Write a Review More ReviewsReviews

  • Apr 26, 2012 24 of 24 episodes seen
    iindu
    13 of 16 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  8
    • Story  8
    • Acting/Cast  8
    • Music  8
    • Rewatch Value  6
    'The Return of Iljimae' has many strong points, and in many ways is more complete story-wise than the other drama 'Iljimae', but I wasn't entirely happy with it.

    Having watched 'Iljimae',I must say, there is very little in common between these two dramas, other than the 'Robin Hood' nature of Iljimae and his rather misfortunate connection to his parents.

    The return of Iljimae has a broader framework,is more well written, and explores the identity of Iljimae as a hero of the times, working against injustice than for any personal quest. I felt that the story and the characters were more complete in this.

    The action sequences are good. There must have been plenty of rope and pulleys used in the making, as Iljimae and numerous others
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Jun 25, 2011 24 of 24 episodes seen
    blackstar_aria
    15 of 22 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  5
    • Story  4
    • Acting/Cast  7
    • Music  7
    • Rewatch Value  1
    If you watched "Iljimae" with Jun Ki and liked it you probably wont like this one. This is not a sequel to Jun Ki's Iljimae, this is a different version of the same story. Return to Iljimae seems to stick really close to history and drifts far from the fantasy that I loved in Iljimae.



    This version also tells its story by frequent flash backs and moments in the past, which until you get the hang of it makes it difficult to follow. The story divulges into to the past of all its characters, thus dragging out the series and can sometimes seem to beat a already dead horse.



    The quick action is left to a minimum in this
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Jan 27, 2012 24 of 24 episodes seen
    rad_lisette
    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  8
    • Story  8
    • Acting/Cast  9
    • Music  8
    • Rewatch Value  8
    This sageuk has amazing cinematography and a lovely soundtrack. This was also a drama that has solid acting all across the cast.

    In particular, Jung Il Woo proved that he does have acting chops and this is his best work so far, in my opinion.

    The plot is a seamless blend of action, melodrama and comedy. The story examines the life and history of this "hero" in such a convincing way.

    The plot doesn't move that quickly and that may come off as jarring to some viewers. However, this drama is meant to be watched slowly and savored.
    The characters are portrayed so realistically and they really remain in your heart even after the drama is over.


    A highly recommended drama.
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Jan 5, 2012 24 of 24 episodes seen
    clykmii
    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  10
    • Story  10
    • Acting/Cast  10
    • Music  10
    • Rewatch Value  10
    I luved this drama. That said, I found myself getting slightly board with the series sometimes and turning to other more fast paced shows. But every time I came back to Iljimae it was like drinking a tall glass of ice water on a hot day. Simple, refreshing and so needed. This series has an amazing musical score, great cinematography and the entire cast really delivers solid performances. Iljimae and Wal Hee’s relationship was so different from any other drama romance I have seen b/c Return of Iljimae breaks away from conventional dramas and cliche themes and gives emotions to its audiences. Though I found Wal Hee a little annoying towards the end, I really loved her throughout most of the show. Return of Iljimae did read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • Aug 14, 2012 24 of 24 episodes seen
    purplenette
    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  7
    • Story  7
    • Acting/Cast  7
    • Music  6
    • Rewatch Value  6
    I’m not a fan of historical dramas. I watched Iljimae and thought it was good so I decided to watch this one. It isn’t that this drama is bad, but I was just so tired of it by the end. It was just so serious and sad with very little happy moments or smiles. Plus I hated that they have a narrator. BTW…this is not a sequel to Iljimae.

    The story is well thought out, there aren’t any holes or anything that doesn’t make since. Iljimae goes through so much that by the time I watched the 24th episode, I was just glad that it was over. It was hard to watch Iljimae face one tragedy after another. Then he has Wol Hee who lives her
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • 25 days ago 24 of 24 episodes seen
    wonhwa
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
    Other reviews by this user
    • Overall  9
    • Story  9
    • Acting/Cast  9
    • Music  8
    • Rewatch Value  7
    Discussing tone in the context of a review is tricky. A show’s atmosphere is something so ephemeral it’s hard to even define, much less evaluate. That being said, The Return of Iljimae is most remarkable for its evocation of mood. A fantasia in a minor key, it weaves a bittersweet, melancholy spell, accented not so much by its characters’ tragedies as by their loneliness.

    Intentionally structured like a storybook (complete with an initially over-intrusive narrator), the show jettisons many of k-drama’s structural clichés as it follows the growth of its protagonist from innocent young man to wiser hero. Jung Il Woo gives a lovely (in more ways than one) restrained performance full of moments of quiet sweetness and pathos. Jung Hye Young, as his mother, is
    read more
    report I found this review Helpful Not Helpful
  • 1

Error

The Return of Iljimae

The Return of Iljimae

Title

  • Main Title: The Return of Iljimae
  • Native title: 돌아온 일지매
  • Also Known as: Iljimae Returns ; Moon River ; Dolanon Iljimae

General Details

  • CountrySouth Korea
    TypeDrama
    NetworkMBC
  • Aired: January 21, 2009 to April 9, 2009
  • Airs On: Wednesday, Thursday
  • # of Episodes 24
    Average Duration 1 hr. 5 min. per episode
  • Genres: Historical, Romance

Statistics

  • Score: 7.21 (scored by 618 users)
  • Ranked: #794
  • Popularity: #408
  • Members: 1,945
  • Favorites: 0
3.6 stars - based on 618 votes

Recently watched by