The Battleship Island (2017) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 0.0 (scored by 1,869 users)
  • Ranked: #454
  • Popularity: #875
  • Watchers: 4,504

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

7%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

13 edits
6 edits
4 edits
4 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Crime/Politial Dramas
185 titles 27 loves

Recently Watched By

Completed
Blazingflame
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I was eagerly waiting for this movie since the day I saw it teaser. Did this movie live up to the expectations I had ?well no. Was the movie bad? Absolutely not. The first Time I saw the movie I like it, but on viewing it second time I liked it even more.
Like: The story, the movie is based on true events but its narrative is fictional.
Cast: There are two consistentgood thing on movie. One is performance of the cast. Hwang jung min and his onscreen daughter kim su ahn did phenonemal job. They are powerhouse of talent.
So ji sub, tbh the first 10 minutes of his performance were bored to me. Thankfully he picked it up later and h acting in last few minutes were heart breaking.
Song joong ki, ow did he landed on island? That's an unanswered question. His role compared to other four is short but, his character park moo young takes centre stage in last 30minutes. But he made an impact on me. He did a great job.
Lee Jun hyun, she is delight to watch. You will root for her the moment she appears on screen.
Action scenes in this movie are on par with Hollywood.
I wish the movies creenplay was tighter and well clean in the first 30minutes of movie. Editing too was issue. But overall movie is worth to watch for it's story, message and cast.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xlovelight
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 9, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
Won tickets to the Gala Premiere (and managed to see them live...hehe) and this movie was....wow!
Scenes were very very well shot, just the right amount of humour and suspense. The best actor is DEFINITELY Hwang Jung Min and the little girl that plays his daughter in this show. I was kept on my toes throughout the show. Song Joong Ki and So Ji Sub mentioned to us before the show started to "put aside all political views and just enjoy the show". Was wondering why they said that but as I watched it, I understood, because it is a really REALLY political-based show. So put aside your own political views, and just enjoy this show :)

Low rewatch value because the best part of the show is the suspense.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Yupon68
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 19, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
The three lead actors are among South Korea's most talented and loved, and the story of what Japan did to Korea is true (enslavement, rape, and mass murder, just as they inflicted on Nanking, China), a story that many Americans don't know about our ally. Though there are some plot gaps and sequencing gaffes creating a cut and paste effect in a few scenes, the film is well worth watching because of its themes, both historic and dramatic, and because of the twists, intrigues, betrayals, and heroism of this Korean story set in the face of the horrors of war and occupation. The film opens and closes in black and white, except at the end a spectral bit of horrifying color followed by the anguished face of the child. It follows a thrilling yet heartbreaking action sequence and closes with an elegiac triumph soaked in grief. This is, after all, a war story. There is a reason why Asians, especially the Koreans, have captured the world's attention while Hollywood continues to slide. They have tremendous talent, imagination, brilliance, and expertise along with a thousand-year history of culture, ideas, and experience. And because they are that good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Meineke
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 18, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 4.5
Saw it last week, went just for Song Joong Ki. Unfortunately I didn't like it much. I didn't feel much of a connection with the characters. I understand that it is based on historical events but there was too much violence and was overall incredibly depressing. Afterwards I felt utterly drained emotionally.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PHope
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 22, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie captures you with the story, which is as strong as it is heavy. First of all the visuals are as good as needed, with the scenes raw enough to express the emotions that this film wants to express. The film makers didn't hesitate to use scenes like the ones in the men's bath, that can be shocking and work as a punch in the guts to make you understand the seriousness of the matter. Now, the stories are interesting, especially the one with the father and his kid, but some of them were just there and not as strong as the rest. Eventually, however, towards the ending, things got a little chaotic. The final battle was long, longer than it should be and that kind of made me tired to watch. Eventually, the main problem of this movie is it's length, as some scenes were just too long. But it was an interesting movie to watch, so 6 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jianne
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 27, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
As a Song Joong Ki admirer, So Ji Sub lover, Hwang Jun Min fan, Kim Soo Ahn supporter and Lee Jung Hyun fanatic, I definitely had high hopes for The Battleship Island. Prior to watching, I was not exposed to Ryoo Seung Wan's films (I watched his previous works after this) so I wasn't very familiar with his style then—but after my mini-Ryoo Seung Wan marathon, this was a little underwhelming follow-up to Veteran (2015).

Kudos for the wonderful technicalities and truly recreating the real Hashima Island. As with Ryoo's works, the action scenes are impressive—particularly that of So's public bath sequence.

It's a great ensemble, spanning different generations. Hwang's obviously a veteran, one of South Korean's highest paid actions, So, a prominent drama and film actor, Song, one of the nation's sought-after Oppa, Lee, a prominent actress/singer in East Asia and Kim, a rising young actress. It's a dream cast. But the cast can only do so much.

An intriguing premise despite its nationalistic approach. But there's always been this redundancy that seems to spur out of these narratives that are set during the Japanese occupation—we've seen it in Age of Shadows, The Handmaiden, Assassination. Of course, each of these films take a different approach but it also makes me say—again?

Battleship Island lacks...depth and tension. Sure, it had its moments like So's action sequence but it just doesn't have that same spice as say, Age of Shadowswhose 30 minute train sequence moves the story AND character forward. Battleship's characters felt flat. And those with some substance—didn't make it to the end. To me, it felt too dramaticized.

As much as I have a bias for Song and So, they're probably guilty of replication. So had an character but it's not too fleshed out while Song just repeats his DOTS character—what's new from you? Hwang is okay although at times, he is too dramatic. Lee's fine too but again, intriguing but no substance. Kim's particularly better though she cries like 80% of the time.

In war films like this, character drives the film—much more than plot, at least in my opinion. You can have a simple war story but if you have boring characters—it's not enough to cut it. The ending also felt way too..unsatisfying. Sure, it's a film that shows the horrors of war but ultimately, what else?

Ryoo's use of gritty tones and spatial movements plus slick sequences reflect the mood that fit the war aesthetic are impressive though. As well as his use of music particularly to portray irony is also a plus. Also, a really unnecessary love story. Sort of love story. It sort of just didn't make sense.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Senpai
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
Brutal and bloody action scenes easily overshadowed by more fake CGI action sequences. Hwang Jung-min and Kim Su-an are well into the film, a laudable apprehension, so that the love between their characters, father Kang-OK and daughter So-hee undoubtedly shakes the public. However, most of the characters are mere one-dimensional adjuvants, especially Park Moo-young, played by Song Joong-ki. To make matters worse, innumerable problems are in the plot, in the narrative and in the edition, it is possible to notice the failures paying close attention, mainly in the chronology and mixtures between the real and the artificial. How did Park come to Battleship Island? Why did Park survive long after being shot and seriously injured? There are many loose ends ...
In short, this movie is great reminds the Koreans of the horrors of their ancestors, being informative of the actions during World War II.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
biniBningPunkista
0 people found this review helpful
Apr 9, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This movie wasn't really in my "To Watch List" due to the over rated reactions of those who've already seen it. After watching it I could understand the fuss since it was a good watch but it was not exactly the best in my book, it gave me mixed feelings as I went through with it. On another note before watching the show, I didn't really go through the actor list. The only familiar face I knew was Song Joong Ki. To my surprise I found So Ji Sub and Kim Soo An, the little kid who played as the daughter of the main lead in that zombie movie entitled "Train to Busan". Seeing them with diverse character backgrounds made my watching experience more enjoyable. I also discovered a new actor named Hwang Jung Min who caught my attention, his role was the father of Soo An which he acted so well and turned me into a believer of his talents. I'm sure I'll be checking out some of his other movies soon.

Story wise the plot was cut in different segments to show several protagonists and their situations before arriving in the same place at the same time, however it was a bit off in some places. As if scenes were inserted here in and there without considering the back story and handing it off to the viewer's imagination instead. I guess that's one of the quirks that I had to deal with while watching films. I need to have a concrete backstory on everything before making a logical conclusion. Setting that aside, I still enjoyed it as it was despite having my heart clenched every time I see the hardships of Koreans who were forced to work under the Japanese regime. There was this particular scene that got to me, it was the part where they made a facade for human trafficking by indicating that they were employed. Someone was announcing in the speakers that the Koreans were employed by a certain company all the while they separated the male and female then handed them record books for their payment as they walked off the boat and were guided to their sleeping quarters, rifles were held behind their backs as they walked on. Men had their hair shaved off and brought to the mines while the women’s bodies were checked for any signs of diseases as they were going to be put in the comfort house where they were made into whores. The fact that these people were practically kidnapped, put into slavery and yet the Japanese still say that they were employed… it was a dark irony. That being said I believe that the movie has a serious tone, but despite that it still has its own happy scenes scattered about at unexpected moments.

The OST was fitting all throughout its run time. It had all the elements needed to represent how a person’s war torn heart could be put in a melody. I would suggest to wait until the credits part as the song used for it may hit a few cords of a melancholic heart and make a lasting memory about the movie. I’m rating it 8/10 for the way it affected me after I’m done watching. I could still hear the agony during the battle and the cry for freedom of the people who were forced to slavery masked by employment. I may not be rewatching this soon but I am recommending this to people who want to watch a dramatic-action-packed movie and know a piece of history of Koreans during World War 2.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PrashastSingh
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 18, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I'll be straight: the film was breathtaking. I started watching and
didn't realise when 2 hours passed away. It was really engaging, and
well executed. Visually it looks like a fantasy. Ryoo Seung-wan's
recent release THE BATTLESHIP ISLAND is a well made action film that
never gets too melodramatic and the entertainment quotient remains
quite high throughout.

It's another time I'm impressed with Hwang Jung-min. He delivers
another great performance as he did in ASURA. So Ji-sub was decent in
the action sequences, but one would wish his character got a proper
scope in the second hour. Song Joong-ki's character was extremely well
written and he delivers a great performance. Kim Su-an does another
mindblowing job after TRAIN TO BUSAN. One can only wish she does more
such roles because she really acts well. Same for rest of the cast.

The screenplay is excellent: it stays focused and never deviates from
storytelling. The action sequences are jaw-dropping and mindblowing:
make sure you watch the film in a very high quality so as to appreciate
the film even more. The cinematography is excellent and captures the
eye-catching visuals very well. The editing is decent and really, I
didn't wish the film was shorter.

THE BATTLESHIP ISLAND turns out to be a terrific action film which
should be seen not just because of its high quality technical values
but also to know about this extremely well-narrated tale of survival.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
FeatheredRaven
0 people found this review helpful
May 17, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
I found this movie by coincidence, and wow... i'm speechless.
This was a WHOLE new experience for me. I've seen several movies and kdrama's that have themes of war in them but this one really wears the crown. The way practically nothing has been taken out or censored really makes it look like you're watching the real event. I've never been this fascinated by a movie like this, yet it also terrifies me. I'm not a fan of gore scenes yet i couldn't stop watching.
---
The acting was so realistic.. all of the actors did a great job on making the movie even more realistic by showing raw emotions. I personally really loved the big scenes, the set seemed so realistic and there was so much going on. It almost seemed as if you were there, in the chaos that was happening.
---
Don't even get me started on the music. You'd expect the big fighting scenes to have exciting music however, they used mostly calm music on the times the chaos was biggest, sometimes even a single person's song without the music. The music made the movie seem terrifyingly real. They used their ost's at the perfect times.
---
I personally found the story slightly disturbing and confusing but that made me want to keep watching even more. You really wanna know what happens to the characters in the movie due to the many questions it leaves you with after each scene. Fascinating....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
blinkable
0 people found this review helpful
May 1, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Emotionally gripping for me to watch this because I tend to be overwhelmed by what happened to the characters in war-plot movie. The casts were all great and wonderful in their roles, each bringing out one another's best aspects and molded their chemistry throughout the journey in this movie. There were various themes on humanity being touched and carried on as the key to this movie while you are brought into an existential reflection of what if you are part of it in that war-era period, what would you have done to stay alive and what would you have chose to do. Watch this movie without getting too hung up on the political facts but more on being in the shoes of those who had to plough their way for survival. I also like the cinematography of the scenes when everyone trying to escape and working together towards it although I must say the ways certain gun shots shown just a bit hard to comprehend how certain people so easily died while certain just survived.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?