Sort by:
Scarlet Heart
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Story: A perfect telling of a love (fated and unfated) that transcends time. What will you do if the man you love was too ambitious that he was willing to give you up for his ambitions? What will you do when the man you hated loved you instead? What will you do if the man you treated as a good friend wanted you as well? What will you do when the man read more you loved and respected as friend and brother was betrayed not by others but by yourself? What will you do if you have no choice but to marry the man that was chosen for you? The main female lead tackles all of these questions and more. There are a lot happening in this drama that there is never a boring moment. You'll find yourself "chasing" after the episodes because you'll want to know what she will do next and what the ppl around her will do next. Despite so many challenges in the female lead's life, the story was told at a nice pace and each matter addressed adequately that you'll never feel as if you were left high and dry after being shown a tasty morsel. What's more... you'll even get to see how the female lead matures as the story progresses. A full rounder! Beautifully told and executed!



Acting/Cast: Lovely cast and most of them are experienced actors and actresses, hence excellent acting. I must also mention the costumes, props and sceneries in this drama as well. They sure invested a lot on them! Definitely worth watching! I personally, fell in love with the costumes!!!



Music: Endearing, sad, beautiful, melodic, longing, love....they are all gorgeously portrayed through the OSTs. This drama boasts a wonderful array of excellent OSTs that will bring a sigh, smile and tear to your heart. A worthy collection!



Rewatch value: I am personally not a big fan of re-watching dramas as I am very time poor. However, I'd purchase the DVDs, downloaded the mp4 versions and the OSTs of this drama. This says a lot about this drama and its songs! I'd since re-watched selected episodes of my favourite scenes. Due to my time and work commitments, I have yet been able to re-watch the entire drama but the thought is very tempting.



Overall: A beautiful drama that will remain in your memories long after the last song was sung and the curtains are drawn. This is one drama that will always be at the back of my mind as recommendation for others who are looking for a good historical chinese drama. Well done to all the casts, director and writer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Scarlet Heart
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I have had a history of trial and error with Chinese dramas, mostly because of the acting. So, when I saw the first episodes of this drama I was instantly enthralled with the story.

But towards the middle of the drama, the story seems to drag. I knew a lot was happening, but at the same time it seemed like nothing was and I tend to have the attention span of a read more five year old.

Another problem I had was with the production team (I guess). The transitions both from scene to scene and the lapses in time seemed chaotic and I was often confused as to why they didn't make these smoother.

Having said that, I did love the story. I would have been able to enjoy it more if they had managed to piece the scenes together better than they did. I also loved the gorgeous costumes. And this drama has some of the best employed flashback scenes I have seen.

It's not the worst drama I have ever seen since I managed to fully complete it, but it's not the best one out there either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Galileo
15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Loved it! I saw the drama and the movie! The acting was brilliant. Both leads were exceptional and the storyline was most impressive. Though not scientifically realistic, it was a very entertaining drama to watch. Every episode was worth watching. It will leave you wanting for more. I love the song, "Kiss-shite". Its a very sweet song <3. I rewatched certain episodes of this drama and I barely rewatch anything. Overall, it read more is one of my most memorable dramas and I was obsessed over it for a while . Plus, the character was slightly imitated in the last episode of in Meitantei Okite, another drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
KO One
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Honestly, this is an awesome drama! A lot of Fei Lun Hai members are in here and the their roles suited their acting level. The storyline is extremely unique, unlike any I've seen in Taiwanese dramas before. The music is oh my god, is one of the best I've ever heard in asian drama. The opening by Tank is so good that I still murmur the words when I listen to it. read more I would rewatch this because it's very funny and clever. Overall, it's more than an 8. Its very good. I would recommend this to wuxia/comedy lovers. The girls can enjoy this too because of the adorable romance lines.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Buffet
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Personally, I was so excited when this drama was coming out and it came out on my birthday (idk how that matters). Anyways I was like Aaron and Calvin, I'm watching this. It wasn't disappointing to me but it was a bit disorganized. The leads are in the middle of expanding their acting skills but that's fine. I don't mind that. The music was cute, I liked it. Certain moments were enhanced read more by the music. The story was awesome! I didn't know who she should end up with and I liked that about the story. However, sometimes it got so draggy. That's why I wouldn't rewatch this as much. Overall, it was worth watching to me because of the coupling :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Fugitive: Plan B
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I was immediately interested in this drama the instant I saw the story and casting. I personally adored Daniel Henney in My Name is Kim-Sam Soon and Rain in Full House. So I thought I should give it a try. The cast acted very well for their roles. Rain is hilarious at certain times. I personally like the OST for this drama including the songs Bang Bang Bang and Running by MBLAQ read more plus Mayday by Oran-G. Their all in my ipod. The storyline was interesting but certain times dragged on the story.It could have ended earlier. Overall, it was good though. I liked the two couples in this drama. very cute and well presented.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Warrior Baek Dong Soo
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Oh Thx again for a wonderfully done historical Kdrama. I only wish that American had such an interesting history.

Now to the story. Loved it! I was slightly upset that my fave actor in this drama died. Yoo Seung Ho was the bestest! I loved him in "4th Period Murder Mystery". I loved the acting & thought that all the actors had great chemistry. I love the music b/c of read more the feeling it gives. I wish that they changed it up a little more, but it was still good. I have new fave actors b/c of this drama. I will watch this historical drama again over others 1. b/c it was short, & 2. b/c I love the actors. I believe that if u like historical dramas then u will like this 1. I actually cried when my fave actor died (which totally means a lot b/c I don't cry for ne reason). Watch it & enjoy!~)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Q10
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Q10's story is so cute and funny. Episode 1 will already make you say "Oh Kyuto is so cute makes me wanna hug her" something like that. The roles of each characters are also the best part for me because the writer used different or uncommon personalities, like the poor guy, the girl in wig, and the weird Fujino!



The acting is great. The main casts did their best read more at their roles. You can feel them. Some of the minor casts are not known like Kaku Kento but they did very good.



A must-watch esp. if you enjoy drama which involves school and class.(I never get bored of this genre.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
MR. BRAIN
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 16, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
MR. BRAIN is one of the shows that will amaze you. Its fun to watch, and each episode makes you want to watch more. (And more Tsukumo craziness too) Don't worry if you are not a fan of mystery/crime dramas. The actors and guests per episode will entertain you. They are one hell of great actors! This is a mixture of mystery and comedy so that viewers will not get bored.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Greatest Love
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 15, 2011
Oct 15, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Even though the story line of this drama is very common to c in Kdrama it was still rly good. I enjoyed it mostly b/c of the actors/actresses. The leads were perfect. I enjoyed the chemistry that flowed between not just the main couple but the love triangle/secondary couple. There were so many back stories that kept popping up that made this drama more interesting than just the main story line. The read more drama made me laugh, cry (not rly, but figuratively), and made me want to watch it again. The last episode was the best, b/c I just love babies. I think if u watch this drama it will make u feel many different things & u will want to watch it till the end. I will prolly watch this drama again b/c I rly loved the acting & it made me laugh A LOT! Check it out 4 urself. Enjoy!~)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nobuta Wo Produce
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 14, 2011
Oct 14, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This is one of my favorite Jdramas.



Story: 8/10 The plot behind this drama is pretty ordinary. It's to make a loner girl at school, into one of the popular kids. That being said, I enjoyed every minute of it.



Acting: 10/10 The acting by Kamenashi Kazuya and Yamashita Tomohisa was outstanding. Erika Toda also did a great job. Overall, the entire cast was relatively flawless. read more One great thing about Yamaspi in this drama was the fact that he plays a very cute and quirky character unlike his other dramas.



Music: 7/10 The music for this jdrama was pretty average. It served it's purpose and I forgot it soon after I finished the drama.



Rewatch Value: 6/10 This is actually one of the better dramas to rewatch since you know what's going to happen from the very beginning.



Overall: 9/10 All in All, this drama is one of the more lighthearted, fun to watch Jdramas that everyone should watch. So what are you waiting for? Go! Go! Go!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Iljimae
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 13, 2011
Oct 13, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama is the best of Lee Jun Ki's work!

The plot is a Robinhood style drama, rob from the rich and help the poor and lots more. This drama will make you cry, laugh, feel hate for all authorities/people in power and much more!

All the casts did an amazing job and they should all have gotten an award.

Music, also excellent and in tune with read more this period drama.

I give the Rewatch value 10 also, because this is a really amazing drama!

Overall, I could have given it a 10 but for the ending, I do not like open ending!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Time Between Dog and Wolf
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 13, 2011
Oct 13, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is an excellent, clever drama!



The plot is a typical spy/romance story but the twists and turns kept me hooked right up to the end. There are parts where I just thought... "What the heck just happened?"



The actors did a very good job, especially the handsome and talented Lee Jun Ki, the only reason why I started watching this drama in the first read more place; he really did an excellent job here.



The music varied from rap to classic, and an essential part of the drama.



Rewatch value is also 10 because after I finished watching this drama the first time, I said to myself, "that was excellent!" and felt the need to watch it again immediately, in case I was wrong, i wasn't!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Don Quixote
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 13, 2011
Oct 13, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Why are you reading my review when you could be better spending your time watching this show?

If you are reading, it means you're hesitant: please don't be. Don Quixote is a fantastic watch, wonderfully acted, well directed, full of sweetness and serious issues treated with a light touch which is neither shallow nor melodramatic.

But most of all, you will laugh. A lot. Loud.



Yes, I'm read more a fan of Matsuda Shota and started watching because of him. I had been waiting for his next drama with a passion after Liar Game and prepared myself to be swept away by his very natural charm - and looks, I won't deny it.

He did not disappoint me one bit. He's outstanding: infuriating but incredibly sweet, hilarious but bossy, dense but clever in a very down-to-earth way and just as crazy as the famous hero created by the pen of Cervantes.

But a Don Quixote review would be incomplete and totally unfair without including Sancho Panza in it, brilliantly portrayed here by Katsumi Takahashi. As the synopsis explains, there's a soul switch involved in this drama, so that we see the two actors suddenly changing attitude, accent, facial expressions. The attentive viewer won't fail to recognize the ability of these two actors to wear the clothes of the other. The result is comic and endearing. Takahashi and Matsuda form an unforgettable duo.

All the secondary characters do a splendid job. The Yakuza's family is so improbable you can't help but laugh out loud and all the staff of the child consultation centre grows in depth and characterization.

And then there's the children. Japanese have a true knack of telling children stories, in my opinion. The fact that these kids are all incredibly cute and most of the time talented helps.



I loved the music too. It's in Spanish, as required by the title, and the contrast between the Spanish sunny rhythm and the Japanese architecture and landscapes is so sharp it's brilliant. I also loved the open credit tune with the children drawings, I thought it was a very cute touch.



I will rewatch this drama. Soon enough. I will marathon a second time through it and no doubt be left with the same huge grin on my face.

Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ikemen Desu Ne
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 12, 2011
Oct 12, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I am one of the many that watched this drama because I had already seen the Korean version but at first I was going to watch this one before I found out it was a remake. I saw the picture and thought that it looked like a good drama. It was afterwards that I found out it was a remake. Now for me it was hard now to compare the two. I read more would see a scene and instantly remember it from the Korean version. In some cases I can say I preferred the K-version much more but I did find myself preferring the J-version instead.



When it comes to the cast I thought they did extremely well. Now, I am a girl so I did debate on which cast was better looking. I thought the J-cast was cute but the K-version much hotter. As to there acting I applaud them for their work. There were times where I found there characters much more appealing than those of the K-version. I felt they brought out there characters more but it did feel that it was rushed, mainly due to the fact there are 5 less episodes than the K-version. If I had to choose the my favorite cast I would say the K-version but I applaud loudly for these guys for there work.



As for the music, there wasn't many times I felt that we heard them singing or practicing, far less than the k-version. Being that they were the same songs the music was enjoyable but I would love to have heard them singing more often.



If I had to choose between the two shows I would have to say it is a tough one but I would have to go with K-version. The best part about this remake is that it isn't carbon copy of the original. They could have taken the original material and recite it word for word but they didn't. The Japanese version took a highly popular piece of material and put there own flavor to it while being respectful to the original, even going so far as giving us a little gift in one of the episodes.



All in all I would recommend this drama to anyone who has seen the original or anyone that is looking for a good drama that will make you laugh and cry all within the same five minutes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions