Sort by:
Time Between Dog and Wolf
32 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 30, 2012
Jan 30, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I started to watch this cause i had finished iris and city hunter and searching for a new action drama like them. Then i found this and say "i can try this. I don't have anything to lose". So i watched and say " this show is definitly one of my favourites" I didn't lose anything but gain a lot of things.

Story: it was great. It never make me stop watching read more or bored. When i thought story is over, It always make me shocked by its turn overs. It has everything spies,revenge and cold-blooded,handsome man:D

Cast: Lee Jun Ki ( This was the first drama that i saw him) , Nam Sang Mi, Jung Kyong Ho ultimate trio:) the atmosphere between them is so good that you can't stop watching. Especially Lee Jun ki's acting make you bewildered,it likes in one drama he has many characters.

Music: It has a range from rap to classics and none of them unnecessary for drama.

Rewatch value: definitely i will watch tihs over and over again.It is certain that i will find many other things while rewatching:)

If you like action and revenge you must watch this drama. You will never regret:)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Heartstrings
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 30, 2012
Jan 30, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I've watched this from another site, while it was currently showing in Korea. I have high expectations of this drama maybe because of the two lead actors being part of their ultimate successful drama, You're Beautiful.

The story basically is about 2 students of the same university, from two different departments, different interests, different family backgrounds only with the same passion, music.

The first two episodes, were boring. The pace got faster read more from the 3 to the middle part but that was it. The climax failed to hold my interest. Probably because, the actors' acting and storyline. Just imagine riding a roller coaster and in the climactic part you got stuck and all you have to do is get off of the cart and climb down.

The main lead actor was ever conscious of his looks..His expressions seemed to play from sad to happy. While the female lead's usual sunny personality still can be seen in this drama. It's like playing the part of Park Shin Hye by herself.

However, I must commend the cinematic views of this drama. One can feel relaxed by watching the play of pictures in his TV screen.
Music is another, they were great.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Autumn's Concerto
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 30, 2012
Jan 30, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The story is about the usual rich boy who fell in love with a poor girl only their love story got more complicated with the male lead's brain surgery that led him to forget his past including his real love. I love the idea of the lovechild which solidify more their love story.

I must say I'm impressed with Vaness' acting here I thought he was just a pretty face gracing dramas read more for teens. The main female lead is also very good. She doesnt need to act cutey here.The main actors' acting as parents were natural. I love their ideas on parenting and disciplining their child. They were sensible like on being not a picky-eater, helping others, making others happy. Over-all their acting were very good.

One can gain parenting wisdom from watching this drama, from choices in life to being a happy parent to a happy child.

However, their lines..aww. Gave me goosebumps for being too mushy! so corny. The lines were like being read straight from a novel. For this I must say 'unnatural'.

And can someone please tell Vaness not to make that hideous smile of his, he kinda look like Jafar from Aladdin or the cat from PUss in a Boots. I doesn't look manly in an arched eyebrows and wide grin :D peace. But I started to believe he is a good actor though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Last Scandal
21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I ran into this drama by accident, and I'm glad I did.

The Last Scandal is a sweet twist on the Cinderella story, that never came across as super corny. It's a familiar story of a struggling, stubborn, female lead, and a spoiled, rich, male lead, but with mature actors. Choi Jin Shil and Jung Joon Ho had such amazing chemistry, and I loved watching their relationship develop. There were so many read more cute, rewatchable, moments between the two of them, and times when Jung Joon Ho literally made me lol. There were also quite a few moments where I broke into tears. Aside from the main theme of reconnecting with a first love, theres also a great theme around what makes a family. This drama really has a good balance beween light, fun moments, and emotional, touching moments.

The entire cast is great, including the 2 younger actors. Jung Woong was particularly good, playing such a reserved character, but I think he had some of the most touching moments in the drama. In contrast, Kim Byung Se had some of the weakest moments in the drama. I think he played his part well, but his character's actions sometimes seemed too unbelievable to me. Byun Jung Soo was good, and was cast so perfectly that her character's secret is almost instantly given away. Jung Joon Ho is really fun to watch, and his struggle between his persona and his true identity seemed really genuine. I really can't think of any weak cast members.

The true star of this drama, Choi Jin Shil, was so impressive. I am relatively new to dramas, so I had no idea who she was, or what happened to her, when I started watching Last Scandal. I loved rooting for her character's happy ending, and It was about halfway through I learned about her tragic story. It was hard to watch without keeping that in mind, but her performance was so good that I could keep rooting for Sunny. I will definitely check out some of her other dramas.

There's a reason why Cinderella stories are to popular, and this drama is a perfect example of why that is. The mature Cinderella (or 'Joomarella') story is enough to make me watch this drama again. This drama also has a good ending, that gives each character the closure they deserve, and I don't consider it a spoiler to say that those looking for a fairytale ending won't be disappointed. I definitely recommend this one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jejoongwon
21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
**Note: this review contains minor spoilers. **

There are dramas that you watch and shortly forget about. There are dramas that you occasionally recall, but are not too memorable. Then, there are dramas that remain with you for a long time and immediately come to mind when asked about good dramas in general. Jejoongwon undoubtedly belongs to the last group. It has a “complete package” that is sure to please its viewers. read more Jejoongwon tells the true story of the first western medical hospital in Joseon era Korea. There are three central stories to Jejoongwon: the so called “rags-to-riches” story, the rivalry between two very competent people story, and the love story. All of these sub-stories are told in a very different manner than most k-dramas, and provide something for everyone to enjoy.

The “rags-to-riches” part presents a man, Hwang Jung, belonging to the lowest class in the Korean caste system, the butchers (who were considered so low in status, they weren’t even allowed to have family names and were referred to by nicknames given to each other), who defies all obstacles (and there are many!) to become one of the first physicians of Korea.

The rivalry is between Hwang Jung and Beak Do Yang, the son of a nobleman with a keen interest in western medicine. The two have a natural affinity to medicine and are both outstanding at what they do, but one will always be better. The progression is unlike what many would expect, and doesn’t overpower the larger story at hand.

The main romance is between Hwang Jung and Yu Seok Ran, the daughter of an interpreter. Their romance is very gentle and gradual, but very fervent and touching nonetheless. Yu Seok Ran is a very unique k-drama heroine. She is ahead of her time, intelligent, kind, and self-assured. She also has a wonderful relationship with her father that is very moving and hard to come by.

At its core, Jejoongwon depicts the lives of three very different people who all see a similar future for Korea. They recognize that times are changing, and aid in the modernization of Korea through medicine.

The story is extremely well written. Taking historical events and rewriting them into a drama must be a difficult task, but it was executed very well. The characters were well developed and scene transitions were especially done well.

The acting was exceptional also. The casting of roles was very fitting for the characters. The role of Hwang Jung was played to perfection by Park Yong Woo. Hwang Jung is a man that has had to be invisible when facing member of the other classes for all of his life. He was not allowed to look at them directly, and needed to stick to the butcher’s neighborhood as much as possible or else be beaten and spit on. This causes confusion for someone who was instilled with these ideas since childhood and now has to live among people of the upper classes. Everything from Park Yong Woo’s facial expressions to body language expressed exactly what Hwang Jung was feeling throughout the story, a feature that is hard to find in many actors. Han Hye Jin has a great screen presence and brought Yu Seok Ran to life beautifully. Yun Jung Hoon also did a good job as Beak Do Yang, though not great.

Jejoongwon has one of the best OST’s I’ve heard in a while. The music fit the story well and increased emotional reactions to the scenes at hand.

The cinematography was not outstanding, but there were a few shots that were admirably filmed. I do wish there were more of those shots, but I was satisfied with everything else being done well.

In short, this was a very well produced drama that has sadly been overlooked, but deserves its recognition. A great story, excellent acting, plus a good OST to intensify the viewing experience, I recommend to this to everyone who has not had the chance to watch it.

**I have tried to make this review as objective as possible, but it is very hard to do with something that has moved me this much.**
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bad Guy
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This could have easily become my favorite K-drama of all time if not for the last 3 episodes. THEY KILLED IT! Murdered, shredded, destroyed everything this drama had going for it.

From the first episode I was sucked in and curious as to what was going on. I did not understand much, I did not know what was happening or where it was going, but I was somehow captivated and hypnotized and read more could not stop watching. I mean, KIM NAM GIL - I had never seen him before in my life but I was instantly enthralled by him. It was love at first sight. Until this day I do not know what it is about him that I like so much. In this drama his character was mysterious, we are supposed to think he is bad and yet his actions seem contradicting. Each character makes you wonder who is really the "bad guy/gal" in the story.

The best part of this drama is that I do not think I would have been as enthralling without its OST. It is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I downloaded it right away and play it often. Even the instrumental pieces are excellent. They really add and create the atmosphere in this drama. I'm so certain that if I would have watched this muted with just the subtitles my opinion of this drama would have been different. It is that incredible.

Again, this drama had me hooked to it, but the last 3 episodes and most specifically the last 15 minutes of it had me breathing hard and chanting: "This is not real, this is not real. It's only a drama. Your husband will kill you if you break the TV"

Overall, even if the ending was not to my liking I do not regret watching this drama. It was one of the first Korean ones I ever watched and because of the music and maybe even bc of the ending I don't think I'll forget it anytime soon.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
CHANGE
4 people found this review helpful
by care
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
If with zero political experience you were to become the prime minister of your country what would you do? Would you go for the money or would you try to make a difference?

Altough it is a political drama ,the amount of actual poltics involved is quite low. Its not very hardcore. Its quite lighthearted occasionaly but takes itself seriously overall.
It starts out very well but unfortunately in the middle they read more decided to add a huge melodramatic block spanning 2 episodes which i found very boring. They put too much focus on the not romantic relationship of the main actor and the secretary which ruined the whole series for me. It just lacks content unfortunately, but overall it isnt a bad drama. So if you are interested in a human drama spiced with a little politics give it a shot.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
King of Baking, Kim Tak Goo
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Okay okay. Let me start with I cant believe I actually watched this drama and enjoyed it as much as the others. My parents bought a DVD of this drama, I didn't mind to watch but Mom and Dad always watch it. Wow, they love it, so I said to myself I'm going to try watching it. I didn't expect I WOULD LOVE IT, as in, I wasn't even bored. It gave read more me encouragement myself, I fell in love with it, I hate then love and hate then love again the characters portrayed and even though this is a sad drama, there were parts I really laughed. I love Lee Young Ah here, and oh Yoon Si Yoon is awesome. He's new is he? But he's so great in here, with his innocent looks. Eugene is great actress, she can act all innocent and jolly and then the mature and selfish and evil YooKyung. I love it! SUPER! Especially the fights between Joo Won and Yoon Si Yoon. This is actually the first long drama series that is about friendship, family, betrayal, money and love. I never get tired of this, and so did my parents.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Coffee Prince
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Yoon Eun hye is a great actress. I love the story, it's original and unique. The cast is great. The music are good. But I wouldn't watch it again. It was fun in the first episode, watching YEH acting all that, eating a lot, working in coffee prince, and some funny parts. It was fun, but sometimes it's just too boring. There's too much talking that, talking about nonsense. I just find read more it really boring, and fun at the same time because the guy thinks he's in love with a guy who is actually YEH. I just didn't love this as in. But it was a good drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cinderella's Sister
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
At first, I only wanted to watch this because it was showing on TV and my best friend said it's a good drama. So, I tried it. It wasn't very eye-catching in the first three episodes, it was boring but then I started to like it as they grow older. I dont know why I didn't like it at first, I might have been 'not paying attention' so I rewatched it from read more 2nd episode and so on, I love it. If you're serious enough, you'll love it. Especially when MGY and SW grew up into adults. I think the best acting here was of SW, I love her acting, she has her cute side and the evil side. MGY here is rather half evil but inside she cares. I understand her character, the feelings and emotions were expressed well by the cast so I love it. The chemistry between MGY and the first guy is like, meh. I don't want them together, sorry BUT that was only at first. They have like 80% chemistry so it was okay. The songs are daebak! Sung by awesome singers! But I wouldn't watch it again. When it's a bit of a sad drama, I don't think I'd want to watch it again. But overall I give this a 9/10! Great plot, great cast, great music.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Autumn Tale
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 29, 2012
Jan 29, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This was such a Heart wrenching drama. It made me cry even when they were still young until they grew up. The cast are perfect, Hyekyo is very natural when she acts and ChaeYoung here really made me hate her but that's what made this drama even more outstanding. Cast are so outstanding in my opinion, but if you ask why it's nine in the Rewatch value, I haven't watched it again read more because it was too sad to watch, that would make me cry and hate more. The music is very affectionate, may be sad or not, the singers and instruments are awesome. The story itself is very eye-catching,I love it! Perfect. I totally recommend this. There was no episode where I didn't cry.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're Beautiful
24 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 28, 2012
Jan 28, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
You're beautiful stays true to its name. The main cast include very handsome/beautiful actors, Jang Geun Suk, Park Shin, Hye, Jong Yung Wha, and Lee Hong Ki. They all display their musical singing and playing abilities as well as acting. For all the girls out there, you will definitely "fangirl" over this drama. It is indeed my favorite and I'm sure will be yours as well. So watch you're beautiful and immense read more yourself in the love, humor, friendship, and more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're Beautiful
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 28, 2012
Jan 28, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My friend recommended this to me and I was like "meh maybe it'll be like Coffee Prince again" since the girl pretended to be a boy. Well, when I watched it, I got addicted to it by just one episode. I love the cliffhangers, it made me watch more. This wasn't boring at all besides COffee Prince that I find boring. The story, about the girl pretending to be a boy is read more common I know, but it's great because they have their own creativity. The cast are daebak! The chemistry between the main leads too, I love it! The antagonist, she might be mean but it's fun watching her. PSH is an awesome actress in my opinion, she makes me cry when she cries. I get affected when she's sad, she just play her role really well. She's got chemistry with JGS and even JYH. Outstanding. I watched it two times, but I cant always watch it since I still have other things to do ya know. The musics/songs are daebak too, so heart wrenching and happy. I love it. Overall, outstanding.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 28, 2012
Jan 28, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Okay so, the story isn't original. I hate remakes to be honest and this one is just another remake that I have seen or watched a lot of times; 5 for that. There wasn't even extra creativity.
Acting and Cast are really good but it's not perfect. Music is awesome, I love it. Some musics made me cry, my heart aches or made me happy. The singers are so good! But I read more don't think I'd like to watch it again, I mean, it's like another Meteor Garden or Boys over flowers (manga) and I'm sick of it. But anyway, it's a good drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
19 people found this review helpful
by TheJ
Other reviews by this user
Jan 28, 2012
Jan 28, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I've watched this drama twice now.
Once by myself, and once with my mother to get her into K-Dramas (and to see if I liked it any better the 2nd time).
In all honesty, I don't see why people seem to love it so much. Personally, I think they love the good looking actors more than the actual drama.

Story - 7/10. Typical drama cliches all tossed into one drama. After watching read more "Hana Yori Dango" (which I watched after BoF), I have to wonder what happened. The story was so much better in HYD for me.

Acting/Cast - 8/10. Personally, I'm only giving it an 8 because of the eye candy actors. I wasn't really impressed with the acting at all.

Music - 6/10. There was honestly points where I'd have to mute it because they were replaying the same 2 songs over and over and over.

Rewatch Value - 5/10. As stated above, I think people rewatch it more for the actors than for the actual drama. If gorgeous people interest you more than an enjoyable story, then this is something you could rewatch ofte.

Overall - 6/10. Overall, the drama had some good points, and a lot of bad points. By the end, I was only watching for Kim Hyun Joong and all of the supporting characters.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No