Completed
Fortuna's Eye
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
The story is quite simple for a supernatural, romantic, drama movie but I love where the movie focused on: character development. It's my favorite thing so the story gets a high rating for that. Aside from the premise, from there, the story is not the most unique one and it wasn't hard for me to figure out what happens. That's where I deducted some points because it was too obvious? They seem to reveal something as if it was the first time the audience will know about it but it's obviously what they showed before, they just make it more direct.

Acting 10/10 from the main and supporting characters. It was great! Whoever casted the actors knew them well and that they would be amazing as their characters. Shison Jun's surprised me the most because I haven't seen him play this kind of character. And I've always impressed by Arimura Kasumi's and Kamiki Ryunosuke's acting. They were very convincing even if some moments felt rushed.

Music was good too. Im giving it a 9 because it heightened my emotions especially at the end. A lot or all of the lyrics were in English which I found distracting at first but it was so sweet and matched the tone fine.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Last Summer
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
It was well made with decent acting and a good ghost grief murder mystery plot. The main leads were all beautiful and their acting was believable and there was no cringe or anything of the sort. But while I really enjoyed it I just feel like the plot was rather predictable and the whole story was not exactly remarkable or memorable. It's just another light horror supernatural movie. And one major problem that at least affected my viewing and connection to the movie was that there was no main character that you could get into , the story just changed povs from one character to the next. But again, it's definitely entertaining.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Every Day A Good Day
2 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This review may contain spoilers
Basically, Every Day A Good Day is about finding the fire which ignites the spark within consequently giving life meaning. Noriko, the main female character, always fondly mentions La Strada, one of Federico Fellini's most celebrated films and it's not difficult to figure out why. Just as the character/s in the aforesaid award-winning Italian film, she likewise sees herself as a drifter searching for a real purpose in life.

Attending a Japanese tea ceremony on a singular occasion as a guest is perhaps one of the most wonderful things I've ever experienced. I hope to experience it once more, and I hope you'll get to experience it as well. In the initial scenes, we witness Mrs. Takeda, the tea sensei, admonishing Noriko (and Michiko) for analysing every step in the Way of Tea. This is because analysis runs contrary to the precepts of Zen Buddhism which holds primacy over the path of action in conjunction with meditation in performing a task or learning a skill because only in this way can harmony with nature and innate tranquilitea be achieved.

''In the practice of tea, a sanctuary is created where one can take solace in the tranquility of spirit.''
I highly recommend a book called Chado (The Japanese Way of Tea) most esp. if you're an enthusiast of tea and/or if you're on the path towards serenity.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Married Women
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
In general it is pleasant but fails in the story in a way that does not convince, there are many sloppy films of the genre but this one in particular was careful bringing a balanced, detailed photograph, since the cast is beautiful young, exudes confidence, part of the track The soundtrack leaves a little to be desired but nothing that reflects contextually, from the point of view of history, Married Women is unsurprisingly, just a film she would classify with an everyday storyline that takes place in a salon between chats of women while beautifying themselves.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Suicide Circle
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Inspired by Bresson films for sure, in a good way. K i nd of gives the notion that all suicides are actually murders because someone somewhere chose to be selfish, or dismissive of a human's misery

Okay so here's what I honestly think. This film is just a brutal, gruesome look at the reality of suicide.

It also tells us to have a connection with ourselves before anyone else which yes, it's profound but personally think it's not as powerful a sentiment as it's supposed to be considering its the movies philosophy.

Because if you're this connected to yourself that you don't need anyone else, then isn't that the opposite of the other message of the film which is to not be selfish and self serving?

And even this is a matter of opinion, so I'm not at all dismissing the creator for it but what did bug me was that one antagonist who is quite obviously Tim Currys character from Rocky Horror and if he was trying to pay homage I don't know but it just didn't fit and kept bugging me.


But, all those problems aside this film is still very much a masterpiece. Yes, it's depressingly gory but then gore is not of the itchi the killer variety it's not supposed to shock, or give glamor, but create the same creepy, surreal, hypnotic vibe this film is set to give. Which wilk make you feel like you just witnessed a group of girls get mangled under the train .

But like I said this movie does it not to be some splatter gruesome edgy movie, it does this to connect you to the characters and the story.

It was definitely brilliant in so many ways but it's disturbing like nothing so please bear that in mind.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Fist & Faith
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
This review may contain spoilers
I actually found this movie off of Chinese TikTok. There was a funny comedic scene that was super light hearted and so I looked for the movie. But just a heads up, the story is a bit sad.

When I first started this movie, the story was very light and comedic throughout. It starts off a bit comedic but there are hints of dark facts and events thrown together. They used cartoons for some of the too violent scenes, and so although we know what’s occurring, it’s not as bad. The fight scenes were also well done, and I throughly enjoyed the show.

As the movie continues, it’s transitions to less funny and more serious. Things such as murders and implied rape occurs and drops the tone of the movie. Overall the story delivers patriotism, brotherhood, and how their determination cannot be subdued by violence. I did enjoy the movie, but I definitely did not come into the show expecting what that. The ending and the transition wasn’t choppy to me because I feel like the ending fit well with the events. The transition was hinted throughout the beginning so it wasn’t a surprise.

The male actor! I saw Ou Hao in the Left Ear, and I hated his character so much. I couldn’t feel much pity for him in that movie, it was because of how the character was built. I didn’t feel like the character was justified for many of his actions and he caused harm to others but managed to get a happy ending. Here though, I was able to see the messages and the emotions he expressed very well.

The female lead!!! I loved her in Glory of Tang Dynasty, so I actually expected more. Especially with that picture where she looks like a rebel, but I agree with someone else when they said that she was just a backdrop. She created an incentive for the male actor in the beginning, but after that, she was pretty much...useless. It’s sad though, I felt like the character had more potential.

Overall, it’s something I would watch again, and I felt like it was very memorable :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Secrets in the Hot Spring
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
This is basically a Scooby Doo episode with fujoshi / fudanshi fodder. Not that that's a bad thing because it's thoroughly entertaining but I would have preferred just a tiny bit of seriousness. They chose a fantastic male lead his acting was good and he's beautiful they could have made it more memorable. There are no jump scares that scared me and nothing scary about the ghosts either. So definitely a comedy than horror. I liked the arc about the dead parents, it was basically about the main lead coming to terms with that.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Gakko Gurashi!
2 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
Leave it to manga writers to always make something unconventional and intriguing. Gakko Gurashi! gives this "cute girl doing cute things," aka moe genre another twist. What is it? Zombies? No, but four letters PTSD (Post-traumatic stress disorder), which gave the movie the concept of escapism, live peacefully in denial inside the four corners of classroom vs. facing reality, the post-apocalyptic zombie-infested world.

The key to the horror aspect in this movie is the tonal shifts between the carefree slice of life vibe into something more terrifying. The illusion is so grand that it will make you lower your guard for a moment and make yourself vulnerable until the zombie swarm comes in, and the madness begins. That is the only reason why I think people will find this movie terrifying and not because zombie design was scary or the prosthetics and special effects realistic.

Not only the movie is mediocre in the production quality, but the acting is, let say, cute and leave it at that. The character also lacked depth, and it may be because of the limited time the movie has to explore these characters. They also appeared to be cardboard cutouts, the stereotype "we can do this together" strong personality, Kurumi, the mature but also useless leader, Yuri, the stoic and cold-shouldered pessimist Miki, and the airhead, full of energy, the loli of the group, Yuki. All of them were guided by the caring and everybody's favorite teacher, Megu-nee.

I dislike how the movie handled Yuki's mental state. They didn't explore it thoroughly. It could have been a lot better if they explored it like how dramas such as Boku wa Mari no Naka done it. In the movie, it seems she's just having a tantrum and not a hallucination. I guess it all comes down to the fact that they choose to adapt this story into a movie. Having limited time is a disaster in the making in any live-action adaptation. There are also points in the film where it is clearly written for an episode. They just cramped up all those scenes into a 2-hour movie, which resulted in not only weak characterization but also an abrupt ending.

Objectively, the only good thing I can say about this movie aside from the original plot is the twist near the end. It comes to me as heartwarming (even if it's poorly acted). I didn't see it coming at all, but I guess at that point, I already lost interest in the character, so I was not paying attention. But since I'm a guy who likes this type of plot, I enjoyed it a lot, so if you are like me who just want to see cute girls doing cute things in a zombie setting, then you'll also enjoy this movie.

Gakko Gurashi falls into the category of a brilliant idea but not executed well. There is so much potential in this story, given the strong underlying message it wanted to convey. It comes close to heart since we've been on that road before. There will come the point in time where we need to stop to rely on and just move on with our life. Had they executed it correctly, this movie would have been one of the best zombie movies ever. Now I'll check the anime and see if it's better.

Note: I always try to be as objective as possible in my reviews or just the recent ones, so if I only follow my personal feelings, I would give this one a 9 or 9.5 lol.

Check my Blog for other reviews & other JDramas stuffs. (。◕‿‿◕。)
https://thatjapanesedramaguy.blogspot.com/

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
A Wedding Invitation
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
This review may contain spoilers
I gave only 6.5 because of the sad ending
Why sad ending we all are here for some entertainment
Common you can change it to a happy ending like the illness can be cured but it takes time that's why she brokeup and after 5 yrs her illness was treated.
I don't like sad endings.
The dramas and movies we are watching for some type of entertainment and distraction from our daily stressful life
And here again we are watching these kind of sad endings which will increase our stress.
That is my feeling, but the acting was really great.
In our life we can't do anything if it's a sad ending but atleast we can expect happy endings in movies and dramas.
Soooooooo sad.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lesson of the Evil
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
Takashi Miike always delivers. I feel like even though the violence in this film is very on the nose and that's what makes it disturbing but tbh it's not even close to being as violent as some of Miike's grittier films but let me tell you it is VIOLENT AND DISTURBING more so because of the inherent evil power of the bad guy. And the unpredictability of the plot and characters make it a complete and utter thrill. I just think it's a relevant film considering all the school shootings and other violence happening in our cities. This film is a look into the brain of an evil man. About how something that has the power to change the lives of hundreds of innocent lives is created from the hell of one person. It's also a film about the power that teachers hold. How their actions and impulses can ruin and destroy an innocent child. So, yes, it's carnage on tv that doesn't pretend 'to give a message ' or makes lengthy speeches about humanity and love. It simply shows a carnage in its tedious, brutal enormity, a carnage that sadly becomes reality for someone every other day. You just have to watch it and the message will be clear to you, especially toward the end with the Odin monologue. Personally I thought it was brilliant.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love the Way You Are
1 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
" Love the way you are " was good and yet it wasn't.

The main story about the cute couple was pretty good, although it started a bit oddly. The first few scenes as to how they met and how they grew up together was a bit off. However, the story started getting better after they went to college. Though the big transformation of the leading character was not well explained. So, overall, the love story was good and sweet. However, the rest wasn't. The rabbit thing was not well presented and it was only there to help the two characters have cute moments together.

So, six out of ten.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Perfect World
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
Perfect World was a good movie. I liked the love story, although the girl looked too young for the role. But first the first thing. The movie started well and the way they presented the story was full of sensation and a bit of drama. However, I would love if they explored the personalities and struggles of the main characters more and I believe the actor would have played the role better if the script allowed it. Still, the love story was sweet and moving. I also had a little innocence. And the performances were good.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Exit
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers
Already with a funny trailer, I went into this movie thinking it'll be mostly comedy, but boy was I wrong! It had comedic scenes, definitely, with Jo Jung Suk especially, but there were also tearjerker ones. Or at least to a sensitive soul like me. I love how selfless Yong Nam and Eui Joo were, giving themselves to help others. Yong Nam's dad going back with other ahjusshis to save him was so touching. And the heli-cams that all appeared when they were giving up was just...

This movie shows what one is willing to give up and risk for their own family and I could really see that with Yong Nam's actions. I love how the career that wasn't helping him get jobs in the beginning allowed him to save his family's lives as well as his own. Don't look down on a career!

Big thanks to Jo Jung Suk and Yoona who brought their characters to life and the rest of the amazing cast who brought me laughter and tears. I could see how hard they worked to get ready for their roles- my fear of height was really tested with all the risky jumps and all.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Cry Me a Sad River
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This review may contain spoilers
Really beautifully done movie! It really showed the harmful consequences of bullying and the mindset of those bullies who think that what they did was "just a joke" or looking back as adults, they just "forgot" what happened. The scene where Yi Yao yells at her classmates from the seaside, telling them she knows her murderers, was left such an impact.

Even though some people did bring up how some scenes seemed a bit rushed, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The cast did a superb job at bringing their characters to life. Their facial expressions were on point- I love the actor who played Gu Sen Xi! That smile, that attitude, everything! I especially love how at the end, he changes how he defines his name to the "Xi" is from the sun rising from the West. LOVED IT. The actress, Ren Min, who played Yi Yao was just as great! She brought me to tears with her scenes. I can't believe all these actors are rookies??

Besides that, I can't forget to mention how AMAZE-ing the OST is. They really brought the sadness, all the emotion, in certain heavy scenes to life, making them even sadder. This one lyric from one OST really touched me. "Youth is like an IV drop, slowly dripping away."

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ao no Kaerimichi
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
" Ao no Kaerimichi " told the story of a group of friends with big dreams that ended up being crushed by reality.

My main problem with the drama was that they had a big number of stories to present but they didn't have enough time to present them well. If this was a tv series, the story would have been more in depth explored as well as the characters messed up lives that were sometimes tangled up together. The big climax of the drama was when the friends have to meet again due to a tragedy, and it's when they realize that they indeed have not made their dreams come true. That said, the performances were really good and some of the scenes were nicely filmed.

So, overall, six and a half out of ten.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?