Completed
qsaint
162 people found this review helpful
Jan 5, 2018
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 6
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Hands down, this is the best movie I've watched in a long time. In fact, the only issue I have with it is that it's too short, so sit back and enjoy my verbal spew of compliments. Oh, and before I begin: THIS IS *NOT* A TRAGEDY. I repeat, less obnoxiously, Long Time No See has a happy ending.

Story:
The story is well developed but a bit rushed since this is quite short for a movie. There are several things I could see being fleshed out better with more time, but they use the time they have well. I'd give a summary, but I probably would end up spoiling something.

Acting/Cast:
Alright, this is my favorite part. There were three scenes I watched maybe thirty times each because of how raw and real the acting was. The cast knows what they're doing. The gang boss we see the most of frequently over acts and it threw me off at first until, after a few more interactions, I realized his personality was extra, not his acting. Chisoo, our protagonist, almost pushed me to the brink of tears and I have literally never cried over a movie. The combo of Chisoo and Gitae and all the emotion the shoved into every scene didn't bother pushing me; it punted me past the sun and directly into a galaxy of ugly sobbing. And I was damn glad for it. Okay, let me not get to into this, the short version is simple: the acting is amazing. The cast is amazing.

Music:
If you watch this movie and happen to notice the music, I don't think you're watching hard enough. It took a couple run-throughs before my brain could focus on anything but the immediate action. The music that I did hear and process was good, more so because it fit and blended into scenes instead of snatching me out of them.

Rewatch Value:
I rewatch no movies. Ever. I just don't have the attention span, especially if I already know what happens. That said, I have watched this movie three times in as many days and I'm not bored yet.  In fact, every time I watch it again, I have a bit more fun (and bemoan how short it is a little harder).

Overall:
Watch this movie. Watch this movie because there is absolutely something in it that will make it a favorite of yours. I was wary at first, but it was 100% worth my money and I'd pay for it again even. The happy ending is just a bonus, because this would be my review even if it was a tragedy.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
HipposandLasers
76 people found this review helpful
Jan 11, 2018
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
What can I say other than I adored this? How often do you find LGBT media with functional, real relationships that don’t end in tragedy? Long Time, No See absolutely blew away all my expectations. Absolutely a long-time favorite movie.

Story: The story was cliche, but I live for cliches, especially mob-related so basically I adored it. Due to the length, certain very small scenes were a tad confusing if only because the cut into them seemed random, but they soon became clear. By the end of each chapter (which are usually ~15 min. segments), I had a very clear understanding of what was going on, so the confusion wasn’t long-lasting.

Acting/Cast: I’m not gonna lie, for a small studio film, I wasn’t expecting much re: the acting, but I was absolutely blown away. The actors are incredible and create such dynamic characters through facial expressions alone. They were an amazing cast that I would love to see in future dramas.

Music: So cute! The reoccurring song that played every time Gitae and Chisoo had a moment was sweet, gentle, and just downright adorable. It encapsulated that fuzzy feeling of butterflies in your stomach. The music for the action scenes were perfect for creating a high intensity environment, as well.

Rewatch Value: The only reason I am not immediately rewatching this movie is because I have to go to class in the morning. Needless to say, I will be watching this movie many more times in the future.

TL;DR: If you’re looking for a good LGBT movie with great acting, a fun plot, and a happy ending, then Long Time, No See is the choice for you. Please support this movie and the studio STRONGBERRY by buying the chapters ($12) so we can hopefully see more wonderful content like this in the future!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shiro
13 people found this review helpful
May 10, 2022
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 3
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0

Fights ad Fluff, Fluff and Fights...

This is a yet a gain way to short series/movie with slightly off pacing... though the characters are slightly flat they are pretty much lovable and make you want to just give them a big hug, most of them, some could probably use a syab wound or two... And may or may not actually get it... A long with a bunch of pretty unpredictable twists here and there... by knife and or plot...

The boys are sweet, passionate and have pretty good chemistry, there is plenty of thirst scenes and we do get to see abs touched, kissed, and talked about... They also have som pretty decent dialog and seem to generally care for each other. As well as did keep me on my toes.

There are also a few meaningful lines here and there about love, family and taking control over ones own life.

All in all a pretty decent show, definitely worthy of anybodys time be it the fluff , fight or suspense lovers out there it shows a pretty good balance and has a little bit everything

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rent343 Flower Award1
19 people found this review helpful
Jan 29, 2020
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 5
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
I didn't feel emotionally engaged by any part but for one scene where there was a big reveal. Even then the emotional impact was super muted.
I dunno, it felt like I was reading a sparknotes summary for a great novel. I got all the big facts/ plot points but the delivery took little to no time to make those facts emotionally significant.

It's a pity because there were some really cute steamy bits that would have been really fun if they'd worked harder to make me care about the couple.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
honey
8 people found this review helpful
Sep 13, 2018
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
So firstly, I really did enjoy this mini series, it has many good points, but I do want to give a fair warning that it FLIES through the plot. I mean A LOT is glossed over, to the point you might think its a budgeting issue not just lazy writers. This series really should have been a full 12-15 eps in my opinion. The characters and the overall plot would have benefitted from it. That being said,

STORY
Super intriguing on a base level. I like this plot line they were trying to flesh out, and i could do enough back-fill myself to make it seem more full than it really was, but still it was very enjoyable and entertaining. This is also a down side though, as because it's so short you almost feel ripped off or that there are 5-7 extra eps laying on the cutting room floor in the editors office. I like seeing two capable, independent and strong dudes fall in love because it keeps away from the often ham-fisted fem!sub with a masc!dom that spurs up in these type of stories often. It's pretty cool

ACTING
Okay the acting pretty much made everything worth it. The two leads are great and there is definitely chemistry -- I enjoy the dichotomy of kr film being either NOTHING or going the full 9-yards and beating you over the end with make-out and strip scenes. Luckily for this film there was the latter.
the sister is also a great actor and she's very cute and genuine.

REWATCH?
yes just because there are some missing plot lines and such that'd i'd like to take time to fill in on my own. also the scenes mentioned before are hot sooo... ace.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Odessa Jones
10 people found this review helpful
Mar 18, 2018
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 10
For a mini-drama that was less than 90 minutes, this one offered plenty of heart-wringing moments. The story managed to combine romance and gangsters in a way that went beyond yaoi manga cliches. The actors are inexperienced, but they are so sincere that they touch your heart. The script is well-written and the characters are fleshed out. There are huge plot holes, but they didn't bother me much. Unlike many BL narratives, this story gives us heroes who know they like men. They have a believable and touching love-at-first-sight (with a bizarre twist) story.

There's also some good social commentary squeezed into this short drama. It's significant that the biggest conflict between Ji Soo and his gang-boss "father" is more about his homosexuality than his loyalty. The two heroes have very different experiences of being gay--Ji Soo has been bullied and humiliated for it, while Gitae has a loving sister who understood and accepted his sexuality when he was still in high school. Ji Soo's experience is far more common than Gitae's in Korea today. But that just made Gitae and his sister even more likable. Homophobia is so rife here in Korea that we really need some hopeful stories like this.

The usual web-drama caveats apply: the editing is hard to follow, the first episode is confusing, and of course, I wish it was longer. But I don't care. It's so amazing to find a Korean boys' love drama that's this good--plus it doesn't end in tragedy! And it's worth noting that the emotional aspects of the story are never confusing. While the extrinsic plot about the gangsters is sometimes unclear, the director and actors make sure we always know how the characters are feeling about their relationship. And that's what matters most.

I still have a billion questions: how the hell did Gitae get into this business in the first place? Why doesn't his sister know? How did Black Leopard and Black Rose find out the guys betrayed them and why didn't anyone think ahead about any of this? Why did-- Oh, never mind. Just be warned, it's that kind of story. But it's got a lot to offer: a plot that avoids many of the common BL cliches, a script where characters talk their problems out, some well-choreographed fight scenes, likable characters, cute actors and the sweetest, yet most hilarious, original sex scene I may have ever seen on screen. All that makes this a 9/10 despite the plot holes.

P.S. I liked it so much I paid money to download it from Vimeo. Show your support to filmmakers if you can afford to! I hope this studio can make further projects.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AKAshon
9 people found this review helpful
May 15, 2020
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 4.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
Loved the gay representation as this is one of the very few BL Korean dramas out. However, I found this series to be way too rushed with characters who make choices that don't make any sense. Like if Gitae approached Gisoo to kill him then why did he form a relationships with him instead of just killing him right away? Or why the foster father was so obsessed with killing Gisoo for having a relationship with Gitae? Yes, Gitae is one of his rival brother's henchman, but still. And if the foster father hates gay people so much, then why would he take in Gisoo? This series could have been better if it was longer, but I'm pretty sure that due to budgetary constraints, they had to make do with what they have. Imagine what could have been if they had a full-scale budget?

On a side note, how cool would it be to get a big-budget K-drama like Crash Landing On You but with gay leads? Anyways, hopefully, Where Your Eyes Linger, a BL K-drama that has been hailed as the first BL K-drama will do better with its low budget. If it does well and becomes popular, top K-drama companies will be more confident in greenlighting big-budget stories with gay leads. *fingers crossed*

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 5/5
Sassas
5 people found this review helpful
Sep 26, 2018
5 of 5 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 7.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Something different compared to your average Asian drama. "Long time no see" is a Korean gay version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith, in which two hitmen fall for each other, and then have to face their competing bosses. Woo Suk Tak and Seung Ho Yeon acting performance is decent (contrary to the secondary characters, unfortunately). The story is rather simple, and although it follows a cliche, it is a nice change that this not the typical Asian melodramatic plot, but rather an action packed (well sort of), mafia plot with an unexpected brutality (although not too much compared to today's Hollywood standards).

In summary: A little bit of romance, a little bit of action, and some skin make up a pleasant evening with a Hollywood-like happy end. No real plot surprises, decent acting and cute faces. Who needs more?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
FoxFae
5 people found this review helpful
Mar 25, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
So apparently I have watched this 2 other times before but I keep forgetting that I've watched it until about half way through and it dawns on me "I've seen this before" -- why can I never remember that I've seen it? It's not a terrible show, not at all. If anything it's very good! So why I can't remember is beyond me. X_X Hopefully writing this review will help me remember. Lol

I really loved the story of this show, it's like a new-age LGBQT+ Romeo and Juliet ... without the death part. Lol and can we talk about the mafia take on this? I know there are a ton of mafia movies out there but this one seemed more unique with the characters and sexual statuses. Now, I admit, they could have all had better "code names". They were almost laughable -- like something you read written by a teenager. Don't come for me, I'm sorry. Haha I can't help thinking that because they really are the most basic code names. All that was missing was a "night hawk". Rofl. Okay, I'm sorry. On with the show.

I really wish this show was longer though so we could see how everything would really play out, while I really loved that ending, I know there has to be more to happen after that. This is one of those endings that feel finished yet open at the same time. I wish I knew a better way to explain it but they're so rare that I never really think about it.

I kinda wish we got to see more of the sister as well, she needs her own show/movie to show her side of the story and find a possible love interest! lol as weird as it is, she is probably my favorite character even though her part is so small. I love sibling relationships that are super closer. I relate a lot with them so I feel like I understand them better and I love how accepting she is about her brother. I know I know, apparently the bar is low because it should be a "normal" thing, but let's face it, in this day and age, it's still not fully "acceptable" so yeah I can't help but to have that bit of excitement when a character does accept them; but I digress.

If this has been on your TBW list or you've been tempted to watch it, this is your sign to watch it now! lol

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mela123
5 people found this review helpful
Jan 24, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
Note that everything written in this review are my own thoughts and point of view.
For it being a short drama/web drama it was actually quite good. With that small amount of time , the story developed pretty good even though it was a little bit fast . I believe that they should have made this series a bit longer maybe 2 or 3 more episodes . To begin , the chemistry between the two leads was good . there was a lot of scenes that made me smile like a child. The plot is really different from the regular BLs and the regular Korean dramas. With that being said, I liked this change even though there were a few cliche scenes. ( they were really well acted so i'm not complaining . hehe.). but there was this scene in the last episode, where the dad was killed and the two guys leave holding each other. The scene was too short , i think that if this scene took a few more minutes ,and if they showed us that the dad actually died , it would've been better.
I'm not a big fan of re watching dramas or movies of any kind that's why the re watch value is low.
Thank you!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
nenasspot
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 26, 2020
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
A more mature BL drama that blends cute interactions and a suspenseful plot masterfully. The relationship between the main characters is very past faced, but this is made believable through the fact that they've been getting to know each other online and thus know each other quite well already. The drama is quite mature, with very suggestive scenes and load of blood, but it never felt cheap or done this way for attention grabbing as it fits well with the more mature mob plot.
The mob plot stays pretty surface-level, but it's well balanced and thought through with the flashbacks used.
I also adored the sister character.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Max loves BL
4 people found this review helpful
Jan 10, 2021
5 of 5 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0

The Story

It wasn't too romantic or dramatic. It was just as I needed. It was weird to have a lovers to enemies and then lovers again. But I just see that as the spice of this drama. I loved how they were sure about their sexuality (unlike other dramas which the characters magically become gay or understand it by just one person in theri twenties).

It has some violence so I don't recommend it if you're not a fan of it. I'm not a fan too but I actually lilked the story, acting, and so many things.

The progress of the story is little slow but I highly recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Long Time No See (2017) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.6 (scored by 17,198 users)
  • Ranked: #4908
  • Popularity: #290
  • Watchers: 40,845

Top Contributors

29 edits
27 edits
26 edits
18 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2791 loves 46
Korean BL Master List
220 titles 951 loves 6

Recently Watched By