Heroine Disqualified

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 6,381 users)
  • Ranked: #1482
  • Popularity: #287
  • Watchers: 11,226

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

15 edits
10 edits
8 edits
7 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Jenn
14 people found this review helpful
Jun 13, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
Do you like cute dramas with... interesting characters, good-looking casts, and a typical yet sweet execution? Well, Heroine Disqualified might just be for you!

JapaneseDrama (over on Tumblr) was raving about this drama a few months ago so I decided to ditch my piles of homework and check it out. I didn't know too much going into it, but i was pleasantly surprised. Actually, I had pretty high expectations, but it was still a cute drama. The story was very very very typical, yet i still found myself on the edge of my seat, anticipating what's to come. The acting and characters are probably what won me over. Our protagonist was perfect! She's relatable, funny (facial expressions on point!) and all too kawaii. The SLS is very very intense in this one as well, and our second female lead was interesting and different. I COULD NOT STAND OUR MALE LEAD THOUGH. He was bland yet somehow super frustrating and confusing. I could go on and on ranting about him but i don't think he's worth the time. Though props on the cinematography.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Patricia
10 people found this review helpful
Mar 17, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 3.0
Story 1.5
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
This afternoon I asked myself why did I watch this movie? The answer was: story seemed interesting. Needless to say I didn’t find anything interesting about the film, on the contrary. I found it boring and annoying yet I persevered and watched it through to the end when my mind begged me to stop the mental torture and it was torture.

The heroine was just too obsessive, too focused on the guy she loved. At first I found her too desperate but teenagers tend to find things the end of the world and she was no exception. Everything was a drama, even when to confess to Rita that she loved him and has always loved him. Then she became really bothersome borderline on maddening with all the spectacle and theatrics, all the infantilism of the child she no longer was but somehow on an unconscious level seemed to believe to be. It’s seems the only logical explanation for her irrational behaviour!

Rita is weak, as a teenage boy he’s weak, as a boy he’s weak, as a teenager he’s weak and he never stops being weak. I wonder if the manga author created the character so incredibly full of flaws, so physically and psychologically weak on purpose. How can a male lead character be so utterly uncompelling is beyond me. There’s not a single time throughout the movie I find him interesting. Having Rita as the main male lead...why? To show that men can be weak? Men can be weak but Rita takes male weakness to an entire new level, the level of absurdity!

At the end of the movie I was drained and relieved that it was finally over, finally!!!

The only thing I liked about the movie was the photography but it wasn’t enough to save a poor story who became a poor film on the screen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
fatema
9 people found this review helpful
Oct 31, 2017
Completed 2
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 4.5
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
My advice: don't watch this.

When the heroine falls for someone who doesn't really deserve her feelings. She humiliates herself over and over again by confessing her love endlessly. And then when the supposedly "hero" accepts her feeling in the end, she jumps right into his arms. Sad, very sad and demeaning to women. Loving unconditionally is something that shouldn't be considered as a romantic story if it is only one sided. We frown upon rivals who don't give up, even when their affections are unrequited. Then why do the writer expect us to cheer for a heroine that does that and doesn't really value herself as a human. Yes she is disqualified from beginning to end for her stupidity and shallowness.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
nini123
9 people found this review helpful
Feb 13, 2016
Completed 2
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
Heroine Disqualified has to be my second favourite movie of all times (just after Our Times).

ACTING/CAST:
The main character Hatori is such a fun and cute character, although she can sometimes be annoying. Rita (the guy that Hatori has a crush on) is really cold on the outside but warm on the inside. He is always mature and manly. On the other hand, The other hot popular guy Kosuke acts immature but his other mature side is also portrayed throughout the movie. The short haired girl (Adachi) makes me want to feel sorry for her but she gets sort of clingy and annoying sometimes. Hatori's friend is super crazy, silly and fun and I think she has to be my favourite character in the movie XDD
AND I HAVE TO SAY THAT THE TWO GUYS 10/10 :3

STORY:
Heroine Disqualified has a great story line and lots of animated and sound effects in the movie. It starts with a typical high school story but it ends up having a lot of different elements added to it. The storyline itself is full of surprises. There was so many twists and the story sort of ended as I expected, but it wasn't the ending I was hoping for. The story is told from Hatori's POV so I could clearly feel her emotions and her feelings towards the other characters. There is a lot of funny moments between Hatori and Kosuke. There is also sad and touching flashback scenes.

MUSIC:
I really like the ending music~

REWATCH VALUE:
I would mostly want to watch it again because of the characters but the complicated story kind of holds me back. Towards the end of the movie, Hatoshi comes to a realisation that relates back to the beginning of the story.







*SORT OF SPOILER*


Rita looks really hot with a kimono on. Just saying.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
FleffElsie
7 people found this review helpful
Mar 13, 2016
Completed 2
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Hmm...Let me start this off by saying that I rarely watch Japanese movies/drama these days. After growing tired of all the almost ridiculous over-dramatic effects, somewhere along the line I just gave up on them altogether. There was too much of it and it impacted the sincerity of the actual story.

But this? ...Haha. I actually waited for it. Every now and then I'd think to myself, "Ah. Not long left now!" and wonder when I'd be able to get my hands on some English subtitles.

I read the manga once. A long time ago. I barely remember what actually happened in it, but the warm feeling I got from it I didn't forget, so I gave it chance. I thought that, just maybe, this film could help me get back into Japanese drama. Did it? Let's just say I went from 20% likely to watch one to 70%.


The Story:
Cliche. You know what's going to happen. If you've watched enough RomCom stuff like I have you just know and no matter how many times you wish for something else to happen 9/10 those dreams don't come true. It's not super awesome: no Healer or Peach Girl. But...the twists and turns give it a little of a special sparkle. It did anything but bore me despite knowing how it'd all end up.

Those annoying little effects they do were actually funny this time around, though maybe that's just because I haven't seen any in a long time. There wasn't so much that it just became a slapstick comedy and to be honest, it fitted the whole drama well - really well. With all the talk of heroines and side-characters it was almost - ALMOST - needed.


The Acting:
No major flaws here. Again a bit...dramatic at times, so dramatic it occasionally felt too theatrical to get absorbed in 100% - in true Japanese drama fashion, in my experience anyway. But I cried. And if they make me cry, twice at that, then they did the job well!


The Music:
Hmm...Average? Certainly appropriate but...'samey'. Not that all the tracks were the same, but so familiar that you feel like you've already heard it elsewhere: if that makes sense? Just above standard. Stirs the emotions well but there's a very slim chance I'd ever purchase the OST in comparison to some other competitors. Pretty good though.


The Rewatch Value:
Ah. Now this is one point I wanted to make. Despite not remembering the contents of the manga I purposefully didn't go back and read it. Why? So the film could renew it afresh for me. It's very rare that I rewatch anything from start to finish because guessing where it's all going to end up or play out is half of the fun to me. Yet in saying that the characters are cute. It's the sort of film I'd likely watch again in a year or so on a rainy night with a mouth full of popcorn with a hot chocolate at the ready. True RomCom stuff.


Summary:
I have no regrets. I enjoyed it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Osaka
4 people found this review helpful
Mar 31, 2016
Completed 7
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 4.0
I’ll be totally honest here. I watched this movie with my twin after she read Heroine Shikaku manga.
I wasn’t expecting much, you know.
The main plot is a little bit boring. The main heroine is a girl who doesn’t want to accept that her best friend can actually find himself a good girlfriend.
Talking about Hatori, I really hates her character ( But Kiritani Mirei is always amazing when it comes to make the audience have a good laugh XD).
She’s possessive and, let me say it clearly, a little bit a pain in the back.
What I hated about this movie is how all characters try to scold Adachi attitude. Sure, maybe during the end she acted a little bit as a wannabe victim but please, let’s be honest: She wasn’t the villain at all, why calling her “ a victim” during the first half of the movie? She was basically a good girl stucked between a love game of two best friends who didn’t want to admit that they were in love since childhood.
Rita character is cute but Yamazaki Kento didn’t act so well in this movie. I think he really needs to stop for a moment and try to choose better characters, he’s pretty talented but lately all his characters are plain and have the same personalities. It’s such a shame though, his L was perfect.
I think he still need to improve as an actor and here he wasn’t actually acting at all. ( his kiss scenes are the best though!).
Sakaguchi Kentaro’s character was …idk, he was ok but I guess he was pretty useless. His acting skills are pretty average but at least, he showed some emotions.
In the end, all I can say is that I didn’t like this movie. Sure, some scenes were so funny to watch and Nakajima was a total badass, I was disappointed to see that she didn't get so many scenes TT
There are better shojo manga live actions out there, guess this one didn’t get on my favourites list.
The ost was amazing though, it’s the only thing I liked about this movie ( Kento cuteness too). Kana Nishino songs are such a bliss!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OhSoEnthusiastic
4 people found this review helpful
Nov 8, 2018
Completed 1
Overall 2.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
Uuuuuuugh. This movie frustrated and angered me to the point that I quit it about 30 minutes from the end. (It's about 2 hours long total. I read spoilers for the ending in order to know what actually happened, because I had no plans of actually watching the ending myself.) I really hate teen movies (adult movies too) that do the whole back and forth, back and forth, back and forth thing for the sole purpose of there being some kind of drawn out conflict rather than simply writing a compelling and relatable story. (It makes me want to burst my own eardrums.) This movie...is one of those teen movies. The writers take an infinitely fascinating premise, a Heroine who's not actually the heroine of the story she thinks she is and has to figure out her true story, and then scrap it probably less than halfway through for your standard, uninspired take on teen romance. (Which I guess isn't actually the movie writers fault as this is based on a manga so they had to write based on the source material, but I haven't read the manga and don't know if it does the story any better or not, so I'm just gonna be mad at the film's scriptwriters for now.) Some of the more egregious plot points include cheating that goes unpunished and pretty much treated as not a big deal, a teenager with a history of dating an adult that the movie never makes any kind of declarative statement on how grossly inappropriate that is, a character faking an illness to trick another character into not leaving them, and just generally selfish and stupid behavior from the majority of our characters.

The story also starts with these honestly quite interesting characters (aside from the second male lead who's pretty much a card board cutout of every bad boy character ever) and then ruins pretty much all of them. (Maybe not the female lead so much, since she does stay pretty consistent throughout the movie, but that consistency isn't always a good thing. And again, the second male is a cardboard cutout, so there's not much there to really ruin.) I'm most upset though with how the second female lead is treated. She is this beyond sweet and selfless character until the very end where she's turned into a villain for the sole purpose of the leads having an excuse to be together. It's a disservice to her character and is used as a supposedly 'valid' reason to excuse both leads of being incredibly selfish themselves multiple times throughout the movie.

If you're a young teen/pre-teen, you will probably find this movie really romantic. As a 31 year old adult, I found it asinine and annoying. This is just not a good movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
hardpliers
2 people found this review helpful
Feb 24, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
One of the first Japanese movies that I've seen. Definitely a great choice to watch just to see the amazing casting, with some of the best young Japanese actors like Mirei Kiritani and Kentaro Sakaguchi. If you loved the manga, you'll definitely enjoy this movie as well!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Paige
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
Well... I am having a little dilemma when rating this. While it is certainly comical and enjoyable, there are things in this movie that I doesn't like that much. I am just going into the individual section and list down my likes and dislikes from there.

STORY 7.0/ 10
Story is enjoyable, many parts of this movie are rather comical that's actually what have me giving it a rather high rating, while honestly, this story is nothing too much difference than many other high-school romance movies out there. Girl likes boy, boy likes another girl, another boy likes this girl who has her heart broken... You get the gist. The saving grace really, is the funny scenes, the comical/ dramatic scenes (this is a movie talking about the hero and heroin after all). While maybe I am probably being picky, what more do I expect from a high school romance movie right? Seriously, I think there are much better stories of the similar genre out there, But if you really are just looking for something easy and relaxing, and up for some laughter and yelling at your TV screen, this is your movie, go on and watch it.

ACTING CAST 8.0/10
As I said, there are plenty comical scenes which I think Kiritani Mirei has done a good job portraying the role - good, however not amazingly good I think. But seeing I never really expect her to be able to play a role like Hatori, Mirei san has surpassed my expectation here. I look forward to see her future projects, Yamazaki Kento is good as ever, but Rita isn't a difficult role to play. Who I really really like in the movie is Sakaguchi Kentaro because he has this bad-boy/ good boy act down, he can be so adorable and dangerously charming at the same time. Fukuda Ayano acts well too, I like her a lot in this movie. So well, overall, a 8.0 out of 10 here. There are room for all these main casts to improve their acting on, but perhaps not on this movie, I look forward to see them all challenging bigger roles in the future.

Chemistry between the main leads are lacking a little, but chemistry between Mirei and Kentaro exist, which to me is a good and bad thing.

MUSIC 7.5/ 10
I have to say, there isn't anything really memorable, but nothing stands out as too annoying either, so 7.5.

REWATCH VALUE 6.5/10
Will I rewatch it? I would think yes, when I need something funny and easy to pass my day, this will be a movie I will go for, but other times, no, I think not. This is the cookie-cutter kind of story I can find so many others that's similar to this. So wells...

OVERALL 7.5/ 10
Well, it is rather a high rating all considered, but I really have had some really disappointing manga adaption so I don't want to put this way too low. I would say this movie is enjoyable, but not terribly outstanding. It is funny and easy - with a bit of heartaches in between. A nice movie to pass an afternoon.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sagapoexo
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 22, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
First I have to say that I am not fond of manga adaptions. I watch them because I really like the Manga/ Anime or some actors but they are mostly disappointing.....well that´s not the case in Heroine Disqualified.I haven´t read the manga yet but I can still tell that the casting did a really good job with the acting^^ I really loved the casting and truth to be said I only watched it because of my bae Yamazaki Kento so I watched it without greater expectations but damn I really found myself enjoying this.It was funny and romantic...drama was also included :3 I didn´t expect that I would like the second male so much (bcuz Yamazaki is my bae aka favourite japanese actor) but damn he was so nyyaaaang (peferct ,adoreable what ever xD) and the female lead was so beautiful *-* I really liked the last song so the music was also great ~~~As I said...the actors did a great job and I really like the man in the cafeteria xD
It´s the best adaption so far that I have ever seen..but well that it my opinion....and as I said I haven´t read the manga yet ><

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nara
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
Really hilarious movie. I laughed so hard watching this movie on 11 pm!
The cast is really good especially Kiritani Mirei, she should be awarded. The story is a marriage between Kimi Ni Todoke and Bokura Ga Ita but on the different perspective/heroine. I really recommend this movie because it will make you laughed. And I feel like I was looking into the brain of the director, so crazy! :D
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
rheabiel
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 13, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Its my first time waiting for a live manga adaptation to come out. After watching a movie about high school love and friendship, I wanted to watch a movie again with the same genre and feels. Thanks to this site, I have found out about this movie. So you know, I am not fond of manga adaptation to movies, I have never really liked any (except some dramas). Upon knowing about this and going through the trailers, I know, its this kind of movie I have been waiting for. I waited, searched, and finally Its here.

The story, as we all know, isn't knew, childhood friends who turned to lovers but before that they need to settle their own real feelings and to achieve that they need to break some hearts first.lol But, that's what I love about this movie. Simple, funny, comedic at times and even though you have watched any other movies with the same story, this movie doesn't feel redundant after all. I love the exaggerated expression of the heroine. She was really good in her portrayal in this movie (although I haven't read the manga but I never thought of any slapstick moment in her acting here). For the guys, Yamazaki Kento was good, (I was going to comment on how should he put more effort in his character but Im going to believe that's how Rita should be portrayed based on the manga. For Kentaro Sakaguchi, this is my first introduction to him, but just like Hatori said, &amp;amp;quot;he's freaking handsome&amp;amp;quot;. He is perfect to be Kosuke Hiromitsu, he has really played the role well. His acting and characterization is much better that Yamazaki Kento thus it can't be helped for the audiences to fall for him and have that &amp;amp;quot;second lead syndrome feel&amp;amp;quot;. And yes, I liked him more.The story was perfectly made and I feel satisfied with everything. I just think they could've made some great moments/additional scenes out there but since they were following the manga, then it cant be helped.

I was just quite disappointed that they didn't even once played the movie Ost. I jsut love that song and its been on repeat in my playist. I was really waiting for it to be played somewhere in those cute heart stopping moments but, it didn't. It could've made the movie more romantic. Grr, they should really have added it then my rating would be higher. You will feel more their emotions with it.

I miss watching Japanese dramas, you know with those nonsense plots, exaggerated stories and reactions. But despite all that, you will smile, laugh, cry, you will feel like an idiot and despite al of that, they will tell you lessons.ahhhw those feels from Hana Kimi and Ataschinchi no Danshi did you hear me? hahaha

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?