If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
The Greatest Love

Details

  • Drama: The Greatest Love
  • Country: South Korea
  • Episodes: 16
  • Aired On: Wednesday, Thursday
  • Network: MBC
  • Duration: 1 hr. 5 min.
  • Genres: Comedy, Romance
  • Rating: Not Yet Rated

Statistics

  • Score: 8.2 (scored by 9,725 users)
  • Ranked: #468
  • Popularity: #73
  • Members: 16,958
Write a Review
Jeaniessi
96 people found this review helpful
Jun 18, 2011
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
There are a few kdramas out there that reach a level in quality far above others for smart writing, snappy dialog, rich plot and character development. Add the spice of comedy and the satisfying element of a very well told dramatic story and The Greatest Love is in this top tier. It is a Great story.

Cha Seung Won and Gong Hyo Jin: They are both amazing actors. They are perfectly cast and it shows through every goofy moment and every scene that pulls at your heart.

This story is set in the entertainment world and probably sheds a glaring spotlight on the trappings and "traps" of fame. Each character is fame's satelite planet spinning in orbit around it's shiny tempting sun.

Dokko Jin is a man with a lot of hits under his belt. His image is stellar and it wins him the best CF's and shields him from getting laid low when a movie release isn't quite up to par. He can play the press like a finely tuned piano. He understands his world and he's comfortable there...on top. Everything is image...even love. Gu Ae Jung is a woman who had a taste of fleeting fame in her young 20's and knows exactly what it feels like when you are knocked from that pedestal. She has learned how to work her bad reputation to make a living. She knows what to do, how to act and dress and she's comfortable at the bottom so long as she can keep working. When they meet it throws their perspective worlds into chaos. It is a chaos neither of them are ready for.

Dokko Jin doesn't know what to do with the feelings he has outside of and in spite of, the image he has cultivated. He has lived so long in his fame bubble he is emotionally stunted. What he has come to expect is completely different than what the real world will hand him. We get to watch him open his eyes, watch his dumbfounded, drunken baby steps toward the light. ...And it's funny! It's clumsy and awkward. It's so completely tender and heart wrenching as well.

Gu Ae Jung doesn't know how to handle this mess of a man; who invades her life, pulls her into his bubble and goes after her with all the grace and finesse of a bull in a china shop. She has lived so long understanding that one word taken out of context can flay her and one mistaken step can shove her down to the bottom and cause pain. She knows she has to be careful in this world that drags her into a light which seems warm and friendly at first only to burn her when she dares to step to close. She knows better.

...and yet when the heart starts beating of its own accord and the petals strewn across the path lead to someone you can't stop loving, you have to be brave and make choices.

Gu Ae Jung is our everywoman in this story. She is the one we identify with and root for. She is the reluctant hero. Dokko Jin is our damsel in distress. The charm of this show is that it is so well written and entertaining you don't realize at first and when you do, you realize its genius!

The second leads and side characters are written smartly as well. They aren't just comic relief or one dimensional characters built as foils for the OTP. They have good reasons to be in our main character's lives. Best friends, brothers, agents and managers etc... They serve the narrative of the story rather than break us apart from it as if we need some sort of forced breather from the action or story filler. Smart Hong Sisters!

Yoon Pil Joo: Best second lead ever! I fell in love with him falling in love. Yoon Kye Sang is amazing. Time to go find every other thing he's ever acted in and watch it.

I found this show sublime. 'Crack me up' hilarious and 'Wrench my heart, why don't you?' emotional. Don't miss it. It is extraordinary.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
educto1
57 people found this review helpful
May 2, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Curiosity... curiosity led me to watch this movie. Wondering why does everybody give it the highest rating? There's no question about the story because for me, it was the best plus it is humorous and romantic at the same time. Well, regarding about the characters, I was quite unaware of them except for that Manager Jang who is also a North Korean soldier in the K2H. Who are these lead characters? I first researched about them. Woah, the main guy is 42y/o??? How come he's gotten so so HOT!!! HAHAHA. As for the lead girl, never really knew her. So I gave it a try.
Likes:

1. CSW's perfect delivery of lines
2. Funny acts
3. OSTs (totally love Du Geun2x)
4. the potato
5. Dingdong kid
6. CSW's extremely HOOOOOOT body!
7. plot
8. ending message of CSW (my first time to watch a drama with an ending msg from one of the characters)
9. sneakers
10. their love for each other

Dislikes:





NONE!!!!!!!!!




SCORE: 10/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
manicmuse
13 people found this review helpful
Mar 12, 2012
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
What made me watch this drama in the first place was the amount of positive reviews for it. I had no idea what to expect, and I didn't bother to read the synopsis. After finishing the first episode, I honestly didn't get what the big deal was. The characters seemed ok enough, but the story seemed pretty standard (with some cute special effects thrown in). Once I started to watch the 2nd episode, all of the high reviews started to make sense.

Cha Seung Won and Gong Hyo Jin's chemistry was palpable. I loved the hilariously charming arrogance of Dokko Jin, and that Gu Ae Jung was a secure female lead. I felt my heart flutter, and break with them throughout. I guess there is nothing really new about their relationship scenario, but it still felt fresh, and was exciting to watch.

I also have to say that Yoon Kye Sang, was one of my favorite second leads ever. He was so great as Yoon Pil Joo (aka "Mr. Perfect"), that I felt myself starting to root for him [team pil-line!]. My only complaint is that Dr. Perfect started to seem a little too repetitive towards the end. It seemed like the hong sisters just didn't know what to do with him after a while.

Speaking of the Hong Sisters, I think they did a great job making this drama fun. The music played a large role in setting the mood, and the cast was great, but it's the script that played the biggest role in what worked (and what didn't). Even though I knew how things would generally turn out, there were many rewatchable moments, moments that made me swoon, moments that caught me off guard, moments that brought unexpected tears, and moments that made me laugh out loud.

I also have to mention little "Ding Dong" who was so cute. The bromance between him & Dokko Jin were some of my favorite moments.

I'll admit I didn't have much interest in the girl group backstory, though I do think It was funny watching them mask the fact that Gong Hyo Jin is not the greatest singer. The fact that such small things could cause such huge scandals for Hallyu stars felt exaggerated to me, so It was hard for me to get too invested in that part of the drama. I think that has a lot to do with my cultural differences than anything at fault with the drama itself. It still swayed my overall opinion of this drama, and made me lean more towards 8 than 9.

Although it sometimes reminded me of other dramas (and not just because of the shiny tracksuits), I think "The Greatest Love" still holds it's own. I can easily see why it is high on so many people's favorites list, and I certainly never expected to love "The Greatest Love" as much as I did. Add me to the bunch of people who highly recommend this Rom-Com. If the romance in this one doesn't get to you at all, you might want to check to see if you still have a pulse.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
locurabella
8 people found this review helpful
Nov 16, 2013
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Need a break from melodramas? And in search of a short drama? Watch this romantic comedy!

Seriously, I enjoyed watching this drama from beginning to end. There wasn't an episode where I didn't laugh like a crazy lady. I watched this after watching Master's Sun because I really enjoyed Gong Hyo Jin performance there and though she was also great in this drama and the two leads had great chemistry too, truth be told, I feel anyone could have played her role. Her performance here didn't fascinate me as it did in Master's Sun. The real star of this drama, and first time watching him perform, is Cha Seung Won.

Cha Seung Won's character came to mind as the most GIF-able character ever! His antics and overall mannerism never once bored me when he appeared on scene. His sad scenes even blew me away on how touching they were. Such a great actor! He makes you want you to watch more and more. And such an eyecandy he is.

Music was so crazy but so enjoyable. The lack of cohesion worked in this drama. I loved all the tunes.

Great drama, you wont be sorry to watch this hilarious drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
delta777
12 people found this review helpful
Feb 9, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
Magnetism Thy Name Is Cha Seung Won...

My favorite rom/com and I’ve seen numerous ones in the past few years, often being disappointed (yes ...even by the HONG sisters). Cha Seung Won and Gong Hyo Jin have great comedic/dramatic timing/talent which allows CSW to mesmerize with an eccentrically brilliant, yet vulnerable performance. Supporting cast are believably entertaining and the writing hilariously witty. If you enjoyed "City Hall"... "Your Beautiful"... "My Girl", you shouldn’t be disappointed with "The Greatest Love"..
Was this review helpful to you?
bittergirl
17 people found this review helpful
May 11, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
As you can see i rated it a perfect 10.. because for me it is the best.!. the story line really suits my taste when it comes to comedy romance drama. I really loved how they make the show really comedic especially the main actors and actress are really hilarious acting their part. It seems real to me like they are for real.

I'm a big fan of this kind of drama cause i know in the end it will have a happy ending.. it makes me escape to the reality for a while and it makes me feel that love is always around. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
Skye-N-Rain
24 people found this review helpful
Jan 4, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.0
Where do I begin?
I started watching this drama because it was the holiday season and I desired a good romance comedy, and I followed a friends recommendation and started watching this. I can't say that I instantly fell in love with this drama, but I did like this drama from the beginning.

Story:
Overall, I enjoyed the story immensely. So why did I give it a 9 instead of a 10? It's because you know who ends up with who. It's not going to shock you in anyway if you've watched any korean romance comedies. Other than that though.

Cast/Acting:
Perfection. It couldn't have been better. The only thing that was somewhat "different" was Dok Go Jin's voice. His voice is "different". In the end it becomes the most soothing voice though.

Music:
The music did its job very well.

Rewatch Value:
I'm not much of a rewatcher, but I probably will not rewatch this like most other dramas and movies.

Overall:
Overall, I enjoyed this drama so so so much. It's a great drama that'll have you laughing and crying in no time. It's one of the best Romance Comedies out there. Oh and the ending was just A-M-A-Z-I-N-G.
So go and watch it! You'll enjoy it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
meanie
6 people found this review helpful
Feb 25, 2015
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
Great leads - Cha Seung Won and Gong Hyo Jin - didn't expect the chemistry there!! The arrogant star vs the normal girl. Supporting cast also excellent choices - fun to watch the story play out over the episodes.

I laughed quite a bit in most of the episodes and remember it fondly as one of my top choices for k-drama (just think of the scenes inside the house) I thought the scenes quite believable, as in they could (and probably do) happen in real life. Anyway, another great job for k-drama - I give it a thumbs up and recommend it!
Was this review helpful to you?
i_am_andi
6 people found this review helpful
Mar 15, 2013
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I have been absent in korean drama world for a while but "woah" what a comeback for me. This show is currently being televised in our country. When they first advertised it, it got my attention so I thought, let me read the reviews. After doing so, curiosity got the best in me. I waited it to be aired and then I start watching...first 2 episodes, I said, okay...then it became addictive that I can't wait for the next days for it to be aired so I spent my 2 rest days to watching the drama non-stop. I've got hooked. The leading man is so funny. I super love the ending. ITS A MUST WATCH DRAMA.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Becca256
12 people found this review helpful
Oct 22, 2011
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I saw the first episode of this drama when it came out, but I simply didn't like it, I don't know why.

But, a few days ago I finished a drama and I said to myself well if everyone is talking about it and it's getting so much recognition then it must have something good. And, as soon as I started watching it, I fell in love.



Story-It's really interesting because, as in Dream High, it gives you a chance to see a little of the inside world of Hallyu. Besides it doesn't get tiring at any time and it moves really fast, without losing any time. I specially loved that unlike most dramas, he was the one who fell in love first, and isn't afraid to admit it.



Acting-I was really impressed, specially with the main lead. I have to admit that at first I had my reservations because he was so OLD. But then I started noticing his acting and he's REALLY good. He is so much better than the female lead and is always setting the mood for the scene. The supporting actors were also very good and funny.



Music-It is great, there is always a great song accompanying each scene, completely according to the mood. I specially liked the suspense music because it made the scenes funnier. And of course I loved "Bum bum"! It is so catchy that I find myself humming it at times!



Rewatch value-I'd completely rewatch this drama, and probably will in vacations.



overall-so 10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
nerdbutdumb
9 people found this review helpful
Apr 15, 2013
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I heard wonderful things about this drama, so I decided to watch it even if the description didn't appeal much to me. And at first, I really enjoyed it! However, a bit after the middle, I began to feel bored watching it. All the dramas I've watched were predictable, and this one is no exception. But the difference with the others is that they kept me entertained. The only thing that kept me watching this was the wonderful acting and the funny scenes! That's something I really /loved/ about this drama. Especially Yoo In Na's and Cha Seung Won's scenes. I'd like to point out that this was definitely not a bad drama. Far from that. However, I think that most of the people who might like this will be slightly more mature than a childish sixteen-year-old like myself :P To conclude, I recommend this to anyone who enjoys comedies, funny engrish (I'm looking at you, Dokko Jin), awesome acting, and is in the mood for a light watch. And even if you are just as childish as me, give it a try!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
tantycute
19 people found this review helpful
Apr 20, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
First time,I was unsure to watch this drama..
I know Gong Hyo Jin because a lot of rom-comedy drama that she had.
However, she didn't leave me so much impression about her.
But, I didn't have any idea who Cha Seung Won was..
And I found that the two main leads weren't attractive for me..
So, I didn't interested to watch..
Then, I accidentally read some comments that showing it deserved to be watched. Finally, I decided to watch!!!!
OMG!! Although, the story about celebrity's life wasn't new for me..
The plot is great!! Every character was portraying their role so well..
What I can't forget about this drama is the sexiness of Dok Go Jin's voice.. "Ding Dong" >.<
Now, I'm loving them both lol.. :)
The ost songs are so sweet and enjoyable..
I don't recommend this drama for everyone who looking for attractive main leads.. But, I recommend this one for everyone who looking for drama that worth to watch.. Don't miss it!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?