Perfect Couple

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.8 (scored by 1,319 users)
  • Ranked: #1520
  • Popularity: #1044
  • Watchers: 3,286

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

17%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

15 edits
3 edits
3 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
Aryael
42 people found this review helpful
May 15, 2014
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Story: This is a story of a smart aristrocrat and his fate with a free-spirited woman who is a good fighter but a lousy investigator. The story starts with Jing Yuan Bao engaged to be married to Jiang Xiao Xue - a refined woman from an aristrocratic background like his. The marriage between these two families is determined by the Grand Empress, which mean neither have a say in it and neither could refuse it. However, Xiao Xue already has a man she loves and on the night before the wedding, she escaped in search of the man she loves. Through fate, another woman - Yu Qi Ling, got misunderstood as the intended bride and married Jing Yuan Bao instead. The story of the Perfect Couple begins. There are ups and downs, plots and sub-plots involving some palace power struggle between those who supported the Crown Prince and those who supported the Second Prince. In the middle of it all, the romance between Jing Yuan Bao and his originally unwanted bride - Yu Qi Ling, blossomed. This drama has a pretty straight forward storyline and easily predicted ending. The baddies are all revealed from the get go -so, there are no surprises. The story revolves heavily on how the baddies get caught in the end and how Yuan Bao and Qi Ling resolve their misunderstandings and differences to become the 'Perfect Couple'.

Acting/Cast: It is no secret that I enjoy watching Wallace act in historical dramas. Acting-wise, he's a veteran. Tang Yan is also another seasoned actress. Both Wallace and Tang Yan managed to pull off a believable chemistry. I mean.... who could resist Wallace's mysterious and sexy stare... you know, the kind that makes you wonder what he's thinking but feel as if he is devouring you whole! With that kind of look, it is not too hard to pull off a chemistry that can melt the hearts of females everywhere! The rest of the cast are all good as well. No complains in the acting department. The costumes are colourful and excellent (though I doubt ppl of that time actually wear such fashionable clothes)!

Music: The ending theme song is my favourite. It has a rather sad tone to it and the lyrics are meaningful. It's stuck in my head and I suspect it will be there for a while unti I find another new song to replace it. Some might find the light OST by Della Ding and Wallace Huo something they might like but me being me... I like the darker melodies over the light-hearted ones. It's all personal preference.

Rewatch value: There are 45 episodes and unless you have lots of time at hand, you might not be wanting to re-watch this anytime soon. That said... there are many scenes in this drama; mostly those involving the main couple, that you would like to forward to.

Overall: This is a worth-while entertainment. True to Tong Hua's (the author of the novel where this drama gets its storyline from) style of writing, the main story focuses on the romance between the two main characters. There are some palace conflict going on but that part of the story did not overwhelm the main love story between the leads. So, if you are a romantic at heart, you might want to check this historical romance out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ayuuie
23 people found this review helpful
Oct 13, 2014
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Story: This is probably one of the fluffiest romance comedies I have ever seen. It's basically about a couple that coincidentally gets married due to some certain circumstances. Of course, along the way we have another couple who happen to be intertwined with the whole situation. It strongly focuses on the relationship of the main couple which I believe is the charm to the whole drama. Seriously... who cares about the overall plot... we're here to see this absolutely hilariously adorable couple - Wallace and Tiffany!

Acting/Cast: I love seeing Wallace and Tiffany on screen together! They made the most adorable couple ever! They were hilarious and had amazing chemistry. I enjoyed almost all their scenes together - from the hilarious bickering to the sweet lovey doveyness. Some parts were heartbreaking to watch though T_T But of course, we need all that drama - but sometimes I just can't understand how a guy can have the heart to act so cold and cruel to the girl he loves! *sigh* This couple and the way they acted kind of reminded me of Alec and Vicki in Princess Pearl - their personalities are actually both quite similar The second couple was actually a little boring for me to watch - again, very similar to Zhou Jie and Ruby in Princess Pearl. Even alot of the situations were very similar. I cringed though at Gong Mi's acting.. I'm not sure who she is but everytime she talks her eyebrows will move oddly O.o and that kind of bothered me. Thank god she wasn't on screen all that much!

Music:I loved the music in this drama. The opening theme was quite catchy and bubbly, whereas the ending theme was beautiful and and emotional. I loved the ending theme alot and I can still hear it playing in my head now. I also loved how they played the female version during the later episodes - it was a totally different feeling with the same emotions (don't really know how to explain XD) I remember a few other insert songs that were modernised with the oriental music. A type of genre I really enjoy actually. One particular song that cracks me up is the 'bouncy' background music that they play whenever they (I think it's mostly Tiffany) acts all goofy and stuff. It really adds on the comedic effect.

Rewatch Value: I don't usually have time to rewatch dramas but in this case, I would rewatch all the scenes between Wallace and Tiffany. It would be amazing if someone actually cut all their scenes and made it into one big video. I'm sure that video will bring a big smile to my face whenever I need that extra cheering up!

Overall: I know I mentioned love alot already, but I must admit, I LOVE this drama so much! I'm having some withdrawal symptoms already! The story wasn't anything spectacular, but I absolutely loved it from beginning to end. This was a very light and fluffy drama with lots of romance - and I loved that! From the very first episode I was quickly reminded of Princess Pearl and throughout the whole drama I could feel the same elements used. From the characters to the scenarios, I could see all the similarities... and since I loved Princess Pearl so SO much I couldn't help but adore this just as much - though the story was a lot weaker. Wallace and Tiffany are easily one of my biased couples now although Wallace and Joe are also my bias XD I'm torn!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MysteryMel-Bookish
9 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2014
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.5
Did it again, another 45'er and DINGED again. The story is not new commoner vs aristocracy, role swap, deadly handsome male (YB) &second lead accompanied with by a SILLY female lead who battles, fall in love, family grief - blah, blah... I award this lead YB, the" patience award" marrying the most childish, silly and whinny wife in drama world. She was the most skin scratching, irritating lead I've seen in drama world in awhile surrounded by most handsome men - silly girl.
Loved the costumes and scenery the most. This drama was well done for a Cdrama ( which can sometimes be cheesy).
Most stupid ending. Why? Get to marry & sleep with Wallace, wedding nite, you leave to wander for awhile - and tell him via a note???? Really? Tell him you don't know when you will be back, but if he sleeps with another she will neuter him? REALLY? Handsome is laying next to you and get out to wander like a pauper - you silly girl. Oh well, its over and now I'm trying to deprogram my brain from any silly girl scenes. Watch at your own risk...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jordan
3 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2016
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I watched every episode--if you doubt me check the discussion board in which i comment on every single episode. In order to avoid bias, my individual episode reviews were rated up one point.

I think that when this show turned into a melodrama, it began to capture my interest. I also think that the character of Housekeeper--their cousin--is what saves this show from being a total disgrace. I think that every character in this show had moments where they performed okay but overall the performances were lacking, and most of this I attribute to the script. I don't think that the two leads had a great deal of chemistry, but watch for yourself and judge.

I think this show is one of the most inconsistent shows, filled with painful comedy, even more painful music (that often ruined my ability to enjoy the show), and some of the most random and unnecessary filler that has graced television. The show was sometimes excellent, but most of the time it was mediocre or downright awful.

If you are looking for a light comedy, this show will eventually disappoint you as it turns into a melodrama. If you are looking for drama, this show will disappoint you with its slap-stick humor. If anything this show was like missing soda, cereal, and peanut butter in a blender--on their own, these are great but when mixed together it is just nasty. This show had no balance.

I give it a 6.0 overall. But I did rate some episodes as high as an 8.0 (remember, I added a point, so technically a 7.0 because i was rating the show against itself). However, a lot of people genuinely loved this show, so I encourage you to read the other reviews and watch the show yourself to see what you think. I wanted to drop this show but this was a personal challenge, to try something different.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
3ngin33r
3 people found this review helpful
Sep 7, 2014
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
Story: It was fantastic at start and going very well till it hit around halfway then something big went wrong , everything started dragging characters changed their characters

Acting: acting and cast all are good

Music: Very good, especially liked the episode ending song

Rewatch: Most likely not as it stays good only in few parts

Overall it feels like a 16-20 hour drama dragged into 45 episodes of 45 mins each which leads to characters becoming dumber and irrational, petty misunderstandings blown out of proportion, supposedly perfect couple with barely any trust, secrets annoyingly stay secret even at the most important times.

Excellent first half ( rom-com ) gets dragged down by the poor second half (tries to go melo but goes annoying).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 26, 2014
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
For all the cuteness and wonderfully elaborate costumes and settings in PC, there is stupid and ugly. The story line is basically good, but there are many contrived elements that make absolutely no sense. The characters are inconsistent. One minute a character is smart, then the next minute they do something stupid. Also, the story is drawn out. They could have told the story in half of the number of episodes. The drawn out misunderstandings and angst gets old.

The romance and cuteness of Wallace and Tiffany is what keeps this from being a total flop. It bothers me that the writers cross the line of naivety to stupid with Qi Lin, who knows martial arts, about medical herbs and is clearly not stupid. Also, I think the writers make Wallace too cold-hearted at times. However, Wallace and Tiffany did great with what they were given. Most of the other actors are ok also.

The music is really good.

I will never rewatch this.

I don't necessarily recommend this drama, but it isn't horrible.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
JADE1300
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 28, 2016
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This starts off as a light hearted historical. Tiffany Tang and wallace Huo bang heads and meets in some really hysterical situations in the begining but gradually fall in love. These 2 main leads had some great chemistry going and there were quite a few sweet romantic scenes. Story line did get serious as the drama went on, but very satisfying ending. Even the secondary couple was very good. The Ost is really good and matched the drama perfectly. I listened to it a lot and imagined my favorite "fire fly" scene when I hear it. I absolutely loved this drama, highly recommend!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Darlene January
0 people found this review helpful
Jun 3, 2019
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I have to give the writer(s) their props in making this Drama Series! I have seen Wallace Huo play some serious martial art drama acting in other Drama Series and Movie that I've never seen of him play in a romantic comedy. I laughed so hard on some of the scenes and in reality I needed that laugh so THANK YOU WALLACE HUO for showing me a different side of you. The story in this Drama, I loved it! I'm glad that I was able to watch another actor play in this romantic comedy, Huang Ming, because when he played in the "Legend of Fuyao" as the half brother of Wu Ji , he played in a scene that molested Fuyao, and I hated HIM because he played it so believable. This Drama series showed a softer side of him. I'm a Rape Survivor!

Thank you, to all the team of "Perfect Couple", I enjoyed it and will rewatch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
bolasurf19
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 7, 2016
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 5.5
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
I only recently discovered Chinese dramas and after watching Love Me If You Dare, Wallace is quickly making his way up my list of awesome actors. However, this was such an odd one. it started off hilarious and wacky in an awesome way. And the somewhere along the line, it dropped the ball. The plot began to make less sense and the characters started to make more stupid decisions. In my opinion, this is a classic case of how you can love certain actors but not necessarily all their work. This show would have received a rating of 8ish based on the first half but as the plot got sillier, i began to lose a lot of the fond memories i had of the quirky characters we were introduced to in the first place.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rarin
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 26, 2016
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I remember enjoying this and then getting disappointed as the show went on because the female lead just went from being tough, free-spirited to vulnerable and needy because clearly the writer needed her to be that way.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kathy
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 5, 2015
45 of 45 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This show was super duper cute. I love the chemistry between Tiffany and Wallace. It's a fun show to watch. Like most shows there are moments when it dragged for a bit. I do like the first part of the show. The latter part is eh for me. I would have loved an alternate conclusion. Overall, I would watch this again.
Was this review helpful to you?