Secretly Greatly (2013) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.4 (scored by 8,807 users)
  • Ranked: #528
  • Popularity: #202
  • Watchers: 14,359

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

8 edits
7 edits
5 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
beloved89
73 people found this review helpful
Jun 8, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Honestly this was probably one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. While the film had just about every genre in it, the most memorable was probably the comedy.
The action scenes were fun to watch and well executed but I was blown away by the comedic acting that Kim Soo Hyun presented. I never thought I'd be laughing so hard when I went to see this. Park Ki Woong was perfect in his role as a aspiring musician and also provided a lot of laughs. Lee Hyun Woo really was definitely the right choice for the role of the high school aged spy and his character's back-story was my personal favourite. Also the movie really showed the difference between idol actors and "real" actors in my opinion. I just can't imagine the movie being so good if they had used idols. The acting by these 3 rising stars was amazing and they just proved yet again how talented they really are.
Although I would have probably liked a different ending, I walked out of the theater happy. In fact, when the movie ended I was simply left wondering when it will be released on DVD because it has a huge rewatch value in my opinion - and is the type of movie that I would make everyone around me watch ^^

I'd recommend this movie to anyone looking for a good action film or a comedy. While there is a little bit of romance, it is definitely not an important/big part of the story.

Warning: this movie contains a lot of eye candy. not recommended for the weak at heart ;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
sprnaturalcraze
29 people found this review helpful
Jun 5, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This review may contain spoilers
******DO NO READ IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THIS MOVIE. MILD SPOILERS AHEAD.******

I actually loved this movie for many of the reasons I've seen others criticize it. It is not a static movie. The tone, the atmosphere, and even the genre changes very quickly. I personally get very bored with most movies today because the moment it pops up, you can tell what the ending will be. Cliches upon cliches have been piling up in the movie industry lately. But this movie took an amazing risk by challenging that. It took what would have been yet another light hearted comedy and made you smile and feel good about the characters, and then twisted the situation. (Which is actually realistic. Imagine being a sleeper agent, getting used to being in a certain situation, living as normally as you can, and then your whole world is turned upside down with one order.) I liked that not every decision was spelled out. It felt more real that way. Instead, it makes the audience think, it makes them put themselves in the characters' positions. And damn did I cry, because I never dreamed it would end the way it did. And that is what I call a good movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
NewKDramaAddict
15 people found this review helpful
Sep 13, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
My score is all over the place and so was this movie. From the beginning until the last 1/3; it was very, very good and this is where my high score comes from; however, somewhere, the story kind of lost me for a few frames and I wasn't sure where they were going with the story. However, the acting was great! A good actor works with what he has. I must say, thanks to this movie, I'll look at Kim Soo Hyun a lot closer now. When he was playing his Dong Gu , he was absolutely phenomenal! The rest paled in comparison. Park Ki Woong, was good but I just couldn't take my eyes off that freaking orange hair! Lee Hyun Woo as the youngest was badass from the beginning.

The action in this movie was well-orchestrated. Every action scene was definite and distinctly different. All of these actors should do more action movies or dramas; they really excelled. Again the biggest hole in the movie was the story towards the end. But be warned. If you are looking at this movie strictly for the actors, I think the ending might be a big disappointment for you but otherwise well worth the 2+ hours. BTW, starting to wonder if the Korean film industry just think SK police are stupid. Just saying.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KuroInspirit193
10 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I saw lots of reviews saying that they cried at the ending... I didn't think I would actually cry... But I did.

The story is great, and made me laugh out loud many times, especially Kim Soo Hyun's acting, but I can't believe the ending. I really couldn't stop crying.

I scored the music a six, because there wasn't really much music, but there wasn't anything bad, so...

Anyway, it's a great film, filled with humour, action, and a... tear-jerking ending. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
maymaymaymay
14 people found this review helpful
Jan 3, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
The plot of "Secretly, Greatly" is- in no uncertain terms- a hot mess. It starts out as sort of a funny action movie (Like the "Rush Hour" franchise) and then sort of turns into some high stakes action movie and finally ends up as a really sad melodrama. By the end, I felt a little like I had watched 3 different movies instead of the one. The transitions are a bit rough, but overall I found "Secretly, Greatly" to be pretty enjoyable.
Story: Like I said, the story is a bit rough around the edges. I figure the only reason it got so much box office recognition was because of Kim Soo Hyun, otherwise this movie probably wouldn't have made so much money. I have mixed feelings about the writing, but I still loved the overall product- warts and all. I especially loved Park Ki Woong's character- seriously one of the best supporting characters I have seen anywhere. Can he please have his own movie? Also, the bromance between the three boys was adorable, as well as the relationship Dong Gu created with the people in his neighborhood. And what about Lee Hyun Woo's character? Can I buy someone exactly like him? Please? T_T
I didn't really "dislike" any part of the movie, but there were things I found really confusing- like the random tone shifts in the last half and the fact that CG had a *lot* of plot holes and plot threads that were never tied up.
Acting: The cast was pretty solid, with Kim Soo Hyun leading the pack and Park Ki Woong stealing scenes left and right and Lee Hyun Woo being adorable. Special shoutout to Kim Sung Kyun, who played his completely one-dimensional character with a lot of heart.
Music: Nothing special, in my opinion.
Rewatch Value: Maybe? Not the *whole* thing, but parts of it? As of right now, I'm not too sure.
Overall: Not the best movie ever, but I still loved it. "Covertly, Greatly" might not work for you, but it's still pretty enjoyable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
WonByungHoon
14 people found this review helpful
Apr 5, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
such a weird movie which was all so serious. three flower boys with awesome fighting skills are north korean spies living in south korea. its all about war, suicides, betrayals, and killing each other. in other words, its a one time movie coz its sad and cold. the boys were great to look at. the music was weird it was all musical like.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
lisadramas
10 people found this review helpful
Jan 26, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I'll admit that I only wanted to watch this because of the cast. I didn't really know much about the plot line or anything, but I just knew who was starring in it.

In the end the movie was pretty good. It did take a while for me to understand the entire story line (that was my fault for not reading the plot). However, after the movie ended I wanted to re watch it again. Not because I understood it, but because it was just a good movie to watch again.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rachel
9 people found this review helpful
Apr 28, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
In my memory, this movie was marketed very much as a comedy that happened to include an element of spying. Or at least that was my impression.

The first part of the movie was relatively charming, as we were introduced to the main flower boy trio, and the mundanity and charming qualities of rural village life. But the movie took a very strange and unexpected turn into rather dark territory, some of which touched on themes like loyalty, and I just didn't understand why the characters took the actions they did.

There were a number of themes that were so underdeveloped that could have made the movie more whole - the spies' relationships with the villagers, Sohn Hyun Joo's commander character, who I was expecting to have more significant screen time, but again, a waste.

You can call me a bitterly disappointed viewer.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
katieleemvp
12 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Honestly, I only watched this film due to Kim Soo Hyun and Lee Hyun Woo. The story plot sounded alright but I only watched it because of them.

But after watching this movie. It is AMAZING. The story plot is fantastic, all the actors are great and it is overall a very good movie. It has lots of action and the relationship between all three of the main characters is amazing.

I loved this movie and I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
amrita828
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 4, 2014
Completed 1
Overall 8.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This movie had an odd effect on me. It worked like a punch in the stomach: it hurt a lot and for a moment there I was stunned and couldn't think of anything else, it was pure feeling. After a while, however, I began putting the whole experience under a more rational light and I was left a little puzzled.

Like someone else here pointed out, I too fail to see a logic in the actions of all involved. The title of the movie, which is not randomly chosen but should explain the whole film, promises something that wasn't fulfilled. If the intention of the writer was to create a story of secrecy and greatness, it excelled at the first and failed at the second, since there isn't anything heroic, or shiny in the order they are given and the way they handle it. This dichotomy would work if the whole film had been built on the futility of nationalism, if it were a big, sarcastic accusation, but it isn't. It talks about three young guys and the way they deal with facing a different reality from the only one they have known and learnt as kids. I wish we had had the chance to see that bond with the 3 spies and the village building up, but we don't. We are left to imagine whys that never get a because.

My reason for the high overall mark is the acting, which in my opinion fully deserves a 10. Kim Soo Hyun in particular does a fantastic job in portraying this double version of himself. And here's the rub: the movie works only on a visual and pure feel level. Once the plot has been dissected and your mind fills with question marks, what lingers is the beauty of all three guys, particularly enhanced by ultra smexy combat scenes, murderous looks and a few very effective friendship scenes. My desperate attempt at reasoning miserably failed when confronted with the three of them on screen, just like any other adolescent viewer - problem is, I'm no adolescent anymore.

I feel there wasn't enough music in the movie to speak about it in detail. It was there, but I forgot.

I'm still debating about ever re-watching this movie. I won't be thrown a second punch, that's for sure, so I wonder whether it would be of any use to re-watch something that was pure feeling in the first place, once the feeling is gone.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
EarlGayTea
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 30, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
I enjoyed this movie if I didn't think to hard about it. If you can watch it for what it is then go for it but if you expect good writing and action that makes sense I would take pass. The acting was superb and really held the whole movie. The beginning was slow but funny. The action was at best passable and at worst downright stupid and there are a lot of questions that will always go unanswered and not in a good way.

Either way, if you could take this for face value instead of trying to delve deeply into the story it can be really enjoyable and fun.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
iamsarah
12 people found this review helpful
Nov 9, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I cried soulfly with love and admiration. This was a masterpiece i loved it is a beautifully written story that was well performed. The actors were phenomenal. This movie deserves and award. IT made me experience a wonderful adventure I will never forget. I REALLY REALLY REALLY LOVED THIS MOVIE.I cried soulfly with love and admiration. This was a masterpiece i loved it is a beautifully written story that was well performed. The actors were phenomenal. This movie deserves and award. IT made me experience a wonderful adventure I will never forget. I REALLY REALLY REALLY LOVED THIS MOVIE.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?