Finding Mr. Destiny (2010) poster

Details

  • Movie: Finding Mr. Destiny
  • Country: South Korea
  • Release Date: Dec 9, 2010
  • Duration: 1 hr. 52 min.
  • Genres: Comedy, Romance
  • Tags: First Love
  • Rating: 13+ - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

  • Score: 7.4 (scored by 4,743 users)
  • Ranked: #2685
  • Popularity: #456
  • Watchers: 7,660

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

0%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

7 edits
4 edits
3 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
Jeaniessi
10 people found this review helpful
Jul 3, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a cute, quirky movie and I enjoyed it a lot. The main lead, Gong Yoo is a favorite of mine. I like watching him act. He's got a strange sort of beauty to his face but his acting is what gets me in almost everything I have watched him in. In this he pays a nerdy perfectionist with an element of a doom and gloom mentality and a bit of OCD. This ultimately gets him axed from his job.

Im Su Jung plays a harried and hopeless stage director who is unable to forget her first love. She even has a suitor wanting to marry her and she can't seal the deal. She hides behind her work as an excuse to avoid him and turn him down, driving her father crazy in the process.

I like the antagonistic relationship between the two leads after the story of "Finding Mr. Destiny" gets going. I like the flashback sequences. Both for how the memories are portrayed and the beautiful shots of India. This film has elements of the unexpected that keep it from being a typical, by rote, romantic comedy.

It's a sweet story. Light but not fluffy, well acted and a great ending too.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Melwill28
12 people found this review helpful
May 14, 2012
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie was different. I thought it was kinda slow @ 1st, but it picked up quick. It showed a different look on 1st loves. Just b/c u found ur 1st love does not mean that they r the person u r fated 2 be w/. I love that Gong Yoo can play a dorky type character that still gets the girl....LOL! He has this manliness about him that shines through even when he is playing the part of a chicken. Seo Ji Woo's character was a great compliment 2 Han Gi Joon. Where he was scared 2 face things she wasn't & where she was scared he wasn't. I was happy throughout the movie & I loved that the flashbacks had me guessing about Ji Woo's 1st love. I recommend this movie if ur looking for something 2 make u feel like; even though u missed love the 1st time u can always find it again & usually where u least expect it. Hope for a true love is what u get from this movie. I hope all who watch enjoy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
claudya87
7 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is about the memory of "first love", about feelings that linger in our soul even after many years have past. Seo Ji Woo went to India 10 years ago and met her first love - Kim Jong Ok - with whom she spent a few days with the promise that they'll meet again. Han Gi Joon has just started his company "Finding Your First True Love Company" and the two begin their quest of finding her love interest. In the backround we have the world of theatre and I have to say the fealing of "cabaret" caught me even from the begining, I wanted to see more of it. The OST of course is also amazing.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
bipolarIsha
7 people found this review helpful
May 6, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
My curiosity was ignited when I saw Gong Yoo on the cover poster of this movie, not knowing what to expect I dived in and watched it.

It started out slow for me, I didn't really get how the title was related to the story at the beginning, I was expecting a different sequence of events (I'm not going to elaborate as it may contain *spoilers, which I don't want you to get mad at me for). As the plot progressed, it was kind of cute because the difference in the characters were brought to play, I was just a bit confused because Gong Yoo was mostly the lead man and the other man?!I mean the one they were looking for (supposedly a love triangle? there a spoiler [watch it so you would understand])

In the end it all cleared up, The story has it's own depth and can appeal to the audience by giving taking on the topic of "FIRST LOVE" giving it just a dash of satire to it mixed with humor, an unusual way of presenting the topic but the ending was quite STRONG, what it lacked in the beginning, compensated in the end. Plus cinematography wasn't that bad also ;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
7 people found this review helpful
Aug 22, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I found this movie really slow. It is sweet though. I'm sure it will bring up some people's feelings of their first love. I find it interesting that while some people are afraid to begin love, others are afraid to see how love will end. Honestly, Gong Yoo is the reason to watch this. How can he be so goofy and manly at the same time? I found his character Gi Joon to be charming. I also liked Lim Su Jung's character, Ji Woo. She was quirky and likable. Overall a cute and fun movie.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ShreeyaSharma
4 people found this review helpful
Jul 30, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I absolutely loved everything about this movie. The way it was directed, the story, the actors, the premise, the end, music, cinematography, every single thing. This is the sort of romantic comedy I look for.

The concept for finding your first love again struck a chord with me and made me watch this on a whim. It turned out to be one of the best romantic comedies I've seen. The story was so captivating, the characters were so credible and relatable, I just sat through the movie in awe. The story takes a few minutes to settle in, though. You feel as if you're being fed random scenes but it all starts to make sense in about 20 mins max. And you forget about the initial confusion once you get engrossed in the film. The dilemma, the fear of pursuing your first love again has been portrayed amazingly.

Acting skills are not necessarily tested in a romantic comedy movie but the actors need to grasp the characters well and portray their emotions correctly. The lead pair managed to do more than that. They managed to imprint the characters in my memory. Great work by everyone!

The music is quite nice, I especially like the musical portion of the movie, it was really well done and Im Su Jeong did a classy performance!

This is a movie I will be rewatching time and again for sure. It's going down as one of my all time favorites. I just loved the whole feel of the movie and the things I got to learn from it. It's not overly mushy, it's not overly serious or comic either. It's got the perfect blend of everything and I enjoyed every bit of it.

This movie will hold a special part in my heart for a long time, it was such a great experience and moreover it was shot in my city (Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India a.k.a Blue City), all the more reason to cherish it. Worth the watch!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kpopx3lover
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 5, 2011
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
After watching this movie, I now believe that fate really does exist. No matter how many years it will take, if you are really fated to meet someone or either meet them again, it will happen.



This movie is really good. It definitely is a must watch. It's funny, cute, and romantic. I love Gong Yo and it's been awhile since I've seen him in a film and this is good.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
BitterSweetStunner
2 people found this review helpful
May 3, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I don't even know how many points I should give this movie.
At the beginning I was a little disappointed because the main characters weren't what I expected - they were a bit strange and funny. Even though they both changed and storyline explained the reason why they were like this.
The storyline was actually also something totally different from what I had expected, but at the end it maintained its deepness. It was more deeper than I thought and I had to think about this story before I realised all the details and the meaning of the last scene.

This movie had a deep message: "The first(true) love doesn't necessarily have to be the the first person." and also the last scene showed that in life you may meet the right guy anywhere just for a moment without realising it. Now when I think about it, the last scene was a nice touch at the end making the movie more deeper.

I also thought about why the man she "looked" for was played by the same actor in those "memory scenes". Later I realised that actually it didn't matter how the Mr. Destiny really looked like. They were only her memories and the point was that she hold onto those memories too much fearing to face the future and her real life, also not doing anything about that Mr. Destiny, trying to maintain those memories without knowing the happy or unhappy ending.

I think this is a kind of movie you should rewatch, because there are so many details you'll understand better as you rewatch it, but I won't rewatch it because I never rewatch movies. (except for if I want to show it to a friend and we watch it together ;) )

I accept and agree with the meaning of that movie, but it's not the best or one of the best movies for me. Those main characters had something missing for me or were too different from what I had expected. Therefore, it was quite fine movie due to its deep meaning but not due to its cast. I liked Gong Yoo in "Coffee Prince", but I didn't like the characther he played in this story, unfortunately.

But all of those people who like the "first love" theme and movies with a deeper meaning, watch it. It will be a heartwarming and interesting story for sure.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
allyson
3 people found this review helpful
Mar 14, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I have started more Korean movies than I can keep track of, and never make it farther than the first 15 minutes. I don't know what it is about them, but it seems to require Herculean effort on my part to continue on. All of that being said, this is the first one Iwas able to sit through. I randomly picked it because I wanted to try and find something to occupy my time til my drama buddies were ready to move on to a new drama.

This movie was pretty funny, the lead guy made me laugh quite a few times. There were a lot of familiar faces in this drama, too. The lead from Vineyard Man, the president from City Hunter, the lawyer ex from Lie To Me. It was fun waiting to see who would pop up next.

Storyline-wise, this movie was slow and a little dull. I really didn't care about the lead actress's first love at all, and they spent way, way too much time on it, instead of developing the relationship between the two leads. I get that it was about her trying to find her first love, but for some reason it felt like they spent too much time on it, since the guy gets only 30 seconds of screen time. It was neat how they used the lead guy to stand in his as the first love in all of the memory sequences, I will admit.

All in all, this movie wasn't horrible, had some laughable moments and a cute kiss scene. But it lacked chemistry so it wasn't really serviceable as a romance, and wasn't really all that funny enough to be considered a comedy. If it were a book, I'd call it general fiction. If you are just looking for something to kill some time and only have Netflix as an option, I would recommend it. If you have other options, you might take a pass.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Katie
1 people found this review helpful
Mar 2, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I enjoyed this movie. Like other reviewers, It was a little slow at first as you catch up to all the characters and learn what they do and who they are etc. Once it gets going, It gets good. The main lead was cute, a refreshing character against the norm because she is not typically beautiful or perfect, but great in her own way. The male lead is very charming, you can see him as he warms up to her and it's very sweet. Happy ending, if you love romance and interesting plots this is a good choice. Although the romance aspect isn't as prominent as other films, it's still satisfying.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
H1kikomori
2 people found this review helpful
Nov 23, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
i really loved this movie; it was not predictable or too long and kept me curious all throughout which i know is difficult.

STORY:
Sweet concept that could actually happen. It has a believable romance story combined with the awkward character (Gong Yoo)'s character which just had me grinning or laughing. It also had me recalling my first love (hahahha). But most of all, the development of the story may have been predictable but its progression was so spontaneous when revealed; i did not expect it when it was - beautiful - caught me off guide

ACTING:
Actors portrayed their characters well which made me enjoy the characters even more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 14, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 3.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
Finding Mr Destiny was cute, but I've found it kind of boring. The idea behind the plot was interesting and it had potential, but it wasn't well executed. The plot was messed up and the characters did things randomly and irrationally. Especially the leading lady, who wanted to find her first love, but she always backed out and she was the one who made it hard to find him. It was actually obvious that this was based on a musical, and it would have been better if they had kept it that way. Also, the trap of not revealing the first love's face and just replacing it with the main lead's was confusing. At least the ending was okay and the performances decent.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?