Sort by:
One Smile is Very Alluring
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 hours ago
15 hours ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
THIS REVIEW IS ONLY BASED ON THIS MOVIE, NOT THAT OF THE ORIGINAL WORK.

***SPOILER ALERT***SPOILER ALERT***
[If you haven't read the novel, watched the TV drama version, and know nothing of the plot and do not want it spoiled for you, then read no further... if that's not you OR you don't care, read on....]

I'm not gonna break my review down by sections. My review is a juxtaposition of the read more others and how I felt it compared:

The consolidation of scenes, characters, and information in the movie version was interesting. Not horrible, but definitely not 100% true to the original story. Zhen Shao Xiang's personality being consolidated into a combo of him and Cao Guang was kind of abrupt for me. Or KO being the manager of the internet cafe?? Wasn't expecting that. ..putting Hao Mei and KO's story as filler while rolling the credits was kind of dumb. Without "context" you missed the significance of that and it just became some kind of embarrassing moment for Hao Mei. ..frankly, I think they came at this project with the idea that everyone had either read the novel or watched the TV version. There's so much missing that without knowing anything, this movie would feel incomplete.

This Wei Wei is more outgoing than she's supposed to be. That's the aspect of her character that's really important in her connection with Xiao Nai. She's pure, innocent, shy, humble, and doesn't like to draw attention to herself. In this version, she's really not that way at all. She's much more extrovert and dominant, no where near passive. If you like her better this way, it's simply personal preference, but it's not the true character of her as written in the novel. And just as this Wei Wei is more extroverted, and not so shy, this Xiao Nai is a bit more emo and less hard-to-read, badass, cutthroat who was always 2 steps ahead of everyone else.

...and bottom line, what I really want to say, the BROMANCE and the relationship between him and his "brothers" and Wei Wei was really, really, REALLY, really lacking for me int this movie version. For me, that was as important if not MORE important than the romance between Xiao Nai and Wei Wei. I loved the whole "family" feel and it just enhanced their romance all the more. In this version, I just felt wanting; I felt lacking; I was waiting for there to be more of a close feeling with Wei Wei and the "brothers" but, more than half way through they barely had anything to say to each other. It was sad.

The ending was beyond rushed. Not only did they really let us down with anytime with the "brothers" but the whole 2nd part about their company and Wei Wei and Xiao Nai becoming closer to the point of marriage was basically completely skipped over. Not fulfilling for me at all.

My Best Fangirl Moment:
~At 1:32:00, when the Chinese League of Legends team, Invictus Gaming [IG] gets interviewed by Panda TV about the "Young" company of Xiao Nai. Rookie introduces himself and the team. Rookie is one of those South Korean players that the Chinese spent loads of money to transfer to China to play. Then, from left to right, you have Zzitai[top], Kitties[support], Rain[ADC] and another South Korean player, ending with Kid [jgl]... that means obviously that Rookie is IG's midlaner.... I just simply loved this little moment in time!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Memories of Matsuko
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 hours ago
21 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
A beautiful psychedelic tragic comedy is the memories of Matsuko .
This movie is smart innovate, gave me requiem for a dream feels mixed with momento flashes .
I was hooked after 5 minutes.
The story of a young man who is given a task by his dad to go clean up a dirty apartment of his deceased aunt Matsuko.
We watch the movie through Eita's eyes as he cleans his aunts read more apartment and discover her true identity.
With great comical scenes and depressive nature of the movie it covers a huge part of Japanese society of what was it and how much changed through the years.
As you see Matsukos braveness through out you start cheering for her even though you already know at the starting of the movie she is dead, this movie covers a lot of themes in Japan from yakuza to AV idols to perfect housewives and many more with on going amazing music scores this is a masterpiece.
I think it's the first time a movie made me laugh and cry in 5 seconds intervals, a true gem is found.
highly recommended it's perfect.
I'm still in shock just wow.
http://dramanice.eu/memories-of-matsuko/watch-memories-of-matsuko-episode-1-online
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Days of Being Wild
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I've finally completed Wong Kar-wai's "Informal Trilogy" in such a weird sequence: In the Mood for Love, 2046 and now Days of Being Wild.

If I've said that In The Mood for Love will make you feel exactly just that and 2046 would make you in the mood for heartbreaks then Days of Being Wild will give you the mood to be just that—wild.

Days of Being Wild is only Kar-wai's second read more film and it both shows his infancy but also how he shaped his identity as a director as well as his characters, some of which have regularly appeared throughout the Informal Trilogy.

Leslie Cheung plays the young and charismatic but emotionally unstable, York who is a womanizer. Cheung, whom I have seen in Happy Together with Tony Leung is really a charismatic character. He embodies a sexiness that's untamed and draws you in as a viewer. It's no wonder that two of his flames are so madly in love with him. Much like in his character in said film, Cheung here is also on the verge of self-destruction further heightened by his familial identity.

But Kar-wai doesn't just focus on Cheung. He also gives us Maggie Cheung's Su Li Shen, Carina Lau's Mimi and to an extent, Andy Lau's Tide perspectives—all of whom are grappled with their own frustrations that ultimately involves York. It's York's own biological identity that shapes his relationship with women and eventually, how he lives. He is damaged but it is not romanticized. Kar-wai isn't a pessimist, he is just showing rawness.

Kar-wai traits also plague the screen: cramped spaces that seem to emit suffocation, unusual angles highlighting the characters and their interactions, dark and damp and nostalgic setting—all embody Kar-wai's consistency as a director and how his filmmaking drives his story as much as character even if it's lack of a strong plot.

There is so much tension in this film, so much dramatic build-up and so much longing. How much does Li Shen long for York? How much does Mimi long for York? How much does York long for his mother? How much does Tide long for Li Shen? Each minute is made with beauty, each glimpse, each touch feels like it's consuming you. Just like Li Shen and York's memorable 1 minute, Days of Being Wild has been another memorable beauty of a film.

This film, itself, is about identity. Who is York to his biological parents? Who is Li Shen without York? Who is Mimi when she is not Mimi? Who is Tide as a sailor? Every fleeting seconds matter in discovering who we are and how each person in our life shape us.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rigor Mortis
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 3.5
  • Acting/Cast 3.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
this movie was entertaining but in short not that good. this shouldn't be categorized as horror because it wasn't. a good laugh, though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sailor Suit and Machine Gun
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I had wanted to see this movie for a long time. It's pretty hard to come by a decent quality stream with reliable English subs, but after a few weeks of searching, I found a site. Maybe the fact that I had hoped so hard for a good movie at the end of my long quest doomed me to disappointment, nevertheless, I was unprepared for the let down.

The premise seemed intriguing read more and potentially badass. A teenage girl takes over her dead father's yakuza gang as a boss. Over the course of the film, she has at least one intimate moment with each of the gang members usually right before they get unceremoniously killed. The gang is doomed to failure, but we follow them for their one last hurrah- taking down their rivals. Our heroine, Izumi Hoshi, is played by 1980s J-pop idol, Hiroko Yakushimaru. The theme song, beautifully sung by Hiroko, is for sure the best part of the whole movie. Otherwise, the gangster story is told in a herky jerky way, with stuff happening out of nowhere and motivations unclear and seemingly random. It's a confusing sit, even ignoring the language and cultural barrier.

I found myself unable to connect to any of the characters. The acting is pretty wooden all across the board, we never really get to know any of the characters, and despite a few charming or touching moments (like the weird mommy complex scene with Aki and Izumi), I couldn't care about any of the people I was watching. Their actions were random and inconsistent. I couldn't keep them all straight as none of them really had enough of a personality to distinguish them apart.

The movie itself is chock full of WTF. Why does this group of adult men, GANGSTERS, mind you, wholeheartedly embrace the idea of a fifteen year old girl as their boss? Aside from the iconic, finale of the machine gun scene, Izumi never does anything badass. She gets captured, humiliated, jerked around, and stuffed into the backseat of her enemy's cars. Why would a yakuza respect this weepy kid?

The clips I had seen beforehand were of the most iconic moments- Izumi pumping a rival gang's lair full of lead while wearing her sailor suit. That idea stuck in my mind while I watched this messy little movie- even when I started to get bored, I just kept telling myself, something badass while come soon. The climax I was anticipating ended up amounting to a minute or two of actual action.

Despite the fact that this was a very watchable movie (time flew by), it is told in a confusing and disappointing manner. I know this is a cult classic, but a premise like this deserves a better movie. The music is by far the best part. If you can find this movie and you like Japanese gangster fare from the 80s, you can do worse. As it stands, this is weak, breezy movie with one or two iconic images and a kickass theme song.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Alice: Boy from Wonderland
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
The plot is not so confused! I found out the story behind the hints, that director gave us, easily .. I love it from the beginning until the end. Editing was a little bit confused but I loved so much the story and the play of the actors that it didn't bothered me. Jung So Min was absolutely perfect as Hye Jung, every second in the movie I saw clearly in her read more face the feelings that I am supposed to feel too. Hong Jong Hyun was so adorable as Hwan. His character made me love him! The ending was more beautiful than I expected. <3
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
For Love
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Exeo
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
===A nice, easy watch, but nothing too ambitious===

Broadly speaking, the topic of the movie is the relationship status of the main character and what it might mean to be a suitable husband candidate in modern China.

STORY
The plot starts off relatively slowly. After the initial scene, almost half of the movie is devoted to sister's assessment of the protagonist's long-time boyfriend. Some of these scenes drag a little bit, but read more then on the other hand there are some funny and enjoyable moments as well. Later on the pace picks up and a lot of significant events happen within a relatively short time frame.
In my opinion it would be better if the pace of the movie was a little bit more consistent throughout, but overall it was acceptable. The story is a little cliche, but still nicely done.
The movie was an interesting watch as it allowed one to understand stereotypical Chinese marriage requirements (a good job as well as owning a house and a nice car are expected from the prospective groom). Furthermore, it shows the protagonist being faced with the 'money or love' dilemma - and how relatives express their care by interfering with the choice of life partners.

ACTING
The acting was good and the actors appearance matched well their character types. There were very good interactions between the main leads.

MUSIC
Soundtrack was not very noticeable, but neither was it disturbing. Overall ok.

Overall, a nice film to watch with a good mixture of (somewhat cliche) drama, romance and comedy. Do not be discouraged by the slow start...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Somewhere Only We Know
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This movie left me in tears... The story was heart warming and I think it will stay with me for awhile.
The only part of this movie that i disliked was the terrible english dubbing, but aside from that, I'm in love with it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wolf Girl and Black Prince
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Disclaimer: I haven't seen the anime or read the manga, so I'm not going to compare the two or judge how faithful of an adaptation this was. But even without any prior knowledge of the story, I could tell they left stuff out. If you're a fan of either, don't go in expecting a perfect book-to-movie. You'll just be disappointed.

It's your typical high school romance shoujo manga live-action. You probably know read more the kind. If you like these movies, you like them. If you don't, you don't. I'm not going to delve into the plot; the synopsis does a good job.

I really did not like the directing. The characters would have these long conversations, especially at the end with the most important conversation in the entire movie, and the camera would be super zoomed out for the entire thing and you couldn't read their expressions. And with a character like Kyoya's, you need to do a lot of reading because he doesn't express his thoughts in words. Really bad decision on the director's part..

I am a huge fan of Yamazaki Kento, but I don't think he was right for this role. I wasn't totally convinced of his jerk-ness.

The story also seemed a bit rushed, particularly the beginning, but that's pretty typical with live action adaptions. It's hard to fit multiple volumes into two hours. I just wish we got a bit more in the middle to show more of the character development. Again, a fault of the director.

There's not much to say. Except for the directing, I personally didn't have any other problems with the movie. It was a cute and lighthearted watch. If you want to just kick back and take a break from your stressful dramas, Wolf Girl and Black Prince is a nice choice.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hwayi: A Monster Boy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Whoa, I expect it to be dark but not this dark. But it took me by surprise, you will feel some emotion which you will think like " wait am' I supposed to be happy, sad, oh snap, or disgusted right now".

The cast was really amazing, especially Yeo Jin Goo. He really played well his role. He really surprised me. It's really hard to find young actor that are really good read more at playing well their role

If you like movies with action, killing, fighting against what's good or bad. Well, I guess you should give this movie a try. Just see this movie as Korean version of Hitman. Like a side story. When he was little after becoming a real hitman.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Way Trip
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
I feel sad and empty. Ji Soo is way too good at giving me the feels as it is, but they also had to bring these four and put them through that story line to make me experience darkness. Nice.

For better or for worse this movie felt too real. Give it a watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Perfect Man's Man
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
this was a surprised for me, it has a nice story. actors looks like amateurs tho. i also enjoyed the soundtracks. it has the indie feel to it so don't expect too much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It started in June, while I was still living in Korea that I suddenly started hearing about this movie everywhere. All of my friends were anticipating it and sharing the trailers everywhere and when the movie finally came to theaters, most of them went to see it immediately. They would come back with their minds blown and tell me how good it was and how I "must go see it". Well, I read more left Korea before I had the chance to, but luckily it was shown in a movie festival here in Finland and I was able to book the tickets.

Train to Busan is an action packed intense thriller that keeps you on your toes at all times. The movie is categorized as horror, but I wouldn't consider it as such; quite frankly, I wasn't scared at any point (I don't believe in zombies, maybe that's why). Startled, yes, but not scared. The story is fast-paced and well tied-together and I really liked the way they concluded the ending. That being said, I don't think it is as good as it was played out to be.

The acting in the movie is top-notch with the exception of a few cast members (you know who I mean). It is a well-known fact that Gong Yoo is a great actor but some other performances in this movie were just as amazing, if not more. My favorite character without a doubt was Sanghwa, played by Ma Dong Seok. His character brought in a refreshing humor aspect, but he was also portrayed as a great, warmhearted husband and a total badass. I fell in love with Choi Woo Shik and his tight baseball pants and we can't forget the female lead, Jung Yu Mi. She was a well-built, strong and believable character. Kim Soo An was very convincing, I'm sure we'll be seeing her a lot in the future.

However, with the great acting aside, I feel like this movie lacked a bit in the plot department. I am not a horror movie lover, in fact, it's the number one genre I usually avoid, just to be able to get a good night sleep. Still, a bit more excitement would have been in place. To be honest, a zombie movie categorized as horror can't possibly have huge surprises on the way but occasionally it felt like the plot was dragging a little bit and certain sequences were repetitive and at times even boring. There was a strange realism to the bright lighting of the the movie that reminds the viewers of the fact that it doesn't have to be night for terrifying things to happen. Regrettably, even so I somehow think that a darker setting would have helped to make the horror more... horrory.

To name a couple more successful choices that were made, I definitely enjoyed the styling of the zombies as well as other graphics. The music was also fast paced and added to the intensity. All in all Train to Busan is a movie worth watching, although I suggest you don't jump into it with too high expectations, just to avoid unnecessary disappointment.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Summer
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
What can you say? I'm emotionally exhausted. Beautiful, sensitive, moving experience. Faultless.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Swing Girls
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
"There are two different people in this world, one who swings and one who don't."
I may not be the type of person who likes to swing but this movie eventually changed my heart.

The story is simple. Melodrama and over-the-top comedy were thrown out the window. But how it was concocted made this film really refreshing and pleasant to watch. With a pretty setting to boot, these bunch of juvenile girls read more in uniform took me on a funny, crazy, rollicking ride in their pursuit to becoming capable independent youth brass band.

One great fact about this film is that these girls took intensive practice and rehearsal to fill-in their gap as a brass band. So yes, they know how to play those instrument on/off film. Surprisingly, they performed their famous line-up onstage during promotional tours. I guess those months in training and experience eventually formed an amazing chemistry between the band members. It felt so real and genuine which I think is one of the main reason why I came to care and love them more.

One more thing, this movie won't be complete without the jazz and musical scores. Like I said, I wasn't a fan of jazz before. But once I heard them play, I can't stop tapping my foot or dancing to the tune. Even the funny parts were so much fun to imitate. Anyone I know who have seen it came to appreaciate jazz for the first time in their life.

I recommend this film to those who wants to unwind and feel good at the end of the day. Such simple yet sincere film like this are rare to come across. They may be a once in a lifetime brass band but those timeless tune they shared will always stay in my heart. "doo?~dat?~doo?~dat?" That's jazz beat 101 for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No