Completed
I'm Underage But I'm Not A Child
1 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
I actually thought about putting this off because I thought it would be smutty but then I watched it and realized it was nothing like I thought it would be, and actually it was quite cute.... no smut or anything like that but more pure romance.
The characters are pretty good too and the acting felt realistic, I mean really they nailed down the rich kid's struggles and I felt that they were also relatable but this entire movie was overall really cute. At least the characters all developed in the end and I feel satisfied with the ending, plus I like the music so I might be biased since I do like Sexy Zone... lol

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Call Boy
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers
Before I saw Call Boy, I actually didn't really have respect for prostitutes. But I think this movie gave me a completely different view on the industry, and I feel that it's maybe not as bad since they're trying to help other people overcome their sufferings. In fact I think this was one of the most original stories I have watched because topics like this are taboo most of the time (especially women's sexual desires) and although there were a lot of sex scenes, it felt like it was all more a part of the story. Honestly I found it a bit sad, especially with the guy's past but at the same time I completely understand how the guy feels and if someone finds fulfillment in their job then maybe it's not so bad.

I liked this movie overall, and the main character really developed a lot in terms of personality and physical ability (lol). It's kinda sad though but I liked it. I might rewatch it if I ever find time...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
8 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
ok... I am expecting this to be like toned down to the extreme... From Advance Bravely to My Beloved Enemy... I should have conditioned my mind that there is no kissing, sex, or anything that is BL... I mean, seriously... I wasn't expecting... but as usual, I did. I am not disappointed because of the story, in fact it's kinda new... Maybe cliché, but refreshing... I am disappointed though because it's supposed to be BL... the show really downgraded it to Bromance... only hints that they kinda took it off to the next level... but... no touchy feelings... I dunno who is this movie for anyway... clearly not for us BL fans. The story is ok, the acting is ok... but the genre isn't OK! BL my ass.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Silenced
0 people found this review helpful
by RPS
8 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.0
Watch it, but watch out!

This movie has a lot of darkness. It goes places I didn't even know child actors could go.

I am a person that can watch horror movies without even flinching- I mostly laugh during them. This is one of the very first times I actually felt scared to my core. I was mad and terrified for the children. The movie has had a positive impact on South-Korea and I'm glad it did. It addresses something that has occurred a lot of times.

Due to the fact that this movie was so strong, I'm giving it a low rewatch value, I couldn't do it again.

Watch it, it has a very strong lesson that you want to have learned in your life.
Watch out, if you're not 18+ you might want to wait. I'm not talking about the sexual content, I'm talking about having a strong mentality. The things that are going to be thrown at you, are very heavy, so make sure you can carry them.

Good luck!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
50th First Kiss
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
As expected from Fukuda, the director of puerile hits like Psychic Kusuo, Gintama and Hentai Kamen, the film retains the wide-ranging comedy of Sandler's original, which is so uncomfortable alongside the central novel. The Hawaiian locality also asks the directors to interact with various English-speaking minor characters, resulting in an abundance of bad performances and awkward dialogues. Although they are both agreeable artists, Yamada and Nagasawa do not have the natural chemistry that Sandler and Barrymore had. When their lips meet, there is no sign of passion or furious libido. "50 First Kisses" almost fulfilled the numerical promise of his title. Too bad none of them are good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tom Gay
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 2.5
All right, everyone, this movie has a unique idea. However, it doesn’t full up to it. The whole story feels rushed and there is no development. I know this movie is a very low budget movie that was made 5 years ago. It still like they could have done more. The acting was okay. The end is disappointing. Most series and movies teach you a lesson at the end. This had nothing for you to learn from. The two relationships are kinda toxic in a way. There is no growth for the characters. The characters don’t learn anything. I would not recommend this to anyone. Would you watch it again? No, I would not watch this movie again. I might if it got remade with a high budget and change like the whole thing.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Swing Kids
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
There is a reason why the tragedy tag is there. The setting of this movie itself is during war, in a war camp where all sort of people is there. The good and the bad people, the honest and the one with ulterior motives.

The story itself is unique to me. Usually, movies in a war setting are heavy on tactical or political but Swing Kids focuses mainly on tap dance. When I watched the trailer, it got myself thinking too how did this one ended up as musical movie? The music was necessary to accompany the tap dance. I don’t really know much about American music during war times but it is pleasant to hear. The movie focuses on the hero, Kisoo and how he fell in love with tap dance. How tap dance changed his life, the consequences he got when he accepted his love for tap dance from his fellow countrymen and enemies, and the dream he wanted with his talent. It was a beautiful journey to watch his character development. The other characters are necessary for this development, one leads to the other, and another, until they completed each other. And these characters will be tested on their ideology and loyalty; either to be freed physically or to be freed mentally.

Do Kyungsoo is so incredible in this movie. The way he talked in North Korean accent, the way he potrayed as a bully and the most important is the way he tapped dance. It was so beautiful to watch his character. The second lead for me is the character Jackson. The actor, Jared Grimes, is really into his character, I am so impressed. Jackson is the person that introduced tap dance to Kisoo. The relationship between them is so beautiful, it transgressed language, skin colors and ideology. Park Hye Soo’s English is wonderful and she certainly can tap dance; while Oh Jung Se and Kim Minho completed the comic relief in this movie.

The movie started with a good humor here and there, and later it changed into a serious tone due to a major event in the movie. But the beauty of tap dance is featured in the movie from the beginning until the end. The director is clever to use music as the momentum, mostly the pacing of the shoe’s tap itself, and there are some scenes I literally held out my breath, the tap dances in this movie are that good.

I would love to rewatch it again in the future. This movie is certainly different from the others. Recommended.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
10 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
Long title for a long movie. Actually, everything happened very fast, but the story was full of clichés, going toward the R genre, with a weak character, a cute guy, a strange girl and some dinosaurs. In fact, only part of the dinosaurs was interesting. And the performances were fine. But the rest was just plain bad. Some scenes were really poorly made, especially those with the influence of the manga. Or when everyone conveniently had to leave the room and leave the couple alone .... Anyway, if you like romance movies and kind of cute and you really do not care about the rest, you may like it. If you are looking for something deeper, or memorable then this is not for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My Heart Leaps Up
0 people found this review helpful
10 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I loved this movie. It's the closest thing I've watched to an 'art-sy movie' coming from the chinese industry. Maybe it's because I haven't found them yet, or maybe because there aren't many. But this movie is one of its own. I appreciated the general lack of dialogues and personally I did find myself captivated. The storyline could be very obvious or simple (not to mention already outlined by the summary). But regardless, it's an enjoyable experience to watch something with a different feel to it and so well performed.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Does the Flower Bloom?
1 people found this review helpful
by Tel
11 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Sakurai San meets the 19 year old reserved boy yoichi minagawa while at work. Sakurai realises how much yoichi enjoys painting. Yoichi lost his parents in childhood and he took an instant liking to Sakurai San.

The story is ok. It is not the age gap. The actor who played Yoichi portrayed the sad emotions and insensitiveness required of his character well. Sakurai handled the maturity of his character well. But what was lacking is the chemistry. The Chemistry to bind the two characters acting well for this love story was missing. That makes everything less interesting. Even though the actors put an effort to justify their roles, the lack of chemistry makes it looks like the actors have not put in enough effort. If you look at the intimate scenes, it looks like the actors are unwilling or awkward(in a bad way) to do it. And that really put me off. Oh come on Sakurai San, you need to show the intense love in a very expressive way. Minagawa Kun also need to be more expressive. I felt Minagawa was intense but need to be expressive. These subtle expressions would have paid off in a big way if these two had Chemistry.

I liked the music part.

If you are expecting an intense love story, you might be a bit disappointed. Still if you have nothing else to do and just need to kill time, then watch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Butterfly Sleep
2 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
Although not so different from many other Japanese melodrama movies in recent years, "Butterfly Sleep" is to some extent distinguished by its interesting setting and frank story, and its overall result is fun and touching enough for recommendation. It may be predictable, but this is a well-made movie, full of genuine feelings, and certainly wins its tears in the end. Butterfly Sleep may not offer great surprises, but through Jeong's firm and balanced control, it becomes a comforting journey through a familiar tale punctuated by sober pockets of emotional intensity.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Forget Me Not
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I would watch this movie again and again for the performance of the two main actors, who really delivered and made me cry more than I thought I would.
The story is meant to give us more questions (what would you do in Azuza's situation? How would it feel being forgotten?) than answers. Even if the plot of the "person being forgotten" has been used many times, I found it different here because the movie goes around the character's feelings rather than anything else. This is also what might keep you watching the movie more than once and thinking about it for days after it ends.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
One Smile is Very Alluring
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
I came to see this movie after watching the TV series and reading the novel, and even though there are many changes in the story, I found it refreshing because of that. Even if there's not drama in One Smile is very Alluring, there's still a clear conflict that serves to the main character's relationship, and gives a climax to the movie that I just couldn't find in the TV series. This change was a good decision, because a movies doesn't have the time to show every single moment between Xiao Nai and Wei Wei. Even so, the romance here is very satisfying. I enjoyed the performances of the actors, and their chemistry on-screen.

For the ones who are in for some sweet, light hearted love story, then you are probably going to enjoy this movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Believer
0 people found this review helpful
by Mona
12 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
The first time I tried to watch this movie I stopped it after the first 10 minutes, BUT IM SO GLAD I CAME BACK TO IT. The first 20 mins feeds you the main plot and how the police will go after the drug lord, “Mr. Lee”. After all the main plots the movie will make you stick around for the good parts, trust me.

BEST PART OF THE MOVIE is the fact that it leads you on. It captivates you, gives little hints until the final reveal. An absolute PLOT TWIST that leaves you second guessing in the moment, “wait, it can’t be…”. Then you realise it, not only have the characters in the movie been fooled, but also YOU have been fooled.

The captivating character development of See Young Rak was exceptional. Although his back story is slightly questionable at the end, it is a movie overall and the aim is to entertain and not always make sense. Ryu Joon Yeol never fails to put up a fantastic character for each different genre of film/drama he features in. The film is action packed with zany characters who leave you weirded out, especially if the audience has not been exposed to similar genres of movies.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
True Fiction
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This is a cartoon comedy buffet, monstrous horror and a lot of martial arts, with little moments of delight: the movie boasts several stylized fist-and-foot fighting scenes, gravity-defying clashes and built sequences. in silly jokes. "The Unity of Heroes" is as light as the characters that fly through the air; the only thing that takes seriously is the existence of morality, the concept that creates the said unity in its title of nothingness. I think for a movie for the first time, it's a great effort, but maybe the character's development needs to go a little deeper. Regardless, I'm looking forward to what your second movie is about.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?