Sort by:
Stairway to Heaven
52 of 53 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 8, 2012
Mar 8, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Let me first explain how I got to watching this drama. I was going on a trip so I filled up on random dramas in case I got bored on the trip, among those dramas was this drama Stairway to Heaven, which I had heard so much about. So the trip comes and goes and one night I end up without internet, unable to sleep, and so I start watching this. In read more hindsight, I'm both glad and sad to have made that choice. Now onto the review:

Story: 11/10 (because 10/10 is just not enough!): The story is very unique for me (maybe because this was my first drama of this genre). You end up hating the stepmother/stepsister so much that you want to jump into their world, and stab both...repeatedly. What else can I say? Oh right, keep a box of tissues handy otherwise you'll be wiping away your tears using your blanket(true story!) One other thing I enjoyed about this drama is seeing how the main male lead and the secondary male lead work together to accomplish a goal greater than either of them.

Acting/Cast: 10/10 . Everyone in this cast from the child actors from the first few episodes to the adult actors were PERFECT. I had one small dislike in the middle of the drama, and that was how the main female lead cried. Yes. That's all. Later on, I got used to it and it didn't bother me at all, so it was just me.

Music 9/10: I'm actually listening to the OST as im writing this review. It's GREAT, but not a 10. It conveyed the emotion perfectly and all that, so it was good for the drama...but for some reason giving it a 10 would be unfair in my humble opinion.

Rewatch Value: 5/10: I DON'T rewatch dramas or movies 99% of the time which is why I gave it this low of a score.

Overall: 10/10 - This is a masterpiece that every Kdrama fan should watch. But keep in mind, this can cause tears even from the eyes of manly men like myself. However, sometimes while those tears are dropping, your mouth will be smiling uncontrollably.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Vampire Prosecutor 2
30 of 30 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 20, 2012
Nov 20, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Story: I admit I enjoyed this season more than the 1st one (which is also very very good) because rather than concentrating on pure crime scenes and using Prosecutor Min's ability to solve crimes, this one mixes crime solving with additional arc on history of vampires, (which of course is related to the first season, so you should definitely watch), humorous teasers on the should-be-romance, funny, cute bromance between Dong Man and read more Soon Bum which I love and some heartful and touching moments with the dramas' side characters. The crime cases were good as expected; and this drama caught my attention from the very first episode, it's getting better by the next. I have no words for the ending, I just need a quick answer if there would be season 3 because I'm definitely there. The main team remaining is all I plead if ever there would be third season :)

Acting/ Cast: The best asset of this drama for me was the characters. I love them all. They are so adorable together. Seriously, Soon Bum rocks! He is the light of the show for me. No complaints for the acting, Min is always a standout and I'm glad despite the new looks of Yoo Jung In (which I also prefer) she remained Bad-ass! I have to give credit for the little girl who played Ji-Hye, she's so cute, and she never left my heart at ease, great acting kid! Did I also mention that I also love Soon-Bum-Dong Man bromance?:)

Music: Danger was so fitting in the enhancing action scenes, and yes, I loved it!

Rewatch Value: I had already rewatched some scenes, My faves aside from the ending where episode 4 and 6. Fun scenes between the dark tone of this drama were the best!

Overall: Loved this drama. I think I had an obsession over it. Season 3, chebal! :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Otomen
27 of 27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 20, 2012
Jul 20, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

Mainly because I read the manga and wanted to see the drama's adaptation. Then, I found out that Okada Masaki is the lead actor so I became more excited to watch it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

Honestly speaking, the storyline is kind of silly but it wasn't boring or unattractive, it was surprisingly enjoyable.

Positive Points:

*This drama is one of the nicest manga adaptations that I've seen read more so far.

*Main Genres:

--->Humor: I remember laughing several times during this drama, mostly in the third or the fourth episode. There were some hilarious moments in here that I had to pause in order to continue my laughter.
The style of Japanese comedy has always proved its way in making any drama lighter and enjoyable.
The comedy scenes weren't randomly present, it was nicely calculated in order to bring laughter when it's needed; that concept was highly appreciated.

--->School: This drama can also be considered as a school drama since it had all the elements that indicates so. The school side was the most hilarious part with a teacher like Hanazawa Yumeko who was really fun to see around, also the kendo teacher (Ryo's father) and all the classmates that made this part enjoyable.

*Another positive point that I should mention; it was really fun to see Asuka's Otomen friends and their ways of hiding their true self; it was very hilarious at many points.

*The imaginations moments that the characters had were always great and enjoyable.

Negative Points:

--->Romance: the romantic concept wasn't appreciated, I would like to think about this drama as a funny school drama rather than a rom-com; it's really better to think about it that way because romance hasn't deliverd much that can make you watch the drama because of it.
The romance was the annoying light type sometimes, it wasn't completely hateful but I can't possibly mention it in the positive points column.

Story: 8/10

3)Acting/Cast :

*Okada Masaki:

I like him as an actor , I've seen many of his dramas and appreciated most of them. Here, he had the most adorable role ever as a very "cute" role. He didn't fail my expectations; he's always a great actor so I was right for watching this drama because of him.
The character wasn't very different from the one in the manga, actuallly, it was more appealing. I always focus on characters when I watch a manga/anime adaptation in order to see their potency in portraying the orginal ones. Here, I must say that I liked Asuka's character; the way he was trying to hide his love for girly cute things while being the tough kendo captin that everyone loves and finding friends that share his Otomen self in the meantime: It was more than satisfying as a live character adaptation.

*Kaho:

I only saw her in "Tokyo Girl" but I don't judge an actor/actress over a film so let's say that I am not very familiar with her before this drama. Here, I believe that her role was nicely done although I believe that her acting skills are lacking something.
The character didn't attract me, at least, not the way Asuka's character did. I loved the times where Ryo was saving Asuka; those where some great moments.
Ryo's character can be clueless while being on a tough girl mode. It's true that I didn't fall for her character but as a manga adaptation it was an acceptable character.

*Other Cast: I loved the remaining cast, every character in this drama had a unique concept plus there were funny characters everywhere!

*Appreciated Character: Tonomine was a very appreciated character all the way through the drama whether he was Asuka's rival or tough mainly man; he always had interesting scenes.

*Relationships:

--->Romance: I can't possibly speak about romantic chemistry because romance wasn't heavily present. Instead, I will mention that Asuka and Ryo's relationship was really cool to watch.

--->Friendship: Asuka's relationship with the kendo members, Tachibana, Ariake and especially Tonomine was literally mesmerizing.

Cast: 7.5/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

The closer scene was one of the nicest dramas closures. Overall, the ending was cute and adorable.

The ending: 8.5/10

5) My impresion (How did it affect me):

* I really enjoyed this drama, I think I enjoyed it a little too much.
*Laughter moments were very present so there weren't any chance to get bored.
*I really appreciated the characters in this drama and the adaptation overall.

*Is this drama memorable: Yes, it is. I still remember its event (especially the funny moments) even though I watched it a long time ago.

My impression: 8/10

6) Overall:

*If you read the manga then you would appreciate this drama's adaptation.
*If you like funny dramas then you would enjoy this.
*If you're looking for a romatic drama, you shouldn't expect much from this.
*If you like Okada Masaki, you need to watch this because it will give you another image aboout this actor.

Overall: 7.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Biscuit Teacher and Star Candy
27 of 27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This show is foremost about love and how love chooses you. Age and station do not matter. It's also very much about growing up and having someone be on your side no matter what. I thought this show was very well acted. I loved the kids and the lessons learned through the help of Biscuit Teacher. I loved Gong Yoo and Gong Hyo Jin. Tae In fell in love with Bo Ri read more and that was it for him, end of story. This show touched my heart. It was very cute and fun. Find it on the web and watch it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mirai Nikki
26 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Let me start off by saying that Mirai Nikki has more than one amazing concept. In fact, it seemed to be a combination of a few of my favorite movies, but I won't tell you which ones because that would be a major spoiler. Anyways, Mirai Nikki is a great show. The concepts alone make sure of that. Unfortunately it's not a masterpiece, which really sucks because it definitely had the potential read more to be.

The story is awesome, however the show itself lacks a certain flow. I'm not sure if this is due to the cinematography, the directing, or the production, but something just felt a little cheap about it. There has been a few other Japanese suspense shows that I've watched that have this same problem. It's a lack of professionalism, or perhaps movie magic that makes you feel like the fantasy movie world is real. It feels like I'm listening to someone trying to play a beautiful song but they're just not hitting all the right keys at all the right times.

That aside, 65% of the way through, the show changed course in a way that made me put most of my criticism on the back burner, and from then on the overall story continued to boost my approval of the show.

The acting wasn't bad, but it could have been better. Gouriki Ayame was so freaking cute as Yuno though. She definitely stole my heart. But I do feel like the acting would have appeared better if the show would have been produced better.

Overall I would say that Mirai Nikki is worth watching, but you're going to have to be a little forgiving while watching it. Maybe in the future I'll watch the anime, or perhaps one day they'll make a remake that will enhance the show and make it the masterpiece that it certainly could be.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen Of The Game
26 of 26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 28, 2012
Jun 28, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I was in "drama mood" so in that period U wasn't picky at all. I just read the synopsis then I decided to watch this drama without expecting anything from it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

The general story wasn't very special but it can't be considered as a one of K-dramas usual plots. However, it wasn't outstanding.

Positive Points:

*The storyline had a great dramatical depth which can read more make you tagged to its events.

*Main Genres:

--->Romance: This is a romantic story with all the meanings that the word "Romance" refer to; it was well written in order to make developments go deeper and deeper after each episode.
The romance here is the "mature" type, not like those childish romantic stories that we see everywhere but it's not very serious that would make you get bothered since they added moments to cheer the audience and keep boring moments out; i believe it was a smart move in order to maintain the great romance.
One more point, romance was a play of fate, a play of reality to show how true love can survive no matter what kind obstacles it faces; I know it's a little dreamy but it was cool in the drama.

--->Drama: I consider this drama as a dramatical romance, it's not the rom-com type so the dramatical side was heavily present and well done in some points.
It can be devided to several parts since the storyline was devided, the middle dramatical part was the best then there's some good parts at the beginning.

Negative Points:

*The romance is good but only the main leads romance existed; no side romantic stories that can change the mood a little. Yes, there was the usual Korean triangle but the side romantic stories were absent.
*The dramatical parts in the end were really annoying because it took a wrong turn after the 15th or the 16th episode; I had high hopes for that part and even though, it didn't end up badly but I wasn't satisfied.

Story: 8/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Joo Jin Mo:

I have a great respect for him as an actor, I loved his previous roles and I really liked his role here, it wasn't an intense role but the way he handled things was really well done.
The character was a very strong at first, you can feel the hartred and pain in Lee Shin Jun's eyes then as the drama went on, many changes occurred, many dramatic moments were held by his character, it was intEresting to to follow his character developments but at the end, I noticed some unsatisfying changes in the character's personality but it's all up to the story's changes above.

*Lee Bo Young:

I don't know her as an actress which means that I am not familiar with her acting skills, here she was acceptable and moving in some points because the role was portrayed in a satisfying way.
The character, let's see, I wasn't fully taken by kang Eun seol's character and I never sympathized with her. The character was off sometimes, cheerful some other times, cool most of the time and what I clearly remember that it was really annoying starting from the 15th or the 16th episode.

*Other Cast: I am only familiar with some of them but I think their roles were nicely done, except some annoying characters, the supporting roles were okay.

Relationships:

--->Romance: The chemistry was good, like I said earlier it's one of the greatest romantic stories that I've ever seen plus the leads made it enjoyable "most" of the time.

--->The triangle: Most of the time they were really annoying to watch, I skipped those parts often, I tried to watch but they weren't any close to the sweet triangles that we usually know but I have to appreciate Kim Pil Seo's character since it was "mature"

--->The leads relationship with Lee Shin Jun's mother: It was really well done at first but when it took the obvious turns near the ending, I became uninterested.

Cast: 7/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

I liked the final obstacle, it was somehow unexpected and cool to watch. Nice closure but it doesn't deny that it was one of K-dramas classical endings.

The ending: 8/10

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*I was really interested in this drama and that's the main reason I finished it fast.
*I wasn't bored but I have to admit that I skipped several parts in order to make my watching time equilibrated plus there were scenes that I didn't like.

*Is this drama memorable: Yes, I am keeping this drama in my mind as one of the greatest romantic dramas but not as one of the greatest dramas that I've ever seen.

My impression: 8.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you like romantic stories than this for you.
*If you're into romantic comedies, I don't think that this drama would suit your taste.
*Watch this if you're looking for a great male lead.

Overall: 8/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Otomen
25 of 25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 30, 2012
Jan 30, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I usually drop comedy dramas like Otomen after the first 5 mins, but this drama is really cute.

From the first Episode to the last one I had a smile on my face.

Seeing how Asuka is trying to hide his true self is somehow exciting.
I liked how his arch rival Tonomine turns every woman into a butterfly.
How Tachibana stalks Asuka and Ryo tries to protect Asuka.
Every character has read more its own cuteness they are the reason this drama should be watched.

Its not one of the super great manga adaptions like Hana Yori Dango or others, but its a drama I´m happy I watched.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Scent of a Woman
48 of 50 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 13, 2011
Sep 13, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I loved this drama to bits, but not for the reasons I was meant to.
Imagine you are sold a book with the cover of a travel guide and on reading discover that in fact it contains a romantic novel. You are captivated by the story and read it to the end, but you'll have to go out again to buy that travel book you didn't get in the first place.
That's read more exactly what happens when you start watching Scent of a Woman. You prepare yourself for a romantic comedy and find out that there isn't even a hint of comedy. The scenes which are meant to elicit a laugh range from painfully embarrassing to bitter-sweet.

But I loved it nonetheless. If the definition existed, I'd call this drama an "urgent passion". Urgency is the undercurrent of the whole show, to the point as a viewer I found myself praying for more time along the main female character. And passion for life is the glue that keeps all plot lines together.
The actors are amazing. All of them. I can safely say this is the best acted drama I've seen in a while. If you want to feel true empathy, cry, smile, grit your teeth or fall in love, watch this. The chemistry between the leads is tangible, and it grows so subtly and gradually it becomes a natural process in their story. I understood why they loved each other and not because the writer wanted me to, but because they were so incredibly believable.
The same applies to all the secondary characters. You'll grow to love them or hate them, they are not bi-dimensional people. They stay consistent to their nature and when/if they change they do so without pomp or unbelievable u-turns.
And I love that the message of this show is not a simple "live your life to the fullest". There's so much more. As I see it, the main theme of Scent of a Woman is: we are not alone here; everything we do, and the way we do it, effects the lives of those around us in a huge domino effect.
Message subtly told and beautifully executed.

Photography and attention to details are spotless.
I didn't really care for the music, but this is just me. It was chosen with sense and I appreciated the fact that it was in line with the show: elegant. I'm glad they didn't go for any lalala pop song, which would have ruined the mood.

Without spoiling the end of it, I need to say the last episode was simply perfect and beautiful, one of the reasons why I'm giving the drama a full 10.
Therefore, I'm going out now to buy that travel guide book I wanted, but I'll keep this beautiful love story bought by mistake on my shelf, for future re-reading/watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Chaser
23 of 23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 10, 2013
Jan 10, 2013
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
i just made a very quick review just to give the chaser some advertisement
because its so unpopular..or lets say one of the mdl underrated of 2012. (seen only by 40 mdl users)

Expect not to see any eye candy on here and it was evident on the poster.
I think somebody who come across w/ this drama with an impression like this..

"ooh The chaser? hmm ahjussis?"
*reads synopsis
*looks on read more the cast
"oops theres no hottie nevermind lol"

Oh well..anyway

for anyone who likes another revenge drama should give this a chance.
It was very relatable with emphasis on importance of living w/ family.
If i would think of a drama that shares some similarity...hmm
Think of city hunter w/o a superhero thing and the rom com stuff and add
the movie "the Crucible" not exactly but just to show some idea.

i will give you some hints on how entertaining this is
- after the 1st episode there is no break on tension or a big pause on plot,
it keeps moving in a above average pace on first 60% of the drama,
- it was so complex and every character interwind in the plot/ very well deveveloped and no weak performance.
- the politics scheme is easy to follow as it really happening on real event.

The Story: It was compelling and there is so many situations/happening in an episode w/ no dull momnets but its up to you.
Since its only 16 episodes...its not so dragging if you spot one.

The Cast/Acting: lets us not so bias if there no fave actor in it but what important is the character developement
and the performance they made. The Main villain has to be one of the great one you will see in a dramaland that isnt annoying.
The Main lead is very relatable and his character will make you symphatize w/ him greatly.

Music: entertaining as what you could expect in a tense drama

Replay: there is a part of me that even i watched this again...it isnt as entertaing as before since i got everything
from my first viewing, anyway it was a satisfying drama....w/ a fulfiliing conclusion as a whole but again its up to you =)

note: I heard this got Daesang award yay!

my other recommendation:

The Devil
Resurrection
Equator MAn
City Hunter
Giant*
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 3, 2012
Apr 3, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
When I first heard about this drama (before it started airing) I laughed at the plot and how very, very weird it sounded. However, since i've enjoyed some of Yamapi's past drama's I decided to check out the first episode...and then I got hooked!

Story 10/10: As odd as the plot sounded, this drama actually has a good amount of everything(except action...unless you count Yamapi running with music playing in the background read more as action.) The plot is fantastic, but I think the biggest obstacle to it's success was the fact that it deals with death(every single episode), and most people would rather not watch anything that has such a heavy subject in it. Personally, I didn't mind and rather enjoyed that unorthodox aspect of it.

Acting 10/10: Flawless and usual. Every single cast member was perfect. Yamapi, Eikura Nana, the actors who play the family members, and everyone else did an amazing job.

Music 7/10: I think I remember only one song or maybe they just had one song played over and over again. I can't remember. The one song was actually pretty good (Yamapi was the singer), but the lack of their being more memorable variety is what made me give it a 7/10.

Rewatch Value 6/10: I don't usually rewatch dramas but since the success of this drama doesn't really hinge on surprise, I would give this a 6 for rewatch (which is very high for me.)

Overall 10/10: I looked forward to new episodes of this drama every single week and that is rare for me. For people who haven't seen it yet, I would say at least watch the first episode and give it a chance. I'd even go as far as saying it's a masterpiece drama that deserves more fans.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Contract
23 of 23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 20, 2012
Jan 20, 2012
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I just finished watching this near midnight and I don't want to put away writing this until the morning. What I'm feeling now demands to be written down.

I don't think I've watched any drama until now that felt so absolutely pointless at the end of it. That doesn't mean that everything was great until the end though.

First of all, it was real slow. Throughout most of the episodes, there isn't read more anything much happening than characters wallowing in emotions or doing what they do without any background score.
There was no getting used to it, you just had to bear with it. Mostly you bore with it because, while the screenplay inched along and something finally happened, the actors emoted well and those scenes were good.

Also, I can say with certainty, if it were not for my liking both Mike He and Ariel Lin, I wouldn't have made it even halfway through.

And, Then there is the ending..
After you sit through it all, the way they choose to end it is nothing but absurd. I didn't fully watch the last two episodes. There was no point to continuing with the torturous-ly slow process when the only reasons for watching the show took a beating.

That's all I can put into words now. The only reason any one can have of watching this,in my opinion, is if they like the lead actors, because it's a tough ride even then.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fermentation Family
34 of 35 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 26, 2012
Feb 26, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama really should be called by it's alternate name: Kimchi Family. The word 'fermentation' doesn't quite encompass what this story is truly about.

Kimchi Family is a real family drama with an extremely well written mystery and lovely little romance wrapped up inside. Every episode highlights a recipe for a type of Kimchi or on some occasions, a traditional Korean dish. Every type of kimchi and how it is prepared is read more mixed with a lesson about family, forgiveness, friendship, love, trust and on and on. The writing and acting are extremely well done. The way the plot advances and moves toward its conclusion is not rushed and no story line is left hanging. The pacing is perfect. This is a rare thing, even for the best Kdrama.

The thing that struck me about this drama is it's mix of corny and wise, silly and serious, tender and real. The well played out mysteries are what ended up surprising me. There were actually two! Ki Ho Tae and his search for his roots and another, slightly darker mystery that I won't spoil here. The great thing about how they were written is the subtlety and rationale of the characters. Each actors' dialog and reactions weren't over melodramatic and maudlin and yet still emotional and moving. I was excited to see how they would be solved.

I also loved how every episode was all about food, it's preparation, it's healing qualities for body and soul and it's ability to bring family together; both blood family and the family you choose with your heart.

Song Il Gook and Park Jin Hee were great. Their romance was sweet and their chemistry was lovely. Every actor did a great job. I have not one complaint.

The cinematography and lighting, the set designs were all so well done. I'm almost sad it's over now because I'm going to miss Earth and Man Restaurant.

The music was great! There is one song in particular that I absolutely loved. I don't know the name but it was a mix of traditional Korean, modern pop and rap! It was so catchy that I was actually bummed when an episode passed and it wasn't played.

I gave the re-watch value a 10 because even though I might not watch this again, it certainly is as far from a 1 (pathetic) as you could get.

I recommend this highly for anyone who is looking for an original (yes, original!) story and one that is maturely written and very well told.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kagi no Kakatta Heya
22 of 22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 23, 2012
Jul 23, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A truly enjoyable serie, Kagi no Kakatta Heya is perfect for the Summer. It's episodic, which allows the viewer to watch one episode today and the next in a week without either forgetting the plot or severing any narrative thread. Should you decide to watch it, you can let your heart rest and only use your brain: this is a logic quiz, not a rollercoaster of emotions. The cases revolve around how read more the crime was committed: Who and Why are almost irrelevant.
It's perfect for a break from emotion-filled dramas, or for a weekly/daily 45 minutes of pure distraction.

As already pointed out by other reviewers, each episode is built upon a fix pattern, with a brief presentation of each locked-room case in which the improbable investigative trio gives us hints to solve the riddle. If you aren't a fan of serial doramas, you may find the repetition boring. Personally, now and then I like the familiarity created by schemes and patterns: it's... reassuring, and relaxing.

The actors do a great job. Sato Koichi's antics are hilarious, Ohno Satoshi's robotic ways surreal but very effective in creating a familiar character and yet leaving that trace of mystery which keeps the interest of the viewer alive. I'm partial to Toda Erika because every time I see her on screen she is different. This time it took me almost half an episode to truly recognize her; I once read that she's one of the few drama actresses, if not the only one, who is ready to act with no make-up at all. Her clothes are so discouraging it's evident she does not want to impress for her looks, but for her acting skills.

The editing of this show is original: it cuts scenes and music abruptly. In the beginning I thought it was a mistake by the segmenters, but I later realized it's a direction choice. While I wouldn't recommend this kind of style for every drama I watch, I think it works well here, where no room is left open for unnecessary detail and economy prevails over flowery narration.

The music is brilliant and works perfectly for the show. It combines some elements of the traditional detective/mystery serie a' la Ellery Queen with the contemporary pace and rhythm.

It can be rewatched, given some time has passed and you've forgotten
the intricacies of how the culprit did what (s)he did. I didn't mind the ending at all, I thought it was very much in line with the rest of the show. Suitable and therefore recommended to any type of viewer of every age.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
MR. BRAIN
22 of 22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 18, 2012
Apr 18, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Wow...this is just such an amazing show. I stumbled across it after watching Satoh Takeru in Bloody Monday since I wanted to see him in something else. At first I was disappointed that he was only going to play a small part in the film. However, I was hooked on the show itself from the first 15-20 minutes in. It takes about that long to figure out what the heck is going read more on (the beginning doesn't seem at all connected to the plotline as given in the notes), but then it takes off from there and never stops. I had seen several of the cast in other shows (besides Takeru), and they have always played some of my favorite roles. The show just has such amazing acting. Bad guys, good guys, side-not-really-all-that-important guys--all of them do an excellent job. The crimes are all deliciously difficult to solve (or at least to prove), and I love the scientific facts that they keep throwing in. Mr. Brain's impact on everyone around him is so wonderfully done. The writer(s) so excellently show him drawing the people around him into his positive look at life and the possibilities of science. And in drawing in the characters around him, Mr. Brain attracts the interest of the show's viewers at the same time. This show is a little more dark/bloody in some areas than most crime dramas that I watch (definitely not for little kids), but they are so well designed. No crime is the same (which often happens in crime shows where there is more than one crime to solve) and neither are they the run of the mill crime (man kills mistress or some other cliche mystery). These are interesting and unique stories that drew my interest anew with each episode. I have already re-watched this show, and I really with a second season had been made. If I have one complaint, it is that the end seems unfinished. It was obviously designed with a sequel in mind and the end is a little bit of a let-down because of it. If they ever finish it, the show would be almost perfect.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unexpected You
32 of 33 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 14, 2013
Jan 14, 2013
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I watched this drama before because of the summary of the story. As a married woman, a drama like this is really inviting especially if it's about in-law things. hahaha!

The story of this drama shows how the life of a normal family really is. You'll learn many things by watching this and it'll make you understand each situation of an individual in the family.

The actors really did a great job read more because they had shown their versatility as actors and actresses. This sitcom is long but you'll love every part of it because it'll really make you laugh and cry.

This drama is excellent and you'll never regret watching it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No