Sort by:
Miss Granny
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
22 hours ago
22 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Actually, I didn't want to watch this movie at first. It didn't sound that interesting to me.
I gave it a shot because Kim Soo Hyun has a guest role in it. But I totally forgot about him when I started the movie.

Shim Eun Kyeong is an extremely talented actress. She doesn't have the usual flawless beauty like all the other ones hence her acting stands out even more because she read more can capture her fans, her viewers with her skills alone. She doesn't need extreme beauty. She has great harmony with her co-actors and that reflects on the screen.

I gave a rating of 10 because I just can't find anything to critize. I enjoyed it from beginning to end and I had to laugh so many times. I had to laugh, I had to cry and I was able to plunge into beautiful music. The songs alone make it worth watching the film. (And damn, I never saw a more beautiful baby than the one in the backflashes)

If there is any long-lasting meaning to the film, it has to be that no one should regret his past decisions and be proud of the hardships he/she overcame in the past. Everyone gets old and no one should live his life in regret. Make the best of it.

All in all, a really touching, enjoyable movie that I highly recommend.

(The ending is hilarious, btw! hehe...)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kikujiro
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
So since I have a lot to say and there's no review I'll write mine, this movie totally derserves one. It was one silly ride and right now I feel like telling all the things I felt, and I have many things to say even though I'll make it as short as possible. I'm really speechless, that was a crazy and wonderful movie! I've always wanted to watch it but I was a read more bit scared it would be too slow like most of the Jmovies I watched until now, I love those Japanese slice of life dramas the most ( my favorite genre from Japan) but with their movies it's different I always find them so boring, so long and like nothing really happens maybe it's because I haven't seen enough or simply not the right ones so I'll still watch them, there are exceptions of course but generally I'm more disappointed than delighted (and Kikujiro was one of them fortunately for me). I loved it mostly because of our main character Kikujiro who's fearless, hateful and crazy, he has guts and that's what makes this movie so great, He was most of the time unbearable and acting like a child when people said "No" to his requests but that totally made me laugh and smile, this way the movie for me was so relaxing and hilarious, I really laughed at least three times thanks to him and it was like for 5 mins not less than that hihi. Regarding his character I want to add that he is really irresponsible and that people like him are either hated or loved as he is so straightforward,mean, spontaneous in the bad way, but I couldn't hate him because of his unique personality.
As for the kid it was one amazing experience for him cause the people he met with Kikujiro made his days much brighter filled with laughter, and he is the total opposite of Kikujiro, so quiet, don't talk much, so kind but also very sensitive. One thing is sure he is an obedient child and would do anything you ask him and never complains. So those two characters complemented each other so well and they were a very nice and cool company to the other.
The other characters were a big added bonus especially Fatso, Baldy and the traveller. Their scenes with the two protagonists were among the best, so weird, ridiculous but so much diverting at the same time, just I had some issues with Baldy's behaviour for various reasons I won't tell there.

It definitely has a little dramatic tone but honestly we don't feel it as it was such a fun movie. I need more like this one from Japan, a real Gem highly recommended.


The Ost was exactly to my taste, we hear it since the first second of the movie and it was enough to make me fall in love with it, and what's even better is that all the soundtracks never leave us, they are always in the background adding more emotion and depth to the movie.
Some of my favorite tracks here:
- River Side
- Summer
- Going Out
- The Rain

I'm giving an 8 rewatch value cause I'm sure I would still enjoy it a second time, it's the perfect movie to watch when we're feeling down and morose however also good when we need something refreshing and a bit creative.

So that would be it for me, and hope more people will give it a try and enjoy it;D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Doushitemo Furetakunai
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I admit, I am probably a bit biased, because I simply love this manga to pieces. However, that may be the reason why I am able to evaluate this adaptation better than someone who doesn't know the original work.

So if you are a fan of the manga, but unsure whether to watch, this review is mainly for you. (And even if you're just looking for a good BL movie to pass read more the time, I hope I can write a worthy review as well)

-------

The plot isn't exactly anything new, especially for such a short movie. It's about two people meeting, hooking up, falling in love, and the hardships they must overcome.
What makes this movie stand out from others is the rawness of the emotions, the harsh yet beautiful reality. There is nothing romanticized about their meeting or their relationship. It could be me or you, falling in and out of love.

Shima and Togawa in the manga have prickly personalities. They are very different, yet there is an attraction and spark that even transcends their sexualities. I was worried whether there could be actors who would portray their characters well. Thankfully, Yonehara Kousuke and Taniguchi Kenji both did a great job. Shima lost a bit of his cheekiness and seems more timid, but it has to do with the generally darker tone of the movie, right from the beginning, due to time-constraints.

The music was matching but not really memorable. I was surprised at how sensual they even portrayed the erotic scenes. They could have granted a closer view on the kissing scenes, but in BL it's probably something we can only wish for.

What really drives this film is the atmosphere, that is very similar to the manga Doushitemo Furetakunai. This simplicity and 'realness' is visible in every part of the movie. Some people find the long still shots and the calmness boring. I find it beautiful. Not everything in life is restless and fast-paced. Some moments are agonizingly slow. The cinematography, while somewhat simple, plays a big role in this, and it does a superb job. The writing and directing are both also spot-on.

After finishing the movie, I went and re-read the manga, and I was surprised to see how much of the original dialogue was kept. While I was reading, the scenes from the movie kept appearing in my mind, and I found myself unable to separate the two. Usually when it comes to book or manga adaptations, once I return to the original, I cannot help but think: "Oh, but this is so much better after all. They should have done this differently"; However, I didn't have that feeling with Doushitemo Furetakunai. While there were parts that were left out or could have been fleshed out more, there were even moments where I thought the dialogue in the movie was more natural and poignant than in the manga.

I dislike dramas that take the easy way out by having too much narration or monologues to make sure the viewer gets exactly what the characters are feeling at that moment. There is no room for speculation, no room for the viewer to get a grasp on the emotion, just by observing. Eventually, this trait of the movie, the actors' ability to convey their pain and longing without using too many words, is what made me applaud to this successful adaption of Yoneda Kou's manga.

In summary: It's a bit slow-paced, but if you learn to appreciate the beauty within this calm atmosphere, you will be presented with a fairly satisfying movie that you won't easily forget. I recommend it whole-heartedly.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Breakup Guru
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie...Where do I even begin.
It is a mess. The first half of this movie made me so confused that I had to convince myself to keep watching. I watched after reading the synopsis and I can honestly say that it didn't prepare me for what the movie was actually about. The only redeeming quality about this film are its main actors. Yang Mi was the reason why I didn't close read more the video and Deng Chao was the reason why I managed to finish. If you're going to see this movie then I suggest that you bring lots of patience. It'll be worth it.

The first 50 minutes or so of this movie were irritating for a couple of reasons. Number one...it was culturally offensive. This movie came out in 2014 so it gets no excuses; what they did would not be received well by an international audience at all. Number two...you really needed to be paying attention to understand what was going on. Like I said the beginning of this film is a mess. I don't mind putting effort into watching a movie and figuring out what's going on, but this was just messy. It was hard to figure out what was going on until the second half when the movie finally stopped trying so hard to be 'different' and 'funny'.

But I'm so glad that I stuck around. This just got so much better, and so much funnier. Deng Chao did a great job, he made me laugh and almost cry. I got used to this movie's world after a while. It was definetly shot in an interesting way, somewhat different from what other movies with similar plots have done. Most of the characters ( aka everyone but our breakup guru ) were really 1D and didn't offer much. I can't help but think that this movie could have done with a couple more minutes and added some character development. The ending was cliche, but it was the kind of ending this movie deserved.
It definetly isn't something I'd re-watch. Suffering through the beginning is definetly not worth it. I'd rather remember it for the gem (?) that it became and leave it at that. Would I recommend this...? Not to everyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Obsessed
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I just finished this movie, and thought I need to write a review, as I feel the reviews here don't make this movie justice. This as not a bad movie. The title obsessed, illustrate well the main theme. It is about a forbidden love between two married people, a desire and obsession that consumes everything. It was sad and melancholic - the choice of classical music also enhanced this feeling. It is read more definitely a movie for mature audience, as it has very graphic sexual content, shows adultery, and touches upon complicated subjects like post conflict trauma. I also really liked the images of the movie, as they were very beautifully filmed.
It is true that the two main leads had their flaws - the commander had lost his purpose in life after traumatic experiences in Vietnam, and the main girl did a marriage of reason also after traumatic experiences from her past. Both are adults who didn't experience true love, and they are overwhelmed by their own feelings.
Overall I liked this movie, and I found that the actors played well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ghost in Love
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It's kinda funny how I got to watch this movie 3 times already.

Several years ago I didn't know about the korean market, dramas, movies etc. I wasn't into that stuff yet. I just randomly bought some japanese horror movies (at least that's what I thought, lol). I didn't even notice that this one was korean. Well, I liked the story (watched it twice) and then forgot about it.

Now, after almost read more 15 years and to complete my drama list I digged it up again, and while reading the contents I had to laugh out loud after recognizing so many actors I didn't know of back then. (Like: 'She's from Angry Mom and Faith!' and 'He's from The Greatest Love and You're all Surrounded!' and 'That one's from The King's Face!'...)

The Story itself is really nice and interesting but since this movie is from 1999 the special effects are (of course) not as good as today. Low budget and all included. Doesn't mean it's bad though. The atmosphere is just like those old Godzilla movies. The acting itself is average. It fits the movie but nothing special. The only strange thing was how the scenes were assembled and edited. Hard to explain.

I have to admit after being spoiled by all those great dramas these days this movie could get a bit strange and maybe a little bit boring. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it because of the romance part, although it's like: 'Oh, and now they like each other!' It's not the best but hell, I liked it anyway.

Back then I watched the movie with German dubbing. Maybe some of you know what I'm talking about when I say western dubbing on asian movies doesn't fit most times (It's the same with animes, btw). This time I watched it in Korean and Aigoo!, it made a huge difference (although the German subtitles sucked alot - listening to the Korean language for several years now makes you notice).

Music... not much to judge here but I really like the ending song.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Alice: Boy from Wonderland
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie is psychodelic and makes you insane with trying to guess what is dream and what is reality. It's shown in the form of sweet fairytale with some lite horror trace. During the movie almost nothing happens, just pieces of dreams illogically messed. After finishing the movie you still barely understand what was happening or don't get it at all. You might still be able to figure out the story somehow. read more And I think that the story is pretty interesting and unusual. It's just the sreenwriting is nonsense.

The cinematography is somehow pretty here: beautiful nature, people, environment, interactions of the main couple.

We the viewers are also not pleased with absence of the useless hysteric characters (the girl's mother and shaman-woman) which are in almost every Korean movie-drama. Just as annoying as always.Good that there are not many of this kinda scenes.

What's for acting, it was okay. Good main cast. Jung So Min is one of my favorite korean actresses. Though her acting is not perfect, but she is very natural and adorable herself. Hong Jong Hyun,- I don't remember his other works, - but here he flattered my heart. Interactions between their characters, Hye Jung and Hwan, are exciting.

Overall I'd say the movie is rather bad. Though it leaves light and warm feeling, there are also too many of annoying flaws. But I'd advice to watch it. For the story, for Hong Jong Hyun and Jung So Min's exciting intteractions, for the beautiful video-shot. I don't advice it to that who is really fed up with nonsense in korean movies scripts.

Yes, I have kinda contradict impression about this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Beauty Inside
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Best Korean movie ever!!!
I watched the movie with really low expectations I thought they are gonna make the story fun and light-hearted but it was deeper than that much deeper the story is new I loved it and the acting was great, Han hyo Joo was great and so were all the actors who did jin woo the whole movie was incredible definetly worth your time and I am sure I read more am gonna watch it again!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Man
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
If you expect something similar to Kanako - it's not, you might be disappointed so be aware.

That having said, the movie touches some taboo issues, but take them in the most natural way possible. it shows a dysfunctional man whose life goes even further away from from what can be called normal as he starts to live with a girl who has lost everything due to natural catastrophe. There are very read more few supporting characters and the background story remains vague which adds to the mysterious character of the movie.

It is slow paced, so you've got to be prepared for this. The viewer is supposed to feel the climate rather than be shocked and rushed through series of events. So take a good time for this two hours of tragic drama. And try to get swallowed by the emptiness of the coldest parts of Hokkaido.

The acting is superb. We've got two very different actors, acting-style wise, age wise, who managed to create an amazing emotional blend that creates a kind of awkward harmony. Needless to say, Asano Tadanobu greatness is very much visible here and he suits Jungo's character very well. On the other hand, very young Nikaido Fumi proves once again how versatile actress she is.
The few supporting ones are good as well and create rather coherent background.

Music is again a background issue that basically helps to set the mood and proves it really well.

As a summary, one more time: do not expect fireworks, if you look for entertainment it hardly there. But if you don't mind that you might get tangled up in something disturbingly beautiful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Silenced
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I was kinda surprised by this movie.

Overall, it's not really a horror movie. It starts like one, with all the suspense, dark corners and those special asian girls crawling on the floor, all wet hair and moving strangely. At some point I thought it was something like 'A Tale of Two Sisters', but it's not.

But the turn in the middle of the story was quite a surprise and left me read more less anxious. I was more relaxed while watching but it was nevertheless still exciting. In fact I enjoyed it even more. The beginning was a bit too calm and maybe a bit boring. I guess the producers were trying to create a really oppressive atmosphere but that didn't work out that well. Therefore the second half of the movie was more interesting (although a little more suspense couldn't have hurt).

Focusing on the little details... The scenery/setting was quite nice. I enjoyed looking at the places and the school. Also the make-up. It didn't show much but it was effective, well placed and did add to the atmosphere.

The acting of the girls was also a plus (not the principal though - too hollow). I'm starting to recognize Park Bo Young's skills. I already saw her in 'Oh My Ghostess' and 'Don't Click' and I liked her acting so far. And since I didn't watch 'A Werewolf Boy' yet, I guess I have to continue with that one.

Don't mind my rewatch value. It was a good movie but I don't think I will watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Masquerade
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is an interesting/fun historical ditty; Intriguing movie, I enjoyed it very much. Wonderful court intrigue, politics, romance, loyalty, betrayal, suspense, all the things you would expect from an historical political drama. Not really a fan of Lee Byung Hun, but he is an amazing actor, I am so impressed, brilliantly portraying two very different characters. I Loved the music. The ending wasnt very happy, but what end in history is? Great read more Movie with a great cast about power and what it can, and sometimes can't, accomplish, brought about some interesting thoughts.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Man
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
*grown-up women and men shouldn't be used as teenagers bc you can clearly see through them and it's irritating (good example of that mistake is the movie Night Flight (though this movies is one of the best gay asian movies, if not the best, so if u like yaoi, pls watch it ))

So...
I wasted 2 hours.
I could've watched 4-6 anime episodes.
Fantastic.
..
Um, movie is shit.
I have read more no idea what kind of ppl watched this movie, so I can't really understand the comment section: "creepy" and "disturbing" and "u need to watch smth lighter after this"
srsly?
Based on their comments I thought this movie was going to be sick and twisted.
But it's not. It's about "incest"...They're not blood related so it makes it even more suffering to go through the comments again. *this isn't spolier, you can see that clearly at the beginning.*
The beginning was interesting, but then it got stupid, I mean don't get me wrong this movies isn't that bad, it's just that that I had expectations which weren't fullfilled.
It was nice to see Kora Kengo ( watch Snakes and Earrings, now that movie is creepy...not that creepy but most definitely more creepier than this....WATASHI NO OTOKO IS NOT AT ALL CREEPY MOVIE, WHAT'S WRONG WITH Y'ALL).
My fujoshi brain woke up just a little bit at the end, but then it went back to sleep again. *tear*
The only thing I liked about this movie is..um................................I didn't.
Again, don't get me wrong, this movie isn't horrible, but it was just not good, at some parts they were overreacting and the last quarter of the "such creepy much taboo movie" wasn't the clearest.
Acting wasn't wow, there was almost no music(or I wasn't paying attention bc I just wanted to get over with it) and story isn't much (as the end was coming, I think they sped up everything).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Socialphobia
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a great watch, do not miss it!

The story looks really simple on the surface, but there is so much underneath it. This movie is just much more than showing what social media is and does. But also how people respond do is, there is a great psychological part to this movie.
The story is quite unique, there are a few movies like this, but this is a real thriller read more that will let you think abbout the effects of social media and how huge the internet is.
The actors did a marvelous job, and they really gave it all. I really could feel with them, and I felt that the emotions were very raw, I liked it!
The music was perfectly chosen, dark and loud.
I would rewatch this movie, because this one has more than meets the eye.

Watch this if you like psychological movies that handle a current topic.
Skip this if you are looking for romance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ichi
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Tragic and beautiful. The story almost like typical movie with heroine vs bad guy so it's quite predictable. But with Haruka Ayase as Ichi who is blind but actually a skilled swordsman who can slayed numerous samurai all at once (that was so cool!) makes this movie a little bit different than other.
This movie is brave enough to show fighting scenes, such as bloody scars, hand cut, sword thrust looks real. read more The backsound music and soundtrack are nice too and match perfectly. I also like the villain characters, they do really looks like a bad guy with an annoying expression.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Little Black Dress
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
If you consider to watch it like a chick lit for a night at home it's a nice choice. Nothing too memorable about it though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No