Sort by:
The Beauty Inside
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Best Korean movie ever!!!
I watched the movie with really low expectations I thought they are gonna make the story fun and light-hearted but it was deeper than that much deeper the story is new I loved it and the acting was great, Han hyo Joo was great and so were all the actors who did jin woo the whole movie was incredible definetly worth your time and I am sure I read more am gonna watch it again!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Man
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
If you expect something similar to Kanako - it's not, you might be disappointed so be aware.

That having said, the movie touches some taboo issues, but take them in the most natural way possible. it shows a dysfunctional man whose life goes even further away from from what can be called normal as he starts to live with a girl who has lost everything due to natural catastrophe. There are very read more few supporting characters and the background story remains vague which adds to the mysterious character of the movie.

It is slow paced, so you've got to be prepared for this. The viewer is supposed to feel the climate rather than be shocked and rushed through series of events. So take a good time for this two hours of tragic drama. And try to get swallowed by the emptiness of the coldest parts of Hokkaido.

The acting is superb. We've got two very different actors, acting-style wise, age wise, who managed to create an amazing emotional blend that creates a kind of awkward harmony. Needless to say, Asano Tadanobu greatness is very much visible here and he suits Jungo's character very well. On the other hand, very young Nikaido Fumi proves once again how versatile actress she is.
The few supporting ones are good as well and create rather coherent background.

Music is again a background issue that basically helps to set the mood and proves it really well.

As a summary, one more time: do not expect fireworks, if you look for entertainment it hardly there. But if you don't mind that you might get tangled up in something disturbingly beautiful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Silenced
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I was kinda surprised by this movie.

Overall, it's not really a horror movie. It starts like one, with all the suspense, dark corners and those special asian girls crawling on the floor, all wet hair and moving strangely. At some point I thought it was something like 'A Tale of Two Sisters', but it's not.

But the turn in the middle of the story was quite a surprise and left me read more less anxious. I was more relaxed while watching but it was nevertheless still exciting. In fact I enjoyed it even more. The beginning was a bit too calm and maybe a bit boring. I guess the producers were trying to create a really oppressive atmosphere but that didn't work out that well. Therefore the second half of the movie was more interesting (although a little more suspense couldn't have hurt).

Focusing on the little details... The scenery/setting was quite nice. I enjoyed looking at the places and the school. Also the make-up. It didn't show much but it was effective, well placed and did add to the atmosphere.

The acting of the girls was also a plus (not the principal though - too hollow). I'm starting to recognize Park Bo Young's skills. I already saw her in 'Oh My Ghostess' and 'Don't Click' and I liked her acting so far. And since I didn't watch 'A Werewolf Boy' yet, I guess I have to continue with that one.

Don't mind my rewatch value. It was a good movie but I don't think I will watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Masquerade
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is an interesting/fun historical ditty; Intriguing movie, I enjoyed it very much. Wonderful court intrigue, politics, romance, loyalty, betrayal, suspense, all the things you would expect from an historical political drama. Not really a fan of Lee Byung Hun, but he is an amazing actor, I am so impressed, brilliantly portraying two very different characters. I Loved the music. The ending wasnt very happy, but what end in history is? Great read more Movie with a great cast about power and what it can, and sometimes can't, accomplish, brought about some interesting thoughts.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Man
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
*grown-up women and men shouldn't be used as teenagers bc you can clearly see through them and it's irritating (good example of that mistake is the movie Night Flight (though this movies is one of the best gay asian movies, if not the best, so if u like yaoi, pls watch it ))

So...
I wasted 2 hours.
I could've watched 4-6 anime episodes.
Fantastic.
..
Um, movie is shit.
I have read more no idea what kind of ppl watched this movie, so I can't really understand the comment section: "creepy" and "disturbing" and "u need to watch smth lighter after this"
srsly?
Based on their comments I thought this movie was going to be sick and twisted.
But it's not. It's about "incest"...They're not blood related so it makes it even more suffering to go through the comments again. *this isn't spolier, you can see that clearly at the beginning.*
The beginning was interesting, but then it got stupid, I mean don't get me wrong this movies isn't that bad, it's just that that I had expectations which weren't fullfilled.
It was nice to see Kora Kengo ( watch Snakes and Earrings, now that movie is creepy...not that creepy but most definitely more creepier than this....WATASHI NO OTOKO IS NOT AT ALL CREEPY MOVIE, WHAT'S WRONG WITH Y'ALL).
My fujoshi brain woke up just a little bit at the end, but then it went back to sleep again. *tear*
The only thing I liked about this movie is..um................................I didn't.
Again, don't get me wrong, this movie isn't horrible, but it was just not good, at some parts they were overreacting and the last quarter of the "such creepy much taboo movie" wasn't the clearest.
Acting wasn't wow, there was almost no music(or I wasn't paying attention bc I just wanted to get over with it) and story isn't much (as the end was coming, I think they sped up everything).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Socialphobia
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a great watch, do not miss it!

The story looks really simple on the surface, but there is so much underneath it. This movie is just much more than showing what social media is and does. But also how people respond do is, there is a great psychological part to this movie.
The story is quite unique, there are a few movies like this, but this is a real thriller read more that will let you think abbout the effects of social media and how huge the internet is.
The actors did a marvelous job, and they really gave it all. I really could feel with them, and I felt that the emotions were very raw, I liked it!
The music was perfectly chosen, dark and loud.
I would rewatch this movie, because this one has more than meets the eye.

Watch this if you like psychological movies that handle a current topic.
Skip this if you are looking for romance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ichi
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Tragic and beautiful. The story almost like typical movie with heroine vs bad guy so it's quite predictable. But with Haruka Ayase as Ichi who is blind but actually a skilled swordsman who can slayed numerous samurai all at once (that was so cool!) makes this movie a little bit different than other.
This movie is brave enough to show fighting scenes, such as bloody scars, hand cut, sword thrust looks real. read more The backsound music and soundtrack are nice too and match perfectly. I also like the villain characters, they do really looks like a bad guy with an annoying expression.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Little Black Dress
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
If you consider to watch it like a chick lit for a night at home it's a nice choice. Nothing too memorable about it though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Red Wine in the Dark Night
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
The movie was really weird, but is worth watching. I didn't enjoy the movie that much, but it's not quite bad and the acting is pretty great actually.

I did not expect Fluke Pongsatorn to act the way he did in the movie because of the shyness and innocence he exerted in My Bromance. My Bromance really painted the mental image of an innocent Pongsatorn and that was what I imagined his read more attitude to be the whole time watching this movie, but sadly it wasn't.

Overall, I don't find myself watching this movie again. It had some sad parts, but for 5 minutes of the whole movie. In comparison to My Bromance; I rather re-watch My Bromance over Red Wine in the Dark Knight.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Casa Amor: Exclusive for Ladies
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Storyline: It is a very fun ADULT movie. It had the right amount of comedy and sex, while still dealing with the deeper issues at hand. It felt very refreshing as many Korean movies have sex, but sex toys are harder to come by in kmovie land. I loved how the director and screen writer created so many scenes that were a combination of sexual, awkward, and funny. The main female lead read more played by Jo Yeo Jung was stereotypical, but the story-line was so different from the norm that it did not matter. Now beginning was a little slow, and there were some typical kdrama/ movie scenes. However, the overall movie experience was good. While the movie was endearing and funny, it is not one that I will likely watch again. It is different and cute, but not enough to the point of me remembering it for a long time or to put it as one of my favorite movies.

Acting: I had no issue with the acting. It was not amazing, but it wasn't bad either. However, I am not one to be picky about acting.

Music: It did not stick out to me at all, as good or bad.

Note: I know I’m being vague, but I do not want to give away any of the plot, and you can watch this movie on Hulu!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Romantic Island
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I watched this movie mainly because of Lee Min Ki and Eugene. I've shipped them since I watched I Really Really Like You. This movie wasn't anything ground breaking. It was just another feel good rom com. It's not memorable (unless you love the actors like I did.) but it's definitely better than some other rom com Korean movies I've seen. The older couple was really cute and the ending was satisfying. read more Not to mention Eugene and Lee Min Ki's relationship was hottt xD

Watch it if you just want to relax and not stress about whatever's going on in your life ^^ The sceneries were beautiful, so that's a plus.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dancing Queen
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I've scrolled past this movie so many times that I've lost count. Every time it came up on my radar I simply chose to watch something else. Maybe it was the synopsis' fault but I wasn't really expecting this to be good. With that being said, once I did watch it it was surprisingly entertaining.

The story: Back in the day Uhm Jung Hwa was a dancing queen, she was even offered read more to train under a famous entertainment agency. However her dreams were put aside once she met Hwang Jeong Min. The two knew each other from childhood and hit it off as adults. They decided to get married young and she supports him until he passes the bar exam...This is all pretty standard, cliche even. It's probably why I was so hesitant to watch this movie. The story does pick up once an incident makes Jeong Min the talk of the town. The relationships between the characters are enjoyable and realistic. And the characters themselves well-written and relatable.
This movie never gets too serious, and it never strays from its plot. I'd have to say that overall this movie was organized, it knew what message it wanted to convey and it did a great job of delivering it. The beginning may seem a bit dull ( especially if you've seen enough kmovies in this genre ) but the movie was entertaining overall.

Acting/Cast: Its Uhm Jung Hwa and Hwang Jeong Min! These two actors have both been very successful in other projects and they definitely brought that experience to this movie. In my opinion the best kind of the acting is the type that makes the story feel real. When I was watching that's exactly what I saw, the real struggles of a real family. I also loved Ra Mi Ran and Jung Sun Hwa in this! My only complain in terms of acting is the group...in a movie with such great acting the girls of "Dancing Queens" were a big disappointment. Lee Ah Rin ( who played a villain character? ) was just awful. But the worst acting in this movie goes to that girl from 'Oregon'. I honestly don't know the actress and can't remember the character's name ... I just remember how bad the acting was.

This review is getting to be too long so I'll wrap it up. This movie isn't something I'd go out of my way to recommend. It was funny and sad at times, but it wasn't exceptional. It definitely followed a formula and didn't take risks. However, it was a solid movie with a nice message so I'll give it an 8.5.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Princess Jellyfish
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Nyah
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I watch this movie with laugh, Jelly fish are beautiful in this movie even in real life I would never wish to close to them. The main actress is really cute and main actor is really beautiful lol. I do know now, neet are really exist in Japan but this movies make me understand them a lot and hope they can find the best way to live in this wold with happily like in this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kanojo wa Uso Wo Aishisugiteru
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Nyah
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Once I watch this movies finished I can't stand my self to open and watch again, now I watch this movies more than 10 times, For me the storyline of this movie was so beautiful and all the song catch my heart, someday I open this movies just to see Takeru Satoh and listen to the song lol. Love it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Go Lala Go 2
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I like Wang Wei performed by Vic Zhou and I like that Vic Zhou performed Wang Wei. Go Lala Go 2 would not have had the same feel to it if the character had been performed by anyone else.

Rather than dab on the tone of the movie whose premise nowadays is far too cliché to be continuously addressed, I want to reflect upon love as love is the silver lining of read more the movie. Not love towards career ambitions but love between a man and a woman as that is the love that has most romantics drawling in anticipation.

Go Lala Go 2 has that driven almost obsessed eagerness to be professionally successful at a high profile or high end job, believed to bring satisfaction but that type of satisfaction is like coffee, addictive at first, creating a vibe of can do it all, want to do it all, achieve it all, need it all but ultimately comes the realization that triumph like coffee can be bittersweet in the long run and that love well...love is love and what is life without love? An ocean of emptiness.

Bolin Chen is an eye candy rather than a strong performer but when the other main male lead is Vic Zhou, is Vic Zhou who steals the show and brings an ordinary story to life. Wang Wei loves a woman, loves her madly. He supports her, he defends her, he longs for her. All those emotions are there in his eyes to see, in his actions to interpret, in his love for Lala, a woman who waivers but never truly forgets, a couple that loves and hopes for love.

For Wang Wei, for Vic Zhou and for the love that is more than a romance, is a feeling, Go Lala Go 2 is a really good movie to watch. Love exists. There is hope!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No