Coffee Prince (2007) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.4 (scored by 31,741 users)
  • Ranked: #542
  • Popularity: #14
  • Watchers: 48,608

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

18 edits
17 edits
15 edits
11 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
amrita828
112 people found this review helpful
Oct 30, 2011
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I'm so much in agreement with every word written in Jeanie's review that I had to go back and change most of mine in order not to write a useless review full of repetitions of what had already been expressed so well.



On my part, I can say Coffee Prince made me reconcile with Korean dramas. If I have to tell the whole, bitter truth, for some time I thought Korean could only produce melodramas, with round eyes girls pouting and arrogant dudes raising perfectly trimmed eyebrows. Until I landed on this drama.

Everything about it felt so real, by the middle I wasn't a simple viewer anymore: I was part of that group of friends. The kind of alchemy they created on screen is rarely found in dramas, because in most cases one is reminded that these people are acting. But Coffee Prince feels like they are having fun together. It reminded me of a dinner with my friends, or camping out with them.

There's a delicious special at the end of the drama, which shows some behind the scene bloopers and interviews. And it's amazing, because either the special looks like integral part of the drama, or the whole drama is like a behind the scene: the interaction between the actors stays the same. Even the make up and clothes are everyday things, not a catwalk display.



And I absolutely loved the way the issue homosexuality was treated. I loved that Han Gyul was tormented by the thought of being gay, but that he was even more so in finding out that she was a woman. Because love, betrayal and trust are universal feelings and have no connection whatsoever with gender.



The music deserves a mention too. Coffee Prince has an outstanding OST, very unusual and difficult to put into a precise musical category. Some pieces have a jazz undertone which I personally loved.



I've read some people complaining about the pace of this drama, saying nothing major happens. But a work of art, be it a movie, a drama, a novel or a cartoon isn't made only of events. It's made of style too, of images, silences, scenery, words. Thousands of love stories have been written and shown in dramas. What makes this one a delightful watch, is the ability of actors and direction to make us connect and "live" this sweet love story with the characters.

Therefore, I'm ready to recommend this show to everyone.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jeaniessi
121 people found this review helpful
Oct 9, 2011
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Why I think Coffee Prince is magical...and it's still one of the best Kdramas I've ever watched:

Let's face it, the reality of a girl passing herself as a man and almost everyone around her believing it is a bit farfetched. That is the basis for this drama. All of the orbiting comedy, drama, angst and love circles around this unlikely scenario. How this drama pulls it off and makes it possible for you to suspend disbelief is that every other situation in this drama is grounded in an everyday reality.

Eun Chan is the eldest daughter of a family with no father. She has to take care of her mother and younger school age sister. She is a tomboy and added to that, she has no real money to further her education which would have made it possible for her to seek better employment. She works constantly. From sun up until late into the night she goes and goes. Delivering milk, teaching kids Tae Kwando, delivering food, sewing dolls eyes, shelling chestnuts and on and on. She doesn't have the luxury of dressing up, being a pretty girl who can buy clothes, shoes and make up. This back story for Eun Chan grounds that unbelievable idea of people thinking she is a boy in a reality the audience can get behind.

From that starting point Coffee Prince continues its excellent storytelling. Eun Chan isn't looking for love, she is only trying to survive. When she meets Choi Han Gyul her whole world begins to tilt on its axis. Because the writer and actors do such a wonderful job with their characters, it sucked me right in from start to finish. Coffee Prince isn't about high angst and melo. Its dramatic tension is about the budding of a deep love, the fear of telling the truth, the question of whether love knows gender and mostly, forgiveness. This drama worked for me because somehow the director, writer and actors made me feel like a comfortable spectator in every scene, witnessing the story unfolding.

I cannot emphasize enough how well done and addicting this story is all the way through. The side characters of this drama were just as delightful as the leads and that doesn't happen often. Watch out that you don't fall in love with Lee Sun Gyun as Choi Han Seong! This show had a 1 episode extension which prolonged the end just a little bit but didn't drag it down. (17 Episodes total) Thank goodness this drama seemed very well plotted out all along the way.

Gong Yoo and Yoo Eun Hye are wonderful and have amazing chemistry. And not just them...It is a rare thing when any drama or movie comes along and somehow the whole cast seems magically fit for one another. Whether it be lovers, family or friends...this drama truly has that quality.

The music in Coffee Prince is eclectic and fun. The set designs are lovely...even Gae Sik Ahjussi's disgusting apartment! Some of these sets have become tourist spots in Korea you can still visit today.

If you haven't ridden the fun, funny, touching and magical ride that is Coffee Prince, please jump on board. It's worth every minute...I promise. Even after my 5th watch I still find things I adore about this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
wonhwa
28 people found this review helpful
Jun 1, 2014
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Romantic comedies aren’t usually my cup of java, but Coffee Prince is everything a rom-com should be: sweet, funny, and sexy. If you can get past the silliness of the mistaken identity premise, you’ll be rewarded with a show full of carefully observed human moments, played out by an eclectic, engaging ensemble cast. The poor girl/rich guy love story may not be especially original, but it’s told with a great deal of heart and refreshingly little artifice. The characters come across as fleshed-out human beings instead of walking plot devices and the show understands how to create scenes of real emotional impact without heaping on the melodrama or resorting to cheap dramatic tricks. It’s also genuinely hilarious, with a central couple whose on-screen chemistry is off the charts.

Coffee Prince is hardly an undiscovered gem, but like the best coffee shops, it’s a warm, inviting place to pass the time. It gently reminds that life’s small pleasures should be noticed and savored, and that choosing love, for a person, a profession, or a place, is worth whatever heartache or stigma may tag along.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
leahakiko
14 people found this review helpful
Jun 30, 2015
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 9.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
I honestly forgot, or more didn't realize, what a gem this drama is! I just finished rewatching it, and now that I'm seven years older than when I first watched this I can appreciate this drama a lot more. It's always on that list of "must watch dramas" when you talk to someone who's asking around for good dramas, and for good reasons.

Story is the typical girl looks like boy, uses that to "trick" certain people, gets closer to the male lead..the same old stuff back in the last decade. What made this drama different then most was the fact that the lead actor was unaware of her gender and was a poor guy thinking he was confused. That to me, was one of my favorite aspects of this entire drama. This ended up being a romantic comedy without going too overboard on the comedy (in my opinion). The relationships formed naturally on screen between the leads and between all the side characters. There were some slow parts in this drama but for 17 episodes, I thought things moved fairly quickly. This story just has side stories for most of their other characters.

Cast. UGH. I completely forgot how much I loved this cast! Gong Yoo and Eun Hye are seriously a match made in heaven. Their on screen chemistry was simply undeniable. From when they met until the very end, all of their scenes together were pure perfection. Their acting was so perfect it seemed real and I haven't been able to find a Korean drama where two actors grab my attention like these two.
All of the side character actors were just as perfect. The cafe workers (rip Lee Eon), all the family members and others were casted perfectly. Everyone just seemed to mesh extremely well together.

Music, honestly was never a favorite of mine. Though the whole "la la la lala" song would get stuck in my head for days, there was nothing really special about the music used.

As stated, I have rewatched this drama and believe me, in time so will others. It's just that type of drama where you wouldn't mind watching it from beginning to the end again. I always recommend this drama to new drama watchers and I think I always will. It's a feel good drama and it's also up on Netflix for the time being so if you have it, watch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
shinypher
13 people found this review helpful
Jan 28, 2014
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
It is rare I give this kind of ranking to this kind of drama.
I usually give this iper good reviews to drama that have a historical plot, or actions, or fantasy in them.
But Coffee Prince is my exception.

With this drama I was able to know a lot of good actors: Gong Yoo became one of my favourites. So the first good thing of this drama are the actors indeed. Everyone did a very good job. She was just perfect, sometimes I just forgot she was a girl!
He too was perfect in his role, the cold but childish guy who can be mature too.
The chemistry between them was nice too.
Even the other characters are perfect: from the owner of the shop, to her family, to the waffle guy and so on. Everyone, just perfect in their roles.
They acted very naturally.

Also the script was natural.
The story is simple and realistic, even the fact everyone thinks she is a guy doesn't sounds so 'unrealistic', and the dialogues develop naturally.
Like in everyday life.

I loved also the way Han Kyul accepts his love towards someone who he thinks is a guy, I think this drama was awesome also because of the meaning in it; "it doesn't matter if you are a boy or an alien because I love you."

The music is something I just love. Every episode is full of korean and english songs that makes you feel sad, good, relaxed.
I just LOVE this OST, it has something different from every other drama.

I rewatched this something like ten times, and I never got bored.

I absolutely reccomend this, it is a good drama, I can't find nothing to complain, so if you want to watch something not too much 'difficult' just fall in love with this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Palani
16 people found this review helpful
Dec 13, 2014
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
It took me a while to get into this drama as I felt that it dragged in its early episodes. But as I went through viewing it, there is no doubt that this is a CLASSIC DRAMA. The First Shop of the Coffee Prince provides refreshing themes about homosexuality, self-sacrifice, hard work,dreams,ambition,success,emotional and psychological issues that one may face in life. Yoon Eun Hye, playing the tomboyish Eun Chan, played her role extremely well. Her chemistry with Goong Yoo, who played the confused Choi Han Kyul,is commendable too. Their chemistry was excellent.

When Han-gyul finally allows himself to love Eun-chan regardless of gender (episode 10) it is the best moment of the drama and truly touching. <3

Gender confusion is nothing new, but in too many cases, people have a tendency to overdo it-- drawing things out and overdramatizing it for either hyberbolic comedy, or ridiculous melodrama. Thankfully, Coffee Prince uses at least a bit of discretion and ends up as a fun romantic story that tries to take a more reasoned look at gender roles. It challenges the idea that strength and responsibility are masculine traits and really does a good job at poking fun at gender stereotypes. The men tend to be very faithful, nurturing, and rather bashful, while the women tend to be strong, willful, and intelligent.
In addition to the gender-bending, there is a very touching examination of a heterosexual man being forced to examine his own sexuality as he realizes he is attracted to someone he believes in another man.

Each character has a story, and each story is touched on. This gives the sense that the show is not a one dimensional storyline, it has depth. And then as far as scenery goes, it is beautiful. I love the backdrop of Seoul, the mountain tops wreathed in mist... the artistic touch at Coffee Prince... You can see the stark difference in Eun-chan's home and Han-gyul's apartment.

I really wish they will make a part two for Coffee Prince because it was so well made. A big applause to the creator of this magnificent drama.

Makes me want to drink coffee, too!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
emiylovesny008
9 people found this review helpful
Nov 14, 2013
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This is the first K-Drama I ever watched, I never expected to like it as much as I did. It's so different from a lot of stuff i've seen in the U.S. I was so happy to find a K-Drama section on Hulu (sorry if you don't live in the U.S. or Japan, Hulu really is awesome). The acting and storyline in this is awesome! Again, as some other people have pointed out, it can be a little far fetched at times but hey that's the point of watching a show right? If you're on a break from school or something or have a good amount of free time, definitely go for it. I'd also say it's a good stepping-off point drama for friends that you're trying to get into it (along with Boys over Flowers...either one)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pinkafterglow
14 people found this review helpful
May 5, 2012
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I can't nit pick anything about this drama that I don't like. And I've tried. Its beautifully directed, the actors are perfect for their parts (yoon eun hye is believable as a boy, not to mention awesome passionate acting from everyone), the sets and cinematography are wonderful (I swear it raised the tourism in Korea), the music is just great and unique (it doesn't reuse songs like the usual hyped up dramas), and it feels FRESH.

That's my word for it...FRESH. It feels GOOD to watch it and I can't really say that for any other drama other than It Started with a Kiss.

Coffee Prince is probably the best drama I've seen. Ever.

I've had the very unfortunate experience for it to be one of the first dramas I've ever watched, so since then all the ones I've watched after was crap. It seriously raised my standards.

The rewatch value is VERY high. I've seen it so many times now (this site should have a # times watched option!) maybe about 4 or 5. I will probably make it an every year or second year thing. Even my very white-washed brother and skeptical mother watched and enjoyed it. Yeah it can be a family thing too.

The storyline was great and I felt like every single scene was important. When you watch it its like you're so engrossed in what's happening you don't even notice that time is passing. The story was so good that I was surprised it wasn't a book to begin with. I think its best to watch in your late teen - 20s years, when you can really empathize with the characters after all the heart breaks. It helps you move on and has good morals.

If you want to watch something inspirational, creative, fresh, heart warming, heart wrenching, sometimes tear inducing, beautiful, hilariously funny, wholesome and passionate drama/comedy, then watch it. It makes you laugh, cry, sympathize, fall in love, be inspired, and just plain happy. Its a MUST SEE.

p.s.
If you're sick and tired of the lame "peck on the cheek" kiss scenes (usually at the end) that you see in soooo many dramas, then see this. Passionate acting and kissing. This drama satisfies everything that you don't get in all the other dramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jacqueline
10 people found this review helpful
Oct 12, 2014
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers
There are a LOT of gender-bender/girls in pants titles in Dramaland, and I love just about all of them, but if I had to pick my favorite it is definitely Coffee Prince. Aside from the obvious awesome set up and favorite tropes this drama plays to, what cemented my love for this thing is the fact that the series wasn’t afraid to actively utilize the subject of homosexuality for the plot. Most of the time this trend makes me feel a bit uncomfortable because it’s often handled in a very badly done way, or for the purposes of comedy that falls flat. Not the case for Coffee Prince. Why? Well, the answer might be considered a spoiler, but the fact is the script writers don’t just toy with making the hero briefly question his sexuality, but that this is a huge point of conflict for the plot that resolves itself in one of the most beautiful scenes I have ever frackin’ witnessed. I also adore the fact that heroine opens the drama as a tomboy AND closes the drama as a tomboy, that she doesn’t magically get femininized just because she’s got a guy. The script handles the issue of homosexuality and gender roles in a very respectful manner. Add in the glorious sexual tension between the two characters (notice that’s becoming a recurring theme in my recommendations) and this ranks really high in my favorite dramas, no question!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
indienne
8 people found this review helpful
Feb 27, 2013
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I personally recommend this one. This drama is one of my favorites and will remain for the rest of my life!

This gives you the best of Yoom Eun Hye. Actually, it made me huge fan of her. A thin girl, with no makeup and short hair made her the cutest boy on the planet. Though, the girl disguised as a boy plot, is ancient but this drama adds a new charm to it. Gong Yoo did amazing as the lead. His character left an imprint on me. I have not dared to watch him in any other drama due to the only reason that I want him to remember as Manager Choi of Coffee Prince.
The chemistry between the pair is worth dying for. As for music, I was so busy watching Eun Hye, I hardly remember.

Others characters also add to the awesomeness of the drama. You just can't stop after Episode One. It gives you the warmest feeling ever.

P.S. You'll drink twice as much coffee as now, after watching this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JadeDarcy
11 people found this review helpful
Jun 27, 2012
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I don't know if my review will add much to the many written before me, but I cannot help but to wish to add my 2cents regarding this drama.
I absolutely loved it. It was a re-watch for me. I'm not much of a re-watch anything person, but this drama was totally worth it.

The first time I watched this drama I was too new to the Korean Drama world. Even though I liked it, I felt that there were too many things that I did not understand and did not allow me to enjoy it as much as I did this second time. This time, it has moved up to become one of my all time favorite.
I decided to re-watch it mostly because I felt that watching Gong Yoo in "Big" twice a week, was not enough. I needed a higher dose and more exposure to that face and talent and *cough body cough*. It was during this re-watch that I discovered why this drama is so popular, timeless and overall a star making drama.

This is what I would call an "slice of life" drama. Nothing big or major happens. There are no huge plot twists, evil second leads, plotters to set the main couple apart or anything like that. The story is very subtle and deep at times, poignant at others and over all very funny and heart warming. These characters really make you feel like they are so real you might see them walking down the street -or maybe working at their coffee shop.
The acting is SUPERB. Sometimes I wondered if they were adlibbing. The conversations, the reactions seemed so realistic and flowed so well, it gave it an extra layer of believability.
The main couple is of course one of the major reasons to watch this drama. Ah- to be loved that way. The way Gong Yoo portrays it and smiles....(I'm fanning myself already :). That is all great and all, but really, this drama is an ensemble drama. What gets you and sucks you are the interactions these characters have with each other. How they become better persons from when they met, thanks to knowing each other, working together and caring for their job and each other. Even the grandmother and relationship between the main characters and their respective families was awesome. There was character development all around. I liked that.
The music was awesome too. The whole drama and the music itself gave me a very Indie feel. It reminds me of Juno, 500 Days of Summer, or books such as "Whatever Happened to Goodbye" by Sarah Dessen. All of these stories get you so involved in the subtleties of these characters' daily life that you feel a bit of a voyeur, a friend or someone who comes to care so much about them, that you do not wish the story to end.

Lastly, as sweet and romantic, well acted, funny and great music as it had, I do not think that this drama should be taken lightly. As subtle as it was it did feel very adult like in it's themes. They touched upon sex before marriage, gay relationships, cheating and forgiving, etc. I did not know before how many of the topics dealt here are not ones that -at that time specially- were usually touched upon. If you want to, this drama makes you think and analyze it.

I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good story. Like stated before, don't expect a lot of action or plot twists, but this drama is really worth watching. This drama absolutely deserves the title of "all time classic".

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
palak
15 people found this review helpful
Sep 23, 2012
17 of 17 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
What I really loved about this drama was that there was no distracting background music. Don't get me wrong - I'm like the biggest fan of Korean OST. But the change was pretty refreshing. Eun Chan is the most brutally honest character I've come across till date. Han Gyul is super cute with his forever-amused face which completely lights up around Eun chan. And that dimple/wrinkle on his face is pretty hot. I love the whole supporting cast of Coffee Prince. Can't pick one. Their chemistry is sizzling from the very beginning.

Special credits to the hotties of Coffee Prince. I would love to work in a Coffee house one day! ^^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?