Completed
Exit
0 people found this review helpful
by Ange
16 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Exit is a movie I never expected to like.
At first glance it feels like a rock climbing action thriller with hints of bioterrorism. And it was. But it was so much more than that. I laughed - A LOT - and felt for the characters. The plot is as simple as described in the synopsis. But it's so complete. It is what it is and it is done simply and effectively - ah the wonders of modern science. And you're not left wondering what the hell that gas is made of because you're so focused on the lead cast, willing them to survive. Even the conclusion of the film is so simple and satisfying. It's set up nicely, executed effectively and concluded with few plot holes. I loved it. There is no heroism, just human honesty, resourcefulness and the desire to survive or die trying.

It also seamlessly tied in the dated trope of large-scale-disaster with the perks and ingenuity of modern technology. With the use of drones operated by people of all ages to make it a community event, these people no longer became individuals, but a larger whole and by inclusion showed the propensity for human-kind to help each other survive despite not being intimately involved. It was an ingenious choice to include this and gave the story a breath of fresh air.

Im Yoona and Jo Jung Suk were so perfectly in sync and chemistry that I find it difficult to imagine any other two actors that have the sense and experience enough to fill these roles. Seeing her and Jung Suk perfectly bounce off each other without awkwardness or pretense, nothing felt forced, it felt largely natural which is a great compliment to the filming crew as well. Excellent.

Music - Loved it. It fit well though not super memorable despite the special choreography MV released with Yoona and Jung Suk.

Overall I would definitely re-watch Exit every now and then for the laugh out loud moments and it will probably stick in my mind as a highly enjoyable comedy action thriller that was done right.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Twenty
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I enjoyed each and every aspect of this movie, the cast and the acting was just straight out impeccable, I loved the plot, the begining scene and the ending scene and everything in between. The characters were likeable but realistic and relatable. The script was witty and the humour was subtle, not too much of anything, just perfect harmony.
I've rewatched this movie countless times and every single time I've found myself just as entertained as I did when I first watched it. 10/10 would recommend this movie to someone who's just starting their journey with k-movies and k-dramas.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Chihayafuru: Kami no Ku
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Beautifully excuted each part of the movie ,thoroughly enjoyed while watching it.
You are not fail till you not give up ,so Never give up .Fight till your last breath so there will be no regrets .We should give 100 % rest leave in the lap of the god ...Hard work always pay .All this thing taught in this drama .So nicely they present the message . Spirit of fighting ,focus and strong determination as well as love and respect towards the game .so nicely they had shown .Sometimes I felt in real I am watching a game so nicely they did an acting .Amazing
Since starting they introduced the name ofArata ,I thought he is a main character but he only shared few scenes and at last they hide his face .I think second season going to have his story . I like the last part when he confess to him ,In hindi there is a proverb "der aai durasat aai " this sentence if I translate according to word so it means you come late but you come healthy so it means though he accepted his fault though he was late in confess ,yes he damage him ,he make him loose his competition but all the time he realised his mistake and finally he confessed so I think he should forgiveness but in one condition that he should not have further internal evil thoughts.
All the actor and actress in this movie so cute ,so charming and so beautiful .They did amazing work ...
I like this game I never heard about this game ,first time I heard about this game and felt it is very interesting game . What I understand about this game that it needs lots of concentration ,focus and patience ..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Extreme Job
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
Extreme Job was as typical as any comedy cop movie could be, just like how ordinary a simple fried chicken was. There were B-rated police team, who were basically good at failing and on the verge of being broken up. But instead of serving it as it is, the movie was elevated by adding its funny but no nonesense characters, their actors and comedic timing, and its unique & entertaining plot, similar to how the Galbi sauce uplifted the boring fried chicken to its trademark status. I've already seen it three times since I couldn't help but recommend it to anyone who was interested. And of course, I always had to sit through it with them to survey their reaction XD. Despite the repetition, it still get me in stitches throughout, each time.

It defies a lot rules and protocols of police work, and basically of sensibility, so there's no point of taking it seriously on it's representation of the job, but nonetheless, it's extremely (pun intended) funny. I will not stop on recommending it to others any time soon, so I might see it for the fourth time if I get the chance ^^;

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Midnight Runners
0 people found this review helpful
by Noey
17 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
I recommend watching this movie absolutely!
The plot is simple, dynamic, captivating and fun!! Overall the movie is satisfying and leaves you with a smile especially for the amazing collaboration between Park Seo Joon and Kang Ha Neul! I laughed in some scenes only because of their expressions and their way of doing things, they interpreted the character well! They are a really great team, a perfect bromance! Their friendship seems real and not acting!
I think this gives a big score to the movie! In addition there are also serious, sad and scary scenes with regards to villains.
It's a very good movie and I would like to see another movie or a drama with them!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Snow Flower
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Although you know where the story is going, Kimi no hana, or snow flower in literal translation, had a nice and cute story to present. What I liked and enjoyed the most about this drama was the ending. Somehow it was happy and they gave the whole tragic illness a better and more optimistic twist. The love story was very cute and hot too, although it started out a little weird. Both actors had great chemistry and their romance was somehow realistic and sweet. The performances were also very good.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Chase
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This is an excellent movie overall. This film has pretty good composition and setting. The script-writing here is also excellent, the way how it unfolds the mystery is very good. It's really in another genre of thriller. Good cast of Sung Dong II, and Baek Yoon Shik.

It shows a good persona for an ill-mannered old man, that he is scared that one day no one will like him. It captured the emotions between each one of them having their own hardship trying to pay their rent, but it doesn't get any better even if they tried hard. It also shows the side of being a bad person, will not get anyone to mourn for you when you die, or even worst you die alone in loneliness in your apartment without anyone knowing only to wait for someone to notice you. But among all these edginess, he is actually very concern about his life down the road. The kind of feeling, that doesn't speak much but inside is actually very concerned and scared.

While Sung Dong II here plays an important role of being an Alzheimer person. Sometimes it makes us think whether is he mentally alright, or still retains its consciousness about the situation in reality. His role really turns the whole situation. His character has shown a person of a living dead, a person with so much agony but can't find justice to it. Like how the victims that the culprit has done, paralysing them on their speech but still able to see, touch and hear.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Shameless
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
Rather excessive in it's showcasing of a gritty environment or the darker side of society. This movie started out with the introduction of an edgy and conflicted detective, and progressed to an incessant and constant dialogue about sex and more specifically the amount of times slang for "penis" was used.

Anyhow, nude scenes were unnecessary but likely helped boost market value. Plot progression was done in a roundabout way though the plot itself wasn't too bad. Acting and cast was relevant to the characters and the characters were relevant to the plot.

The narrative is about a detective on the verge of losing his faith in society, losing his humanity and his conflicted moral compass. In his efforts to catch criminals, the things he's had to do make him question whether he's not the same as them. And this movie gives and in-depth view of his M.O. while handling a difficult case.

Cinematography was good, and the music was great, especially at the end with how well it resonated with the movie's conclusion.

P.s. this is not a feel good kind of movie and if you dislike bitter conclusions this might not be for you but give it a watch - I might just be wrong.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Yocho Sanpo Suru Shinryakusha Gekijoban
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
Yocho (Foreboding) utilises the sci-fi 'body-snatcher' trope to reveal the atavistic vacuum common to mankind; when human constructions such as 'family' and 'pride' are stripped away, we are little more than phantoms, shells of our former selves. When Makabe points out that he no longer needs to tap someone on the forehead to reap concepts from them, this may have been a double meaning; in the face of the impending invasion and the possibility of losing what is precious to them, Etsuko and Tatsuo's actions gradually break away from what may be considered humanly moral, such that 'Love', the concept that Makabe ultimately cannot obtain, proves to be both mankind's salvation and downfall.

This is a relatively understated horror film where hardly any blood is shed- the true fear comes not from jump-scares but from aspects such as slowly moving camera shots and unnerving diegetic sounds. A singular point of light and a collapse to the floor is used when a human is 'reaped' of a concept. The sense of 'foreboding' crescendoes into scenes such as Makabe's 'stroll' through the hospital, which are simply executed (the humans around him simultaneously falling comatose) but captivatingly frightening (thanks to the dead silence, save for the beeping hospital gear, a few hushed screams and Makabe's footsteps.) While the invasion (in this film at least) is set on a small scale, Kurosawa broadens the scope through well-placed intermissions; unnatural weather, shots of the moon seemingly dissolving, and the final thunderstorm that envelops the protagonists.

Kaho and Sometani once more exhibit excellent acting- Kaho as the everywoman whose love for her husband transcends her overwhelming fear and then her moral code, Sometani as the agonized everyman who chooses short-term relief over the painful confrontation of his own weaknesses. However, their chemistry as a couple left more to be desired, especially considering the great duo they made in the sex-comedy 'Minna! Esper Dayo!' (which, funnily enough, also contained an alien invasion.) Had their chemistry been at this calibre, Etsuko's motivations would have been given more strength. Higashide was captivating as Dr. Makabe; he strolled through the uncanny valley in a body that was clearly not inhabited by a human soul. His alternating deadpan ruthlessness, invasive curiosity and childish delight were frightening.

Nonetheless, Yocho is brought down heavily by a few critical flaws. Being cut down from a WOWOW tv drama (which sadly hasn't been subtitled), certain transitions seem poorly pieced together- but this doesn't account for an overextended opening and a disappointingly rushed conclusion. While the soundtrack was excellent and well placed, certain scenes could have had more than just silence to further the sense of malaise- or foreboding. The fascinating notion of human concepts being 'reaped' by aliens should have been explored, as with Etsuko's friend, beyond the human merely falling into a deadened slump- how does a human who has lost 'past' and 'future' continue to live, for instance? How does one behave if they've lost all fear, even of death?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The King’s Case Note
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
Is he Sherlock Holmes? Is he a Augustus Caeser of Rome? Is he Musashi Miyamoto? Is he Neo? Is he Batman?

Wrong, he is all and none at the same time; he is above all.
King Ye Jong a.k.a. Lee Sun Kyung has the speed/time perception of Neo from the matrix, deduction skills rivaling that of Sherlock Holmes, benevolence equal to King John I of England and the pacifism and greatness of King Augustus Caeser, the swordsmanship of Musashi Miyamoto and the pure badassery of Bruce Wayne.

Was sort of funny but no real LOL moments. Decent cinematography. Acting was good, casting was relevant to the characters but the characters were one dimensional.

Decent movie as long as you don't mind how predictable it is.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ai Uta: My Promise To Nakuhito
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
" Ai Uta: My Promise To Nakuhito " had a promising story to tell.

The characters were tragic and their stories were sad and emotional. However, even though there were some poetic notes in the drama, the story felt like something we have watched before. There was a possitive side to the story which was inspiring, but the story was pretty much basic and it lacked that factor that could make it memorable. Nevertheless, the performances were pretty decent.

So, overall, six out of ten.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Be with You
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
I personally love the movies with little dark or rain like themes. Rain of course play an important role, this is a perfect movie to watch on cozy rainy or winter days, I will highly recommend this to watch on rainy days.
The cast is perfect as well as the music suits the best.
Generally movies remain in our heart which have happy ending or bad ending , but in this case even though it didn't had happy ending but the ending is everything . The plot will seem simple until you reach the ending. It is really well scripted and we'll directed.
-- Overall this movie is very soft and heartwarming which is worthy to watch. ????

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Psychokinesis
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 3.5
From the title you may expect something like Inception, but it's not. As korean movies , dramas are always so extraordinary , I really wanted an amazing movie like Inception from Korean industry but this film is not.
This film have a similar background like A Taxi Driver as in both movies,the leads play the important role to rescue others.
This doesn't have good plot. Actions were kinda over , so overall it's not good directed.
-- Overall this movie won't satisfy your expectations from the title and the poster. So it's not that worthy to watch. ????
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mood of the Day
0 people found this review helpful
19 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
First of all if you decided to watch this movie based on seeing the poster or the trailer you need to be aware it is not as hilarious as you thought. Also, if you are feeling bored or down please watch other movies that has more actions and thrills, as this movie is mostly about the dialogues between Jae Hyun and Soo Jung, the main leads, no antagonist involved. That's the reason why some comments and reviews stated the movie is boring. But their conversation is actually pretty deep and meaningful while they share and exchange their values of love and sex in a mature way. Mature because there is no slapping, kabedon (wall slamming), force kissing, stalking, piggy back riding, or any other cliche you may find in typical rom-coms. Actually most funny scenes come from the poor friend who is kept left behind by the jerk, that I think are just fillers to make this movie looks funnier.
The aim of this movie is actually the thought process of digesting shocking ideas unfamiliar to the leads: for Soo Jung is finding her first love marries a girl only after 2 months of dating and a stranger asks her straightforwardly but earnestly for a one night stand; and for Jae Hyun is meeting a beautiful woman with a 10 year steady relationship and a basketball player who disregards promising future for a girl.
Some criticizing about the cheating idea is made permissible through this movie. But in my opinion not in this movie. Fate is definitely plays a part as Jae Hyun said in the beginning, although Soo Jung disagrees but you will agree with him after finishing this movie. Soo Jung 10 year relationship with her boyfriend is just exist, something to make a late 20's woman feel comfortable and secure without any excitement (she can't name any fun she did with her boyfriend when Jae Hyun asks).
This kind of movie needs two main leads that can deliver strong chemistry, and the couple nailed it. Yoo Yeon Seok was charmingly seductive yet earnest and Moon Chae Won was naturally uncomfortable yet determined made Jae Hyun and Soo Jung's one day life change event believable. They acted out deep conversation and facial expressions very well.
The OST songs "Photograph" and "Kiss Me" by Ed Sheeran are romantic and soothing.
Since this is a nice romantic movie not drama, definitely the rewatch value is high, though you may not want to rewatch it if you want scenes with lots of actions. But if you feel stuck, watch this film it will make you think of a new idea or rethink about an old idea to be changed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
1448 Love Among Us
0 people found this review helpful
19 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
"1448 Love Among Us" is a male-directed movie about a lesbian couple. The movie poster contains the slogan "A girl-to-girl relationship is something men would never understand." The story is reminiscent of an American female TV movie, If These Walls Could Talk 2, whose first part, titled 1961, starred Vanessa Redgrave and Marian Seldes. It should be noted that if these walls could never be advertised as a story, certain groups of people would never receive. The film can reflect the problems LGBT couples face. Unfortunately, it is unsuccessful in many other things. The public is practically being drowned out by linked products and service announcements. Some are discreet, but others are shamefully obvious. Many plot developments and situations seem unconvincing, unnatural, and involuntarily funny. I really don't feel the chemistry between the two main actresses and even someone as talented as Saiparn can't save and put the pieces together to make this movie work.
1448 The love between us is far from perfect, and I wonder if it really delivers what the poster promises: a story that men (and many women) would not understand. Due to Saiparn's acting ability, however, I believe the movie is capable of at least touching a few hearts at the end of the movie. The final scene raises a number of sympathies, which is perhaps a way of understanding what many people in this country are experiencing, just because of a single ancient law. When the law still refuses to unite two people legally, regardless of gender, this is the problem we will continue to see. These are the kinds of problems facing the LGBT community in Thailand and other parts of the world.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?