Sort by:
Don’t Go Breaking My Heart 2
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
20 hours ago
20 hours ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was really pleasantly surprised by this movie. I just couldn't imagine how the plot would progress from the first movie in the series. In movie one, financial analyst Cheng Zixin (Yuanyuan Gao), falls into a love triangle with down-on-his-luck architect Fang (Daniel Wu) and CEO Cheung Shen (Louis Koo) a playboy who also works in an office building directly adjacent to Cheng Zixin. In movie two, the soon-to-be married Cheng Zixin read more watches Cheung Shen try out all his old playboy tricks on her boss, played by Yeung Miriam.

It is very entertaining to watch Louis Koo play this aging playboy who finds a new partner who is almost as cool toward marriage as he is.

Eventually, though, this does turn back into another well played love triangle set in the financial district of Hong Kong. The director did a great job of making this fast paced and crowded city seem like a small community where everyone knows everyone else's business - personal and private. Cheung Shen's staffers and Cheng Zixin's family are also portrayed beautifully - I love a movie where character actors have as big a role as the beautiful stars.

Music wise, the soundtrack is a light classical to modern playlist. Nothing to complain about but nothing special, either. There is a listless side plot about favorite songs - if you are familiar with Hong Kong singers, this might make you laugh.

Light, entertaining, modern, fast paced and beautifully shot - I recommend this for a fun viewing. Rewatch value would be pretty high as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
He Was Cool
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
STORYLINE: 8.5/10… CHARACTERS: 7/10
I really enjoyed this movie. It was refreshingly funny and believable from the usual clichéd forceful relationship based plots I have seen before.

He was cool provides both a cute and relatable storyline especially from the male side of the storyline. His rude, abrupt and mysteries personality is gradually explained which in turn shown why his morals in life were like so. Because his life story is explained read more in slowed paste, I could sympathy with the characters being portrayed’s emotions/ feelings; especially as more and more of Ji Eun’s past is revealed.

The romance aspect of the movie provided the platform needed for Ye-Won’s character.

ACTING: 6.5/10
Unfortunately I felt Jeong Da Bin’s acting was lacking for most of the movie; however, Song Seung Hun’s abilities were somewhat good enough to give life to the movie (he totally out acts Jeong Da Bin).


LIKED: When she kissed him in front of them all. The tension afterwards made the scene even more exciting as well as her sexy outfit look was just so hilariously bad and her getting stuck just sent me in hysteria. Additionally, the accidental three way phone call involving Ye-Won’s mum when Ji Eun rings her home number hahahaha

CONCLUSION:
You should watch this movie if you enjoy genres such as ROMANCE – FIRST LOVE – ILLNESS – MELODRAMA - SCHOOL – FIGHTING – REBELLION – HOSPITALISAION – FLASHBACKS – DEATH – GIRLINESS – SECRETS – FAMILY - TRAGEDY – COMEDY – FIRST KISS – CRYING.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 3.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I have no rating because I'm not really a fan of its manga & anime (have not & will not watch) versions. But good for those into the manga & anime versions.

My reviews are based on the live action movie...... and sorry if its kinda on the negative side.
Watched it for about 45 mins. then I stopped. Becaused I can't take it anymore, the image on how the humans are read more picked up like harvested fruits eaten like bread or something.

talk about no cooking, eating raw like sushi.

Not suitable for the faint of heart.

Kinda disturbing.... gives me the creeps, sort of nightmarish gore.
Lots of blood, spilled gutz all around.

If adult man and woman scream thier jungs out and torn apart limb by limb, imagine children & babies.... the screams & cries are just too much to bear.

And imagine the baby titan eating live humans man woman child baby provided by parent titan, its like a bird feeding her young worms.......

What's even worst, my favorite actresses and actors are eaten alive. I know its the SFX, but seeing them get eaten like chicken is just too much to bear.

Poor Rina Takeda, Ishihara Satomi, Misaki Ayame, Taki Pierre.

For instance, I can take they died from blast of grenades, being buried alive by debris, stepped on or threw like balls/rag dolls by the Titans. But eaten by them while still alive is just too much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Battle Royale II: Requiem
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
STORYLINE:
I give this movie a four star merely for its effort of a potentially good plot concept of bravery and freedom but the plot this time round seemed off key compared to the first one. I literally spent most of the film feeling like i had missed an explanation; especially when I caught myself realising that it was unnecessary explanation. This happened so often it took me like twice as long read more to complete the movie.

CHARACTERS:
I just did not find myself getting attached to any characters even those that felt like they were placed there as mains.

ACTING:
Most of the actors overacted so much it felt like the film was filled with first tie actors. I would advise that you use imagination to in vision the supposed emotions meant to be portrayed.


LIKED – the closest thing to make me like this movie was the authenticity of the first student’s head being blown off; probably the best acting of the whole movie.
DISLIKED – They teacher’s (Riki Takeuchi) speech at the beginning set up the bad acting to come, but at least some of the students had slightly better acting abilities than their older counterparts.

CONCLUSION:
You should watch this drama if you enjoy genres such as war – high school - child actors – bad acting – crying – friends – freedom - students – suicide – tragedy – gore – hope – institution – sequels.
I am just gratefully to get it out of the way and off my “to watch list”.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
China Town
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie for me is almost flawless, the story is showing us how's the life of a girl when everything goes wrong.
With this movie you won't waste your time it lets you with a weird mood, maybe you're confused, sad and overall a bittersweet ending, nothing is perfect just life as life it is.
If you're expecting romance or a comedy you're in the wrong place so go and search other, read more this isn't a light movie it's kind of heavy in some aspects but I don't regret watching it, very good movie.

The acting of the movie is perfect I mean everyone was so good and I wanted to watch this for Park Bo Gum but when I saw Kim Hye Soo I was blown away she has been always one of the best korean actress in her range but wow just wow for me this was almost her best role, Kim Go Eun keeps being the actress which I keep looking for. The rest was great as usual but the funny part is that I think someone watched Park Bo Gum and Go Gyeon Pyo and thought "omg let's put them in reply 1988".

The music well it fits the movie nothing outstanding.

Rewatch value it's a movie you can rewatch and I will with my dad when someone subs this to spanish or I'll do it myself, well this isn't the kind of movie to watch if you're bored.

If you liked Hwayi you will love this movie, kind of similar just that this movie is with female leads and hwayi is more about a boy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Wish I Had a Wife
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Ok, I'll write review since I don't see anyone who reviewed this and it was such an good slice of life romantic movie.
1st don't pay attention to that LOW rating, I don't know who gave that but I bet people who didn't find their 'soup' in this movie. O.o but nvm.
This movie was GREAT for those who like slowpaced and pure romantic slice of life things!
It was natural like read more you are there at the moment and taking part in this story in this usual life of the characters.
Slice of life paced, without drama and some exclusive story and character's interraction with too much to handle.. It was just PURE, SIMPLE, SLOW, BEAUTIFUL :)
Like all old movies and dramas and that nice old time :) I like how actors were natural and situations and their interaction.. and MUSIC ohhh my holly old JAZZY tune :3
so I give 10 this movie.
For all those who want to feel old times, and simply enjoy some slice of life romance between hardowrker in bank and crazy good teacher who isn't like thypical nowdays women, without extra stormy emotions and events ~
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pee Mak
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Since I saw the trailer MONTHS ago, this has been on my Plan-to-Watch list for a long time. I'm so glad I finally found some time to watch it!

Story: The idea of a soldier coming home from war and not realizing that his wife has died sounds like it would make for a real tearjerker. BUT this movie somehow hits all the right marks to make it comedy gold!

Acting/Cast: The read more cast makes this movie great! If it weren't for Pee Mak being so incredibly naive and trusting, most of the jokes would have been dead in the water. And, even though the friends catch on quickly, the characters and their methods of proving Nak is a ghost are just as foolish. There is a charades scene and their behavior afterwards had me crying from laughing so hard! Don't let all the comedy fool you though. The underlying heart at the end of the movie will have you crying from all of the heart-felt feels. (make sure you watch after the credits to, because everyone's life afterwards is just as funny as the rest of the movie).

Music: When even the characters comment on the ominous music that sounds when a 'ghost' appears, I could care less if the music was good or bad. It added to the comedy, so I'm happy!

Rewatch Value: Although it doesn't really say, a major part of the fun for this movie is trying to figure who is really dead/a ghost. Once you know that some of the joy is lost. But if you found it as fun and enjoyable as I did I can totally see making this a weekend re-watch with a big group!

Overall I really enjoyed this. The only reason I gave it a 9 instead of higher is because I'm not usually one for the over-the-top comedy genre. I like subtle comedy that is woven into stories and make serious characters into fools for a little while...and this was not that at all. So the fact that I liked it as much as I did is a huge deal all by itself. So if you're in a fantasy, romantic, funny kind of mood give Pee Mak a try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Concrete
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Based on the true story of the murder of Junko Furuta, this horrific movie gives a fairly factual account of the incidents surrounding the 41-day kidnapping, repeated rape, torture, and ultimate murder of a 16-year old high school student at the hands of several young boys of roughly the same age.
The film focuses on the leader of the gang of juvenile delinquent boys, as he progress from dropping out of high read more school, to becoming a budding yakuza, to petty crime, and to serial rape, before finally setting his sights on victimizing a single young girl.
The girl was victimized in the house of one of the boy's parents, and that they turned a blind eye to the atrocity going on under their own roof adds to the outrage of the crime. The movie takes pains to show how the incident was facilitated by the boy's broken home and the parasitic structure of the Japanese mafia that lent the young punks its name to be used to terrorize people. At the same time, it makes no excuses for their actions. Overall, the movie has a very stark and real quality to it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
0 of 9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
Resumindo Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan) Parte 1:

• Não espere ver o anime ou mangá (Oh! Novidade)...
• Eren ora é fanfarrão ora é pegador...
• Armin ainda com cara de sarcasmo, mas melhor que o eren...
• Mikasa ganhou a atenção que merecia...
• Tem umas frases legais...
• O povo treinou pra ficar correndo 80% do filme...
• Os titãs são trabalhadores honestos, por isso acordam cedo...
read more As cenas mais trabalhadas do filme se resumem em carnificina...
• Eu ri em pelo menos 50% do filme...
• A trilha sonora é bem escrota, mas a música tema salva a bodega toda <3
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
I watched this being familiar with the manga and anime but hardly a die hard fan so the story changes didn't bother me. The basic story-line stayed the same in the movie- humans trapped inside walls, titans attack, humans try and fight back- but deviated and shrank the story down to basically action scenes. Other than a brief intro period the movie consists of fighting, dying and gore. That to me is read more the movie's weakness. The emphasis on action combined with a shorter running time really hurt character development. Without building the connection between Eren, Armin, and Mikasa, there was little to root for and left me feeling disconnected from them because the plot didn't build the personal relationship well.
No complaints about the acting really. All the actors did well at portraying fear and desperation throughout the movie. My shallow side also appreciated how good both Miura Haruma and the Levi stand in Hasegawa Hiroki looked in the film.
The background music drove me crazy! It was to loud in quiet scenes and never seemed to fit with the action on screen. Very distracting overall and detracted from my enjoyment of the movie. This might be partially because of the source but still very annoying.
I might rewatch in the future but only because the source I used was very grainy so I wouldn't mind a better quality source. If you are looking for a faithful adaptation of Attack on Titan don't bother. If you want to see a fast paced kind of gory action movie this might be for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
If you win, you live. If you lose, you die. If you don’t fight, you can’t win! - Eren Yaeger

Note: This is from a manga/anime fan's perspective, but I'm going to try to present an overall view ( comparisons alert )

[STORY]
Obviously 1 hour and 38 minutes is not enough time to develop the story the way the anime & the manga did but they surely did a great job read more to present the plot as it is. Living inside the walls yet striving for freedom and all the hatred against the titans was achieved beautifully I would say.
Changing partly the plot and the characters' past was kind of a disappointment to me, since a cut short version of the original would be so much more interesting (in my opinion). Therefore I could not 'feel' the development, if the was any, of the characters throughout the movie.

The effects were nice, titans were designed scary but the killing scenes were not so creepy so I had no space to feel that adrenaline everytime a titan attacked. I did not expect something different though, because an anime to become a live action film, especially this one, is a bit hard.

I was suprised that it ended like this. Questions unanswered especially to the ones who do not know how Eren became a titan ( though it'd be a lot easier if they presented it at the start like the anime ). A lot of gaps as well, which I excuse because of the limited time.

[ACTING/CAST]
Okay, the acting was really good. I loved how they showed fear, you could even see it in their eyes & I must say that even if the story was kind of lacking the acting was like trying to fill in the emptiness. I liked the cast as well. Especially at the start where people were terrified, man the chaos caused me them chills, it was really good.

[MUSIC]
I admit sometimes the music ticked me off and it's the first time happening?. Sometimes it just didn't give the feel to it but the sound effects were great.
I loved the titan's cryings and shoutings and the gas sound and all that, that one was really good.

[REWATCH VALUE]
I wouldn't sit alone to watch it once again but I would watch it with a group of friends if the chance was given. Other than that it was a good movie. High expecations? Yes a lot, since the original owned a special place.

I do recommend it for the fun of it, so if you want to give it a try do give it one. It's a good one if you're for the adventure kind.

Sie sind das Essen und wir sind die Jäger !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Ordinary Love Story
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm still shocked.(in a positive way) This movie is a real roller-coaster. it's a twist after a twist after A GIGANTIC HOLY MOTHER OF TWISTS.
This movie gives you all kind of feelings and gives you a final big slap so you'll rememeber every scene in the movie for the next day.
The acting was so good that you get so misleaded that you won't ever imagine what will happen in the read more next minute.
The ending was so good even if it wasn't what I expected at ell.
If you want some few big surprises watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Considering that this isn't tied up with Warner Bros, I could say it was good.
(Note: I haven't watched the anime.)
The plot is not entirely original but definitely interesting. The titans are scary and creepy but titans-eating-people scenes are not as gore as I'd like it to be. The action/fighting scenes are only minimal so I am not satisfied with what I've seen. I hope the sequel next month would me read more more action-packed. The dramatic scenes are not so dramatic. It could be improved. I want it to make me cry but unfortunately it doesn't happen. Most of the cast portrayed their role well (kudos to Hiroki, Satomi, Haruma and Nanami! ?) but of course some still lack in the acting department (ex. Kiko and Kanata).
Now, almost everyone's talking about the movie's CGI. Com'on people, it's not so bad. Think about how limited the budget is. (Though of course I wish this was tied up with Warner Bros to satisfy everyone's CGI craving.) And the changes of the plot (which I heard from my sister) was requested by its manga-ka so please don't be so narrow-minded about it.
Despite those I've mentioned above (areas to improve/expectations), I enjoyed the movie and I can't wait to see the sequel.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Temptation of Wolves
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Not crazy about this one. It has potential but I think the story was a little too rushed. And it ends in a trope that I've now seen in at least 4 dramas or movies so I'm kinda tired of it. Don't read on if you are completely opposed to vague spoilers that don't go into detail.









Sigh. We get it already. Forbidden love = tragic ending. Can we at least have read more a different kind of tragic ending? This is probably meant to be a tear-jerker but when you can see the ending coming a mile away it's not as effective.

I found the relationship between the two rivals more interesting than the forbidden love angle. It's obvious they used to be friends (you don't fight in tandem with someone like that unless you've done it before and have a rhythm and communication with them, right?), now they're not. Seems like there was more story there that could have been explored.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
4 of 7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
After watching the movie for the second time, I am finally readied for review.

** Note to everyone that I have never watch the anime nor have I read the manga, this is just the first time I came in contact with the story itself.

STORY - 6.0/10
As a fan of dystopian, I would say this movie was executed nicely. Started out with an almost perfect world where human are - read more while not living the best of life - thriving still, within these walls they built around themselves so to prevent the Titans from coming in - how they build such walls high enough in the first place when the Titans are attacking, well, that perhaps is another story I'll have to read the manga to know? Maybe. Well, let's move back onto the story itself before I went off track too far. The story itself was nicely executed, how human panicked, they haven't seen a Titan in a 100 years, a 100 years is a long time which means those who has last fought the Titans has long passed away, leaving behind legends and stories which aren't even to instill in their future generations the fears and horror they had faced. So this really further convinced me of various stupid actions these &quot;rookies&quot; they sent out to fight the Titans as we latter see.


ACTING/ CAST - 8.0/10
Alright, perhaps this surprises everyone as 8.0 belongs to the good rating, and yes, it is good, the actors and actresses did their parts well, they did portrayed the characters they were given perfectly, if you have any complaints about this you are comparing the movie to the manga and anime. One have to treat this movie like they've never seen the story happened before, or they should treat these characters as another set of people who being thrown into this Titan-filled dystopia world to fight. They are not the heroes and heroins you thought you know, and even the added on characters like Fukushi, Lily, Hiana, they have their reasons to be how they are being. I won't further say what it is because of spoilers, but prompt you to think this way instead, if you've found someone you've fell for in this world where you don't even know if you'll live or die the next minute, won't you do anything to attempt get closer to him/ her?

I want to have a special shout out to Satomi who's playing Hans here though, I just LOVE the character so much! &lt;3


MUSIC - 7.0/10
Yes it is a 7, personally I find the music matches the theme of the movie quite well. Forgettable yes, but it gives the whole movie a fantasy-ish feel, somewhat reminding me of Final Fantasy (the game, yes) even. And I really think this movie has that final-fantasy-ish kind of end-of-the-world feels (because it is? *shrugs*)


REWATCHABLE VALUE - 7.0/10
I've rewatched it the second time haven't I? And probably is going to rewatch it third, forth time when the second part comes out. I can't deny it that regardless the movie has just a moderate rating from me, I find it having the special quality that would makes me want to rewatch.


OVERALL a 7.5/10
I like this movie, I really do. And towards those who has a doubt to this now after reading all the good and (mostly) bad comments/ reviews, I would encourage you to go give it a try. If you're a fan, it's best for you to try wipe clear your mind of anything about this story which you've learned in the manga/ anime, and watch it as a brand new story. I would recommended to the Dystopian/ Sci-fi/ Fantasy lovers.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No