Sort by:
M
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Merp
Other reviews by this user
38 minutes ago
38 minutes ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama was like everything I would like to see in a modern drama today.
This drama just wow. The first 2 episodes were kind of boring and confusing to me but my god this story is really everything.
It's a little preachy being that the main conflict is brought on by the act of abortion but to me as a pro choice person I took the message in as "humans will read more throw away anything things selflessly".
The romance elements are chilling and captivating.
This has a kind of American soup opera feel to it with all the different rooms and sets but it's just enough. I would rather get a soup opera feel rather than a melodrama feel.
I got a hand of the box set for this drama at a Korean bookstore in Manhattan. I read on the back of it this is one the last episode had one of the highest ratings in kdrama history. I can understand why this drama kills in action, adventure, melo, romance and mystery.
IT'S PRETTY SCARY at times though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boss & Me
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 hours ago
7 hours ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I love this drama..really like it. But a little dissapointed bout the ending. I hope there are filming story after FT and SS married.????????
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Master's Sun
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 hours ago
10 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is actually my favourite drama. I've already watched it 3 times and every time I watch it, I get the feelings I had the first time I saw it. It's a rom-com with great actors. The leads are eally good together, with daebak chemistry. The drama is a little bit different from other rom-coms because you also get horror, thriller, comedy together. And if you haven't seen it yet... here you read more get to see the handsome So Ji Sub and Se0o In Guk.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Romance of the Condor Heroes
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 hours ago
11 hours ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 2.5
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I watches one part of it and stopped because I can't stand Michelle. She is not suitable for the role. I can't believe the director/ Zen Y. If I am able to kick his ass, I will. He ruined this series big time. Return of the condor hero is one of my favorite series but this time he ruined it. I am not going to watch this one. Hopefully the up coming read more new one in the future, there will be a new director and will have the right people to pick the right actors and actresses for the series.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sassy Go Go
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 hours ago
14 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I don't watch this drama right away after knowing its airing date. It had a very bad premiere rating, competing with SFD and GT with relatively unknown casts. I initially ignoring it completely. Such a low rating, I have a very bad initial impression on this drama. However, I don't know why I started to read the recaps while ep 4 aired and it immediately hooked me.
The story is engaging, fun read more to watch and the visuals didn't hurt. I am completely fall for lee won geun's eye smile. Kim Yeol is really attractive male lead. He is smart and he knows it. He didn't turn stupid because of love and didn't do stupid things. He knows what to do after seeing things. He really use his brain well. I do think that other male lead in drama should learn from Yeol on how to express feelings and how to use their brain. Seriously, having more of a flirty, smarty and cute male lead like Yeol won't hurt anyone.
Yeon Doo, on the other hand, was a fun and thoughtful student. She talk about things. She care for her friends. She is willing to do what she think is right, even if it will make her life difficult. I do think that she need to think more (she can always learn from Yeol), but she still on the right track for me.
about Ha Joon.. well... I don't usually feel second lead syndrome and I don't feel it in this drama. His friendship with Yeol is fun to watch too.
Now for Soo Ah... She is crazily pressed by her mom. She has nowhere to turn to, and end up being the villain in this drama, though she did show some complicated emotion during almost every mistakes she made.
Overall, this drama was really fun. It shows a lighter side of school drama (I personally think School 2013 and Angry Mom kinda dark for me). School shows should be like this :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Memorandum of Kyoko Okitegami
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Jenn
Other reviews by this user
18 hours ago
18 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama was so amazing, and such a delightful watch!! I fell in love with the plot, the characters, and felt so invested into this world of mystery and romance. I picked this up on a whim, but I'm so glad i did!

Story:
The story was extremely captivating, right from the start! Not only does it get me thinking about someone's memory resetting every night, but I was always in love read more with the mysteries. Unlike other mystery shows I've watched, there were deeper meanings behind the ones here; all heartwarming and amazingly done. Everytime I was SURE my logic made sense, the writers go and blow my mind. *mind blown*. The humour was always a great touch, and i fell in love with all the characters, especially the supporting ones.

Acting/Cast:
I was extremely happy with the casting. Not only did the main leads have undeniable chemistry, but their individual characters were quirky, loveable, and believable.. despite how weird they are. I'm not extremely into J-dramas, but I hope these guys are famous actors, 'cause they blew my mind with every task and challenge.

Music:
The opening and theme song were both really, really, REALLY catchy (I'm singing it in my head as i write this!), which is always a nice addition, haha. I didn't pay attention to the insert songs or the instrumental tracks at first, but I started noticing how delicately it was placed for specific scenes at specific times. The editing was done really well, and the music was just overall a nice touch!

Rewatch Value:
I think that this is a type of drama to re-watch on a nice fall day when you're feeling like a detective. Episode 7, in particular, was one of my favourites, so I would watch that, but I don't think I would re-watch the entire drama.

Overall, i had a blast watching this, and I'm missing it already. I wish it was longer, though!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gourmet
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by mali
Other reviews by this user
19 hours ago
19 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
CALLING ALL FOOD DRAMA LOVERS!! What a wonderful gem of a drama to find out of the blue. These are the best kinds the unexpected and without expectations. So along with my recommendation I just advise to watch this with an open mind.

This drama isn't the newest or latest, it is an older drama so some may feel it is dated with the style etc...but what makes a drama anyways because read more it has the latest fashions or hottest actors. If this is what your looking for than you can just skip this drama.

This drama had so much depth not only in cuisine but also emotional depth.

If for no other reason i would recommend this for the food aspect. I mean everything you could imagine from sea to land. Everything from snow crabs, to croaker bladders to mountain pheasants and yes even the art of korean butchery.

I personally would recommend this for any Kim Rae Won fans, which I never was but I am now!

as for OST, great intro! and some memorable tunes as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Princess' Man
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
23 hours ago
23 hours ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama was good and in every aspect solid. But it was not brilliant.

You have a nice story arch and character development. Especially the hero undergoes a believable transformation. There is a lot of tragedy in this drama, but the ending was surprising - in a good way.

Whilst it all starts off as a Romeo and Juliet scenario, it soon changes to a story of revenge. The romantic aspect stays read more throughout, but it never departs from its tragic circumstances.

Although I did like this drama, it did not blow me away, though. And these are the reasons:

1) The script had some flaws. If you watch carefully, you will recognize every 3 episodes or so that someone did not behave logically or the time-setting wouldn't fit, so the plot could be bent the right way.
2) More accurately you can observe this in the actions of the heroine, especially in the first 10 episodes, when she just does not do the logical thing to do (I cannot tell you what without spoilers), although it does not fit her level of intelligence.
3) This drama lacks some comic relief - it has NONE. It is very unusual, even for sobber historic dramas, to not have at least one funny character to counterbalance the heavy. It wouldn't have to be something goofy, because that wouldn't fit the general mood, but at least some joke here or there. Unusual. I, for one, missed that a lot.
4) For a historical drama, set around the powerstruggle at court, there is close to none, scratch that, there is NONE strategic plot. Seriously, the scheming of the villains and the good guys is basically killing each other off. One could argue, that it is just not the emphasize of this drama, but really, it should be part of it, it is the reason for the story and keeps happening all the way till the end.
5) So yeah - in the end, it is somehow about the suffering and death of lots of people who fall victim to a bad and cruel ruler, and the suffering of two lovers, especially because one is the daughter of the villain. But there is hardly more.

Gosh. I am quite sure, that I have never smiled LESS whilst watching a drama. HOWEVER, it did not make me sad, at the same time. I did not cry and the ending was maybe the long sought counterbalance for all the tragedies happening.

So why did I give this an 8? Because it is still a very well directed and detailed drama, and the lovers' fate keeps you watching, although it is not the usual kind of romance you are used to. In many ways it is more realistic than any other historical drama, because it is nowhere over the top and portrays the bitterness of life in a believable way.

You should watch it, if you like dramas that are realistic and portray the endurance of people as they struggle, fall and get up. It is a historical setting, but it does not employ any historical events, thus it is not necessary something for lovers of historical dramas by itself.

You should not watch it, if you want a well-rounded drama, with either humor, sweetness or a strategic plot. You won't find them here.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Room Alone: The Series
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So... Room Alone ist about people (students) who are somehow lonely. It tackles exactly 10 stories of 10 habitants of a condo.

I kind of liked it? It wasn't extremely special in some kind but it is a really good lakorn in it's genre. These days the theme internet gets more and more attention in movies, series and books. And this lakorn was about it. Facebook, Instagram, Line and Tinder (!) were read more the means to get to know each other to communicate with each other. You could see yourself in the characters.

They were ordinary stories every could relate to one of them or more and the actors did a good job, as everything seemed really natural, they were just some students who felt lonely in this society.

The music was good for those pats that I listened to them, it didn't disturb the flow or was annoying (like in some tw & k-dramas).

You should watch it if you want more GMM, youth dramas, light fluffy dramas :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Eccentric Daughter-in-Law
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Could have been a really good rom-com.

I finished this drama maybe about a month ago and I've been meaning to write this review, so when I finally looked to see what I had rated it, I was surprised. Until I started remembering the audacity of some of the characters. The unbelief and frustration I felt was too overwhelming for me to rate this drama any higher than a 7.5.

The Eccentric read more Daughter-in-Law is about this female idol named Oh In Yeong who's popularity is seriously declining. So the CEO of her agency decides to put her in a reality show about fake mother-in-laws and daughter-in-laws. They fake marry her off to this math professor (who's gotta be in his mid-thirties), named Cha Myeong Seok. In Yeong and Myeong Seok don't like each other at first, but obviously end up falling in love, and obviously the mother is opposed. Now, all of this is fine and dandy, it makes for a good rom-com setup. BUT, this drama is filled with hypocrisies tht I just cannot accept.

Before I even address the hypocrisies, let me focus in on the two other stories being told throughout this. The CEO of In Yeong's agency is married to Myeong Seok's sister, and his own mother is the reason my rating is not significantly higher. His mother has got to be the worst mother-in-law I've ever seen, and his wife is so passive that it gets to be too ridiculous to handle. Not to mention tht he's a terrible husband to boot. The other story is of Myeong Seok's brother and his wife, and how the wife didn't want to be a housewife anymore (and I LOVED tht story, until they made it about how the wife was a terrible wife and mother).

Anyways, when I mentioned hypocrisies, I meant those of the mother-in-laws. Ok, so this drama focuses in on two mother-in-laws, the first being In Yeong's fake mother-in-law, and the second being her agency's CEO's mother. They are both HORRIBLE to their daughter-in-laws, especially the latter. Another unlikable trait of this drama are the male characters. Like, why are they so lame?! The male lead is in his mid-thirties, yet he still lives at home with his mother, and he still needs her permission of who he's allowed to marry. It's unbelievable. And his brother, who is basically living off his wife, is made to look pitiful, while really he's just a loser. The CEO guy has got to be the most unlikable of all the male leads, because he only listens to his mommy, who he knows is terrible to his wife. All these things really frustrate me and bring down the rating to an otherwise pretty good rom-com.

Oh, I forgot to mention how the characters have NO CHEMISTRY. None whatsoever. I mean, some of the scenes are cute, but the chemistry is seriously lacking. Not one character has any romantic chemistry with one another. I thought Dasom was great as In Yeong tho, she did a really good job. The girl who played the real daughter-in-law was good too, and the mother-in-law was alright, but other than tht i didn't like the casting very much. On a positive note, this drama is really funny. And I do think it's marathon-worthy (it's only 12 episodes).

All in all, the Eccentric Daughter-in-Law is not a terrible drama, it's just really frustrating. Definitely not a must-watch, but if you like Dasom from Sistar or just rom-coms in general, then I'd say give it a shot.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Reply 1988
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Definitely one of the best dramas that I've seen in a long time, it went all the way up to my top list of favourites of all times.
Since the beginning till the end, I laughed, cried, got sad, angry, felt all the feelings that the characters felt.Their hurts, sadness, achievements... You truly get involved with the story of every character.

This one I'll certainly re-watch. It made me go back in read more time, specially for someone that is from the 80's.
Usually family dramas can get a little dull after a while, but not with this one.

I'll recommend to everyone that wants to laugh with the foolishness, the comic moments. Anyone that wants to relive the first love, get angry with the troubles of life and shed tears of happiness.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Me if You Dare
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
From start to finish, this drama is solid. No waffling!
The drama is really one of the best when it comes to depicting the serious content. It never felt like it was trying too hard to make me feel. It was simple but effective.
I liked that other characters had strong deductive reasoning as well. It's not all about the god-like Professor Bo.
The plot has a twist! How I love twists. read more The lead up to the ending is really thrilling. Oh so good.

Jin Yan
“Are you using Li Xun Ran's life to gamble with me?”
“Analysing the mind of a perverted madman is my job, not a gamble.”

I think this is the first time I was convinced that the hero wasn't necessarily trying to be mean, he was just speaking his mind. Jin Yan is very direct. He is not good with people. I like that he's not picky about cleanliness or order. Most of the time, characters with his type of personality will be meticulous and OCD, but that's not really his thing.
Jin Yan's straight face is actually quite comical. The actor makes use of body language to give his character a lot of personality. His forwardness means he can ask questions that progress the relationship along quicker but as the viewer you're not really sure what it means that he's asked.
He also has a bit of a naughty side that he delivers so deadpan I can't help but laugh.

“You kissed the President?”
“Yes. During the climax of catching the criminal, I went out of my way to kiss my own sister. Are you thinking that I left my IQ and morality behind?”

Jin Yan is such a great character. It's hard to describe him. He is stiff, but never boring. He cares but is never kind. He's blunt and a little mean but not rude. He is open to learning more about “normal people” but on his terms. His progression into a human is really subtle and fabulous. I loved the unraveling of his personality. He smiles a lot to himself which makes him more accessible. He's not a diva.
I think the interesting thing about him, is that most Korean heroes have the two sides to them, but for Jin Yan, even when he is acting cute, he is still intimidating and even when he's humbly following instructions.
I like that he doesn't think he's a monster. That he knows full well who that title goes to. And the drama also emphasises how he doesn't identify with the murderers. That even though he understands them it's because of talent not because of some sinister connection or that there's something wrong with him.

Romance
This is probably my first time that I swooned over the heroine's romantic lines rather than the hero's. But Yao Yao's beautiful delivery was really touching.
Jin Yan is pretty much always respectful towards Yao Yao which is something you can't say of many heroes. And I like that he appreciates her intelligence and seeks out her input on the cases.
The pair have a very functional relationship right from the beginning. Their dynamic is really enjoyable.
I liked the flirty undertones and how Jin Yan really conveys his admiration for Jian Yao. I love that in a hero. He trusts her.
As the drama goes on, he becomes more relaxed and funny.
However, when he really starts to pursue her, I found the romantic activities a little jarring. It was almost like he had no heart in it, but rather was using formula as a means to an end.
However, once they get together, the drama moves away from focusing on their relationship. I was glad for that because romantic Jin Yan is kind of creepy.

Zi Yu
Zi Yu at first seems like the stereotypical sidekick. He's a good sidekick. He knows Jin Yan's quirks well. I love the little conversation he had with Yao about his best friend.
“His emotional intelligence is basically zero.”

He has some really awesome moments when he's got Jin Yan's back.

Jian Yao
This heroine is amazing. She's very firm right from the start. Unafraid to be a little rude but isn't bratty at all. She doesn't fall for any of Jin Yan's games (not that he plays a lot) and she can give him a fine and sophisticated setdown.
As one of the characters says, Jian Yao is both book smart and street smart which is refreshing in a heroine.
Despite considerable desensitisation to serial killer plots, I was terrified right along with Jian Yao.
I felt Jian Yao's horror towards Jin Yan but similar to her, also felt the curiosity of the mystery and the intrigue of the hunt.
She's efficient and capable.
Towards the second half of the drama, her character sort of withers away. She doesn't become annoying, she just becomes very unimportant to the plot.

It's been a while see a drama really gripped me. I was looking for a drama that would cheer me up and was trying for all the comedies, but nothing worked like the satisfaction of a good drama regardless of genre.

P.S. The book that this drama is based on is really good. You can read how Fu Zi Yu and Jin Yan become friends. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
If you're looking for a cute, fluffy, and lighthearted drama, then this one is for you! This drama/lakorn is so well made and pretty much gave me a high on feels. It was THAT good.
The cinematography was amazing, and can definitely compete with that of kdramas. The color palette was refreshing and gave a nice laid back feel to the drama.
The story itself was told in a relatively good pace. read more It gave a lot of time for the development of their relationship and you can really see how they fall in love. The downside to it, however, is that it felt a tiny bit dragged out during the middle, but it definitely did not affect the show too much. It held my interest and just seeing them interact is enough to keep watching.
As if you needed another reason to watch, the main actors were amazingly casted. Mike is so so so hot and Aom is super pretty. Plus, they have the best onscreen chemistry. For the drama, they sang a song for the ost, so you know the music is good.
To conclude, I would definitely recommend watching this!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pasta
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
My description for Pasta: Simple, Sweet, Realistic yet Very Entertaining!

If you're tired watching some complicated mellow-dramas and wanting to watch something fresh, then you should watch Pasta for sure!

I praise the writer for writing a great plot :) each episode sure give us something new to learn, and for me, every scene is scripted so well. I love the conflicts in the kitchen that makes the kitchen 'alive'.

My thumbs read more up goes to the actors too, our lovely couple on screen: Chef Choi Hyun Wook and Seo Yoo Kyung. They're portray each character strongly and naturally, and i love all the lovey-dovey scenes when they are together. Not-so-overboard, but always sweet!

One thing that i regret "Why do i watch this great drama in 2016? I'm super late." if i knew it's this great, i would watch this one sooner.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ho Goo's Love
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was so pleasantly surprised by Ho Goo's Love. At first I wasn't impressed at all, and It definitely took a while for me to warm up to the characters. A naive character falling in love with a cold hearted character is a standard K Drama formula, so I couldn't imagine how this could cause so many reviewers to describe it as "original". Wild imaginings... frustrating misunderstandings... high school flashbacks... secret crushes... read more All of this has been done in so many other dramas, so why is this one special? Well, for me, there was a moment that took me so by surprise that I just had to watch the next episode immediately. From that point on I was hooked.

In a lot of ways this is a conventional rom-com, but the love stories themselves are definitely unconventional. Sure there is a love triangle, that turns into a rectangle, but it's a refreshing approach that got me more invested with each episode. There's also one main character, who doesn't say a word, who was the true star of this love story, at least to me.

The cast is really awesome, though I will admit that my least favorite was Uee. She did a good job, but I just didn't like her as much as the other main characters. I admit that her "revised" look was distracting. I can't really say anything bad about her performance, but I was only interested in seeing her on screen with Choi Woo Shik, who she did have great chemistry with.

Choi Woo Shik, on the other hand, totally won me over. I thought he would be too silly to take seriously, at first, but he was the perfect balance of sweetness, and seriousness, to make me fall for Hoo Goo's charm. Im Seul Ong won me over too, when I swore I would hate him. Kang Cheol flips conventional arrogance on it's head, which makes him an awesome character. My favorite cast member turned out to be Lee Soo Kyung, who I was surprised to see was so much younger than the rest of the cast. She was so good as Ho Gyeong, also the only character that I liked from the very beginning, and I am looking forward to seeing much more from her.

I should also give an honorable mention to Ho Goo's parents, who I thought were really great too! The cast, as a whole, really had great chemistry too!

Even though I loved the cast, and the love stories, I could not give the story a super high score. To me, even with all it's originality, there were a few too many clichés, and preachy moments. Though I would consider this a light drama, it does touch on some very serious topics, though only lightly. I'm sure certain topics are more serious when considering Korean culture. I wonder if any controversial moments went over my head because of cultural differences. I am sure being American is what made some of the moments feel so preachy to me.

The music? Well, it didn't really stand out to me, which makes it neither good, nor bad.

Would I watch it again? Sure! Some of the charm will be lost, now that I know what's happening, but there are so many moments that I could watch again. Immediately after the last episode, I had the urge to flash back to my favorite scenes (I'm still laughing about one kiss reaction in particular).

Overall, I would recommend this drama, especially to those looking for a good love story. It's also a much funnier, and lighter drama than the subject matter suggests. They don't take certain topics as far as they could have gone, but I applaud them for going there at all. I also liked the ending, and what it had to say about relationships in general.

I say, give it a chance, and wait until at least episode 5, if you're not convinced that you will like it. It took me about that long to really get into it, and now that it's over, I really miss it. Add me among those who consider this an underrated drama. I'm so glad I found out about it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No