Sort by:
Go
24 of 24 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 18, 2011
May 18, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
"This is my love story".

The movie opens up with this declaration, uttered in background narration by the main character while he's scorned and targeted by a players-filled basketball court. And it isn't only the rival team watching him with contempt: his own teammates are shouting the loudest.

"This is my love story", repeats Sugihara while he escapes from the police or is beaten by his father.

The read more contrast between the narration and the scene shown on screen gives us the key to the reading of the whole film, which is about finding ones place between love and hate, belonging and distancing, caring and detachment.

It's the story of a young man who has to show the world he doesn't give a dime while inside he's yearning for a sense of belonging.



GO is a wonderfully dramatic movie, one that deals with a cruel reality of discrimination. It's the journey of a guy who struggles to find his place on the planet. But don't be fooled by the surface: the director highlights the Japanese prejudices and the Korean stubborn obtuseness in equal measure. To each their own share.

And in the middle of this, there's Sugihara, who looks like a Japanese, talks like a Japanese, was born in Japan and is not recognized as one. His part is superbly acted: Yosuke Kubozuka is so convincing one can't help falling for him despite his murderous glances and his rebellious spirit.



So how is this a love story?

It is such on multiple levels: there's love for the friends, love for a father shown with fists, love for a country - or 2 - and love for a girl.

The music fits the pace beautifully, never overpowering the scenes.



Overall an emotion-filled movie, superb in acting, direction, plot and photography.

To be avoided if you're looking for a light watch. A must if you like thought-provoking films.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Petty Romance
36 of 37 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 9, 2011
Jul 9, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This movie is so fun! Another thing that solidifies my love for Lee Sun Gyun. It is about an adult comic book artist looking for a writer. He needs to win a contest for the prize money. When they meet their relationship is antagonistic at best. But those sparks turn into something more.

As typical as this set up may sound, it's so well done and enjoyable to watch it doesn't matter. read more I've actually never seen a movie premise like this. Well that's not true. A few years back there was an American movie about a ghost writer helping an author to pen a book but it was done poorly and there is no comparison.

Remember that they are writing an adult comic. There are a lot of sexual references but it's done very tongue in cheek as the female writer is faking 99% of her sexual experience. Most of the graphic sexual images are in fact, in graphic (comic book) form.

Watching Jung Bae get wise to her act...I loved it! Dae Rim is such a character and Jung Bae finds her tough to take at first. But when he begins to draw...it's her face that appears on paper. As the two leads gravitate toward each other and their feelings grow...it's so cute!

Lee Sun Gyun and Choi Gang Hee make a great pair. Able to be comedic and have you believe when they are sincere.
I recommend this movie highly.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Little Bride
34 of 35 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 8, 2012
May 8, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I was attracted by the synopsis so I decided to give it a try.

2) Storyline/Plot:

The general story isn't complicated nor original; I saw this type of story in "Sweet 18" before yet this film's storyline was really appealing.

Positive points:

*The story was romantic but not too romantic since it focused on family too.
*It had a great combination since it was funny, cute read more while being a little serious
*The story's developement was amazing to follow.
*The whole adult-child love story was somehow innocent even when they lived toghether: I liked that concept.

Negative points:

There isn't, I just wished that they made this into a drama instead; it would have been perfect that way.

Story: 8.5/10

3)Acting/Cast:

It couldn't been any better even though I am not too familiar with the leads.
*The chemistry between them was somehow captivating even though it wasn't that present.
*Moon Geun Young did a great job in portraying the innocent 15 years old girl with all its sides; whether it was with her husband, her family, her school and everything else.
*I loved how Park Sang Min reacted with his little bride by trying to be the responsible adult but that didn't cut out the funny side of his character.

Cast: 7.75/10
Acting: 8/10

4)The ending:

The type of ending that anyone would like to see even though it was typical but that doesn't deny that it was fluffy.

The ending: 8/10

5) My Impression (How did it affect me):

*I was intrested in the whole concept ever since the film began, I had fun while watching it and it wasn't boring, not even the slightest bit.
*This is is a great memorable film.

My Impression: 9/10

6) Overall :

*If you like rom-coms then you must watch this.
*If you like old-young relationships then this is for you.
*If you like innocent love stories then you may like this.

Overall: 8.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love On-Air
22 of 22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

At the time, I didn't have time to watch dramas so I only watched films. This was appealing enough to give it a try.

2) Storyline/Plot:

This film's story seemed somehow special and different from any other idol or rom-com film that's why it felt appealing.

Positive points:

*The story was smooth since it combined great events and feelings together.
*The mini-stories intoduced during the film read more were a nice touch to avoid slow moments.
*The love story was light to the point that it would make you think that this isn't a romantic film yet the important feelings were there plus it felt like the right thing to do.

*Considering the fact that it was almost a musical film, I would say that the music was cool; not great, not bad.

Negative points:

*There was something missing in this film. They should've pushed it a little far in the middle since the story's development felt incomplete.


Story: 7.5/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Lee Min Jung : I really loved that actress here; she knew how to deliever feelings and make good expressions. She portrayed her role well and gave a good impression as the lead lady plus she's pretty.

*Lee Jung Jin : I liked his character too, he was so mature and manly in many ways , he did his role in a good way.

*I loved the relationship between leads whether in fighting or in romance; good chemistry.
*I liked other cast plus there acting was satisfying.

Cast: 8/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

Even though it was a typical rom-com ending but I end up enjoying it and closing the screen with a happy face.

The ending: 7.5/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I was entertained, it was fun to watch.
*I was a little surprised since I hadn't much expectations for this but I end up liking it. I just love it when a film/drama surprise me (in a good way of course)
*I wasn't bored which is enough to make me satisfied.

My impression 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like rom-coms then you would like this.
*If you like musical films then you may appreciate this.
*If you like light love stories then this is for you.

Overall: 7.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Girlfriend is an Agent
32 of 33 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 6, 2012
May 6, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
1-The reason I watched this : I have no idea, all I know that I couldn't sleep around 3 am then I found this film's dvd in one of my collections so I decided to watch it.
I never watch films without reading its synopsis but this was a great exception.

2-Storyline/Plot : On the outside, it may sound like the Korean version of "Mr. and Mrs. Smith" but somehow I thought read more it was special with its own events and its own charm.
I laughed so hard while watching this to the point that I tried blocking my mouth with my hands since was afraid that I may wake everyone in the house: yes, it was really funny! The story wasn't outstanding but the laughter moments (and sometimes romance moments) made me fall for it.

3-Acting/Cast : I like Kim Ha Neul and yeah she was cool here but I believe that Kang Ji Hwan was the leader of this film; he really cracked me up and the way he screams was so freaking funny, he really managed to pertray his role in a perfect way and most of all, he was believable.

4-The ending : I loved the final scene but the general ending was a typical rom-com ending.

5-My impression: This film literally cracked me up; I remember laughing my stomach out until I almost rolled on the floor late at night. This is a unforgettable film indeed.

6-Overall : This is the type of film that I would recommend to anyone:
There's laughter.
The funny romance.
Action (especially the hilarious action scenes with Kang Ji Hwan).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Red Cliff 2
20 of 20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 26, 2014
Jan 26, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
While the first part focused on the set up, characters and politics; the second part went straight to the battle itself. This film is made as a package so you simply can’t watch one and ignore the other. They’re strongly attached in a way that makes them feel inseparable.

I will skip the history in this review, I wrote about it in the first part and any extra historical information that I read more give in this film would be considered a spoiler for those who aren’t familiar with history. But let me just make something clear, John Woo didn’t exactly follow history. He changed many events for the favor of his storytelling, so the outcome and some facts can be misleading for those who want to take this as an accurate “historical reference”.

Red Cliff 2 is all about war and everyone knows that everything is allowed in war; whether be it contaminating the enemy’s camp with deadly contagious diseases, using the enemy’s spies against them or burning down the Navy. That’s war, it’s ugly and everyone loses at the end, the deadly battles and the horrible truth are definitely there. However, that’s not all what war in John Woo’s film is all about. There’s more to tell through the splendid battle scenes.

The heart and soul of this film is the epic battle of the Red Cliff that marks one of the greatest wars in Asian history whether because of the number of soldiers involved or the smart distinguished generals who were leading armies. It’s 800,000 against 50,000; the first is led by the outrageous yet politically clever Cao Cao and the other is headed by the combination of Sun Quan and Liu Bei with the magnificent aid of the intelligent Zhuge Liang and Zhou Yu. The battle was all about tactics and strategists where the two advisors play an important role at confronting a huge army. The famous 36 Stratagems and 'Borrowing the arrows using the scarecrows' are one of the greatest psychological war techniques I ever read about in history and John Woo did an superb job by making them come to life.

The amazing strategies aren’t the only thing that clicked about this film; there’s also the astonishing portrayal of battles scenes, the blood spilling, the wonderfully made fire scenes and most of all the emotions and the reactions of characters’ involvements.

In this part, there’s no further explanation of actors; I already made everything clear about their amazing job in the first part. As for characters, I still insist on the over-use of the female characters, they weren’t only all over the place but they also were historically wrong.
The other characters’ developments were well-noticed between the first and the second part. We get to see more impressive sides of historical heroes especially Zhuge Liang and Zhou Yu.

This film’s cinematography was stunning. The visuals, colors and the sceneries were well-fitting for an remarkable piece of Chinese war epic.

Now, if I speak about the film as a whole; I would say it’s one of the best war strategy films ever made and absolutely one of John Woo’s better works. This is not a sequel; it’s a second half of the same film so you should understand that this is supposed to be watched as a whole. Do not see the American or the European cut versions; you should search for the original release of the two films or you won’t be able to feel the whole magic.

Watch this if:
-You saw the first Red Cliff because they’re inseparable.
-You like war films or John Woo’s HK works.
-You like strategy films.

Do not watch if:
-You’re expecting a historical documentary where everything is accurate.
-You do not like war films.

Red Cliff 2 is the second part of an amazing Chinese film that deals with the famous “Three Kingdoms” epic displaying the Red Cliff battle with all of its spectacular strategies and tactics.
Red Cliff as a whole is one of the better films’ that successfully demonstrated the art of war.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Usagi Drop
20 of 20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 3, 2012
Mar 3, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Okay, let's see. What can i say of this movie?
It is cute all over, it doesn't bore you, it doesn't make you skip any parts, it enters your heart, grows inside and leaves happily.
I am neutral about the music, there was a german song in the beginning, it was quite fun to watch Daikichi's fantasy and the music fitted it but other than that one song i don't really remember read more others, means they don't really stand out.
the story is nice, i love Daikichi and Rin's relationship. they do no cuddling, no "i love you so much daddy" but you just feel the love. It is the success of both the story and the actors.
so if you want to have a change of your cliché someone-dying, someone-fighting-so-hard-for-love movies, take the shot, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Secret Female Ninja
19 of 19 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 14, 2014
Feb 14, 2014
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 1.5
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Sometimes you sit back and watch a film then wonder: “why the heck was this produced? who gave it the green light and what on earth was the director thinking?” The Secret Female Ninja is the perfect example of those types of films.

I watched this because I thought it would be an enjoyable Ninja film and heck, I was so wrong! Everything about this film is amateurish; from the directing, the read more storytelling, the action and the dreadful acting. It’s true that the film tells the story of a female shinobi (ninja) but everything felt all over the place and absolutely predictable. The plot wasn’t coherent at all; it felt unbearably weak with many stupid cheesy dialogues and events.

The action was so freaking fake in a foolish bothersome way, this is a disgrace to ninjas; if they were still alive they would come and kill everyone in this film and get over with it. Now, the mature scenes, they were terrible and it’s not because I hate mature scenes but because they were random, unbelievable and used as time-fillers. Some of them didn’t even make sense to show, they were crappy meaningless porn.

The acting was a deep disaster, the female lead’s expressions almost drove through the wall; she was painful to watch and the rest of the cast didn’t do any better either. I was thinking that they maybe these guys are porn stars or something? Because that would make sense if this was supposed to be porn with a stupid plot but I don’t think so. The actors were originally bad and their characters were even worse than they were or it’s their outrageous acting that made them feel that way.

The cinematography was dumb, the costumes were pretty bad and the music was horrible. I told you this is an amateurish film which I believe it had one of the lowest budgets and it would have been better if they didn’t make it in the first place. Re-watch? Never in the world, it was an absolute waste of time the first time around so how on earth do you expect me to repeat that?

Watch if:
-I won’t recommend it to anyone so this will remain blank.

Do not watch if:
-You think this would be a good ninja story.
-You think there’s any decent action in this.
-Well, just don’t watch it if you don’t want to waste your time.

The Secret Female Ninja is an absolute amateurish film containing a dumb storyline and horrible acting. Hey film, give me my 90 minutes back!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hard Boiled
19 of 19 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 28, 2014
Jan 28, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I just finished re-watching this film and I came to MDL page then Shock! There’s no review for this legendary action film? It looks like I have to change that.

Let me keep this review shorter than most of my other detailed long ones. This is a classic action film produced in Hong Kong by the master John Woo and it’s definitely one of his better works to date. When I say read more action, I target every meaning behind the word. This is the epitome of the action genre that puts the majority of Hollywood action films to shame.

Is there a plot? Not really, is there realism? Heck no! The guy fires hundreds of bullets without even reloading, what common sense are you talking about? But who cares about that? The lovers of the genre don't watch for the plot or for realism, what matters in action films is the intense style of violence, bullets flying and once again violence! This is an extreme action film where everyone holds a gun (or two) and fire until they die. People are everywhere, explosions, motorcycles blowing up in the air, cars exploding and bombs. It’s all there, the camera was everywhere and those slow motion scenes are just magnificent. Nothing less from John Woo’s explosive directing style.

The main leads are cool just like John Woo’s typical main leads. The acting is superb, on one hand there’s the great Chow Yun Fat that lacks recognition and on the other hand, there’s the well-known great Hong Kong star Tony Leung. It’s a dreamy powerful combination that allows John Woo to make use of the brotherhood theme that he loves so much. There’s also a nice performance from Anthony Wong as the bad guy but he falls behind compared to Yun Fat and Tony.

Watch this if:
-You love action films because this is one of the best.
-You’re looking for action entertainment.
-You like John Woo’s films (especially his HK ones).
-You like any of the cast.

Do not watch if:
-You dislike violent films because this is the essence of violence.
-You’re looking for a certain plot because there’s nothing special in this film’s story.
-You dislike the genre action.

So why does this get a 9/10 from someone who’s very cheap with his ratings? It’s because I am an action junkie and Hard Boiled is one of the best Action films ever made in the history of cinema, PERIOD.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pieta
19 of 19 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 22, 2012
Dec 22, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Another film by Kim Ki Duk, another hard jab at gut. It's the dark side of the moon named South Korea, a minute of it is enough to blow the 'flower boy' bubble.

The movie is about Kang Do, a brutal being works for the loan sharks and a middle aged woman claim to be his mother. Most of the movie takes place in Myeongdong district in Seul, the poorest one. Apparently read more if you expect a korean to film outside Gangnam, it's mainly Kim Ki duk or, Park Chan Wok. The movie itself a painful journey, a journey you are glad that you take and you wont take again. Don't take me wrong, i love everything about the movie, from Michelangelo inspired poster to grusome mutilation, but I am quite sure I wont re watch it.

There's nothing much to say about it anyway. It is the first Korean film to win the top prize at three major international film festivals — Venice, Cannes and Berlin. If it suits your taste watch it, if don't, stay the heck away from it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
She's on Duty
19 of 19 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 18, 2012
Jun 18, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I was attracted by the synopsis and the lead actors so I decided to give it a try without any sort of expectations.

2) Storyline/Plot:

This film's story wasn't special but it was interesting to watch, the general concept was something that would make you attracted.

Positive points:

*This is the type of story that fits the majority of viewers because it has an appealing concept. read more *Main Genres:

--->Action: it was present in many moments and many turns; this element made the film enjoyable (I wouldn't imagine myself watching the movie if there wasn't this element) plus the action scenes were nicely made and very believable.

--->Humor: this film was hilarious but not too funny so don't get your hopes too high. Funny scenes were present every once in a while which made the storyline lighter.

Negative points:

--->Romance: it wasn't heavily present, actually we don't get to see a lot of romance in this film, it was superficial and not very interesting (except a little at the end). However, it doesn't ruin the general story but I can't possibly call this "A romantic film".

Story: 8.5/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Gong Yoo:
This actor's films/dramas are always interesting to watch. Here, it wasn't any different; his role was a "cool" role that kept things enjoyable. His action scenes were nice too: great kicking skills.
Speaking about the character, I would say that Kang No-young's personality was sometimes mysterious and indifferent yet it can become warm and caring at some other points.

*Kim Sun Ah:
In my Dictionary, she has always been a good actress who knows how to deliver emotions. Here, I saw decent acting skills and some nice action moves.
The character was the strong girl type, it was really funny sometimes and super serious at other times. Chun Jae-in's school girl mode was greatly done, I liked everything she have done as a high school girl especially the way she reacted with her surroundings.

*Other Cast: The acting wasn't bad plus the choice of characters was nicely done that's why I have no complains about the supporting roles.

*Relationships:

--->Friendship : I liked that concept here even though it wasn't that deep but it was good enough to make you interested.
--->Chun Jae-in's relationships with her uncle and the police departement members was hilarious sometimes and enjoyable most of the time.
--->Romance: Due to lack of romance in the storyline, there weren't much chemistry to talk about.

Cast: 8.5/10
Acting: 9/10

4) The ending:

The romance was fixed in the end but this was your usual rom-com ending; the sort of ending that anyone would love to see on screen.

The ending: 8/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

The feelings I had while watching this:
*Some anticipating moments since I wanted to know what will happen next.
*Some excitement moments during action scenes.
*Entertainement moments were included too.
*I don't think there were any boring moments during the film; only some slow moments but they didn't last for long.

*Is this film memorable: yes, I think it can be considered as a memorable film although it isn't special.

My impresion: 8/10

6) Overall:

*If you like action films with a slight of romance then you may want to watch this.
*If you like strong female leads and cool male leads then this is for you.
*If you're into undercover films then you would like this.

Overall: 8.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Parallel Life
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 16, 2014
Feb 16, 2014
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Have you ever heard about the line “The person makes his own destiny/fate”? Well, this film will make you question that saying from the bottom of your heart amongst other things.

After watching many Korean suspense thrillers, I became surer that there’s no other genre that can top thrillers in Korean cinema because they’re simply too good at making those and Parallel Life belongs to the good ones. This film starts off read more a bit slow and may not captivate your interest ever since the beginning, but all of those introductions were necessary for the film’s latter events and developments.

Parallel Life analyses the “Parallel theory” where two people have the exact same life with an amount of years apart. Of course that may seem unbelievable at the beginning and can always be considered as a coincidence but as the film develops, many facts come to light and surprise us. In order to conclude whether a thriller suspense film was good or not, you need to ask yourself this simple question: “Was I surprised and entertained”? If the answer is “no” then the film was a failure for its genre but if it was a “yes” then you know that this film can be considered a good one out of its genre. Parallel Life fits in the second category.

This film’s suspense and mystery were tight and intriguing, they always manage to attract you in and make you suspect every single character that appears on screen. What makes this film even more captivating is the final outcome, you can hardly predict who was behind it all even if the “why” was a little obvious to me but it’s intriguing how can the “Parallel theory” interfere that deeply in one’s life.

The acting was pretty well done. I am ashamed to admit that this is my first time seeing Ji Jin Hee in anything. But this first successful encounter will allow me to pick many of his other productions because he was truly amazing in this as well as many other actors. The characters were nicely written, it was interesting to find out the similarities between Kim Seok Hyun and Han Sang Jun as well as their destinies and the way things will turn out to be. The characterization is written in a way that will oblige you to relate to them.

In a line, I would mention that the cinematography was good enough and the music was fitting for the thriller/suspense mood.

Watch if:
-You’re looking for a good suspense/thriller.
-You like the Korean way of making thrillers.
-You like surprising plots.

Do not watch if:
-You dislike the genres.
-You’re looking for a bloody/violent thriller.

Parallel Life is a well-crafted suspense thriller which appeals to the fans of intriguing plots.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Runway Cop
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 14, 2013
Jan 14, 2013
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I gave a try to watch this movie because of Kang Ji Hwan (Lie To Me). I should say that the movie's NOT BORING and there were LOTS of HILARIOUS moments going on 'til the end of the story. Kang Ji Hwan and Lee Hee Joon's (Unexpected You) acting were great and they brilliantly showed their versatility as an actor. I give 7 for the story because there were some parts that read more I think are a little bit misleading, but overall I like this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kurosagi: The Movie
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 4, 2012
Apr 4, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Well i am one of those people who fell in love with Kurosagi the drama and was impatiently waiting for the movie. I was hoping that they would finish the drama in a great way but i was kind of disappointed in the story and the movie's events; it's like they went to point 0 of the drama just like nothing happpened at the end which made me angry but being able read more to see Kurosagi's tricks all over again worth watching.
If you watched the drama you'il probably dislike this but as i said earlier seeing the old tricks worth wasting your time on it.
Yes it could have been better but the effort is granted.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lust, Caution
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 3, 2011
Jul 3, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
The synopsis posted doesn't really describe this film well. It is a story of a rebel underground in Japan occupied China in the 40's. A woman in the underground is sent to spy on and seduce a man for information regarding the Japanese. She is deep undercover, literally and figuratively and after a while, the lines of her job and her emotions become blurred.

This film has a very 40's film noir read more feelng and it's nicely shot. The costumes and set design are pretty to look at as well. The story interested me because living in America, you don't often get a good history of World War II seen from other points of view during that time. There was a lot going on in the world at that time; in China, Spain and Russia not just the major players like England, France, Germany, Japan and so on.

The sex scenes are intense but they lent themselves to the relationship of the two involved. Through their passionate affair you watch the spy and the target fall victim to what happens when you become physically intimate with someone. Feelings inevitably get involved. There were some scenes frought with tension as you watch the woman get in over her head in the name of her cause.

I'm giving this a 10 for great acting, directing and script. This is a very well done film. There is a reason why it was nominatd for so many awards including Best Foreign Film by The Golden Globes and BAFTA.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No