The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
School 2017

Details

  • Drama: School 2017
  • Country: South Korea
  • Episodes: 16
  • Aired On: Monday, Tuesday
  • Network: KBS2
  • Duration: 60 min.
  • Genres: Mystery, Comedy, Romance, School, Youth
  • Rating: 15+ Restricted (violence & profanity)

Statistics

  • Score: 8.3 (scored by 4,012 users)
  • Ranked: #352
  • Popularity: #247
  • Members: 8,539
Write a Review
totoro
19 people found this review helpful
Sep 6, 2017
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 4.5
I'm going to be that one person who wasn't hyped about this drama... just kidding?

I loved the first couple episodes. They were exciting and unpredictable (most of the time). But after the eighth ep, it slowed down a lot, so I got bored. Why did I stick with it till the end? I was already halfway through, so I stayed for the romance (haha, this isn't the first time something like this has happened) ;-)

Try this drama if you love light school dramas with a bit of mystery. I was really impressed by the acting of the cast, especially rookie actors Kim Se Jung and Kim Jung Hyun. Their chemistry is over the roof. I found myself skipping through episodes just to get to their scenes. The side storylines were incorporated well. Like sunah said, School 2013 has the best bromance, School 2015 has the best second lead syndrome (rip), and School 2017 has the best male lead. I personally enjoyed School 2015 the most out of all the School series (except for that last episode), but go ahead and give School 2017 a try. It might be your type of drama. :-) It was a fun kdrama, even if it lost steam in the second half.

The final verdict: watch if you enjoy predictable fluffy dramas

Check out:
- Sassy Go Go
- Reply 1988
- Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
hardpliers
13 people found this review helpful
Sep 5, 2017
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Brilliant drama, absolutely a gold medal winning series of 2017! It captured my heart right from the beginning and held the strong feelings inside right until the very last episode!

It's one of those dramas that is filled with emotion. Showing the real and quite awful education system in South Korea, the realness factor was why I became interested in watching. Of course, I have to mention the other "School" series but unfortunately, I can't compare any them to this drama, since this is my first "School" series that I've watched. Nevertheless, the actors really put on a great show! As far as I know, the majority of them are amateurs in acting, I just have to give them cool points. Furthermore, the characters were relatable, totally "best friend" and "best couple" goals! After each and every episode, I had to tell my friends what kind of a great drama this is. Not only does it make you feel kinda cool, brave and happy after watching it, but also concerned and shocked about some of the school related things. To add, the music made a hugely positive impact. The OST is very fitting and there are a couple songs that piqued my interest.

A wonderful drama for back to school or to reminisce the good old high school days. This drama will take you on a diverse emotion trip and leave you feeling chilled! Definitely re-watching it after I complete the other "School" series!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
AROHACindy
7 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2017
Overall 6.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
Normally I don't like leaving negative reviews, but I would recommend not falling into it's ranking trap.
I can't believe this is ranked above many other great dramas... I started it and tried to stick with it to the end but dropped it halfway because I was losing interest and the plot really is so hard to relate to...
I enjoyed other School series because it covered problems and taught valuable lessons about students...
This one doesn't have much meaning??? Honestly it just comes down to how bad this school is about. It's a school that doesn't listen to students and falsely accuses and abuses the lower ranked students. The characters in here are just trying to overcome the sh*ttiness of this school is all this drama is about...

I really didn't enjoy it :( I love Sejeong but I think her acting is too noticeable that she's a rookie actress :/ This drama isn't TOTALLY bad but honestly there are better ones to use your time on ^^'

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
scarletlover1
12 people found this review helpful
Aug 18, 2017
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
So good. School 2017 exceeded my expectations. Seriously, I wasn't expecting a lot from it but as watched the series, I couldn't wait for the next episode! In my opinion this is a lot better than School 2015 when it comes to the story.

The story includes the typical bullies, rich students who can get away with anything, poor students who are having a hard time, people lying about who they really are, a horrible school with these ridiculous rules and the bigger issue: TRUST. However, you see certain people who are sick of the system and want to make a difference. It was great to see how people would get through certain situations and they would have each other to get through them. They did a good job at the twists as well. There are some things that you will see and didn't expect. I feel they did a great job at balancing the light and darkness throughout this show. It gets better and better with each episode. Also thought they did great at not dragging things out for too long.

Our main leads, Eun Ho and Tae Woon have amazing chemistry! They're so cute and can't wait for their next moment! They will always put a smile on your face(:

The cast did an amazing job especially Kim Se Jung with this being her first leading role.

I would rewatch this show a hundred times, I love it so much!

Defintely goes in my Top 10 Korean Dramas of 2017! As well as including Eun Ho and Tae Woon in my Top 10 Korean Drama Couples!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
catstreet
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 6, 2017
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This was my absolute favorite out of all the School series. Okay okay, I'll admit I didn't finish the other two, but I really did try with them lmfao. But that's neither here nor there.

This drama is something special. It's not just your regular slice of life romantic drama, it really sucks you in from the first episode and then makes you fall in love with all the characters, again and again. The casting for this drama was spectacular. I was rather surprised to learn that this was Se Jeong's first acting role. I was never one for the Produce 101 series but I didn't realize she was actually a kpop idol haha. Either way, she really knocked it out of the park! It kind of reminded me of my girl Eunji when I first saw her in Reply 1997. She's got that spunk, for real. I can't wait to see her again in another series someday.

That brings me to our main attraction, ofc, Jung Hyun. Boy am I happy this guy got a lead role. He clearly deserves a thousand more, and I hope this has really opened everyone's eyes to just how talented he is. I loved his portrayal of the cocky, sweet, kind-hearted but mischievous Tae Woon, and he really made the show what it was. I think Tae Woon was the reason I continued watching episode after episode (I'll admit, I'm kind of in love with him.) The supporting cast were just as fabulous, with rising stars Dong Yoon and Ji Hoon. I also adore Park Se Wan and after seeing her refreshing role in Radiant Office, I'm eager to also catch another one of her roles sometime! Even though I loved to hate the arrogant douche that was Hee Chan, he really made that character his own.

The story was entertaining; maybe a little too surreal, but let's be honest, its kdrama. Although it didn't particularly 'break the mould,' I think it knew exactly what it wanted to be and where it wanted its story to end up. I completed the drama feeling pretty damn satisfied for the most part.

Although I can't really say much about the music, (if I'm honest I was far too engaged with what was happening to even really take much notice), I still really loved the instrumental track and felt really pumped whenever I heard it. It really went with the theme and the setting of the drama too. I feel like a couple of the tracks (the ones I did remember) also helped to really tug those emotional heartstrings, because there were a number of times I would find myself with tears flowing down my cheeks. That might have had a little something to do with the beautiful chemistry between our fabulous main leads though.

Now, anyone who knows me, knows I don't rewatch things very often. Dramas, movies, shows, I just never really bother, nor enjoy it. But I think I would rewatch this a thousand times, if only to see that overwhelmingly sexy smile of Jung Hyun's over and over. Because really, if anything, that's a reason enough to dip your toes into this brilliant series.

I still am gonna go all out and say I'd love a one off special, but I know that's wishful thinking lmao.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Jessica
6 people found this review helpful
Sep 6, 2017
Overall 10
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
You know it's all over when you literally cannot sit still for more than five seconds throughout an entire drama. This was what School 2017 was to me. A great story, a phenomenal cast, fantastic character development, and amazing relationship dynamics that left me screaming and on the edge of my seat every monday-tuesday. While not my personal #1 drama of 2017 because I have particular tastes, it's my #1 must watch for everyone else of 2017. I go into specifics but scroll down to the last paragraph for my verdict.
In regards to the story, it begins a bit rocky and a bit lacking, but the narrative really grows into itself with a charming ensemble and careful articulation of relationships.
If I could give a standing ovation to these new young actors, I would. The biggest surprise I think no one saw coming was Kim Sejeong nabbing a a leading role as her first, and then owning it so well. The lack of experience was apparent, but not an issue considering her ability to charm and her great connection to her character. Kim Jung Hyung was absolutely a show-stealer. From sageuk to high school slice of life, I'm so glad he's gaining more roles and recognition because I sincerely love his expressions.
The music was probably the weakest point of the drama, but in a way I'm glad they didn't capitalize upon it too heavily because it could have distracted from the other good elements of the drama.
Overall, this drama didn't hit deep, but it hit where it counts: the issues we encounter daily, and the brighter side of every situation. The characters are absolutely lovely and swoon-worthy (in terms of personality, not just looks!) and the leads have crazy chemistry.

VERDICT: This is wonderfully fun (like Fight for My Way), coming of age (like the Reply Series), and has the cutest romance (rivaling Weightlifting Fairy and SWDBS) I've seen in a while. I also find it to be an incredibly refreshing entry in the school series and overall genre and it could have eaily fallen into tropes and traps but remained refreshing and exciting! 10/10 would watch again!
***this has no spoilers as its for MDL, but I will be posting spoiler reviews on my blog that I'll link in my profile!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
xXabsintheXx
4 people found this review helpful
Sep 5, 2017
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I never watched the Reply dramas nor did I see the other compilations of this School series (2013, 2015). So, I can't compare them and I don't think it's necessary anyways since all their stories stand on their own. Because I was never interested in school dramas, I didn't want to start this one either. Only the trailer got me curious enough to try it out.

And I'm so glad I started this.

The story itself is nothing special or unique actually. You have your usual tropes, clichés and unbelievable problems, but the writers still managed to pull off a captivating and engaging script that doesn't let go - in addition a cast that did an amazing job with their assigned roles.

Each one of them gets slowly introduced to you, some earlier and others a bit later. I liked the pace they kept with those because it helped building up my sympathy for them and made me care for their backgrounds and problems - why they acted the way they did and whether I could relate to them or not.

I was quite happy to finally see Kim Jung Hyun in a leading role. After his impressive appearances in Jealousy Incarnate and Rebel Who Stole The People, he deserved a good script and the opportunity to shine more. And he did! He was cocky, wicked, short-tempered, smart, childish, funny, charming, lovely. The perfect hard shell with a soft core. He twisted me around his little finger way too fast - not that I mind.

Kim Se Jung. I think I was never more impressed with a young new actress who doesn't have much experience so far as this seems to be her very first decent role after acting school (there's only one guest role listed on her profile and I don't want to count that one in).
She blew me off, if I may say so. She pulled off the role of a feisty, strong-willed young female student who fights for her dreams and friends with such confidence, that you might think she did acting ever since she was born. Believe me, I'm not exaggerating. Kim Se Jung has great potential and I'm sure she will become one of the big ones one day.

Jang Dong Yoon was another new face for me and like the other ones, he convinced me with his acting from beginning to end. I'm already excited to see more of him in the near future. Same praise goes to the rest of the cast as well who harmonized quite well with each other. You start to like some of them more and other less, but that's the plan anyways, right?

Most of the teachers are already experienced Sunbaes, so it's not surprising that I can't point out someone who actually failed at his or her performance. Their characters' bad behavior spiced up the story, of course, although not all of them were bad people. But I'm a little sad that most of them stayed flat with their stereotype impression of your usual villains.

The part that actually made me deduct points in my rating was the final 'battle' and the fact that they sketched ALL the rich people as the power abusing, unreasonable jerks we already know from other dramas. I would have loved to see at least one or two exceptions.

So, overall a highly enjoyable drama that encourages you to root along with the good guys and maledict the bad ones, while a sweet and caring storyline completes this average yet exceptional drama. If you're looking for something lighthearted that manages to raise your blood pressure in a good way nonetheless, this is definitely the right choice.

Oh, and before I forget to mention this:
Skinship looks very natural as well. The leads had chemistry that got even me excited.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
IvyNoreen
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 12, 2017
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I loved School 2015, so when I heard about School 2017 I got excited. I am Sejeong's fan as a singer but the thought of her taking a lead role on her first drama doesn't really suits me. But I decided to give it a try, why not?

So I decided to watched the first episode, which is sadly didn't appeal to me as much. I stopped after around 10 minutes. I think I attempt to finish the first episode 3 times before I decided that I will really watch it.

The story is okay. Nothing much new. It's kind of predictable. I like it when they are finding X, but then when X got revealed, it got me bored. I remember fast forwarding some scenes after episode 8 or 9? (For the story, I like Sassy Go Go better)

The acting are fine. But I don't find chemistry between the leads, I actually like Dae Hwi and Nam Joo more.

Maybe younger ones prefer this show more. I'm way past this age so.. maybe just not my cup of tea.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
PHope
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 20, 2017
Overall 4.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
School 2017 disappoints in the way that is not as good as the rest of the school series. The concept is a bit different, yet it deals with bulling and corrupted school systems. But in this case, the emphasis is given mainly on the X student mystery and on the main character's relationship with her fellow classmates and the school director's son more specifically. The lover triangle, moreover, was weak, barely there and didn't really effected the plot in the end. The lead actress was good in her role, even though I expected her to be more shy and restrained, being one of her first roles as an actress rather than a singer. So, she was a nice surprise. However, the rest of the story was dull and the whole series kind of lacked of interesting twists to keep it going.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
TaraLynch
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2017
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is the latest entry in the long running School series. (Each "season" is a stand alone season, new casts, new storylines, so not quite one would expect if one is mostly familiar with how American television series' work.) It carries all the hallmarks I've come to expect of school dramas - young adult romance, poor vs. rich struggles, bullying, corrupt administration, strained bromance, friendship struggles, etc. School 2017 does them all admirably well. The corruption in the school administration is over the top and horrifying disheartening. The young cast is enthusiastic and enjoyable to watch. Kim Jung Hyun (who I liked very much in Jealousy Incarnate) plays Hyun Tae Woon, the angry son of the school's chairman. Kim Se Jung plays Ra Eun Ho, the poor but plucky (aren't they always plucky?) aspiring webtoon artist who ends up being the target of the corrupt administration as the scapegoat for various things going on around the school. The extended cast does a good job selling the trials, tribulations, and triumphs of young friendship. You'll hate the rich, privileged parents who are all too happy to game the system for the advantage of their children only. You'll love the friendship and trust many of the students find which changes them for the better. I loved that there really wasn't a love triangle in this one, and the relationship between the two main characters is adorable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
KatySarang_TGeyes
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 8, 2017
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This is a pretty good drama. I really really enjoyed it and all it's characters!

also. be prepared for the essay XD

Characters:

Hyun Tae Woon: my disney prince! Gosh I loved him. I wasn't sure if I'd like him at first, because he seemed to immature, and sometimes rude (but I quickly realized he was teasing, and not serious). But oh wow, how that changed. He is so adorable! I loved his story, and found him relatable. Also, for those saying he's possessive. there's a part ***slight spoiler*** where eunho says she doesn't want to go public, and when she's passed out, he's at the hospital by her bedside, and teacher shim, asks why he's being so attentive, he says he's there as a classmate, and respects her wishes***slight spoiler ended*** basically, he teases her and acts "possessive," but when she's serious, he respects her, even when he could've easily gone against her will. doesn't sound possessive to me.

Ra Eun Ho: I loooooooove her!!!! She is straight people goals, like this is how people should act like. I love her relationships with the characters, and how she brought out the best in all of them! I also found myself relating to her too! Also, if y'all are scared to watch this cuz she's an idol, let me rest your fears. Her acting really improves after the first 4 ep. She portrayed her character really well, and did a great job, especially since this is her first drama.

Song Dae Hwi: oh my gosh. the way dong yoon, reals me in every single fricking time against my will is unreal. I found myself unbelievably invested in his character, and needing him to turn out right in the end. If this character wasn't portrayed by dong yoon, I dunno if I'd love him as much, but because he is, and is portrayed wonderfully, I ended up highly enjoying his character. While I found myself not relating to Dae Hwi at all at first, I then found myself relating to him too much. how i dunno. My only complaint, is that I wish his character got more screen time, especially towards the end.

Kyung Woo: WHY??? he is such a great actor! And gets little screen time, and literally every other side character gets somewhat of a story, except him. He's the boy that plays his guitar and crushes on sa rang, that's it. I wanted some inside of his life, but I never got it T___T Despite this though, I still loved his character. (y'all need to check him and dong yoon out in solomon's perjury, and get some real screen time with the both of them).

Teacher Shim: Didn't like him at first, but he really started to grow on me. Loved seeing him go from the person, who has all the ideals but won't speak up, to some one whose willing to speak.

Police Lady: wondered what her purpose was at first...but then she starts getting more of a purpose in the last half.

Sa Rang: I fricking loved her, and her relationship with Eun Ho, reminded me with my friends. She was great and also relatable.

Bo Ra: I looove bo ra!! I loved seeing her grow!

Plot: K. Do NOT expect a crime show. I know there is a mystery, but that isn't the focus. This is a character-centered show. Even the mystery, is more heart warming than it is intriguing. Personally I perfer like that though.

Romance: THE ROMANCE IS AWESOME. I love it! Tae Woon and Eun Ho are dating goals!!!! They support and love each other, and it's amazing! It's an equal relationship and I loooove it!!!!! Dude. Watch it, for the romance lol.

Things I didn't like: Not enough Kyung Woo, needed more wrap up with Hee Chan, need more dae hwi. right when side characters solved their trials and problems, they sorta dropped off the radar. Which makes me sad, cuz by that time you're in love, and then they're barely there....

Overall, I'd definitely recommend it!!!!!!! Definitely worth the watch!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Rushvi
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This show was overall perfect. The music was great and so was the acting, story and cast. The story was great as it included romance, comedy, mystery and I loved that it was mostly realistic. The main couple's chemistry was great and i find it great that everyone ended up 'happy'. The story was also up to date, they show how 21 century features are important and what is wrong with today's society. The one part i disliked at the start was there was no second lead fighting for the main actress but in the end i thought it made sense and it also made the impact of their relatioship stronger. Overall one of the top dramas of 2017

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?