There are times that this drama just shook me to the core in how it handled these truths and how it encourages its viewers that there is always hope.

This drama’s strength is its characters. My Ajusshi portrays deep and nuanced characters not only in Park Dong Hoon and Lee Ji An but also in their supporting characters as well. This drama delves deep into the concepts of love, marriage, family and community.

I did want to address the love between Park Dong Hoon and Lee Ji An. The love between these two is not a romantic type of love, it transcends that. Dong Hoon refers to Ji An as someone who knows him completely just from observing him, someone who almost shares a soul with him, a kindred spirit of sorts is my interpretation. I personally refuse to see their love in a romantic light. Their love is too pure for that!

This drama is incredibly beautiful and able to encompass an aspect of life unlike any other drama I’ve seen before. Though it may have a darker framework, it’s uplifting and encouraging message is so very rewarding! This is by far one of the most encouraging dramas I’ve seen! My Ajusshi is a beautiful story about salvation, redemption and rebirth! What are you waiting for? Go watch this now!!!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SoraStrife
14 people found this review helpful
Aug 8, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

A story about life goes a long way

This is clearly not the best drama of 2018. It is the best drama of all time. Before delving any further, if you're wondering if there are spoilers in this review, rest assured there are none (or just a pinch of it at most).

Story and General comments:
If you are looking for fantasy, this drama is not for you. If you are looking for a typical romance drama, slowly walk away now. The beauty of My Mister is in its simplicity. What I mean by simplicity is that it's not a typical k-drama involving a rich chaebol falling for a poor normal-life-living girl, or the male lead having super powers or some crazy disorder. It is just a story between one Ahjusshi, one girl and one (hella great) neighbourhood. If there's one spoiler-ish statement in this review, it'll be this one - Though as many of you may have read from comments and reviews, this story is not about romantic love between the two leads. That said, I have never personally felt more love between two characters in any other show (not limited to just k-drama) as I did in My Mister. That's the power of great story telling - the love between two people that transcends the conventional love and romance of what we know and have come to understand. And yet, there is so much more to the story; something you will have to experience for yourself as mere words are just inadequate and will not do the show any justice.

Acting:
Another concern that many viewers had before the show aired was about IU's acting. Though she has improved along the years, her acting is good at best with some occasional great moments. This has changed with My Mister. IU's acting was simply exceptional and her performance in My Mister is hands down the best out of all her dramas. And as for Lee Sun Kyun, must I say more? His acting is and has been exceptional and it is no different in My Mister. Poured his heart out for the role and the viewers felt every breath of it... literally.

Music / OSTs:
One big factor for me personally is the Music / OSTs of a k-drama. Yes a drama may be well written and well acted, but if the OST is not up-to-par, the drama will just end up being forgettable many years down the road. I kid you not, I was playing the OSTs on repeat the whole day for weeks and even up till today, I am still listening to it on a daily basis. It is just that good. Props to Sondia, Vincent Blue, O.When, Jung Seung Hwan and even IU (she wrote the song for JeHwi) for creating what has to be one of the most memorable OSTs of any k-drama.

Conclusion:
What more can we ask for? A story that shatters the proverbial glass ceiling of k-drama standards; acting performances that exceed all expectations; music that will stick with you on repeat for a very long time. My Mister is not just another k-drama but an important precedent for k-dramas as it is not afraid to revitalize the conventional formula and reinvent the storytelling wheel.

I would like to end this review with one word - Masterpiece.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
alldramaaddict11
13 people found this review helpful
May 18, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Hands down the best drama I've ever watched. More than anything I can think of. Even my all time faves Signal, Punch, and Secret Forest can't make me feel the way I feel watching this drama. I think it's better if people go into this drama knowing as little as possible. The title, the summary, it can be misleading and I know it deterred some people away from watching it, but TRUST. This is the most well made drama in all of my 12-13 years of watching dramas. Every character serves a purpose, and every character has a story that won't be abandoned by the writer. The writing, directing, acting, just everything is beautiful, realistic, and compelling. And oddly enough, no matter how dark, how quiet, how melo it can get, it's never boring. This drama makes walking home from work it's freaking runway. I can confidently say that this drama has changed my outlook on life and humanity. I want to be a better person because of it, and I think this story will resonate with a lot of people who are going through rough times in life and comfort them. IU and Lee Sun Kyun were exceptional in this drama, and their chemistry together... WOW. Not only was there sparks, but those sparks ignited into a blazing flame. If you told me 2 1/2 months ago that IU and Lee Sun Kyun would have such amazing chemistry together, I'd scoff at the thought. These two have so much compassion and understanding for another in such an undefinable, profound way. There's no romance between the leads, but there is LOVE. My heart literally aches thinking about it. Anyone who is hesitating to start this drama, don't hesitate and jump into it. It's practically an injustice to describe this drama in words. It must be seen, and it must be heard. Most people get hooked around ep 3/4 and from there on, there's no coming back. Also, don't skip parts! The attention to detail is really important, even down to the sounds. So crank up your volume and discover why My Mister is an all time favourite.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
9 people found this review helpful
May 18, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I want to live in that neighborhood too.

As I write this I have tears. This is one of the best dramas that I have seen in a long time. The writer and director somehow drew me in and I began an emotional roller coaster ride. I think they bring to light that most people force their selves through life. Sometimes we forget that the most important part of life are the lovely moments with our families and friends. The characters may seem like ordinary people living ordinary lives, but there are so many layers to each of these characters. The story has an extra marital affair, corporate intrigue, child neglect and some violence. here is plenty of suspenseful moments, heartbreaking realizations, and pleasant surprises. I am particularly impressed by the well written character, Park Dong Hoon. All of the extra characters are also very much needed to make this story complete. Some people may think that this drama is slow, but it totally works that way. I can't explain why the characters of this drama touched me, but I cried and laughed and stared blankly.

I like it that Lee Sun Kyun plays Park Dong Hoon with strength and conviction. I had honestly forgotten about this actor since Coffee Prince. He was made for this role. At first I admit I wasn't sure what the big deal was about these brothers, but each episode shows more depth of character until I was totally engrossed in their lives. People talk smack about idol actors and also say that she didn't have to do much talking or acting. To that I say you are so wrong. IU had a quiet strength that was palpable as Lee Ji An. I didn't know what to think of Ji An at first, but I felt sympathy for her and wanted her to succeed no matter what. The other actors are good also.

The music is good.

I may rewatch this sometime.

No matter what genre you usually prefer, I recommend that you watch this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Francis
8 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama exceeds everyone's expectations despite the controversies even before filming started until it has finally aired. There are 2 episodes left but I'm already writing a review simply because whether it has a good or a bad ending, I want to encourage everyone that this drama is really worth watching.

A Masterpiece-to-be , said the director of 'Misaeng', 'Signal' and 'My Mister'; Director Kim Won Seok. A drama that heals everyone who was having hardships in life. A drama that will touch our hearts. EVERYONE, please listen. This is NOT a romantic drama. It is one of the issues that this drama faced prior to its airing. Lee Ji-An, a girl in her 20s experiencing hardships in life portrayed by IU, Park Dong Hoon, a married man in his 40s portrayed by Lee Sun Kyun together with his brothers, Park Ki Hoon(Song Sae Byuk) and Park Sang Hoon(Oh Dal Su; later replaced by Park Ho San because of the rape allegations). Controversies regarding a man on his 40s developing a relationship with a girl on her 20s surfaced before the drama aired. Allegations on Oh Dal Su that affected not only him but the drama as well, until he was eventually replaced by Park Ho San. But behind all of this, they never failed to deliver.

Story: This is the first time I'm watching a drama not because I'm a fan of IU, but because I want to watch something different. Something unique. As a person that is currently having hardships in life, this drama attracted my attention. Not a romantic drama, not a thriller, not a Rom-Com. But instead, a healing drama, no romance at all. How many times have you watched dramas with a cliché plot? My Mister showed a different perspective in life. Even though we're experiencing hardships and problems, there's always a light of hope. With your family, with your colleagues, and that special someone that has been on your side ever since.

Acting/Cast: I've watched all of IU's dramas since I'm a fan and I can see how much she has improved all through this years. Some people doubted if she can pull of cold, and tough woman since her past roles showed a more bright and fresh image. Well, she proved them wrong. Her acting in this drama is probably the best out of all her drama. Lee Sun Kyun on the other hand for me is somewhat underrated. Since some(not all) based their preferences on looks but not on their acting. This is somewhat irrelevant but if you come to think of it, Lee Sun Kyun is one of the Ahjussis in Korean Entertainment today but has been overshadowed by other actors(not going to drop names). I believe that if other actors took this role, this won't be as good as it is right now. Lee Sun Kyun perfectly portrayed a middle-aged man who is trying to survive despite the hardships and challenges that life has given to him. Believe me, once you watched the drama you'll get goosebumps every time his scene comes up. Song Sae Byuk and Park Ho San complimented the character of Lee Sun Kyun really well as his brothers. Their chemistry together is really amazing. And to think that Park Ho San is suddenly casted because Oh Dal Su has to leave, he really fits the role as the eldest brother and believe me, you wont feel much difference, you wont even think that Oh Dal Su was supposed to play this role.

Music: All of the OSTs. as in all of the OSTs is truly captivating. The way that they are played during some certain scenes gave me chills. For me, my favorite would be OST Part 2: Sondia - Adult (??). Every time this OST will be played, you can really feel the weight of each scene. Also, IU wrote lyrics of one of the OSTs. which is OST Part 4: Dear Moon.

Rewatch Value: I only gave this 9/10 because the heavy plots in this drama is definitely not easy to rewatch. Once you watched it the first time, the emotions will really kick in. This is one of the dramas that made me cry. Because I can relate and I can feel how heavy it is. Well, it's not actually bad if you rewatch it a few times, but that excitement, that surprising plot and cliffhanger on some endings of each episode makes it really worth the wait each week. Once this drama is finished, I will be rewatching it and I sincerely hope that every episode will still give me the same feeling that I have felt the first time I watched it.

Overall, a 10/10. One of the best Korean Drama ever. Trust me, it will be worth your time. The Cast, Cinematography, Music and Story is truly stunning. I hope that this drama will not be underrated and receive recognition as much as other titles. It may have received a lot of controversies and issues along the way but it truly stayed to its track and captivates the heart of the viewers. Thank you so much and it has been an honor watching such a masterpiece.

EDIT:
Last two episodes: As I said in the earlier section of my review, I wrote this review while there are still 2 episodes left and no matter what the ending would be my verdict will still be the same. Out of all the episodes, these last two episodes probably is the best. Now that the drama is finished, please do me a favor and share this masterpiece with your friends. "Even if you're having hardships in life, just hang in there. It's no big deal".

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Saamia Majid
7 people found this review helpful
May 13, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
I believe this has to be one of my favorite dramas after Stranger/Secret Forest. I decided to watch this drama because of tvn- I was impressed by Stranger/Secret Forest. Initially I did not like Lee Ji-an or Park Dong Hoon but they have to be one of my favorite couples onscreen now. This show not only is great in cinematography but it actually has a story. It shows love of three brothers. the misunderstanding of a couple who's love is lost, cheating spouses, issue of us humans not treating each other equally because of status (Lee Ji-an), losing first love due to love taking the route of spirituality and God, the mindset of corporation and the business world. I haven't seen a Korean or even a American drama which shows accuracies of what people go through everyday. I completely could relate to Park Dong Hoon and what has caused him to be the quiet, suffering soul-someone who at the end of the day reminds himself, it's not a big deal. This drama shows how people are suffering quietly in their everyday lives and sad reality of Korea on how people drink away their problems and stress late into the night.

It shows a rare, unlikely connection/bond between two people who are from different walks of life and how they end up befriending each other and helping each other out knowingly and unknowingly through out their hardships. These type of people are true rare gems of life and they are often those who you never thought you'd be friends with. I believe this show has written normal life situations and problems so easily which I believe anyone could relate to.

I would strongly recommend this drama and its OSTs, and I applaud to those that are involved in the making of the show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
diachiong
7 people found this review helpful
Jun 27, 2018
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
I maybe the first one to give this a lower score but in all honesty as much as I want to give it a 10, I couldn't. I give this a solid 8.

This had all the recipe that I look for in a drama. it is dark, moody, raw and sad.I got hyped when I found out that it was the same director as MISAENG and SIGNAL and especially when I checked that it beat SIGNAL as the top rated drama here in MDL. But it wasn't depressing enough for me. Yes there were scenes that made me tear up but it was just like a scratch, I want it to be skin deep just like what MISAENG, DEAR MY FRIENDS and LIVE did where scene after scene it kept piercing my heart all the way through. Although that wake scene at the last episode made me cried buckets of tears, that's what I've been missing throughout the drama, give me more of that emotional-punch-to-your-soul scenes.

The major hold back in this drama for me is the love story of his brother and that actress, to me it was lackluster and took too much screen time, it was like my tears are about to fall from the leads'scenes and then it gets cut by their lousy romance story. it was well acted though but TBH it was unnecessary to highlight their story in which I wished that they could've put the spotlight more on Jang Ki Yong's story.

Jang Ki Yong's character's story was the big miss. To me his story is much more interesting than the two brothers honestly. his inner conflicts within himself is so captivating to watch. The way his character developed and gradually finding out why he is living that way was not stretched enough. I wanted more from him.

But man what a departure this is for IU from her previous roles. I think this type of character suits her personality more that's why she was able to pull off a stunning performance. And can we talk about Mr. ahjussi for a moment, why does he always get cheated on by his wives? first on MY WIFE IS HAVING AN AFFAIR THIS WEEK and now this, poor thing.

p.s. that OST is golden! I would recommend y'all to listen to every song, it just breaks my heart.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 15/16
sebba
8 people found this review helpful
May 16, 2018
15 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Melodramas are my guilty pleasure. All that intensity wrung from convoluted stories and LONG drawn out stares: those fierce moments captured so we can revel in their glory (and for me live vicariously through bringing joy to a soul numbed by unforgiving trials.) However this drama has changed the game completely. It shows that you don't need melo for intensity. That fervour, and passion can be portrayed through the vulnerability of humans, through spiritual connections, and through delicate stories that hold true to life. This drama is spectacular.

Bruce Lee said that love is friendship on fire and the slow burn in the relationship just kills you - with that bittersweet edge that keeps you wanting more. Just like why I love melodramas for that 'good kind of hurt' this drama kept me enamoured through natural dialogues, understated performances that had powerhouse resonance and intricate stories that never felt laboured - piercing my soul and setting wild my courage, hope and love for the potential of the human soul. There's actual character development and not just people changing their minds or procrastinating.

IU has never been better, Lee Sun Kyun has made me a huge fan of him and the writer and director are now on my watch list forever. I cannot recommend this drama enough AND I'm saying this with one episode to go... Honestly no matter what the end, I'm just so happy with this drama. Like I said this drama has changed the game for me because normally (always) how much I love a drama is so much dependent on the ending. You're so satisfied with scenes of beauty, and strength that the journey itself becomes the destination.

I'll still tune in for my melodramas but this drama has just opened my eyes to a whole new world. It's shown me what dramas can be in the hands of gifted people. Highly, highly recommended.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?