If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Kuzu no Honkai
0 people found this review helpful
3 hours ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
I didn't expect a very bold action on 1st episode. It surprised me that someone ( writer) came up with this story line. Very brave and unusual.
Plot twist at the end makes my heart broken.(*Because I always in a K-drama plot) This drama turns me to think seriously about Love and sex from Japanese point of view. It's kind of different from what I believe, but then I realized they're just high school students. And this kind of thing is happening for real somewhere.
This drama teach you to let go of something what doesn't belong to you in a worse way and also in a good way.

I like this drama because it's uncommon story. When you getting bored with k-drama love story, this drama is surely something new.
But be careful there is a lot of Mature content in each episodes.
A little bit boring in the middle but it's not that hard to finish it.



Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
0 people found this review helpful
4 hours ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Surface Thoughts:
This drama blew me away with its quirky and light hearted feel. This is an overall feel good drama that anyone can enjoy watching.

Cast:
The chemistry between Joo Hyuk and Sung Kyung really worked, with a great story along side the acting. Cast was flawless to say the least.

Story:
Critically speaking the story wasn't too complex that it would confuse fans (complaints I've seen on other dramas), yet it's not too simple. You gradually get to figure out more about these characters as the drama progresses, giving the plot more backbone to rebound itself on. I also love how they implemented such an idea that strays away from the norm. Sung Kyung as beautiful as she is, played a difficult role that strays away from "Korean beauty", something that most Korean dramas are not willing to do (not saying theirs anything wrong with that, just that it was a very ambitious idea that payed off ). It all worked out and came together for a great ending in my opinion.

Overall:
Overall Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo is a banger of a show! Something to consider watching if you haven't already, or something to re-watch in the future if you have.

Note: This is my first drama review hope you enjoy. : )

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
7 hours ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.5
I criticised a lot but you know it's a 9. It is a good drama. Go ahead and watch it!
Overall, I gave it a 9 but looking at other things u know it doesn't deserve this bias of mine.  Not fond of the two leads. thought I gave the acting of the male lead's actor a go after haven't watched him in anything for a long time and his acting is not favoured in the Jdrama-community. So what am I even biased about?  I can't figure it out. I just like it for it being able to coerce the lazy me to watch one episode after another and after another. . .
- Only 5.0 for acting/cast coz they can't emote to the maximum. The young lead actress delivers sometimes but cannot sometimes. Aside from the 2 leads,  many casts are all good.  The police was great and the male lead's mom did the best acting job, second would be Kento Kaku.
- Story is 9.0 coz I like the twists, but the director shouldn't have hinted at EP8 about who it is coz smarter viewers would already be guessing right on who that is.  That hint was so obvious. Should have waited until final episode to shock viewers.
- Music: 5.0 coz I like Leo Ieiri . If I didn't like her I wouldn't even rate this this much. The way the music is used it is tooooo much; annoying is a harsh word,  and it is not annoying at all, so I would say the soundtrack is just not optimised. Scenes that shouldn't have it should not have it playing over the moment they are doing some big thing, revelation, or an epic scene, or a crucial scene. The song just makes it awkward and cheesy.
- Rewatch: 1.5  for all the reasons above.

but I'm satisfied with having watched this show. It is not a regret. It is a good show.  Recommend for everyone.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
W
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
15 hours ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
First of all, the idea of this drama was really creative and different, the actors were also really great (especially the main male character </3), the setting, the background everything was great. However, the plot though, it's really confusing. I'm not the type who will watch the entire episodes minutes by minutes, I would do a lot of skipping because I don't have enough patience, but still understand at least what was going on in the drama as a whole. This one though, I still don't understand the main plot or how the webtoon's author had the power to enter the webtoon's world he created. I asked my friends (they also said they don't understand too) who also watched this and even google it, and I still don't understand. I think it's such a pity because maybe if they simplified the conflict a little bit it would be more enjoyable? What do you guys think?

Would I rewatch this? Maybe, but solely because of the actor LOL he's soo handsome </3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Girlfriend is a Gumiho
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
15 hours ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
I started to fell in love with Lee Seung Gi and Shin Min Ah here. Their acting were so great, the emotion, the comedy everything blends together and created this awesome hilarious drama. This drama doesn't have a lot of magic/fantasy features besides the Gumiho herself (if I remember correctly), so this would be CGI friendly for those who don't like CGI dramas. The two main characters' chemistry were also really great, I felt like nothing was forced and it just slowly developed deeper and deeper between them (if that makes sense). I highly recommend this for everyone especially for those who just star to watch K-drama :D


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
American Hustle Life
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
One of the funniest, cringiest and heart-warming series that BTS did! If you're an ARMY, you need to watch this!

You'll fall in love with all of the members once again, laugh at their quirky personalities and amazing English skills. It is essentially a story of their success, hardships and a way to the whole western music world. By the way, these are some of the most iconic memes and jokes of BTS that are jumbled into 8 episodes. so if you're staning any member, you NEED to watch this. My favorite thing was the interaction between the group members and the American artists. You can really spot the cultural differences and how 2 separate cultures can merge into 1. As much as every episode was enjoyable and totally amazing, in my opinion, this show needs a season 2!

An entertaining series worth the watch that will put a smile on your face!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
1 day ago
Overall 10
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
I do not even know where to start. I apologize for my English, I'm not fluent.

Rebel is a story about taking the reins of life itself. It begins in an intense way, and shows how a slave tries to break free in order to protect his family. But unfortunately, some things go wrong and the family falls into cycles of suffering. One revenge leads to another, and tragedies continue to happen. Fortunately, this does not leave a difficult story to watch. It is light on many times, intense on others, and all the time we see ourselves being captivated by the characters.

--- Action
The action scenes are very well done, even to almost have supernatural elements. The cinematography is beautiful, but despite that sometimes have such beautiful scenes that disclose the rest of the style of the drama. But that does not count as a negative point at all.

--- Performance
PERFECT. Nothing to complain about the actors. They all played the roles brilliantly. However, I detest the Gil Dong child. But it's just my opinion and how it did not last long, irrelevsi it and I followed the show.
Yoon Gyun Sang demonstrates all his acting power as Gil Dong. He is so innocent and strong at the same time. Your character emanates a warmth and dignified maturity. And because he's so tall and big (the broadest shoulders I've ever seen in my life) he looks like a big bear brother or like I said to my brother, a wardrobe haha. Yoon Gyu Sang seems to have been born for this role (as well as Mo Hyul in Six Flying Dragons.) He simply COMBINES a warrior who fights for a cause! And especially now as Gil Dong, he had a chance to show off a man's strength! Ahaha

I do not consider Ga Ryung as the protagonist. Unlike other fans, I think she existed there just to be Gil Dong's romantic couple. She was not annoying, she was a good character. A strong woman for her time as well as a good wife and cause partner. But that's all. Whether she was there or not, had no strong influence on the plot. But the Importance of it is not for the story, it is for our hero, Gil Dong. If it had not been for Ga Ryung, he probably would have had a solitary existence. His love for her is remarkable. It is perceptible that it is she who allows him to live as a human being as well as a fighter. And that's what makes the novel beautiful. A firm, supportive, strong-willed woman. She also fights her own war later, on the scene with the King. Honestly, a woman strong in many ways and who matured very cruelly.
It simply hurt in me to hear her call for her husband, and Gil Dong call for her. The way the name "Ga Ryung" came from Gil Dong's mouth, seriously, it caused me tears! And how she screamed for "Husband" ... A lot of chemistry! And a beautiful novel! It seemed like everything was going to fall apart!

The king is a character full of conflicts. He has a distorted moral sense and believes that he does the right thing all the time. Unlike the other fans, I did not find him such a brilliant character.

The female light of this show was Lee Honey as Nook So. What was that, gentlemen? What bright woman is that? What a formidable character is this? She definitely shone. Rebel would not be the same without this actress. All that she lived, being an imperfect woman, and also ahead of her time; being a Gisaeng and an "artist," she conquered the power in the only way she could get, and did not regret it to an end. A mature woman, full, feminine, strong, and full of defects. This was Nook So. The villain who was never a real villain. Palms for her! She, unlike Ga Ryung, did not need a man to make her shine any more. Nook So shone so bright that it made the men who were by his side still stronger. This is the presence that the character played by Lee Honey had.
Nook So and Gil Dong were the ones who brought this drama to its zenith. It is interesting to see the form that links with the other.

This was a memorable drama. Although I have the feeling that they have not taken advantage of all the premises they put into the plot, I have nothing to complain about. All very good.

One of the best epic soundtracks, side by side with The Princess Man and Six Flying Dragons. I can not stop listening to the Music and to be touched by remembering excerpts from this drama.

Yoo Gyun Sang, you're an incredible actor and born for epics!
I will rewatch soon !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Master's Sun
0 people found this review helpful
1 day ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 3.5
I took up The Master’s Sun because it was highly recommended by my buddies on Instagram. I take all my buddies recommendations seriously and try to watch as many as they recommend. I had read great reviews for this drama so was super excited to watch it. But for some reason, I did not like the drama as much as a lot of other viewers. Though I did enjoy each episode, I would often find it difficult to keep going back to it. I had felt something similar for City Hunter where I would be impressed by each episode but would find it difficult to keep up with it. I am surprised at myself that despite liking the main leads, I still could not love the drama as much as I would want to.  
Let’s weigh this spooky but funny drama on our drama beam balance and see what weighs it down.


Good Weights
So Ji Sub: I have seen Ji Sub on a lot of drama posters but never watched any of his dramas. I don’t know why but he never appealed to me. I did watch his drama ‘I’m Sorry, I Love You’ but then I was writing (still writing) written updates for its Turkish adaptation, Bir Ask Hikayesi and though Ji Sub was good in the drama, I found the Turkish actor, Seckin Ozdemir far better in the same role. I think I had some bias against him which I suppose ended after I watched The Master’s Sun. So Ji Sub looks good and acts amazing. His unrelenting attitude and occasional man-childish behaviour in the drama makes him surprisingly cute. He gives out a very Mr. Darcy vibe, a cute Mr. Darcy.  

Gong Hyo Jin: My first KDrama heroine :) she features as a good weight in all her dramas that I have reviewed. She is an astoundingly talented actress who can bring any character to life with her easy performance. From a smart doctor to a struggling TV anchor to a psychic, she has played every role with such conviction that I can never find a flaw in any of her characters. She played the anxious and terrified Gong Shil with such conviction that I felt pity for her. She even impersonated a cat with perfection. I love simply love her. If you ever see her name in the cast list of a drama, do watch it as she is an amazing actress.


Bad Weights
Amnesia: The amnesia angle is very common in Korean dramas and I hate it. I hate it in almost every drama that has it. I feel the memory loss angle is added when the writer has to stretch the story for a few more episodes and has no other idea of how to do it. It frustrates me more than it frustrates the person who has lost his memory in the drama. In this drama, somewhere towards the end, Joong Won loses his memory and guess what, he remembers everything and everyone except Gong Shil. Very convenient, right? And then again the same old thing, she tries to push him away from her but he is drawn to her like a fly to a sweetmeat. Sorry, I do not always enjoy this selective memory loss angle and here too it was unwanted and forced.

Unresolved Issues: I am a very passionate drama viewer. When I am watching a drama, my brain is constantly working trying to figure out why the character is doing what it’s doing and what will it do next. In this drama, Gong Shil sees ghosts and is able to ward them off only when she touches Jong Won. From the very first episode, my head started working to determine what could be the reason behind this magical touch. I had a million theories in my head justifying the source of his special ability. But when the drama ended and I realised that they never explained the reason behind their ‘special’ connection I felt wronged. I hate it when writers add certain aspects to generate curiosity and never bother to address them. This is one major reason why I will not rate this drama high.  

Love Story: Though Ji Sub and Hyo Jin shared a sparkling on-screen chemistry, their love story was too slow burn for my liking. I am not against slow burn, but this was a little too much and I despised the couple for being so difficult. They looked so nice together but always ensured that something stood between them. His arrogance, her pride, his amnesia, her nobility or some random reason always kept them apart and it frustrated me. Had they been less of a typical drama couple and more of a normal couple, I would have enjoyed the drama more.

All in all, the drama is enjoyable. A lot of viewers consider this as the best KDrama but for me, it was a decent entertainer. I wasn’t wowed by anything but never felt bored either. The supporting cast and parallel storyline were enjoyable. I liked Kang Woo and Yi Rung’s love story. I don’t know why a popular actress would chase after a security guard who is not interested in her a bit, I still liked their chemistry. They were cute. The OST is also good. Nothing really is bad about this drama. It is good for a one-time watch.
 
I give The Master’s Sun 3 out of 5 rating. Funny, romantic, scary and entertaining. This drama is worth a watch.
 
Originally posted on www.alphagirl.in

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Surgeons
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I really enjoyed this drama. It was super addicting for me!! And now I'm absolutely in love with Bai Baihe!! 

Story:
You can refer to the synopsis for the overall story so I won't repeat it here. But I loved how the plot was captivating and that there were a lot of patient stories that were incredibly touching and realistic, as well as a lot of problems dealing with morality and right vs wrong. Story was tight knit, and none of the characters were just simply black or white; all of the characters were gray. There was no one who was always right or always wrong and they show you multiple views of one problem and one character. Very well-written!! I would say the ending felt like it was just a teeny tiny bit rushed (I think they could have extended it for a few more episodes) but that's literally the only thing that I would be picky on if I had to be.

Acting/Cast:
Great acting by everyone!!! I had seen Jin Dong in Nirvana in Fire and The First Half of My Life prior to watching this drama so I knew he was a good actor. But I did not expect to completely fall in love with Bai Baihe!! She is a very natural actress, not stiff, not overdone but just right. Second leads and supporting actors were all great as well and portrayed their roles very nicely.

Music:
All the instrumentals were perfectly well fit for the mood. There's literally only one song with words (the ending song) so this drama relied a lot on instrumentals instead so I don't think there's really too much to say for the music but it definitely didn't distract you from the scene or anything.

Rewatch Value:
Definitely going to rewatch my favorite scenes, but probably not every single second. This drama is definitely kind of heavy at certain parts.

Overall:
Awesome, awesome drama!!! Would highly recommend. It's now one of my favorite dramas of all time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
2 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
If you're looking for something angsty or are in the mood to feel pain and suffering, TLTSILY is the drama for you.

Personally, I think the acting is good, it's just that the script makes everything look a little silly. (See episode 10).  The music is sometimes "misplaced" too which makes me cringe or laugh, sometimes both.

But let's focus on the story. Many say that the female lead went through a lot of suffering, but I think for that time period, those things could really happen to a girl. Also, karma. She didn't really treat her parents right. There were so many ways some events could be avoided, but she let things get out of hand and only thought about herself.

The male lead. Good lord. He some issues he needs to work out. The rough handling of women, is pretty blatant and off putting, but then again, considering the time period (we still have these now), it is possible that it's just way men in power were.

Again, watch this drama if you're in a mood to cry or feel bad. You know, one of those days when you just want to cry.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Secret Romance
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
The story had potential but the acting was lacking. The main actor is actually good he tried his best but the female lead needed some help. Shes cute but that doesnt cut it. First of all with the forced hiccups. It was becoming alil too fake. Second is the kissing
 She dint try to match him she was too closed up it was annoying. The other actors tried too but not too much to stand out. I liked the girl from the kitchen with the titudes she was refresshing though she dint say much but he presence was fun to watch. The Secretary was great too
Was this review helpful to you?
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
1 people found this review helpful
by Leni
2 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I just want to say...

Watch it. You won't regret it.

It's one of the most beautiful shows out there. Charming and real.
I fell in love with the characters. With them all. Relationship between main pair was... perfect. Realistic and sweet. And cute.
I postponed to watch this drama all the time. I was so stupid. Because now I love everything about this show. I don't have any disadvantages.
I already liked Lee Sung-Kyung because of her previous role in "Doctors". But now I love her. She prove that she could play any role she wants. Lee Sung-Kyung, good job! All the actors and ofc staff made an amazing work creating this drama. In the end... I know that no one of them will see this, but... thank you. Wholeheartedly, thank you. I love you Sung-Kyung... I mean I love this drama eghem *cough cough*.
That's all. *trying not to drawn in the sea of tears*.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Stranger
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
It's the first K-Drama I finished and I'm not disappointed.

While the plot may not be new the cast did a great job with the acting so it did not get boring. And even though it is quite a common plot you could not predict how it will end up so if that is something that is putting you off, give this one a chance.

It did get a bit dragging at some point but that is not the shows fault in itself, but rather something that I have found that many, if not all K-Drama have a problem with. I personally think that K-Dramas are a bit to long, both in episode count and in episode length. American shows can have long running seasons because the way they are built, but for K-Drama, and J-Drama that has a lot of information in its episodes, seasons with more than 12 episodes tends to get a bit dragging. Same with the length of the episode which in my opinion should not be over 45-50 minutes unless it's a special episode or something similar. And even though I felt it in this drama I still managed to finish it without problems, so good job for that.

The music is great, some soundtracks have but stuck in my head for days and that should say something.

As for rewatch value it does go down quite a bit because this is a show that thrives with that you don't know who did what and what is going to happen.

I would still recommend this one with all of my heart because this a really good show and I would definitely watch a second season if it would happen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 2.0
I just finished this drama and I can say it was a good one but not the best.

The pros:

The story is set in the imperial harem and the daily lives of the imperial concubines are imagined, detailed and portrayed in a way that I don't expect to see in any other drama.

Characters are really really good. Especially Consort Hua and the Empress. They were the characters that kept me interested  throughout the drama. Their backgrounds, reasons, intentions and feelings give such a charisma that I think I will never forget.

Visually the drama is second to none and acting is outstanding in a way I can't stress  enough. Also details in behavior, customs and mindset of the characters are very well done.

The music is wonderful and couldn't be more perfect and appropriate.

The cons:

Too many times I felt like the writers were focusing too much on side stories and the main plot was less important and didn't feel as elaborated.

One of its mistakes was the weak ending. I was expecting so much more!I never felt like it was actually ending except for the fact of having watched too many episodes.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
King is Not Easy
0 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
*SPOILERS (just a warning)*

I thought this series was pretty cute. The beginning started of REALLY funny, you can tell it's a comedy (probably an indication from the themesong).

Da Xi is the main character starting off the series. My first impression of her was that she was a horn-dog, since the opening scene was here judging the appearance of other men and deciding what makes a good "husband." Her character is refreshing to see in "costume" dramas because she's not the typical damsel in the distress, she's blunt, funny and knows what she wants.

Ji Man is the other main character, he plays the Emperor of Zhou. There's no real impression of him at first, because right when he emerges they do the switcharoo.

Acting is quite hilarious. Especially is Da Xi is in the emperor's body, the actor Zhang Yi Jie had AWESOME expressions of when he's suppose to be Da Xi, especially squealing "like a girl" when she sees her crush Shao Yong. Our main actress, Bai Lu, also does great acting as a man in a woman's body. When the two switch back to their normal bodies, I was so confused seeing Da Xi being goofy in her girl's body!

Like many comments on here, the drama took a weird twist and ended weird. I thought it was interesting. The plot twist where they reveal the "dream sequence" was confusing and left many questions unanswered. For example, if it were a dream why did members of the palace remember Da Xi, if she was only in his dream? O_o There are also plot holes in regards to the Western Goddess Tribe and who they are, and why they didn't just use their magic in the beginning to whisk away the King's men that were ravaging their lands. Oh whale.

The ending was a definitely interesting, I've watched enough time travel dramas to enjoy it. I thought it was funny at the end how they end up in the future, and even switched bodies in the future (perhaps a part two?). My take on it was that, they (Guardian and Mountain Spirit) sent Da Xi to the future w/ an indentity and erase her memories. In the future she's an artist of a manga and pretty much draws out her love story of Da Xi and Ji Man. Ji Man gets sent there with his memories, and finds Da Xi (who has no recollection of who he is). And theyn their love story starts all over, and their soul switches again at the end of the drama.

To me, I feel like its more of Bai Lu gets reincarnated and maybe she subconciously remembers her previous life and thus came up with the idea for her manga. I didn't think it was as terrible as people were saying. The drama is really short, and cute. I'd watch again if I were bored.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?