Sort by:
Man on High Heels
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 hours ago
6 hours ago
  • Overall 2.5
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
i'm a bit shocked to see the high ratings on here. i will say i was very interested in this when i realized the main character was actually transgender. thing is, you can't really portray something so serious such as gender identity when the whole story basis itself in a "cop vs. gangster" setting along with a past love interest dealing with a boy and the current love interest being the deceased read more boy's sister.

i'm actually very disappointed in this film. there were so many sub-plots, i think my brain swirled itself around for the duration of the movie. it's not like cha seung-won is a bad actor. he takes on the role of a cold-blooded detective like it's something he was born to do. the problem is, i didn't know what to pay attention to. is it the actual enemy that's plotting to destroy him inside out or is it ji wook's inner battle with his demons?

and the ending! ugh, there was no silver lining in this movie! i'd like to see growth and development. instead, i got a character who ran around in circles and came back to the starting point: miserable in his own skin. just not worth my time with that bad portrayal of a trans-character. i think the only reason why i even gave it a rating itself was because it redeemed itself with the action scenes. romance/plot? pure waste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ladda Land
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 hours ago
14 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
As far as suspense horror goes it is amazing.

The story reaches a human side from the beginning. The characters are very believable and acted superbly. Although categorised as "horror" it features quite a bit of drama and family dynamics / conflict over the base of horror. Viewed from the site of each character there is quite a bit of development of each personality throughout the movie.

There is a build-up from read more happy, new to the darker, murky side of this horror. The development is very palatable. The situations leading to the climax is quite believable and frightening. By believable I mean the stories you always see on TV and read in the newspaper about situations that can be happening right next door to your house. This is where the story shines: this development of the main story, descending from family drama and suspense to outright horror.

One of the better stories in this genre I've seen in a while. Not really the concentrated bump-in-the-night, outright horror, but extremely worth the watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Werewolf Boy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 hours ago
18 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This is my first review, i really had to write about this movie.
I never thought a movie would make me feel like that..i'm thinking about the movie so much since i've watched it...it's so heart touching, actually no words can describe it.
It's a movie that will create all kind of feelings. It's such a beautiful but yet tragic story about pure and unfulfilled love.
The acting of Song Joong Ki read more was really remarkable in a such a difficult role. Even though he spoke only a little( and that little made you cry ) he made you feel touched by his expressions and moves. I loved his character and what he did, he makes you fall in love with this character. Also Park Bo Young was very good at her role. I loved their chemistry.
The song of this movie is one of the songs you will never forget, so beautiful and sad.
I thought about some parts of the movie a lot of times in order to justify some things about what happened. This is the first time a movie did that to me. Eveytime i'm thinking about some parts of the movie, i feel so moved.
I would definitely rewatch it even though i will cry again and feel very moved.
One of the saddest movies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dream Home
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
20 hours ago
20 hours ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Wow, I had heard good things about this movie and went into it with high expectations and I wasn't let down. This is a great horror movie but better than that it a great film period. The main part of the movie takes place during a 2 hour time period and is filled with flash backs through out, which brings depth to the main character. The movie s very gory and becomes read more more so as it goes on. There is plenty of black humor and drama as well to help balance things out and even most of the minor characters are given a bit of depth and development. The film is based on a true mass murder incident even if the story itself is fiction. I've seen some other movie with Jose in them but she never really made an impression on me until now. Josie Ho was amazing in this and I will be checking out more of her films.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ghost Mother
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
While the story is somewhat generic the overall storytelling is very exciting.

The acting was superb. From the baddies to the police, it really hit a mark. The turmoil faced by the characters felt real, with just the right amount of flash-backs to set up the main story line.

All in all not a bad movie to watch on a rainy night. It has its scary gruesome moments, but is in no read more way a heart stopping tale.

Well worth the watch if you like ghost stories and due justice.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Man From Nowhere
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
OMG What a fantastic movie it is!! The best action movie from korea. Won bin is a terrific actor.
This movie has got violence, blood shed and cruelty but yeah!! if you can handle it jus go for it. I'm a girl and i absolutely got impressed from the start till the finish. Everything was so perfect in this movie. The fight scenes are something which you have never seen anywhere.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
Visually I liked the attraction and chemistry between the leads in the beginning the love-hate was cute to watch, however male lead's performance could have been stronger. I did not like the repetitive loop of female lead's confusion of her feelings that got annoying fast. I feel like she caused the guys who liked her to suffer unnecessarily. I wouldn't watch this again
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Canola
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This film was quite good in my opinion, but I found it shouldn't be watched when sad. It is not an uplifting film in any way.
Personally, I think the beginning was very well done. The child actors did a good job within the film, especially given it was such a big part. When it got to when she was older it got a bit confusing I thought, but after a little read more thinking you can understand. The story line was good, but I think it had a bit too many concepts thrown in. I wish it was a simple "girl returns to grandmother and has to adapt to life" sort of thing, but I understand that for a lot of people, that wouldn't sell. I also don't like how there are hints at romance within it, but then that is abandonned - you should either leave it or put it in. However if that sort of thing doesn't bother you then this film is pretty good.
As I said, the cast is quite good. The young children within the film do a good job, as do the grandmother and Hye-ji. The acting can't be flawed too much, but I don't think it was a perfect performance by anybody.
Overall, I would rewatch it possibly. I think it is a nice film and it does give you something to think about, which I enjoy. It was a good film.

Sadly, I can't tell you where to get English subtitles online. I'm sure they will come out soon. I watched it on a Cathay Pacific flight, so that's the only way I can tell you to get it (nice holiday in HK)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This film was frustating. It got me through a 24 hour flight but it was so frustrating! For starters, it felt like it never got started and the ending was atrocious. Personally, I believe it would have been better as a drama, rather then a film.
The story could have been really well done if on a larger time scale (therefore why I suggest it should be a drama). It is very read more sweet but I think should have been more in depth. The story line is something that cannot and should not be rushed, but was. For that reason the characters weren't very strong, which then meant that you didn't have a strong connection to them.
For that reason, the actors, I don't think, could have done much better then they did. I think the main selling point for this film was the fact that they are attractive. That probably adds a lot more to the film then you would get otherwise. The music wasn't too memorable.
Just to note, make sure it is a good subtitled version because I found the version I watched (which to be fair was on a Cathay Pacific flight, so I would have expected more from paid translators) didn't have very good wording with it, and didn't translate what was written down, which seemed to be quite essential (I can't tell though).
Also make note that the ending is the most frustrating thing you will ever see and brings more questions then answers. However if you google it, you find out what the final plot was meant to be and you feel a bit more satisfied. Also look {https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E-qugSxZLA} as it has the deleted scene at the end. The director was an idiot for cutting out the ending because it kind of ruins the film - or at least it ruined a good 7 hours of my flight as I got frustrated for not seeing the ending.
Overall, I would get too frustrated to watch this again. At points I enjoyed the film, but I think it just wasn't well done. I enjoyed the theoretical story line, but wish that it was done better (preferably as a drama).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I was hesitant to watch this movie as it sounded pretty generic to me, but gosh I was wrong!
This charming movie was really entertaining; it combined comedy, slice of life and drama genres effortlessly and was a very sweet movie.

The 5 main characters all have very different personalities, stories and struggles, and each one is developed really well, I enjoyed watching the antics of each character. The acting from all read more 5 members was pretty good, being early days in their acting careers.

The music perfectly reflects the rock/rebelling feel of the movie. The contrast of these rock themes with the schoolyard songs is again reflective of youth against maturity.

I definitely feel this is a movie that can be re-watched over and over due to its easy pace and interesting storylines.

It very well embodies the average life struggles, highs and lows of teenage boys as they move inevitably towards adulthood.
For an Arashi fan this is a must-watch, but even non-fans are sure to get something out of this movie!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suckseed
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I kept putting off watching this expecting it to be a pre-school-love--boy-gets-girl-in-high-school kinda movie, but boy was I wrong!

Many different turns, the movie quite succeeds (yes!) at its portrayal of life, friendship and changes.

It was very entertaining, especially in the cutscenes which entered the mind of the person narrating.

Very entertaining was the appearances of the actual performers when a character was listening to a song.

The funny moments did read more not diminish the story or withdraw anything from the main theme.

All in all well worth the watch! You will definitely enjoy if you want a light hearted, comical view of friendship, love and changes in life.

PS:keep in mind how tech changes throughout the movie. Cassette -> CD -> MP3. It was spot on!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
?ight some of us might complain that it's different than the drama & the novel. I can't speak read or write Chinese, so I can only compare it with the drama version. Also it's an adaptation and there is no rule that says, movie needs to follow the book or the drama step by step.it's a movie so don't expect to see everything you saw in the drama. Movies based on the read more dramas will always be in fast forward motion, it will feel like something is missing. We have completely different main leads. I much liked Xing Boran & Angela Baby. In the drama (in the game she was not married with Cao Guan ) she was married with Feng Teng played by Huang Bo Jun.

In the drama Wei Wei was so passive in outgoing, she hardly let him to kiss her. There was basically no chemo between ZHENG chuang & Yang Yang.

The Bromance not as strong as it was in the drama.
So a little bromance is OK, we are not watching River Chen Bromance.

On drama v Wei Wei pissed me off by being overly innocent not even letting him to kiss and when he tries to kiss behaving like he is raping her.

obviously not everyone was happy with the drama and same thing is valid for the movie.

In the drama I disliked the main lady Wei Wei and couldn't ship her ZHENG. Here we have a lot more chemo and they're matching. Also Xing Boran is not or doesn't look as cold- reserved as ZHENG.

In the drama Cao Guan was platonically in love with Wei Wei but than fell in love with Er Xi.
Before I forget Er Xi in the movie portrayed by another actress.

In the drama Wei Wei gets married with Xiao Nai through the end, in the movie they were not married yet when the movies finished.

Other than these it follows the same plot with few differences.

If you do not know the drama it would feel like everything is hanging in the air, so first watch the drama and watch the movie later on.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Treacherous
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Though explicit and by no means for the faint of heart, ‘The Treacherous’ is beautifully filmed and well-acted.

The fact that it is all based on gritty, hard fact adds a hefty weight to the already unsettling story. There’s a lot here that reflects upon corruption, in all its forms, ‘gifting’ the viewer with an insight into a darker time in history and the effects of a corrupted government. Despite the general read more breadth of its theme - that this insanity and moral degradation affects a whole kingdom - it still feels personal and real. No character is without its flaws, nor its scars, and at times I even found myself pitying the mad prince. There’s a lot of emotional intensity to see here, like everyone's just trying to survive.

It’s a well-paced film, as I never found myself bored. Though the acting wasn’t lacking however - especially not with Kim Kang Woo and Joo Ji Hoon! - I do think I could’ve been more emotionally-invested? Where the fault lies with that, I’m not certain, but that’s the main reason why I mark this film down: I didn’t FEEL enough as I believe I could’ve. That, and at times… clarity, I believe, wasn’t always there. Not regarding the major things, but more in the details of the characters and their histories. (A few things felt a bit skimped over and probably could’ve done with a tad more coverage, though overall the impact on the rest of the film isn’t a big deal at all.)

That aside, the costumes are brilliant. As are the sets. The music is above being ‘just good’ and I genuinely enjoyed these past two hours, with all my gasping and marvelling. It’s a dark yet interesting film that kept me watching to the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Werewolf Boy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Im not really a fan of korean movies, however this one was beautifullllllll. I love the whole concept of this movie and it is definitely a must watch!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Celebrated Gisaeng
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This is a very lighthearted quick watch of my favorite genre of Korean movies: erotic saeguk. There is a numerous amount of explicit scenes, but they're are pretty well done themselves in terms of the chemistry between the two main characters. But let me get on with the review.

The story is as the blurb above says, and it isn't anything groundbreaking or particularly interesting. I wasn't expecting there to be a read more comedic tone, so that threw me off a bit (especially since I just watched The Concubine right before so I was hoping for something with a similar tone), but nonetheless this wasn't a complete waste of time. While parts of the storyline was predictable, the ending wasn't what I forsaw and the foreshadowing was definitely misleading (purposefully probably). The somewhat plot twist ending is why I bumped the score from a 4.5 to a 5 for the overall rating.

To wrap this up, if you're looking for a lighthearted erotic saeguk, this is definitely for you. If you're looking for a movie with a strong storyline, I wouldn't choose this one today.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions