Who Are You (2013) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.7 (scored by 6,828 users)
  • Ranked: #1904
  • Popularity: #209
  • Watchers: 14,269

Weekly MyDramaList Support Goal

20%
Help Support MyDramaList

Top Contributors

10 edits
9 edits
4 edits
2 edits

Recently Watched By

Completed
allyson
24 people found this review helpful
Oct 14, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
TL;DR? If you don't have anything better to watch, give this a shot.

Not having been a huge fan of Taecyeon in Dream High, I watched this drama strictly for the plot. It sounds neat: A girl who discovers she can see ghosts after a 6 year coma and a guy who helps her solve her ghostly mysteries. I'm not saying the plot line should win a Pullitzer or anything, but it does sound entertaining! Unfortunately, this drama squandered all of that fun potential on pseudo plot twists and mediocre romance.

It's never a good sign when you root more for the lead character to be with a ghost than you do the actual male love interest. Surprisingly, this isn't even Taecyeon's fault! I was really impressed with how much he had improved from Dream High, and I really did love his character. Cha Gun Woo is an all-around good guy, willing to help out our heroine even when he isn't sure if he believes her. But even though he was doing all the right things, there was just no chemistry between him and Yang Shi On.

Yang Shi On's character was, for the most part, fairly likable. It was hard not to feel for her when she was so obviously lost and confused, trying to pick up the pieces after a 6 year absence from the world.

Kim Jae Wook was easily the star of the drama, which is interesting considering that for the majority of it, he didn't have any lines. But the way he watched over Shi On and loved her so much, even after so long was just heartrending.

The villains were disappointing, never evil enough to really be interesting, nor frightening. I can't even count the number of times that Gun Woo and Shi On were able to outmaneuver huge groups of men. If two people, with one of them having just come out of a coma, can beat 20+ gangsters, you are obviously not hiring gangsters from the right place.

Other than convoluted plot lines and a sad attempt at emotional terrorism in an effort to make you connect with the characters, this show isn't wholly irredeemable. It's short episodes ensure that you don't feel too bored throughout, and for the most part the ghost's problems were fairly interesting. All in all, not a complete waste of time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
purplenette
21 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
This drama surprised me by keeping me interested. When I first started this, I wasn't sure if I would like it. It is a mix of supernatural and mystery. There is one big overall conspiracy mystery and little mysteries along the way. I know that some people may find the ending anticlimactic, but I enjoyed it.

Like most people, I feel like Kim Jae Wook as Lee Hyun Joon stole the show. He has an important role and I think he played it well. It is hard to write a review without spoilers. So, I will just write that I thought his ending was appropriate. He did what he thought was important and that was all he needed. So Yi Hyun was good as Yang Shi On, but I don't think that she is the best actress. Some people find Taecyeon lacking because he is an idol actor. However, I thought he was witty and cute as Cha Gun Woo. If it weren't for him acting with So Yi Hyun, then I don't think I would have finished this. I actually thought he pulled her up. The other actors are good too. I liked seeing Kim Ye Won again as Jang Hee Bin. I wonder when she will get a main role?

The music isn't anything I remember.

I may rewatch this if I am looking for something light to watch.

This is not horror. I didn't find it scary at all. If you like mystery (although, I think to a certain extent most people will figure things out quickly) with the mix of supernatural, then I recommend this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
AnnaGavlen
14 people found this review helpful
Sep 23, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
So, just have to mention this is my first review I'm writing.

I really really liked this drama. I would lie to if I said I started watching it because of the plot, I actually started watching it because of Taecyeon. I have seen him in other dramas and I really like his acting, the fact that he's super handsome just makes it all even better.

After watching the first episode I was hocked. I just wanted more the moment it ended and it was a pain waiting a whole for two more episodes but at the same time that just made it all more exciting.

So what did I like about it all?
First I have to mention the story. I didn't think it was gonna be so deep as it actually was. Thought it was gonna be more like a detective drama were they solved cases with the help of the ghosts she sees but that wasn't the case. You figured out it was gonna be a lot about their past and what comes with it.

The actors did a really good job. Taecyeon and So Yi Hyun had really good chemistry. I also really like the small "sidestory" between the other cop and the shaman girl. Really looked forward to see how it would end between them.

So overall, this is one of the better dramas I've and I have seen way to many... Absolutely worth watching, even if you're not a fan of Taecyeon!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
kizzyneechan
12 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Who Are You starts off as an episodic drama, with a ghost-of-the-week sort of feel. Each ghost has a different purpose for haunting Si Ohn, and its their items in the Lost and Found that bring about their appearance. Slowly, though, pieces begin to fall into place, and it turns out that each ghost was not random at all. I won't go into detail, of course, lest that spoil anything for you.

Taecyeon is remarkable in his easy portrayal of characters, and I've been impressed with him since Cinderella's Sister and Dream High. I was excited to see what he could do with Cha Gun Woo, and he didn't disappoint. He's got a lot of spunk, for sure, and thinks a little too highly of himself, but he goes to incredible lengths to protect those he cares about. Cha Gun Woo's character goes through the emotional wringer throughout this series, and Taecyeon pulls it off with flying colors.

His chemistry with So Yi Hyun, by the way? Crackling. As is Yi Hyun's chemistry with Kim Jae Wook. Basically it's a bowl full of crackling, heartbreaking chemistry where you just don't know where your allegiances lie until the last possible moment. Of the three, Kim Jae Wook impressed me the most, though--his character is given very few lines in the first half of the drama, but he carries his scenes with a finesse that tells of his acting experience. As I'd only seen him as a supporting character before, I was impressed by the sheer amount of dynamism he brought to his role.

The music is lovely, too, and I find myself humming the ballad insert song "Because Love Grows" all the time.

I will say the series is a bit slow to pick up, but once it does it takes off like a shot. For example, when Yang Si Ohn first starts seeing ghosts, she freaks out EVERY. TIME. It gets to the point where you kind of want to just shake her and go "how is this still surprising you??" We also don't discover much about her backstory until later in the series. But once again, the build up is palpable and well worth the wait--everything is tied together, and I felt my heart clench with each new reveal.

Even side characters in this series (like Cha Gun Woo's subordinates or his superior, Moon Shik, the hacker he blackmails into doing his dirty tech work--and Si Ohn's friend and spiritual advisor Hee Bin) steal their scenes with either cuteness or masterful acting. I never felt like I was sitting through a filler moment.

If you're looking for an action packed crime thriller, Who Are You isn't it. It's a nuanced look at the small-time cases of the Lost and Found center, and the dramatic rediscovery of Yang Si Ohn's memories. While there are fights, and losses, they are not the beating center of the story. Instead, I really liked the concentration on the relationships between the characters, and how major plot points affect them. Who Are You was well worth the wait.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
dragynfaerie
16 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
"Who Are You" started off surprisingly well. It came off as a light crime drama with supernatural aspects. The CG and eFx of the apparitions were well done. Unfortunately, writer used the ghost seeing cop as a gimmick instead of an integral part of the show and tool used to solve crimes. Once the apparition of police inspector Lee Hyun Joon (played wonderfully by Kim Jae Wook) hits the screen everything that had previously been set up is thrown out the window. There was no need to place So Yi Hyun's Team Leader Yang in the department she was in or set things in motion they way it was done if they were only going to work on one crime for the most part. It was a waste and a big let down. To be honest I knew whodunit within the first 8 minutes of episode 1 and I knew the big bad the first moment I saw him on screen. In other words the writing nor the story are anything new or special. The mystery and crimes are not well thought out or delivered. What started with great promise, turned into a plain dime a dozen crime story with a bit of ghostly aide.

The main cast was very good. I tend to love Kim Chang Wan, Inspector Choi Moon Shik, in everything he does. He's an entertaining, scene stealing, and versatile actor who never fails me. This was my first time seeing Ok Taec Yeon. He was good. He played his character effortlessly and was very appealing. I even liked So, which is a first. She usually annoys me. Again Kim was excellent. He had very little interaction and because of his character he did most of his acting from the shoulders up. Every movement was done with purpose and it worked. The supports were also well cast.

The music was mostly forgettable and if I ever hear that love song again it'll be too soon.

I will probably never watch this again. I have no reason or wanting to, but it was worth a watch. It could have been much much better, but it also could have been that much worse. I should really give this a 6, but the cast is better than that. Too bad the script wasn't as good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
catzfin3st
14 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama was a pretty decent drama. Honestly, there were some moments when I found myself a bit bored, but as the story went on, a lot of things happened to keep my interest. The twists were unexpected and there were several moments where I laughed and cried.There were moments where I would feel chills and sometimes it felt realistic.

The cast did a pretty good job with this plot even though sometimes the main female actress seemed inconsistent. However I found actor Kim Jae Wook as "Lee Hyun Joo" refreshing to watch. (Even if he didn't have many speaking parts.)He was definitely the character I anticipated to see more of as the episodes went by.

Overall everything seemed pretty decent even though the ending I could have lived without.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mysecretsoul
12 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Romances tinged with supernaturality appear to be all the rage. Who Are You, the forerunner of this haunting new trend, also attempts to dip its toes into the investigation genre. Despite some novelty as such, the drama ultimately disappoints in most capacities. Saving graces can be found here and there, however.

Though opening with an auspicious premise, execution is shaky at best. Cliches and obvious plot contrivances riddle the story with holes. Because Who Are You attempts realism even while necessitating the suspension of disbelief on other fronts, some token of veracity should be offered. Unfortunately, no venue ever offers this oasis. Police elements felt silly at best, but as a second poorly handled aspect (the coma) forces writers to realize it as such, a vicious cycle begins. The ghosts manage to be the most acceptable, though somewhat unimpressive, part. In the face of such stumblings, some interest remains at the heart of the main plot line. What happened to Lee Hyun Joon? This question acts as the life preserver which keeps everything else afloat.

It should not surprise then, that Kim Jae Wook owns the entire stage. Given little to say and few interactions to make, his Hyun Joon speaks volumes with the slightest gesture or expression. Many will fall for this character, and who can blame them? Everything riveting about Who Are You links back to him. Leads Taecyeon and So Yi Hyun work passably with people far less fascinating. Gun Woo, though a reasonably nice person, appears to have little life outside the events of the drama; Shi On barely feels like a police officer, let alone valedictorian in her year at the academy. And her series-launching coma...yikes. For all it affected her, they may as well have written it out.

Of the entire soundtrack, very little is memorable. Trickyneko provides one underused piece, “Our Story,” which sets a pleasantly spooky atmosphere.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Isabelle
11 people found this review helpful
Sep 25, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I highly recomend this drama to anyone. If you’re new to kdrama or if you’re a regular fan, this is a great way to waste your time! That being said, it's not the most original plotline. It's not repetetive or bad or anything, just not that original. However, they have given it all the touch ups and twerks needed to make it feel fresh and interesting. The build up of the main lead's relationship was definitely one of the best I've ever seen.
Good writing, right there!
Ok Taecyeon and So Yi Hyun make a wonderful duo with great chemistry. And I especially enjoyed Taecyeon’s acting performance, he has come a long way since Dream High. Yi Hyun is brilliant as well, I enjoyed seeing her playing a "serious" character and not just the sweet love interest. Although she went a bit over the top with the crazy-eyes, she’s definitely a new favourite. Kim Chang Wan is fantastic, he plays his role with such finess it's scary. His reference to Iljimae was just... flawless. X)
The supporting roles were a bit bleak, but with the time frame they had I guess it was expected. And I'm glad they stayed focus on the main story and characters. This is one of those dramas where the ending is very, very important and I was quite nervous that they would lazy-wrap it, but they didn't. It was a great finish for a great drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
cheza7307
6 people found this review helpful
Mar 26, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
So this was hard to finish last year, but I got it done now. There really is not much to say just that the plot was not typical by a long shot. It was simply and yet twisted in how so many people where connected to the real problem. Too many cover-up stories to hind the truth, yet it just could not be contained. Actors: They were not bad, and at the same time not great. It was like something was missing that could not be explained. Music: Actually the music may have saved this drama to keep it true to its ploy and theme. Apart from the actors, it was the music that helped express each new big reveal. So overall, not bad, but not great, yet still watchable for a drama genre and pace.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Gaeuni16
6 people found this review helpful
Feb 16, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Overall impression: Interesting plot, but not the most original. Amazing Kim Jae Wook and So Yi Hyun acting. Seriously if you're not Kim Jae Wook fan already you will absolutely fall in love after seeing this drama!^^

Although Taecyeon is cute but I'm still in Kim Jae Wook team;))

Not a best choice if you're looking for something cheerful, it's definitely not in that category.

Weekest point: music

I started watching "Who are you" while watching Master's sun and everybody knows how amazing Master's sun was so it's difficult to get a very good impression of something with kind of similar plot.

I was really interested in the story for the first 8 or 9 episodes but after that story line and romance just got a bit boring. I wanted to finish it after 3 or 4 months of break and the only impression I had about this drama was that it had one good kissing scene (Yang Shi Ohn and Cha Gun Woo) and a ghost that leaved a huge impression.

And that's probably because of Kim Jae Wook that I watched this drama to the end. Somehow his sad eyes and his expression were so heartbreaking that I just felt uneasy and wanted to see how it would turn out.

So I think that all the glory for this drama still leaving a good impression on viewers despite many lacking points should go to Kim Jae Wook. If it wasn't for his amazing acting it wouldn't be that unforgetable.

And when it comes to week points, for me the weekest point of this drama was music. I've been wondering for quite a lot of time why I cannot watch this drama to the end and I've figured out that it's not necessarily because of bad plot or lack of chemistry between main leads. It was because of music. It made whole drama so gloomy and I don't want to say that it shouldn't be that way cause it's still a ghost story but honestly if the music was just a bit more epic in the moments when it should be and more romantic when the scenes required it, some really nice scenes wouldn't be wasted.
Music is so important because it brings up emotions and it makes a lot of scenes more memorable but 1 or 2 good songs are not enough to make you keep watching.

But still it's quite worth watching, but I don't recommend you to watch it at the same time as dramas with similar plots.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
pegah
10 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2013
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
One of The best Dramas ... I liked it so much .... Best Actors , Interesting Story , Good Songs & everything , yes , I think everything was perfect .... when you start to watch this drama you can't wait for another episodes & just you want know about everything in this drama .... I like all of cast in this drama , they could show all of feeling very good & they had good job , specially Kim Jae Wook , he didn't talk so much but you can feel all of emotional about his character , honestly his character with Perfect act could help to this drama so much .... he is Amazing & good actor ...... you can understand what i mean after that watch this drama ..... & TaecYeon & So Yi Hyun had good act too ... & About Music i think music & songs could be match with all of seance & it was nice .... Overall I liked all of things in this Drama , All of character , Story , Cast , Act , Music & ..... & i am so happy that i watched this drama ....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sapir
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 6, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I'll write a review with catagories of the things I thought were right to mention when you want to watch a Drama:
Story:
The story sounds nice, a girl who sees ghost and she and her partner go to help those ghosts and by the way save and solve some crime cases.
It was nice and interesting at first when she helped those dead people but after she helped them and the storyline went for the past it was less good for me.
Althought it was interesting all along for me, it didn't bore me until the last episodes so that was the good point.Also there were things that I was surprised by them.

Acting/Cast:
I know the actors as good actors so I didn't understand why they act so badly in here, a lot of times I found myself saying" what is it with the script, their chemistry isn't good and they can't express their feelings well" so I think the good point of the drama is Kim Jae Wook. Not only the actor who did a good job in this but also his character was the best in there, I didn't empathize with the main characters (Tae Cyeon and So Yi Hyun) and I found them a bit childish or not intersting, even annoying.
The good part of the characters were the supporting ones that gave a bright feeling to this, and their little stories were funny/more interesting than the main characters.

Music :
I didn't find it remarkable, the main song is like an every-drama song.

Romance:
The main issue of the drama wasn't romance which I like that fact, but the romance part that we saw didn't move me emotionaly , it felt awekward and showed the fact that they didn't have chemistry .I thought that Yi Hyun and Jae Wook had a better chemistry and they looked better with each other.

Rewatch Value:
I wouldn't watch it again, it wasn't a "good" drama and it wasn't made well, it was a nice drama to pass time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?