Sort by:
Couples
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
41 minutes ago
41 minutes ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Couples did not immediately capture my attention. It took quite a while, and at first it just seemed sloppy. Until about the 40 min to 50 min mark. When it hit! It was super clever!

It's clear the writers wanted to create something different, to maybe show that it's not fate. Instead perhaps human connections that act as fate. Who knows? The problem is that up until that 50 min mark Couples read more was really dull. At no point did I actually feel connected to the characters. The setup was so flat that none of those connections were made. So when it was time for the big reveal and for everything to come together I had fun. Yes. But the emotional connection to the characters dulled it. Plus, the execution was done so late that it took away from the "big twist".

The actors did a good job, but nothing really stood out. They weren't bad, but there just wasn't a lot to work with here. Though a certain "private eye" did stand out, and he was my favorite character!

Overall I had a fun time. While the humor was really spotty for me it still made me laugh. Even without the connection to the characters I enjoyed it. Sadly it wasn't the pay off I had been hoping for. The biggest problem is that I did spend so much of the movie bored. So when it finally switched off of the "main couple" I was so happy! The sad truth is that after the 40 min mark is when Couples get goods, and it's the only thing that saved this movie. In the end it's a fun filler piece and I think it's unique aspects are definitely worth checking out. Any movie fan will enjoy the ambition that the writers envisioned for Couples.

If you're looking for it Hulu has it streaming off and on.

How I review out of 10:
- 6 A little weak, but I still like it. (Full rating list on profile.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Royal Tailor
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 hours ago
5 hours ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
There's something about saeguk movies that always feel rushed, and this movie was no exception. There was so much more they could have done with the story and the characters. The "romance" between the queen and Kong Jin was nothing great and neither was the king's sob story. What really made this movie great was the relationship that developed between Kong Jin and Dol Seok ( I was rooting for you, we read more were all rooting for you! How dare you? ). Their friendship/rivalry was really what drove this movie, and it was interesting until the very end.
I honestly watched this movie for the clothes; I'm a history geek and I wanted to see the history behind Joseon fashion. So I didn't watch with very high expectation...thus I wasn't disappointed. As for the actors...I'm not a huge fan of Park Shin Hye's acting but wow, she did a great job in this movie. As for Go Soo, this was my first time seeing something by him. His character was extremely likable!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Beast and the Beauty
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
19 hours ago
19 hours ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I liked the unique take on an old classic. Unattractive person gains the affections of an attractive person. However, instead of the unattractive and unpopular one being the female lead it is the male lead. Even that has a twist. Our heroine is blind and falls head over heels for Dong Gun but when she regains her sight he determines that he’s not attractive enough for the gorgeous Hae Joo. Antics and read more hilarity ensue as Dong Gun does his best to avoid Hae Joo and even attempt to push her into the more attractive arms of his high school rival Jun Ha. This was an extremely straightforward and laid-back watch. It was fun, but I don’t know that I’d watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Helpless
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
The mystery in this film is done well. The story unfolds at a good pace as the detective gets involved and pieces of the puzzle fall into place. The point of view switches between three main characters and is told in real time as well as in flashback scenes. I sometimes wondered what was real and what wasn’t. The uncertainty of what was actually true grabbed my attention and was best part read more of the movie.

Though the movie focuses on the mystery, I was left wondering about the character development. In several scenes Lee Sun-Kyun’s character shows his frustration but the impact of these scenes felt flat for me. Their relationship as a couple is seen in a few quick scenes and so little is shown of his fiancé in the beginning it was difficult for me to connect emotionally with her disappearance. While I was curious as to why she disappeared, I didn’t feel the angst of it.

The driving force of the movie is the history and motivation of Kim Min-hee’s character. Her portrayal of the fiancé was excellent. Kim Min-hee plays her in such an emotional and multi-layered way I would have liked to have seen more. In particular, there was one flashback scene of Min-hee’s I found riveting. Instead of intense scenes like this, additional time is given to the detective work. The film is based on the Japanese crime novel, All She was Worth by Miyuki Miyabe and as an adaptation of a crime novel this makes sense. While interesting, I would have preferred to watch more than the brief and scattered scenes involving Kim Min-hee and definitely more scenes with her and Lee Sun-Kyun.

Nevertheless, what I believed to be lack of character development may have been artistic license to intensify the mystery. Though you see the fiancé, it is just enough that she becomes an enigmatic figure. Whether this is intentional or the acting abilities of Kim Min-hee were squandered is debatable.

Either way, Helpless is an intricately told mystery with a good mixture of psychological thriller and suspense. It’s a good watch and kept me guessing about the mysterious fiancé and how the story would play out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Palpitating Life
1 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Heartwarming, touching, incredible movie. Seriously this movie is like one of the best. Song Hye Kyo is as awesome as ever, and this was the first Kang Dong Won project I saw. I recommend this movie to everyone who haven't watch it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ao Haru Ride
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I just watched this movie yesterday, and I enjoyed it. I watched the movie because the anime was really good! I'm glad the couple ended up together in the movie, while they didn't really "ended-up" together in the anime. I gave the acting 6 is because I didn't really enjoy the female lead's acting for some reason (no hates please). Overall, it was a really good movie and recommended to people who loves rom-com!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Hot Roof
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
''Why does the moment women think is the beginning of their happiness turn into the start of giving up on themselves?? ''

I hesitatingly started this. Old films tend to be slightly boring for me. But I did because of Kim Min Jong. And the film was surprisingly interesting, brave and touching.

When patience and trust runs out and enough is enough, what can't women do?! The film presents a beautiful account read more on women bonding. When women cannot take things anymore and join hands to challenge the patriarchal world. When women accept their differences and stand as one against the world. The film presents all types of suppressed women, abused women, cheated women, prostitutes, bar hostesses, single women living alone, trans-genders and working women with unemployed husbands. All types of victimised and prejudiced women stand together for their rights.

The film is well-acted and well-written. It's novel, bold, funny, and deep. I enjoyed every single minute.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ao Haru Ride
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I wanted so long for someone subbed this drama! I read the manga and watched the anime, so I knew the story. I really love how Futaba rescues Kou from his own demons. For a movie, this was pretty good. I rather if it was a drama, because then we could see how the characters grow. The development is the best thing about the slice of life manga, so I think this read more is a bad point, because if you don't know the story maybe you won't understand it all.
The music didn't got my attention, maybe because I was not so focused on it. The acting was ok for me, I loved Kominato's character, even the hair look the same as the anime, but they didn't go deep in the supporting roles.
I think it have to be rewatched... because I already watched twice! Hope you all like it as I did, and if you haven't read the manga and watched the anime: You don't know what you're missing!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hachiko Monogatari
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
First and for most I want to highlight that this review is addressed in regards to the dog (HACHI) and not the actors. This is because i hardly acknowledged their parts, especially whenever Hachi was in the scene - I was totally mesmerised. From beginning to end I was not disappointed with the development of the movie. I mean they even show Hachi’s actual birth (or a dog that looks like him); read more clever introduction to the concept of capturing his entire life. The bond that develops between Hachi and his master Professor Ueno is so visible from the moment they meet that you cannot help but yearn and hope for a bond so pure of love. Professor Ueno treatment of Hachi with overwhelming love and Hachi’s replications of it by serving and loving him dearly so well portrayed by the movie. If only dogs could understand how great of an actor they were because the dog or dogs used in this movie were outstanding. Especially the older one - the funeral scene mixed with the tears of the wife, I myself got teary eyed watching and hearing Hachi’s mourning cry.

I figure that it may have taken a lot of takes to get the dogs to react the way they guided them to. Whoever held this responsibility truly had an eye for dog capability and behaviour because the end product is so amazing and captivating of their emotions that as a viewer you left feeling human emotions towards Hachi.


LIKED: I greatly enjoyed the scenes that involved Hachi and the professor, even those at his funeral.
DISLIKED: I would have liked if Hachi’s story was portrayed exactly as want had happened to the real dog because after doing my own research of how Hachi really lived. The untold parts would have made this movie even more outstanding

CONCLUSION:
If you are looking for a good family or HEARTWARMING movie Hocahiko Monogatari will not disappoint unless you are not a dog fan. You should also watch this movie if you enjoy genres such as TRUE STORIES - ADMIRATION – FAMILY – LOYALTY – LEGEND – TRAGEDY – FAITHFULNESS – DOGS – MAN’S BESTFRIEND – AKITA DOG BREED – MELODRAMA – SADNESS – FAITHFULNESS – LOVE – GREAT ACTING DIRECTION.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mr. Socrates
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Really terrific movie. Filled with dark humor and even darker life lessons, it melds the unquestionable illegality of the criminal with the questionable legality of the cop. Beautifully acted by Kim Rae-won who has the ability to 'become' the character in whatever role he assumes with an ease and smoothness unmatched by most actors out there, imo. He is why I watched the movie, but the plot was more than just entertaining read more and is what kept me watching. It moves quite rapidly and I found the story of Dong-hyuk to be engrossing not because of the violence and action that usually draws me to these types of movies, but because, as is so typical with especially Korean film, the story had its deeper lessons to teach. In the small parameter of what could be expected from a deeply flawed character such as Dong-hyuk we get to see growth and development from a deeply flawed and lost hoodlum, to a still flawed but purposeful cop. No perfect fairytale ending, but it is its own 'success' story despite that.

Don't remember the music (I watched this a year ago).
I definitely want to watch it again one day, given TIME! This is the kind of movie that tells you more about the characters and the story as you pay more attention. And, I love KRW.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miracle in Cell No. 7
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
There is absolutely nothing that I can say wrong about this movie; this movie is such a beautiful movie; it will take me a a week or two to stop thinking about it. I know it's just a movie but I was so into the characters and the story line. It will make you laugh, smile, and cry!! My heart still hurts!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Professor's Beloved Equation
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
" It's difficult to express the beauty of mathematics."
Personally I don't think so cause I'm dealing, studying and exploring maths all my life therefore I love it but I do understand that there are many people who simply don't like nor understand it and find it hard to express anything which deals with mathematics.

Either way, after this movie you may end up loving maths, you may end up feel the read more magic of numbers and you don't need to be a math student in order to get enthusiastic about number games and about the wonderful world of numbers. Cause the way mathematics is presented in this movie, the method in which was written into the script, into the characters, is really interesting and it keeps you intriguing to the end. There are terms like prime numbers, amicable numbers, perfect numbers, pi, the imaginary number, and Euler's identity also known as Euler's equation. Even if you're clueless and unknowing about the concepts of these terms, the movie will introduce them and show to you in such interesting and enjoyable way.

Based on the novel by Yoko Ogawa, The Professor’s Beloved Formula tells the story of a housekeeper played by gorgeous Eri Fukatsu who is hired by an aloof heiress to look after her brother-in-law who, ever since a car accident periodically has his memory reset every eighty minutes. Before the accident he was a celebrated Math’s professor, and it is through his love of numbers and the housekeeper’s willingness to learn anything new that the two form a strong unique friendship. Soon the Professor meets the housekeeper’s young son and nicknames him Root on account of the top of his head being flat like a square root symbol. Together the trio manage to form a powerful, strange family despite all the challenges.

I enjoyed in simplicity of this movie, in wonderful development of that strange friendship between professor and housekeeper, she had patience, willingness and eagerness to listen to him, to be the part of numbers and mathematics and to keep him always busy with his work; and he accepted her and her son like his own family (although a platonic one) where they were strangely and deeply happy while watching baseball, playing games with numbers or solving maths problems. I found all 3 characters so lovable, both in character and presentation and I'll never forget Eri Fukatsu's smile and Professor's character.
Refreshing thing in this movie is that there are no unnecessary tearjerker moments around the professor's illness, although there are some a bit more dramatic and touching ones but without melodramatic scenes and with just right amount of warmness which manages to strike the right notes all the time.

The story is pretty simple and slow paced but at the same time enchanting and full of warmth. With many touching moments and with most of the things revolving around mathematics, baseball and cooking, whole movie will give you clear messages about maths itself using concepts and applying it to real life, to living life.

Cinematography is very nice, showing the beauty of landscapes and the town they lived in, the great actors really make you fell so good and cozy, whole movie just has this feel good factor and in the end you feel wonderful, poetic and comfortable. Charming, no manipulative movie, a slice of life that will make you feel joy and wanting to meet all three characters in person and playing number games with them.

"To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour"

-William Blake-
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miss Granny
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I hesitated a lot to watch this movie. I had only Shim Eun Kyung's "Running Man" appearance as a reference to her and I didn't like what I saw. There was also oorie gunnie, Kamz, who kept raving how great an actress she is, and I think I kind of wanted to say she wasn't. I, also, wanted to stare at Lee Jin Wook. So, I ended up watching it.

And omo! read more Why was this girl so hilarious?

"Miss Granny" doesn't have a unique concept and it doesn't give a lot of info on the cosmic mechanics of the change, but it still worked for me. I thoroughly enjoyed watching SEK acting like a halmoni in a younger female's body. She had the mannerisms of the character's older version down to the last "T", which made the change from old to young seem more seamless. This is definitely not easy to do and requires a lot of skill in acting.

I also enjoyed the rest of the cast. Sadly, Sung Dong Il and Lee Jin Wook don't have a lot of movie screen time. Somehow, this didn't bother me in the least, especially when they absolutely shone in the scenes they did have. I absolutely adored Hyun Chul's and Mal Soon's mother-son moment. The things they said to each other made tears fall from my eyes without me even noticing it. And Lee Jin Wook's last scene filled even me with longing and nostalgia.

This movie also has a great OST.

Miss Granny is funny, yet touching. It shows how far a true mother's love will go.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chunhyang
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
STORYLINE: 7/10 - CHARACTER: 7.5/10
I do oddly enjoy dramas or films based in past Korean culture and Chunhyang truly lived up to that while addressing a part of the culture then I was not aware of. The film provides narration from a Pansori – “a Korean genre of musical storytelling performed by a vocalist and drummer” Google. This was the first I had come across this sort of storytelling so I read more was intrigued to experience. It did take me awhile to get used to the Pansori’s delivery of the events through what felt like slow-motion singing, however, as the plot developed it became more prominent and at times the Pansori’s delivery style provided life to the scene on screen.

Chunhyang is a film about a governor’s son named Mong Ryong whom falls in love with a Gisaeng’s daughter, named Chun Hyang. At first I had to google what a courtesan was too – “was the Korean equivalent of a geisha or courtesan knowledgeable in poetry, dance, music, culture and politics, who entertained noblemen and royalty of the Joseon Dynasty”. However in the subbed copy I watched she was called a courtesan whom is “a prostitute, especially one with wealthy or upper-class clients” Google. Chun Hyang had insured that she grew up with the mentality and essence of a fair lady in hopes of distancing herself from the title and stigma of her mother choice of career. As the young lovebirds get to know one another (*EXPECT SOME MILD NUDITY*); unexpected occurrence happen that require Lee Mong to leave the town. This is when the story begins to interestingly unfold through the introduction of a new governor in town whom you could say provides life to the love based plot through his use of power from his title. It is refreshing that the main characters do not allow their social class or age to undermine their feelings and love. They both respected one another enough to faithfully love each other despite the distance.

ACTING: 9/10
The chemistry between the actors is believable due to their credible acting abilities. They skills of acting in a manner that you can sense the chemistry of the lovers is made more outstanding due to this have been their debut roles for both. However I did enjoy watching Jo Seung Woo more than Lee Hyo Jeong. He just had a presence of importance in a non-arrogate way to him.

MUSIC: 6.5/10
Not much to say regarding the music for the drummer accompanying the narrator; beside the narration of the story through song.

LIKED: My favourite scene would have to be Mong Ryong’s part at birthday celebration.
DISLIKED: Can’t actually think of something I did not like for despite the governors abuse of his power may be viewed as wrong, however without it the Chunghyang’s story would probably be boring.

CONCLUSION:
You should definitely watch this movie if you enjoy genres such as FORBIDDEN LOVE due to indifferent SOCIAL STATUS/ CLASS – REBELLION – PANSORI STORYTELLING – 13th CENTURY KOREA – FAITHFULNESS – USAGE OF POWER/ STATUS -
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Royal Tailor
1 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I liked the film; it wasn't a bad film. I just really don't know why I feel like the story wasn't well developed enough for me but overall I thought it was entertaining!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions