Sort by:
Fatal Intuition
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 hours ago
3 hours ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This is my first korean movie...I typically only watch kdramas but decided to make an exception because this looked really good.

Plot: The plot was pretty good. It was about jangwoo trying to catch his sister's killer. It was suspenseful at times...but honestly I've seen way more suspenseful movies and kdramas. But it did make me catch my breath and the ending really made me hold my breath in suspense.

Characters: I read more liked jangwoo, he was definitely the protective older brother...there just wasn't much more to his character than that. I guess I'm used to kdramas where they flesh out the character more. Being how this was a movie, and action movie at that, they didn't really have time to go deeper into his character. But they went deep enough and I really like how he was always protecting his younger sister and trying to give her the best life that he can. You can really see how much it weighs on him, the responsibility of being older brother but parent also. I liked shi eun...but there were times where I wanted to yell "tell him!!" or "tell her!!" But I also understand that most people laugh at her talent and shun her, and it would be difficult to get anyone to listen. The killer did good job of creepy and crazy. You could definitely tell he was not right in the head.

Acting: All the actors did superb. Joo won's crying scenes broke my heart, I nearly cried too (I never cry so this is a good thing). Shi eun definitely did a good job with the mysterious and sorta creepy at times tbh, lady. And the killer did a good job of being really creepy and having this crazy look about him.

Music: Was there any music..? Like there were a couple songs...but for the most part there were none. Which I found glaringly obvious. Anyway, nothing memorable for sure.

Clean: there was one sex scene...it was about 2 seconds and the lady took her skirt off. Same lady opens her skirt real wide so the guy can see her vagina, we don't see it though. There is a prostitue, but nothing is shown. Killer's stepmom is a slut but again nothing show. one guy has implied nudity. The F word is used at least 5 times, but usually is only used when the character is really angry. There's other language too, mostly the a word and s word. And there's lots of blood and violence.

Overall a good movie, but probably something I wouldn't rewatch. The ending sorta left me with a "what did I just watch?" feeling, which isn't my favorite feeling btw. There's some really good joowon scenes, and the relationship between him and his sister is touching. Would I recommend it? Meh, if you want to watch it great, if you don't I understand. Overall, I'd see it for yourself.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Canola
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 hours ago
10 hours ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 2.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This was an amazing movie. I cried just about 5 times in the course of watching it. It was so painful to watch that I had to skip through the sad moments so that I wouldn't start bawling out my eyes. The cinematography is great and the way this story is carried out is outstanding, mainly due to the awesome acting and music to go with it. However, the story line was read more kind of lame and the lines were very cheesy. Now that I think about it, it wasn't very exciting. If it wasn't for the actors and actresses, this movie would have been terrible. It seems like a stereotypical Korean movie, but I would still recommend watching it because it was just so saddening and well made.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Man With Style
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 hours ago
11 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
"We don't usually talk much. Actually, we can't." - Toshiya


A glimpse into the life of Miyata, a middle-aged father who can't, or doesn't know how, to talk about feelings. Stuck in a rut with the prejudices of his generation ("men don't cry"), he clumsily navigates his very few personal relationships... Insults followed by rough apologies, encouragement disguised as badmouthing, lies told to "protect" his children (but in reality those lies are read more to protect his own self-image). It's a simple story of a man learning to reconnect with his own emotions.

A working-class man living in a society built around the education industry/market, Miyata can't help but blame "the times" for his own situation. Working but never earning quite enough, he feels left behind in this world of "machines" and private universities, both symbols of the generational and emotional gaps between Miyata and his children.

Another major theme is "loss". The scenes involving Miyata's wife (his dream sequences, the tape player, his one-sided conversations with her...) show another side to his personality: affectionate, lonely, and deeply affected by the loss of his love. Sanada, Miyata's only friend, also experiences loss, but deals with it in a very different way. He serves as both a catalyst and a comfort while Miyata attempts to repair his rusty family bonds.

A quiet and contemplative film, showing an experience of life that doesn't so often get fair treatment in media. 10/10 for Mitsuishi Ken's performance. I felt everything, and now I have a different understanding of my own family relations.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
0 people found this review helpful
by Yura
Other reviews by this user
24 hours ago
24 hours ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
These movies always get me, Secretly Greatly, Postman to Heaven, and Penny pinchers. I go in thinking it would be a light hearted movie and end up in tears. This really was an amazing movie and tugged on my heartstrings.

The cast was outstanding, Jo Jung Suk and Do Kyung Soo really had amazing chemistry in the film. They physically, and emotional portrayed their characters ( As well as all the others read more ex. Park Shin Hye ). The story had very quick build up ( understandable because movies only have about 2hours to really get everything in ) and the character development was the same, though not disappointing. The twists and turns in the story will truly pull you in and wont fail to get your eyes watering~

Overall I REALLY liked this film and would recommend it to any k-drama fan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Santa Barbara
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
Who doesn't love a Lee Sang Yoon movie or drama. He has show versatility in the roles he's chosen. Period pieces, lost loves, liar or on the way to the airport, he is good at it all!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Evergreen Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This was a very fluffy story, typical japanese style.
You learn about the small edible plants that grow on river banks, and how to make them into delicious food.
Overall this film was really cute, something to keep for a lazy rainy day. It will exceed your expectations but it wasn't something super punchy.
It has that soft Japanese vibe, if you could compare this to Kdrama, I would call this herbal read more tea and Kdrama triple shot coffee.
No matter your jam- this film pauses time with a simpler approach to life.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cats Don't Come When You Call
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This film was worth watching. It was a dark and rainy day when I thought i would give this a shot.
This was the sweetest story I had seen about cats. Also.. tissues.

Story:
Really amazing the way story unfolds and has a way of completing itself. I found myself wondering a few things but just the ending was really well done. Some things annoyed me in the sense that they are read more sad and I don't want it to be sad, but every great story needs a tragic catalyst to set things in motion. See what I did there haha.

Characters: All the characters are very memorable, dealing with their own things and occasionally bumping into each other. The true main characters are the cats and how they affect the lives of their owner.


Overall: This story reels your heart in, stabs it and then sews it back together with spun sugar. A sweet film about cats, and comic artists in Japan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
If Cats Disappeared From The World is a movie about meaning of life and death, through the Sato Takeru´s character, who meets the devil and has the oportunity to change his sad destiny.

So based on that premise the movie is suposed to have a powerful story, and there is when the movie fails, the story have wonderful moments, but are only a few moments, so overall it feels too long and read more too slow and not really memorable.

The visual effects, the photography and the cast are really good, the characters are enjoyable i liked Sato Takeru, i think he is a great actor.

So if you really wanna cry with some story based on the same theme, life and death, i would recomend you to watch Boku No Ita Jikan (is a drama not a movie), but if actually you cry for everything, then maybe this movie is for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moon Child
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
So I decided to re- watch this movie 9 years later, first time I only watched this due to my obsession with Gackt- Sam and didn't really get the plot or cared much. Now as I am a bit older (much older) I realized the plot was had deeper meaning than two good looking guys being BFF ..Lol

If you watch pass the gang and violence, the plot has deeper meaning to read more it. Its about friendship, loyalty, love and the desired to survive in a cruel and cold world.

Sho and Kei friendship from start was doomed to end up in either one of them dying or something horrible happened to them. But as the story line develops their friendship becomes more of older brother trying to look out for his fearless and sometime baka little brother who sometimes can be so careless but yet very loving and carrying towards his family and friends around him.


The story doesn't really go into dept why the female lead wasn't talking much , so you need to read the plot on wiki after watching it to understand her character. The fact that Gackt-Sama wrote some of the plot made it even more interesting.Watch behind the scene (on YT but so subs) and you will love this film more.

I will definitely re-watch this movie again in few years time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Some, 2014
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This movie, was really short, so It is quite easy to re watch as many times as needed.

But the problem with it, is that it is shrouded in mystery. nothing is properly explained, and i was left guessing when it was over.

The actors were good looking though, well one of them more than the other, but there was charisma. And of course, the fan service was not bad either. So read more I would recommend it. It IS only 8 minutes long.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Witness
0 people found this review helpful
by Anna
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I know I'm so late to just notice this movie and watching it in February 2017. But I got to say: I LOVE IT!!! It was totally AWESOME! By that I also mean i love the other movie"Blind". The tension, the suspense, the mystery of "The Witness" kept me hooked up and I didn't let my eyes go off the screen. Once again, I LOVE EVERY SCENE and EVERY SUBPLOT of the read more movie!!! Also LOVE THE MUSIC in it! I'll recommend this movie to anyone who loved mystery or detective story, but if you're looking for romance, there won't be in it---just saying=). After all, I love those two main leads-- Yang Mi and Luhan. Anyway, I been watching movies/dramas made with them and been listening to every music made by Luhan. Now I can't wait for that drama with Luhan on the novel "Fighter of the Destiny" and I am currently watching "Three Lives Three Worlds Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms" with Yang Mi in it and i think you should try it too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pandora
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
A disaster-themed movie has quite often produced in Korean Industry these days. But what makes this movie really interesting was, it's purpose to criticize the Korean Government (President Park Scandal, Sewol Tragedy) as well as the concern of many regarding a nuclear power plant in southern areas which is peril of earthquake.

The movies showed a lil bit of government's incapacity to react on national crisis due to politics and nation's image read more issues. And this fatal mistakes led to a bigger crisis and loss from their citizen. The pace was fast. We got straight to the main crisis on the first few minutes, but the writer still capable to maintain the depth of each character. There wasn't any flashback scene (almost), unlike the usual Korean Movie's with fast pace plot, but we still able to understand each character's idealism and initial heart.

Pandora showed a good, undisturbing, graphics. There wasn't any action and all the focus was to solve one big crisis in any way feasible. Surprisingly, with this thick and intense plot, Pandora wasn't boring at all. In fact, we were brought to a roller coaster of emotion, right from the very start. A mass production, with the purpose to remind that a big advantage has the same amount of risk within it. Entertaining, as well as educating (who knows that South Korea has 24 nuclear power plant in 9 southern cities?)

That's it the Pandora.
"Don't close your eyes because of fear. Don't cover your ears because of fears. We have opened the Pandora's Box. Although disaster were inside. Wasn't there also hope?"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Man on High Heels
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Watch this for Cha Seung Won's acting. He is 100% absolutely amazing in this role. I was completely invested in his character from the beginning all the way up to the very end. I think that is why the ending disappointed me so much. Cha Seung Won's acting makes you really connect with Jiwook. To not have a clearer resolution to his struggle within himself just...left me wanting more. Left me wanting read more a happy endng because he deserved it. This movie deserved it. I would have given it 10/10. That being said, I still highly recommend watching it. The disappointing end is still worth it to see Cha Seung Won's portrayal of Jiwook.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seven Days: Monday - Thursday
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
these kind of movies R normally a lil' slow, well sweet but slow. so just tuRned it on afteR a long tiRed day foR a good nap & guess wht. it happened to be a slow one..(thought i'll be black out haRdly in 15 mints.) ''DEMO'' i ended up finishing not only this one but also it's sequel, back to back in a Row & my haRdly 15 mints. eventually tuRned out read more to be 3 AM in the moRning ...
i think i'm kinda keen on to this genRe & it's one of my favoRites .. loved the leads .. diRections n specially those lil' mind talks
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Entangled
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Unfortunately, the summary above is somewhat of a spoiler. Since I had not read it, the events were quite a shock to me. This movie would best be described as a horror show. It is the unraveling of a family. The family dynamics are revealed one at a time until the final climax. It was quite unsettling and a unique watch. The acting is quite good and hauntingly realistic. Do not, however, read more expect a "feel good" movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No