Sort by:
The Princess' Man
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 15, 2012
May 15, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
If I could only use one word to describe this drama, I would definitely use EPIC. This is my 3rd historical drama. The first was Sungkyunkwan Scandal, which unexpectedly became one of my favorites. The 2nd was The Moon that Embraces the Sun, which didn't quite live up to all the good reviews in my opinion. I decided to ignore the great reviews this time, and watch this with no expectations. I read more became instantly hooked. This is a truly ambitious story that combines romance, tragedy, and action seamlessly.

Most reviews compare the story to Romeo & Juliet, but I think that is an understatement. Though the story does revolve around two "star-crossed lovers" from opposing families, it's also about ruthless political ambition, best friends becoming archenemies, family betrayal, unlikely heroes, and revenge. Like many Shakespearean plays, the story embellishes some historical events, & figures, which helps to make it feel authentic. Every character is expertly played, and written. The end of every episode had me anxious to watch the next one. I was sometimes frustrated by characters, and situations, but never bored. I was a little disappointed, and frustrated, by the ending, but I was also impressed that it didn't take the expected route. I was tempted to give this drama a 9 because of the ending, but I decided it was just too good for that.

The cast was definitely outstanding. The characters really had great depth, and real character arcs. The heroes were flawed, and the villains showed vulnerability. You can actually see the characters change (for better or worse) as the show progresses. Kim Yeong Cheol made me actually empathize with his merciless, and unbearably stubborn, portrayal of Prince Suyang/King Sejo. There are too many great characters to name them all individually, but I have to mention Lee Min Woo who had such an unexpected effect on me as Jung Jong, with his goofy smile. He was the first character to bring me to boo-hoo tears. The friendship between Seung Yoo, Jong, and Officer Shin was just as heartbreakingly tragic as the main romance.

The multiple stories were balanced perfectly, and never made the plot drag, or feel like mere filler. The romance is, however, the heart of the story, and Park Shi Hoo's awesome performance is what ultimately holds the show together - I mean, he is the Princess' Man after all.

I can't say enough good things about Park Shi Hoo. Whether a scene called for romance, action, comedy, or tender emotion, he handled it all flawlessly. As for Moon Chae Won, I didn't even realize that she was the obsessed girl in Shining Inheritance/Brilliant Legacy, which I think says a lot about her ability to lose herself in a distinct role. I also appreciated that she was a just as strong as the male lead, in her own way. I think they had great chemistry, and worked very well together, especially when considering the grand scope of their romance in this drama, and the range of their feelings for each other.

The direction, the cinematography, and the music made every episode feel like a movie to me. I did initially think the opening theme sounded a bit too much like a korean "carol of the bells", but it soon added to my excitement for the coming episode.

I highly recommend this drama as having something for everyone, but this is definitely a tragic one. If you're looking for a cute/feel good drama, look elsewhere. For fans of historical drama, this is a must. For non fans of historical drama, this one is worth giving a try. I would love to watch this again, even knowing the kinda frustrating conclusion. It's such a good story, that knowing what will happen doesn't ruin it, and in some ways may make it better.

The Princess' Man is one of my new favorites for sure. The 24+ hours spent watching it were so worth it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
May 15, 2012
May 15, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was a little hesitant to start watching the drama, because of the storyline. It didn't seem like it was going to be a good drama. When I started watching it I really did expect the story to be overtaken by the conversation of politics and sadness, but it was the exact opposite. The romance in this drama was so beautiful! There was, of course, some political talk, and sadness, but it read more was replaced with very humorous moments that I have not ever seen in a historical drama before. There were times when I was desperately heartbroken, and others where I was literally unable to breathe, because of something being extremely hilarious. The acting was great all the way through. I have to give huge props to all the actors who played the younger versions of the main characters. They all did a wonderful job, and are beyond their years in the world of acting. I loved, loved, loved Soo Hyun in this drama. He took his character to a knew and complex level. The music was absolutely beautiful!! I can still not get over the music that was played throughout this drama. It had an eerie grand warrior feel to it, if that makes any sense. I would rewatch this drama in no time. I really enjoyed it, and I'm sure anyone who watches it will. Overall, I give this a 9. Based on my personal rating I gave this drama a 10, but I feel that the storyline wasn't the absolute best, but you really cannot judge a drama based on it's initial plot. Loved this drama, and you will to. So! stop reading this review and go watch this drama!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
49 Days
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
STORY---- 9/10

The plot is a unique adaptation of the popular story line of a soul wandering the earth finding ways to comeback to her body. I warn you don't treat this drama as an ordinary romance chic flick. It might contain some cliché parts the writer creatively masked that it remained inconspicuous.

ACTING/CAST-----8/10

It was relatively familiar cast for me, even the supporting actors I've seen from other SBS shows. The read more acting I was particularly moved by Jung Il Woo's performance, this is the first time I've watch a drama he's included, I thought he's character was easy to play since he's just the punk scheduler but when he started to cry and when his story started to unfold, I just wanted too see more. I was really sad for him, for Yi Kyung and Yi Soo. More that the main characters. I paid more attention to his story in the end.

MUSIC-----8/10

It was a touching mix of songs. It made you cry some more when the scenes were sad and made you feel bad when you should. Sound amplified the feelings.

REWATCH VALUE-----9/10

It has a high rewatch value for me, If you feel like contemplating on your life and just looking back and for self assessment this will really do.

OVERALL-----9/10

I'll give this a 9 overall score because it was so touching at an aspect even if i'm not a sucker for down right teary series. I finished this without me noticing it. Although I want it to end utopian style. Like everybody happy and they get to be with their most important person. I looked it very much with a bright perspective.



"It’s so poignant and beautiful and meaningful…and even though I didn’t get the ending I want, the ending was one of the best orchestrated I’ve ever watched: totally consistent and wonderful in its own bittersweet way"


MUST WATCH!

I hope I'm helpful enough :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Rose
23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Before watching this you should know, it has incest relationships.
If it doesn´t concern you, you will watch a great drama.

The first episode is a bit slow, but after that its really great. The story gets better and better and the relationships getting complicated, but overall all the charas are so original (especially Joe Chengs chara, really cute).

The acting and music is good.
From time to time i watch my read more favorite scenes from this drama, so the rewatch value is really high.

One of the best taiwanese drama that i ever saw. I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ikemen Desu Ne
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I watched it because I'm an absolute fan of "You're Beautiful".

Usually I also write review on every episode, but this time I didn't because I watched this drama kinda hurrying, I fast forwarded the infromative scenes at the beginning and less important scenes and I only watched the thrilling and emotional ones as I knew the story it wasn't just interesting enough. And I didn't want to waste my time. ( read more I'm also not a rewatcher type - maybe that's why )

I was curious about how japanese managed to act that story. Well it was even more remake of You're beautiful than I thought. They imidated even the smallest details. I have to say the Mio was really like Go Mi Nam. I think she was the person whose acting reminded me the most of "You're Beautiful" Ren succeeded well too. But he can't compete with Geun Seuk. :D

Shu-san and Yuki-san - even though they tried, I didn't like the actors. They were not close to Shin Woo and Jeremy, especially Yuki didn't reach out to the level of being that funny as Jeremy.

This drama went by too fast for me. Many scenes were skipped including some important ones. BUT
I liked that the first kiss scene between Ren and Mio was pushed forward to a time as everyone already knew she was a girl. And the end of the drama, I liked some details more in this drama. - As there was a kiss in the end too and they showed the acene when Mio returned from Africa.

I was sad that there were so less music and I don't know what to think about the different song in the end.

I'm quite sure, that this drama seemed too fast for me because I had seen the real version of this story before and I had already get used to a certain flow of storyline. May be if I had watched this earlier the other version might have seemed to slow.

Anyways, it was worth waching with an intention to see the story I've loved in a different light. But it was more like a parody to me. This certainly doesn't beat the korean version.

You can watch it. It's not that bad, but I do not support making another version of one good drama, as it may spoil the impression of real storyline.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hungry!
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
It started out really well. I thought it was funny, the story was interesting, and I liked the characters. But somewhere in the middle it got sort of cheesy, repetitive, and a bit too serious. I still finished it cause I cared enough about the characters to want to see what happened to them, and I also I liked seeing all the fancy food. The ending was pretty disappointing, though. Vague and read more a bit silly. It needs a second season or a special to end it better, but unless it was more like the first half of the season, I probably wouldn't watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Atsu Hime
23 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is one of those stories of strong and witty women who rise to power or accomplish great things despite their handicap of being women in a highly patriarchal society (like Dae Jang Geum in a way).

Atsu-hime's evolution is believable and beautiful to watch. The story is authentic and gives you a glimpse of a closed world and how it changed after the Meiji restoration.

I highly recommend this drama to read more anybody who wants to see a beautiful story that is both historically accurate and understandable for the modern viewer.

The acting was stellar, believable and stirring all kinds of emotions. The music was epic, as much as the story was personal and without much of those epic scenes with wars and surreal martial arts.

I don't think I can rewatch it as a whole, but there are certain scenes that I would happily rewatch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Man Called God
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So I past on this drama before when I was newer to dramas because I read a large amount of negative reviews and also the only person I knew in the cast was Han Chae Young and she wasn’t worth getting me to give it a chance. In the last couple months I've become familiar with Song Il Gook and even Han Go Eun. Recently I was looking to watch an intense read more drama so I decided to give the first episode a shot to see if it was bad as everyone was saying…

Story- I was surprised by how engrossed with the leads and the plot I was right from the start. I liked that the revenge started from the getgo and you didn’t have to wait for exciting things to happen. It remained engaging right up till the disappointing ending. There many plot wholes and I wanted a solid close to the romance. Speaking of this big romance that is suppose to make the main character change his ways, I wasn’t satisfied with the way they wrote it. The leads had few scenes together and they weren’t even that romantic. SIG’s character had more romantic scenes with the other 2 female lead characters. Even though the ending and the romance disappointed me, the writers did a great job of keeping me glued to the screen.

Acting- Song Il Gook’s character was a man of few words but his looks were definitely fitting of his character. He was really perfect as Michael King/Peter Pan/ Choi Kang Ta. Han Chae Young did a great job with what she was given. Towards the second half she had fewer and fewer scenes. They both had amazing chemistry though. The acting by the other main leads was perfect because their tortured characters were very believable. Han Go Eun was really really good. Some of the acting by supporting characters was questionable though..

Music- I really liked the score it heightened the scenes well. When it was suppose to be intense it was. The OST was good for the drama but not enough to listen to outside the show.

Rewatch- I would watch this again because it was an exciting watch but because I didn’t like the end I wont be watching it for a while.

Overall, this drama could have been better but I think its pretty good and definitely worth watching if you like exciting action dramas or if you’re a fan of Song Il Gook.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sweet 18
29 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
1)The reason I watched this:

I watched this a long time ago when I was a little girl who knows nothing about K-dramas. My grandmother was watching it so I tagged along.

2)Storyline/Plot:

I still remember it clearly even though it was a long time, the story was interestig to watch an at that time since I haven't seen stories like this before.

Positive points:

*Learning about family and responsibility while trying read more to to hold into your loved one was a good theme to follow.
*The events were nicely made; you can find romance and some action moments (since the lead actor is a prosecutor) plus there were some moments were the drama took interesting turns.
*The romace wasn't excessive, it's the light type of romance: Not too deep, not too clumsy.

Negative points:

*The storyline felt pushed sometimes which made it lose its natural aspect.
*Some parts felt unnecessary while others felt missing.
*It could've been much better if the events were more exciting.

Story: 6.5/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*The lead actress was clumsy and sometimes funny, I liked her perseverance and her great willpower to make her husband happy and all but I can't say that she's a great actress since you would feel like she's pushing herself to act: that was really annoying to watch.
*The lead actor was the mature type with a manly character plus he has to handel his little bride.
*The chemistry between leads was good but not great; it could have been much better if they pushed it a little.
*Supporting roles were somehow annoying but they didn't ruin the general concept.

Cast: 6/10
Acting: 5.5/10

4) The ending:

It was acceptable and likeable while being normal.

The ending: 7/10.

5) My impression (How did it affect me):

*It can be considered as an old drama since it was one of my first watched K-dramas so no hard judges over it.
*I was entertained while I watched it so no regrets plus I was sort of attracted by the drama at the time.

My impression: 8/10

6) Overall:

*If you like old/young relationships then this is for you.
*If you like rom-coms then you may like this.
*If you like clumsy lead females then you may want to give this a try.

Overall: 7/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Buzzer Beat
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 14, 2012
May 14, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Bittersweet love story between a star basketball player and a struggling violinist who met by chance and the wheel of destiny smiled upon them - however there are trials along the way. Yamapi and Keiko are great actors and made this drama truly memorable and outstanding. The entire cast - the players, the roommates, the rivals are exceptional. Definitely one of the best Japanese Tv drama ever.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Flower Boy Ramen Shop
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
sooooooooo: older woman falls for cute rich guy, extremely hot second male lead competes for her affections, hijinx ensue

the above describes a good number of korean dramas, but what sets this drama apart from those is that it remains completely humorous and light-hearted. this drama uses korean drama cliches (and there's a bit of makjang) but handles them in a fresh and original way.

definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dream High 2
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
i really tried with this drama. i really did.

like everyone else has said, they tried cramming way too much into 16 episodes. had they stuck with a simple underdog story and quit using the program as a showcase for idols, it would have been a great drama.

the cast did their best with this awful script but not even the acting could save it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Flower Boy Ramen Shop
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I didn't expect to actually like this drama, but I did. It was not one of those dramas that i must see and finished on one sitting, but it kept me hook.
I love characters. The main girl took me a while to like her, but at the end she was not that bad. The one that left a big impression on me was the 'runaway boy' or Ba Wool. I love read more his character and the way he acted it. KUDOS to him. Now I need to search about him.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I finally finished watching this drama. At first I didn't want to see this drama because of all the negative comments left but I went on to watch it and I really liked it. People say the ending is very bad I truthful think that the ending was good you just have to come up what you think will happen in the future. I would recommend this drama to those who loved read more dream high and you're beautiful because this drama has a combination of both in it. It's full of love and it well make you laugh! Enjoy it because I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wild Romance
7 people found this review helpful
by Aks
Other reviews by this user
May 13, 2012
May 13, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
First thing I have to say is that Lee Si Young's acting in this drama is top-notch. After watching her in Playful Kiss and Boys over Flowers, I thought she was destined to play the mean/proud girl. However she was lively, cute, and hilarious to watch in Wild Romance. The other members of the cast, inc the main lead, were really good too and I think together they all held the drama. read more Wild Romance is funny, intriguing, and cute without to much angst or misunderstanding between the main leads. The ending too is really good. It's not the most exciting or brilliant drama in the world but its definitely worth watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions