Why do thai lakorns always have to make the female protagonist (and sometimes male) suffer under the constant abuse of the evil people that always surround her (or him). I feel like thai lakorns have competitions with each other to see which show can create the most evil and hated character ever. Some of the actions done by said characters include, physical and mental abuse, murder and attempted murder, rape and in one case someone was trying to push a pregnant lady down the stairs so she would lose it.  Ill stop the rant here because if i continue itll go on forever.

Essentially im looking for a lakorn that doesnt have this aspect, or if it does contain these elements, it would be best if it wasnt too over the top. And it would be best if the female (or male) lead fought back. Also it has to have english subtitles as i do not know thai.

I'm not a lakorn expert (I've barely seen 10) and I haven't searched about this topic enough to give you a proper answer. Since I know next to nothing about the problem you mentioned, I don't have any other options than to chalk it upto cultural differences. It might not be an exact answer, but it is a reason, to an extent, why things work out in lakorns the way they do.
The reasons you mentioned are the ones I'm also wary of watching lakorns. It takes me forever to pick one, because I have to make sure that it doesn't have too much craziness, for which I have to research a lot, sometimes even read spoilers.
Maybe, sometimes (although it happens very rarely) I can take the crazy villains (for eg. I really enjoyed Kleun Cheewit, although the villain was a psycho), but the physical abuse/ rape, no way. I abhor that. That's just...wrong. If you go towards your typical lakorns, you are bound to find crazy villains in each one (Rape/ physical & mental abuse are generally in Slap & Kiss lakorns)

But these days, they are releasing quite a few youth-centered dramas (/miniseries)
You can try out: