Sort by:
Meteor Garden
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 9, 2011
Jul 9, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Out of the 3 versions of this story, again this was the last one that I got around to watching. The japanese version being my first, will always be my favorite because it's the one that hooked me onto the series to begin with (as well as Arashi / MatsuJun (: ). The Korean version I watched after I read the manga, and although I thought it was a good series by read more itself, I felt it drifted far off from the manga, and even the main characters seemed to be separate characters. After watching Meteor Garden, I would say I liked this one better than the Korean version.



In the earlier episodes I felt MG did a terrific job on basing it off of the manga. It's expected that there has to be some variation, but most of it, I felt, was right on. As the show progressed, MG started to develop into it's own story. Not to say that it drifted far off, but events were done differently. Through it all, I felt the actors did a good job as the characters. Dao Ming Si's character acted like the original Domyouji, with minor differences. Shan Cai's character was bull headed like the original Tsukushi, hiding her own true feelings even from herself. The rest of F4 was portrayed well.



When I first started watching this show and saw F4 I wasn't sure how I was going to like them. Dao Ming Si and Hua Ze Lei fit Domyouji and Rui well, but I wasn't sure about the other 2. Mei Zuo as Mimasaka even fit, but Xing Men took me a while to get used to. As Nishikado, he looked different. But at the end I found myself liking him as his character. True I liked the japanese F4 better, and even Kim Bum as Nishikado better, but for the Taiwan version he played his part well.



They only had 2 songs in this drama, the opening and the ending. The opening song "Qing Fei Te Yi" (Can't Help Falling In Love With You) they played throughout the drama. It might just be me, but the song didn't get on my nerves.



For a drama that came out in 2OO1, I thought it was really good. You have to keep in mind while watching it that it came out 1O years ago, so of course fashion and technology is going to be different. The cell phones aren't as advanced as they are now. The filming for the show isn't as high quality as it is for new shows. That aside, I think it's a show worth watching. I really think that if I hadn't of seen the Japanese and Korean version I would've liked this drama a lot more. Because this was the last one that I watched, and I'd already read the manga, I found a lot of it predictable. The ending I felt was cute. I'm not sure if I'll watch the 2nd season yet, I'm still debating.



Ohh another thing I liked about this drama was how it included characters such as QingHe (Kazuya in the manga) who were eliminated in the other dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mop Girl
22 of 23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2012
Apr 13, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
You would think that I'm exaggerating the scores or just simply click 10 points for everything by coincidence but no!
This is a really great series. It reminds me of Tru Calling but in Japanese style with lots of jokes. We get to know new people and stories in every episodes. The first episode is a bit boring but don't trust it just give a try to the second one! :D I read more promise you won't be disappointed.
Keiko and Shosuke makes a great pairing in this drama who tries to solve cases because of Keiko's visions. They're joking around everytime. I laughed a lot.
This is an awesome series about crimes, investigations flavored with humour.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen Of The Game
20 of 21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 19, 2011
Dec 19, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I wasn't very fond of Lee Bo Young but was a big Joo Jin Mo fan and the synopsis sounded like this would make for angst fest...

Story: First, the revenge is way less gritty than it sounds. I thought the female characters revenge would make for a great turning point for the plot but the writers kind of dropped the ball and her "revenge" was more of an emotional one rather read more than of taking action which kind of gets repetative. I would have also liked it more if they cut it down to 16 eps. There are a lot of things that I would never guess would happen so the plot isnt predictable at least. The best thing about the story is the romance. Lots of angst to eat up and you pray there will be a happy ending in the midst.

Acting/Cast :Lee Bo Young is a hit or miss for me. I havent seen a decent drama with her in which she has chemistry with the male lead. Well of course here comes the attractive/great actor Joo Jin Mo and you got some HOT chemistry! Their relationship was off the charts sizzling. I didnt care for the supporting cast and found the second lead characters annoying/not relevant to the story.

Music: It fit the drama well but not memorable.

Rewatch: If it were a little shorter, i probably could watch it every year due to my love of the couple but i think this is some thing i can wait to watch in a few years.

Overall Queen of the Game is the most romantic drama you will see!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fondant Garden
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 9, 2012
Jun 9, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Fondant Garden was initially a early season pick up on a rainy weekend. What it turned out to be was quite different--a drama that I really enjoyed for its cute factor and for the most part, its story.

Park Jung Min is seriously adorable in this, so if you are a fan, you will enjoy him in Korean (for parts) and in Taiwanese (dubbed). He brings so much to the character of read more Han Ji/Pu Xi Huan. Even though this is a comedy, he brings a lot of cute expressions that make him that much funnier.

The music for this drama is fairly well done. The opening theme is very cute, and on film, the opening theme is probably one of the most creative and bright in dramaland. The dramatic moment song is also beautiful. Both songs will stick with you.

The story itself is rather light hearted, although there are elements of melo laced within. Like any rich boy/ not as well-off girl drama with brothers, there is also family drama. Those parts are harder to get through, particularly in the earlier episodes. The drama as a whole doesn't really pick up, in my opinion, until episode 5, but the first four episodes are important for story development (so don't skip them.)

Overall, I found in Fondant Garden a much better drama than I expected from the outset. For a pick up drama (not one I wanted to watch initially), I rank it up there. It certainly is one of my favorite Taiwanese dramas, at any rate.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Umareru.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 18, 2011
Dec 18, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was a little hesitant at first to watch this, but I really enjoyed this drama. I was thinking that a 50 year old who gets pregnant was an odd plot line, but man-oh-man were there some extra plot lines thrown into the story. I would say the drama is pretty believable, the cast was amazing, and it definitely taught me a thing or two about how Japan views later-in-life pregnancies and read more all the complications that stem from it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stars Falling From the Sky
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 4, 2011
Jun 4, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama was one of the few that I really enjoyed. The first few episodes took me for an emotional roller caster ride. It was more of a coming of age story line for the protagonist. As yo watch the episodes you realize that the protagonists relationship starts of slow but gets intense as you go on. During this drama you will laugh, get angry, and also cry a river of tears. read more I recommend it to all the drama crazed fans out there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yukan Club
25 of 27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 28, 2011
Dec 28, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
An example of another drama I only watched because KAT-TUN members were in it. And probably wouldn't have if they weren't.

The idea was cute, and fun, but a lot of the times I wasn't that amused. I mean this isn't a bad drama, but it isn't the BEST one either. I think if you have time you should watch it but it's not one of those dramas I'd stop everything for read more to watch.

It has a lot of laughs in their along the way, and many strange scenarios. Junnosuke Taguchi playing a swedish guys son was pretty funny, especially with that blond hair, and those blue yes.

In closing this is basically a Japanese version of Scooby-Doo, and if you have some time to kill go ahead and watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
If In Love Like Them
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 5, 2013
Nov 5, 2013
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
In that time of Lee Dong Gun Fever, I watched Perhaps Love, and since I feel it's underrated, a little review is needed. So bear with me for a moment.

Story : Are you fed up of desperate causes ? Of Love-me-I'm-Dying kind of Drama ? I understand you. I was like that too. After 1Litre of Tears, Koizora and so on I just couldn't do it anymore. No more suffering, goodbye read more hospitals : I just gave it all up.
But this short drama let me see that there is still hope for the genre. And anyway it's not like it's a 120 episodes melodrama, there are only 4 episodes and they are all aptivating, really well directed, and full of surprises. In fact, it's so well done that I consider it a 4hours long movie rather than a drama.
And you'd be surprised how much you'll laugh in that drama. Indeed Perhaps Love was done by smart people, who are very much aware of how hard it can be to watch a melodrama, so they gave us 3 incredibly funny characters who lighten the atmosphere.
Plus, they managed to rid this drama of many of all the Dramalandian clichés we would expect to see in this kind of story, which helps a lot !

Acting : I rate it 10 because it really is outstanding. You believe in the characters, you are in this story with them, and it works. Don't expect the fake and classic End-Of-Episode-Kiss-Scene because the only kiss you'll get is those these characters can give each other in their situation. Their anger is real, their saddnest is real and their love is real.

Music : It's not all OST, you also have real-life songs if I may say, like CCR "Have You Ever Seen the Rain", a song that is doomed to make me cry from now on. Very well chosen and balanced.

Rewatch Value : You'll see in the end of the drama. If you're like me, you'll want to rewatch it right away. And then in a few weeks. And then in a few months.

Overall : Underrated. Incredible. Melodramatic without needing any string quarted. It's short. It's great. Just watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Romance
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 3, 2013
Feb 3, 2013
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Hello,
I found this drama as I was looking for a teacher-student love story. I quite liked it. The beginning was very funny and romantic, and as usual in this kind of plot the middle part was really heart-breaking. (I'll let you discover the end by yourself :p) I would have rated it higher than that (maybe even 9/10) if their teacher-student relationship was their only obstacle. In my opinion, adding family read more issues was a mistake as it could have been a plot for an altogether different drama about impossible love. Nonetheless, it's still a pretty good show and I enjoyed it.

Edit : I’m raising the overall value by one point since this drama grew onto me after a few rewatches, particularily the beginning of the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Phoenix
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 5, 2012
Jan 5, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
The drama is really good and the cast is exceptional. I usually don't watch dramas that have more than 20 episodes unless they're historical, because they tend to get boring. But this one, this one made me watch the whole drama in just 2 days.
I loved it from the first episode to the last, it's a roller coaster of emotions - I laughed, I cried, I hated some characters and then read more I loved them - and then I hated them again, I smiled, I got frustrated and angry in some situations and I loved every minute of it. It is definitely worth watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Galileo
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Loved it! I saw the drama and the movie! The acting was brilliant. Both leads were exceptional and the storyline was most impressive. Though not scientifically realistic, it was a very entertaining drama to watch. Every episode was worth watching. It will leave you wanting for more. I love the song, "Kiss-shite". Its a very sweet song <3. I rewatched certain episodes of this drama and I barely rewatch anything. Overall, it read more is one of my most memorable dramas and I was obsessed over it for a while . Plus, the character was slightly imitated in the last episode of in Meitantei Okite, another drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Obstetrics and Gynecology Doctors
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 27, 2011
Sep 27, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I started on this drama mainly because of Song Joong Ki since I've been a big fan of him ever since Sungkyunkwan Scandal. And I'm mighty glad I did. I was pleasantly surprised to find that without adhering to cliched Kdrama machinations or plot developments it was able to keep the viewer entertained throughout. The acting by the entire cast is honest and mind-blowingly good especially the 3 leads. The stories of read more the patients, their suffering and human moments moved me to tears at times. Although I feel a few of the guest stars or patients over-acted at times but that doesn't undermine the overall seriousness of the drama. Coming to the romance part, it was delicately portrayed. The development of the relationship between the leads and Hye Young's friendship with Jae Suk give the viewers some truly memorable moments.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Utsukushii Rinjin
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 22, 2011
May 22, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I hadn't watched a J-Drama since a long time as I was into K-Dramas lately. So, I picked up 'Utsukushii Rinjin' randomly when I was going through the Drama database of MDL. I read the plot and it seemed to be kind of... interesting. As I was only watching romantic stuffs and stories about the young generation, I decided to give this one a go as the story was different. And I read more am so glad that I picked it for watching.

You should definitely watch this drama if you are a fan of the suspense genre. The story is UNIQUE and UNPREDICTABLE, and it kept me wondering what was going to happen next.

The cast is awesome. Nakama Yukie and Dan Rei have done great acting there. The supporting characters are also pretty good. Nakama Yukie, especially, impressed me. She literally gave me the creeps!

The music is decent and suits with the drama. The occasional 'tik-tok' of the clock gave it a 'horror movie' feel as if at the strike of 12, a ghost would pop out of somewhere!

The reason why I gave this story a 9 is because I was not quite satisfied with the ending. I won't say I was disappointed but it's just that several questions that I had in my mind were remain unanswered. Also, I gave rewatch value a 4 because although this is a good drama, you probably won't feel like watching it again as you will already know what's going to happen next, and it is no fun that way as the suspense won't be there.

Overall the drama is a good watch. The story doesn't drag and it keeps you hooked.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Invincible Lee Pyung Kang
12 of 12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama was pretty cute. It was a decent rom-com, where most of the comedy came in the form of tension between the two leads, their fights and what not. It was a very lighthearted story, with lots of good moments, and overall it was cute. It wasn't anything THAT spectacular, but if you just watched a super amazing drama with which you were obsessed with and you can't stop thinking about read more it, this will serve as an excellent distraction.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strawberry Night
18 of 19 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2012
Mar 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Well now that Strawberry Night has finished it's run, I can give my full review of the series, and boy let me tell you it was a good run!

As I stated in my comment below, outstanding job by Takeuchi Yuko playing "Himekawa Reiko", but the team as a whole I liked as well. I loved the slight character development we see with the supporting roles, especially "Kukita","Nori" and the last episode's read more bad guy, showing that writing and directing put in a great deal of thought when fleshing out their cops, as well as the criminals to the ongoing cases.

Directing was very well done, unlike past Japan cop dramas which could get really wonky some times. Think Boss (more wacky than needed but still an entertaining show) and Jiu (the lack of common sense in that drama, coupled with bad music choices).

We actually had a very good balance of comedy and drama and didn't lose sight that this is a 'cop drama'. More often than not, some of them tend to loose sight of the occupational part of the drama and start focusing on character relationships, and not in a good way.

With Strawberry Night we get a good look at the psychological and moral sides of the cops in which the main character and the supporting characters alike are included. More than 'who dun it' dramas we are given 'why' and the varied procedures that lead to that why which makes this an interesting pick to watch.

So to conclude, it may not be 'on the edge of your seat' action, but it most definitely won't keep you bored.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No