Sort by:
My Bromance
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was a better-sweet story. It was a bit unsettling how the poignancy was so pushed. To anyone uncertain of watching this film, I wouldn't shy away. There is a tender love in this story, but you must prepare your emotions for a ride.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tunnel
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Anyone knows the movie "Buried"? Or did you see "D-Day"?

Well, this one is not exactly the same but there are many similarities in the basic concept. It's about a man who gets trapped in a collapsed tunnel. Luckily, his phones gets a signal, so he can make an emergency call. Otherwise any help would have taken some time since the tunnel itself was a new construction and didn't have much traffic read more yet.

The overall meaning of this movie doesn't seem to be his struggle to survive until rescue arrives. It rather displays that so many things can actually go wrong, and what the public and single individuals are thinking about the whole incident as times passes. And although I got angry so many times while watching, many things got closer to reality than we would admit. Secret thoughts versus proper behavior versus taking action through the back door. How would one really behave when facing an extreme situation - being a victim, a bystander, a culprit or a person in charge. Who's protecting his interests and who's protecting his conscience?

The movie wasn't perfect. Most of it was gripping but it still had its longueurs. Maybe... if they had reduced some of those parts that made me angry throughout the movie...? Wouldn't have done any damage.

The acting was really good. I'm only starting to appreciate Ha Jeong Woo's acting but I'm already quite impressed with what I've seen so far. There were so many characters that most of them couldn't show any depth and many of them felt like silhouettes and ghosts. But those few who got more screen time were good in delivering the message.

Korean filmmakers have a knack for disaster movies - though in their own way, but they hardly disappoint.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
very cute! The best Japanese BL I've seen.

It's very cute and lighthearted, I totally recommend. The cast is really cute.

VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Round Trip to Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
WOW. This was super angsty, but really good. I cried so much ;-;
not much of a review, but I do recommend to his to people who aren't very sensitive to feels.
I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Left Ear
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Their acting is NO joke !Really realistic, their actings and faces are matching their characters so MUCH !
And the plot is unpredictable as bread-tie-twisty says. It's also a mix of classic and realistic movie because there is the pure hearted girl, the handsome guy and so on but the story will make it realistic... I try not to spoil you ;) Just WATCH IT and you will understand what i am read more talking about . GOOOO ! :)















PS: I'm french so sorry if i made some mistakes , feel free to correct me thank you ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
L.O.R.D
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
There's so much going on in this movie that, after the ending, I had to go back to certain parts to confirm what I just learned. That's a good thing, because aside from the great battle scenes and the beatifully crafted world (the little details are just amazing) there's a really deep story being told by this CGI characters.

I liked the motion capture, the faces and gestures are just great. And read more the characters are presented and developed without over explaining, anything BUT the classic Hollywood style.

There are several plot twist and, depending on the translation project you're watching, you'll understand more or less so I would recommend you to pay attention to the subtitles.

The ending comes with several revelations, and a closing that suggests a second movie. I hope it comes soon because I had a great time with the characters and I'd love to know what happens next.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Slow Video
2 people found this review helpful
by Yume
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a very special and unique movie, very heartwarming. Having an abnormal illness of seeing everything in slow motion is not always fun, but this guy turned it into something good and turned it into a talent which I thought was great.

Things that I liked about this movie is the perspective of an average's persons life, which is not that luxurious. The main male and female lead were simple people, read more having troubles with life just as anyone else and I liked the fact that they included that because it makes it feel realistic. Despite that, things that he had was a girl he liked who made his days happier, random people he met whom became his closest friends, a supporting family and his doctor that's been with him throughout his whole life. This movie kind of shows you that even if you're different, even if you had those times where you isolated yourself from life, it's still not too late to explore the world, making new friends and doing things you like. Till the end, he didn't give up, amazing.

Other than that, there's not so much to dislike about this movie, might be slow-paced but I think that the moral of the story is more important.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dear Friends
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I wasn’t prepared for the punch to the feels I would get with this movie! I was assuming this would be a sweet movie about a girl that learns what true friendship is, and in a way that’s exactly what I got, except it turned out to be much deeper. “Dear Friends” is a very heart wrenching movie. Keiko Kitagawa’s acting was just so impeccable that I was drawn in immediately. Although, read more this movie was much, much darker than I thought it was going to be I’m still glad that I watched it. True friends are there for you even when it’s inconvenient and true love is unconditional.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Magic Card
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This movie is a must see, because the casting and the acting from different actors and actresses did an amazing job with the movie. Most notably Viann Zhang and Dada Chan. Overall the movie is a fun ride from start to finish.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Attorney
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
At first i was confused, but then i understand. It's a movie about a real life of ex president of South Korea, Roh Moo-Hyun. I hope the ending will leave more explanations, and i hope that it has more episodes to explain his life. Anyway, i read his biography and I understand more, what an astounding man. He is definitely one of a kind. He rise to be a president when he read more only came from a humble beginning as a son of poor farmer and a high school dropped out.

He fight against violation of human right and after some time, he become president of Korea. (He was also the first president who visit North Korea for peace.) Anyway, as a context of this movie, I understand it's very hard to fight against country's dictatorship, when u are an idealist, and fight for common people, many powerful figures will go against you.

This is such a real story on what happened in our world, not only in south korea, but in other countries as well, those with power and money can do anything they like. It's such a rare thing to have someone like this main lead who has a heart to help innocent people. Although u cannot always win, but it's worth to fight for... argh very sad, anyway it's a recommended one.

I gave it 9.5 only because 2 hours do not seem enough to explain how awesome his character is. he should have been given a trilogy. After i know and read this Ro Moo-Hyun's life, i sincerely respect him. It's a true story that's why i like it most!! I always love a true story :,)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Like Someone in Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I admit, I'm not familiar with Abbas Kiarostami's work and decided to watch "Like Someone in Love" because the story somewhat echoed that of Eungyo (2012).

But "Like Someone in Love" opens powerfully. Perhaps it will leave you confused but it already reinforces what we need to know. There is a woman speaking but we do not know who she is. That goes for more about a minute or two. And when read more we are finally shown who she is, she, alone is in the frame—almost like she's trapped.

And throughout the film, that's what we're shown. A trapped Akiko.

About 20 minutes in, I was already sobbing.

Akiko trapped in the taxi, with neon lights flashing through her face, some reflected on the window, makes her seem like she is lost—discovering the world outside for the first time, wandering through flashy lights and busy streets, trapped while listening to voice messages left by her grandmother who longs to meet her.

And that's what made me start shedding tears. The grandma's messages. The voice. The calmness. But at the same time, the longing to meet her granddaughter. And when the taxi finally puts the grandmother in view, waiting next to a statue, the camera choses to push us away, never showing her in close-up. Akiko, arches her head, asks the driver to turn one more, getting as much as she can. And drives away.

I am helpless as she was. I wanted to do something. As Akiko arches her head, she is filled with struggle, wanting to escape the taxi, acting like her prison but she knows she can't. And drives on.

It made me angry though, how much we take for granted the people that love us and care for us, who despite their age, wait for us, travelled to Tokyo, made an effort to call us, only for us, to leave and give up. Only when we lose these people do we realize the importance of that. That scene is powerful in the movie but it is also powerful for me—having lost my own grandma only a year ago. It resonated so much, it felt me in tears.

"I'll be waiting," her grandma says.


At least she has a grandma waiting for her. And she took it for grandma. (This is me being sentimental, sorry.)

The car will then become a symbol of Akiko's prison. Later, she sits inside Takeshi's Volvo. As I said, I'm not familiar with Kiarostami's works but he seems to focus a lot on identity, lies and deceit. And truth be told, he does it subtly here, almost nestled in so smoothly, you won't be able to say the film focuses on that.

Akiko is deceiving her jealously boyfriend and her grandma about her profession as a callgirl. Takeshi, the old man that she meets at night, pretends to be her grandfather the next day. Her jealous boyfriend says he is ready for marriage but seems not to be.

These little things are hidden so well in the dialogues. The film also focuses on close-up as a means to show the characters' lies and deceit. Cleverly done through the lack of an actual score as well, it makes you feel like a real observer—only you are helpless to do anything.

1hr45 minutes feel short. And the ending is abrupt, almost unfinished and lacking but ultimately, "Like Someone in Love" succeeds in delivering what it needs to. Perhaps its slow past is difficult to get through (it was for me), it's a beautiful film but a film that's also difficult to recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Muse
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
And here I thought Kazuyoshi Kumakiri's My Man (2014) is already daring enough with its own lolita take given that Fumi Nikaido also plays a young girl in love with an older man who is actually her relative.

Maybe that sounds worse than a 70-year-old lusting over a 17-year-old but I say that Eungyo (or A Muse) is more daring because the scenes are more graphic and explicit, it almost seems like read more 10 minutes of soft porn. And given that Nikaido (only 20 then and didn't do a whole frontal nude) had prior acting experience, Kim Go-Eun did not (only 21 then, did a whole frontal nude).

I go with the comparisons given the lolita approach and the young age of the actresses and their characters. My Man had straight up skinship and intimate, sexual scenes but definitely not as graphic or explicit as Eungyo. Hence, still a sense of reservation even if the two leads are actually in love with each other.

Eungyo is daring. While the main focus might go to its controversial subject and explicitly, to me, the film is ultimately about loneliness. That is not saying that it normalizes pedophilia or whatsoever. The film is not meant to answer that. You, as viewers, can decide that on your own.

While My Man is filled with similar themes, it tries to make you feel colder towards its characters, added by the fact that it was filmed in Hokkaido.

But Eungyo. Eungyo warms you up. Eungyo is like a confluence. On one hand, there is warmth. There is purity. There is longing. On the other hand, there is disgust. There is the swelling in your stomach like you want to throw up. Then they meet and clash and you feel a little bit of both.

Jung Ji-woo establishes Lee Jeok-yo's played by Park Hae II (who is actually in his late 30s) loneliness very early in the film. The opening sequence of his house, of a portrait of him when he was young, of him in his office, of his rice cooker, of him eating alone, of him falling asleep in the chair of his study all say one thing about him: he is old and alone and lonely.

On the other hand, 17-year-old Eungyo has an abusive mother. She, too, as she confesses later on, is lonely, despite her energetic and lucid nature.

Jeok-yo's semi-assistant, semi-protege, Seo Ji Woo (played by Kim Mu Yeol) is an engineering major who respects, admires and looks up to his mentor and only longs for his recognition, which to his demise, does not really get. He wants to write but has no talent. He lives in an apartment by himself and has become a mask of his mentor. He, too, is lonely.

Thus, I see Eungyo more as a film about loneliness.

Filled with beautiful cinematography, heart-warming soundtrack and poetic narration, it's difficult not to appreciate it despite its controversial subject matter. Even Jeok-yo's very sexual dreams are shot beautifully in bright colors, nostalgic tone and over a pile of books, you too, are suck into this seduction.

Just like her character, Eungyo, Go-Eun shines. This being her debut role, only acting previously in school dramas, she is the sunshine of this film. Playing an innocent, flirty but to an extent, seductive Eungyo is no joke for a 21-year-old with no film experience.

She captures the emotions, the movement and the smile (oh gosh, the smile) that Eungyo embodies. She plays an enhancing and an irritating lolita. Eungyo is a character that longs affection and to me, sees Jeok-yo more as a father figure (probably even a case of Electra Complex) more than a lover.

Eungyo started off well. But the second half, almost as it reaches its end, it becomes a more revenge-driven cliche story than what it first intended to be.

That sad, the ending monologue between the main characters is powerful.

I wished they have chosen an older actor to play a 70-year-old character than put Hae II in heavy make-up. Maybe that very idea sickens them that they couldn't do it too. Nevertheless, Hae II played his character, twice his age well, even spending hours to observe the eldery prior to his role. The way he moves, walks and even talks are convincing but it's being covered in make-up that doesn't.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Daisy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Jun Ji-Hyun is in a dilemma in "Daisy", directed by "Infernal Affairs" director, Andrew Lau. Will she choose the man she's waiting for or the one who she fell in love with while waiting for the other?

What drew me to watch "Daisy" is 3 things: Jun Ji-Hyun (also known as Gianna Jun), the intriguing plot and the title, having a friend named the same.

The plot is very drama-worthy and for read more some reason, its 110 minutes running time felt very short and unbalanced. At times, there is a voice-over by Hyun, at times by either of the two male leads. I didn't really like this approach because it's telling more than showing.

Set in Amsterdam, the setting is very beautiful. With shots from the city, from the countryside and from indoors. What I do admire about "Daisy" is its simplicity. The narrative is certainly simple and easy to follow.

But the way it's edited is overdramatic especially in scenes that don't require it. Over use of fades out may be refreshing but it just doesn't work. And that awkward fade-to-black as if to create dramatic suspense also doesn't work.

That said, the soundtrack is beautiful. The acting was great. It felt very sentimental and I think the cast pushed through. I enjoyed watching but it felt to really tug at you, which for a story like this, would have done well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sing My Life
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I'm a big fan of the Korean version "Miss Granny" (2014), so when it was announced that a Japanese version was being made, I was completely extasiatic! I followed the casting news, the release of the first poster, the trailers etc. So today, I FINALLY had the chance to watch the movie for the first time, and I must say it didn't disapoint me.

Tabe did a fantastic job as "Setsuko"/Katsu. Sometimes read more you would cry with her, other times laugh at her and even be angry with her. PLUS: her character had a great sense of fashion, I want to buy all of her clothes, haha.

The musics were amazing, as expected. I liked especially the last one (loved the lyrics). The OST will be a must on my ipod.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Senior
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I really love supernatural romance especially the ones between alive and dead ppl like vampires, zombies or ghosts. And putting a crime/thriller aspect to it makes a perfect story for me. But sadly it was badly executed in here. The Heroin tried to look intelligent and brave but she appeared rather tense and the crime story felt like the ones in very old black and white movies where you find some clues read more with the main character and get to interpret it for yourself but the heroine/hero isn't the one who resolves it, it's the criminals driven into the corner who stand there with a gun thinking they've won so they can explain what they did in every detail but then right after they confessed everything of course they fail somehow....
Also the romance wasn't really good, there were no good reasons given for the he both to fall in love so quickly + the hint to a happy end is very unfitting. How can they meet again? Why not explain it?
Well but the horror special effects were really creepy/digusting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions