Sort by:
Battle Royale
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 hours ago
3 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Aaaah, this made film history.... (And the book is great, too, btw.) And for that reason alone it should be watched, just like Star Wars or Citizen Kane or classics alike.

I am old enough that I had the joy to watch this movie shortly after its release, so I didn't have to compare it to nowaday standards. Back then, it was top nodge and of course, the story and setting were read more something totally new to me as a Westerner.

You gotta be warned, if you didn't know this beforehand, but this is not a happy story. Set in a futuristic alternative Japan, each year a class is selected to be sent on an island where the pupils have to battle each other until only one stays alive. Of course, this is a rather radical setting, and one has just to accept it, because the interesting thing is what happens psychologically later. As the fighting continues, many emotional developments occur, as is epected when humans are pushed to their limits. And as a viewer one keeps asking oneself "What would I have done?" It is not a flamboyant fantasy story like Hunger Games (which I always saw as rip-off of this idea here), it is not Hollywood, it is a stab in your heart and your brain, and either are you a viewer who enjoys this ... or not.

Other than other reviewers, I give this a very high rewatch value (I have seen it about 6 times myself), because each time you get the occasion to focuse more on the psychological aspects rather than the slaughter itself. It's just one of those movies, which can offer deep insight if you give it some time.

To those who liked it a lot, I recommend the book, it gives a deeper inside into the persons' feelings and thoughts and enriches the experience by this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
God of Cookery
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 hours ago
5 hours ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Ahhh, a movie made before I was born, I feel young. Hong Kong movies hold a special little place in my heart, I blame Jackie Chan for introducing me to the quirky world of Hong Kong Film. God of Cookery delivered pretty much what I expected to find. Granted that this is a film which was made much before my time so I have no way of knowing whether this is a read more well made film for the time or not, however compared to other Hong Kong films I've seen from this generation, it's a pretty darn good movie.
The film started off well, we have the arrogant chef who has lost his way in the world of cookery and we also have the traitor who sells out the so-called 'God of Cookery' and takes his place. Fairly routine start to a movie good guys, bad guys, the rebel who befriends the hero , pretty average storyline. It progresses well, until the last... half an hour or so. Now I'm not saying it was a bad ending... it was just weird. Like, this film starts so believable and then they just pull that out of the hat. I won't lie that I didn't per myself laughing, but it was weird. If you watch this film, be aware it follows all the predictable laws of film making, but it does it in its own special little way.
There are quite a few innuendos within this film, but that's something that I know will happen in a Hong Kong Film. I don't think I've seen one of this films without at least two sexual innuendos. It's beautiful. Man I love directors with a sense of humour, it brightens up my day.
If you want to watch this because you're a fan of food... the food porn level is at about 3/5. There is lots of food, obviously it a a film about a chef, but there are few scenes where you sit in awe with drool seeping from the side of your mouth. A majority of the food scenes are to add comedic value. The 'ping-pong ball' meat ball.. things... there is basically no "ERHMAHGAWDSHOVEITINMYMOUTH" moments. It's fairly average looking food. There are the odd nice food making scenes, but very few. In addition the fancy chef skills are obviously CGI and a lot of flailing. Pretty sure the actors had never cooked before... or they were shown an anime video and told to pretend they could do that. But again, this awful cooking acting stuff didn't downgrade the film at all. It just added a segment of vague amusement for the enjoyment of the viewer.
To me, based on previous films I've seen, this is a pretty basic Hong Kong movie. The actors are funny, the director has a sense of humour and the actual filming seems like it's done by a group of well versed students with a decent budget. However that last one is probably more to do with the era it was filmed in. I quite enjoyed watching this movie, and although it's probably not one is recommend to my friends (due to strange ending), I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a bit of a giggle and be entertained for a couple of hours. The film crew obviously had a lot of fun during this movie, and it is expressed deeply though the acting, that is something which really completed God of Cookery for me. By seeing a group of actors enjoy acting out this film, I myself found myself enjoying it. It's worth the watch if you have time, so have fun and enjoy it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Man From Nowhere
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I rarely watch Korean movies, but I was looking for something to watch and I r ember seeing scenes of this movie on YouTube, and it sounded good. Before I get into the review i would like to put out a mature content warning because this film has a lot of blood, and swearing in it that I would like to put that out there before you watch this.

Story: You can read more give me a story about gangsters and I will eat it up. I love a story about the crime business and a man trying to take it Down. the story I give a 9.5.

Acting/Cast: Won Bin is our main lead here. I have not really seen anything from him before but he does not do a lot of TV shows he usually more of a movie actor. the other actors did a great job in their respectful roles, Kim Hae Won especially as the villain of the story. the acting/cast I give a 9.

Music: Their is really is not much to talk about the music. Their is music but mainly when your in an action scene you really do not need music, your sitting their emerce in it that every hit memorizes you don't really need music. The music I would give a 7.

Overall/ Re Watch value: the re watch value I give an 8, It is on Netflix so I watch it again when I am ready to. The overall value is a 9.5 I enjoyed this very much definitely a favorite now.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Twenty
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I watched this movie while i was on the plane and everyone was sleeping and i couldn't laugh haha :') It was a lighthearted very entertaining movie with great cast.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sunny
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I really enjoyed watching this movie. Good story and acting. Made me remember my high school days.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Il Mare
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Great film adoptation of the U.S film the Lake House. I just wanted more of everything though.
I was just left wanting more. Check out both films and compare. I liked both.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Werewolf Boy
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
A movie that dosen't make you wonder 'where is the music,its so plane,i'm bored'. Many times my problem with movies is that even high rated movies do that is that they drag the scenes for too long...in this case its not like that, the scenes are almost drama like- almost....
The story - as realistic as it can get with that kind of plot...great story
Acting/Cast - DOTS made think that Song read more Joong Ki was overrated but this movie changed my mind...kinda,
actress is on point...loved the old lady...
Music- made the feels more intense....only one thing to say...good job...
Rewatch Value - yeah i would rewatch this again
Overall- great movie!I didn't even skip a scene witch often happens to me if a movie drags a scene too long... WATCH IT!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Girl and I
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
If you need to wallow a bit in some feelings, this drama is for you.

I'm gonna be true to myself and admit that I liked this drama. I'm probably just in a sentimental moody mood this morning but I thought the Mains did a great job with the little they had. The plot is your average.. but so what? Weddings and Funerals are everyday occurrences but each is unique to it's read more owners right? That's why someone like me, watching this young couple play this out when I'm in the right mood and place, has come away really liking this drama.

The scenery and locations were breath taking and moody all at once. It's really is a calming visual treat. This is a film about fate, chance, death, life, the future and living beautifully in the moment.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Temptation of Wolves
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
There is absolutely nothing I didn't like about this little drama. I Loved it! I can't label it sweet or cute for though the Actors are very young, I feel the subject matter is mature enough to hold the interest of all ages. I can only label it excellentT then. A short ARTWORK really.
I admit I was completely taken off guard by this drama. Not your typical love triangle but I've read more come upon this premise before. Two ruffian gang boys from High School one new girl from out of town add i a huge twist and you've got a drama worth your time.

There was not a single mild minute in it. It's very bold. It pounds you, it shocks you, it warms you, it has as much depth as a short piece can handle and for me, nostalgia rose till it formed a lump in my throat that wouldn't quit!
The story-line sparkled like mad with these Actors. A Gritty little romance, WILD action and for the 2nd time I felt compelled to watch a drama.. ...Wae-yo?? :)...Because I had become so enamored with the characters the minute I laid eyes on them, the thought of not standing firm with them to the very end didn't even cross my mind. It's just GOOD like that.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Rise of a Tomboy
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Love it Love it so much. I really like all of Zhao liying movies/dramas this is so far my favorite movie of the year.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tunnel 3D
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Since no one wrote a review to this movie yet I decided to be the first one.

The story itself is nothing special. A group of young adults get stuck in an abandoned mine. Something or someone is playing tricks on their minds and suddenly people start dying.

So, while deciding on a horror movie it all depends on what you expect of that one you eventually chose. I knew what I read more was expecting but I still got disappointed. Why? Because it was like getting a tooth pick after expecting a tree - or at least a wood stick. Means, the purpose was delivered but way too short. The film starts, you get into the mood of being scared and suddenly it's already over. That was how I felt.

I did like the way they pulled off those scary scenes with faces suddenly popping up... or people... or other things... Also, my rating for the music part doesn't mean they had great songs or whatever. It just shows that the background music was creepy and well put at the right (shocking) moments. There were also some really ugly (and I mean pretty scary) scenes that made me raise my hand and hold it between my view and the screen (but maybe I got too sensible for that stuff?).

The acting was solid, nothing special but most times convincing.

Ohhhh, but the special effects! Well, CGI really looked like CGI and made the movie look like a mix of animation and real live action. I was very disappointed with that.

So, what can I say... If you're looking for a movie to get your party guests into the mood or just for scary fun watching, you definitely got the right film. But be aware! It's a really short ride...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Back to 20
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Back to 20 is a Remake of the Korean hit film "Miss Granny" also known as "Suspicious Woman" or "Soosanghan Geunyeo" both movie's can be watched on the site called dramanice.at there's also a Japanese version called "Ayashii Kanojo" but I have not seen that one yet to compare it with the other two.

BELOW I'LL TALK ABOUT BOTH THE KOREAN ORIGINAL FILM & THE JAPANESE REMAKE!

Back to 20 is about read more a women by the name of Shen Meng Jun who is a crotchety prideful 70 year old widow who get's transformed into a 20 year old and uses the name Meng Li Jun as her new identity then proceeds to meet several handsome young men. One of them just so happens to be her grandson Xiang Qian Jin who is played by Lu Han. (and by god I honestly had no clue he was in the movie until I saw him appear on screen and had to come back and look at the details).

In Miss Granny which is the Original Film we have a An elderly 74 year old woman by the name of Oh Mal Soon who is Foul-mouthed, stubborn, controlling and shameless, who suddenly regains her youthful appearance, then changes her name to Oh Doo Ri and embarks on a quest for happiness

Now BOTH version are a little bit different YES it's basically got the same plot and setting but the scenes aren't exactly the same and things DO happen differently then they did in the other film plus both endings are totally different (I'm gonna stop here before I spoil anything).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My P.S. Partner
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I really enjoyed the film!
It was a perfect mix of comedy and drama!
I absolutly adored the cast and the music!
A really good mivie and you really have something to laugh about !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sweet Sixteen
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
HOW IT BEGAN AND ENDED:

At the beginning: Beautiful and warm...
Near halfway: Heartbreaking... (on unrequited love)
Halfway: Dark and destructive
Ending: Hopeful (That's a hint that it ended well.)

WHAT I LIKE:

The cinematography and the amazing music went well with all the scenes. I just wish Xia Mu would have more dialogues, but I understand he's a stoic and emotionless character from the start so he wouldn't speak much. Rather, read more he will progress and develop as a character through action. You'll see how much Xia Mu has grown and how he became a stronger person throughout the movie. He had gotten himself in trouble many times for Ya Wang. Even though he was impulsive, he was heroic on most events, and brought together this message and lesson to the movie:

"Love is courage, love is joy, love is sacrifice, love is not a sin. Once missed, it'll be a lifetime."

NOTE: Also please watch the movie first before you decide to dig up the real ending to the original story... You'll thank me later.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was brilliant - I loved every minute and there wasn't really a slow moment; to me it wasn't really a comedy, that lessens the story to say it was. There were comedic moments, but there was so, SO much more to it than that. This is a movie I KNOW I will watch over and over and still enjoy as much as the first time. I honestly can't praise this enough. read more As a bit of a history buff I've spent the last hour looking up the history behind this wonderful film and the names I could find in history from it. It's been an education on so many levels and because of that alone, let alone all the other good points in it, I would give it 10/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No