Sort by:
I Wish
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 hours ago
7 hours ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Hirokazu Koreeda is a film makers that wields a gentle yet powerful touch especially in portraying his trademark family films. I Wish is no exception. Relatively much more upbeat and energetic compared to Nobody Knows or Like Father Like Son, I Wish is a tale of brotherhood and ultimately of growing up.

Koreeda understands children. Here, he portrays the children's "innocent" and wishful thinking in a manner that it should be. Koichi's read more wish of a family being together (to his final wish) shows a 12-year-old child's longing and eventual acceptance of the things he can and cannot change. Ryu's wish for something reflects his innocence to his final wish reflects his growth and understanding. This is the same for the other young supporting characters as well.

I Wish isn't dramatic, perhaps it would even come out not as strong as Koreeda's other films (it's tone is similar to that of Our Little Sister and both were received well in Cannes). But it didn't matter because the star of the film are the children and how they're making sense and living their own respective situations. It's gentle and it's so natural. Once again, Koreeda proves his consistency as a director with his trademarks: frame and music pacing, young talented cast, little details, family theme, the apparent contrasts, beautiful cinematography and symbolism.

Here, we have much more upbeat songs which reflects the film's overall tone. The two leads being brothers in real life is a very good decision as it helps a lot with the chemistry. That's also saying that the young cast is such a delight to watch. The little details in the sponge cake, swimming trunks, volcanic ash, CD, vegetable, horse-meat sashimi are recurring and symbolic throughout the film.

The central theme revolving around two bullet trains intersecting is also a really nice touch: it reflects the brothers and their life. Each living at the end of each other (one in Kagoshima, known from being next to a volcano and the other in Fukuoka while not "countrysides", it's less suffocating that Tokyo; hence, really beautiful setting) and each of them going in their separate ways. Hitching a plan to meet and see this "miracle" of two trains symbolizes them.

The apparent contrast between the two also compliment each other: the eldest is unhappy and grumpy, the younger one is energetic and happy. Living in Kagoshima is problematic while living in Fukuoka seems more carefree. The father is a happy-go-lucky while the mother is more serious. Koichi wears a uniform to school and lives with his grandparents while Ryu doesn't wear a uniform and lives his father and his band mates. These contrast work to show the opposite between the two yet what also ultimately ties them together: brotherhood.

Perhaps the fact that its 2 hour running time seem to feel a little draggy and long to watch. I had no problem with Our Little Sister's lack of direction/ultimate goal and just mere storytelling which is similar to I Wish but I think I Wish touches on little sub-plots that could have been avoided so as to not let it feel like it was too stretched out. But other than that, this is another one of Koreeda's great works.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Girls Love: Part 2
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I've watched it several times .. but the impact of miller to me is .... wahhhh!!!!! ^_^ I can't explain it .. :) My boyfriend is a lesbian that's why I am proud to miller and to all lesbian out there .. :)

--

ritzy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The King and the Clown
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
To be honest, I don't think a lot of people will grasp the magnitude of how powerful this movie is at first watch.

Heck when I first watched it I was all like "HUH?" and did not even both to watch closely. I would've rated it a 7-8 at first.

But on the second time around when I really paid attention, it was just so much more in depth and powerful than read more just friendship or love. The relations between the characters, the nature of each character, the impact that one character has on another, the emotions that flow through them and their actions...

I can't even explain it properly but just know that this movie did not become a huge Korean hit for no reason.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Werewolf Boy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Honestly it's just where I can't even rate it lower because the ending was too much for the heart ;___;

This is one of the movies where I'd like to call it a "cheat" movie, because in your head you know & can point out some flaws here and there, the simple storyline; but your heart just can't be harsh to it, and you just gotta cheat and give them a 10 read more anyways for the heart twinging ending ;___;

Their chemistry was just lovely as well; I would love to see Joong Ki & Bo Young act together again one day.

Of course everyone has their own opinions on the movie, but anyone that laughs at this movie for its ending is just too heartless.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
GOTH
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
by Plam
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
If I have to be honest I'm a bit confused about my feelings concerning this movie. I've read the manga version of this story, long before coming across this live-action, so the plot is nothing new to me and yet I must admit I'm surprised I liked it so much, despite the fact that I wasn't really impressed with the manga to begin with. I'm quite late finding out there was a read more movie actually, considering that it has been years since I read the manga and yet when I saw it the urge to watch it was irresistible. And now I think I finally know what lacked in the manga and what was the reason for my unfavorable opinion about this story for so many years. It is the atmosphere. It is not a thing you hear very often, but yeah. The live-action of "Goth" really have a better atmosphere than its' manga version. The camera angles, the colors or even their absence on some of the scenes, together with the actor's play, overall presentation and music really managed to put some nice touches on the right places and "give life" to this story.
It really turned out to be a better movie than I've ever thought could come out of the manga with the same name. And I really can't believe I'm saying this, but I think this movie has managed to become one of my most favorite psychological horrors to date. (And I don't usually like such movies...)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rurouni Kenshin
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Plam
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Watched it! Finally! And... What can I say... Well, for starters when the movie was first announced along with the cast I was more than sure that I'm not going to like it, probably even hate it. Kenshin is one of my most, most favorite characters ever, and to be honest, as much as I like Sato Takeru, I just couldn't image him as Kenshin in any way possible. The same thought read more was, still is actually, even stronger when it comes to the rest of the cast, which, in my eyes, is just... the worst ever imaginable (Who did this ridiculous casting anyway?), and I had about a million doubts on how the fights will be presented, or what parts of the story they will take and how they will ruin it, probably, and so on, and so on... I had about a million reasons to hate it but still... This is Kenshin, so despite everything said I had to watch it and to my absolute astonishment this movie is actually much, much better than I ever expected it to be...
The colors and the music are just amazing. Everything looks much more realistic than I thought it will be. The battle scenes were just breathtaking, without too much special effects, but still spectacular in kind of realistic way. The story is a nice mesh-up of the arcs at the begging of the manga (Thank God, they didn't try to cover the whole manga!). The characters were put up nicely and had some part in the story, not just being there, only for the fans to see them... Also the biggest surprise was that Sato is actually a pretty good Kenshin. Much more good than I would have ever given him credit for... After the first few scenes I found myself even liking him as Kenshin quite a lot... Still surprised at that!
Still... the movie gets a 9 from me, because I still don't like the rest of the cast, but as a whole this is one really good live-action, so Kenshin fan or not, I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Attack on Titan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Plam
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Hmm... So, if I say that I had no expectations about this movie, I will be lying. But I did try to keep them as low as possible, because, let's be honest, the story of Shingeki no Kyojin is next to impossible to portray in live-action, no matter what anyone is saying and we all know it. I doubt even one of the big Hollywood studios will be able to pull it read more of, so yeah... As a fan of both the series and manga, I tried to do my absolute best not to have expectations.
Sad truth is that the final product shows some signs that the staff involved at least tried to do something plausible. (When you have a story so impossible to portray you change it, okay. I get that.) But the way they tried to do it is just - laughable, or to say it simply it is like someone said - hey, let's just strip the story of everything that makes it genuine, put a few new characters, and take away all of the personality the few original characters have. The result - yet another love triangle story that just so happens to take place in a world full of man-eating creatures. (Yeah. This sentence basically summaries the whole movie. I am not kidding.)
And yeah, the staff really did try to create something plausible, because the movie is beautiful. The special effects are well done. The titans are almost believable, but to be honest the impact they could have made was totally lost because the characters in the story were the exact opposite. I could talk about how emotionless and blank-faced all of the cast is for hours, but I will limit myself only to Miura Haruma, who by the way I absolutely love, but even he (and how good he looks in the uniform) can't save this movie. In fact I think this is his worst role ever. Most of the time his Eren is just standing there looking hurt or blank-faced without any apparent reason for that. Not to mention that he spent almost the whole movie running from the titans, not fighting them. When we include the fact that everyone around him did almost the same, I think you get the picture.
I gave it a chance. I tried to think of something good to say , but what is there to like in a movie that made me laugh almost hysterically because of how ridiculous it was. I am rating it with 4.0, because as I said the movie is beautifully filmed and some of the scenes are well choreographed, but when you take it as whole the beauty is just not enough. So, yeah. I tried to expect basically nothing, but if I say that this movie is even worse than my lowest expectations I will not be lying. In fact, Haruma or not, this is just one of the worst live-action adaptations I have ever seen. And not because it doesn't follow the original story. But because it takes on original, out-of-the-box concept and replaces it with something stereotypical. Which is sad in a way, because they could have done so much better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Picnic
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Such a nice decision for Shunji Iwai to use walls as a symbol/metaphor than what it's normally being used for. Instead of walls being something that keeps these three main characters out, it becomes a way for them to see the world and experience freedom outside of the mental asylum.

Iwai's portrayal of mental illness is not wishy-washy nor is it romanticized. Instead, he gives us something real. These characters speak with read more the desire to be understood. Often, their words carry more than one meaning -- one that many misunderstand. When Satoru says, "Save me" while being strangled by blankets left to dry, he meant 1) literally save me 2) save me from this world and from myself. These little details are so nice and appreciated.

Picnic is a simple tale. With just an hour running time, Iwai embraces the cinematography with such beautiful visuals and light soundtrack, it tugs at your heartstrings. Despite being confined to wall within the walls, you feel like you are also exploring the world with the three main characters. Their stories are disturbing but that's precisely what makes it feel real. Carrying a picnic basket while watching the end of the world is such a simple act, it makes the "end of the world" feel as if it's just an every day thing.

While the theme of religion play here, I don't think Iwai is preaching. Instead, he gives the message that our life is dictated by us as much as we believe in God or not.

The final scene, black feathers contrast with the pink/yellow sun as it's about to set is so beautiful I will remember it forever.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Like Father, Like Son
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
When it comes to storytelling and themes, Hirokazu Koreeda is my favorite; the little details and the feels. Arguably, Koreeda is also one of the most consistent directors out there. Like Father, Like Son is no exception as it bears Koreeda trademarks: familial themes, little details, young cast with incredible acting, framing and music, among others.

Like Father, Like Son is bittersweet tale that is jarred with the power and emotional bond read more of family. It takes into question: what makes a family? Is it blood or is it the bond? Is blood truly thicker than water? Swapped children is nothing new, it's a trope. But what Koreeda does is look into this issue in detail, explore it, strip its characters bare and allows the viewer to experience (and question) the responsibilities, the decisions and the identities made/done in the film.

It is a dramatic film but not one that drowns you in useless melodrama, not one that forces you to cry and not one that feeds you with cheesy lines as family. But instead, there is rawness, there is delicate emotions portrayed and more importantly, there is realness.

Again, Koreeda channels extraordinary young talents with the two boys -- Keita and Ryusei. Not only does the contrast between the two complement their differences but it also intensifies the differences of the two families. How will a carefree boy adapt to an independent, almost traditional life? How will an independent boy adapt to a non-traditional, carefree life? How will a work-oriented father bond with his energetic, non-traditional son? How will a fun-oriented father bond with his traditional, almost serious son?

These challenges show that the people who struggle in these circumstances are not adults alone, but also the children. Keita (his real life name) portrays Keita's cuteness with invisible strength and innocence. Shogen Hwang portrayed Ryusei's energy with utmost maturity and curiosity.

Masaharu Fukuyama portrays Ryota with a distant facade that eventually tears down while Jun Kunimura balances it out with her calm and honest personality. On the other side, Lily Franky portrayed the film's comic relief that wields undeniable wisdom of fatherhood to match Ryota's and is further complemented by Yoko Maki's gentleness and cheerfulness. Each and everyone of these actors portrayed their characters with unmatched performance.

It won Jury Prize in Cannes for a reason. And it has caught the eye of Spielberg for a reason.

Amazing cinematography with attention to details (e.g. Keita's hand made rose) that plays itself as something symbolic or important in the film. Not to mention the music pacing with the frames, such beautiful piano to listen to. And finally, the contrast of the close up from the adults' POV to the children and the long shots of the children's POV to the adults. These decisions, as a whole, make Koreeda truly a talented film maker.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Our Little Sister
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Our Little Sister, comparing to Hirokazu Koreeda's other films, doesn't come quite as strong. Instead, Our Little Sister focuses on mere storytelling without an actual goal that it seems to want to achieve. Koreeda gives us a tale of sisters and their life after they adopt their half-sister from their father's extramarital affair. It's still about family but this time, it focuses more on sisterhood. But that's not to say that parenthood read more isn't as important. After all, it is the parents' decisions that led to what happens to the sisters.

It's subtle but as with Koreeda, it's nothing new: it's about the little details and the little things. I say that Our Little Sister doesn't come as strong because it's less sentimental and it's less melodramatic. The conflict here is not as jarring as say, Nobody Knows or Like Father Like Son. That's one aspect that makes it seem directionless but if you look at it from another way, maybe that's the intention: not to have such a big conflict (the fact that the sister is another woman's is the central conflict) but to just tell a story. And one that's still touching. As someone who doesn't have a sister (I have two brothers and the middle child), I felt the bonds of sisterhood even just a little.

Koreeda trademarks are still present: music pacing (this time, not much piano), long shots showing the beauty of the setting hence, not much close-up and the little details (e.g. the umerashi). Though this time, we don't have young actors (save for Hirose Suzu who is around 17 years old when she filmed this), but the cast including Haruna Ayase, Kaho, Masami Nagasawa (who was also in I Wish) still delivers incredible performances. All three of them were nominated in Japan Academy Award for their performances.

I actually liked the contrast between the four sisters, Ayase plays the eldest, the mother figure, Nagasawa plays the carefree, stylish one, Kaho plays the oddball, happy-go-lucky and Suzu plays the quiet, simple one. It's such a treat to watch all these different personalities go together and interact. There is undeniable chemistry between the four.

Suzu (who won Breakthrough Star in Japan Academy Award), a current rising young star, whose two TV dramas I've seen, can act but sincerity lacks (like her eyes, it's shallow, it doesn't speak the emotions, you get what I mean? Some call her a deadeye actor but she can cry alright) although here because it's less melodramatic, her character fits her well, comparatively speaking. (But with more roles being given to her currently and working with talented actors, perhaps it's bound to change.)

As with Koreeda, lines are so natural and everything flows so well. The cinematography is so beautiful and the beauty of the countryside has been highlighted in the film. It also competed for Palme d'Or at Cannes 2015 (Suzu at Cannes at 17!!)

Our Little Sister isn't bad, I enjoyed it for its simplicity and beautiful visuals. But perhaps its unsentimental approach makes it a lackluster watch compared to other heavy Koreeda's dramas. Indeed, it doesn't have the feels but it has a calming effect as you watch: the setting helps, and the natural acting helps. It won't break your heart but it will touch your heart.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Berlin File
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I was searching around for this a good korean action movie and found this and it was an excellent movie!

Story: This story is REALLY complicated... I had to search up several reviews on this movie online because I just couldn't understand it. Tbh I still dont fully have a tight grasp on this story? But I think that the North Korean agent Pyo Jong Sung was betrayed by his country because read more Dong ho's father took over and corrupted the Party??? But I really do not know exactly!! It was too complex and honestly I'm not very informed on these kind of topics lol (political, ambassador, agent stuff). So if you're like me (lack of that politic info) then I still recommend this drama but do your research first lol or else youll be like uhhhhhhhh the whole time lol.

Acting: jeon ji hyun was excellent at acting as the wife. she was Pyo Jong Sung's wife and their marriage is not one of love. Everytime they have a conversation it's very cold and you can tell that even though she acts like she's cold hearted she feels hurt since she believed that her husband did not believe her. she finally breaks down when he asks her if shes okay and that he will come and get her no matter what. I don't exactly agree with the synopsis written here because it says he is reluctant to leave her just because she carries his baby. I sincerely think they do have love for each other but the problem is that he is way too loyal to that North Korean party of his. As for Ha Jeong Woo, he nailed it. His acting was super good and he did not fail to impress me at all. I could really feel the pain and love he had for his wife when she died.

Music: omg I never pay attention to music in these movies... I'm too busy worrying about whos gonna die lol

Rewatch Value: nah too complex and sad

Overall: If you're looking for a good action drama thats sad this is for you. I recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blind
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This movie is so good seriously. I watched this because of Yoo Seung Ho and he nailed this role :^) Anyways lets get to the review...

Story: This story is pretty good except it was very vague like why the criminal did what he did and there are some parts where Kim Ha Neul's character did piss me off but overall it's a good plot line. It was super scary thoough... I read more agree with the other review lol there were scenes that did scare me shitless man *excuse the language that's how scary it was for me* but nonetheless I finished it and liked it.

Acting: BRILLLIANT. Yoo Seung ho YES. great acting & Kim Ha Neul was impressive. I felt all of their feelings and everything awesome acting. Also shoutout to the dog! Seulki deserves an award and I hope that dog is unharmed... I am not a dog lover but that scene was painful to watch... hey korea lets not kill dogs like that ok? lol..

Music: i didnt hear any.... most of them were creepy...

Rewatch value: this is a great movie with amazing acting but like it's so scary... like no... I would never ever ever ever ever in my right mind rewatch this movie lol... and don't watch this at night please...

Overall: 9.5/10 I RECOMMEND. but. not rewatching. lol.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Witness
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Err.. so I actually watched this right after watching the korean movie "Blind" and this review is basically comparing those two movies lol.

Story: This story was great. It was well written and I actually prefer this version over the korean version because it explained things better and was more clear. This movie is very easy to follow along with and is a no brainer when it comes to comprehension. I like read more how they portrayed the story here.

Acting/Cast: I don't understand why people are saying the acting in here is awesome? Their acting was basic and I did not feel attached at all. The acting in the korean movie is way better, but their acting is ok. just ok.

Music: Meh

Rewatch Value: This drama is pretty good but I won't rewatch this even though it's less scarier than the korean version.

Overall: Overall, I recommend this drama if you're looking for a decent thriller/crime drama. Romance lovers, skip.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
He Was Cool
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Before anyone doubts my overall score of 7: I can explain.

OVERALL (because I know some people prefer things to be quick and to the point!): The movie was created in 2004 so certain things must be understood and not held to a super high standard. The quality of He Was Cool is not as wonderful as newer movies, nor are the effects outstanding. Sometimes they can come off as downright cheesy. read more That being said, It was good. The acting was as expected and the music was enjoyable. I found the movie to even be a little nostalgic, recalling some teen romantic comedy movies from the 90's and 2000's. If you love romantic comedies, want a light movie, or have time to kill this is a good option.

STORY: the story is not 100% original, but it is entertaining and lives up to the manga/comic and romantic comedy genres. If those are not your preferences then it may be hard to sit through it, even I had to skip ahead a little at times. However, the lightheartedness and very comedic elements compliment and balance out the harsher and more realistic problems that are addressed. Those issues of poverty, sex, gender, age, prejudice and even illness are what drew me in more than the romance. while there were theatrics, they were well-suited for the film because it is based on a web comic.

ACTING: the acting/ dialogue is not the best I have seen and no one stands out to me as an extraordinary star, but they fit their roles. Each member of the cast worked their role to the best I think they could. From the dialogue and the acting you can tell it is early 2000's.

MUSIC: I found the music to be the best part. The songs were not distracting and were well timed throughout the film, emphasizing moments and acting. The effects were not always the best, especially when some sounds were off just the littlest bit with actions. I enjoyed the soundtrack though, especially the instrumental tracks.

REWATCH: I personally would not seek this movie out again, but it is good to watch at least once. I say this especially because of the more realistic subplot lines and details. Some people will love this movie and rewatch it many times, I personally enjoy other movies more. He Was Cool is a movie I would watch if it came on TV (as in I would not change the channel) but I wouldn't buy it or look for it online again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Make Me Shudder 3
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Lein
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I have just finished watching all three of the Make Me Shudder movies, and words cannot express how amazed I am.

I have to admit, the first two movies were not the best, but that depends on what you came here for. (I came here looking for BL and I got a bit in the second movie, but anyway). In this movie, a lot more happens, and I feel like there is read more more depth. The acting is beyond realistic, the plot is way easier to follow, and it actually fits into the horror category this time. The story is a bit confusing at the beginning, but if you follow through, it becomes way clearer. The thing I loved the most about this movie was the constant excitement. It did seem like they were running around and screaming for a bit, but if you pay attention to the different scenes, each led up to one phenomenal ending. This cast is one of the best I've seen in a while. They fit the role so perfectly that I had to question if it was really acting. I have to say that their acting skills have gotten way better since the first movie, and they will continue to get better and better as time goes on. My heart had literally packed up and left my chest by the end of the movie, and I have to admit that I was almost in tears.

If you are looking for horror, this may be down your lane. Maybe. Not a lot of horror aspects, but if you are a chicken/sucker, then this is for you.
If you are looking for straight up comedy, I definitely recommend this.
If you are looking for your feelz to get attacked, this is DEFINITELY the movie for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions