Sort by:
Vampire Prosecutor 2
30 of 30 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 20, 2012
Nov 20, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Story: I admit I enjoyed this season more than the 1st one (which is also very very good) because rather than concentrating on pure crime scenes and using Prosecutor Min's ability to solve crimes, this one mixes crime solving with additional arc on history of vampires, (which of course is related to the first season, so you should definitely watch), humorous teasers on the should-be-romance, funny, cute bromance between Dong Man and read more Soon Bum which I love and some heartful and touching moments with the dramas' side characters. The crime cases were good as expected; and this drama caught my attention from the very first episode, it's getting better by the next. I have no words for the ending, I just need a quick answer if there would be season 3 because I'm definitely there. The main team remaining is all I plead if ever there would be third season :)

Acting/ Cast: The best asset of this drama for me was the characters. I love them all. They are so adorable together. Seriously, Soon Bum rocks! He is the light of the show for me. No complaints for the acting, Min is always a standout and I'm glad despite the new looks of Yoo Jung In (which I also prefer) she remained Bad-ass! I have to give credit for the little girl who played Ji-Hye, she's so cute, and she never left my heart at ease, great acting kid! Did I also mention that I also love Soon-Bum-Dong Man bromance?:)

Music: Danger was so fitting in the enhancing action scenes, and yes, I loved it!

Rewatch Value: I had already rewatched some scenes, My faves aside from the ending where episode 4 and 6. Fun scenes between the dark tone of this drama were the best!

Overall: Loved this drama. I think I had an obsession over it. Season 3, chebal! :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Otomen
27 of 27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 20, 2012
Jul 20, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

Mainly because I read the manga and wanted to see the drama's adaptation. Then, I found out that Okada Masaki is the lead actor so I became more excited to watch it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

Honestly speaking, the storyline is kind of silly but it wasn't boring or unattractive, it was surprisingly enjoyable.

Positive Points:

*This drama is one of the nicest manga adaptations that I've seen read more so far.

*Main Genres:

--->Humor: I remember laughing several times during this drama, mostly in the third or the fourth episode. There were some hilarious moments in here that I had to pause in order to continue my laughter.
The style of Japanese comedy has always proved its way in making any drama lighter and enjoyable.
The comedy scenes weren't randomly present, it was nicely calculated in order to bring laughter when it's needed; that concept was highly appreciated.

--->School: This drama can also be considered as a school drama since it had all the elements that indicates so. The school side was the most hilarious part with a teacher like Hanazawa Yumeko who was really fun to see around, also the kendo teacher (Ryo's father) and all the classmates that made this part enjoyable.

*Another positive point that I should mention; it was really fun to see Asuka's Otomen friends and their ways of hiding their true self; it was very hilarious at many points.

*The imaginations moments that the characters had were always great and enjoyable.

Negative Points:

--->Romance: the romantic concept wasn't appreciated, I would like to think about this drama as a funny school drama rather than a rom-com; it's really better to think about it that way because romance hasn't deliverd much that can make you watch the drama because of it.
The romance was the annoying light type sometimes, it wasn't completely hateful but I can't possibly mention it in the positive points column.

Story: 8/10

3)Acting/Cast :

*Okada Masaki:

I like him as an actor , I've seen many of his dramas and appreciated most of them. Here, he had the most adorable role ever as a very "cute" role. He didn't fail my expectations; he's always a great actor so I was right for watching this drama because of him.
The character wasn't very different from the one in the manga, actuallly, it was more appealing. I always focus on characters when I watch a manga/anime adaptation in order to see their potency in portraying the orginal ones. Here, I must say that I liked Asuka's character; the way he was trying to hide his love for girly cute things while being the tough kendo captin that everyone loves and finding friends that share his Otomen self in the meantime: It was more than satisfying as a live character adaptation.

*Kaho:

I only saw her in "Tokyo Girl" but I don't judge an actor/actress over a film so let's say that I am not very familiar with her before this drama. Here, I believe that her role was nicely done although I believe that her acting skills are lacking something.
The character didn't attract me, at least, not the way Asuka's character did. I loved the times where Ryo was saving Asuka; those where some great moments.
Ryo's character can be clueless while being on a tough girl mode. It's true that I didn't fall for her character but as a manga adaptation it was an acceptable character.

*Other Cast: I loved the remaining cast, every character in this drama had a unique concept plus there were funny characters everywhere!

*Appreciated Character: Tonomine was a very appreciated character all the way through the drama whether he was Asuka's rival or tough mainly man; he always had interesting scenes.

*Relationships:

--->Romance: I can't possibly speak about romantic chemistry because romance wasn't heavily present. Instead, I will mention that Asuka and Ryo's relationship was really cool to watch.

--->Friendship: Asuka's relationship with the kendo members, Tachibana, Ariake and especially Tonomine was literally mesmerizing.

Cast: 7.5/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

The closer scene was one of the nicest dramas closures. Overall, the ending was cute and adorable.

The ending: 8.5/10

5) My impresion (How did it affect me):

* I really enjoyed this drama, I think I enjoyed it a little too much.
*Laughter moments were very present so there weren't any chance to get bored.
*I really appreciated the characters in this drama and the adaptation overall.

*Is this drama memorable: Yes, it is. I still remember its event (especially the funny moments) even though I watched it a long time ago.

My impression: 8/10

6) Overall:

*If you read the manga then you would appreciate this drama's adaptation.
*If you like funny dramas then you would enjoy this.
*If you're looking for a romatic drama, you shouldn't expect much from this.
*If you like Okada Masaki, you need to watch this because it will give you another image aboout this actor.

Overall: 7.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Biscuit Teacher and Star Candy
27 of 27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This show is foremost about love and how love chooses you. Age and station do not matter. It's also very much about growing up and having someone be on your side no matter what. I thought this show was very well acted. I loved the kids and the lessons learned through the help of Biscuit Teacher. I loved Gong Yoo and Gong Hyo Jin. Tae In fell in love with Bo Ri read more and that was it for him, end of story. This show touched my heart. It was very cute and fun. Find it on the web and watch it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen Of The Game
26 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 28, 2012
Jun 28, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I was in "drama mood" so in that period U wasn't picky at all. I just read the synopsis then I decided to watch this drama without expecting anything from it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

The general story wasn't very special but it can't be considered as a one of K-dramas usual plots. However, it wasn't outstanding.

Positive Points:

*The storyline had a great dramatical depth which can read more make you tagged to its events.

*Main Genres:

--->Romance: This is a romantic story with all the meanings that the word "Romance" refer to; it was well written in order to make developments go deeper and deeper after each episode.
The romance here is the "mature" type, not like those childish romantic stories that we see everywhere but it's not very serious that would make you get bothered since they added moments to cheer the audience and keep boring moments out; i believe it was a smart move in order to maintain the great romance.
One more point, romance was a play of fate, a play of reality to show how true love can survive no matter what kind obstacles it faces; I know it's a little dreamy but it was cool in the drama.

--->Drama: I consider this drama as a dramatical romance, it's not the rom-com type so the dramatical side was heavily present and well done in some points.
It can be devided to several parts since the storyline was devided, the middle dramatical part was the best then there's some good parts at the beginning.

Negative Points:

*The romance is good but only the main leads romance existed; no side romantic stories that can change the mood a little. Yes, there was the usual Korean triangle but the side romantic stories were absent.
*The dramatical parts in the end were really annoying because it took a wrong turn after the 15th or the 16th episode; I had high hopes for that part and even though, it didn't end up badly but I wasn't satisfied.

Story: 8/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Joo Jin Mo:

I have a great respect for him as an actor, I loved his previous roles and I really liked his role here, it wasn't an intense role but the way he handled things was really well done.
The character was a very strong at first, you can feel the hartred and pain in Lee Shin Jun's eyes then as the drama went on, many changes occurred, many dramatic moments were held by his character, it was intEresting to to follow his character developments but at the end, I noticed some unsatisfying changes in the character's personality but it's all up to the story's changes above.

*Lee Bo Young:

I don't know her as an actress which means that I am not familiar with her acting skills, here she was acceptable and moving in some points because the role was portrayed in a satisfying way.
The character, let's see, I wasn't fully taken by kang Eun seol's character and I never sympathized with her. The character was off sometimes, cheerful some other times, cool most of the time and what I clearly remember that it was really annoying starting from the 15th or the 16th episode.

*Other Cast: I am only familiar with some of them but I think their roles were nicely done, except some annoying characters, the supporting roles were okay.

Relationships:

--->Romance: The chemistry was good, like I said earlier it's one of the greatest romantic stories that I've ever seen plus the leads made it enjoyable "most" of the time.

--->The triangle: Most of the time they were really annoying to watch, I skipped those parts often, I tried to watch but they weren't any close to the sweet triangles that we usually know but I have to appreciate Kim Pil Seo's character since it was "mature"

--->The leads relationship with Lee Shin Jun's mother: It was really well done at first but when it took the obvious turns near the ending, I became uninterested.

Cast: 7/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

I liked the final obstacle, it was somehow unexpected and cool to watch. Nice closure but it doesn't deny that it was one of K-dramas classical endings.

The ending: 8/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I was really interested in this drama and that's the main reason I finished it fast.
*I wasn't bored but I have to admit that I skipped several parts in order to make my watching time equilibrated plus there were scenes that I didn't like.

*Is this drama memorable: Yes, I am keeping this drama in my mind as one of the greatest romantic dramas but not as one of the greatest dramas that I've ever seen.

My impression: 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like romantic stories than this for you.
*If you're into romantic comedies, I don't think that this drama would suit your taste.
*Watch this if you're looking for a great male lead.

Overall: 8/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Otomen
25 of 25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 30, 2012
Jan 30, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I usually drop comedy dramas like Otomen after the first 5 mins, but this drama is really cute.

From the first Episode to the last one I had a smile on my face.

Seeing how Asuka is trying to hide his true self is somehow exciting.
I liked how his arch rival Tonomine turns every woman into a butterfly.
How Tachibana stalks Asuka and Ryo tries to protect Asuka.
Every character has read more its own cuteness they are the reason this drama should be watched.

Its not one of the super great manga adaptions like Hana Yori Dango or others, but its a drama I´m happy I watched.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 3, 2012
Apr 3, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
When I first heard about this drama (before it started airing) I laughed at the plot and how very, very weird it sounded. However, since i've enjoyed some of Yamapi's past drama's I decided to check out the first episode...and then I got hooked!

Story 10/10: As odd as the plot sounded, this drama actually has a good amount of everything(except action...unless you count Yamapi running with music playing in the background read more as action.) The plot is fantastic, but I think the biggest obstacle to it's success was the fact that it deals with death(every single episode), and most people would rather not watch anything that has such a heavy subject in it. Personally, I didn't mind and rather enjoyed that unorthodox aspect of it.

Acting 10/10: Flawless and usual. Every single cast member was perfect. Yamapi, Eikura Nana, the actors who play the family members, and everyone else did an amazing job.

Music 7/10: I think I remember only one song or maybe they just had one song played over and over again. I can't remember. The one song was actually pretty good (Yamapi was the singer), but the lack of their being more memorable variety is what made me give it a 7/10.

Rewatch Value 6/10: I don't usually rewatch dramas but since the success of this drama doesn't really hinge on surprise, I would give this a 6 for rewatch (which is very high for me.)

Overall 10/10: I looked forward to new episodes of this drama every single week and that is rare for me. For people who haven't seen it yet, I would say at least watch the first episode and give it a chance. I'd even go as far as saying it's a masterpiece drama that deserves more fans.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Contract
23 of 23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 20, 2012
Jan 20, 2012
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I just finished watching this near midnight and I don't want to put away writing this until the morning. What I'm feeling now demands to be written down.

I don't think I've watched any drama until now that felt so absolutely pointless at the end of it. That doesn't mean that everything was great until the end though.

First of all, it was real slow. Throughout most of the episodes, there isn't read more anything much happening than characters wallowing in emotions or doing what they do without any background score.
There was no getting used to it, you just had to bear with it. Mostly you bore with it because, while the screenplay inched along and something finally happened, the actors emoted well and those scenes were good.

Also, I can say with certainty, if it were not for my liking both Mike He and Ariel Lin, I wouldn't have made it even halfway through.

And, Then there is the ending..
After you sit through it all, the way they choose to end it is nothing but absurd. I didn't fully watch the last two episodes. There was no point to continuing with the torturous-ly slow process when the only reasons for watching the show took a beating.

That's all I can put into words now. The only reason any one can have of watching this,in my opinion, is if they like the lead actors, because it's a tough ride even then.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kagi no Kakatta Heya
22 of 22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 23, 2012
Jul 23, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A truly enjoyable serie, Kagi no Kakatta Heya is perfect for the Summer. It's episodic, which allows the viewer to watch one episode today and the next in a week without either forgetting the plot or severing any narrative thread. Should you decide to watch it, you can let your heart rest and only use your brain: this is a logic quiz, not a rollercoaster of emotions. The cases revolve around how read more the crime was committed: Who and Why are almost irrelevant.
It's perfect for a break from emotion-filled dramas, or for a weekly/daily 45 minutes of pure distraction.

As already pointed out by other reviewers, each episode is built upon a fix pattern, with a brief presentation of each locked-room case in which the improbable investigative trio gives us hints to solve the riddle. If you aren't a fan of serial doramas, you may find the repetition boring. Personally, now and then I like the familiarity created by schemes and patterns: it's... reassuring, and relaxing.

The actors do a great job. Sato Koichi's antics are hilarious, Ohno Satoshi's robotic ways surreal but very effective in creating a familiar character and yet leaving that trace of mystery which keeps the interest of the viewer alive. I'm partial to Toda Erika because every time I see her on screen she is different. This time it took me almost half an episode to truly recognize her; I once read that she's one of the few drama actresses, if not the only one, who is ready to act with no make-up at all. Her clothes are so discouraging it's evident she does not want to impress for her looks, but for her acting skills.

The editing of this show is original: it cuts scenes and music abruptly. In the beginning I thought it was a mistake by the segmenters, but I later realized it's a direction choice. While I wouldn't recommend this kind of style for every drama I watch, I think it works well here, where no room is left open for unnecessary detail and economy prevails over flowery narration.

The music is brilliant and works perfectly for the show. It combines some elements of the traditional detective/mystery serie a' la Ellery Queen with the contemporary pace and rhythm.

It can be rewatched, given some time has passed and you've forgotten
the intricacies of how the culprit did what (s)he did. I didn't mind the ending at all, I thought it was very much in line with the rest of the show. Suitable and therefore recommended to any type of viewer of every age.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
MR. BRAIN
22 of 22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 18, 2012
Apr 18, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Wow...this is just such an amazing show. I stumbled across it after watching Satoh Takeru in Bloody Monday since I wanted to see him in something else. At first I was disappointed that he was only going to play a small part in the film. However, I was hooked on the show itself from the first 15-20 minutes in. It takes about that long to figure out what the heck is going read more on (the beginning doesn't seem at all connected to the plotline as given in the notes), but then it takes off from there and never stops. I had seen several of the cast in other shows (besides Takeru), and they have always played some of my favorite roles. The show just has such amazing acting. Bad guys, good guys, side-not-really-all-that-important guys--all of them do an excellent job. The crimes are all deliciously difficult to solve (or at least to prove), and I love the scientific facts that they keep throwing in. Mr. Brain's impact on everyone around him is so wonderfully done. The writer(s) so excellently show him drawing the people around him into his positive look at life and the possibilities of science. And in drawing in the characters around him, Mr. Brain attracts the interest of the show's viewers at the same time. This show is a little more dark/bloody in some areas than most crime dramas that I watch (definitely not for little kids), but they are so well designed. No crime is the same (which often happens in crime shows where there is more than one crime to solve) and neither are they the run of the mill crime (man kills mistress or some other cliche mystery). These are interesting and unique stories that drew my interest anew with each episode. I have already re-watched this show, and I really with a second season had been made. If I have one complaint, it is that the end seems unfinished. It was obviously designed with a sequel in mind and the end is a little bit of a let-down because of it. If they ever finish it, the show would be almost perfect.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nobuta Wo Produce
32 of 33 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
What a sweet drama! While the premise of Nobuta wo Produce is not original, it is freshly told and I enjoyed every episode.

What I really found endearing is the frankness of the lead male Shuji and his inner monologue/narration. I like that he was outwardly popular but inwardly unsure, bored, scared and lonely. The theme of this show is a simple one. Finding true friendship...whether you are a popular kid, a read more quirky loner or a withdrawn, scared and painfully shy newcomer.

Each episode is written to show the development of this core friendship. As the synopsis and title reveal, these three come together to 'produce' Nobuta and make her popular but...wow is that so not what really matters here. I loved the way the story unfolded in such an original manner compared to the way a westernized show would have handled this. Lovely.

The acting is great. Not perfect but very good. My favorite was Yamashita Tomohisa who played Akira. He was so quirky, clumsy and strange but what a loyal and steadfast friend. Yamapi was great. There are a lot of wonderful characters to be found within the setting of their school; teachers and students alike. I enjoyed Shuji's family. They were a hoot! Nobuta was like a flower opening up to the sun when Shuji and Akira found her. I loved the development of her strength and their loyalty to her. Wonderful!

At 10 episodes, this series was a fast and entertaining watch. No story line or plot point dragged on too long or bogged down the pace. The music was fine..not memorable but not bad either. But this drama isn't really about a standout soundtrack so I did not find it distracting or lacking in any way. I gave the re-watch value an 8 because while I might not watch it again this was a very entertaining drama and others might really enjoy watching more than once.

I recommend this drama highly. It's quick, it's sweet, it's touching and fun. Give it try if you are hesitating.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tenchijin
21 of 21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 19, 2014
Jan 19, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Tenchijin marked the beginning of my taiga dramas’ adventure and what a pleasant start. I am so happy with my choice because this will allow me to pick countless of the same genre in the future.

I am actually surprised at myself for not picking a taiga drama before even if I am a hardcore fan of history; I watched historical films but never a taiga drama. I think I was scared read more away by the length considering my low patience level but after starting this drama, that factor didn’t matter anymore.

Before I review this drama, let me first explain what taiga dramas mean. They’re Japanese yearlong historical dramas produced by NHK and each taiga takes a specific historical character to tell his life with 98% of accuracy. Unlike most of Korean Sageuk that tend to take a little part of history and built a completely inexistent story on it, taiga dramas tend to tell the history in the most believable accurate way ever. Of course there are some dramatic effects but they never sabotage history or add imaginary characters on their own. And don’t worry, they tend to explain everything whether at the beginning or in their “Travelogue” at the end so you won’t feel lost at all even if you’re not familiar with history.

Tenchijin is set during the late 16th century: The warring era which marks the most chaotic period in Japanese history where all the daimyo (clans’ lords) were fighting for the rule and power. That era happens to be my favorite fraction of the Japanese history because many of my favorite generals belong to that period. And while I previously know every single thing about the era and the destiny of its characters including my favorite names, it still felt so fresh and amazing to watch the characters I read about being alive.

During the chaotic era of schemes, betrayals and greedy intentions, NHK decided to pick the Uesgi and center their 48th taiga drama on them. For anyone who knows history, the Uesgi aren’t actually the type who ruled Japan or searched for personal gain. They have a mystical aura around them ever since the lord Kenshin’s days. It’s all about the justice for the Uesgi and Kagekatsu (Kenshin’s adopted son) followed his lord’s path of justice by the great help of this drama’s main character Kanegatsu. This storytelling is about the calm, patient, non-greedy, loyal and righteous vassal who lived his life serving the Uesgi, caring for the commoners and creating a distinguished name for himself. Kanegatsu may not have been famous like many generals of the warring era who gained popularity even in current days but he was respected and acknowledged by most of them for his thoughtful thinking and great techniques. He may not have been a great warlord but he was one of the best strategists of the era and one of the fewest who genuinely cared for farmers and the poor.

While telling the story of Kanegatsu, this drama had to center the light on many other characters and events of the era like the ever popular generals: Kenshin, Oda Nobunaga, Saru Hideyoshi, Ishida Mitsunari, Tokugawa Leyasu, Sanada Yukimora, Date Masamune, Maeda Toshie, etc. Those plot changes were quite alluring because they introduced the important figures of the era, their interactions with Kanetsugu and their thoughts about the country’s future. The main character’s meeting with those famous generals added a different taste to this drama. While some of them were his allies, others were his enemies. Considering Kanetsugu’s sense of justice and great talkative manner, you will be looking forward to how he will reply to their compliments or repay their harsh comments.

There are a lot of political clashes in this drama between daimyo lords, the rulers, the vassals and even the wives. However, this drama isn’t all about politics. It contains amazing friendship moments, some romance, heartwarming relationships and great bromance. It will always manage to keep you interested.

It’s a given that you cannot produce a great taiga drama or any historical telling without great actors who know how to make characters feel alive and this drama’s casting nailed it in that part. Tsumabuki Satoshi being the male lead for this drama was one of the main reasons why I chose it as my first taiga and no, it’s not because of fangirling reasons. That man is one of the best Japanese actors nowadays and what’s better than a taiga main role to make him even a better actor? He delivered so well, whether in the foolish, serious or heartwarming moments because that’s what his intensity is all about. What also made the acting department even more overwhelming is the presence of other astounding actors such as Abe Hiroshi, Oguri Shun, Matsuda Ryohei, Kitamura Kazuki, the veteran Utsui Ken and many others that made great scenes and awesome portrayals of the generals. There were some astonishing duets with Satoshi in many scenes.

In a line, I will mention that some battles weren’t portrayed in a good way but the cinematography and the soundtracks were quite fitting for the theme.

Watch this if:
-You love history and want to know more about the Japanese warring era.
-If you like accuracy because taiga dramas have the most informative plots ever.
-If you want to discover taiga dramas but beware that they’re nothing like sageuk.
-If you like the set of cast especially Satoshi because he was amazing in this.

Do not watch if:
-You dislike anything historical.
-You’re not a fan of the Japanese warring era.
-You dislike any of the cast.

Tenchijin is a wonderful ride through the warring period which marks the most interesting part of the Japanese history. The drama takes the life of Kanetsugu as a reference to the Uesgi clan to tell his struggles and deeds through the chaotic era to reach the peace era.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Long Love Letter
21 of 21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 10, 2011
May 10, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Where to begin?
This is possibly the weirdest and most surprising dorama I've ever come across. Nothing is what is expected, or what it seems.
It's just as hard to define its genre, because while it could be listed as a science fiction drama, the fantasy part is just a device to make a very human, touching and very present message come across: are we really capable of cherishing our lives? Do read more we truly appreciate all the little and big things thrown onto our path or do we give them for granted?


Were I to base the overall rating only on how much I liked it, I would give it a 10. But it's undeniable that it doesn't deserve it on the cinematographic level: the shooting quality is average at best, it reminded me of those catastrophe movies from the 70ies, like Poseidon, or Empire of the Ants, often naive, with some ludicrous special effects. And it certainly does not shine for its photography.
The music goes from ordinary to completely random.

But characterization, dialogues and acting make up in heaps for whatever flaw. If you have read The Lord of The Flies by William Golding, this drama may remind you of it. Mix it with the most classical concept of Carpe Diem - seize the day - and you have Long Love Letter.
Kubozuka Yousuke is adorable here, at times childishly clumsy, at others emotionally intense. But it's Takako Tokiwa who really steals the screen, her character being the epitome of strength of will, sweetness and courage.
In fact, this drama is acutely feminine, like mother Earth herself.
The kids play their part very well, one ends up liking a quite stony Yamashita Tomohisa too.

I adored the ending. It makes this into one of those dramas one is emotionally compelled to talk about with someone, share opinions and questions. Like it or not, it doesn't leave you untouched.

So, by now you have 2 choices: decide that both the drama and the reviewer are deranged and leave it be, or watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen of Reversals
20 of 20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 8, 2012
Jan 8, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I began watching this drama for two reasons; I read on a blog that this was actually written quite well and I had just watched Prosecutor Princess and wanted to see more of Park Shi Hoo. At the time it was the first drama I attempted with episodes over 16 to 24. I wasn't disappointed in the least!

Queen of Reversals is one of the best melodramas I've watched. It tells the read more mature story of a marriage between two people who are struggling to make it work or having to decide to let go. The cast of actors all do a wonderful job. Kim Nam Joo and Park Shi Hoo are stand outs. Kim Nam Joo is wonderful as Hwang Tae Hee. The evolution of her character is a lot fun to watch. Park Shi Hoo is such a scene stealer. He has a great quality and screen presence.

The supporting cast was also well chosen. This was a melodrama but I loved that there were no birth secrets, no one had a deadly disease, no one loved someone they thought might be their sister. It was actually a pretty nice and refreshing change to watch something more real. The plot unfolded very nicely for 31 episodes and there were some real surprises along the way. This also has the funniest bromance between Goo Yong Shik and his secretary...Hilarious.

I ended up loving this show and giving it a 9. A few months later I stand by that rating. If you are looking for a great story about a woman really finding her strength you'll love Queen of Reversals.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Orthros no Inu
30 of 31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 16, 2012
Mar 16, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I just finished the drama and all I can say is; I loved it.

The story is interesting, it catched my attetion as soon as I read it. The actors are great and the characters whom they play are really interesting. The background music is good and I'm sure I'll re-watch the whole drama within a few days because I liked it so much :)

I think that the plot is really read more original, it's way more than your usual good vs. bad battle you see in other supernatural drama's.
This drama asks the questions everybody copes with while warching the serie; "What is good? What is bad" "Is doing the social right thing, really the best thing to do?" "Who decides what's wrong?" "When doing the wrong thing will save many others, is it still not the right thing to do?"

The drama is about 2 guys who are exceptionally gifted with a special power yet are cursed at the same time.... They never asked to be born with those powers, they just happen to have them. It's not always nice to posses something others don't have. Because when you're special, you're different from others.
Being special, being able to do inhuman things causes the people around you to envy, hate or wanna use you. When you make one decision, it'll always have consequences for another. People judge them based on their personal ideas or situations and get mad when they don't act according to their ideas. But who gets to decides what the right decision is? Society? The people with power? The people with money? Or them...?

Both Nishikido Ryo and Takizawa Hideaki are great actors and portray their character perfectly if you ask me. They are able to keep their own personality through the story even though you'll see that they, just like the people around them, slowly start to change. Even though they change they won't lose their personality, something I really liked (which happens often in drama's).

Even though this drama has only 9 episodes (there were circumstances during the filming, I read that both actors got sick or something) I liked the ending. I know not everyone will agree with me but it's better than I expected and quite fitting with the rest of the story.

To make a long story short; if you like supernatural drama's with a lot deep psychological moments this is an absolute must watch :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pride
30 of 31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 30, 2011
Jul 30, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
One of my all-time favourites. And the nth sign that Kimura Takuya is not the star he is for nothing.

I hate hockey, therefore I was very hesitant before starting it, a good two years ago. But I soon realized that this particular sport was a narrative necessity, being a rude, violent one, but played by people with a lot of heart.

Pride is a sweet love story, between a man whose read more name means Spring and a woman who's called Autumn. They are totally different in almost everything, to the point they become complementary and fit into each other's life like two pieces of a jigsaw puzzle. He has his way of pulling her out of her shell, and she has her own at showing real strength is not the physical one.
They are a pleasure to watch together. As I said before, Kimura does not disappoint, he's a great actor who knows how to charm the audience. I'm very partial to Yuko Takeuchi, I can't help being completely captured by her voice, her elegance and blend of ingenuity and wisdom.
Aki and Haru - Autumn and Spring - are one of my favourite drama couples, with tons of sparks crackling between them whenever they are on screen together.

The music doesn't need a review. The entire OST is by the Queen. Like them or not, they have been one of the greatest rock bands in history. And they fit the drama to a T.

I have already watched Pride twice and a third view is definitely in my plans, therefore I'm ready to give it a very high re-watch value and recommend this show to everyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No