Completed
Our Shining Days
1 people found this review helpful
21 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
Overall
Note: I haven’t read the novel this is based on, simply commenting on the film as a single entity.

Story 9.0
I like the idea of old meets new, battle of this vs. that, but in the end they meet in the middle and peace comes over. A dying art, should be cared for by all, both new and old. The instruments melding together was perfect. The only thing lacking I found was the romance line, was predictable. I found myself wanting the plot line to be excluded from this film and focus on the rivalry.

Acting/Cast 9.5
The cast didn’t bother me when it came to acting. It thought that the lead, Xu Lu, did a good job. I couldn’t really think of an actress who could replace her. It’s not the best emotional acting, but the story and plot line doesn’t really call for it. The comedy part really shined for everyone.

Music 10
I don’t really know much about music. I am more of a costume person, but the music in this really was amazing. The battle scene, the last song, everything was so well done, that I couldn’t fathom not giving it a 10. Because this plot follows heavily on music, It was really well done. I even found myself loving some of the classical chinese instruments amazing and trying to find instrumental recordings to listen to. Job well done!

Re:watch Value 8.5
I honestly would watch it over again. I think I would get tired of the story plot after a few watches, but I could watch the battle scene everyday for the rest of my life and never tire of it. The plot line can be repetitive, but the music is beyond interesting to me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Beautiful Vampire
0 people found this review helpful
21 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Don't expect much, I admit this is not for all people. Heard a lot of bad reviews from the comments, saying it's boring and a waste of time. Others found it disappointing. The first 10 minutes was odd to be honest, because I expected a serious vampire gore movie (kissasian even had the melodrama tag on it). But as the film went on, I actually became interested in the main characters (esp. So Nyeon) because they were funny.

Plot: 6.5/10
It's more like a parody rather a serious one (as we all thought). This movie gave an indie feel and I liked the calendar shots which signifies a new chapter. I loved the story between Ran and So Nyeon. The story was funny in it's own way. The overall plot is light and sweet. I think people would actually like this if it was written better. The ending was loose and plot-holes everywhere, they didn't even bother explaining Jin Yi's character and suddenly she appears in the end without context. But humor-wise, this got me.

There is this one scene that really caught my eye (around 50 min mark). I think it was what made me love the movie. IT REALLY MADE MY HEART MELT together with the bgm that was playing.

Cast: 9.5/10
To the people saying their acting was bad: I THINK IT WAS INTENTIONAL. This movie only had 4-5 actors in it but it's more than enough. I'd watch this even if it only had Jung Yeon Joo and Song Kang in it. Ran was quite naive despite being in the world for 500 years. So Nyeon was extremely funny and playful. The way he mixes up his English and Korean lmao. Song Kang gives me Yook Sung Jae/ Rowoon(SF9) feels. I think I'm attached?? Both MCs were cute, I LOVE BOTH OF THEM.

Music: 10/10
THE OST IS RIDICULOUSLY CUTE. And there is this scene I mentioned above ^^ (watch and you'll know) which was pleasing and the bgm gave it a different mood.

Rewatch Value: 10/10
I watched this 3 more times after watching it the first time. This is good for some light watching. It's an easy watch and I like this kind of indie comedy, just my style. Or maybe I keep watching because of Song Kang?

Overall: 9/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
River's Edge
0 people found this review helpful
21 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
A young woman runs through the streets at night, invading an abandoned school building. An unknown interlocutor gives her a clue and she opens a point from which a naked, bound guy falls. A burning corpse flies out of a skyscraper window. Meanwhile, on the nearby river bank, a fisherman tells the story of another ghost woman in the water. The nocturnal fishermen, to whom the adaptation of Isao Yukisada's manga (Rose and Gray) returns in intervals, are a parable suitable for the director. At the beginning of his confused sex melodrama, he throws the burning corpse as a public bait. If you want to know which of the protagonists of the half dozen ends as a departure that has moved away, you need to sit down until the end of almost two hours. In short at the beginning was the corpse, in the end the violence. But in between, "River's Edge" likes to walk on precipices. The explanations are few, not even the attempt to make a history of the different slopes. But leave an impression, this adaptation of a manga, more than one is sometimes cool.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Miss Baek
5 people found this review helpful
21 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is bold, dark and incredibly touching.

Everything from the dialogue to the cinematography was perfectly executed.
The use of silence truly brought out the character's emotions and took it to a whole other level. Sometimes less is more when it comes to dialogues, especially in a movie like this.

Han Ji Min is amazing in this movie and makes Miss Baek feel like a complete and real person. You can really feel her pain. Her character is very believable which is extremely important when dealing with such a dark and hard subject.

The rest of the cast also did a great job, especially the child actress. Your heart will break when watching her. To know that these things actually do happen in real life is sickening, but that's also why books and movies like these are so important! We can't close our eyes when it comes to child abuse.

If you want to watch a great movie that will move you to tears you should definitely watch this!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Royal Concubine: Concubine of King
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.5
I love anything to do with Asian royal courts so when I saw the title of the movie : I was in.

The story is interesting and makes a fascinating watch. The reason why I rate a seven is simply because it was obviously ostenstatious and was super determined to prove a point. One can tell that the writers wrote this out to prove some sort of point and that’s annoying and quite frankly lazy. Good stories do not need to be backed up by the narrator or the maker but they just simply tell their stories without forcing the viewers to feel a certain way.

However - I was successfully pulled along in aghast and shock and did not think for a minute to hit stop and do something else. Instead I was thinking the following; “woah- really?” “This is quite pornagraphic - is this allowed?” “ What the ...?” In my book that counts for something and that’s why it doesn’t score a flat 5.

Moreover -I felt manipulated in my discernment of the plot that I wasn’t sure if my thoughts were really my own as this movie made it it’s mission to control every reaction.

Acting :Kim Min Joon was good because his portrayal of Kwon Yoo was not so concentrated but rather muted and subtle which was a breath of fresh air in the heady 2hrs. Cho Yeo jeong was such an obvious tool in the ostentatious production . She was way too obedient to whoever the director was , much to her shortcoming. The rest of the cast just fade out quite frankly.

Music was dramatic and tense and so was the cinematography. It really aided the curious intentions of the production. Solid 8.

As for rewatching- I don’t need to rewatch this and neither should you. Like I said in the headline : Watch this when your tv watching is dry and you are suddenly consumed by curiosity.

Overall - meh. The shock factor just became blah but that finale scene really was something! Kudos to Cho Yeo Jeong for that seriously crazy last scene !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Vince & Kath & James
1 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
? STORY ?
The story of Vince & Kath & James is an overused formula that have been going on for centuries. Yet, the results are still amazing!
Vince & Kath & James talks about Kath, who has a crush on Vince's cousin, James. While Vince does harbor feelings for Kath, he hides it all too well with his carefree and teasing attitude, which makes Kath easily hate him. With this description, you can easily guess the trope used in this story- that's right, folks- it's the typical hate turns to love relationship.
While this is indeed a love story, I think this is a story of family as well. Kath is the sweet daughter who would do anything for her family (getting odd jobs and joining contests that awards money) while Vince is that sweet kid next door who feels indebted to his relatives (aunt, uncle and cousin James) and would do anything for them.

? ACTING/CAST ?
The choice for the main cast here is no question. "JoshLia" (the tandem of Joshua Garcia and Julia Barretto) is rising in the Filipino industry, their rising popularity is of perfect use to this movie.
Like I said, I'm not a fan of love teams. However, JoshLia did make me smile more than once so I guess they did a good job in executing their roles. Let's talk about them individually.
Joshua Garcia plays Vince, a sweet and humorous guy who is also smart and hardworking. He's our prince charming in disguise in this story. What makes Vince a character worth rooting for is we actually don't know what he's about in the story. He's like this onion that has too many layers to peel, and while you slowly peel those layers, you can't help but cry. It's a strong statement and Garcia played the character perfectly. I especially love the part where he tears up, cause even I feel bad for him.
Now, let's talk about our leading lady, Julia Barretto. Barretto plays Kath, a hardworking fellow engineering student who shows us girl power. This girl does odd jobs and joins contest for money in order to help her family. She is strong and tough though she looks really pretty. To be honest, Kath is a character you can predict from the get go. But like how I complimented Garcia's job well done, I would like to commend Barretto's.
Kath showed all sorts of emotions throughout the movie- happy, sad, and angry. Yet, as good as Barretto portrayed those moments, that's not the reason why I like her. It's the times that Kath is silent and is just daydreaming or simply thinking or simply rambling on with no interest in her surroundings that made me like her. Because at that moment, with her eyes sparkling, I felt that Kath is so real and vulnerable. Barretto did a job well done on that.
If anyone's curious on who's playing James, it's Ronnie Alonte. Now, to start with, I have no idea that this dude is in the acting business as well. I thought he was just a singer/dancer, but no, he's acting. This made me easily dismiss his character, which I immediately regretted in the end.
Alonte plays varsity player/jock James, who doesn't do well on school and only has basketball to take pride on. In spite of this, James is a really good guy who makes Kath happy, though he fails to do that sometimes because of basketball, which he gives majority of his time on. Let me start praising the director for casting Alonte as James. Just looking at him, he really does suit his role. He just gives off this natural vibe of being the hotshot basketball MVP
These three young stars (although young and still starting) have done a pretty good job in their roles. Their performance is really good

? MUSIC ?
I downloaded every single song this movie has! It's so sweet and soothing. I honestly have no words for it.
As cheesy as it may sound, "Hey Crush" has become my favorite. The song is about someone professing his love to his crush, and it's just so innocent and nice that I play that song each and every time. I honestly think that that song is made for Vince's character.
Then there's Dapit Hapon, quite a melodious song that has a slow tempo and lonely vibe into it. I can say that this song is the deal breaker. The movie comprised mostly of upbeat songs, so you can guess my surprise when I heard this song playing. Nevertheless, it is a sweet song :)

? REWATCH VALUE ?
I would probably replay this movie again if I ever get bored or just miss Vince's cute lines. Did I mention Vince's lines? They're honestly so romantic and to-die for!

? OVERALL ?
This movie uses the overused love formula of penpals, love-hate relationships and family drama. Nevertheless, it did use it right and it did have the viewers swooning in the end <3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
I’m Drunk, I Love You
0 people found this review helpful
23 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
? STORY ?
In comparison to other Filipino romance movies, the story of this movie stands out. Maybe it's because of its dose of unpredictability, but this movie is definitely not your average Filipino romance movies.
For the record, I think this is more of a story about friendship than love. The story's cover is basically Carson's 7-year-old feelings for Dio, a best friend who seems to be oblivious of her love for him. The cover of the story may seem like a hopeless love but do not let the description fool you because the story isn't merely a love story.
It's a depiction of graduating students questioning the future and what they will become of. This story uses alcohol as a plot device, making it quite the movie. It's a refreshing splash of reality that doesn't give its typical happy ending.

? ACTING/CAST ?
Let me start this off by saying this: while I am a huge fanatic of Filipino movies, I find myself not keeping tabs and being a fan of several hotshot artists. The only Filipino artist I consider myself a fan of is Paulo Avelino, so you can guess that my bias for him will play a major role on this criteria.
Now, the reason I am a fan of Avelino is not because of his good looks (if that's the case, I would've followed loads of actors already). I am a fan of Avelino because of his acting skills- which is fresh and precious each and every time.
This movie did not change that perspective. Avelino played the role of Dio pretty well!
Dio is this seven-year film major who suddenly decides that he won't be attending his graduating after persevering in his major for seven years. He is this man who seems to not be afraid of time and pressure from reality. This perk makes him appear mysterious and enigmatic. Add a dose of his love for music alongside his heavenly voice- it's not question why Carson fell in love with him. Paulo Avelino portrayed this type of character perfectly. Considering the roles he usually partake in, it's surprising how well he got into the act.
Now, let's talk about our female lead, Maja Salvador. I know Salvador as she is considered one of the veteran actresses in the Filipino industry. I cannot refute that.
I've seen Salvador's movies (I've even watched her famous TV series, Wildflower, but dropped it due to some other reasons) before and I can tell you, the characters she usually play are pretentious, classy, and intimidating. But in this movie, Salvador played Carson- alcoholic, boyish- but lost in love with Dio. This was a fresh sight to see for me, as at some point, I thought- this is Carson, not Salvador. Albeit the sharp eyes, Salvador appeared in the movie as boyish and less caring of her choice of words and slurs, as she drinks bottle to bottle, and gives us the hopeless yet thoughtful Carson.

? MUSIC ?
"Minamahal kita! (I love you)
Ba't di ka maniwala! (Why won't you believe me?)
Anong kailangan kong gawin (What do I need to do?)
Upang seryosohin mo. (For you to take me seriously)
Ang aking sinasabi (What I'm saying)
Tungkol sa pag-ibig ko sa 'yo. (Is about my love for you)
Maniwala ka sana, minamahal kita! (I hope you'll believe me, I love you)"

Having a cast that has good voices and a male lead that loves music sure has its perks. I'm Drunk, I Love You covers a lot of OPM songs that are considered classics. One of the scenes that I love in this movie is Carson and Dio's duet of Maniwala Ka Sana (the one quoted above).
The choice of song for the climax is sad and beautiful too- it's Hanggang Dito na Lang (its literal translation in English is 'just up here' but I dunno) by Jimmy Bondoc.
The choice of OPM is something I appreciate ?

? REWATCH VALUE ?
Although it's a beautiful movie, I can't say that I'll rewatch it again. Maybe some scene of Paulo Avelino or Maja Salvador singing but other than that, none.
It's a beautiful and intoxicating movie but it's honestly worth rewatching once.

? OVERALL ?
The cinematography for this movie is to die for. Not only that, but this movie really gives me the 'indie feels' (it is an indie movie).
The characters are something I appreciate, and although the ending angers the majority, I honestly can't think of a better way to end the movie. It's just fitting, considering Dio and Carson.
Although I may sound foolish, I'm Drunk I Love You is a Filipino aesthetic. Underneath its colorful shots and wonderful cinematography is its cold slap of reality. And while it talks about love, I think it's a story focusing more on the strength of friendship ?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Wonderful Nightmare
0 people found this review helpful
23 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5

A review from an Indian Viewer

The enactment of the lead role by Uhm Jung-hwa? is simply outstanding. All the other characters also have given their best. I liked the movie for its universal appeal of Karma and how love changes everything. With this movie i have become a Fan of Korean movie and will definitely watch any interesting Korean movies in future.The concept of The Family has been highlighted where happiness of all family members is priority , not money.

A movie to be watched by all, and is worth a re-watch . It has a simple and wonderful story.Although ending of movie is good, but could be explored from other angles and hence a next part of it makes sense.

Be Happy

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Got 2 Believe
1 people found this review helpful
23 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
? STORY ?
Storywise, Got 2 Believe is the typical hate turns into love story. We have wedding planner Toni, who struggles to find love and is considered to be an old maid by her family and friends. Toni is usually the bridesmaid, but never the bride, and this contributed to her temper.Albeit her single life, she still believes in love and happy endings. So, where does our leading male comes in? Lorenz, a wedding photographer, often captures epic moments of Toni as a bridesmaid, making her a laughingstock. Lorenz's candid pictures is the reason why Toni doesn't see him as a good guy. But certain circumstances will change that, as the two will try to work together due to benefits and opportunities.
The story of Got 2 Believe can easily be found in a lot of books, movies, and TV series today. I personally love the trope of hate becoming love, but that's not the reason why I gave such an overly used trope a high score. Got 2 Believe remains as a legendary story in the Philippines due to its fresh introduction of romance, and the way it takes its turn of events.
The characters are sincere, and although you may want to slap them sometimes due to their actions, they are honestly worth watching. I think one of the reasons of why the characters seem this way is the polished acting, but we'll get to that later.
While you may have seen the premise of Got 2 Believe before, its showing of the authenticity of love is certainly something to look out for

? ACTING/CAST ?
Now, let me say this first. As a part of Generation Z, I have never come across the cast of this movie because they're not as popular as they are before my generation. But I will tell you this, I am not a fan of love teams. The Philippines' entertainment industry is usually popular for its set of love teams, but I, for one, have unfortunately not become a fan of a single one.
This is because some of the popular love teams that gets the movie and TV series deals do not usually ooze the same chemistry they do outside of the camera. What I'm trying to say is, some of they are honestly better in variety shows.
Got 2 Believe offers us the tandem of Rico Yan (playing Lorenz) and Claudine Barretto (playing Toni), both artists that I am not familiar with. You can say this is the first movie I've watched of this tandem. I am not disappointed.
Barretto really gave me the impression that Toni is this woman who envies but at the same time is sincerely looking for love. Amidst it all, Toni is dealing with her relatives who are desperate to see her married. Meanwhile, Yan made me swoon over Lorenz's charm and wit. I can't think of anyone suiting his character more than him.
Both acting was phenomenal, and I even developed a little crush on Rico Yan by the end of the movie for his charm and wit as Lorenz Montinola (RIP Rico Yan).
How can I say this? Their chemistry is just oozing! It's like they were made for each other, and I swear, my fingers curled a lot of times that it hurts.
Aside from the main characters, I have grown a soft side for the side ones. I love Vhong Navarro's character. He is Lorenz's sidekick on the movie, who is quite idiotic but says all the right words when needed. He's this little comic relief that the movie needed.
The things I usually complain about the TV shows and movies today is the lack of chemistry and bad acting, but I never found myself complaining about that stuff while watching this movie. While the cinematography and shots are not that great compared to the movies of today (the movie was made in 2002 where technology is just growing, so it's quite understandable), Got 2 Believe never made me notice that as I get immerse on the shouting, the ugly crying, and just plain happiness of the characters.

? MUSIC ?
I only recall two music from this movie, one which I cannot recall entirely, and one that is phenomenal. There's this song that the movie played when Toni tries to maintain a happy vibe as her best friend gets married, it was "Ikakasal Ka Na", which ironically enough, suited the scene. This song is like a bitter person wishing luck on a former lover or person of interest's marriage. That part was seriously sad, but at the same time, funny.
Then there's that phenomenal soundtrack, Got To Believe, which was sang by Side A (I think it's a cover but I honestly don't know).
"Got to believe in magic, tell me how two people find each other/in a world that's full of strangers/ Got to believe in magic, something stronger than the moon above/ Cause it's magic when two people fall in love" (this is the chorus of the main soundtrack, Got 2 Believe)
The lyrics are so touching and tugging, that I honestly found myself being a lovesick romantic!

? REWATCH VALUE ?
I'm not gonna lie, I cried buckets when this almost 2-hour movie ended. I just wanted to see more of Toni and Lorenz that I cried that much.
I even found myself unable to watch anymore movies or TV series after that. It took me a week and a half to get over that movie. I didn't watch the entire movie over that course, no, I'm usually lazy to replay it again, but I did watch certain scenes that made me feel as if I'm watching the movie for the first time again.
If not that feeling, I find myself noticing things I didn't noticed the first time, how their eyes sparkled, the hesitance, the smallest of gestures- everything!
This movie is worth watching, and is great for rewatching !

? OVERALL ?
I gave this movie a really high score (9/10). If you'll watch the movie's trailer, you may notice the basic editing and compare it to the movies of today but let me tell you this: do not let the trailer shoo you away. Do not let the basic editing shoo you away. Remember, this movie is made back in 2002, where technology is just growing. Considering that, this movie is a work of art.
Aside from the disclaimer, Got 2 Believe has a legacy of its own. This movie is considered by critics as one of the greatest romantic Filipino movie of all times. It really is a movie that will make you believe in love once more.
Perhaps the saddest thing about this movie is not that it has ended, but rather, this is Rico Yan's (the leading man) last film before he died later that year (RIP)
Fancy words aside, this movie is a phenomenon of its own ?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shin Godzilla
0 people found this review helpful
23 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Shin Godzilla: How to Avoid Bungling Up a Crisis Of Epic Proportions

A human drama. Dialogue-heavy. Tedious. Full of long one-liners. No character development. Seemingly unnecessary scenes. Godzilla was like what, 30 mins of the movie?

I loved it!

Godzilla itself was a true incarnation of a vengeful god, going beyond human understanding and evolutionary limits.

A movie about the idealized everyday superheroes of Japan. Principled, intelligent, capable, diligent and well-meaning politicians and bureaucrats (those loners, nerds, troublemakers, eccentrics etc) who are in it for the love of their work, Japan and its people. In another word, true public service, not the hypocritical-lip-service type.

What struck me most, from my childhood days of Superman and Ultraman, was the difference between the USAn and Japanese “superheroes”. The contrast between individual vs team effort. Nowhere was it more apparent than here, a movie about a monster born of nuclear radiation and weapons, that quintessential Japanese monster, Godzilla. Having watched the movie, it also became very clear to me why the Japanese loved it, while others had mixed/divided reactions.

This is not a movie for everyone, though. However, if political satire and crisis management are your interest, this movie would be a good match.

This was truly a Japanese made movie for the Japanese people; those who have had first hand experience with the 2011 Tohoku Disaster, the Fukushima Nuclear Reactor Meltdown event and other natural disasters in recent years, many of which were unprecedented in their scale and marks left. I don’t expect too many people who have lived through the 2011 Tsunami in north-eastern Japan will choose to watch this movie. The loss, grief and trauma are still felt, and the images much too real.

The satire of Japanese politics, bureaucracy and way-of-doing-things, was as entertaining as it was disheartening. The depictions of ineptness and inertia inherent in clunky bureaucracies and democracies, the inability to move beyond commonplace understanding and self-interests, made for both hilarity and resignation. Many of the dialogues made me laugh, and I still have to chuckle whenever I recalled them. It was dry and dark humour at some of their best. Peppered with commentaries about Japanese politics (and the USA role in it) and a smattering of global relations, it was a very realistic movie in many aspects. Themes about ideals and reality were threaded throughout. Lots of scientific jargon too.

Shin-Godzilla was not your garden-variety Kaiju/monster movie (not that I have watched many, this was my first Godzilla movie after all, and even the interest was stoked only because Takahashi Issei was in it, but I don’t think most monster movies were made this way), choked full as it was with political dialogues, bureaucratic maneuvering and crisis/disaster management, it was at its heart, a cautionary tale of human hubris and folly, the human spirit and the triumph of team effort and cooperation (as illusionary and momentary as it was, given the ominous ending).

Those were some of the reasons I found the movie fascinatingly good. The characters certainly captured both the heart and imagination as well. Undoubtedly, a movie well-worth the time spent on it, even with its flaws.

Highlights:

The female characters. They might be a small minority here, but the few who appeared were all strong, competent and oh-so-fantastic, even the “annoyingly-bratty-I-understood-her-Japanese-better than-her-English” Japanese-American special envoy. The character of the Defense Minister was also excellent. (I wish I could say the same for the previous real life female Japanese Defense Minister. I cringed every time she appeared on the news).

The main team members of the “Major Disaster/Crisis Management Task-Force”. Their introduction alone was a wonder to watch. Comical.

The character of Ogashira Hiromi stole the scene the moment she appeared; plain-faced, composed, backbone ramrod-straight, eyes glued to the video of an unknown creature on the computer screen while spewing rapid fire statements and theories on what she was observing, she was simply amazing. Cool, collected, ultra-intelligent and competent, she was always right. Yet, no one ever apologized when they dismissed her opinions, only to be proven wrong the next minute when what she had just stated proved true. (Don’t you just loved it when a woman is always right? I did, at least...)

And here comes my next favourite character, Yasuda Tatsuhiko. The only one to apologize to Ogashira when her theory proved accurate. He had previously countered her theory as absurd, but when she was proven correct, he did the right thing - rare too - and apologized, publicly. It was such a surprise and joy to watch (and an interaction to launch a thousand ships). It was certainly no puzzle why both characters were so popular; characterizations and acting were superb.

The main protagonist - if there was anyone fitting that description, it would be him - Yaguchi Rando. A third generation politician, he was one of the many deputy cabinet secretaries dotting the cabinet. Principled and straightforward, he was both earnest and idealistic, the type of politician you wished really existed. (I am sure these people exist, just not at the highest level...)

The interim Prime Minister. The veteran actor was compelling in both his presence and acting. His helpless resignation as to his role in an interim government facing imminent nuclear bombing and loss was poignantly bitter to behold.

The idea that no matter how horrifying and destructive Godzilla was, humans are worse. (Certainly no argument with this conclusion).

The impressive cast and numerous cameos. I could only count on one hand the names which I do know of, yet there were more than 300 actors, and while I do not know of their names, many were certainly familiar faces.

The wonderful soundtrack. I have no direct experience with any of the Godzilla franchise, but perhaps I have heard of the music here and there before, I have no idea. No matter, the music utilized here felt very old-school, and yet, refreshingly relevant. (The type of soundtrack I imagined the first iconic and other older movies would have incorporated into their movies).

The destruction of Tokyo. Chilling and terrifying.
(The scenes of the attempts at bringing down Godzilla with trains reminded me of the times I have seen the mock play of boys ramming their toy trains together or into a figurine/s. It was beyond funny).

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Crazy Little Things
0 people found this review helpful
23 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
The story begins with an extra depressed actor, Chen Shijie. There was one time that he had a heart attack, and when his heart reaches 160bpm, he will travel back in time to his university days. Shijie decides to take advantage of these opportunities to correct the regrets he's had in his life ... The first half of the funny plot has not been much luggage, and it's hard to laugh at it. At the end of the film, the most important part of the whole story is cleared up, and some people will not understand it because the general feeling of the story is a bit drawn, the end, for the audience watching the film, there is a place to praise and a place to improve.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Last Winter, We Parted
0 people found this review helpful
24 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
The movie starts with Yakumo Kyosuke who wants to investigate Kiharazaka Yudai, a very special photographer.

I think the start is a bit slow, but I was very curious about Kiharazaka Yudai. Why he wants to take pictures the way he does, and why people around him are protecting him.
As the story continues, more secrets are revealed, and at some point, it turns around. I loved being fooled to believe I knew the answer, but I was fooled again.

The plot is fascinating, and if you like thrillers, this is one of the best. Writing more will reveal the story, so it is better to just watch and learn the truth yourself.

I put the rewatch value as low because the surprise is already revealed, so it is not the same watching it the 2nd time

Highly recommended!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Europe Raiders
0 people found this review helpful
24 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a quarity job as an anti-CIA parody for China. Politically mature audiences may accept this as a sort of alternative to 007 espionage films in the past. In addition, his filmmaking techniques far outnumber Taiwanese filmmakers in all respects today. A successful cinematic co-operation between Mainland and Hong Kong! It's a visual mess, and worse, it pulls all your emotional blows with no room to react when an important character falls on the count and an inevitable afterword of filling in gaps to come. It got even worse by the way other films in the series came out of mediocrity - or at least sent the audience home smiling - with big submissions, while it just shows that what made Hong Kong the world's adventure capital action now seems to be in rather scarce. The best thing I can say about it is that it inspired me to track down "Tokyo Raiders," which may not be great but excites more features than this movie does.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Great Hypnotist
0 people found this review helpful
25 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
Lets see, where do I start with this one. The plot, started off slow at first definitely didn't draw me in but, once you actually get further into the movie the plot starts to pick up. As someone interested in becoming a psychologist the whole hypnosis thing drew me in since, hypnosis is something a lot of people do experience in their daily lives. The hypnosis in this movie reveals what it is like to experience hypnosis. The acting was great, especially Karen Moks, I've never seen her before but she really caught my attention in this movie. She played her role perfectly and I can sure tell you no one else could've pulled it off like she did in this movie. The music was okay, wasn't necessarily much just your typical suspense music of course. Don't rewatch this movie 100% though, because you'll already know everything and it won't be as suspenseful as it is your first time watching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My Pretend Girlfriend
1 people found this review helpful
25 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
I feel like a lot of people who watched this were expecting a lighthearted and romance filled movie about youth. But it's really the complete opposite. It's a fictitious story, but the characters are very real and full of emotions. The movie is actually pretty serious and it shows how much youth really feels. The movie is shot in crisp and clear white light, showing an almost void of life type feeling that contradicts the deep feelings of the characters. This is a wonderful movie and I felt like attached to the people in this when it was done.
Was this review helpful to you?