If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
A Man Called God
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2012
Overall 3.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 2.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama has some draw (Song Il-kook’s muscles for one), but not enough to keep many watching. I’m really curious though, has anyone watched this one all the way through without any fast-forwarding? The main characters are just odd and stilted and very one-dimensional, the plot convoluted and distracting and I didn’t really care about what happened to everyone in the end. The only reason to watch this drama would be for potential parodies.
Was this review helpful to you?
A Love To Kill
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I’ll admit it, I’m not big on Rain the singer, but Rain the actor? Now that boy has charisma! The leads carry the charisma factor of this drama and despite their sometimes irrational (read insane and frustrating) choices, I never disliked either one of them- a great thing since you have to see them through to the end. Another charismatic aspect of this drama is that I didn’t feel like I was watching a melodrama. I mean obviously the plot is very angsty, but supporting characters and even the setting helped ground it in a grittier and more realistic genre.

It is a melodrama so certain clichés are expected. Fortunately the writer/s of this drama do not delve so long or deep into cliché-land that viewers are put off and thank goodness there is zero percent memory loss involved. They hit emotional notes almost always on time and refrain from dragging out plot points past endurance. My only complaint is the number of times certain situations are repeated again and again.

Also, if you noticed a similar vibe to dramas ‘Sorry I Love You’, ‘Sang Doo Let’s Go To School’, ‘Thank You’ or ‘Will It Snow At Christmas’, that’s because those dramas along with ‘A Love To Kill’ are all written by Lee Kyung-hee. I was surprised to learn this because most of those dramas are melodramas I actually like- guess I’m just a big Lee Kyung-hee fan ^_-

(All the above is originally from my blog review/article on the drama)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I Love Lee Tae Ri
17 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 10
I've never written a review before, and the reason I am writing one now is because this show is highly underrated.

This drama is so full of cute I nearly died. The relationship between Tae Ri and Eun Dong is so adorable. They are both stuck at the age of fourteen; Tae Ri is still a lonely little girl who can't grow up, and Eun Dong is aching to become a man and protect the woman he loves.

Eun Dong and the coach were also sweet and the mushy bromance had me wiggling.

The story is really great, with the exception of the weird breakups that happed randomly and passively, and Choi Seung Jae. I don't know what is up with that guy. If his character had been more consistent, I would have given this drama a 10. But his bipolar disorder had me really confused.

BUT this drama is so sweet it will give you cavities. Full of heart and warm fuzzy feelings, I highly recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Rich Man, Poor Woman
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
well I was only going to give this show a 9 but 4 out of 4 were 10 so there you go...I usually never give music a 10 but I really loved the songs for this cute romatic comedy.

If we vote for best couple this year this pair has my vote hands down!
They are so funny and cute together :)

what else can I say...um I (lol) watched the last 3 episodes without subtitles that is how addictive it is :D
Was this review helpful to you?
The Bridal Mask
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
Gaksital/Bridal Mask is a drama which will keep you hhanging there to see what is going to happen next. The story isnt very original to be honest,since the idea of a superhero ,doesn't matter in which country or which era, is overused.

But what makes this such a good drama is the why every episode is a cliff hanger and how good the casts fits in together.

The acting was very convincing and the predictably was alright.

MUSIC is what I love about this drama the most. This drama hits the points at the climax with the right choice of music. A delight!
Was this review helpful to you?
Rich Man, Poor Woman
8 people found this review helpful
by Rule
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This is the second J drama Ive seen as Im basically a K drama fan and I was sort of inbetween dramas.
This is certainly a watchable and cute drama. The story is nice and the acting is good, especially the main guy.
Its a romantic comedy about an eccentric man and a simple hardworking girl, although its not something to go all ga ga for, its quite watchable enjoyable and addicting. The ending is cute and the fact that it has 11 episodes is welcome as some korean dramas tend to drag on and get boring in the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
The Princess' Man
11 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I Can not give this drama lower then 10. There is nothing that is particulary wrong with it. The story is very complex and interesting, with great characters who ráre inteligent and strong. And I am not only talking about the main pairing but also about supporting characters (i esp liked the "other" princess story with her husband).
Im not so much into revenge dramas, but this one really got me on my knees. It was nicely served and told.

Just how great were characters, acting was amazing too. I could feel their emotions right through the screen. I cryied with them and lived their happy moments. That does not happen often to me.

Music wal also exceptional (Destino is my fvourite)

Also i would like to mention the cinematography. Im rewatching it on HD and i have to say its real pleasure for my eyes.

Overall ... 10 works for me :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Girl
8 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 4.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This drama started off really well, and the background music is pretty awesome. But after the halfway mark - the drama started to sail into murky waters. The acting became tiresome and cumbersome, and the story was generally starting to lose all the humour that it once possessed. I soon found myself wanting this drama so I could find out the ending, I wasn't interested in it, and the ending well...it...sucked - to be honest. It was too fast.

The drama was cheesy and annoying, frankly, I think this should've been a movie instead of a drama. I wasted sixteen hours of my life on something that turned out to be crap.

On the bright side, the acting from Lee Jun Ki was ace. I think he was the only thing that made watching "My Girl" bearable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I have been a fan of both Park Min-Young and Micky Yoochun but I would always skip watching this drama as I thought it was boring. My mistake. When I finally gave it a try, I just fell in love with it; the casts, the story, the music. I thought it's now my fave drama side by side Yi San (with Lee Seo-Jin and Han Ji-Min). I think I've seen it 3 times already and the OST's are now part of my music list. I never grow tired watching it. The story is simple, no serious complications or twist that sometimes dragged on until almost the drama is finished. The drama is not perfect but how everything was put together, especially the choosing of the casts, is what made the difference. I may not be good in putting my thoughts in words, but whoever will read this and has the same doubt as I had the first time as to how this drama will fair, just give it a try and I know you will also love it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Fashion King
25 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
First off, kudos to Yoo Ah In and Lee Jee Hoon for each having eye candy take-your-shirt-off scenes.

The acting for the rest of the cast was at least commendable, except for Se Kyung who was mostly crying or running back to Young Gul with that expressionless face of hers.

There were too many loose ends here that half way through the drama, it felt like they were writing an entirely new script.

I feel that Jae Hyuk was one of the most believable character in this drama. He is a young chaebol with a tyrant father who beats the sh*t out of him and a typical rich mother who constantly meddles with his love life. He is a confident and arrogant businessman who wants to be at the top of the fashion industry but always stops short at meeting his father's expectations.

At least, I understand why he would fall in love with the helpless, absent-minded and doe-eyed Ga Young because he feels that with all the pressures in his life, there is one thing that he is capable of, and that is his to help Ga Young reach her dreams of becoming a top designer and in turn this gives him strength.

Young Gul, however is an emotionally unstable, struggling designer cum knock-offs factory owner and a greedy, conniving and deceitful man who feels that rich people like Jae Hyuk has the moral obligation to help him every time he is short in cash. The depiction of his character is so extreme that I don't think anybody else can pull it off other than Yoo Ah In.

The entire runaway from thugs because you bedded the boss' woman and be an illegal migrant to America part is just so crazily random that it doesn't add to anything in the drama.

I think that the fierce competition between Jae Hyuk and Young Gul's businesses and Ga Young's love would have suffice as the main reason why they want to kill each other.

Anna and Jung Ah are the worst antagonists everrr. Thank heavens for the crazy woman aunt and the sadistic rich father!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Queen of SOP
19 people found this review helpful
Sep 17, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I have to admit i was waiting for this drama for about half a year and now I finally finished it!!! In this drama what i liked most was the acting and chemistry between characters.

Typical drama

the friendship that made me wish i had a best friend like that- someone who understands you and thought the same as you or close to same as you.

There was a couple of people that bothered me.

Love triangle - its nice to see the relationship develop between Xiao Je and the two male leads.

the fashion- I live in Ny therefore if i try on some of asian fashion people will look at me funny, but how i wish i could get a stylist to do my makeup and clothes. The whole drama i was staring at the females eyelashes- too bad they are fake, but its nice to look at. ^.^

Not typical drama
I always get annoyed when the story rises to its climax and so many problems arise- most of the time I would just drop the drama or start looking for another drama to watch, but this was an exception.When i say this is not typical I mean It had this kind of nice and warm feeling. No evil mother. It was a mother who was open to accepting things- as many other characters except a few.

Although this is a mature drama, but i really enjoyed the romance and you know how romance can be childish at times. You have to see it.

And finally, this drama had a mature characters. A strong female lead- I saw how she grew in work,she doesn't always need someone to protect her because she can do it!!!

Overall there were many "awwww" moments and moments where i could not stand to see what the old grandpas where saying. But they weren't up to where i would drop the drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Bridal Mask
11 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Joo Won and Park Ki Woong prove in this drama that they should be part of the actors' elite. Their chemistry and their portrayal of their characters are what make "Gaksital" so great. No other actors could have played these roles and gotten the same result.

The storyline is intriguing and controversial and I feel the script tells the story in a manner that allows us to sympathize and understand what the people of Joseon went through under Imperial rule.

I'd recommend it and I'd definitely watch it over again. I think I'm spoiled now and will expect all actors and dramas to live up to the caliber of "Gaksital"

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dream High
9 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I had been hearing about Dream High for a while, but I kind of underestimated it. I thought it would only involve serious stuff like chasing your dreams and making it big. I didn't plan on watching it for a while until someone on this site recommended it to me. Overall, this drama is a bag of mixed emotions for me. There are moments I was completely mesmerized with and some that bored me to death. However, the good outweighs the bad.

When I started its first episode, it was good but there wasn't anything great about it. The only reason I went on was for the main character of Hye Mi. She was highly entertaining as an arrogant, insensitive and obnoxious girl. Mostly, all females that I come across in dramas are nice girls but here is one badass girl who isn't afraid of anyone and can kick your ass too. I was very interested in watching her character develop and watch something break all cliches of Kdramas. Apart from that, all other side characters were also interesting to me so I continued watching. They are all young people trying to chase their dreams of becoming good dancers, singers and performers. The character development in this show was remarkable.

Not just that, I loved this show for its romance. It has the the first real love triangle out of all dramas that I have ever seen. We, as a viewer get to see enough of both sides of the triangle to think about who Hye Mi was compatible with. I liked both guys but Sam Dong was my favourite character so I inclined more towards him. His build up with Hye Mi was excellent. Even Jin Gook's romance with Hye Mi didn't feel rushed. It was a very touching story. While I liked the initial emotional scenes with Jin Gook, I was really pleased with the second half of the show because all the best scenes were ultimately between her and Sam Dong. It started out with Hye Mi's lowest point and went on to Sam Dong's lowest points and they were there for each other all the time. Most of all, they both helped each other grow in so many ways and change completely. Sam Dong's initial impression was that of a naive country boy who was so sacrificial for his mother and never thought about himself. But Hye Mi changes him to someone who starts thinking about his self and also gets competitive for her affections. He changes her into a patient person and to someone who learns to care deeply for others. Their pairing is going to remain as one of my favourites.

I should also mention the milky couple of Pil Sook and Jason. I was not fond of the fact that she had to lose weight to please him, but otherwise they were adorable to death. Even during the boring episodes, they didn't fail to entertain me. They were so cute together! This show is flawless on the romantic front.

This show is mainly about music so, the OST is great. All the songs they used in the show were catchy and had great melody. The singers were pretty good. Music was one of the strongest points of the show.

This show kept me fairly captivated until episode 10 but from then on, it kind of went downhill. A lot of sub plots like Jin Gook's daddy issues and Baek Hee's problems were the ones I didn't care about. Also, Sam Dong's illness was depressing to watch. I get that it gave a kick to his character and made him grow up but if it were up to me, I could have not included it in the story. But due to this, we get pretty good scenes between him and Hye Mi so I am not going to complain further.

This show dragged an awful lot and was even painful to watch. A lot of things could have been concentrated less or more upon. I wanted to see more of Hye Mi's cutesy and awkward side which we got for only last 2 episodes. Only because the first half is so good and the characters and romance so good, it makes up for the boring second half. There were moments it made me want to stop watching but when it came to my favourite characters, I could not stop. Also, in spite of this show being the first for some of the leads they did a brilliant job.

The direction of this show is good but the writing is not up to the mark. Too many unnecessary things got included into the show which made it seemed forced. But I was happy with the revealing of who 'K' was. The ending was alright but I have seen better and worse endings in kdramas.

So, if you enjoy good music and good characters, then definitely watch this show.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
City Hunter
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Story: 9/10
the ONLY reason i gave the story 9/10 is because PEOPLE DIED WHO SHOULD NOT HAVE!!!!
10/10 for making me cry my eyes out and look like a weirdo in front of my family! :L

Acting/Cast: 10/10
you couldn't have chosen a better cast for this drama, i mean...Lee Min Ho, need i say more?
the other actors/actresses were AMAZING and you were really able to connect with them as their personalities and the way they reacted to certain situations was so believable. I fell in love with all the characters: even the bad ones!

Music: 10/10
the music suited the drama VERY well, in certain fight scenes they used the slower music and i think that worked really well because they focused more on the emotional side rather than the 'oh i'm gonna beat the [email protected] out of you now with some intense music' it was very touching

Rewatch Value: 10/10
i would definitely be able to watch this a million times over and not get bored, it's one of those dramas that even though you know how it's going to end and you know all the little twists the writers put in, you can't help but want to watch it again: it's addictive!!!

Overall: 10/10
This was such an amazing drama! i can't believe i never watched it before. at first i thought it was going to be just one of those dramas with a load of hype and then when i watch it it's a bit of a let down. Trust me, it is TOTALLY worth watching this!!!!!! Warning: Do Not Start Watching Unless You Are Prepared To Get Addicted!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mary Stayed Out All Night
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Well, the two main male actors are great everybody knows that *_* ! The story is about a girl struggling between a hot rich businessman guy and a hot poor musician guy. I liked the mood but no big suprise about the scenario. Cuteness but a lack of suspense. The sweet deep voice of Jang Geun Suk makes everything more beautiful, it lacks a little something in this drama to be really good. A shame...
Was this review helpful to you?