Sort by:
Apr 3, 2012
Apr 3, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
When I first heard about this drama (before it started airing) I laughed at the plot and how very, very weird it sounded. However, since i've enjoyed some of Yamapi's past drama's I decided to check out the first episode...and then I got hooked!

Story 10/10: As odd as the plot sounded, this drama actually has a good amount of everything(except action...unless you count Yamapi running with music playing in the background read more as action.) The plot is fantastic, but I think the biggest obstacle to it's success was the fact that it deals with death(every single episode), and most people would rather not watch anything that has such a heavy subject in it. Personally, I didn't mind and rather enjoyed that unorthodox aspect of it.

Acting 10/10: Flawless and usual. Every single cast member was perfect. Yamapi, Eikura Nana, the actors who play the family members, and everyone else did an amazing job.

Music 7/10: I think I remember only one song or maybe they just had one song played over and over again. I can't remember. The one song was actually pretty good (Yamapi was the singer), but the lack of their being more memorable variety is what made me give it a 7/10.

Rewatch Value 6/10: I don't usually rewatch dramas but since the success of this drama doesn't really hinge on surprise, I would give this a 6 for rewatch (which is very high for me.)

Overall 10/10: I looked forward to new episodes of this drama every single week and that is rare for me. For people who haven't seen it yet, I would say at least watch the first episode and give it a chance. I'd even go as far as saying it's a masterpiece drama that deserves more fans.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kagi no Kakatta Heya
22 of 22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 23, 2012
Jul 23, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A truly enjoyable serie, Kagi no Kakatta Heya is perfect for the Summer. It's episodic, which allows the viewer to watch one episode today and the next in a week without either forgetting the plot or severing any narrative thread. Should you decide to watch it, you can let your heart rest and only use your brain: this is a logic quiz, not a rollercoaster of emotions. The cases revolve around how read more the crime was committed: Who and Why are almost irrelevant.
It's perfect for a break from emotion-filled dramas, or for a weekly/daily 45 minutes of pure distraction.

As already pointed out by other reviewers, each episode is built upon a fix pattern, with a brief presentation of each locked-room case in which the improbable investigative trio gives us hints to solve the riddle. If you aren't a fan of serial doramas, you may find the repetition boring. Personally, now and then I like the familiarity created by schemes and patterns: it's... reassuring, and relaxing.

The actors do a great job. Sato Koichi's antics are hilarious, Ohno Satoshi's robotic ways surreal but very effective in creating a familiar character and yet leaving that trace of mystery which keeps the interest of the viewer alive. I'm partial to Toda Erika because every time I see her on screen she is different. This time it took me almost half an episode to truly recognize her; I once read that she's one of the few drama actresses, if not the only one, who is ready to act with no make-up at all. Her clothes are so discouraging it's evident she does not want to impress for her looks, but for her acting skills.

The editing of this show is original: it cuts scenes and music abruptly. In the beginning I thought it was a mistake by the segmenters, but I later realized it's a direction choice. While I wouldn't recommend this kind of style for every drama I watch, I think it works well here, where no room is left open for unnecessary detail and economy prevails over flowery narration.

The music is brilliant and works perfectly for the show. It combines some elements of the traditional detective/mystery serie a' la Ellery Queen with the contemporary pace and rhythm.

It can be rewatched, given some time has passed and you've forgotten
the intricacies of how the culprit did what (s)he did. I didn't mind the ending at all, I thought it was very much in line with the rest of the show. Suitable and therefore recommended to any type of viewer of every age.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Orthros no Inu
30 of 31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 16, 2012
Mar 16, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I just finished the drama and all I can say is; I loved it.

The story is interesting, it catched my attetion as soon as I read it. The actors are great and the characters whom they play are really interesting. The background music is good and I'm sure I'll re-watch the whole drama within a few days because I liked it so much :)

I think that the plot is really read more original, it's way more than your usual good vs. bad battle you see in other supernatural drama's.
This drama asks the questions everybody copes with while warching the serie; "What is good? What is bad" "Is doing the social right thing, really the best thing to do?" "Who decides what's wrong?" "When doing the wrong thing will save many others, is it still not the right thing to do?"

The drama is about 2 guys who are exceptionally gifted with a special power yet are cursed at the same time.... They never asked to be born with those powers, they just happen to have them. It's not always nice to posses something others don't have. Because when you're special, you're different from others.
Being special, being able to do inhuman things causes the people around you to envy, hate or wanna use you. When you make one decision, it'll always have consequences for another. People judge them based on their personal ideas or situations and get mad when they don't act according to their ideas. But who gets to decides what the right decision is? Society? The people with power? The people with money? Or them...?

Both Nishikido Ryo and Takizawa Hideaki are great actors and portray their character perfectly if you ask me. They are able to keep their own personality through the story even though you'll see that they, just like the people around them, slowly start to change. Even though they change they won't lose their personality, something I really liked (which happens often in drama's).

Even though this drama has only 9 episodes (there were circumstances during the filming, I read that both actors got sick or something) I liked the ending. I know not everyone will agree with me but it's better than I expected and quite fitting with the rest of the story.

To make a long story short; if you like supernatural drama's with a lot deep psychological moments this is an absolute must watch :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Meteor Garden
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 9, 2011
Jul 9, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Out of the 3 versions of this story, again this was the last one that I got around to watching. The japanese version being my first, will always be my favorite because it's the one that hooked me onto the series to begin with (as well as Arashi / MatsuJun (: ). The Korean version I watched after I read the manga, and although I thought it was a good series by read more itself, I felt it drifted far off from the manga, and even the main characters seemed to be separate characters. After watching Meteor Garden, I would say I liked this one better than the Korean version.



In the earlier episodes I felt MG did a terrific job on basing it off of the manga. It's expected that there has to be some variation, but most of it, I felt, was right on. As the show progressed, MG started to develop into it's own story. Not to say that it drifted far off, but events were done differently. Through it all, I felt the actors did a good job as the characters. Dao Ming Si's character acted like the original Domyouji, with minor differences. Shan Cai's character was bull headed like the original Tsukushi, hiding her own true feelings even from herself. The rest of F4 was portrayed well.



When I first started watching this show and saw F4 I wasn't sure how I was going to like them. Dao Ming Si and Hua Ze Lei fit Domyouji and Rui well, but I wasn't sure about the other 2. Mei Zuo as Mimasaka even fit, but Xing Men took me a while to get used to. As Nishikado, he looked different. But at the end I found myself liking him as his character. True I liked the japanese F4 better, and even Kim Bum as Nishikado better, but for the Taiwan version he played his part well.



They only had 2 songs in this drama, the opening and the ending. The opening song "Qing Fei Te Yi" (Can't Help Falling In Love With You) they played throughout the drama. It might just be me, but the song didn't get on my nerves.



For a drama that came out in 2OO1, I thought it was really good. You have to keep in mind while watching it that it came out 1O years ago, so of course fashion and technology is going to be different. The cell phones aren't as advanced as they are now. The filming for the show isn't as high quality as it is for new shows. That aside, I think it's a show worth watching. I really think that if I hadn't of seen the Japanese and Korean version I would've liked this drama a lot more. Because this was the last one that I watched, and I'd already read the manga, I found a lot of it predictable. The ending I felt was cute. I'm not sure if I'll watch the 2nd season yet, I'm still debating.



Ohh another thing I liked about this drama was how it included characters such as QingHe (Kazuya in the manga) who were eliminated in the other dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unstoppable High Kick
25 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 11, 2012
Jul 11, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I recently finished watching Unstoppable High Kick as have started High Kick Through the Roof, also known as High Kick 2, which a second season of the High Kick sitcom series with different characters. Although some of the cast from the first season appear as cameos. The seasons are totally unrelated.

I started off my love for all things Korean with Unstoppable High Kick. It was my first drama and I have read more to say, it is my favorite. Unstoppable High Kick has this kind of 'fun' family setting. I have thought many times that it would be so great if I could just place myself among the Lee family and live my life with them. I know, for sure I could never say life was boring.

The sitcom takes us through a joy ride of the daily lives of the Lee family and the 'psuedo-family'(what the show refers to friends of the family who are in their household most of the time- basically act like it's their house). We are shown the ups and downs in the lives of each character in the family. This is what I love the most about this drama. Each character gets the floor at a certain point and we see things in their perspective. The daily lives of this characters are hilarious. The coincidences, the situations, will make you laugh. Though, rarely will you crack your sides with laughter.

Lee Soon Jae, the head of the household (grandfather) is beating and chasing his eldest son, Lee Junha, around the house, for causing him to lose money in his stocks. Lee Junha's wife, Park Haemi is lecturing her mother-in-law, Na Munhee, about the faults she made when doing the housework. Na Munhee is extremely angry because her daughter-in-law treats her so condescending though her feelings are only expressed in her thoughts. Lee Junha and Park Haemi's youngest son, Lee Yunho, the 'bad guy', is chasing his younger brother, Lee Minho( the studious one) and Lee Minho's best friend, Kim Beom, who got the title "home-stay Beom". Lee Minyoung, who is the youngest son of Na Munhee and Lee Soon Jae, would most likely not be present, since he acts anti-social towards his family. Although, the romance part of the show includes him. Hwang Chansung, a classmate of the boys and calls himself Yunho's bestfriend, is listening to Hip-hop through his headphones and breakdancing amidst all the ruckus. Na Hyemi and Kang Yoomi are fighting with each other.
^That my friend, is the Lee Household in a nutshell.

And of course, the reason why I started watching this 167 episode drama was because of Kim Beom and Kim Hye Sung(Lee Minho)'s bromance. They displayed a deep friendship throughout the show, even hints of some yaoi- but nay. Though, they had a few fights throughtout the show. Not to mention:

Minho: Beom.
Boem: Minho.
Minho: Beom!
Minho: Minho!
[insert hug here.]

Well sorry for the long review. It's just that I really love this sitcom and would recommend it. Don't let anything deter from watching it. Overall, I enjoyed watching this show a lot. Compared to the second season, the first is superior and I enjoyed it much more.


Some quotes from the drama:
"What the...All the people in this family are crazy"~Nurse Yu
"Why does everything in this family have to be so abnormal?" ~Park Haemi
“No one in that family is normal.” ~Nurse Park
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mar 31, 2012
Mar 31, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The thing I appreciate the most about Japanese shows in general, is that they can tell a good story without much of an eventful plot to build it upon. They play with narrative style and they excel in delicacy.

I'm not implying Saikou no Jinsei has got no plot, but it's not the kind one would run to watch and sit through with bathed breath. This is the story of a family, read more of their little and big trials. But most of all it tells of what it means to shoulder responsibility for the people we care for.
I may just as well confess that I started this because I wanted to stare at Yamapi. He's a pleasure for the eye in general, but there's a tangible improvement in his acting skill too. I grew very fond of him and all the main characters. I like it when details and hints are rationed slowly, because that's what happens in real life too: we are presented with a family picture, and bit by bit we are offered glimpses of who they are and where they are going.

The whole cast did a brilliant job, and I found myself with moisture in my eyes more than once. I was impressed by Yamashita's ability to convey his feelings here, and I was entertained by his relationship with both his family and Yuki-chan. It also amazes me that I managed to laugh a lot more often than what is expected by the general atmosphere.

I didn't like the music at all. Not only it isn't my cup of tea, I also thought it was very unfitting now and then. Luckily though, it does not overpower the dialogues or the scenes, and it can therefore be overlooked.

Rewatch value is not too high, but if you like family dramas and touching plots, you may give this one a try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
BOSS
16 of 16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 15, 2011
Aug 15, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama was recommended to me by a "kindred spirit" and now I'm wondering why I haven't watched it any sooner.

I was captivated on minute 1 and enjoyed the whole ride till the very last.



The true strength of this show lies in the characterization. I love the speedy way in which each character is introduced, without unnecessary premises: the viewer is immediately catapulted into the birth read more of this new police division and the methods which are going to be used by the team to solve each case.

The staff members come to life so swiftly and clearly, I was eager to see the next episode just in order to hear them interact with each other. They are hilarious, over the line like any true Japanese character and yet so believable and endearing.

And then there is their BOSS. Yuki Amami is a wonder here. She's determined, beautiful, self-ironic, tremendously intelligent. The kind of woman I'd like to be at forty - honestly, if I could only look like her at 44 I'd be the happiest woman on earth.

Her character is a riot and a model of what I call class.



This is an episode drama, therefore it can be viewed either in one raw or taking time between one episode and the next. I did a marathon because each case left me wanting for more, but there isn't a main sub-plot which requires steadfastness.



I liked the music too: it isn't an unforgettable original soundtrack, but it highlights the scenes with due pathos.



If you're looking for a clever detective story, with some profiling/psychology, lovable, funny characters and intriguing crimes, watch this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Queen of Office
15 of 15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 6, 2013
Jun 6, 2013
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I like this drama for several reasons:
1. For me this is the first drama where the character of (woman) lead actor is really strong and cool, also what is more imortant writers kept the individuality and speaciality of the character till the end. It was important to me, because in my opinion it is more realistic and people do not change so easily in real life, especialy when their traumatised with read more something.
2.I started watching it raw, I wanted just to try understand do I like it or not to watch it in the future, but I got addicted to it and even if I know only 3-4 words in korean, actors were playing so well that I didn't have hard time trying to understang what they were talking about. I mean their actions, emotions and face expresions were enough for me.
3.The story is unique and not repetitive even if it is a remake of japanese version. I tried to watch j-version but could not get used to actors.
In short it's definitely worth watching. It is refreshing, funny and wise drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mop Girl
22 of 23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2012
Apr 13, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
You would think that I'm exaggerating the scores or just simply click 10 points for everything by coincidence but no!
This is a really great series. It reminds me of Tru Calling but in Japanese style with lots of jokes. We get to know new people and stories in every episodes. The first episode is a bit boring but don't trust it just give a try to the second one! :D I read more promise you won't be disappointed.
Keiko and Shosuke makes a great pairing in this drama who tries to solve cases because of Keiko's visions. They're joking around everytime. I laughed a lot.
This is an awesome series about crimes, investigations flavored with humour.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Meitantei Conan
14 of 14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 14, 2011
Aug 14, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So this is a drama based off of the Manga and Anime by Gosho Aoyama. Previously there had been 3 Specials, the most recent of which stars the same cast as the ones in this drama. I haven't seen any of those, but as an avid fan of the anime, I was eager to watch this drama. And to date, it has yet to disappoint me. While yes the storyline isn't the read more same (the anime is based off of when Shinchi becomes a kid, while this one is just stories of Shinchi solving crimes). But nonetheless, the cases aren't bad, the acting is pretty awesome (especially Shinchi/Ran/Detective Mouri). The music is decent. Overall those, this is definitely one of the better anime to drama adaptations I have seen.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen Of The Game
20 of 21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 19, 2011
Dec 19, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I wasn't very fond of Lee Bo Young but was a big Joo Jin Mo fan and the synopsis sounded like this would make for angst fest...

Story: First, the revenge is way less gritty than it sounds. I thought the female characters revenge would make for a great turning point for the plot but the writers kind of dropped the ball and her "revenge" was more of an emotional one rather read more than of taking action which kind of gets repetative. I would have also liked it more if they cut it down to 16 eps. There are a lot of things that I would never guess would happen so the plot isnt predictable at least. The best thing about the story is the romance. Lots of angst to eat up and you pray there will be a happy ending in the midst.

Acting/Cast :Lee Bo Young is a hit or miss for me. I havent seen a decent drama with her in which she has chemistry with the male lead. Well of course here comes the attractive/great actor Joo Jin Mo and you got some HOT chemistry! Their relationship was off the charts sizzling. I didnt care for the supporting cast and found the second lead characters annoying/not relevant to the story.

Music: It fit the drama well but not memorable.

Rewatch: If it were a little shorter, i probably could watch it every year due to my love of the couple but i think this is some thing i can wait to watch in a few years.

Overall Queen of the Game is the most romantic drama you will see!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fondant Garden
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 9, 2012
Jun 9, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Fondant Garden was initially a early season pick up on a rainy weekend. What it turned out to be was quite different--a drama that I really enjoyed for its cute factor and for the most part, its story.

Park Jung Min is seriously adorable in this, so if you are a fan, you will enjoy him in Korean (for parts) and in Taiwanese (dubbed). He brings so much to the character of read more Han Ji/Pu Xi Huan. Even though this is a comedy, he brings a lot of cute expressions that make him that much funnier.

The music for this drama is fairly well done. The opening theme is very cute, and on film, the opening theme is probably one of the most creative and bright in dramaland. The dramatic moment song is also beautiful. Both songs will stick with you.

The story itself is rather light hearted, although there are elements of melo laced within. Like any rich boy/ not as well-off girl drama with brothers, there is also family drama. Those parts are harder to get through, particularly in the earlier episodes. The drama as a whole doesn't really pick up, in my opinion, until episode 5, but the first four episodes are important for story development (so don't skip them.)

Overall, I found in Fondant Garden a much better drama than I expected from the outset. For a pick up drama (not one I wanted to watch initially), I rank it up there. It certainly is one of my favorite Taiwanese dramas, at any rate.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Umareru.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 18, 2011
Dec 18, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was a little hesitant at first to watch this, but I really enjoyed this drama. I was thinking that a 50 year old who gets pregnant was an odd plot line, but man-oh-man were there some extra plot lines thrown into the story. I would say the drama is pretty believable, the cast was amazing, and it definitely taught me a thing or two about how Japan views later-in-life pregnancies and read more all the complications that stem from it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stars Falling From the Sky
13 of 13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 4, 2011
Jun 4, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama was one of the few that I really enjoyed. The first few episodes took me for an emotional roller caster ride. It was more of a coming of age story line for the protagonist. As yo watch the episodes you realize that the protagonists relationship starts of slow but gets intense as you go on. During this drama you will laugh, get angry, and also cry a river of tears. read more I recommend it to all the drama crazed fans out there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yukan Club
25 of 27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 28, 2011
Dec 28, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
An example of another drama I only watched because KAT-TUN members were in it. And probably wouldn't have if they weren't.

The idea was cute, and fun, but a lot of the times I wasn't that amused. I mean this isn't a bad drama, but it isn't the BEST one either. I think if you have time you should watch it but it's not one of those dramas I'd stop everything for read more to watch.

It has a lot of laughs in their along the way, and many strange scenarios. Junnosuke Taguchi playing a swedish guys son was pretty funny, especially with that blond hair, and those blue yes.

In closing this is basically a Japanese version of Scooby-Doo, and if you have some time to kill go ahead and watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No