Sort by:
My Girl
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Most of the time I found this show charming and fun to watch. There were some moments I was a little overwhelmed by Yoo Rin and Lee Da Hae's overacting. But 90% of the time, I loved this. Lee Dong Wook is very sweet. Mostly great acting all around and the story was fun. Suspend disbelief fun...But isn't that why we watch? Really Lee Da Hae was mostly funny, cute and I read more enjoyed the secondary characters, especially Yoo Rin's friends. I liked Lee Dong Wook so much I went online and had to find another project to watch him act some more. This is a good one to watch after a tearjerker!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret Garden
20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Okay, here's another one that maybe someone, somewhere will find fault with. Not me! This show is pitch perfect. Hyun Bin is so much more than a pretty face. The man can act. Comedy or Drama. There is such a great mix of that here and it's all done very well. It is Hilarious! (See episode 3 for one example...you'll know when it happens, trust me.) The chemistry between the leads is read more smokin'. Joo Won is soooo flawed! Whew is he a hilarious mess. And his Hyung Oska...oh those boys. Ha Ji Wan is great. I loved her. This show is one of the best I've seen so far. I enjoyed every minute! So Fun. A great send off for Hyun Bin.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This show was almost perfect! It had everything going for it: Girl power, awesome bromance, humor, romance and a well told story! The ending was good but it felt incomplete. Specifically regarding the issue of a girl studying at Sungkyunkwan. It felt unresolved but I forgive you show because you were great!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I'm Sorry, I Love You
15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
People could probably find some faults with this drama. I am sure they are there somewhere. I am blind to them. I love this drama. It is hard to watch in spots. It can be heartbreakingly sad. But it is beautiful too. I fell in love with So Ji Sub's acting..okay, his face too, whatever. This is such a well written and executed makjang (see the makjang thread if you wonder what read more that is) Heavy on melodrama but excellently told. I love this drama. Love love love. The end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Prosecutor Princess
15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
It took me a while to come around to watching this but I am glad I did. I discovered Park Shi Hoo and Kim So Yun! This show is deceptive at first. It comes off as a 'typical spoiled rich girl learns a lesson' drama but it becomes much deeper than that.

I love when a character grows so much in a drama that she is like a new person and yet, read more she has kept the best elements of herself intact. This is true of the male lead as well.

I became addicted to the love story and how that love creeps up on both of them unexpectedly. The plot progesses nicely and its an interesting hook and plot turn with Park Shi Hoo's character that I had not seen before. Now I want to go find and watch other dramas with either actor in them. The only problem? I want "Fly High" to get out of my head!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Playful Kiss
65 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
As with Boys Over Flowers, I am almost afraid to review this for fear of flames. I did not like this drama. The reasons?

1) I do not like it when a woman blindly and stupidly follows a man that mostly could care less and treats her like crap on a regular basis.

2) I do not like it when a teenage girl is portrayed as completely without sense and is kind read more of a stalker.

3) Even worse when she is encouraged by said boy's mother! The mother helps her stalk her own son! I liked the actress, I did but that's just too much for me to wrap my mind around.

Maybe I am too old for this one. I did not like the message it sends. I am all for going with a story. I can forgive a lot because I have a ridiculous romantic side to me but this one left me wanting to yell at that girl and shake her out of her blind stupidity.

Here is what I did like: The boy kind of redeems himself toward the end and she wakes up at the last minute...kind of. ..but not enough.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Personal Taste
26 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Good Drama! The lead male Jeon Jin Ho (Lee Min Ho; skip Boys over Flowers and watch this) is not only gorgeous but also acts honerably, for the most part, with the people in his life and mostly with Park Gae In. I like how their friendship develops over time into love. I can not give this a higher rating because there were some boring parts. There was also some choppy editing/directing read more but mostly it is enjoyable and fun! Its a drama to watch after a heavy melodrama when you want something lighter.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pasta
25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I loved this. I was 1/2 in love with Lee Sun Gyun after Coffee Prince but Pasta has sealed my fate. He is such a great actor. I love it when a facial expression can say more than words and he's really perfect at that skill. Chef Choi is a complex man and at times, very tough to take. Lee Sun Gyun made him lovable as well. Gong Hyo Jin did a read more great job. Her character is strong, talented and ready to break out. I liked how their romance brought out the best in each other. Pasta is great fun to watch. For me, it's up there among my favorites. I give it an 8 because the plot was lacking but I think the chemisty between the leads more than makes up for the loss.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Fine Day
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
**My original review was messed up during the switch to the new MDL so I am redoing it here**

It has been a while since I watched One Fine Day. One thing I remember from about a year and 1/2 ago is I was actively searching for anything that starred Gong Yoo. I find him a wonderful, emotive and passionate actor and oh so easy on the eyes. But unfortunately, if you read more only have a few good actors with a mediocre plot and crappy editing, you get a drama where months later, its details have faded from your mind and has had no power to stay in your heart.

The love story had so much potential and there were scenes I enjoyed. Back then I didn't know what makjang was but the fauxcest element of them believing they are brother and sister screams makjang. What I did like is this 'misunderstanding' is cleared up quickly.

The ending disappointed me. There was a lot of build up for an ending that fell so flat. Somehow the romance and passion that had built up over the 16 episodes seemed somehow dulled.

I don't remember any of the music. There are other dramas I haven't seen for over a year and I still remember songs from them so I know it's not just time that has faded the memory of the songs. They didn't stick if they were ever really there at all.

My re-watch is low because I know I will not watch this again. I'm giving this drama a generous over all score of 6 because, unashamedly, I love Gong Yoo. He elevates everything he does.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Princess
15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I really liked this one. I kept hearing how wooden Song Seung Heon was as an actor and it biased me unfairly. I loved him in this. Kim Tae Hee was wonderfully light and funny. Even though there were some slight boring moments for me here and there and the plot could have been written better, overall this was fun to watch. A great rainy day drama. Lots of funny moments thrown read more in with the drama and tears. Mr. P kinda rocks.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Name is Kim Sam Soon
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama holds a special place in my heart as the first one I ever watched. I am so glad it was the first because it's also one of the best I've ever seen. I want Kim Sam Soon to be my friend! I think somewhere out there Sam Soon and Sam Shik-ah are still together and probably have toilet paper stuck up their noses. There is so much humor. Pitch perfect. read more Great acting, great writing, great story. Laugh and cry and laugh again. Don't miss this. The best reason to become a fangirl of Hyun Bin ever!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mary Stayed Out All Night
25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama has Jang Geun Suk, Moon Geun Young and Kim Jae Wook! It was supposed to be largely set in Hongdae, the little indy music neighborhood that could! It had a contract relationship set up that sounded deliciously drama inducing.

It started out incredibly cute and promising and then it went so wrong. I am not sure why the writing went downhill faster than a snowball in hell. All I know read more is that the first few episodes started out and I could not wait for the next one. Then all of a sudden I was watching and thinking; I just want to turn this off, watch repeats of Secret Garden and thinking "Hey, maybe Hyun Bin's sparkly track suits will blind me enough that I can go back and watch MSOAN and start to like it again?"

This could have been so great and it so was not. The acting was good. The leads were super cute. Kim Jae Wook was wasted. Bummer.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Fugitive: Plan B
16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I sort of have this grudging appreciation for Rain. Being relatively new to Kdramas you hear about the biggest stars first. I watched Full House and loved it, even though he was kind of a brat in that. But after watching this I just really like him. He is tons of fun and doesn't seem to take himself too seriously - a plus in my book. The story was fun, intense at read more times and some of his antics made me laugh out loud. There were times when I was a little bored and I feel it could have been done in 16 episodes making the plot a little speedier but overall it was very enjoyable. The baddies were so bad! And Daniel Henney...you're getting better!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 Litre of Tears
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This was an excellent movie! Very heart wrenching. Grab a box of tissues. Ryo was such a great actor in this. I love the song that the class sings.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dream High
56 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
The very best thing about ths drama is the story is constantly moving forward. The writer of this gets my applause for keeping it fresh and never boring. The story twists and turns in very believable ways moving the Students of Dream High along on their journey and making them grow up. It's fun to watch. The music is great and works into the plot perfectly. There is so much humor and read more no one is a cookie cutter Kdrama character. It's a school drama but it's so much more too. I hear there is going to be a sequel? If they do it right, I'm there!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No