Someone Like You

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 1,340 users)
  • Ranked: #1030
  • Popularity: #925
  • Watchers: 3,449

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

17%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

16 edits
7 edits
6 edits
5 edits

Recently Watched By

Ongoing 20/33
Jasmine
23 people found this review helpful
Jul 5, 2015
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
(accidentally submitted my review via the account I don't use-this is my official one) Phenomenal drama. As a whole, I was completely sucked into this drama. The plot is very melodramatic but strangely addictive. Yes, many people believe it is draggy like usual T-dramas but I think it's a personal preference. Melodramas like Someone like you are either fantastic or terrible. It was very well executed, whether the scenes, plots, actors, or the setting. Like any memorable melodramas, they make you want to visit the filming places. After watching this drama, I now want to go back to Taiwan and visit where they filmed it (Big City department store in Hsinchu, Taiwan).

The first 10 episodes were amazingly well developed and I loved watching the character development and the initial friendship between Yu Xi (Lorene's character) and Zhan Cheng (Kingone's character) when he was blind. As their friendship developed into love, they became a super compatible couple. Their kissing scenes were also very cute. I think they're a great OTP for sure. Another reason why I liked this drama so much was because of the department store rivalry scenes/element. Unlike other romance dramas where the male lead is a CEO and they don't talk much about it other than the fact that he looks great wearing suits and has a lot of money, this drama plays out the rivalry scenes. They continue with the department scene rivalry side story throughout the drama and I really enjoyed these scenes because they were intense and nerve wracking to watch and they added to character development of Zhan Cheng. It wove seamlessly into the main plot and didn't distract from the romance.

Kingone really carries this drama. His portrayal of a blind man was seriously amazing. His acting was flawless and I couldn't see any flaws in his portrayal. I wasn't initially a fan of him because I usually like idol drama actors (read my other reviews) , but his character is really the ultimate perfect boyfriend. I actually liked Lorene's acting. Although her acting seemed a little fake in the beginning, her acting got a lot better. Like I said, Kingone carried the drama and he guided her through the romantic scenes well. Many think her crying scenes were fake, but I thought it was realistic because realistic crying isn't pretty. In terms of the supporting actors, I loved William's camaraderie with Zhan Cheng, and Yu Xi's relationship with her family. The supporting couples between Zhan Cheng's sister and Yu Xi's brother was adorable, as well as William's relationship with Yu Xi's best friend. Lorene was good at her dual roles as well.

The music is so heartwarming and emotionally provoking. I think this is one of the best soundtracks as a whole for a drama. Bii did most of the soundtrack, and I liked his songs a lot. They perfectly match the tone of the drama and the scenes.

For those of you who are unsure if you want to watch it because you're not sure if you can handle the various tragedies of this drama from the summary you just read, trust me, it is worth watching. It took me 2 weeks to finally decide to watch this because I selectively pick dramas to watch since I don't like dropping dramas; I feel the need to finish a drama once I start it. I'm glad I watched this drama; after all, it has now become one of my favorite dramas. Re-watch value is definitely high. In fact, I'm re-watching it right now! If your taste is anything like mine (read my other reviews for T-dramas), you will definitely love this drama. Give it a try. You won't regret it.

***edit*** As I said earlier, I'm watching it for the second time and after watching it for the second time I came to appreciate the beautiful cinematography of this drama even more. The BTS videos were also very entertaining and showed the chemistry between the leads. I recommend watching the BTS if you fall in love with the characters like me! I'm starting to like all the characters after watching it for the second time because I can start to understand some of their actions even though some of them were unforgivable. This might sound crazy, but I think I might watch it for the third time in the future. I really hope Kingone and Lorene collaborate on a drama again! (10/9)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
WonByungHoon
5 people found this review helpful
May 31, 2015
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Finally its done, this show was awsome when zang cheng was blind. You could feel the attraction between them forming esp when they were up close to each other. Everything was all good until he got his eyesight back and ya ti joined then things took a tumble, by the end of the episode it was too late to revive it. Ill start with the negatives, it dragged so much it was frustrating. The Harry Potter bro was cute in the beginning with his naivety then he just got ridiculous it was like a waste of time. He takes forever to say something i almost screamed at the tv. Ya ti has recurring scenes, she cries, gets jealous, heart problems, hospital and it starts again. The worst is the main character yu xi had probably 5 outfits in total the whole show, what was that about. She wore the same clothes over and over it was ridiculous esp the tattered jeans and top with a sweater tied, seriously. .......who did the wadrobe
enough of that, it got a seven coz zang cheng is a great actor, his deep voice and his eyes get you each time. He should do more blind shows coz even the way he moves his eyes is so intense, he dint need those dark goggles. His friend and bo yan were pretty good looking.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
lattebean_
3 people found this review helpful
Feb 22, 2016
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
When I first read the description about story I was already sold and gone looking for the first episode straight away. I like the traditional rich man-poor girl kind of dramas and this had unique story so it picked my interest right away. And I have to say this was propably the best taiwanese romance drama I have ever seen. Don't hang on too much to that "rich man-poor girl" part though because eventually it didn't even show much, they did a good job with scripting.

But why did I rate it 8.5 if I thought it was so phenomenal? Let me explain:
There was one part in the drama where writers made a mistake of falling into a very cliche plotline. It was like straight out from text book and I was so close hitting my computer screen because I was so frustrated with the character in question who created whole scene... Lucky for me it didn't last that long (thank god) because some dramas can drag quite a bit. Apart from that one problematic scene, I really really loved this drama.

So, story was that through some events Zhang Chen and Yu Xi end up working together, Yu Xi being a caretaker for blind Zhang Chen. At first they start off with wrong foot but eventually grow up close. This drama centers their relationship of how it becomes from work related to romantic. Zhang Chen has to deal with trauma related issues from losing his fiancee. Yu Xi also has her own troubles even though she seems to have cheerful easygoing character at first.

Main leads had great chemistry, like seriously! I was drawn into their story and I was always waiting for new scenes about them in it. If main leads won't have chemistry, all they do is make viewer cringe when they're doing something romantic. But in this drama I was doing 'wow's in my head because it really worked between these two leads. Usually I tend to have bad second lead syndrome but in this drama I fell so hard for the main couple that I almost skipped every second lead scenes xD Don't get me wrong, second leads did a very good job and were so cute together. But I thoroughly enjoyed watching main couple.

Other side roles were important too apart from main leads best friends (they had surprisingly few scenes). Zhang Chen's parents were funny, especially his step-father.

So my conclusion is that this is a must watch for every taiwanese romance drama fans. I'm definetly going to rewatch this sometime later.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
Jasmine
12 people found this review helpful
Jul 5, 2015
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Phenomenal drama. As a whole, I was completely sucked into this drama. The plot is very melodramatic but strangely addictive. Yes, many people believe it is draggy like usual T-dramas but I think it's a personal preference. Melodramas like Someone like you are either fantastic or terrible. It was very well executed, whether the scenes, plots, actors, or the setting. Like any memorable melodramas, they make you want to visit the filming places. After watching this drama, I now want to go back to Taiwan and visit where they filmed it (Big City department store in Hsinchu, Taiwan).

The first 10 episodes were amazingly well developed and I loved watching the character development and the initial friendship between Yu Xi (Lorene's character) and Zhan Cheng (Kingone's character) when he was blind. Another reason why I liked this drama so much was because of the department store rivalry scenes/element. Unlike other romance dramas where the male lead is a CEO and they don't talk much about it other than the fact that he looks great wearing suits and has a lot of money, this drama plays out the rivalry scenes. They continue with the department scene rivalry side story throughout the drama and I really enjoyed these scenes because they were intense and nerve wracking to watch and they added to character development of Zhan Cheng. It wove seamlessly into the main plot and didn't distract from the romance.

Kingone really carries this drama. His portrayal of a blind man was seriously amazing. His acting was flawless and I couldn't see any flaws in his portrayal. I wasn't initially a fan of him because I usually like idol drama actors (read my other reviews) , but his character is really the ultimate perfect boyfriend. I actually liked Lorene's acting. Although her acting seemed a little fake in the beginning, her acting got a lot better. Like I said, Kingone carried the drama and he guided her through the romantic scenes well. Many think her crying scenes were fake, but I thought it was realistic because realistic crying isn't pretty. In terms of the supporting actors, I loved William's camaraderie with Zhan Cheng, and Yu Xi's relationship with her family. The supporting couples between Zhan Cheng's sister and Yu Xi's brother was adorable, as well as William's relationship with Yu Xi's best friend. Lorene was good at her dual roles as well.

The music is so heartwarming and emotionally provoking. I think this is one of the best soundtracks as a whole for a drama. Bii did most of the soundtrack, and I liked his songs a lot. They perfectly match the tone of the drama and the scenes.

For those of you who are unsure if you want to watch it because you're not sure if you can handle the various tragedies of this drama from the summary you just read, trust me, it is worth watching. It took me 2 weeks to finally decide to watch this because I selectively pick dramas to watch since I don't like dropping dramas; I feel the need to finish a drama once I start it. I'm glad I watched this drama; after all, it has now become one of my favorite dramas. Re-watch value is definitely high. In fact, I'm re-watching it right now! If your taste is anything like mine (read my other reviews for T-dramas), you will definitely love this drama. Give it a try. You won't regret it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
IUshiii
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 21, 2017
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama is worth to watch. The female lead look kinda cute and beautiful. Somehow I find her look a bit like Uee?(Just my own opinion :) ) The male lead still look cool and handsome even though he's blind at the first half episodes. Those dramas seeker looking for romance and good looking actor/actress. This is the drama to watch. Enjoy watching :).
Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
asiandramafan
2 people found this review helpful
Jan 30, 2017
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
i have watched this drama more than a couple of times, and each time I bawl my eyes out.
When Yu Xi first became the caretaker of Zhan Cheng i found her loud, annoying, immature. I loved how she helped him to go through his bad times, she even helped him to tango for his mother's birthday, she practiced with him, on the birthday she guided him on the phone. They were friends and they eventually fall in love, it's quite possible that he fell in love with her when she was helping him to tango,

I disliked Yu Xi's boyfriend, he was so sly, doing every dirty tricks to be successful, He eventually cheated on her with Vanessa and pregnante her, Unlike what I expected he did not want the baby, he wanted Vanessa to have an abortion but she refused and decided to give birth

Ya Ti who had a heart transplant, they transplant Lu Han's / YU Xi's twin sister's heart, Lu Han is also the ex fiance of Zhan Cheng and she starts to have Lu Han's mannerisms, like baking the Edelweiss cookies, Yu Xi and her giving exactly the same reactions

When Yu Xi learnt that Ya TI is carrying her twins heart, she even gave up on the man that she loves, and they could not resist but got back together.

Once Zhan Cheng's step sister was in love with him and behaved Yu Xi badly but she also fell in love with Yu Xi's brother who was a priest up until the last few episodes.

Even the chemo between Yu Xi's brother & Zhen Chang's sister was amazing.

This is not a traditional rich boy - poor girl dramas, Mothers were not evil, nobody trying to break the main couple and almost everyone was supporting.

This drama is not bed of roses, it has got tragedies. but at the end It is a great watch.. It is a romantic movie without being cheesy..

Kingone was amazing portraying a blind man... I also like his voice, amazing, intonations great and sexy, he has a sexy voice and he is quite handsome.

The brother is a little bit slow, doesn't talk much, talks slow, it takes him ages to tell smth, I wonder if he has got autism

I love the OST especially Good Night by Huang Yali

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 33/33
gmtn96
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 30, 2018
33 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 2
Overall 2.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
I usually don't write reviews, but this time I have to because nobody seems to be commenting about it.
I finished this a month ago but didn't have the guts to write about it, well because I didn't like it. There are far more better works of Kingone Wang than this one.

****SPOILERS AHEAD****
****SPOILERS****

So, I decided to watch this because the story seemed interesting, but I really shouldn't have because now I'm mad at the stuff that they showed. I will be straight to the point. I'm going to mention the two things that bothered me the most, and well for the rest of the drama the scene weren't as bad.

1. The characters seem to have no logic sense, specially both main characters.
Zhan Cheng is blind, so obviously you are going to see in the drama different scenarios where he is faced with difficulties which if he had been sighted he could have resolved them, but let me tell you something, if you are blind or have lost the ability to use one of your five senses, the other four senses develop more to overcome the disability. In one specific frustrating scene, Zhan Cheng and Yu Xi are in a boat and well Yu Xi falls into the water thinking that Zhan Cheng fell in the water, to my shock Yu Xi has a leg cramp —like everyone that falls into the water in an Asian Drama, be it shallow or not— so she calls out his name and he answers back in desperation that she fell into the water and he can't do anything to save her. He has the greatest idea of along with her scream in the middle of the sea and the night, screaming for help! There was another person in the boat, but could hear all the howling because, well he had HEADPHONES ON!!
Zhan Cheng decides that it is best to jump into the sea and save Yu Xi, but it all goes awry because HE IS BLIND!

My logical solution: Boy, that's your boat! Go inside the cabin and try to find the other dude in the boat. If not, well try to find the lifesaver floating ring that are almost always at the rails or side of the boat and COMMUNICATE not SCREAM and ask the other person where to throw it.

2. The ENDING IS NOT ROMANTIC AT ALL!
Ok, so imagine your boyfriends decides to marry you while you're in coma because he really wants to take care of you? Awwww. NO!
Let's understand why Zhan Cheng does this, okay?
He lost his fiancee in a car accident, after being in coma for a while. So, now he has a relationship with this other girl that is his fiancee's sister, and fate decides to repeat itself, she falls into a coma after an accident also. So, here I'm thinking that he fears to loose Yu Xi, just like his fiancee. But, to him the most reasonable solution is to marry his girlfriend (WITHOUT HER CONSENT btw), just her mother's approval of the marriage, of which she mentions clearly: "If Yu Xi were to know that I'm marrying her off without her consent she would kill me."
HELLOOOOOO! Her mother even admits that is no good!!!!!
Even so, they go on with the wedding in the hospital room, the do the whole ceremony and the even record it, THEY EVEN TAKE PICTURES/VIDEOS WITH HER!!!
Fast-forwarding to when she wakes up from the coma, she wakes up in his house (which is now their house) and she sees the wedding video (if I can even call it that) and she CRIES! like CRIES so touched of what happened. Eventually Zhan Cheng wakes up to find Yu Xi outside in their backyard and she says "so I'm now your wife?" to what he responds "yes, you are my wife"!
...
...ummm
... huh?

At this, all I am thinking is that this is NUTS!! THIS IS ILLEGAL!! He practically FORCED HIS WILL ON HER! She had no say in it whatsoever. There are movies and dramas about people in coma and loved ones waiting for them to wake up just to marry them, while they are BOTH aware of the situation. Something that the writer did not care about. The writer does not care about one deciding for oneself, more like others enforcing their will on you! NO! Not romantic at all!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
Mariola
6 people found this review helpful
May 30, 2015
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Recently I have noticed Taiwanese dramas make me super mellow and relax. I picked that one on DRAMACOOL and I loved it. The story is not only romantic but there were moments that I really cherished a lot of messages in that drama. Only one time at the end I share a tear, otherwise all episodes made me to watch it more and I honestly enjoyed it a lot. This drama warms your heart, makes you feel like you are eating a piece of pie with whip cream on it and makes you want to dream. I have been relaxed for 3 days while watching this. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
Draagon
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 30, 2015
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers
This was a very interesting drama. I enjoyed it immensely up until a point, after which my interest seriously waned and the drama’s rating dropped a few points in my eyes. But the ending made up for that short period of abysmal-ness, leaving this drama with a solid 8 rating.

The best part of this drama was the characters, especially when combined with the acting. Definitely the star of this whole ride was Wang Kingone. His performance as Fang Zhan Cheng outshone all of his co-stars, though I may be a little biased because the character as written is one of my favorite types — someone who’s able to keep calm and in control of their emotions even when everything’s falling apart around them. The character by itself would’ve already scored major points in my book, and Wang Kingone played him excellently throughout the entire drama. Kudos to him.

Ren Lorene on the other hand was kind of a mixed bag of good and not-so-good acting points. But her character wasn’t the most stable, either, so I think she worked the best she could with what she had. Her emotional scenes were for the most part well done and touching, but her... yelling/excited scenes, I guess you could call them, felt a little awkward and overdone. Also, her character didn’t have enough versatility. I get really annoyed with the characters who’re portrayed as saints and can’t do anything wrong just because they are supposedly acting in other people’s interests. You can think you’re doing something for someone else’s sake and still be selfish and in the wrong. I felt her character made some deliberately unwise choices that weren’t fully put in the negative light they should’ve been. And in the end, they were just brushed over because her character is too “good” to deserve any sort of consequences for her actions. I would have also liked to see her having to chase after Fang Zhan Cheng after what she did instead of always having him do all the work to get their relationship back on the right track.

The side characters and romances were pretty interesting and worked into the story in a coherent way as well. I had a fascination with Lee Sean’s character Li Bo Yan for the first half of the drama because he was so bad, yet at the same time so deliciously multi-layered. Points to Lee Sean for not allowing him to be the one-dimensional character he easily could’ve evolved into (though the writing at the end unfortunately ended that wonderment with a firm and unnecessary period on my feelings toward him -.-). Fei-Fei and Yu-An’s story was cute if a bit on the dull side, and Vanessa was a good mature-type character who was very clear-headed and a breath of rational fresh air. Xu Ya Ti I had some issues with because she seemed like a character used mostly for the sake of driving the plot forward when it got caught in its several ruts, but she was okay as a second-lead. A bit too one-dimensional to really strike a cord for any emotional responses, really. At least there were no long, drawn-out love triangles. These characters were very good at sticking to their guns and liking whom they knew they liked and not leading anyone on.

As for the story... well, that’s where my opinion of the drama goes up, down, and weaves around like its perched on a very precarious high cliff that crumbles and cracks with each episode, just waiting to plummet to the ground. When this drama was good, it really was good. It has beautiful scenery, beautiful directing, quotable and thought-provoking speeches, and a refreshing look on how to move on from losing someone dear to you. I liked its pace and its story for the first 16 episodes, I really did. I was about soundly ready to give it a solid 9 before episode 17 rolled around and my opinion fell faster than a baby bird jumping off that cliff and learning to fly. I just... I hated where this drama went. I hated how it felt like they needed to fill these episodes with everything and anything, so they just threw in a hodge-podge of nonsense at the wall and let things stick for as long as they could, then let them fall off the wall never to be mentioned again. The very last dramatic arc in particular left a very bad taste in my mouth and had me looking for anything to divert my attention during those scenes just because I couldn’t stand it. I can’t say what happened without giving major spoilers, but let’s just say it’s something I don’t agree with and think should never happen in drama-land, god forbid it ever happens in real life.

But, nevertheless, the ending more or less makes up for that mess. Like I said, the writers were good about just dropping things that happened like they never took place, so by the last minutes of the final episode, things got back on track and we were back to the storyline that made the drama so memorable and wonderful in the first place — how Fang Zhan Cheng and Chen Yu Xi learnt to find solace in each other’s company to such an extent they could never do without the other. Their chemistry is wonderful, and the scenes where they barely say anything and let their actions — in particular, their eyes — speak for them are just so well done (a large part of those scenes being so good being because of the directing, as well).

Overall, Someone Like You is a good drama. I’d recommend someone who's looking for a 2015 TW-drama to watch to give it a try, because it’s at least better than the other dramas that’ve been showing this season (in my opinion, of course). Especially if you like stories dealing with healing and moving on from tragedy, this is the drama for you. It has a pretty good pace (if a bit slow at times), a good soundtrack (if a bit repetitive at times), and good acting. Oh, and watch the opening credits, too. They really are lovely, and they will give you a feel for how beautiful the drama is shot and how the story lays itself out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
sharreb
1 people found this review helpful
Jul 15, 2016
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
If you like romances that are sweet, giving and mature; thats how it is in Someone like you.
There isnt quite a guy like Fang Zhan Chen, the male lead. Someone like him is super rare in both dramaland and reality. Hes the ultimate boyfriend. Hes gentle, caring, attentive and his actions speaks louder than words.
What is beautiful in this drama are Fang boss and his caretaker Yue xi's interaction when he was blind. Lots of romantic scenes (although some are quite cliche scenarios); among my favourite was guiding her in the dark when she was afraid, dancing together, piggyback on barefoot and her singing for him.
Its also rare to come across two leads who are very balance in love. By that i mean actually both Fang boss and Yue Xi are the types who when loves somebody puts that person as top priority. They value their loved ones and would go beyond to make that person happy. Yue xi is also a very warm person and once she cares for a person she does it whole heartedly.
Back to the storyline although my favorite bits are when hes still blind ( ep 2 to 11); i appreciate the scriptwriters didnt leave until the end tl give Fang boss his sight.
Other pluses include no evil meddlesome parents (their parents are cute and wonderful) and Fang boss sister initially annoying slowly changes and has her own cute romance with the priest.
Bo yan, our main antagonist also have a very good wrapup towards the end in my opinion. Interesting to compare Bo yan and Fang boss love. For Bo yan, once he acquired Yue xi's love already he assume thats something he dont have to waste more effort and time in her. For Fang boss, for someone you love you will always make time for them.
I have to say i love alot of the sceneries (fields, green hills, meteor shower, sky lit with wishing lantern) in this drama as well as the cablecar, come across as very fresh and unique.
I also love the songs used in this drama including the one Lorene sing in her character.
Drawbacks would probably be ep17 (watch and you will know) and maybe Fang boss was a tad too perfect?
Another comment is probably i would have wished his dead wife isnt identical twin. Fraternal would have been better. Cause seriously same face , how could that not have marred judgement of his feelings initially.
Regardless this was a very warm and sweet drama

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
HarryBoy
1 people found this review helpful
Jan 14, 2017
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Watch Watch Watch!!!! You will not be disappointed. Brilliant cast, brilliant storey, brilliant everything!!!
It goes back and forth in time a lot, but that enhances the whole.
Excellent production makes this a gem of a series. It would fit into any TV schedule around the world.
The ups and downs, the twists and turns, and the nasty characters you want to kick and the ones you want to tell them to think of themselves for once. All add up to marvellous TV.
Did I mention that you must watch this??
Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 20/33
Yuna
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 14, 2016
20 of 33 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
The last taiwanese Drama I watched was Material Queen and it was lame and after I watched it my hype for taiwanese dramas was gone v.v. But then I read many positive comments about 'Someone like you'.
Furthermore, I like the storyline. But the story description is a little bit confusing, because he isn't blind at the beginning.

Story: A chaebol loses his eyesight and his lovely finacée in a car accident. After that he changed and because he feels he is at fault he refuses a surgery. He is complicated and have to hide his handicap in front of others. His best friend is searching for a new caretaker and so it comes, that a noisy woman gets the job. It seemed to be interesting because there are not many dramas with a chaebol who has an handicap. Normally, the chaebols are arrogant in dramas, but this drama has a male main Character who is hurt by his past and he is in deep mourning because of the big lost in his life.

Acting: I didn't know any of the actors before, but I am a fan of the two main actors. Mostly of Kingone Wang.
Kingone Wang acts a the chaebol who has a lovely family and loves his fiancée very much. I think he loves her more than his own life. I think it is very difficult when it comes to act as an handicapped person especially when it comes to blindness. Kingone Wang plays his role excellent. The cold man, who doesn't see happiness in his life anymore, but also a man who changed himself when he meet his new caretaker. I like him very much and in my opinion he is an wonderful actor.
Ren Lorene plays a double role, even though not for a long time. She plays the fiancée of Zhan Cheng who dies in a car accident and she plays the doppelganger Yu Xi. Yu Xi is a noisy woman, but I think she is very honest and emotional in her heart. But she is the opposite from Luohan (the fiancée). I am a bit mad, because she is very naive, when it comes to Li Boyan (played by Sean Lee) her boyfriend. Sean Lee acts as an cold and...idiotic villian (yes, I call him a villian), who makes me bad almost every episode.
Lei Nita acts as Ya Ti, the girl who gets Luo Hans heart. She feels like Luohan and her character is like her, too. But she isn't a typical second lead. You will know what I mean, when you watch it. Sadly I have the feeling she was more a supporting character than a main character, but maybe it is only my feeling.
Wei Lian (played by William Liao) is the best friend of Zhan Cheng who wants the best for his friend. He is the one who stands by his side all the time and wants tha most, that Zhan Cheng become happy again. He plays his role natural and very well.
In my opinion the supporting characters do a very good job, too.

Music: The Music is very nice, I think it suits the theme and also the characters. I like the opening song very much.

Overall: I will watch this drama again, but like I said before, I am a bit sad that the love triangle was different from what I understand when I hear the word. If this were a bit more in the drama, it would be get a 10 from me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?