If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
The Third Murder
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Japanese lumiere, Hirokazu Koreeda takes a bold move from his gentle family dramas to a crime drama. Yes, I applaud his shift. But perhaps, this is Koreeda's weakest film to date.

It is a very interesting film that explores the judicial system especially Japan's given its almost 99% conviction rate. It is a good look at how lawyers, the defendants, the victim and even the prosecution work. Indeed, the storyline is intriguing particularly of my fondness of courtroom/crime stories.

Koreeda tries his outmost best to keep his signature gentleness—using music. The opening scene is particularly a contrast. A brutal murder yet you have grand classical piece playing in the background and this goes on throughout the entire film. Perhaps this choice show meaning given its subject.

Koreeda has always been a show-don't-tell director and that's very very true here. The point is not to determine whether the lead is guilty or not but it's more sentimental—typical of Koreeda's film. It's always been about exploration, with more focus on its characters. Here, we get that too. And you have actors that Koreeda has worked with in the past to wrap the film up.

But my problem is The Third Murder just feels...dry. Now, Koreeda's film like I said, has always been about exploration. But My Little Sister for instance, while not having an impactful premise was at least...colorful. But The Third Murder felt too nihilistic for my taste that I found myself closing my eyes at times (because I was sleepy) or check my phone for the time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Taxi Driver
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Wow. Just wow. I went to watch A Taxi Driver blind. All I knew was Sang Kang Ho and Ryu Jun Yeol are in it. And it's based on real events. But that's it. I don't know anything about the Gwanju Uprisings nor Jürgen Hinzpeter, the German journalist which Peter is based on. But I left the theatre in tears and in awe.
A Taxi Driver is an incredibly moving, inspiring and brave film. It's a film that honours the bravery of ordinary people, the unsung heroes that battle in the face of fascism and brutality. Taxi drivers, students, journalists—coming together to do one thing: tell the world.

As a journalism student, I have a romanticized view of the type of journalist I want to be—journalists like Peter. Those who risk their life to tell stories that are undiscovered and that are censored. That's the type of journalist I aspire to be. If that's what I'm going to end up becoming is another story. Perhaps that's one reason why the film shook me to my core. Given the political situation in Hong Kong as well and the tension between press freedom and self-censorship here, I feel that, as an aspiring journalist, I have the duty to tell the world things like this—just like Peter, just like Mr. Hinzpeter. And just like Mr. Kim (Sang Kang Ho), who feels that he has the responsibility to his taxi customer—and eventually, to his people.

This is an inspiring film given that to some, especially in a capitalist society (where I'm living), taxi drivers are not seen as honourable jobs. Even today, the reputation of journalists is diminishing. Yet, we have Mr. Kim, a widower who makes-end-meet to provide and care for his 11-year-old daughter as a taxi driver. And despite having to leave his daughter behind and in the face of danger and even death, he owned up to his responsibility.
I will take you to the airport no matter what.

A father that his daughter will forever be proud of.

Perhaps, if you too, see the horror and the brutality that he's seen in Gwangju, you would feel that you have the responsibility to tell the world about it—for a better future for your daughter and future generations. The characters are unsung heroes who are selfless and go through lengths to get the world out there. Jae-sik, a university student (Ryu Jun Yeol) and the taxi drivers.

I have seen many films with Sang Kang Ho in it but to me, this is one of the, if not the best performances of his to date. Sang, a veteran film actor proves his versatility combining comedy and drama and switching between the two with flawless execution. He is the heart of this film. But the soul is the bond, despite short, of the two men: Mr. Kim and Peter. In real life, Hinzpeter tried to search for the real Mr. Kim up until his death in 2016...with no luck. Mr. Kim's son said that his father passed away from cancer four years after the uprising. This film, is a tribute that's too late for the two. And for the other people who helped the two get the word of the Uprising.

Jang Hoon (who worked as an assistant director to Kim Ki Duk) and cinematographer, Go Nak-seon have done a profound job in the film's visuals. The details are apparent and particularly the chase scene between the disguised police and Kim and Peter looks like a sequence out of a dystopian film—a very good parallel to the horror of the fate of the protestors. Its combination of black/red and smoke just produces this eeriness and oozes an apocalyptic mood. That said, the taxi driver vs. military chase scene to me, is an amazing "action" sequence. Not only because of the way it was delivered visually but also emotionally.

Jang and Go makes use of saturated tones to achieve the vintage effect. With occasional slow-motions and close-up particularly during its dramatic sequences (blood flowing out, people getting shot) may perhaps be too sappy for some but it allows not only for drama but also for portraying the horror and a sense of hopelessness. Combine that with hospital scenes and injured protestors of bodies of the deceased—it overwhelms you but it tells you: this is wrong. And that is why we need to tell the world about it.

While A Taxi Driver may be different things like a tribute to the unsung heroes, it also taps on the dangerous roles of foreign correspondents and their local contacts particularly when it comes to war reporting. But this responsibility that we have to tell the world is carried in their heart.
Combining comedy with action is evident in its indoor scene as the characters laugh and cheer only to be swept away by the sound of bombs—looks trying to live normally while caught in the terror of war.

A Taxi Driver is powerful. It is brave. And it is inspiring. Perhaps no words are enough to say how I applaud these people (especially their real life counterparts) on their bravery. No, you don't have to wear a cape to be a hero. You could hold a camera. And you could drive a taxi.

Yup, I definitely cried bucket of tears for this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Peach Girl
1 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
First of all, I'm a sucker for cliche movies...BUT only if  its well-executed and well-written which thank God, this movie has provided. Damn my shoujo heart is so satisfied. The whole drama of who the hell will she end up with worked for me. Of course, I'm rooting for Kairi (though I have a crush on Toji). He was there when she was at her lowest and for the first time, we see a second male lead who pushes the "lead characters" to get together. Ugh that was so refreshing. He also had the most character depth and growth. You see, not everyone is good at acads and I love how he's a person who works hard on his own way. Momo on the other hand was the typical shoujo character who's in looooove~ She's a character who's really forgiving (and somehow naive) but also would stand up for herself (DAMN I LOVE THE FESTIVAL SCENE WHERE SHE WALKS OUT ON THE TWO GUYS). Toji was the character you'd want to swoon over. He was the perfect, clean cut, gentle but will save you kind-of-guy. BUT, I hate how he handled Sae's bait. I knew it was noble idiocy from the beginning. He didn't have much of screen time, hence for me he's just a cardboard, one-sided character. Sae was the manipulative bitch (probably a psychopath) who's happy whenever our the main character suffers. I'm glad we get to see a glimpse of her character when she falls for Ryo because he says he accepts her. She was annoying all throughout the movie but I guess I love what she did at the end. At least, we get to profit on her manipulative skills. The acting was so-so. Its a bit cringy at some parts but tolerable. 

You see, everything about this movie is cliche. The betrayal of your closest friend, the noble idiocy of the boyfriend, the other male lead rescuing the lead girl, lead girl also wants to do noble idiocy...the list goes on. But you know what I really liked about this movie? The message that when you truly love someone, you'll want to make them happy even if that means letting them go.

P.S I haven't seen the manga or the anime.  So this is just the movie review per se (no comparison whatsoever)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Blue Spring Ride
1 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie remind me of those movies I used to watch before these "asian movies and dramas" became popular.
It´s the typicall Japanese teenage movie set in a highschool with the girl who is cute but not that cute to be popular. And the boy who is mysterious and you are quite sure that he is hiding something that at the end of the movie you're gonna find out - if you didn´t find it sooner-
You know...it´s kind like Kimi Ni Todoke ( I´m talking and comparing about the live action movies not the anime). I enjoyed the movie, is a movie that I should watch again but not inmediatly. It made cry in some parts and smile with shyness in another ones.
The actors are all new for me so I feel ok with their acting, altough the main character remind me of Matsumoto Jun, he looks alike!
Anyway, it was a good movie :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Land of Rain Trees
1 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This was so sweet ..
I loved Nobuyuki character how he approach a girl with a special problem , he did not judge her he accepted her for how she is .
I think it is a good movie to make people realize how they should accept everyone with their differences , people should stop bully others with special problems or the ones who have different hobbies or interests than them .
The ending was good but I wished it was a bit longer , I really wanted Hitomi parents to meet Nobuyuki :/
I liked the plot although it is not original , but I enjoyed it ~

Was this review helpful to you?
Daytime Shooting Star
1 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
I will definitely rewatch it. Overall, the story is excellent! Nagano Mei, was great in this movie.
I really have to recommend this movie. Hirunaka no Ry?sei is a Japanese sh?jo manga written and illustrated by Mika Yamamori. It ran in Margaret from 2011 to 2014. A live-action film of the same name was released in 2017. Suzume Yosano (Mei Nagano) is a first grade high school student. She lived in the countryside, but, due to her parents transferring overseas for work, Suzume now lives in Tokyo with her uncle (Ryuta Sato). Suzume has never had a boyfriend before, but she has feelings for her homeroom teacher Satsuki Shishio (Shohei Miura). Meanwhile, her classmate, Daiki Mamura (Aran Shirahama), becomes attracted to Suzume.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Akai Ito
1 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
Well, for starters I do not get the ending, AT ALL. And then I found out that there is a another version of this, a drama series, and that this is just like a summary of the series. I would PROBABLY watch the series just to see if it will be any different from the movie. Hopefully, it has a better ending.

Also, I felt like the actors are lacking something. A spark perhaps? I don’t feel that they are meant to be paired. It’s like the pairing was forced. No “kilig” factor or romantic excitement coming from them.

So, I’ve been telling you what I don’t like about it but there is actually one thing I like about this. And that is the fact that it is very realistic. The story is good, sad but good, and it’s something that you wouldn’t want to happen to you and your lover. It’s always a ‘so-near-yet-so-far” kind of ordeal. A “we’re-destined-but-we-can-never-be” kind of relationship. It’s very hard.



https://elijahmaliksmom.wordpress.com/2017/11/06/akai-ito/

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Daytime Shooting Star
6 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Well not bad, live action. Tbh there are a lot of missing elements (characters & scenes etc) which is totally understandable since its a movie and they cant  really cram the whole manga in it right? So I guess they just picked the important scenes and somehow made it all connected. Which worked for me because I have read the manga.  But on an opposite perspective of a person who haven't seen the manga, I would say that its rushed. I'm not even sure how Mamura fell for Suzume or vice versa. There was also a lack of character depth and growth which is really a bummer.  

Character wise, Mei Nagano was spot on. She was just so refreshing to look at. Miura Shohei on the hand also did great. But sometimes I just want to comb his hair lol (I know, they're just referencing the manga but still...) and Alan Shirahama... well, I may be a little biased about him since I was really pegging for Kentaro, never-the-less,  he pulled it off somehow. The little smiles he makes  were really cute.

All in all, it was a great live action. Plus, it was quite faithful to the manga despite some deleted scenes and characters.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Mayor
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
It's a fish story out of the water that might feel a little less relevant under any other mayor.
The  first half hour may feel like light fun fun while also serving as an  illustrated guide on "How to Rule," "The Mayor" only speaks to the  purity of how to govern somewhat self-centered, whose entire campaign is  an attempt. Voters will not fall for this, but it deals  with their business, which is to ensure that the city is kept afloat,  its citizens happy.
"The Mayor" has the same goal. It  is here to subtly remind viewers about what politicians should do while  entertaining them with intelligent humor and human stories. The cast is a winner, and the rider marks a good start for what appears to be a productive first term in office. If so, it could not be coming at a better time. Take a look.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Peach Girl
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Adapted as a base on the almost perfect Peach Girl manga by Ueda Miwa.
"Peach  Girl" tells the story of Momo Adachi, an ordinary high school girl with  a small problem: She is from the swimming team and her skin is easily  browned, which makes her always confused with a Gal, urban tribe of  Japanese girls who can being associated with prostitution wear branded clothing so they need to get a lot of money) and gang-busting. She suffers from a lot of bullying because of this and to help, when  changing schools the only girl that talks to her is Sae Kashiwagi, a  little envious snake that all she does is to smear her behind her back.
The first impression is the most important, and for all intents and purposes, the "Peach Girl" has exploded. The  original manga was a mini epic shoujo drawing, with Momo trying to  manipulate the affections of two guys he really likes, avoiding the  occasionally malicious plans of his "friend." "Sae." Of a playful  reading, though stunned halfway , when Mangaka, Ueda Miwa, unconsciously decided to transform the entire cast.
The  anime dispenses with the idea of character development, so in a way,  we're already halfway to the "Peach Girl", right after the stage. The first episode pierces half the plot of the first graphic novel.
And the values of production ... we must really find a better term for this, because there is no value here to speak. The animation is terrible. I watched; Even the opening sequence reuses images and it looks like Flash animation is being routed through a 56k modem.
Now Live surprised me, the characters are successful, good  interpretation, finger choice of whoever interprets who, looking totally  different depending on the angle that is seen the cinematography is  spectacular.
The  color of Touji's hair on the anime was poor, he does not know what he  wants to be, and the boys generally had a high role, baby arms that do  not match with the frames of the body, Studio Comet really destroyed  with the sleeve who now fortunately showed their real value with live.
To continue with the "deep analysis" of the technical specifications,  the music is alternately a very pleasant mix, with a minimalist score  raised quite to the bottom for enhancement in cinematography and  narrative.
There's a bright spot so far, and that's the voice acting. "Peach Girl" would have been absolutely unforgivable without a  reasonable number of dialogues, and for the most part, the cast does the  material well.
From  the weak point is that things slow down slightly, but the  characterization and rhythm remain decidedly unhappy, and the chronology  still more. I can not say that the prognosis of the emotions that Live goes  through has an impact on all spectators, yet the well-crafted story of  its own merits makes Peach Girl memorable.
Recommended mainly for manga fans. There are some themes of violence and adults, especially later in the series. For  now, it's good for young people and teenagers, though later chapters of  the manga feature themes involving rape, blackmail, and teenage  pregnancy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Boku wa Imouto ni Koi wo Suru
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
"Boku wa Imouto ni Koi wo Suru" looks repulsive but it is not, one should face reality.
The story tells about a guy who is sharing his love with his sister. The fact that must be faced here is that the director wants to show the fine line between love and incestuous love.
Yori and Iku are fraternal twins in senior year of high school. As children, they were really close to each other, Yori, in particular, distanced himself. As Iku narrates, Yori is the talented one with the bright future while Iku fights, though she was born tall and beautiful; Yori  has a best friend, Yano who is using the full press on his sister in  his attempts to make his girlfriend, although Iku is not sure if this is  the route she wants to take. Iku's girlfriend, but Yori offers absolutely no insight into what she should do.
The  reason for Yori's reluctance to dispense love advice to his sister, as  he would be in his fateful night, is that he was always loved by her. Iku  at first, not being the brightest lamp in the box, does not know how to  take her brother's confession of love, but then shows what the heck, as  she decides, she also loves him, leading to what I think is a night of passion. Now, Yuko Asano's mother has some concerns about the relationship  between her twins as she goes to bed and finds herself with the wildest  fears she could have guessed what was going on ...
This is not a story that the director has just dreamed of, since it is based on a popular manga "I Love My Little Sister". Yori and Iku, a powerful content about love relationship, no matter how wrong it may be. A solid story, a bit uncomfortable but worth it from the perspective that the wrong one for me is not always wrong for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Daytime Shooting Star
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
A very interesting love triangle ...
A 15-year-old inland girl named Suzume Yosano has to go to Tokyo to live with her uncle because of her father's job transfer. Upon arriving in the city, she bumps into a mysterious man who ends up taking her to her uncle's house after she gets lost. It turns out that Suzume will see you much more often by the time she starts school because ... he is her teacher! It is at the same instant that she makes her first friendship in her new college. A shy boy, who does not talk to girls, but who will gradually be conquered by the charisma of the country girl. Suzume's  life will be directly influenced by these two, and she will face a  totally different situation from everything she has ever lived. Shishio or Mamura? What will be the fate of Suzume's heart?
Love triangles are often recurring themes in shoujo manga, later adapted to anime and ultimately to Lives Actions.
"Daytime Shooting Star" focuses a lot on a girl's relationship with a classmate and a ... teacher. Apparently it is a theme that has become more "recurrent" in some series in Japan, the student-teacher relationship. Technically  speaking the film is aligned, the two separate novels that make up this  triangle are so aligned that the viewer gets the taste of want more. Now, on the subject of the cast. For me, the cliche novel did not hurt, but rather the underdeveloped characters. The only complex individual was the teacher, Satsuki Shishio.
In short "Daytime Shooting Star" goes beyond the cliché romance. Viewers need to dig deep to find life lessons and bury subliminal messages, and even when they find that they are not deep. However, this film proves how the heart of a young teen girl can be during her youth. nothing  above expectations, is omnipresent everywhere, the narrative and the  rhythm left more to be desired, and many characters remained stagnated  in a unique way. Although  not original or spectacular, it would still provide excellent  entertainment for those who desire bitter friendship stories.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Aroused by Gymnopedies
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
"Aroused by Gymnopedies" is a mixture of melodrama and pornography ...The basis of the story centers on a depressed and bankrupt filmmaker has encounters with a variety of women in this pornographic reaction ...A 50 year old director whose past glory as the filmmaker arthouse has disappeared and who has been reduced to make small pornographic productions to try to make some much needed money. Things went astray when Anri, the lead actress in her latest film, comes out in the middle of the production, taking the movie to be canceled and leaving Shinji with no way out.The porn section certainly does not suffer from being embedded in a dramatic story, and anyone who likes portraits of totally passive women. The dramatic parts, on the other hand, lose strength. More than bad, all this is held together by Yukiko's piano, Gymnopédie No. 1. The play occurs both in Shinji's reminiscences and in his sexual adventures; the melancholy Gymnopédie as the eye of his still wife. If it is lovingly awakened or disapproving, it is at the discretion of the viewer.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Wolf Girl and Black Prince
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
I really loved this movie it’s really good. the story was good and the cast were really good at acting l recommend watching this movie it’s really good that it would make you say l want to watch it again. Go watch it now.                                                    

                                                                                 
                                                                                 
                                        ^_^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
A Touch Of Unseen
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Interpreting the word literally means sleeping with a ghost. "" In my dreams, I have sex with a ghost. "Most seem to look good, and they look cute." It's  similar to Incubus. "Yonsei's and Yeonhee's sisters lived together and  lost their parents due to traffic accidents.The encounter with ghosts is  one of the materials that many movies have dealt with lately.Now they  are few that deal with the unusual material that is the In this movie, the ghost does not explain why he raped two sisters for some reason and who the ghost is. of  the film, the relationship between illogical drama is centered but soon  the story of the ghost is interrupted and the sister who left the house  soon returns home.The sisters are confronted and reconciled, confirming  each other's love but the rape of the ghosts without  the slightest sense is not plausible, and conflict with scholars is  also felt as a side branch. It is not a melody that deals with the love  of the dead with the weight of love between family and family,  is not the fear of the ghost, it is not the eroticism and the fantasy  that treated the sexual desire and became the film ambiguous.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?