Sort by:
Strobe Edge
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
by Ren
Other reviews by this user
13 hours ago
13 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Lately, I've been on a spree of watching manga/anime live-action adaptations. Strobe Edge had been on my list for a while, but I finally got around to it because of a friend.

Since I'm still inexperienced when it comes to Japanese movies and dramas, I am not familiar with any faces or actors besides Yamazaki Kento. To my surprise, the cast was lovely. They all managed to capture that "comfortable, yet very read more awkward" vibe that happens when someone likes another person. While there were a few moments that even made me cringe (and I'm such a sucker for cringy, romantic dialogue), the cast really did bring the movie to life.

The plot itself is very subtle and nice. Unlike most of the movies I've seen, the main lead, Ninako, doesn't stand out too much. Her presence isn't strong, but she gives off such a warm feeling that simply makes you love her too. You can't help but root for her as she struggles with her first encounter at love. You can understand everything that she is thinking and end up talking to your screen trying to give her support she obviously needed throughout the movie. Strobe Edge seems the closest to what can actually happen in real life which made me like it even more.

Strobe Edge can be very slow at certain points. Unless that doesn't bother you, then I highly recommend. Also, it didn't make me cry despite some serious/sad moments that appears; I'm a pretty sensitive person so if you aren't in the mood to shed tears, then this movie is for you!

I only gave it a 6 for rewatch value because it is something I would watch if I'm in the mood to watch. Compared to the other movies I've watched recently, Strobe Edge has a warmer and gentler feel rather than overwhelming emotions that come with rom coms.

It still was a lovely movie! It makes me want to read the actual manga!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jinx!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Ren
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I'm a complete sucker when it comes to anything that stars Yamazaki Kento which brought me to Jinx!!! Although my anticipation was high simply because of his presence, Jinx!!! did not let me down whatsoever.

What completely reeled me into this movie was the chemistry between the characters — which is also the movie's strongest point. Kaede and Yusuke both are amateurs when it comes to romance as they boy are more read more geared towards action movies while Ji-Ho is more like the expert. While these characters are polar opposites, they grow with each other. The character development in all three of them is stunning and really captivates the audience into the movie.

I also saw a lot of myself in Kaede and Yusuke (mostly Kaeda) which is also why I enjoyed the movie so much.

While Jinx!!! did have hilarious moments, it did provide tearjerkers as the story progresses and as more of everyone's story gets told. You get a mixture of emotions out of this movie, but it isn't hitting you like a truck. The changes in atmosphere is subtle and you easily immerse yourself into the moment.

Background music isn't something I usually remember, but it definitely added emphasis to those serious moments, the lovey-dovey moments, and the sad moments (you'll understand when you watch it).

Overall, Jinx!!! was a warm-hearted movie which I feel anyone would like — especially if you're a sucker for romance and friendship as I am.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Leaving Me, Loving You
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I don't' like to write reviews because I'm far from being a film critic and to be honest I don't know why this particular film had tempted me to make it. Maybe it's due to, the gorgeous and great looking leading actors (Leon Lai & Faye Wong), the photography, exteriors and expensive production along with the lovely music that was pleasure to my ears...the theme song from the 60's classic movie Breakfast read more at Tiffany's. That's what made this movie pleasing to watch it .....despite the lack of romance, drama or any kind of emotion.
Give it a try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Our Times
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I heard a lot of good things about this movie & saw a lot of YouTube video mvs of this drama. . . I loved it so much. I haven't felt a lot of love to a Taiwanese male lead in a very long time.

Story: 9/10 because despite of some the cliches, it was still very enjoyable & had so much heart to the movie. What started as bickering, misunderstood relationship; read more it became something more & I got to watch that on screen.

Acting: 10/10 because I love Zhen Xin & Tai Yu together. Their friendship & their budding romance was very believable & I enjoyed their journey. Wang Darren as Tai Yu was fantastic! He's funny, sweet & lovable despite his tough exterior because of his past. I also enjoyed Vivian as Zhen Xin as well. She took Zhen Xin and brought her to life from her acting to her appearance! I didn't recognize her at all(Vivian is the main lead in Taste of Love). Ouyang was nice & sweet, but felt very one dimensional. When Ouyang unintentionally hurt Zhen Xin, it hurt me too. The chemistry was there as well.

Music: 7/10: it was adorable, but barely remember it. Too invested in the story too listen to the music.

Rewatch value: 10/10 because the movie was adorable & easy to watch.

Overall, if you like the cast, typical mean guy, nice girl troupe, realistic character development & friendship dramas/movies. . . Then you should watch this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The First Time
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
T^T Very Relatable~

It was VERY short, but that is kinda the reason why you should watch it, you got nothing to lose.
It somehow felt like a high school project movie, but the music and camera angles were pretty well done.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Memories of the Sword
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This isn't really a wuxia movie or action movie. Though the action is done great, this movie is mostly a tragedy-revenge-romance that fits well with the setting chosen to portray the story. As someone who despise sappy romance drama, this one just hit the right notes.

I won't talk about the action and cinematography much, just say it was stunning. If China is best at portraying colours in their wuxia, S. Korea read more is great at using different seasons to depict it. This type of experience is what differentiate watching movies from watching dramas.

Acting: great on all fronts. I was initially no big fan of Lee Byung Hun but he really commands the scenes he's in, from the first time we meet him. First time seeing Jeon Do Yeon and she was great. Seeing Kim Go Eun again is a treat and she never disappoints. You don't feel that she's acting with other big stars she's just immersed into the role. The rest of the cast fit their roles as well.

The story itself is nothing new, with an even starting with betrayal the revenge that follows. The extend to which the character was willing to go for revenge it insane. It's really hard to judge it.

What attracted me most and kept my attention is the complicated characters and the disturbing love story. Deok Ki is corrupted and disgusting in every way, yet his love is so real and pure. As illogical it is, I just totally bought it. Same goes for Sul Rang, that carried true hatred towards him, leading to an insane revenge plan, yet wishing she could forgive him. This is the type of intense crazy romance I totally enjoy watching. There's something so raw and desperate about it. Hong Yi went through many phases in the movie, but I just love her in the last fighting scene, cold yet emotionally intense! Her side love story however was a bore, with typical kdrama cliché that I totally could've done without. Still it didn't remove anything from my enjoyment, it just wasn't too logical. However I find the main leads' love story also illogical but I totally buy it and believe it.

After finishing the movie I read many comments complaining about the movie calling it a Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon copy. While I agree it alludes to it, the movie stands on its own telling its own story. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
After The Banquet
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
To be quite honest I watched this movie for two reasons. Firstly it was supposed to be the "Korean version of Mama Mia”! Secondly Shin Seong Woo is in it. Please and thank you.

Well Shin Seong Woo was a treat to watch. It was actually time I had ever seen him act. It was a treat.

Sadly I thought the script felt off. It takes the wild and energetic feel of read more the original story and tones it down. I think they were going for a sweet, dreamy, and contemplative feel. Which at times made the humor feel off. Especially when talking about the woman's escapades with men as her daughter comes to find out who her father is after her mother's death.

Yeah, different tone. At times I felt myself more bored than engaged in the story. The music wasn't quite what I had expected and visually it was just average. I felt like the writers weren't sure what kind of twist they wanted to put on their remake. For me, it was a miss. Though I feel like others might like the quality of it. It was interesting seeing a Korean remake this time around, so I'll give it that. (I've seen a lot of American remakes on Korean/foreign movies lately.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Teacher and Student
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by sam
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
this is disturbing. idk why i watched it. avoid this please. but if you appreciate all forms of arts then give it a try
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My God!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Before I watched the movie I was kind of excited but after watching it... Well, I watched it for Lay of course and I currently started to really like Chinese movies so I wanted to try this one out.
Sadly the story was a tad bit to random for me and even if I cried the last 30 Minutes I didn't knew what was going on.
I also missed the character development read more between the characters.
But happily Baby Brodie was cute.
I would only recommend this to people who want to see Lay/ZYX acting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tae Guk Gi: The Brotherhood of War
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Chanced upon this movie while searching for Top movies at MyDramaList, and I was not disappointed. This movie is about wartime Korea post WWII, and it was not the kills, the victories, the heroics nor the special effects in the film that captivated me.

What drew me in was how the story unfolded around two brothers, how their actions and thinking changed as the war progressed and how their relationship suffered because read more of the war. The camera, cinematic and sound effects were superb, especially during emotional scenes. I lost count of scenes which made me felt so connected to the characters, kudos to the actors.

The film could have explained more about the events that transpired, as not everyone who watch it knows Korean history.

Definitely a must watch, but expect a little gore and disturbing scenes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fleet of Time
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
It was beautiful. It was good though I may say Our Times and You Are The Apple Of My Eye are better, nonetheless, the movie keeps me wanting more towards the end.
The acting was great, nothing cringy and both actors played their part so well. Just that thinking about it, I cant really see their in love, yes you know they love each other but maybe, I believe its on Eddie read more Peng's side. The movie was shot pretty well, It was one of the reasons why I came to like the movie though I feel like it was quite lengthy but it kept me wanting for more and the ending left me hanging.
Of all the movies I mentioned in my comment, this movie has made some tears fall. I don't know but it felt real, those moments of them in the classroom, their friendship and the things that happened throughout the movie. It made me miss high school days, my friends, old friends, and wanting some reunion with them, them memories. That one thing is the strength of this movie, it captured what it meant to fall in love for the first time :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rise of the Legend
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Interesting story of the early life of Wong Fei Hung. The story is decent if too long. The visuals are CGI heavy but really well done. The martial arts scenes are well done but lack any real visceral impact due to the abundance of wire work and CGI enhancements. But the main reason that this film isn't rated higher is the simple fact that while Eddie Peng does alright with both the read more fights and the drama he doesn't really astonish in either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Paparotti
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
by jin
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
At first, I was turned off by typical Hollywood storyline, and hesitated to watch it. But just the fact that the guy from Signal was the main character (Lee Je hoon), I did. Despite obvious story-line, it was well-done by both the actor and the director. I highly recommend it, you will want to watch it more than once and fall in love with it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oppressive Love
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
First I thought this movie plot like the typical BL and yup, well sort of...but the story line and the ending is not what you might expected. Worth watching this because this movie is a 2 part movie. This is the first part.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sunny
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I laughed and smiled through out the movie. Its the perfect movie to watch with friends during the long summer days. Sunny is a truly beautiful movie, I get all choked up just thinking about it. Never have I ever felt like I was apart of a group through a movie. Who ever wrote this movie is a genius.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No