As One

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.7 (scored by 1,933 users)
  • Ranked: #198
  • Popularity: #837
  • Watchers: 4,251

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

13%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

11 edits
5 edits
5 edits
1 edit

Recently Watched By

Completed
AdeNike
21 people found this review helpful
Oct 13, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I've been putting As One off for a while, because I knew I was going to cry rivers. True life stories are always touching to me, a producer really needs to come up with a funny true life story or something.

I gave the story a 10, because it's a true life story, everything shown were real events and happenings......there would be additions or subtractions somewhere. During the whole time I was watching, I was glued to my screen, when they started chanting ''fighting'', I was chanting along. Even though I knew it wasn't a live match, but I couldn't just help it.

The cast are simply awesome, one of the main reasons I watched this, is because of Ha Ji Won. She's an awesome actress. I also love the dialect and the way they were speaking. The various casts portrayed their roles well!!!!

This movie is WORTH it!!!! After watching As One, I really wish NK and SK find a way to unify permanently. A lot of people got and are still getting hurt through this separation.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Skye-N-Rain
27 people found this review helpful
Aug 13, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
So where do I begin? I play Ping Pong myself so after I saw that there was another movie about ping pong coming out, I knew I had to watch it.

Story: 9/10: The story isn't really that unique, but what bumped it up for me was that it was based off of a true story and most of the events in the movie actually happened. During the entire movie, there was not one moment where I was bored, thus the high rating.

Acting/Cast: 10/10: The cast was absolutely perfect. They all did a great job.

Music: 8/10: There wasn't that much music in the movie, but sometimes(and in this case) the phrase 'less is more' comes into play.

Rewatch Value: 5/10: I don't rewatch movies or dramas. However, I can see myself rewatching this with a friend or family member.

Overall: 10/10: I wouldn't change one thing about this movie. It was perfect and I hope to see more films like this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
xeenatheprincesswarrior
10 people found this review helpful
Mar 6, 2013
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This movie is based on true events, and I am not really into sports movie, but this one really is an awesome story!

It is mixed with hilarious scene, a little romance, friendship, overcoming fear and most of all, uniting because of one purpose. It gives lessons in life and sportsmanship.

In every scene going to the end part, it was so intensed that I am always on my toes! it's like watching a favorite basketball or football game where the two teams competing each other was just one point difference!

I learned a few things in this movie about the situation and laws between North and South Korea and I really appreciate it.


I like the pacing, the music, the actors were really good at their characters, there's no dull moments. I cried at the last scene especially when they are showing the "true" pictures of those "real" athletes.
I highly recommend this movie even to those no sports movie fan like me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kanz_cech
7 people found this review helpful
Apr 10, 2014
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I like sports, I like movies, so ofcourse movie about sports is welcomed.

I watch it twice and maybe rewatch it again whenever I want to see a particular scene. Ha Ji Won and Bae Doo Na are awesome as usual, their rivalry become one of the highlight of this movie.

Based on true events, this movie move my heart and soul. I can't watch this without shedding tears.
A true gem for someone who like sports!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
leahakiko
5 people found this review helpful
Nov 10, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Great, great movie. Gave the story a 10 because it was based off a true story. Never heard about this movie until today, mainly watched it because Lee Jong Suk talked about it on a variety show. I didn't know the story or cast and just watched it.

This is a very inspiring movie. there are always movies about enemies somehow getting put together and becoming a team, but it's usually fiction. the fact that this actually happened makes it that much more amazing.

I loved the cast. didn't realize Ha Ji Won was in it, and as always she aced her role. the supporting roles were all great. there wasn't one person that didn't fit their role.

I absolutely love sport movies and the ones based on true stories are the best! Plus the ending was just priceless. it made me smile (: Everyone should watch this movie!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Taldaw
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 28, 2012
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Great movie, story gets a 10 because it unfolds in a great way throughout the movie and is a true life story.
Acting is as always flawless (especially Ha Ji Won).
The music is good but not outstanding so it gets a 7.

I strongly recommend this movie to anyone that's into sports and movies that involves strong friendship!
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
biniBningPunkista
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 1, 2015
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm so happy that I was finally able to watch this film. I've been waiting for ages to have a copy of it with subs. My wait was not in vain!

Over all it was such a wonderful film. The fact that this was based in real life, that information made it more interesting to watch and it added a spark to the story line. It also made me curious as to what really happened behind the scenes during the 1991 World Table Tennis Championships in Chiba. The way the script writers and producers set motion to the whole thought of uniting two conflicting countries in this movie for a game of ping-pong was simply incredible. They were able to put emphasis on the hardships of each character, their triumphs on over coming differences and going beyond their own boundaries.

It is given that Ha Jiwon and Bae Doo Na are expected to have a great on screen chemistry as veteran actresses, but then add up the rest of the supporting actors into the mix, it certainly became a superb performance. The whole thing made me laugh, cry and laugh again. It was such an entertaining piece of work. Although the music wasn't that memorable, the story and acting made up for everything else that was missed out.

What I loved most about this movie is the warm moments shown throughout the entire duration of the film. The fact that this moments happened in real life is a plus point too! Another thing is that they added clips of the real people to show that this indeed happened in real life, that was such a nice touch to a very well done movie.

I am highly recommending this to those people who are into watching sports and real life themed movies. I'm sure it won't disappoint.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lady
0 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
Such a remarkably touching story. It truly depicts the sorts of tensions that arise through the unification of the two teams and at that time of the two countries too.

What starts out as a race for gold, slowly develops into a great story of friendship and overcoming the odds.

The two leads Ha Ji Won and Bae Doo Na were amazing - and likewise the supporting actors were equally great in generating this feel for a growing unified team. The emotions were craaazy.

I have a serious love for sports movies as they are often so inspiring and for movies based on real life events - and this movie combines the both. Aces!

If you want something similar I would suggest 'Run off'.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lih
0 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
Taken place in 1991 when the two koreas "became one" in name of sports (more precisely table tennis).

To be honest movies about sports in general are not the type that catches my attention, yet this one surprised me a lot.

The main plot tells the story of two women one from south korea and the other from north korea, leaders of each team. It tells in an interesting and fun way the differences of each country, either their behavior or beliefs.

Its really nice to watch and its a great story about union, even more touching because portraits a post-war union.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Anna
0 people found this review helpful
27 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
I've been really hesitant about watching As One – I, for one, am not a fan of overly dramatic movies.

But As One did not let me down. Although I had heard the story of Hyun Jung-hwa and Li Bun-hui prior to watching the movie, I loved the suspense. The acting was top-notch from both the leading actresses and the supporting cast. It made my heart ache, though, knowing Hyun and Li didn't get the real reunion later that they much deserved.

The story is simple and linear, but very true to what really happened.

The one thing I disliked about As One was the soundtrack – it felt lacking to me, the composers didn't quite understand the unique bond Hyun and Li shared.


I recommend As One to everyone who's curious about the North-South relationship because this movie portrays it well. Prepare a few tissues, though.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
OhSoEnthusiastic
1 people found this review helpful
May 21, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 1.0
There are certain Korean movies that everyone, Korean film fans and not, should see. This is one of them. Not just because it’s a stellar movie, from acting to writing to cinematography, but more importantly, because of what it depicts. An extremely important time in North and South Korea’s history as separate countries. Though they may still be at war, this moment in history is a reason for hope. If they can come together once…

They can do it again.

Do yourself a favor. Watch this movie.
Was this review helpful to you?