Sort by:
Samurai Rebellion
17 of 17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Being a fan of the golden Japanese cinema, you’ve got to love Akira Kurosawa; he’s a legend after all but there are few films that made me put Masaki Kobayachi at the same level as Kurosawa if not a little higher, Samurai Rebellion is one of those films.

Set in the peaceful Edo era, the film is a human drama instead of a straight chambara (swords play) film like the title displays read more so do not expect heads rolling and straightforward Samurai action the whole time. Once again, Kobayachi harshly criticize the ancient Japanese feudal system and the Bushido codes of Samurai honour that requires blind loyalty.

Screenwriter Hashimoto (Kurosawa’s regular) did a magnificent job with the story’s shades, turns and flashbacks in a way that would make you anticipate the developments of the story; it may feel slow paced at times but that’s the usual Kobayachi way of building strong tension to end it with a blow; heroism was created little by little until it reached the end. The term “Rebellion” isn’t exactly what you think when reading the title, it’s not the story of a samurai establishing justice or honoring his lord, this is the story of an elder samurai’s own codes of honour to help his son and daughter-in-law through the injustice caused by their clan’s lord and the closest higher-ups. Instead of blind loyalty and accepting unfairness without asking questions, they decided to go against their feudal lord, the system and the world they live in.

Samurai Rebellion is also viewed as a family drama with many displayed emotions and connections. It also contains the most touching romantic story I’ve ever seen in any Samurai film; the sacrifices, the mutual understandings and the painful injustice leading to separation. However, that doesn’t deny the presence of action especially at the end. The dual and the fight sequences were splendid considering the fact that they were used to get all of that intensity that’s been constructing during the whole film. It made the perfect finale of the film.

Is it really necessary to talk about acting? It’s Mifune Toshiro, the legendary best actor Japan ever knew and one of the better actors in the world; people usually know Mifune in Kurosawa’s films where he always shined but let me tell you, Mifune’s performance with Kobayachi was one of his finest works ever; he did a flawless job with the character of an elder samurai who built a hero out of himself to confront injustice. There’s also Nakadai Tatsuya, the second Japanese legend. Although he was only a supporting role, he delivered so well and I must say that I completely loved his character that sounded mysterious; he was someone who had to be torn apart between his greed to be the best swordsman in the clan, to be a friend or to serve his lord according to the samurai codes of honour. Someone else deserve all the praise is Tsukasa Yoko, she had one of the strongest female performances I’ve seen in the golden Japanese cinema. Her character Ichi was also one of the better female characters displayed in Samurai films.

The black and white cinematography was top-notch just like the camera angles and the smooth close-ups because Kobayachi is a masterful director after all. What also should be highlighted is the superb music choice to empathize the emotional involvement.

Watch if:
-You like Samurai films.
-You want to discover old Japanese films.
-You like Toshiro Mifune because this is one of his better works.
-You like Masaki Kobayachi’s way of making films.

Do not watch if:
-You dislike old films (black and white).
-You dislike Samurai films.

Samurai Rebellion is a timeless Kobayachi masterpiece that defies the usual definitions of samurai codes of honor in the most brutal tragic way.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love You You
17 of 17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 24, 2012
Apr 24, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
at first I thought this was another of those chique movies you would see...but the stor y was so great it was like perfectly done from beginning to end.

everything was planned and I can see that they had made no flaws of obviousness unlike in other movies...

although I somewhat wasn't convinced with Angela Baby's acting(sorry fans), atleast it was compensated by Eddie Peng. but the movie together with the stars read more are a good maatch. a perfect one indeed....it made me cry when I shouldn't be actually because it's a nice story. JUST WATCH IT.

I RECOMMEND IT SO BADLY.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kurosagi: The Movie
17 of 17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 29, 2011
Apr 29, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
If you loved the Kurosagi series, then you probably will not like this movie. For me, it didn't add any closure, especially with the relationship between the main cast. Maki only had 5 minutes in the entire movie. It was just like another normal episode. I loved the music and Yamapi did a great job with his character, but it was just Yamapi, the cop, and the old guy the entire time. read more



I was very disappointed. So if you have seen the series and watch this, just think of it as a bonus episode and not a movie. If you haven't already watched the series then I suggest you do because it is quite clever and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Postman To Heaven
25 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 20, 2012
May 20, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is one of the most beautifully shot movies I have yet watched...
You know, I watched this movie first time a year ago, and rated it 7, and when I rewatched it yesterday, I was socked how I could have 'insulted' this movie that much, maybe I can say I was not attentive enough during my first watch (though that's a lame excuse, as yesterday my eyes were glued to the read more screen)... Let's say I wasn't in the right state of mind for this movie at that time... I am glad I suddenly decided to rewatch it yesterday.
The cinematography is so perfect, there were scenes my breath was caught somewhere in my throat... The colors (if you decide to watch it just download it, and preferably HD, the bigger the file, the better, trust me) were driving me crazy! The hill on which they placed the mailbox became one of the places I want to visit before I die, it's the most beautiful, peaceful place! The way they shot it at least made me want to go there,sometimes it seemed I could even see the wind blowing the grass and the hair of two lonely characters standing there...
The plot is simple, and honestly I didn't need more complicated, as the scenes were so rich visually, other complications were unnecessary...
Acting is wonderful! As a big fan of Han Hyo-Joo, one more time came to adore her character.
First thing about JaeJoong I noticed was his husky voice, which drove me crazy, I was WAITING for him to talk... I think he was a perfect person to portray JaeJoon...
The music is very complimentary to the movie, perfect match... calm, relaxing and light...
Also the symbolic meaning of the movie adds to it value so much more... White lies to help people, is it right or wrong? Teaching a lesson by making the person to look at life from a whole another angle of life... Learning how to withstand the difficulties of life from zero... falling in love after being hurt...falling in love...^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4th Period Mystery
16 of 16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 4, 2012
Apr 4, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Well, Well, Well... I didn't expect this film to be that good after reading the synopsis, but I was pleasantly surprised. Considering that this was one of the first films the young actors had played in their acting was spot on. With this kind of film it could be easy for them to go over the top and become unlikeable horrible teenagers but I found them relatable and more importantly likeable.

The read more storyline was good, it had be guessing at the murderer all the way through and wasn't obvious. The film was just right in length, short enough to keep the thrills up and long enough to tell the story without confusion.

Watch this if you love a good mystery but with a bit of comedy and doesn't take itself too seriously.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hello Ghost
15 of 15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 15, 2012
Jul 15, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is a story of being lost...Being found...And the people who accompany you, in the road we called life.

We always thought that we are alone...But we aren't alone. There is always someone, somewhere that love us. That guide us. That give us strength and comfort.

This movie make me laughed. Make me cry. But above all, make me think of that hugs I didn't give...Those "I'm sorry" I didn't say...Those "I read more Love You" I hush...

I totally love this movie, and I recommend that you prepare some tissues... Because you will need them!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sophie's Revenge
22 of 23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 18, 2012
May 18, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I don't usually watch Chinese rom-coms but this one slipped away when I was watching too many romantic comedies.

2) Storyline/Plot:

The general story isn't something special or new but the way everything was mixed together made the film's story interesting somehow.

Positive points:

*The film's introduction was a good intro for what will happen next.
*There were two well-written twits that you don't usually find read more in romantic comedies stories: that was a nice change.
*Leads mixture was really cool even though it wasn't that intense.
*Finally and most importantly, there were several hilarious moments to make the film lighter.

Negative points:

*Although there were a respectable amount of negative points but I will only mention that the revenge plot wasn't that great, it would have been much better if it was written otherwise.

Story: 7.5/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Zhang Ziyi: It was a surprise to see her in a rom-com film since I only saw her in Wuxia productions before. I was convinced by her acting but I can't say the same about her character.
*Other actors were good too, they knew how to make it really enjoyablespecially Fan Bing Bing she grasped the evil role perfectly but So Ji Sub was a disappointement here (mainly because I rarely like Korean actors in Chinese or Taiwanese productions).

*The chemistry was believable but not that enjoyable.

Cast: 7/10
Acting: 7.5/10

4) The ending:

Although it could have been much better but script writers chose to make it expected. It wasn't bad overall.

The ending: 7/10.

5) My impression (How did affect me):

*Although it wasn't a special film, it was entertaining and I had fun while watching it.
*Considering the fact that I don't watch Chinese romantic comedies, this was pretty good.

My impression 7/10.

6) Overall:

*If you like romantic comedies then you would like this.
*Ifyou like revenge plots then don't expect much from this.


Overall: 7/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love in Disguise
28 of 30 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 4, 2012
May 4, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
1-The reason I watched this : I was looking for an idol film so I end up wayching this.

2-Storyline/Plot : Many would think that the story of an idol falling for a normal girl is so common and cheesy but this film story took a different level since it focused on finding a soulmate through music so the plot's setting was sort of unique. However, the romantic side wasn't satisfying since read more the story's development didn't focus on many important elements.
The music in here was amazing: a combination between classical Chinese music and the modern Chinese pop; I don't really focus on any film/drama's music while watching especially Chinese ones but the music felt like a deep core in this film. Great job!!

3-Acting/Cast : Wang Leehom has done everything here: playing the dorkey, the famous, the smart, the dumb; he did a great job indeed.
The lead actress succeeded in playing the innocent simple character; The cast was good enough and the acting was satisfying.

4-The ending : A typical rom-com ending; nothing special about it.

5-My Impression: Whan I started watching this film, I didn't have any expectations for it but later on I surprised myself by liking it plus I was literally blown by the music, I never thought that it could've been that great.

6-Overall : If you're rom-com lover then you would like this.
If you like idol shows then you need to watch this.
If you like classical or modern Chinese music then you would love this.
If you like Wang Leehom then you really need to watch this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Too Beautiful to Lie
20 of 21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 21, 2012
Jun 21, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I remember watching this film in a "Friends night", I wasn't the one who chose it but I appreciated the choice.

2) Storyline/Plot:

Generally speaking,the film's story wasn't original or great but the script writers knew how to get the audience intention.

Positive Points:

*This film is directed to any type of audience since it has the elements that would keep most of viewers attracted.

*Main read more Genres:

--->Humor: It made this film cool and light plus laughter scenes were so diversified and frequently present especially at the beginning. It's the type of humor that keeps you expecting more, the funny scenes were hilarious especially for those who like comedy because when you don't laugh, you would be smiling.
Even though this genre wasn't present in the middle or near the end but it's considered as highly satisfying.

--->Romance: Since it's a romantic comedy, the romance was fair enough to the film's genre. I wouldn't say it's the most attractive romantic story but it was acceptable enough to consider it as a positive point.

Negative Points:

*I will mention that some situations were badly expressed in a way that would make you think that story lacked something.
*There were some blank moments during the film.
*The story wasn't really that special nor very captivating, it's the humor that gave it charm.

Story: 7/10.

3) Acting/Cast:

*Kang Dong Won:

I am always amazed by this actor's skills, charisma and the way he portrays his roles. Here he was a little different from his other productions but I would say that this film proved his amazing acting skils since he can adjust to any character.
Speaking about the character, I would say that it has the kind of naive personality but it gave me good laughter moments. I wouldn't judge Choi Hee Cheol deeply because its actions were set by the story so I rather praising Kang Dong Won acting.

*Kim Ha Neul:

I am sort of used to her roles, this actress is predictable somehow. Here, it wasn't any different but her way of expressing the character was appreciated. However, I have to admit that her way in portraying the role was a little weird at first then as the film went on everything was set smoothly.
The character is one of those independent females. Ju Yeongju lies and professional pretens made the character appealing and enjoyable most of the time plus it was really convincing.

*Other cast: most of them were acceptable exept Ju Yeongju friends, they were really annoying to watch. I speacially liked the grandmother, she was really funny because of the line that she always say.

*Relationships:

--->Romance: I wouldn't say there was a great chemistry here but it's all due to the storyline.

--->The leads relationship with the family and the village members: it was really cool to watch; it was sort of heartwarming and great to see how everyone treats each other.

Cast: 7/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

It was predictable yet cool.

Then ending: 7/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I was giggling with my friends almost most of the time, it was fun.
*There weren't a lot of boring moments plus it was entertaining.

*Is this film memorable : If I will keep any memory of it, that would be because of the funny moments that I had while watching this film.

My impression: 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like romantic comedies then you may want to watch this.
*If you would like to laugh then this is for you.
*If you're looking for an entertaining film to pass time with then watch this.

Overall: 7.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Taiyo no Uta
20 of 21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 13, 2011
Oct 13, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I wish I could complain about this movie. Ok wait, i don't. This movie was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!



Story: 10/10 The story is one that will motivate you while tears stream down your eyes. It has themes of "High School" romance mixed in with following your dreams to the very end.



Cast/Acting 10/10 I couldn't ask for a better cast. They truly did a flawless job.
read more

Music: 10/10 I still listen to the theme song by Yui (who also acted in this movie) two weeks after I watched the movie. The only "downside" about this movie is that you get addicted to the wonderful music by Yui.



Rewatch Value: 9/10 This is such a beautiful movie that I would definitely rewatch.



Overall 10/10 (i'd give it a 15/10 if I could!). Definitely watch this movie. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Legendary Courtesan Hwang Jin Yi
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 16, 2012
Apr 16, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This movie is really underrated. I was really surprised to see it didn't have much success in Korea, because to me this movie is a maserpiece.

Don't expect this movie to be a shorter version of the drama. This movie is a completetly different version of Hwang Jin Yi story. In this movie, Hwang Jin Yi was raised as a noble during all her childhood, and this is only when she turn read more fifteen that her life change all of the sudden.

Unlike the drama this movie focus on Jin Yi's personality, rather than her art, so those who expect a lot of music and dance will be disapointed. But the OST of the drama is really beautiful.

One thing I absolutely loved in this movie, was the settings and the costumes. The landscapes are beautiful, the architecture and costume are really subtle and delicate. Everything isn't flashy with bright color, you have deep blue, black lace, green and black dresses, black hair ornements, all those dark color contrasting with the ivory skin of Hwang Jin Yi and make her gaze mesmerinzing : all her expessions are magnified.

This is a captivating and moving piece of art that I recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kids
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 17, 2011
Dec 17, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
The main reason I watched it is because of TEPPEI KOIKE (Lovely Complex) and TAMAKI HIROSHI (Nodame Cantabile).


Since I don't know anything about the plot, I just watch it our of pure luck and curiosity. Thinking it now, I AM GLAD I DID.

It is one of the films Japan can take pride of. The theme about friendship is really something anyone would love to watch. And this film showcases how read more far can you sacrifice yourself for a friend and how can a friend change your life for the better.


If you have watched and liked Orthros no Inu, you will surely love its FICTIONAL content. This is dramatic but brilliance.

TOTALLY RECOMMENDABLE!!!!!


And for Shonen-ai lovers, you can feel the fan service here. Although only a little. :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Project Makeover
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 18, 2012
May 18, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
There are many overrated movies out there but there are even more underrated ones. I believe Project Makeover is one of the latters.

STORY: The story may be flawed (just tiny flaws but still you have to call a spade a spade), however it so bright and fresh that you cannot NOT be touched by it. The story is simple, I dare say even childish, but in the end it gives you read more this warm feeling that life is life, you can't change the past but it doesn't mean you can't enjoy the future. In short, the story is simple, full of life, a bit different from your lambda movie and with a sweet moral. I really think this movie has for goal to make people go forward in life and it kinda does.

ACTING/CAST: The only actor I "knew" was the young version of Tae Hoon -Yu Geon played in Prosecutor Princess- and it was a nice surprise to see him play here (I'm shallow.Sue.Me). He played the nerdy character so well it was hard for me not to forget he was the hottie from PP, which means that his acting was pretty damn good.
I did see the adult version of Tae Hoon play in More Than Blue but honestly MTB was a joke, a blank one at that, so of course it's not surprising that he looks a hundred times more dashing here.
The woman who played Jeong Ju's mother stole my heart. I don't know if it was the way the actress played the mother or the actress's charisma but the character gave me a lot of feelings.
Overall the actors did a very good job with their characters and one should give credits to the people who held the casting since except maybe Tae Hoon, the actors playing the older versions really look like the older versions of the actors playing the younger ones (omg I don't know how to explain it well but I hope you managed to understand anyway).

MUSIC: The music was good, quite catchy in fact but nothing exceptional either.

REWATCH VALUE: It's the kind of movie that you should rewatch when you think your life is a disaster because you didn't make the "right choice" because it gives you hope and strengh to believe in yourself.

OVERALL: If it wasn't clear enough, I really like this movie. It is bound to brighten one's mood. Of course, if you are some kind of old man who hates happiness and hope, you shouldn't watch it...but if you're not you defintely should (watch this movie I mean, not go all grumpy).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hot Summer Days
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 25, 2012
Apr 25, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
1-The reason i watched this : i was so bored then i found this movie so i decided to watch it in a try to cheer up but i end up getting even more bored, i was mostly attracted by the numerous stories .

2-Storyline/Plot : At first i thought that the story of the movie is going to make me love it since it have 5 diffrent love stories in summer read more but i was wrong i end up hating it, i usually fall for movies with numerous stories but this movie's story wasn't that good it was fair not the kind of story that will grasp your attention from the first moment.

3-Acting/Cast : the only strength point in this movie; it got some great actors that knows how to deliver feelings.

4-Music : i don't actually remember it so it got to be that bad.

5-Rewatch value : i couldn't stand watching it once and kept skipping some parts how about rewatching it i must be crazy if i do so.

6-The ending : the kind of ending that everyone want to see, i was expecting it anyway so there isn't much to tell about it because i hate it when i expect the ending and it turn out to be the same as my expectations. I was hoping that they will surprise me or something yet what i was anticipating actually happened.

7-Overall : i won't say watch it or not because that's up to you but if you're bored and looking for a movie to cheer up please avoid this movie, i really regret wasting my time on; it so not worth watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do
18 of 19 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 19, 2012
Apr 19, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
One of the first kmovies that I've seen.
Well, i can't deny that I watched it because of Jang Geun Seok since I loved his previous roles in dramas; in this movie I got to see a different side of him, the other cast were good too.
The story was fair enough; there was music, friendship, love , joy, sadness and a lot of heartwarming moments, if you're a teary person you'd read more definitely cry in many moments of the film.
Anyway, the movie have a love triangle the kind that will make you feel sorry for the one who loses at the end. Although, I didn't like the ending but it wasn't a sad ending.
It was a good film overall but my advice is: don't watch it with prejudices or high expectations, it will be much better that way.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No