Sort by:
The Virus
11 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 10, 2013
May 10, 2013
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I assumed, most people found this kind of drama boring, not interesting, scary, confusing. But, not for me. I took virology class, and this drama helped me to reviewed my lessons, as well as comparing it with what I learned (errr, sorry for sounded like a freak)..
Anyway, I started watching first, because it's from OCN. I admire OCN's drama. I mean, it's not mainstream. I really love Vampire Prosecutor (and now read more dying to watch the 3rd season), and finally I found another drama. And I was interested when I watch its trailer, and so, here I am.

Story: as I said before, it's unique. The virus idea is not-so-original though, since I've watched "L Change The World" which made me fell in love pretty hard. And since, the virus used is kinda look a like, I kinda disappointed actually. But I decided to focus at the story line. And indeed, the story line is interesting. Not only medical, but it involved political issues (which I assumed, also happens in reality as well). Not only that, I spotted a classic scientist's issue - ethics. I'm aware, that ethics always been a sensitive, but important issues. I'm glad that the scriptwriter actually included ethics issues in it - may take that as a moral of this drama. The details also pretty great and realistically made.

Acting: Uhm Ki Joon, no need to be questioned. His acting is terrific, he portrays smart and persistent Lee Myeong Hyeon really well. As for Hyun Woo, even though he only appeared in the first half of the drama, he left a pretty deep impression on his acting for me. Yubin, I'm kinda surprised to see her here. But her acting is pretty good (and I kinda startled to see that she........ *I'm not posting spoilers here. LOL*). Other casts are also great.

Music: nothing notably, really. There are barely any music throughout this dramas. Only opening and closing sequence (same song), and barely noticed instruments as insert songs. Nothing remarkable.

Rewatch Value: basically because I didn't rewatch my dramas. But in my opinion people wouldn't watch this show twice.

Overall, this drama is basically a medical, thriller, a bit gore (a few scenes containing bloods). In my personal opinion, this is a good way to test your knowledge about virus. The story is FAR from romance (moreover comedy). It's serious, dark, unexpected, but pretty realistic. But I do recommend this for those who interested in medical drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
What's Up
11 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 1, 2013
May 1, 2013
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This how I would summarize What's up : music, human beings, feelings. In some way, these words are quite the same. A smile comes to my face when I remember the time I spent watching this drama.

What's up is one of this drama that makes me think : "So, I remember now why I keep losing myself in dramaland".
This is not funny, nor this is sad. It's a little bit read more of everything. It's just about life, and people who struggles to find themselves. This is about learning how to live with each others, how to use your passion to overcome your fears.

I especially cherish this drama, because it made me discover an artist that I now really appreciate, Kang Daesung. Unlike most of the people, I didn't know him before, and it honestly was a huge shock when I heard his voice during the first episode, singing "This is the moment". It made me thirsty for more.
Jo Jung Suk also impressed me a lot. His voice is awesome, and his acting is no joke.

The story and the characters are the strenghts of this drama. For my part, I liked every one of them. They all touched me in different ways. Nobody's completely nice, nor totally bad. They're young adults, and I loved them through this story.
If you're looking for something different, this is for you. Don't give up this drama. Maybe you'll end up loving it like me.

Excuse my english, and don't hesitate anymore : What's up is good. Very good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shiroi Haru
11 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 15, 2012
Sep 15, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Before I even write this review, I'll just say one thing; if you're looking for a happy drama that's all sunshine and rainbows, this is not for you. Shiroi Haru is a painfully beautiful, bitter sweet story of a rough, misunderstood man entering the world after he is released from prison.

The twist in the story isn't too hard to figure out, but the story is more than enjoyable regardless. You'll laugh, read more you'll cry, but you'll be sure to enjoy every second of it.

I was immediately drawn into the story and characters, already rooting for Haruo within the first few minutes of the story. I actually cried pretty hard at the end, too, which makes this the first drama I have ever cried over. (though in my case, that's only because it really hit home with me)

I really wish I had a better way to word just how beautiful this drama is, but I hope you'll take my word for it and give it a try. It will forever leave a bittersweet impression in your mind and is without a doubt one of the best dramas out there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Want To Become A Hard Persimmon
11 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2012
Apr 7, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I thought this drama was absolutely fantastic. I personally have something of an aversion to "teen" dramas, just because the anime-esque acting and visual effects typical of such dramas doesnt much appeal to me. As such, I went into I Want To Become A Hard Persimmon with low hopes. Which probably made it all the more satisfying when the series went out of its way to prove me wrong several times over. read more I'll start by saying that the synopsis for this drama does not do it justice. It makes it sound very formulaic and typical, two things it very much is not. No discrediting the synopsis writer, however, because the first few episodes of the drama presents this view of itself as well. To anyone discouraged by this, watch through it and it'll become clear that this is more a guise than anything else. It sets the drama up so you think you know for sure where it's going, like it's something you've seen a hundred times before. That way, you get the full impact when it completely tears this all down and beats out its own track in very unexpected directions.

In terms of the general mood of the drama, for the most part it's light-hearted fun. It has a kind of whimsical silliness (sometimes bordering on that anime-type humour I mentioned earlier, but never crossing the line to where it gets too much) that's really endearing and feel-good. However, that is only part of the story. It has an unexpected, heavier storyline waiting in the wings, one that had me in tears on more than one occasion (though I AM a little sappy...). I loved how this storyline was interwined with the other threads of the drama, as well as the impact it was shown to have on pushing the characters involved into growing as people. It was this, for me, that elevates this drama from simply teen-romcom-romp into something more memorable and adult.

In an attempt at balance, as I'm clearly more than a little biased towards this drama, I will talk about aspects that I found weaker. There is shaky acting from some of the secondary characters. I didn't feel this really impacted the drama too heavily, since the main cast were very impressive (I found Ivy Chen especially captivating and convincing), but I appreciate it can still be a little annoying when secondary characters are over-the-top or wooden. There were also a couple of plot strands that I don't really feel went anywhere or were not developed as far as they could have been. This could have been because the drama's span was too short for all that was packed into it, so some aspects just got lost by the wayside. This is a matter of personal preference whether you will mind this or not. It's more true to life that not everything sees a firm resolution, but I personally like clear endings in dramas, something which IWTBAHP lacked in some regards.

Overall, however, the small minuses are outweighed by a whole bucketful of pluses. I know for me, as soon as I finished the series I was tempted to go right back to episode one and watch it all through again. I would recommend this drama to anyone looking for something fresh, entertaining yet meaningful that will stay with them for a very long time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hidarime Tantei EYE
11 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 5, 2012
Jan 5, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was a slightly weird drama, and only certain people would enjoy watching it. Some of my friends couldn't stand the basic plotline (one brother giving another his cornea-this is in the description so read that first), but once you get past that, the mystery element is excellent. Each story builds on the previous episode. For once, you aren't trying to figure out who the criminal is, you just want to stop read more him. It is a fascinating twist on the traditional mystery storyline, and throws in more than enough intrigue and excitement to keep you interested the whole way through. Plus, kudos to the authors for coming up with the unique idea:)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rebound
11 of 11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 16, 2011
Dec 16, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Okay so this drama has gotten a lot of heat for the topics that are covered and the outrageous of the show in general...

First, I found the topic of weightloss very interesting. I think they did a good job of covering all aspects such as positives and negatives of weightloss as well as her losing weight both in an unhealthy and healthy way. I know I learned a lot from watching read more the show. I did think it was annoying that she rebounded many times throughout. I think it was more than 4 times or something. Watching all the cakes being made really made me want to make some as well. They were so pretty and looked like they tasted like heaven. The ending was cute.

The acting was superb especially by the female lead. I thought the character was annoying and outrageously naive at some parts but it just showed what kind of an actress Saki is. Mokomichii was cute as always but his character was over the top as well. Somehow though they both make the perfect couple and complete each other. I liked the supporting characters they really added something.

Overall Rebound is silly but also serious at the same time. I rated it so high because I love the cast and it was very very entertaining.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Forward
10 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 17, 2012
Jul 17, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Wow 22 weeks has gone by and I still cant believe it took that long to finish this drama…

Story: Unpredictable like you won’t believe. Sure there’s cliché situations that may turn people off but dramas in general are a cliché. As long as you accept the things that happen then you will be able to enjoy it. My favorite thing about the story was the laughs. There were a ton of read more funny scenes and it was cool how they were sometimes used to offset the more dramatic scenes. One major thing I wish the writers focused more on was the lovelines. I’m all for switching lovelines but there has to be a point after halfway but well before the ending where the love lines are clear so the viewer can connect and understand why that happened. What I'm getting at is by the end you still have no idea who ends up with who until the last 5 minutes, which I felt made the ending feel rushed and sort of a letdown in a way. Don’t get me wrong, I am very happy with the way things turned out, its just the HOW I would have liked to seen. The story also could have benefited with a shorter episode count to make it less frustrating.

Acting/Cast: I had no idea who any of the actors were at first. But I was pleasantly surprised that the 4 main leads could actually act! Not only that, the 4 main leads all had chemistry, which made the switching of the loveliness very believable. I did think the two female actresses were stronger actingwise than the men. The supporting cast was a bit weaker and a lot of overacting (to be expected in T dramas) but I came to appreciate their characters.

Music: So another surprise is the fact I liked the OST. I just found it fit perfectly for this series and they played a lot of the same songs so they became memorable that I wanted to download it to my ipod.

Rewatch: I would like to watch this again for all the funny scenes and when I want to come back to these characters, but not for a few years just because it really does feel like a long drama.

Overall, you can really tell Love Forward tried to separate itself from other romcoms but there was plenty that could have been done better. Still, I found it one of the more enjoyable Taiwanese watches.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boku to Kanojo no XXX
10 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 29, 2012
Jun 29, 2012
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
what i liked
-decent cast
-some good running gags
-cute concept (switching bodies with the person you have a crush on)


what i didn't like
-poor execution
-15 minute format made these 7 episodes feel like a short movie.
-a bit too slapstick
-this isn't a spoiler but really gross use of blackface for in episode 5 (most of asia didn't get the memo that skincolor isn't a costume...but hell, most people read more in the west didn't either).
-goofy music and sound effects


should you waste your time on this?
eh how bored are you? if you're that bored, just read the manga online instead. there are some good gags here but many other dramas do the body swap love story a bit better (secret garden). you're not missing much by skipping this.

i'd like to see what would have happened with a longer format but, you go to war with the weapons you got, i guess.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
100% Senorita
10 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 21, 2012
Feb 21, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama has a great plot. I wanted to see the drama for many years, but before they were no subs :/

Now i remembered it and finally saw it. I really like revenge storys, so it was really exciting to see what will happen next.

A second aspect i like is, that you won´t hate charas only. You will love and hate charas at the same time as well as love read more and cry with them. The acting was great.

I didn´t like a few decisions from the charas, but it don´t interfere much with the overall result.

With 40 Episodes its a bit to long, but every minute its worth it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Arifureta Kiseki
10 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 2, 2012
Feb 2, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
To date this is my favorite drama. The story is about three generations in Japan that have grown up since WWII. The two lead characters (Nakama and Kase) are adults but still the youngest members of their families. The scriptwriter portrays each character with warmth and a critical eye revealing both strengths and weaknesses. In some cases, for example the two fathers of the middle generation, you can't tell which parts of read more their characters is a strength and which is a weakness.

Unlike most dramas that I've seen, all the characters are completely realistic, even the most bizarre. There is not much action in the drama. For me this was no problem because I was so caught up in the characters. The acting was superb especially Nakama Yukie and Kase Ryo.

The script is exquisite. Look for the scene where Kase explains Irish dancing to Nakama. So simple and innocent and such a powerful description of their lives!

This drama is worth watching again and again but one caution. If you need English subtitles make sure they are good. Some of the translations are so bad that it ruins the story. Look for subtitles by Momoflower, she did a wonderful job.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gokusen 3
10 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 3, 2012
Jan 3, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I really loved this series it was very inspiring and very enjoyable ive rewatched the series morethan 1 so i gave it a high rewatch value personaly i liked all of the seasons but its not for everyone considering its like the same plot with the same problems in each one but in each one the story of her past students evovles but unfortunently not yankumis replationships.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gokusen 2
10 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 27, 2011
Oct 27, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
After watching the first season I wasn't sure how I'd like this one. But I was surprised and found myself actually enjoying this one just as much if not more. One this is for sure - you don't have to watch this series in order. While the story is quite similar to the first season - it's a whole new group of students and therefore new stories, new problems.


read more />
While the original Gokusen had popular names such as Matsumoto Jun and Oguri Shun, Gokusen 2 has Kamenashi Kazuya, Akanishi Jin, Hayami Mokomichi, and Koike Teppei. For those who've seen the first Gokusen you'll find familiar faces also among the cast - and a return of Kuma! One of my favorites from the first season, I was happy to see him return in Gokusen 2!



The acting was great, I loved the entire cast!



The music wasn't anything special - the theme song changed from "Feel Your Breeze" to "No More Cry" at the end which wasn't a bad song. I loved Kamenashi Kazuya's "Kizuna" that was played during the drama, though (:



I can see myself rewatching this drama sometime, but probably not for a long time.



Overall - I enjoyed it just as much as the first season. For those of you who have seen the first season - you won't be disappointed with this one. For those who haven't seen any of the seasons yet but are curious because you like the cast - watch it! (:
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tsubasa no Oreta Tenshitachi
10 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 22, 2011
May 22, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Tsubasa no Oreta Tenshitachi is one of the most inspirational, moving, and heartwrenching dramas I have ever seen. This drama will have you feeling every emotion that these girls feel and leave you with a heartwarming feeling at the end of each episode. I highly recommend it to anyone, especially those who may be going through a difficult time in their life. Each girl has her own set of problems to deal read more with and they all inspire viewers that just because something went wrong, it doesn't mean that you can't recover.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hotaru no Hikari 2
15 of 16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 5, 2012
May 5, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I didn't like this season quite as much as season one. I think it was mostly because the supporting cast wasn't as interesting. I missed a lot of the office people from season one. I also felt like the story was a little more repetitive. Lots of back and forth "Do I like him/her?" type stuff.

But those are my only complaints. Hotaru and Buchou are just as cute and funny as read more ever, if not cuter and funnier. Their chemistry is amazing and Buchou's amazing character is helping Fujiki Naohito sneak onto my Asian Hottie List. ^_^

So, basically, not quite as good as the first season, but definitely still worth it for the main couple. I can't wait for the movie!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
What's Up
15 of 16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 7, 2012
Feb 7, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
So.... where to start with this?
The first thing you need to know about this drama (you're reading this probably because you haven't watched it, right?) is that it's very fresh, and different from any other kdrama.
For me the most awesome thing about this drama, and the reason why I'm giving it a 10 it's the story. The writing is superb. Each character exists completely, and it's really human. You can read more feel all they're feeling.
The story doesn't have any cliché and unlike other "musical" dramas (coughheartstringscough)the musical part is really there. Musical is part of the character's lives so it becomes another character in the drama, making it more beautiful and allowing us to feel.
The acting is quite amazing. The performances that, for me, need to be like high lighted were Oh Man Suk's and Im Joo Eun's. They truly stole the show, and their characters were the best.
The music was for a musical but it had different genre and I must say that the vocal part of the songs were great. I hadn't realized Daesung had such an extraordinary voice until this.
I don't think I'll watch this again because this is the kind of drama that you must watch once to be amazed by it and discovering each character little by little, so I don't think I'll feel as deeply as I feel now about it if I watch it again.
This drama left me with a feeling of change, like I was a different person just by watching it, as if by watching it I was somehow becoming part of the story, so I'm happy to say that this is a drama that I won't forget soon, because it taught me a lot, and it definitely has a special corner in my heart, so I hope that by reading this, you'll also want to have that experience! Go watch it! Oh Man Suk rocks! =)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No