Sort by:
Otomen
27 of 27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 20, 2012
Jul 20, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

Mainly because I read the manga and wanted to see the drama's adaptation. Then, I found out that Okada Masaki is the lead actor so I became more excited to watch it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

Honestly speaking, the storyline is kind of silly but it wasn't boring or unattractive, it was surprisingly enjoyable.

Positive Points:

*This drama is one of the nicest manga adaptations that I've seen read more so far.

*Main Genres:

--->Humor: I remember laughing several times during this drama, mostly in the third or the fourth episode. There were some hilarious moments in here that I had to pause in order to continue my laughter.
The style of Japanese comedy has always proved its way in making any drama lighter and enjoyable.
The comedy scenes weren't randomly present, it was nicely calculated in order to bring laughter when it's needed; that concept was highly appreciated.

--->School: This drama can also be considered as a school drama since it had all the elements that indicates so. The school side was the most hilarious part with a teacher like Hanazawa Yumeko who was really fun to see around, also the kendo teacher (Ryo's father) and all the classmates that made this part enjoyable.

*Another positive point that I should mention; it was really fun to see Asuka's Otomen friends and their ways of hiding their true self; it was very hilarious at many points.

*The imaginations moments that the characters had were always great and enjoyable.

Negative Points:

--->Romance: the romantic concept wasn't appreciated, I would like to think about this drama as a funny school drama rather than a rom-com; it's really better to think about it that way because romance hasn't deliverd much that can make you watch the drama because of it.
The romance was the annoying light type sometimes, it wasn't completely hateful but I can't possibly mention it in the positive points column.

Story: 8/10

3)Acting/Cast :

*Okada Masaki:

I like him as an actor , I've seen many of his dramas and appreciated most of them. Here, he had the most adorable role ever as a very "cute" role. He didn't fail my expectations; he's always a great actor so I was right for watching this drama because of him.
The character wasn't very different from the one in the manga, actuallly, it was more appealing. I always focus on characters when I watch a manga/anime adaptation in order to see their potency in portraying the orginal ones. Here, I must say that I liked Asuka's character; the way he was trying to hide his love for girly cute things while being the tough kendo captin that everyone loves and finding friends that share his Otomen self in the meantime: It was more than satisfying as a live character adaptation.

*Kaho:

I only saw her in "Tokyo Girl" but I don't judge an actor/actress over a film so let's say that I am not very familiar with her before this drama. Here, I believe that her role was nicely done although I believe that her acting skills are lacking something.
The character didn't attract me, at least, not the way Asuka's character did. I loved the times where Ryo was saving Asuka; those where some great moments.
Ryo's character can be clueless while being on a tough girl mode. It's true that I didn't fall for her character but as a manga adaptation it was an acceptable character.

*Other Cast: I loved the remaining cast, every character in this drama had a unique concept plus there were funny characters everywhere!

*Appreciated Character: Tonomine was a very appreciated character all the way through the drama whether he was Asuka's rival or tough mainly man; he always had interesting scenes.

*Relationships:

--->Romance: I can't possibly speak about romantic chemistry because romance wasn't heavily present. Instead, I will mention that Asuka and Ryo's relationship was really cool to watch.

--->Friendship: Asuka's relationship with the kendo members, Tachibana, Ariake and especially Tonomine was literally mesmerizing.

Cast: 7.5/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

The closer scene was one of the nicest dramas closures. Overall, the ending was cute and adorable.

The ending: 8.5/10

5) My impresion (How did it affect me):

* I really enjoyed this drama, I think I enjoyed it a little too much.
*Laughter moments were very present so there weren't any chance to get bored.
*I really appreciated the characters in this drama and the adaptation overall.

*Is this drama memorable: Yes, it is. I still remember its event (especially the funny moments) even though I watched it a long time ago.

My impression: 8/10

6) Overall:

*If you read the manga then you would appreciate this drama's adaptation.
*If you like funny dramas then you would enjoy this.
*If you're looking for a romatic drama, you shouldn't expect much from this.
*If you like Okada Masaki, you need to watch this because it will give you another image aboout this actor.

Overall: 7.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen Of The Game
26 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 28, 2012
Jun 28, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I was in "drama mood" so in that period U wasn't picky at all. I just read the synopsis then I decided to watch this drama without expecting anything from it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

The general story wasn't very special but it can't be considered as a one of K-dramas usual plots. However, it wasn't outstanding.

Positive Points:

*The storyline had a great dramatical depth which can read more make you tagged to its events.

*Main Genres:

--->Romance: This is a romantic story with all the meanings that the word "Romance" refer to; it was well written in order to make developments go deeper and deeper after each episode.
The romance here is the "mature" type, not like those childish romantic stories that we see everywhere but it's not very serious that would make you get bothered since they added moments to cheer the audience and keep boring moments out; i believe it was a smart move in order to maintain the great romance.
One more point, romance was a play of fate, a play of reality to show how true love can survive no matter what kind obstacles it faces; I know it's a little dreamy but it was cool in the drama.

--->Drama: I consider this drama as a dramatical romance, it's not the rom-com type so the dramatical side was heavily present and well done in some points.
It can be devided to several parts since the storyline was devided, the middle dramatical part was the best then there's some good parts at the beginning.

Negative Points:

*The romance is good but only the main leads romance existed; no side romantic stories that can change the mood a little. Yes, there was the usual Korean triangle but the side romantic stories were absent.
*The dramatical parts in the end were really annoying because it took a wrong turn after the 15th or the 16th episode; I had high hopes for that part and even though, it didn't end up badly but I wasn't satisfied.

Story: 8/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Joo Jin Mo:

I have a great respect for him as an actor, I loved his previous roles and I really liked his role here, it wasn't an intense role but the way he handled things was really well done.
The character was a very strong at first, you can feel the hartred and pain in Lee Shin Jun's eyes then as the drama went on, many changes occurred, many dramatic moments were held by his character, it was intEresting to to follow his character developments but at the end, I noticed some unsatisfying changes in the character's personality but it's all up to the story's changes above.

*Lee Bo Young:

I don't know her as an actress which means that I am not familiar with her acting skills, here she was acceptable and moving in some points because the role was portrayed in a satisfying way.
The character, let's see, I wasn't fully taken by kang Eun seol's character and I never sympathized with her. The character was off sometimes, cheerful some other times, cool most of the time and what I clearly remember that it was really annoying starting from the 15th or the 16th episode.

*Other Cast: I am only familiar with some of them but I think their roles were nicely done, except some annoying characters, the supporting roles were okay.

Relationships:

--->Romance: The chemistry was good, like I said earlier it's one of the greatest romantic stories that I've ever seen plus the leads made it enjoyable "most" of the time.

--->The triangle: Most of the time they were really annoying to watch, I skipped those parts often, I tried to watch but they weren't any close to the sweet triangles that we usually know but I have to appreciate Kim Pil Seo's character since it was "mature"

--->The leads relationship with Lee Shin Jun's mother: It was really well done at first but when it took the obvious turns near the ending, I became uninterested.

Cast: 7/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

I liked the final obstacle, it was somehow unexpected and cool to watch. Nice closure but it doesn't deny that it was one of K-dramas classical endings.

The ending: 8/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I was really interested in this drama and that's the main reason I finished it fast.
*I wasn't bored but I have to admit that I skipped several parts in order to make my watching time equilibrated plus there were scenes that I didn't like.

*Is this drama memorable: Yes, I am keeping this drama in my mind as one of the greatest romantic dramas but not as one of the greatest dramas that I've ever seen.

My impression: 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like romantic stories than this for you.
*If you're into romantic comedies, I don't think that this drama would suit your taste.
*Watch this if you're looking for a great male lead.

Overall: 8/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Otomen
25 of 25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 30, 2012
Jan 30, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I usually drop comedy dramas like Otomen after the first 5 mins, but this drama is really cute.

From the first Episode to the last one I had a smile on my face.

Seeing how Asuka is trying to hide his true self is somehow exciting.
I liked how his arch rival Tonomine turns every woman into a butterfly.
How Tachibana stalks Asuka and Ryo tries to protect Asuka.
Every character has read more its own cuteness they are the reason this drama should be watched.

Its not one of the super great manga adaptions like Hana Yori Dango or others, but its a drama I´m happy I watched.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 3, 2012
Apr 3, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
When I first heard about this drama (before it started airing) I laughed at the plot and how very, very weird it sounded. However, since i've enjoyed some of Yamapi's past drama's I decided to check out the first episode...and then I got hooked!

Story 10/10: As odd as the plot sounded, this drama actually has a good amount of everything(except action...unless you count Yamapi running with music playing in the background read more as action.) The plot is fantastic, but I think the biggest obstacle to it's success was the fact that it deals with death(every single episode), and most people would rather not watch anything that has such a heavy subject in it. Personally, I didn't mind and rather enjoyed that unorthodox aspect of it.

Acting 10/10: Flawless and usual. Every single cast member was perfect. Yamapi, Eikura Nana, the actors who play the family members, and everyone else did an amazing job.

Music 7/10: I think I remember only one song or maybe they just had one song played over and over again. I can't remember. The one song was actually pretty good (Yamapi was the singer), but the lack of their being more memorable variety is what made me give it a 7/10.

Rewatch Value 6/10: I don't usually rewatch dramas but since the success of this drama doesn't really hinge on surprise, I would give this a 6 for rewatch (which is very high for me.)

Overall 10/10: I looked forward to new episodes of this drama every single week and that is rare for me. For people who haven't seen it yet, I would say at least watch the first episode and give it a chance. I'd even go as far as saying it's a masterpiece drama that deserves more fans.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kagi no Kakatta Heya
22 of 22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 23, 2012
Jul 23, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A truly enjoyable serie, Kagi no Kakatta Heya is perfect for the Summer. It's episodic, which allows the viewer to watch one episode today and the next in a week without either forgetting the plot or severing any narrative thread. Should you decide to watch it, you can let your heart rest and only use your brain: this is a logic quiz, not a rollercoaster of emotions. The cases revolve around how read more the crime was committed: Who and Why are almost irrelevant.
It's perfect for a break from emotion-filled dramas, or for a weekly/daily 45 minutes of pure distraction.

As already pointed out by other reviewers, each episode is built upon a fix pattern, with a brief presentation of each locked-room case in which the improbable investigative trio gives us hints to solve the riddle. If you aren't a fan of serial doramas, you may find the repetition boring. Personally, now and then I like the familiarity created by schemes and patterns: it's... reassuring, and relaxing.

The actors do a great job. Sato Koichi's antics are hilarious, Ohno Satoshi's robotic ways surreal but very effective in creating a familiar character and yet leaving that trace of mystery which keeps the interest of the viewer alive. I'm partial to Toda Erika because every time I see her on screen she is different. This time it took me almost half an episode to truly recognize her; I once read that she's one of the few drama actresses, if not the only one, who is ready to act with no make-up at all. Her clothes are so discouraging it's evident she does not want to impress for her looks, but for her acting skills.

The editing of this show is original: it cuts scenes and music abruptly. In the beginning I thought it was a mistake by the segmenters, but I later realized it's a direction choice. While I wouldn't recommend this kind of style for every drama I watch, I think it works well here, where no room is left open for unnecessary detail and economy prevails over flowery narration.

The music is brilliant and works perfectly for the show. It combines some elements of the traditional detective/mystery serie a' la Ellery Queen with the contemporary pace and rhythm.

It can be rewatched, given some time has passed and you've forgotten
the intricacies of how the culprit did what (s)he did. I didn't mind the ending at all, I thought it was very much in line with the rest of the show. Suitable and therefore recommended to any type of viewer of every age.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Long Love Letter
21 of 21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 10, 2011
May 10, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Where to begin?
This is possibly the weirdest and most surprising dorama I've ever come across. Nothing is what is expected, or what it seems.
It's just as hard to define its genre, because while it could be listed as a science fiction drama, the fantasy part is just a device to make a very human, touching and very present message come across: are we really capable of cherishing our lives? Do read more we truly appreciate all the little and big things thrown onto our path or do we give them for granted?


Were I to base the overall rating only on how much I liked it, I would give it a 10. But it's undeniable that it doesn't deserve it on the cinematographic level: the shooting quality is average at best, it reminded me of those catastrophe movies from the 70ies, like Poseidon, or Empire of the Ants, often naive, with some ludicrous special effects. And it certainly does not shine for its photography.
The music goes from ordinary to completely random.

But characterization, dialogues and acting make up in heaps for whatever flaw. If you have read The Lord of The Flies by William Golding, this drama may remind you of it. Mix it with the most classical concept of Carpe Diem - seize the day - and you have Long Love Letter.
Kubozuka Yousuke is adorable here, at times childishly clumsy, at others emotionally intense. But it's Takako Tokiwa who really steals the screen, her character being the epitome of strength of will, sweetness and courage.
In fact, this drama is acutely feminine, like mother Earth herself.
The kids play their part very well, one ends up liking a quite stony Yamashita Tomohisa too.

I adored the ending. It makes this into one of those dramas one is emotionally compelled to talk about with someone, share opinions and questions. Like it or not, it doesn't leave you untouched.

So, by now you have 2 choices: decide that both the drama and the reviewer are deranged and leave it be, or watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Orthros no Inu
30 of 31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 16, 2012
Mar 16, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I just finished the drama and all I can say is; I loved it.

The story is interesting, it catched my attetion as soon as I read it. The actors are great and the characters whom they play are really interesting. The background music is good and I'm sure I'll re-watch the whole drama within a few days because I liked it so much :)

I think that the plot is really read more original, it's way more than your usual good vs. bad battle you see in other supernatural drama's.
This drama asks the questions everybody copes with while warching the serie; "What is good? What is bad" "Is doing the social right thing, really the best thing to do?" "Who decides what's wrong?" "When doing the wrong thing will save many others, is it still not the right thing to do?"

The drama is about 2 guys who are exceptionally gifted with a special power yet are cursed at the same time.... They never asked to be born with those powers, they just happen to have them. It's not always nice to posses something others don't have. Because when you're special, you're different from others.
Being special, being able to do inhuman things causes the people around you to envy, hate or wanna use you. When you make one decision, it'll always have consequences for another. People judge them based on their personal ideas or situations and get mad when they don't act according to their ideas. But who gets to decides what the right decision is? Society? The people with power? The people with money? Or them...?

Both Nishikido Ryo and Takizawa Hideaki are great actors and portray their character perfectly if you ask me. They are able to keep their own personality through the story even though you'll see that they, just like the people around them, slowly start to change. Even though they change they won't lose their personality, something I really liked (which happens often in drama's).

Even though this drama has only 9 episodes (there were circumstances during the filming, I read that both actors got sick or something) I liked the ending. I know not everyone will agree with me but it's better than I expected and quite fitting with the rest of the story.

To make a long story short; if you like supernatural drama's with a lot deep psychological moments this is an absolute must watch :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hungry!
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 10, 2012
Apr 10, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
What a delicious drama. Literally.
It left me hungry for more of these adorable characters, and made me hungry for mouth watering food while watching. In short, the title says it all.

The pairing food=hunger may seem obvious, but there's much more to it than what meets the eye. I love the food philosophy as it is portrayed here, because almost each character is defined by his or her way to interact read more with food. For some it is a simple nourishment, for others, a vehicle to express themselves, the means to capture someone's heart, to force out a smile or the way to forget a childhood of privation.
I was more than once reminded of "Ratatuille", the disney animation film, and the moment in which the merciless food critic savours a bite of ratatuille and is immediately catapulted back to his childhood and the memory of his mother's love.
Food really has the power to stir up memories and rouse imagination.

I came to love all the characters and was impressed by the performance of the entire cast. Granted, Takimoto Miori is basically playing Mio from Ikemen desu ne all over again, but as somebody else wrote before me, she's so adorable I'm ready to forgive her for being still an unripe actress. Osamu Mukai is spot on, and I particularly enjoyed him when he would start talking like a dockworker, rolling his "rrr" and using foul language. But my favourite character is without a doubt Taku with his absent-minded ways and his infectious smile. Their friendship and ties are a pleasure to watch: hilarious, sincere, believable.

The music is great. Every piece fits the scene to perfection without ever overpowering it.

There's much more to say about this drama, but I believe it has to be... eaten, instead of read about. Re-watch value is very high because once you've tasted something good, you definitely want to eat it again, sooner or later.
I may just add that this is a further evidence that reviews and recommendations can be truly useful: I watched hungry! because I trust the opinion of other reviewers here and I'm very glad I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stairway to Heaven
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 8, 2012
Feb 8, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
THE ultimate emotional "trial-by-fire" drama of all time(also my 1st melodrama). Watching STH you find yourself being enchanted/heartbroken by the young Park Shin Hye and Baek Sung Hyun, you find yourself screaming and wanting to b*tch-slap Kim Tahee and the evil step-mom and you find your tears flowing at Kwon Sang Woo’s soul piercing, heart-shattering sobs. The result being your fully vested in this hauntingly unforgettable drama. Added bonus is the provoking/beautiful/memorable read more OST.

7 years ago STH was my first journey into dramaland and even now when I hear "Bogoshipda" their's a quick bittersweet tinge of feeling. A must watch....just make sure to select lighter fare after STH.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Meteor Garden
18 of 18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 9, 2011
Jul 9, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Out of the 3 versions of this story, again this was the last one that I got around to watching. The japanese version being my first, will always be my favorite because it's the one that hooked me onto the series to begin with (as well as Arashi / MatsuJun (: ). The Korean version I watched after I read the manga, and although I thought it was a good series by read more itself, I felt it drifted far off from the manga, and even the main characters seemed to be separate characters. After watching Meteor Garden, I would say I liked this one better than the Korean version.



In the earlier episodes I felt MG did a terrific job on basing it off of the manga. It's expected that there has to be some variation, but most of it, I felt, was right on. As the show progressed, MG started to develop into it's own story. Not to say that it drifted far off, but events were done differently. Through it all, I felt the actors did a good job as the characters. Dao Ming Si's character acted like the original Domyouji, with minor differences. Shan Cai's character was bull headed like the original Tsukushi, hiding her own true feelings even from herself. The rest of F4 was portrayed well.



When I first started watching this show and saw F4 I wasn't sure how I was going to like them. Dao Ming Si and Hua Ze Lei fit Domyouji and Rui well, but I wasn't sure about the other 2. Mei Zuo as Mimasaka even fit, but Xing Men took me a while to get used to. As Nishikado, he looked different. But at the end I found myself liking him as his character. True I liked the japanese F4 better, and even Kim Bum as Nishikado better, but for the Taiwan version he played his part well.



They only had 2 songs in this drama, the opening and the ending. The opening song "Qing Fei Te Yi" (Can't Help Falling In Love With You) they played throughout the drama. It might just be me, but the song didn't get on my nerves.



For a drama that came out in 2OO1, I thought it was really good. You have to keep in mind while watching it that it came out 1O years ago, so of course fashion and technology is going to be different. The cell phones aren't as advanced as they are now. The filming for the show isn't as high quality as it is for new shows. That aside, I think it's a show worth watching. I really think that if I hadn't of seen the Japanese and Korean version I would've liked this drama a lot more. Because this was the last one that I watched, and I'd already read the manga, I found a lot of it predictable. The ending I felt was cute. I'm not sure if I'll watch the 2nd season yet, I'm still debating.



Ohh another thing I liked about this drama was how it included characters such as QingHe (Kazuya in the manga) who were eliminated in the other dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unstoppable High Kick
25 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 11, 2012
Jul 11, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I recently finished watching Unstoppable High Kick as have started High Kick Through the Roof, also known as High Kick 2, which a second season of the High Kick sitcom series with different characters. Although some of the cast from the first season appear as cameos. The seasons are totally unrelated.

I started off my love for all things Korean with Unstoppable High Kick. It was my first drama and I have read more to say, it is my favorite. Unstoppable High Kick has this kind of 'fun' family setting. I have thought many times that it would be so great if I could just place myself among the Lee family and live my life with them. I know, for sure I could never say life was boring.

The sitcom takes us through a joy ride of the daily lives of the Lee family and the 'psuedo-family'(what the show refers to friends of the family who are in their household most of the time- basically act like it's their house). We are shown the ups and downs in the lives of each character in the family. This is what I love the most about this drama. Each character gets the floor at a certain point and we see things in their perspective. The daily lives of this characters are hilarious. The coincidences, the situations, will make you laugh. Though, rarely will you crack your sides with laughter.

Lee Soon Jae, the head of the household (grandfather) is beating and chasing his eldest son, Lee Junha, around the house, for causing him to lose money in his stocks. Lee Junha's wife, Park Haemi is lecturing her mother-in-law, Na Munhee, about the faults she made when doing the housework. Na Munhee is extremely angry because her daughter-in-law treats her so condescending though her feelings are only expressed in her thoughts. Lee Junha and Park Haemi's youngest son, Lee Yunho, the 'bad guy', is chasing his younger brother, Lee Minho( the studious one) and Lee Minho's best friend, Kim Beom, who got the title "home-stay Beom". Lee Minyoung, who is the youngest son of Na Munhee and Lee Soon Jae, would most likely not be present, since he acts anti-social towards his family. Although, the romance part of the show includes him. Hwang Chansung, a classmate of the boys and calls himself Yunho's bestfriend, is listening to Hip-hop through his headphones and breakdancing amidst all the ruckus. Na Hyemi and Kang Yoomi are fighting with each other.
^That my friend, is the Lee Household in a nutshell.

And of course, the reason why I started watching this 167 episode drama was because of Kim Beom and Kim Hye Sung(Lee Minho)'s bromance. They displayed a deep friendship throughout the show, even hints of some yaoi- but nay. Though, they had a few fights throughtout the show. Not to mention:

Minho: Beom.
Boem: Minho.
Minho: Beom!
Minho: Minho!
[insert hug here.]

Well sorry for the long review. It's just that I really love this sitcom and would recommend it. Don't let anything deter from watching it. Overall, I enjoyed watching this show a lot. Compared to the second season, the first is superior and I enjoyed it much more.


Some quotes from the drama:
"What the...All the people in this family are crazy"~Nurse Yu
"Why does everything in this family have to be so abnormal?" ~Park Haemi
“No one in that family is normal.” ~Nurse Park
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
History of the Salaryman
32 of 34 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 15, 2013
Jan 15, 2013
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I've watched this drama right after Padam Padam. Their trailer before was so different that I don't know why I was magnetized to watch it. :D LOL! I love the twist of this drama 'cause it won't give you any dull moments especially for the first few episodes that'll make you burst into laughter! 100 percent!!! You'll love Lee Bum Soo (GIANT) and Jung Ryeo Won's (My Name Is Kim Sam Soon) read more love and hate relationship in this drama. Give it a try to watch this and you'll love it too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mar 31, 2012
Mar 31, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The thing I appreciate the most about Japanese shows in general, is that they can tell a good story without much of an eventful plot to build it upon. They play with narrative style and they excel in delicacy.

I'm not implying Saikou no Jinsei has got no plot, but it's not the kind one would run to watch and sit through with bathed breath. This is the story of a family, read more of their little and big trials. But most of all it tells of what it means to shoulder responsibility for the people we care for.
I may just as well confess that I started this because I wanted to stare at Yamapi. He's a pleasure for the eye in general, but there's a tangible improvement in his acting skill too. I grew very fond of him and all the main characters. I like it when details and hints are rationed slowly, because that's what happens in real life too: we are presented with a family picture, and bit by bit we are offered glimpses of who they are and where they are going.

The whole cast did a brilliant job, and I found myself with moisture in my eyes more than once. I was impressed by Yamashita's ability to convey his feelings here, and I was entertained by his relationship with both his family and Yuki-chan. It also amazes me that I managed to laugh a lot more often than what is expected by the general atmosphere.

I didn't like the music at all. Not only it isn't my cup of tea, I also thought it was very unfitting now and then. Luckily though, it does not overpower the dialogues or the scenes, and it can therefore be overlooked.

Rewatch value is not too high, but if you like family dramas and touching plots, you may give this one a try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Haru
16 of 16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 11, 2011
Sep 11, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Why watch a movie that is just 30 mins? Just to feel good!

While watching İ was really curious about how the story will develop. Usually İ would feel weird seeing so many diffrent scenes in a short time and they are not really connected, but while watching this you don't feel weird. No its quite the opposite. The scenes shot are all great and have a story of their read more own.. The cast is doing a good job, though the movie is not even half the length of a usual movie. Just take the time and watch this lil cute movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
BOSS
16 of 16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 15, 2011
Aug 15, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama was recommended to me by a "kindred spirit" and now I'm wondering why I haven't watched it any sooner.

I was captivated on minute 1 and enjoyed the whole ride till the very last.



The true strength of this show lies in the characterization. I love the speedy way in which each character is introduced, without unnecessary premises: the viewer is immediately catapulted into the birth read more of this new police division and the methods which are going to be used by the team to solve each case.

The staff members come to life so swiftly and clearly, I was eager to see the next episode just in order to hear them interact with each other. They are hilarious, over the line like any true Japanese character and yet so believable and endearing.

And then there is their BOSS. Yuki Amami is a wonder here. She's determined, beautiful, self-ironic, tremendously intelligent. The kind of woman I'd like to be at forty - honestly, if I could only look like her at 44 I'd be the happiest woman on earth.

Her character is a riot and a model of what I call class.



This is an episode drama, therefore it can be viewed either in one raw or taking time between one episode and the next. I did a marathon because each case left me wanting for more, but there isn't a main sub-plot which requires steadfastness.



I liked the music too: it isn't an unforgettable original soundtrack, but it highlights the scenes with due pathos.



If you're looking for a clever detective story, with some profiling/psychology, lovable, funny characters and intriguing crimes, watch this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes No