Sort by:
Days of Being Wild
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 hours ago
6 hours ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I've finally completed Wong Kar-wai's "Informal Trilogy" in such a weird sequence: In the Mood for Love, 2046 and now Days of Being Wild.

If I've said that In The Mood for Love will make you feel exactly just that and 2046 would make you in the mood for heartbreaks then Days of Being Wild will give you the mood to be just that—wild.

Days of Being Wild is only Kar-wai's second read more film and it both shows his infancy but also how he shaped his identity as a director as well as his characters, some of which have regularly appeared throughout the Informal Trilogy.

Leslie Cheung plays the young and charismatic but emotionally unstable, York who is a womanizer. Cheung, whom I have seen in Happy Together with Tony Leung is really a charismatic character. He embodies a sexiness that's untamed and draws you in as a viewer. It's no wonder that two of his flames are so madly in love with him. Much like in his character in said film, Cheung here is also on the verge of self-destruction further heightened by his familial identity.

But Kar-wai doesn't just focus on Cheung. He also gives us Maggie Cheung's Su Li Shen, Carina Lau's Mimi and to an extent, Andy Lau's Tide perspectives—all of whom are grappled with their own frustrations that ultimately involves York. It's York's own biological identity that shapes his relationship with women and eventually, how he lives. He is damaged but it is not romanticized. Kar-wai isn't a pessimist, he is just showing rawness.

Kar-wai traits also plague the screen: cramped spaces that seem to emit suffocation, unusual angles highlighting the characters and their interactions, dark and damp and nostalgic setting—all embody Kar-wai's consistency as a director and how his filmmaking drives his story as much as character even if it's lack of a strong plot.

There is so much tension in this film, so much dramatic build-up and so much longing. How much does Li Shen long for York? How much does Mimi long for York? How much does York long for his mother? How much does Tide long for Li Shen? Each minute is made with beauty, each glimpse, each touch feels like it's consuming you. Just like Li Shen and York's memorable 1 minute, Days of Being Wild has been another memorable beauty of a film.

This film, itself, is about identity. Who is York to his biological parents? Who is Li Shen without York? Who is Mimi when she is not Mimi? Who is Tide as a sailor? Every fleeting seconds matter in discovering who we are and how each person in our life shape us.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rigor Mortis
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 hours ago
13 hours ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 3.5
  • Acting/Cast 3.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
this movie was entertaining but in short not that good. this shouldn't be categorized as horror because it wasn't. a good laugh, though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sailor Suit and Machine Gun
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
19 hours ago
19 hours ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I had wanted to see this movie for a long time. It's pretty hard to come by a decent quality stream with reliable English subs, but after a few weeks of searching, I found a site. Maybe the fact that I had hoped so hard for a good movie at the end of my long quest doomed me to disappointment, nevertheless, I was unprepared for the let down.

The premise seemed intriguing read more and potentially badass. A teenage girl takes over her dead father's yakuza gang as a boss. Over the course of the film, she has at least one intimate moment with each of the gang members usually right before they get unceremoniously killed. The gang is doomed to failure, but we follow them for their one last hurrah- taking down their rivals. Our heroine, Izumi Hoshi, is played by 1980s J-pop idol, Hiroko Yakushimaru. The theme song, beautifully sung by Hiroko, is for sure the best part of the whole movie. Otherwise, the gangster story is told in a herky jerky way, with stuff happening out of nowhere and motivations unclear and seemingly random. It's a confusing sit, even ignoring the language and cultural barrier.

I found myself unable to connect to any of the characters. The acting is pretty wooden all across the board, we never really get to know any of the characters, and despite a few charming or touching moments (like the weird mommy complex scene with Aki and Izumi), I couldn't care about any of the people I was watching. Their actions were random and inconsistent. I couldn't keep them all straight as none of them really had enough of a personality to distinguish them apart.

The movie itself is chock full of WTF. Why does this group of adult men, GANGSTERS, mind you, wholeheartedly embrace the idea of a fifteen year old girl as their boss? Aside from the iconic, finale of the machine gun scene, Izumi never does anything badass. She gets captured, humiliated, jerked around, and stuffed into the backseat of her enemy's cars. Why would a yakuza respect this weepy kid?

The clips I had seen beforehand were of the most iconic moments- Izumi pumping a rival gang's lair full of lead while wearing her sailor suit. That idea stuck in my mind while I watched this messy little movie- even when I started to get bored, I just kept telling myself, something badass while come soon. The climax I was anticipating ended up amounting to a minute or two of actual action.

Despite the fact that this was a very watchable movie (time flew by), it is told in a confusing and disappointing manner. I know this is a cult classic, but a premise like this deserves a better movie. The music is by far the best part. If you can find this movie and you like Japanese gangster fare from the 80s, you can do worse. As it stands, this is weak, breezy movie with one or two iconic images and a kickass theme song.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Alice: Boy from Wonderland
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
20 hours ago
20 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
The plot is not so confused! I found out the story behind the hints, that director gave us, easily .. I love it from the beginning until the end. Editing was a little bit confused but I loved so much the story and the play of the actors that it didn't bothered me. Jung So Min was absolutely perfect as Hye Jung, every second in the movie I saw clearly in her read more face the feelings that I am supposed to feel too. Hong Jong Hyun was so adorable as Hwan. His character made me love him! The ending was more beautiful than I expected. <3
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
For Love
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Exeo
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
===A nice, easy watch, but nothing too ambitious===

Broadly speaking, the topic of the movie is the relationship status of the main character and what it might mean to be a suitable husband candidate in modern China.

STORY
The plot starts off relatively slowly. After the initial scene, almost half of the movie is devoted to sister's assessment of the protagonist's long-time boyfriend. Some of these scenes drag a little bit, but read more then on the other hand there are some funny and enjoyable moments as well. Later on the pace picks up and a lot of significant events happen within a relatively short time frame.
In my opinion it would be better if the pace of the movie was a little bit more consistent throughout, but overall it was acceptable. The story is a little cliche, but still nicely done.
The movie was an interesting watch as it allowed one to understand stereotypical Chinese marriage requirements (a good job as well as owning a house and a nice car are expected from the prospective groom). Furthermore, it shows the protagonist being faced with the 'money or love' dilemma - and how relatives express their care by interfering with the choice of life partners.

ACTING
The acting was good and the actors appearance matched well their character types. There were very good interactions between the main leads.

MUSIC
Soundtrack was not very noticeable, but neither was it disturbing. Overall ok.

Overall, a nice film to watch with a good mixture of (somewhat cliche) drama, romance and comedy. Do not be discouraged by the slow start...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Somewhere Only We Know
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This movie left me in tears... The story was heart warming and I think it will stay with me for awhile.
The only part of this movie that i disliked was the terrible english dubbing, but aside from that, I'm in love with it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wolf Girl and Black Prince
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Disclaimer: I haven't seen the anime or read the manga, so I'm not going to compare the two or judge how faithful of an adaptation this was. But even without any prior knowledge of the story, I could tell they left stuff out. If you're a fan of either, don't go in expecting a perfect book-to-movie. You'll just be disappointed.

It's your typical high school romance shoujo manga live-action. You probably know read more the kind. If you like these movies, you like them. If you don't, you don't. I'm not going to delve into the plot; the synopsis does a good job.

I really did not like the directing. The characters would have these long conversations, especially at the end with the most important conversation in the entire movie, and the camera would be super zoomed out for the entire thing and you couldn't read their expressions. And with a character like Kyoya's, you need to do a lot of reading because he doesn't express his thoughts in words. Really bad decision on the director's part..

I am a huge fan of Yamazaki Kento, but I don't think he was right for this role. I wasn't totally convinced of his jerk-ness.

The story also seemed a bit rushed, particularly the beginning, but that's pretty typical with live action adaptions. It's hard to fit multiple volumes into two hours. I just wish we got a bit more in the middle to show more of the character development. Again, a fault of the director.

There's not much to say. Except for the directing, I personally didn't have any other problems with the movie. It was a cute and lighthearted watch. If you want to just kick back and take a break from your stressful dramas, Wolf Girl and Black Prince is a nice choice.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hwayi: A Monster Boy
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Whoa, I expect it to be dark but not this dark. But it took me by surprise, you will feel some emotion which you will think like " wait am' I supposed to be happy, sad, oh snap, or disgusted right now".

The cast was really amazing, especially Yeo Jin Goo. He really played well his role. He really surprised me. It's really hard to find young actor that are really good read more at playing well their role

If you like movies with action, killing, fighting against what's good or bad. Well, I guess you should give this movie a try. Just see this movie as Korean version of Hitman. Like a side story. When he was little after becoming a real hitman.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Way Trip
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
I feel sad and empty. Ji Soo is way too good at giving me the feels as it is, but they also had to bring these four and put them through that story line to make me experience darkness. Nice.

For better or for worse this movie felt too real. Give it a watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Perfect Man's Man
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
this was a surprised for me, it has a nice story. actors looks like amateurs tho. i also enjoyed the soundtracks. it has the indie feel to it so don't expect too much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It started in June, while I was still living in Korea that I suddenly started hearing about this movie everywhere. All of my friends were anticipating it and sharing the trailers everywhere and when the movie finally came to theaters, most of them went to see it immediately. They would come back with their minds blown and tell me how good it was and how I "must go see it". Well, I read more left Korea before I had the chance to, but luckily it was shown in a movie festival here in Finland and I was able to book the tickets.

Train to Busan is an action packed intense thriller that keeps you on your toes at all times. The movie is categorized as horror, but I wouldn't consider it as such; quite frankly, I wasn't scared at any point (I don't believe in zombies, maybe that's why). Startled, yes, but not scared. The story is fast-paced and well tied-together and I really liked the way they concluded the ending. That being said, I don't think it is as good as it was played out to be.

The acting in the movie is top-notch with the exception of a few cast members (you know who I mean). It is a well-known fact that Gong Yoo is a great actor but some other performances in this movie were just as amazing, if not more. My favorite character without a doubt was Sanghwa, played by Ma Dong Seok. His character brought in a refreshing humor aspect, but he was also portrayed as a great, warmhearted husband and a total badass. I fell in love with Choi Woo Shik and his tight baseball pants and we can't forget the female lead, Jung Yu Mi. She was a well-built, strong and believable character. Kim Soo An was very convincing, I'm sure we'll be seeing her a lot in the future.

However, with the great acting aside, I feel like this movie lacked a bit in the plot department. I am not a horror movie lover, in fact, it's the number one genre I usually avoid, just to be able to get a good night sleep. Still, a bit more excitement would have been in place. To be honest, a zombie movie categorized as horror can't possibly have huge surprises on the way but occasionally it felt like the plot was dragging a little bit and certain sequences were repetitive and at times even boring. There was a strange realism to the bright lighting of the the movie that reminds the viewers of the fact that it doesn't have to be night for terrifying things to happen. Regrettably, even so I somehow think that a darker setting would have helped to make the horror more... horrory.

To name a couple more successful choices that were made, I definitely enjoyed the styling of the zombies as well as other graphics. The music was also fast paced and added to the intensity. All in all Train to Busan is a movie worth watching, although I suggest you don't jump into it with too high expectations, just to avoid unnecessary disappointment.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Summer
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
What can you say? I'm emotionally exhausted. Beautiful, sensitive, moving experience. Faultless.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Swing Girls
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
"There are two different people in this world, one who swings and one who don't."
I may not be the type of person who likes to swing but this movie eventually changed my heart.

The story is simple. Melodrama and over-the-top comedy were thrown out the window. But how it was concocted made this film really refreshing and pleasant to watch. With a pretty setting to boot, these bunch of juvenile girls read more in uniform took me on a funny, crazy, rollicking ride in their pursuit to becoming capable independent youth brass band.

One great fact about this film is that these girls took intensive practice and rehearsal to fill-in their gap as a brass band. So yes, they know how to play those instrument on/off film. Surprisingly, they performed their famous line-up onstage during promotional tours. I guess those months in training and experience eventually formed an amazing chemistry between the band members. It felt so real and genuine which I think is one of the main reason why I came to care and love them more.

One more thing, this movie won't be complete without the jazz and musical scores. Like I said, I wasn't a fan of jazz before. But once I heard them play, I can't stop tapping my foot or dancing to the tune. Even the funny parts were so much fun to imitate. Anyone I know who have seen it came to appreaciate jazz for the first time in their life.

I recommend this film to those who wants to unwind and feel good at the end of the day. Such simple yet sincere film like this are rare to come across. They may be a once in a lifetime brass band but those timeless tune they shared will always stay in my heart. "doo?~dat?~doo?~dat?" That's jazz beat 101 for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Bride of Rip Van Winkle
9 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
One of the most important contemporary directors of today, Shunji Iwai gives us a suspenseful emotional ride in his latest film "A Bride for Rip Van Winkle". It reminds me a lot of "All about Lily Chou Chou"(also directed by Iwai) on how it uses the internet as the main element in the movie, how it affects characters minds and their relationship, simple chatting before social media now. This movie will make read more you realize how social media affects our society, how most of us make it our safe haven and sometimes create a fake identity and how that fake identity would factor in constructing our own, not giving much of a story away, the theme would be so obvious if you compare the 2 relationships of our main character had here, one living with lies and the other ironically real. Having said that, the theme in this movie was so strong and possibly the first time that was explored to this extent and just like Iwai said "I would like to show how we take to living in this world that our ancestor left us", so thought provoking indeed.

With 3 hours long this is perhaps the second longest Japanese movie I've ever seen next to Love Exposure and that is mainly because most climactic scenes were all shown in slow motion, it seems the director reiterates the point of what we should feel, some may be bother by it but I'm not as I see the reason for it, scenes before those slow-mos were so subtle so it's like a storm after a calm sea. Another reason is the criticism he is known for which is his film has a tendency to drag and some scenes were like that especially scenes that has metaphor in it or with meaningful dialogues, if you're like me who is into that then this will make the movie more engaging to you.

The film is basically a character study of a Nanami(Haru Kuroki), a part time teacher who is like a shadow, she has no personality, the film lets us follow her as how her character develops throughout the story, with Iwai's directing and Haru Kuroki's acting this film is an immersive experience. You can separate the movie into 3 parts the classic fall, perserverance, and finding happiness. The first act started when Nanami meets this guy on social media then without much thinking she eventually marries him, but the problem is she didn't have the ideal family, her parents were divorced and seems like their relatives broke the ties between them. Then she decided to hire Amuro(Gou ayano), a guy she met on social media, a jack of all trade ala Gintama, it is Amuro who provide fake relatives to her wedding. The end of the first act is strong as Nanami is humiliated and defeated and that first act sets up to a more interesting second and even third act. When I said suspenseful emotional ride I mean it as plot twist after plot twist, lies after lies got revealed but the biggest mystery is the title itself "A Bride for Riple Winke", what is relevance of that title in the story? Who is Riple Winkle? Well the way the movie reveals it is so clever, it's a work of a mad genius and definitely I didn't see that coming at all. Just like most of Iwai's films this film features misfits characters, those cut from society, this movie will depict their engaging journey and how will those character find love and happiness. Although with that engaging premise and roller coaster of emotions I had, still one important question in the movie remains a mystery although I'm sure that that was intended, I experienced that in All About Lily Chou Chou and I experienced it again here, I just don't know what to feel, I just thought of giving you a heads up cause that might annoyed you as well.

Great Cinematography to me is not just beautiful but also meaningful, it's just like in painting great painting should fascinate you, it should make you look closer to examine the details and not just stare at one and says "this painting is beautiful", you could have all the colors on your palette but if it's dull it's dull. Movies by Iwai are the best example for this they have the best cinematography I've ever seen that makes the movie so immersive and this movie is not an exception, his emphasis for lighting was really obvious here, it is stunning, extracting the natural colors in a scene, a perfectionist he truly is. Music really adds up to the emotion in those melodramatic scenes, particularly is that one scene with Nanami after the first act, the Visuals, the Slow-mo, the Music, the acting, it is perfect, I literally pause the movie and gather myself, stupid smile left on my face, instant goosebumps.

Iwai really loves using subtle actors in his films and the reason for that is because that kind of acting is most suited for his style of filming, before he had Aoi Yu and this time Haru Kuroki. Haru reminds me of Aoi Yu a lot they can even switch roles here and the strength of the character will remain the same, of course I'm not saying Aoi Yu is better, they are equally talented and Haru might even have some edge in drama and definitely in comedy. About haru's performance, I am one hundred percent convinced that this was her best performance I've seen from her and mind you I've seen a lot where she is considered great namely "emperor's cook" "juhan shutai" "little house" "solomon's perjury". The character she played here is so complex that one wrong move would make that character annoying, one wrong casting and the movie would be ruined, hard to explain it without laying spoilers, only you would realize what I meant when you watched it. There is one character I can't reveal here because of spoilers and it's a shame because I was equally impressed with her with haru and her name is not even included here on MDL. The character is crippled yet strong; she's like a playful spirited fairy and those eyes omg. The chemistry between them was magnetic, a total contrast to each other yet they share similarities, they want happiness. Gou Ayano although not as good as those two, it is his charisma that makes the character more mysterious and that is really important as that character is somewhat the one who drives the story. I have this theory about him that I will post on the comment section if you want, just click the spoiler button.


Movies like this makes me realize why I was fascinated, why I admire Japanese cinema so much, it is just that there is no other country that can offer me a story like this. Movie like this make me realize what kind of taste I have for movies, why I crave for original plot with clever twist, why I love thought provoking themes as those makes the movie to me an immersive experience. With that said, even with some draggy scenes or things remains unanswered I just couldn't give this lower than 9. Not a masterpiece but a must watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Time Raiders
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Ahhhh, I enjoyed this movie so much. It was gorgeous. When it wasn't grossing me out (mummies can be nasty!) There was a plot, but it didn't get in the way of the action.

Fabulous choice of leading men. Really. The contrast between them was perfect. I personally wish for them to both have long successful careers.

The supporting actors were wonderful. The humor in this movie is great, and mostly carried read more by the supporting actors.

You MUST like gears to enjoy this movie. They are everywhere. Along with chains.

You must also not really care about which time period the movie is set in, as laptops & abacuses, Gattling guns & drones, digital cameras & puttees co-exist.

My favorite thing in this movie was a coffin that unfolded into a desk/office suite, along with a book case that I will lust after for the rest of my life.

Will I re-watch this? Absolutely. I am sure there are things I missed.

I strongly feel there will be a video game.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No