King of Baking, Kim Tak Goo

Details

  • Drama: King of Baking, Kim Tak Goo
  • Country: South Korea
  • Episodes: 30
  • Aired: Jun 9, 2010 - Sep 16, 2010
  • Aired On: Wednesday, Thursday
  • Network: KBS2
  • Duration: 1 hr. 10 min.
  • Genres: Food, Romance, Drama, Family, Melodrama
  • Tags: Evil Stepmother
  • Rating: 15+ - Teens 15 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 8.2 (scored by 5,884 users)
  • Ranked: #575
  • Popularity: #185
  • Watchers: 11,430

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

17%
Help Support MyDramaList

Recently Watched By

Write a Review
ylisse
47 people found this review helpful
Sep 13, 2012
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
A very HeartFULL drama. You've read it right, it can give you all your heart has to offer: heart-touching, heartwarming, heart-wrenching yet very inspiring drama.

Story: Prepare for an emotional ride. From the first episode, I just can't let go. A real makjang drama at its finest, it made me shed tears by episode 3. The story will tell you about a guy with painful past, lost family, with nowhere to run, with absolutely nothing at his hand strives to find himself, his dreams and his newly-found family through the world of baking. The childhood part for me was greatly done, it's the family history that made me invest deep emotions; for the 2nd half of the drama were flashbacks has to be made, sad emotions run down and I cried. I lost count how many times I cried in this drama. Most of the lines coming from the teacher were really inspiring and will let you ponder about life in actuality.

The romance is unconventional. It's not I-know-already-who-end-up-who typical love story. It all ends up to a matter of choices. I did like the ending, it's open yet satisfying and will leave you a resting feeling.


Cast/ Acting: The child actors were definitely amazing in conveying heavy-toned drama in the first episodes. Yoon Shi Yoon maintained the well built TakGu character. He was very convincing and his expressions will make you understand what hardships he's going through that seeing them makes it painful. When he cried, I can't help but cry too. Shin Yu Kyung's character is complex and yes, she's also believable. I initially watched this because of Joo Won and I can say, he's also very good in here, the shifting from bad to good was portrayed well, I also did cry for him at the end. The two main antagonists were not a letdown, it seemed nothing can stop them in doing what they want at all cost until the very end.

Music: It simply matches the scenes it has to give enhancements of, and it has a lively yet inspiring feeling as well.

Rewatch Value: It's a heavy drama for me so I will find it hard to rewatch it for sure.

Overall: A great inspiring drama that will max-out your emotions( it is for me anyway) but in a good way! It will make you sad yet satisfied, this is one of those dramas that is hard to forget. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Nana87
54 people found this review helpful
Jan 12, 2013
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
The first thing I asked myself was, "Do I really want to watch a drama about baking???" Honestly speaking the whole baking theme didn't really interest me, but I'm so glad I gave it a try. There is so much more than Baking to this drama, trust me.

From the beginning this drama draws you in. This drama made me cry my heart out (no joke I cried for hours...yeah i dramathoned this drama). The story is just amazing. Despite Kim Tak Goo facing many difficulties he always has a smile on his face, moving everyone around him. His character just captures your heart. Kim Tak Goo Fighting!!!

So if you are in the mood of watching a drama that will make you cry, smile, laugh, then I recommend you to watch this one.

This is a must see!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
manicmuse
15 people found this review helpful
Jan 22, 2012
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I can't believe that I watched a bread baking drama, that was 30 episodes long, without being bored! It took a lot of persuasion from a friend to get me to watch this. The high ratings didn't even have me fully convinced, but from beginning to end this drama lived up to all the hype.

The entire cast was great. The first episodes are set in the past, and I thought the cast of younger actors were exceptional. I also thought the younger actors matched their older counterparts very well. Younger Kim Tak Goo hooked me into the story, and older Kim Tak Goo kept me hooked from the first time he smiled. I loved that the cast of "villains" had depth, and some characters walked the fine line between good and bad. I liked that Eugene strayed from the romantic lead path into her own interesting character. I thought Joo Won was really good at being very sympathetic, and equally distasteful, though I lol-ed at the look on his face as if something constantly stunk. Even the supporting characters really added to the story, so I had to give the cast a 10.

Though the show is about baking, the story centers around family betrayal, revenge, rivalry, and painful relationships between children and their parents. There are some over the top fight scenes, dramatic rescues, and heartbreaking confrontations, so don't expect to just watch a bunch of scenes about how to bake bread. There's also a good balance of sweet, and humorous moments, and the pacing is good as well. I loved that the romance in this was a bit unconventional, and was touching without being cheesy, or the central focus of the story. This drama also has something I find rare in most dramas, a great ending. They manage to give each character proper closure, and the ending felt just right.

Overall the story isn't necessarily original, but It wasn't predictable either. I laughed and cried many times while watching. There aren't many specific rewatchable scenes, and since suspense is mainly what kept me up nights watching, I'm not sure If I will watch this again. Yoon Si Yoon is so charming, that he may be enough of a reason to give this one a second look.

I definitely recommend this. The 30 episodes will fly by...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
ilovesuperman
21 people found this review helpful
Apr 8, 2011
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama is great. Go and watch it.



That's pretty much all you need to know

(But that would be a lame ass review ^.^)



I read about this drama and how fast it won on popularity.

And I just wondered how could a 30 episode-story about bread-making be interesting?

But I started it anyway. Even though the first couple episodes are set in the past

and were meant for information build-up,

I think those were needed to give depth to the following episodes.

This drama made me laugh. cry. angry, then laugh again and most of all: It kept me interested. Love and intrigues. The story moves along and progresses constantly. The actors are all very good (AND very good-looking.) ^.^

You can feel the struggle the characters have in the story and feel with them.

Also the music was good.

I even caught myself humming the tunes to it at work.

(Unfortunately I dont understand/speak korean. YET ^_^) haha.

Hoped that helped, and you are now convinced to go and watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
ruzgrig
9 people found this review helpful
Dec 28, 2013
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Once again, instead of sleeping, i can't delay writing a review...
Let me start from the end - it's an absolutely must watch drama. At first I hesitated whether I should watch it or not, because it was a little bit long, but I'm glad that I started watching it and even wished it didn't end so soon.
The story, the music (though there were not that many songs), the acting - everything was just perfect... Shi Yoon and Joo Won did a great job, and how admirable was the child Tak Gu (by the way, I think the child Tak Gu looks like Joo Won and the child Ma Jun looks like Shi Yoon, so they could have switched the actors).
The story captures you, and there is not a single unnecessary scene, everything goes so fluently.
So don't delay it any longer, and start watching... :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
filovedrama
7 people found this review helpful
Jul 26, 2013
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I usually don't give any drama a 10 and I mean that. You'll see in my list that only a few dramas have a 10. However, this drama deserves the 10 probably most of the reviewers are giving it. At first I wasn't hooked at all. I mean "Come on, it was a drama about bread. I eat roti everyday, nothing special." Also, I had seen one of the scenes from the drama prior to watching it which made me dislike it a little. Then, I received a recommendation to watch it by another user on Youtube. That was when I finally started watching it. The beginning was your usual Korean, makjang hardcore melodrama. However, the beginning was a setup for the middle and the end. After watching the drama for a few episodes, I got really into it, like REALLY into it. Next thing I knew,I was watching this day and night.I had a tough time finding some of the episodes too and watched this back when kimchidrama was still working. Anyways, this drama is 30 episodes and is the longest Korean drama I have watched up to date. Let me tell you that I didn't regret it at all. Every episode was worth the wait and watch. The acting is superb. I mean what can I say. Yoo Shi Yoon, Joo Won, Yu Jin, Lee Young Ah, and all the others, just bravo! The music is awesome and not too fast paced. I don't like slow paced music but the OST for this drama was too good to not listen to. Props to all the musical staff for the drama. Nothing was overdone but my only con was the romance. One side of the romance was a trailblazer but the other side not so much. However, I can understand why the other side was filmed that way and makes the drama more practical. But still, I still wanted the romance to develop more fluidly. Other than that, this drama is off the charts and is recommended to anyone of any age and any country.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
uenorie
7 people found this review helpful
Apr 24, 2013
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I was reluctant to watch this drama at first because of its length. But when I began watching up until I reached the last episode, I never felt that it was long at all.

There's nothing really special about the story. It's the same old family drama with all the adulteries, birth secrets and such. But what makes this drama special is the way it touched not just my heart, but also the entirety of my soul. It just struck through my heart effortlessly. Perhaps that's thanks to the cast who gave a pretty solid acting. But it was indeed Yoon Shi Yoon who stood out. His portrayal of the determined Kim Tak Goo who rises over and over again despite how many times he has been trampled upon on was really beautiful to watch. Not many young actors today can exhibit such stellar acting that could truly move people's hearts.

Inspiring. Deep. Heartwarming. That is "King of Baking, Kim Tak Goo."

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sadisfied
7 people found this review helpful
Feb 18, 2012
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Absolutely LOVE this drama.
It's my ALL time favourite.

In alot of dramas you can just tell what is going to happen next.
Baker king Kim Tak Gu is definitely not one of those dramas.
It has an amazing storyline which never actually gets boring because it's so realistic and people can easily relate to every character.
This serie made me cry so much because it had many sad but also beautiful moments in it

The cast is simply outstanding and each one of them can just make you feel their love, hate and friendship.

I never thought I would watch a drama that revolved around baking.
But now i definitely would like to taste bread in Korea!

I would recommend this drama to everyone!
It's 30 episodes.. but I promise theý're ALL worth watching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
teetiger
10 people found this review helpful
Apr 13, 2013
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I was a bit apprehensive to watch this drama. It had 30 episodes to start with! [yikes] I try to avoid dramas that are more that 20-25 episodes long but, the 30 episodes are worth it. It is entertaining and good!

It starts off dramatically so you know that this is going to continue that way for the rest of the episodes and it does! Not a single episode is sober. There are affairs, back stabbing, evil plotting, kidnappings, murders, jealousy, a few forced-on kisses [odd how it works, as it does in Kdramas], crying, deaths, more crying and most of all baking.

Be prepared for a lot of baking!!! Sometimes they take bread making way too seriously. A fellow MDL user pointed out saying it's like Master Chef in a few episodes. You just want to say 'It's bread for crying out loud!!' Nevertheless, it's based on baking and it's done well as you'll end up craving bread for the next few days :p

I found a common relation to Naruto with this series. Everything that can go wrong will go wrong to Kim Tak Gu but his persistence, determination and good heart will change the others around him and the situation.

The couples you expect to establish don't. x You won't be disappointed with the choices they make though :)You will learn to love Fallen Soyabeans, Ma jun and Yoo Kyung. It was good to see dramas not follow usual norms for relationship.

All in all the drama is well written and directed. It has flaws but those can be overlooked as without those flaws there wouldn't be this drama. Also, no cellphones. O.o how did they manage? I give it extra points just for that.

By the end of the drama, you'll know the basic ingredients required for making bread, learn how to knead bread, stand and wait for bread to rise, bake and be eaten. You'll also crave for it. Yes, you will.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
sky_fever
6 people found this review helpful
Jul 16, 2012
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
It is a 30 episodes drama but a kind of drama that will give you a satisfactory ending. The reason why im watching korean drama is that they are good in romantic comedy. But this drama gave me an impression that it is not just that kind of genre that they are good, this story is so touching, heartfelt story that will actually give a warm effect to your heart. It has a valuable moral lesson to give the viewer. This story is a drama not more on romance but not boring. Every episode is a must to watch that you wont want to stop and forget about sleeping! I finished it for 2 and a half days! This drama is a MUST WATCH DRAMA, you wont say that your 30 hrs was a wasted=)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dudie
7 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2012
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
When I first read the plot of this drama I thought it wasn't anything special at all but because I was bored I decided to watch the first 2 episodes. After I saw the first 2 episodes I still wasn't into the story so I let it rest for a little while until I heard it will be getting better every ep and it was so true. This is a series that has to grow on you before you really start to like it. Well, that was the case for me. Now it's my favourite Kdrama I can watch over and over again. The story doesn't get boring and you will find new interesting details every time you watch it again.

To bad the production team didn't go for the extention.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
purplenette
11 people found this review helpful
Mar 25, 2012
30 of 30 episodes seen
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
If you only watch one Korean Drama in your lifetime, then make it BAKER KING, KIM TAK GOO!!! I just finished it and it was amazing. OK, first the story is great and there is never a dull moment. Yes, the first couple of episodes are back story, but the story can't do without it. It completes your understanding of the characters. Yoon Shi Yoon/Kim Tak Goo and Joo Won/Goo Ma Jun are great actors!!! They brought the story to life in a way that I have never experienced before. All of the characters are vital to the story and the actors play their parts very well. I found myself at first feeling sorry for Ma Jun and then getting mad at him and then falling totally in love with him. Of course, Tak Goo is a lovable character, but for Joo Won to make me love Ma Jun by the end of the KD is just great acting. I loved the strong women in this KD. Jun In Hwa plays Seo In Sook to perfection. She is crazy mean and to some degree you can understand why. The best part of this KD is the ending...it is perfection. So many times I find the end of KD rushed or incomplete, but this ending ties up all of the stories in a happy package. Tak Goo and Ma Jun are wonderful at the end and too cute!!! Even though this is a long KD...I would watch it again in a heartbeat. I hope you watch it and enjoy!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?