Tazza: The Hidden Card (2014) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.4 (scored by 2,616 users)
  • Ranked: #523
  • Popularity: #717
  • Watchers: 5,193

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

10%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

105 edits
4 edits
2 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
LeejLicious
7 people found this review helpful
Feb 11, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I really enjoyed this movie, definetley not a waste of your time.
It has a good written story, there are somewhat similar movies like this one. I really liked it that it had loads of twists and turns in them; I didn't see all of them coming. I really liked the little hints of comedy it is acceptable in this movie. They kept me on my toes and I got really curious about this card game (this is unknown in the EU). I didn't understand the card game but the movie makes you understand it, and after watching this you might get interested in the Go-Stop card game.
The acting was great. Yes, I am a tiny bit biased but besides TOP the rest also really stood out, there was one weak character and for me it was Shin Se Kyung, I just can't figure out if it was the role or her acting.
The music made the movie, but one song didn't fit the scene in my opinion so thats the reason why I rated is quite low.
Watch this if you like TOP (yes there will be abs, and he did act quite good), gambling, twists and turns and like the card game Go-Stop.
Skip this if you don't like TOP, bloody scenes and gambling movies.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
shountz
4 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This movie as a pleasant surprise even though I'm a fan of TOP ( I mean look at his face) I didn't go in expecting such an entertaining experience and trust me this movie was entertaining. I didn't experience any lulls in my attention and while the pace seemed a bit rushed in some areas it definitely did not bore me.

There is a little bit of everything in this movie (which may slightly have been to its detriment). We have heist or caper set up, a rom -com thread, a rags to riches story, a mentor student story, a revenge tale and a redemption tale (see lots of stuff for you to choose from). As I mentioned above this story is fast paced so fast in fact some parts are literally sped up on screen in order to get to the rest of the story, some people may not like that and may think they were trying to cram too much into one film ( at a whopping 187 mins I tend to agree) but it does allow me to cover a lot of ground and I felt like the story was complete when the movie ended.

The actors did a good job. I had never seen TOP act before and I was impressed. Some of his earlier scenes felt a bit over done but as his character got heavier his performance became more believable (and HOTTER hee hee). Both leading ladies in the film ( and there a few women in the film which i really liked :D) did a great job. They were funny, charming, very sexy , I enjoyed both of their performances and their on screen chemistry with TOP

Shin Se Kyung really impressed me . It was first time seeing her a role outside of Sensory couple and I'm now officially a fan :). She looked the part in each scene and her interaction with all of the characters were spot on YAYYYYY!!

The supporting cast were all stellar Kwan Do Won was chillingly evil villain and Honey Lee played the damaged femme fatale to a tee and looked stunning (as usual). All the other players did not disappoint at all.

I love sequels that can stand alone as their own movie and not have you feel like you need to see the previous installation to get the full story. Tazza: the Hand of God felt like one of those movies to me. Honestly I tried to watch the first one right after this and fell asleep twice so i doubt it will end up on my completed list . So i'm quite satisfied with watching only this movie.

For TOP fans, heist fans ,action fans and any one looking for fast paced entertaining ride. Watch it its fun :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kingsqueen
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 10, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
WHOA! Just WHOA!!
Admittedly, I watched this just to see TOP (and bonus, TOP 'top'less - which, if you are Big Bang fan, you will know is a 'very big deal.' LOL!)

But I had no idea what I was getting myself into. It started off with some funny scenes, and quickly became a Korean Tarantino movie. I lost count of how many times my eyes about bugged out of my head and how many times I had to pause it to catch my breath and calm down from the intensity of the scenes.

TOP's acting is superb. It would be worth watching just for him...but I got a roller coaster ride of crossing and double crossing, mixed with laughs AND blood. Shin Se Kyung as Mi Na played her part so very coolly. (I believe this is my first time seeing her act.) And the friends and enemies that Ham Dae Gil meets along the way are not to be missed. You'll never know until the end where loyalties lie.

If you can handle the blood, you should put this movie on your PTW list pronto!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
KimiChan
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 31, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I watched it because of TOP who is the lead character.
I really like the story from the beginning with some scene from Tazza 1, from TOP still a child until he becomes one of the best gamblers. And of course there’ll be romance story.
The cast is good, with a few casts from Tazza 1. I love that TOP character is not someone with cold hearted personality, he just like someone with free spirit, that he’ll do anything for his love.
If you want to see TOP topless you better watch it.
If you already watch Tazza 1 so you maybe want to watch it too because i think the second one is better in story.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
gwenp29
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 8, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
OMG...How do I even start with this review? I just love this movie.

First and foremost, I have not seen the first movie or the remake and I've never played Go-Stop or whatever the card game they were playing. But even if I've never played, I just like seeing the good and bad of gambling. Well, mostly bad, because I don't really gamble. Anyways, I've been wanting to see this movie for a long time and it's finally here.

The Story: Ham Dae Gil, I think he's the nephew of the main guy in the first movie, shows talent in gambling at a young age. I love how he's cocky but at the same time he has a heart. Things go well for him but then it goes south too. I like how he cared about his friends.

The Acting/Cast: Choi Seung Hyun...what else can I say? I love him. This is the movie I was waiting for. One word, TOPless. Finally I get to see what he hides beneath his shirts. >_<. I don't know, I love his character here. His cocky smirk, how he just kills me with his stares and I love his voice. Shin Se Kyung was ok. She did play her part well. I kinda like the 2 ahjusshi's that helped them towards the end. I also loved Mr. Go.

The Music: There's not really that much music, I don't think. I was too entrenched in the drama.

Rewatch Value: Oh heck yeah! I would re-watch it over and over. TOPless TOP is worth it.

Overall: I give it a 10 out of 10 because it did not disappoint. Not to me at least.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Psychosinner
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This movie is so badass! Action, fast paced, dark. Love it. It's also very sensual when it needs to be.

T.O.P plays the role of a hustler Ham De Gil who's had a rough childhood and he learned hustling early on when he was still growing up. When he's old enough he gets pegged for a murder that happened by accident so his mother gives him money to escape and sends him off. But before he leaves, he promises a neighbor girl who he's in love with, Heo Mina played by Shin Se Kyung, that he will come back for her and get married. Mina shrugs it off and barely even responds but something about him makes her smile.

Ham De Gil leaves town and ends up working for an illegal casino as the guy who serves drinks but soon his boss sees his potential and promotes him to an actual gambling position.

De Gil not only starts making a solid income for his boss but also does well for himself.

But when he meets the sexy older woman who is a regular at the casino he not only starts sleeping with her but they also form a bond and he becomes sincere in his feelings toward her. That leads to devastating consequences when the casino boss tells Ham De Gil they plan to hustle money out of her leaving her broke and that's not all--- the boss wants De Gil to personally handle the job along with the others.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MysteryMel-Bookish
0 people found this review helpful
Apr 17, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Loved this and gain a deeper appreciation of T.O.P. and the icy actress SSK. These roles played to their strong suit and acting levels especially SSK.
If you have watched any of the Clooney's OCEANS trilogy and loved it, you will certainly enjoy this movie. It's all about the grif and some revenge ...
Music - Acting - Story-line: Korean Oceans. Well done! Great Saturday night flick for those who need a bit more action in their flicks...
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Senpai
0 people found this review helpful
May 31, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
It's not a satisfying movie. With the direction mainly predictable and does not have the factors that hold the attention of the viewer sufficiently. Maybe Choi Seung-hyun fans will be excited as the film, after all there is nothing wrong with having a protagonist who tries to act cool all the time. But when the film is just mostly about trying to look cool and elegant, it does not necessarily equal a good movie. This film goes from point A to point B to point C and for the most part it becomes a bit tedious because of the direction of the "obvious". In other words, very poor performance and very predictable history.
The plot has its holes, one of them the rhythm of the film that seems to be the kind of confusing and incontinent type that makes the viewer a little impotent, not to mention the poor editing of scenes, as at the moment we do not see how the characters arrived Exactly where they are in such a short time.
Do not get me wrong it's a remarkable movie and at least not really at all bad. I also liked the color cinematography, but overall not exciting.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mexu2d
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 21, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 10
A fantastic trip into the twisted and dark world of the gambler. The main roles acted by the phenomenal Choi Seung Hyun, the stunning Shin se Kyung, and sexy Lee Ha Nui. Need to watch film. A film like this takes you up and down, like the craziest rollercoaster you've ever ridden. Prepare yourself for the unexpected! It really gives the original films of Tazza a run for their money.
It really is a film you'll be satisfied watching, and you'll desire more, and more. X_X
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
MarianVasileCirloganu
0 people found this review helpful
Feb 11, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
to bad that you can give this movie only a 10.....very good story amaizing acting,2 hour and a half off pure adrenaline
Was this review helpful to you?