It Started with a Kiss

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.2 (scored by 8,027 users)
  • Ranked: #738
  • Popularity: #202
  • Watchers: 12,473

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

7 edits
5 edits
4 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Doremeduck
39 people found this review helpful
Feb 5, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I originally watched this because of Playful Kiss, hoping to compare the dramas. I am a huge fan of Playful Kiss, but after watching It Started With A Kiss, it surpasses Playful Kiss. First off, the storyline may be close to the same, but ISWAK really goes into depth with the story and the feelings of the characters. ISWAK develops characters and how they handle certain situations, and unlike Playful Kiss' Baek Sung Jo, the audience can really understand the main character's feelings. I would highly recommend watching It Started With A Kiss if you are wanting something that is witty, funny, and romantic, and expect a lot more romance in the sequel. There shouldn't be any disappointment by the time you've seen the whole entire drama. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rourou
27 people found this review helpful
Apr 25, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
1) The reason I watched this : I didn't know that Taiwanese dramas existed until I watched this. I am a huge fan of "Itazura Na Kiss": I read the manga, watched and totally loved the anime then I've seen all the dramas adaptation; this one was the last incarnation that I've seen.

2) Storyline/Plot : This drama has the closest adaptation of the manga; it followed it literally without much change. It was faithful which made it enjoyable.

3) Acting/Cast : Like I said before this was my first Tw-drama so back then I wasn't familiar with the cast but i loved the acting plus supporting roles were extremly awesome along with all the side stories.

4) Music : I don't actually remember the music clearly but I think it was nice.

5) Rewatch value : one of the fewest dramas that I check out sometimes. If you do rewatch dramas you will definitely rewatch this.

6) The ending : It was extremly good the kind that everyone wants to see while watching a drama but I wouldn't consider it an "End" since there's a second season.

7) Overall : I am so not into chinese languages but while watching this drama I totally forgot my dislike and focused on the story.
Basically, if you're Itazura na kiss's fan you must watch this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JCKdorama
28 people found this review helpful
Apr 27, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Why are you reading this review and not watching it?! This is one of my all time favorite dramas. While at times the characters can be a bit frustrating, they do a really good job playing them. The romantic scenes in this drama are very romantic and rememberable (unlike the Korean version...). I could on and on about what I like, but I would spoil it for you. The only thing I can honestly say I didn't like was part of the end, so thank goodness they have a season two! The second season of this drama is also very good and doesn't ruin the first season (unlike Meteor Garden II...).



There are also two versions of this drama, the 30 episode verison and the 20 episode version. If you are the kind of person with a lot of time to spend watching dramas, consider the 30 episode version. But if you are the kind that has little time or doesn't like really long dramas, the 20 episode version is good too and really doesn't leave out much. I forget which version, but one of the two cuts off the ends really weird (probably the 20 episode version.)



What are you waiting for? Go watch it! (I've seen it twice!)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
palak
19 people found this review helpful
Sep 26, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Usually when it comes to various versions of a drama, I never play favorites. I’ve always believed that each version brings out it’s own culture and ideals and creativity. But I have to say that ISWAK is much better than Playful Kiss, especially in terms of acting. Zhi Shu is more expressive and treats her better. Like, you can totally tell he’s fallen for her but won’t admit it. Baek Seung Joo was a bit…blank? (although more handsome). Most of the time it felt like he only tolerated her because she threw herself on him. Zhi Shu, on the other hand, was cold but there were still moments where you could tell he was struggling with his feelings for her.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sai
14 people found this review helpful
Apr 16, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
When it comes to television shows, especially Asian ones, since they're all so similar, I tend to be very picky. But when I watched this show, I didn't even have the heart to judge any of them. It was just so adorable! Ariel Lin's character, Xiang Qin, came off as bit annoying at first, but as I continued to watch, I began to adore her. The same went along with every other one of the characters. I watched many other versions of Itazura no Kiss, which is what this show was based off of, but this was the best by far. I was adamant on disliking this show, but as I continued to watch it, I began to love it more and more. By the time I finished the second series, I had decided this was the best rom com I had ever watched. The relationship between the Jiang family members were so enviable and heartwarming. Usually, I dislike shows with love at first sight and whatnot, but in this show, the romance was so pure and innocent, I didn't mind at all. I started It Started With a Kiss only a week or so ago, and I just finished They Kiss Again. In other words, I watched a 50 hour show in less than a week. I was REALLY into it!

Now I'm actually getting to the analysis. As for the story line, Itazura no Kiss was one of the first anime I ever watched and I've always loved the plot. The makers of the show didn't mess with the plot too much, and whatever they added only made the drama better. It really is a sweet and heartwarming love story. As for the casting, I think it was perfect. Joe Cheng portrayed both the cold blooded and loving sides of Zhi Shu very well. It's rather annoying when people cast extremely attractive actors and actresses to play roles of people who are supposed to be average, so I appreciated that the artists didn't make Ariel Lin too attractive. Of course, she's a very beautiful woman, but the way they did her hair and clothes fit Xiang Qin's character. I can't really think of any role that seemed off, to be honest. Overall, they did a good job with casting, and the actors and actresses portrayed their characters very well.

This was my first Taiwanese drama, and I had trouble with dissecting and analyzing the language. I had to pay attention to the subtitles and the words were kind of like a background buzz. The music came off as really strange at first. However, as I continued to watch, I began to get used to the repetitive words and phrases, and I actually listened to the opening songs. I didn't like them at first since the language was so new to me, but they definitely fit the show. They were also pretty old, considering this show was made in 2005, so that explains a bit of my distaste. And now, after I've watched the entire series, I can say with conviction that the music was perfect for this drama.

And lastly, I'm definitely rewatching this drama. I just finished it, yet I already wanna go back and restart from episode 1. Now that I'm done, I feel all empty and sad ; - ;. I need to quickly find something new to watch before I get all disappointed that it ended. I'm going to wait until I forget about the plot before rewatching it, but it's hard to hold back.

Overall, from everything I wrote above and just how lengthy it all was, you can tell that I absolutely love this show. It was perfect in every single way. Others might not agree with me, but oh well. Out of all the dramas I've watched, this is easily one of my favorites!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
addicted2dramas
9 people found this review helpful
Nov 15, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is officially the longest drama I have watched till now. And probably had the most fun watching too. I tend to shy away from dramas having 20+ episodes, but took a great risk and watched this one. I tried watching the Korean version months back and ended up dropping it after 2 episodes. But after finishing this, I want to try that one out too. Anyway, let's move on to the important parts.

This drama is silly and full of nonsense. But it's breezy and very light to watch. It's one of those dramas that you can watch without thinking much and enjoy it. I laughed hard at something every other episode. The first few episodes were absolutely hilarious. I think this drama did a fantastic job of not boring me till the last 4-5 episodes (parts of which you can easily skip). But I found the story and its characters very colourful. Members of both the family and even its secondary characters are all likable. I wasn't annoyed by a single person in it! The main guy- Zhi Shu is a genius with more brains than actual emotions. But we realize as the story goes on that he isn't that bad anyway. I have to say I liked him better than Xiang Qin's character. I tried my hardest to not criticize her actions and thoughts and that was the only way I could end up liking this drama.

As for the cast- I have become a fan of Joe Cheng and Jiro Wang. I was familiar with Ariel Lin but here she is the true star of the show. She made all the cutesy expressions and pouts in the world and still shined. She was way too cute and managed to win me over in the first episode itself. This drama has loads of cuteness in it. And the main leads have amazing chemistry. I was sort of disappointed with lots of times because whenever they were together, I found myself wanting for them to kiss. The last 2 episodes more or less made up for this part. Oh and should I mention one scene which stood out among the rest? This show has one of the best confession-in-the-rain scenes I have ever seen! I can't believe how well it was shot and with great dialogues. And the wait that builds up in the viewer till then makes it all worth it.

And I want to address this particular issue on people complaining that Zhi Shu was too "cold". I say no- he wasn't cold. The way he acted was to show the contrast between his and Xiang Qin's personalities. Where she is impulsive, he is smart and carefully thinks before acting. But I loved how he keeps smiling to himself whenever Xiang Qin's stalking him or trying to please him. I probably only didn't like his need to be constantly chased. There were times he didn't take enough pity on her but then I understand why he didn't. That's all I can say without spoiling it. Anyway, both characters are too flawed and yet likable.

This drama was a thorough entertainer. It doesn't have melodrama which is probably one of the strongest points. It's more of a family cum romance genre. And I loved the ending even if it was a bit silly. It left me wanting for more so I'd definitely watch the second season. Its rewatch value is decent. I think it's a drama that can be seen again just to remember the good parts.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Crazy4You
7 people found this review helpful
Sep 27, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
After watching this drama it's left me with a smile on my face (: I've seen a handful of Taiwanese dramas, so this one was not my first - but it's become my favorite one out of them all. I haven't read the manga, haven't seen the anime, and haven't seen the Korean or Japanese version. Basing my review solely on this version and what I think of it, here goes: I loved loved loved it! It's a nice break from your usual stressful or sad drama. It's a lighthearted fun-filled drama about first love. There's not too many stressful or drama filled parts, are though there are some scenes that had me tearing up - but mostly because I was happy for the characters.



The acting was great! Joe Cheng and Ariel Lin had great chemistry! Also Jiro was one of my reasons for watching this drama, and I loved him in his role as Ah Jin.



I loved the soundtrack - downloaded it actually (: All the songs grew on me while watching ISWAK. From "Say That U Love Me" to "Practical Joke" - loved them all!



I don't think I'll rewatch ISWAK anytime soon, but I can see myself rewatching it again later on (:



Overall - I think it's a great watch! If you're looking for something light and funny with a touch of romance: watch it! I know 3O episodes seems like a lot to go through, but I found that my time invested in this drama was well put. The episodes are around 45 minutes long, so it's not too bad. I found myself sometimes watching 4 or 5 episodes in a row!



There were times that I was embarrassed watching Xiang Qin - her character is kinda sad at times in a pathetic way, but she grew on me and I found myself cheering her on in her fight for Zhi Shu. When watching this drama - just keep in mind it is based off of a manga!



All in all though - the characters are relatable, funny, lovable - and there are some really sweet moments that had me smiling from ear to ear (:

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mayur
6 people found this review helpful
Feb 13, 2015
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
Since I have completed watching all the three drama versions of Itazura na Kiss(original manga) now I can sincerely say that It’s the best drama version of all three...In this review all are my personal views so if someone beg to differ with it then be it so......

Story - In the entire three versions story is somewhat same with some backdrop changes but twists are all same. Main differences which set them apart are mainly Direction and Acting.

Characters -Starting with Kotoko Aihara (Here Xiang Qin), she is really well played by Ariel Lin and the chemistry between her and Cheng Joe (Jiang Zhi Shu) is totally fantastic, the clashing of her unwavering will with Jiang Shu's cold and stubborn nature is really a treat for the manga fans, though I liked the Japanese version of Kotoko more which is played by Miki Honoka (my biased view).

For Naoki Irie(here Jiang Zhi Shu)...Hats off for Cheng Joe ,I really liked how he played the role of cold, Intelligent and distant Jiang Zhi Shu, from all of the three version it’s the best bcoz here i can see all the subtle changes that happens to his personality in the whole drama like how he is having fun teasing Xiang Qin and his frustration when he is clueless and dumbstruck by her actions, his journey from an arrogant and aloof genius to a caring and understanding (how he supports Xiang Qin)person is one of the best part of the story.

Supporting cast is one of the best; all characters are very well played by the actors especially Jiang Shu's Mother who plays a very vital role to set up the couple.

Music: Music is one of the best parts of this drama; it really goes very well with the whole series.

Rewatch Value: I already watched it 3 times ?’

Overall I think that this version of ITAZURA NA KISS is A must watch for all manga and romcom fans.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
FairyPrincess
6 people found this review helpful
Jul 2, 2012
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Loved this drama!!!
It's one of my favourite ones EVER!!!
It's such a touching story and my favourite version of it, it's my fifth time watching this and i still haven't got bored of it, you can watch it over and over again and love it just as much each time.
The characters are really believable and the actors playing them do an amazing job!
I cannot praise this drama highly enough, if you're even the slightest bit interested in watching this i strongly recommend that you do, i promise you will not regret it!
This drama had me laughing and crying and sometimes both at the same time! It's a roller coaster of emotions and i become so attached to the characters that my emotions rose and fell when theirs did.
So to anyone who wants to watch this, you will definitely fall in love with it! :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pattyrn4
7 people found this review helpful
Dec 17, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Hilarious! I laughed so many times and in general, I hate rom com. Xiang Qin reminds me of a female Bill Murray. She acts so stupid and innocent that you really sympathize with her. Zhi Shu does a great job acting indifferent and you keep looking for clues that he might just like Xiang Qin. You are always rooting for them to get together besides also liking Ah Jin. 30 episodes go quickly!
The music was great with different moods and tempos.
My only disappointed was the last scene which I did not think was funny. It should have been sweet and romantic, I think. I didn't want it to end. I wanted more kisses and romance. I'm looking forward to Part II.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
invisible_ink
7 people found this review helpful
Apr 4, 2014
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm writing this review kind of for both seasons since they really just go together. LOVE this story! I've seen a few versions of it, including the anime, and I think this one does the characters and story the most justice.

I took away some points because the sound quality is really quite terrible. I stopped watching 5 episodes in for a while because I was too used to higher production sound and stuff. But it got better later on (or I got used to it?) and then I was so hooked I didn't care!

All the characters were represented brilliantly, and even the side plots are interesting and engaging. The acting is brilliant!

If you have reservations, just watch it. You have to be patient because it seems like Zhi Shu is so mean and heartless, but you come to realize that it's a huge challenge for him to show a lot of emotion. But the heroine changes him for the better, and by the very last episode of season two, you will fully appreciate all the nuances that make them the perfect couple!

I usually like protective heroes who would go out of their way for the heroine. But even with that preference, this is STILL one of my favorite stories of all time. It's so different from most romances, and the main characters have unique challenges to overcome.

I also adore how it follows their married life as well as their "dating" (a loose term considering how unique their love is). As a married woman, I've always thought that romance in marriage is just as intricate and heart-fluttering as before it, and I wish it got more attention!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WonByungHoon
8 people found this review helpful
Jun 1, 2013
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
this is just an adorable movie, the girl was just i dont even have the words. shes cute and annoying at the same time only when shes becomes a leech. i saw playful kiss korea version and i dint think i would like any other but this kept up with it. this version is longer and more detailed. the other guy (ah jin) was a leech too and every time he kept calling xiang qin was just humorous. zhi shu was so tall and handsome and cold hearted and his laugh is unique. xiang qin was awsome and her facial expressions said everything. the mother just like in playful kiss was hilarious and motherbearing. the family members were great and funny and the rest of the cast. the main difference in this drama compared to korean is the skinship, theres more kissing scenes the very last episode is fantastic. must see part two.
P/S of the three versions (Korea, Japan, China) my best has to be china then japan.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?