Sort by:
Ao Haru Ride
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
17 hours ago
17 hours ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I've waited for this movie for months after hearing that it would be coming out. Of course as an international fan, I had to wait until there was a subbed version online. As a fan of the anime, I was hoping it to be really good but in the back of my head I knew I should lower my expectations (especially after watching other anime live adaptations).

*Note* I am easily impressed read more with live action adaptations because I watch with an open mind and don't really compare the two versions.

The story was decent. Of course, its a slice of life anime turned movie so there's only so much you can fit in. It was cute and never did I feel bored or about to give up watching. If this was a drama, it could have been so good (maybe someday!). Really hated the girl leeching onto Kou but other than that it was a very light hearted story.

As for casting, I remember watching the trailer and seeing people disappointed with Kou's casting. But honestly, I really liked the casting overall. The characters looked the part and played the part really well. The main girl has a very refreshing face and the main couple even have chemistry looks wise. Every time I saw Touma, I flashback to when he played Honey Senpai- so it was a weird change of character for me haha. Also, I really like Shukko's actress.

The music is not something I noticed much except for the part where Touma's band is playing. Nothing really caught my attention and I usually notice the music only if it was really good or just plain sucky. So, I'll give it an average rating.

Rewatch Value! It was a really refreshing movie. A pure, innocent love. Definitely going to rewatch this one regularly. Short and sweet. The environment it was filmed was very refreshing as well. I mean, even looking at the poster calms me.

So overall, I give this movie an 8/10. If you just want something to watch to pass some time, I suggest this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Missed Call 2
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
by June
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 3.5
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 2.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Seing the good reviews on MDL I wanted to make a contrasting review after a rewatch and debating with friends after watching it together,

The overall plot was a good idea. A plot-twist from the first movie with some additions etc, I was all in for that, But it was handled veeery poorly. It's overall confusing, blur and it actually needs effort to understand what happened. I needed to watch the movie read more twice and read an article about it to actually have a better idea of what happened (and that person and I are pretty much as confused about the same things so I take I'm not completely stupid. This explanation page contains spoilers so I warn you, but it's a very good review and explanation for those who ended up confused as I was ; http://www.tohokingdom.com/reviews/romero/omc2.htm )

The acting wasn't good. Each taken separately weren't half bad, but they really lacked chemistry and vivacity. The scenes involving the couples seemed awkward to me because I wasn"t really convinced of their feelings, There was also an overall lack of scenes describing who really were the characters as the action kicked in very fast . We thus got to discover about them along the way but it still felt lacking to me,

As for the music. I really didn"t notice it that much. When watching i took notice of two of them because it was louder and original but it was soon forgotten, And none actually served the purpose of creating a mood, they rather were illustrating what the audience was seeing.... which isn't half bad, but I really expected more. But let's be fair, I don't think the soundtrack was the focus in any of the OMC movies...


To conclude, I would say this movie would have been nice if it was a new story, like I expected it to be. Trying to link it with the first story made it unnecessarily complex (not to mention the apparition of plotholes) and spoiled the overall result.
If you're looking for a fright, I don't really think that's the right movie either. It was, to my mind, half as scary as the first was. If you want a good story based horror movie, it's not the one either. I wouldn't really recommend this movie. I watched it with friend because we wanted to watch the whole saga but the 2nd movie is a big disappointment to my mind.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
What Women Want
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I love it, i was trying to watch something to pass time and i enjoyed every minute of it. I was waiting for romance until the end with a sneak peak. Havent seen the mel gibson one guess il give it a try. The two main characters are good looking too
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kiki's Delivery Service
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I'm by no means a kid anymore, but I liked this movie. I've read a lot of the comments on the Youtube trailer (the one with something like 1.5k likes AND1.5k dislikes) in Japanese using Google Translate. Most of the complaints centered around the film being set in a Japanese-looking town as witches are a Western concept. I say psshhh. I've been to many paradise Western places in person such as the read more Caribbean (I'm not talking about popular tourist destinations in the Caribbean, such as Saint Marteen, but the islands most ppl never been to, such as Saba --- the Unspoiled Queen), and I still say the place where this movie was filmed was just perfect!

Anyways, onto the main review. I've watched the Ghibli version many many years ago. What comes first isn't always better. This is just my opinion, but this live action adaptation is in no way inferior to the anime. They're both different in a good way. So, I'll break down the review into the following categories:

1. CHARACTERIZATION: I thought the Kiki in this movie was much more believable than the anime. In the anime, Kiki has always been a good girl who loses her power b/c she saw how spoiled humanity can be sometimes. In this movie, Kiki is a real human girl/witch with something called an ego --- she has that youthful pride that we've all experienced all too often when we were younger. As a result, she gets humbled and temporarily loses her powers. There is your realism. The anime portrayed Kiki as a 100% good girl, which isn't realistic. Everyone has imperfections, and this movie clearly showed the main protagonists' to us.

Also, they portrayed Osono as a very human character in this movie, who comes off as a really compassionate person towards Kiki in the way she encourages Kiki to never give up by urging her to take on the next job . In the anime, Osono comes off not as a person but a flat two-dimensional plot device whose purposes were to give Kiki shelter and give her the idea to set up a delivery service. This movie characterizes Osono so much more. She's like a surrogate mother to Kiki rather than just a Landlord/lady.

And let's not forget Tombo. He's more than just some pretty (nerdy) boy that needs saving by dangling from a broken blimp. I won't spoil it for anyone, so let's just say that Tombo is a lot more manly in this movie. Actually, he (and the baby hippo and the singer lady telepathically and Osono's encouragement) were the ones who saved Kiki's conscience. Kiki only saved Tombo with her mother's wound-healing medicine, which any passerby could have done. Nothing like in the anime where Kiki was the only one who could have flown to Tombo just in the nick of time.

2. THE CGI. For a low budget production, I thought the SFX was incredible. If you want to see really bad CGI, look no further than the upcoming Batman v Superman movie trailer. The parts where CG Batman tries to evade CG Superman's wrath looks to me like utter shite compared to the worst CG in this movie. I really thought CG Jiji could exist in real life, b/c a witch's cat is no ordinary cat! Forget that movie poster at the top corner of this page. Jiji looks nothing like that in the movie, he's got more fur textures and better lighting. Also, the flying sequences are really well done. The only part where I could visibly tell it was green screen was at the title where she's flying infront of the gigantic moon, and the light from the moon made it so.

3. THE STORY. I thought it was a refreshing change from the anime with fleshed out ideas. Parts where teenagers played pranks on each other to get even had me chuckling. Heck, I even think some of the story changes were even genius, such as ferries only come around on a set schedule, which is why they need a witch to delivery stuff between islands. In regards to delivering a baby hippo towards the climax, what can I say, the hippo was one of the four (the others are Tombo, singer lady, and Osono) who redeemed Kiki, so it's all good! It didn't feel like a plot device but rather something which advanced the story and Kiki's character! It showed her determination to complete her apprenticeship b/c she decided to become a witch ever since she could remember and flying was the only magical ability she'd cared to cultivate.

4. REWATCH VALUE. I rewatched the anime maybe once or twice so far. That's how much rewatch value that anime had! I've already skimmed over certain key scenes a few days after watching this movie. If I were to hold an annual movie-a-thon, this would be one of my top choices to add on the list for indefinite screening unto the n-th anniversary of such movie-a-thon!

5. HUMANITY. This is a made-up category, but important nonetheless! This is perhaps the reason why I gave this movie a 9.5 and not say a 7! I believe that a movie or work of fiction is special when it touches your heart. For me, it was the bicycle riding scene. Do you remember the first time you mastered riding the bike? For a kid watching this movie, it would be something trivial as they've probably only learned to ride a bike recently. But for someone a bit older it certainly brings back memories of us being bipeds (literal) on wheels for the first time ever in our lives using manpower! This movie brought back a certain fond memory of mine --- I was literally a kid again while watching this movie, which certainly isn't a bad thing!

In summary, movies are meant to entertain. No matter how critically acclaimed something is, if it doesn't entertain, then it's got no purpose existing. This movie definitely entertained and so it does exist!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Sell Love
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Personally I did in fact enjoy this movie. It did have a important message which I think could have been presented a bit more strongly. I also found the movie didn't focus as well as it should on the relationship with her mother and her best friend. But it portrayed it much better with the man who the lead goes on to see throughout the movie. The ending is also a bit read more cliché I lied a lot! But then again the storyline is the same ... never the less the main actors for me did a great job with the acting especially the one who played the older man. I would say if you have free time give this a go.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Light Shines Only There
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Well, it's not an easy movie to watch, that's for sure. The trailer gives you a glimpse of the drama in the movie, so just to reassure - it's far from any action. What's that about then? Definitely it shows the society's degradation really well, and hopelessness, in a slow, but not boring mood. It's like seeing a dim light at the end of a tunnel and trying to make your companions read more see it too.
Enough about the plot. Acting - amazing! The characters are multidimensional and the main cast reflects that nearly flawlessly. They differ greatly, and despite little development, you get to see their ups and downs very credible. If the actors have by any chance better portrayals so far it can be only by little.
As for a music lover there wasn't enough of it. As for the way is was shoot - it was perfectly enough, and was once again great indeed.
As a summary: it wasn't westernized too much (not at all if you've seen, form the newest production, World of Kanako), it was soot beautifully despite showing the ugliness. Why 8, then? It's not something you'd yearn to see again. There's a high chance not to get bored - but only if you do enjoy this kind of cinema. And there's ending that might be... well, this you need to see yourself!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Katasumi and 4444444444
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 1.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
These are two very short films tied into the Ju On series. Each are less than five min. Both are creepy but I found Katasumi the creepiest. If you are a fan of the Ju On franchise, or a fan of Japanese horror in general, I highly recommend. Keep in mind, though, they were made in the '90's and the quality reflects it. Since they are both so short, they are easily rewatchable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dead Sign
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 1.5
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.5
  • Music 1.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I watched this movie thinking it was a horror movie. But it was more like a mystery movie. But the story was kinda crappy. But the mystery element was kept. The plot twist surprised me. I almost felt like i wasted my time. Will i r watch it NO WAY. I'd advice people from watching it too. if you don't wanna waste your time, please find other movie to watch
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Twenty
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie is an ideal one, if you enjoy watching Korean Film Comedies. I watched this movie with my sisters and we were laughing throughout the whole film, because the acting was superb and the soundtrack was supplementary for the atmosphere of the scenes. I will re-watch this movie, because it is so appealing to the eyes and filled with plot lines worth paying attention to. If you have never watched this read more movie or it's only your plan-to-watch list, you should give it a try as soon as you got a spare time. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eungyo
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Profound. A film that lays itself bare and then lets its viewers decide on their own terms what it's worth. Captures the idea of what it means to be human-- the stark innocence of old age and the youthful exuberance of our teenage years... and the misguided values of the working, middle-aged class. A story of life and affection.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
As the Gods Will
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I watched this movie by chance, and it was gruesomely mind blowing. The gore and the story line felt like I was watching Battle Royal and Kill Bill with bits of alien/game type feature running around the screen.

The first few minutes captured my attention due to so much red beads, blood spatter and corpses... that alone made me curious as to what kind of movie this was going to be because read more I had no idea what I was getting myself into. After watching up to the end, I realized how much violent and convoluted this film was, but I loved it nonetheless.

There was so many factors in which this movie captured my attention, but most likely it was the story line. A bunch of high school students, running around and trying to survive their circumstances was something that has always been interesting for me. Somehow, the actors and over all story-line made up for slightly lack of polish on the CG effects. Although I would understand that the way they made the CG effects was part of the plan, but I still wished it was more realistic. It would have been more awesome if that was the case.

Over all, the movie was great. Despite the cliff hanger ending and CG; I still would recommend it to watchers who are likely fans of gore and violent movies.

Hope this movie gets a part 2 as well!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gangster High
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I'll quote James Mudge from Beyond Hollywood. "All things deep and meaningful aside, the film is packed with brutality, most of which takes the form of fist fights and baseball bat beatings. The final scenes are exceptionally bloody, and the film degenerates into savagery in what amounts to one of the most successful and disturbing cinematic condemnations of violence in recent years. The promise of mayhem is constantly lurking throughout the running read more time, and since Park never shies away from showing its consequences, the film has an increasingly tense air as things threaten to fly out of control."

I don't know if I would go that far, but with as many bloody gory movies as I watch it's fair to say I'm pretty immune. That said, it's still a really well done movie, with an exceptional cast, excellent acting, a strong chemistry between the actors, and a lot of familiar faces looking much younger. The fight scenes are very realistic, meticulously choreographed, and certainly brutal and bloody. The flow of the story is slow for more than half the movie, as so many Korean films are in the beginning, and then builds quickly in the final quarter to a devastating and bleak ending. No surprises as the first scene tells us exactly what that ending is going to be. I am never sure why directors use that methodology, especially in a film like this. The entire tenor of the film leads the audience to expect the inevitable worst at the end. So, for me, a huge chunk of what would build even more suspense and worry about how each of these young men are going to end up is completely over when that ending is told to me in the first 5 minutes of the film! It's not a method I appreciate, especially in a movie that spends it's entire length telegraphing it's message of wrong choices and machismo gone wild. I would have been even more devastated and upset at the end not knowing that information from the beginning. Consequently, I spent the entire movie just waiting on the inevitable and thanking God my son never had friends nor enemies like these nor will end up with a wasted and lost life like them.

As usual, after movies like this I have many questions about why these young men were this way, what forces shaped them that lead them to the kind of escalating violence of their lives, who actually survived, what became of them. I wish that the film had spent a bit more of its beginning giving some of that background which would have personally tied us to them more intimately. Even so, by the time the climax comes, there is still a subtle attachment to them, and in particular to Sang Ho and Jae Gu, that has been built, almost unawares, so I can't say the film loses a lot in not developing that information. It's just something that I personally like. I always wish, in movies like this, when the characters are so young, that there were a sequel, or an extra half hour, to see what happened to them 10, 20, 30 years down the road. If there is anything that will keep me thinking about this film, or a singular thing about this film that I will most remember, it's that.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Princess Jellyfish
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Princess Jellyfish...I felt like the anime wasn't really my style and I never did give it a try. I'm also not the biggest fan of live-action films since they always seem less magical (?) than the other adaptations. So, with that in mind, I have to say that I seriously regret not watching this sooner. It exceeded my expectations!

The storyline is simple but fresh. The movie was fun, it addressed some read more serious issues, and it was somewhat lacking in the romance department. Exactly what you'd except from a Japanese movie...and that's not a bad thing. What really made this movie great were the characters, none of them were forgettable! This is mostly thanks to the actors who were just amazing. Both of the leads knew what they were doing, they were both new to me but Suda Masaki has plenty of projects under his belt ( he has like three movies coming up next year! wow ) and Nounen Rena is also quite talented ( Amachan anyone? ).

This is a feel-good movie, funny and light-hearted...and I honestly don't have any complaints about it. I'd definetly recommend this to anyone who wants a break from melodrama, anyone who likes fashion, and anyone looking for a good weekend movie.

PS. The soundtrack was so great!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Werewolf Boy
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
This movie is very interesting so is the story. The actors are very good too. At first i tought that this film will be amazing and after i watched it i knew it was more than amazing. Icried very much. I hate that the story was with sad ending but i love it. I hope that i will find another movie as goog as this. I have watchet it over 20 times read more and each time i have cried... XD :* <3 <3 You have to watch it or you will regret it later
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kiss Me, Kill Me
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
I seem to have an unpopular opinion here, but to me the movie was incredibly boring and slow. I found myself falling asleep, and though there are a few humorous scenes I'll give the movie credit for, the film just didn't catch me.

The acting was fine, I didn't see much of that to worry about. The characters were a little underdeveloped in my opinion... Hyun Jun didn't get much of a read more back story at all, and the only thing I gathered from his story is that he works for an agency, while his mother thinks he works for the government. I wanted to know how he got into the assassination business, but unfortunately this was left out.
Jin Young gave us a little more, and I see the message the movie is trying to send; some people's reasons to commit suicide seem petty to others, but is so important to the suicidal person that it seems worth taking his or her own life for. I see the message, and it's a good one, but I still think more could have been done.
I saw Hyun Jun falling for Jin Young, but not quite Jin Young falling for Hyun Jun. That just seemed to come out of nowhere, like the director suddenly yelled "Wait, I focused so much on the action scenes that we forgot the romance! Quick, throw it in at the end and maybe the audience won't notice!"

Speaking of action scenes: not very action-y. You got guns, poison, anything you want... and the action scenes fall flat.

The story was good, not great; the characters underdeveloped but funny; and some things seemed thrown in for laughs that didn't really make me laugh. I wouldn't recommend this movie, but I seem to be a minority in these reviews so you do what you want. ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions