I Hear You (2019) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.0 (scored by 2,516 users)
  • Ranked: #1271
  • Popularity: #700
  • Watchers: 5,332

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

20%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

28 edits
19 edits
4 edits
3 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
sharreb
22 people found this review helpful
Feb 18, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
A story that may check the cliche boxes but stands up n shines on its own by being very grounded, relatable and eveb sensible unlike many of its peers. One may be tempted to include it in your usual romcoms and sometimes rather frivolous plots of youthul romantic C dramas. I was pleasantly suprise by how well written the characters are. And its focused on sinplicity of a relationship despite cohabilitation, contract aggrements hijinks.
Male character isnt a typical tsundere. He doesnt mingle much but isnt a complete recluse. He has his principles in life and is focused and perhaps a little rigid at first. Yet when taught and exposed to things he is perceptive and willing to learn and see things in different perspective. Even as it dawns to him Bei Er Duo draws him in and first time in his life another human being's emotions coiud affect his, hes mature in dealing with his burgeoning feelings. That's such a breath of fresh air in a male lead character..who is perceptive, observant, and helps out the female lead in meaningful ways.
Bei Er Duo is equally well written because they dont dump down her character. She may hav financial difficulties or difficult mother but she doesnt whine, begrudge ohers or dwell on the negatives. Instead shes hardworking and persistently strives to fulfil her dream. Her mostly cheerful demeanor puts you in good spirits everytime shes on screen.
Although the intial set up was typical.. the subsequent interactions felt very natural. The pace and flow was nice and did not felt forced. The leads communication and sharing of thoughts and dreams were also highlights that i enjoy.
Although im not that critical of my rom coms..i want to state that theres alot out there full of fluff, sometimes too cheesy or not believable. This drama was sweet in a palatable and soothing way. Even the second leads were good.
I felt this drama warrants more viewers. Do give it a try

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Taslima Begum
13 people found this review helpful
Feb 12, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 4
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I seriously love this, it just a normal drama but i love the cast and chemistry, i hope they work together again.
And i need season 2!! the actress is so young but when i watched this i thought she was at least 2 years older she is but shes a 98 liner and she was soo cute she is a good actress and the actor was soo good looking, i have watched some of his dramas before, they make such a good couple overall their chemistry was soooo cute!! hoping for season 2!!!!
Will there be one a second season???
:)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mustwonder
3 people found this review helpful
May 28, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This review may contain spoilers
*Spoilers are only in the last paragraph, regarding the ending*

I enjoyed I Hear You up until episode 17, as a lighthearted drama without any elements that made me angry or annoyed (which feels pretty rare with Chinese modern dramas). I personally enjoy the 'pretend couple becomes real' trope. From episode 17 onward, I felt like the plot lost momentum and then finally, several elements of the final two episodes really bothered me.

Ye Shu Wei (Riley Wang) is a successful and talented violin maker who doesn't like other people, and he grows a lot throughout the show as he begins to care about Bei Er Duo (Zhao Lusi). Bei Er Duo is kind and determined; she has a dream of becoming a voice actress and her goal is to study abroad in Japan. I loved that she was always studying, working hard to improve herself, and wanted to rely on her talent not connections. Ye Shu Wei and Bei Er Duo slowly grow to care for each other, and since they are both inexperienced in love, they feel like an even-leveled match despite him being rich and successful. But to be honest, their relationship is pretty boring. There were some cute moments and some cringey moments but nothing memorable. I actually felt like Shu Wei put much more effort and heart into their relationship, in trying to understand her, encourage her, and prepare surprises for her. (But Riley Wang's stony-faced acting bored me.)

Shu Wei and Er Duo agreeing to be on a couples competition show seemed like a far-fetched premise but the characters Yu Sheng and Tang Li help make it a little believable since they are the producers(?) for the show. Tang Li's character arc is fantastic and is the one great thing in this show. I loved that she faced her feelings head on, stuck to her principles, and worked hard to find her own happiness. Her storyline wasn't what I expected, but she articulated it well when she explained her decisions to Er Duo. The maturity of her character was such a sharp contrast to Er Duo's childish behavior.

*SPOILERS BELOW*
As for the last two episodes... it made no sense, how did those two women get Er Duo's phone number? The teacher's daughter, ok fine, I can maybe believe that but the colleague's girlfriend?!?!?! That made no sense. Why did other people feel like they had the right to blame Er Duo for Shu Wei's choices? I liked that Er Duo sat down with him at the beach and talked about it honestly but why did Shu Wei not respond? Even though Er Duo returned the ring, it felt so inconclusive. (Also, if he really wanted to give up violin making/didn't care about that major violin order, I can respect his choice.) The last straw for me was how Er Duo chose to separate from Shu Wei. They had checked in their luggage and he was being paged for the flight so it just made no sense on so many levels. At the very least she could have sent him a text message after clearing security. The last scene was so strange and inconclusive. I wish that instead she had said at the beach, hey don't come to Japan with me, don't give up your work and let's date long distance for now and see how it goes...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mahbuba Rahman Promi
3 people found this review helpful
Feb 24, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
1st thing um gonna say : DAMN CUTE MAN!!There really should be a season 2 and um eagerly waiting for the positive response. This drama is so affecting that I jzt completed watching 22 episodes in jzt only 2 FREAKIN' DAYS!! I jzt loved it!!Now I can't watch last episode bcz um gonna be hurt.The cast have really got along with the characters..Zhao Lusi n Riley Wang r just LOVE...They should do more works with each other!! Their expression of affection for each other is jzt really enchanting..Some acts of their making precious lil moments jzt made me do "AWW!!" Cuteness overloaded actually..Even tho I couldn't understand Chinese n watched it without subtitle, I gotta understand their interaction for their lovely acting!! As a result, I hv gotta watch this again for understanding fullfitly..❤

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Bali
3 people found this review helpful
May 18, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers
This is a very good drama with a nice romantic story. “I Hear You” is more about the male lead’s ability to understand his beloved despite his quiet and seemingly cold demeanor. The drama uses the circumstantial cohabitation as a premise to have the lead couple to get to know each other and eventually fall in love. The supporting cast is excellent, especially Bei Er Duo ‘s best friend Tang Li (Gratitude Dai) who had the best character development in the drama. There is great chemistry among the cast and the leading couple manage to increasingly sustain their great chemistry all the way until the end of the drama. **SPOILER ALERT** The drama was really good, but it could have been better if not for the unnecessary “separation to reach our goals” theme on the last episode; but at least it time flew by in matters of minutes and the male lead resolved everyone else’s problems before going to Japan and appearing in front of his REAL dream, (Bei Er Duo), at the last moment ending the drama with a sweet embrace.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Yo0osammy
2 people found this review helpful
May 1, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This show is pretty good, it's truly not a terrible show, but it's literally your average rich man/poor woman type of show. At times, I feel like the romance was like a back burner thing because it's so slow burning it's like they forgot about it until the very last few episodes. I watched it mainly for Riley Wang and I'm not even a huge fan but he did a good job and Zhao Lu Si. They were honestly so cute together and their romance and chemistry was just a fantastic mixture. It starts off kind of confusing and a lot happens so it's like "what's going on?" a lot and also the side characters; HELLO, WHY YOU GOTTA PLAY ME LIKE THAT??? LIKE HOW CAN YOU DO THAT BRUH? I WAS ROOTING! For those of you that know, you know. But the families were sweet, the friends, there was just odd things going on here and there that made it a little funky but the show overall was good and cute, it sure did have a lot going on though for something that wasn't very long in my opinion; all in all, a good watch. Definitely a filler kind of drama for sure.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lili
1 people found this review helpful
Feb 18, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
When I first started watching this, I was excited. I started playing the violin this (school) year and I thought it was super cool that the male lead played the violin and made violins. Being tone-deaf, I can't critique any of the music so don't worry about that lol. The story itself is amazing, slightly cliche but still great. They fall in love <3 <3 <3 etc etc. I just felt like the ending was slightly rushed and in the beginning, the supporting cast, Tang Li and Yu Sheng was so ship able. I shipped them so much and then you can imagine my reaction when there were barely any shots of them. I understand that the main characters are supposed to get all the screen time.... but can't they share? :( The cast was perfect, evil people looked evil and stiff people were stiff and cute people were cute. Honestly my only complaint is.... Why couldn't they get actors and actresses that actually played the violin? Or they could've at least had the actors and actresses "playing" the violin get the vibratos on time and their fingerings to change on time. There were times when in the music it was a pause but they were vibratoing.... I don't even know what. Honestly, that was the only bad part primarily because I know violin basics. The rest was perfect, a very short and light drama. Especially after trying to watch those wuxia and historical dramas that are at least 50 ep (I was trying to watch The Story of Ming Lan which is apparently 72 episodes so I gave up on that).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Scuba Waska
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
The last ten seconds of the series had my heart all a flutter! This series was so enjoyable to watch. I binge watched most of it!!

The series started off a little plain jane but ramped up rather quickly. Riley Wang I loved from Attention, Love and found it hard to see him as a stern straight forward guy but quickly fell for his new character. Zhou Lusi was adorable and fantastic from the start. I would of loved to see Bei Er Duo be a little bit more confrontational with Riley's character Ye Shu Wei. There was a few loose ends not tied up but overall they will not stop me from recommending this series. I will be keeping a watch on these two going forward.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
jwhites
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 7, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I have to start off by saying that Riley Wang is so adorable, I could watch him sleep for the duration of the series and still make it all the way to the end. His portrayal of his character was about 5 degrees too chilly, but flashes of warmth humanized him. Female lead was a little bit of a caricature, but largely well done. There were a few very nice fleshed out roles with reasonable acting, and a couple of regrettable stereotypes.

What made this watchable for me was the creativity of circumstances and the changing relationships in both main and secondary characters -- those were nicely done, carefully acted, and nuanced more often than not. I also give it a thumbs up on passing the Bechdel test, which made it more interesting as well. I would rewatch it because I found it entertaining and not a wad of damp cotton candy, as so many of these are.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
CoraMunro
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 28, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers
Modern Chinese dramas are getting becoming better written. Historical and fantasy Cdramas have, for the most part, been pretty good but modern ones, in the past, were lacking in story plot and character development. This drama is on par with LoveO2O and Go Go Squid! It seems that the writers have been watching Kdramas to get some pointers on how to create a better view able drama. This is an easy to watch drama that has the typical drama elements.
• Love triangle/square
• Rich boy/poor girl
• One female who is delusional about her relationship with the ML
• One parent who is against the relationship
• One dead/dying parent/parental figure
• Contract relationship
• Piggyback rides
• Some kind of injury that involves a hospital where everyone meets with the patient
• Some kind of minor injury, usually small cut on a finger, where the medical kit comes out
• Car crash that affects the leads
• At least one of the leads is drunk and has to be taken care of
• Usually the ML is sick, but not hospital sick and the FL serves them porridge
• One kissing/sexual overture scene where the leads are not on the same page
• Cooking/dishwashing scene that involves back hugging
• Falling asleep together, usually a couch, and one is awake touching/kissing the others face
• Phone dying while in the car (the car charger technology seems to be lacking in these dramas)
• Beach scene

But some typical elements were missing
• Second lead syndrome
• Major villain
• Cliffhangers/major climaxes (ep 24 does have a little one with the ring)
• Eating ramen together (I may have missed it if it did happen)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
SSKF
0 people found this review helpful
Apr 22, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
It's not an original story, but I confess, the reason I watched it is because it was not original. t followed a tried and true formula of a cold rich guy and the poor girl whose life eases because he loves her so much. I adore these, I adore doting stories, where the ml and fl stay together and support each other for the whole story. I won't put this on the same level as Well Intended Love, but it's got some elements of WIL that makes this cute to watch.

It's good to pass the time, you won't feel the urge to rush to the next episode, but if you're looking for a warm, light hearted drama with no fuss, and brings a smile to your face while you relax, this is one to consider.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
phillyphil
0 people found this review helpful
May 20, 2019
24 of 24 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
So recently I’ve finish watching “I hear you” and although I was excited to watch it at first, I found it to be pretty boring as the story progress. Honestly, it’s kinda cliché. The whole contract love thing is too much. It’s the same old same old, they signed a contract, hate at first and then fell in love. I don’t know if it’s just me but i seen those kind of plot very often. Not to mention the first half of the drama, the main leads seem very distant.

However, I must give credits for the casting. They played their role well.

I wish that there are more scenes between Bei Er Dou played by ZHOU LU SI and Le Tian played by ZHANG JIONG MIN.

I mean it’s not bad but I am over this kind of drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?