Completed
Miss Baek
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
The South Korean film "Miss Baek" is a sad tale of a woman who simply wants to help a little girl who is not so different from who she once was. While it is often uncomfortable to watch because of several dark and terrible moments associated with domestic abuse, the film works primarily as a tough but honest drama, and we care much about two desperate characters at the center of the story. An open but always open and empathic look at a hidden social problem, Miss Baek is a promising and important Lee Ji-won who refuses to look away from the dark and inedible, but finds hope in the power of simple human kindness against cruelty and indifference.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sky of Love
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
This review may contain spoilers
This drama has a pretty complex story line. By that I mean A LOT happens to the main leads over the course of the movie. Had I known that it didn't have a typical happy ending when I started watching it, I doubt I would have finished it. However, that being said, I'm glad I did finish it. It's sad, but true to life in many ways.

There are a couple things in the show that I took a bit of issue with. For example, it takes MUCH longer for a person to get over being raped (and you never really do) than this movie portrays, and I also didn't like the idea of the girl having sex literally at the same time she had her first kiss. I mean...REALLY? Stuff like that annoys me and (at least to me) makes sex seem much less of a big deal than it actually is...especially for a teenager. Other than those things though, the story line follows a pretty normal arc.

If you cry easily, then get the tissues ready for this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Soft Hearts
0 people found this review helpful
16 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
Woman seduces drunk and unsuspecting gay men. What is it? Is that all you're doing? A cliché comedy and seriously bad What I found interesting was the way in which the Catholic ritual was used in a baby baptism scene where a priest confused the mother's quest for the child's adopted child. There is also a gay marriage conducted by a dishonest priest. As a ladyboy appears, mainly to motivate a homophobic reason of the film to brag about spanking queers, as lesbians are mentioned, but are not seen.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Witness
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
Not gonna lie, Luhan led me to this drama.

Overall, it was really good. There was kind of a slow start but I COULD'T give up on it. I ended up loving it so much, I rewatched it a week later.

I'm normally quite an emotional person. With this drama, I think I cried a grand total of 2.5 times with the first watch and 1.5 with the second. It was such a good movie. There were a few scenes in particular (not gonna spoil) that I literally replayed 50 times. I'm also so glad I watched until the end--DO NOT STOP WATCHING THIS BEFORE THE END--because the end was so amazing. The end was also not cliché at all, which was kind of what I was expecting. That's another thing: This movie is NOT what you are expecting and will surprise you MULTIPLE times. That's probably what kept me at the edge of my seat the whole time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
One Cut of the Dead
0 people found this review helpful
17 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
"One Cut of the Dead" begins as a "do-it-yourself" zombie crap, but it increases significantly over time. What initially lives almost exclusively on uncommon camera work, later turns into a declaration of love for the horror movie or film, which evokes a great smile in the audience, a great and very interesting film in the film, which takes the viewer on an exciting journey into the world of cinema. He has a lot of humor and heart. You're well entertained here and you have an extraordinary movie to play.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mischievous Kiss The Movie: The Proposal
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
While I'm still not the biggest fan of this movie, at least it was better than the second.

I found myself connecting to Kotoko a bit more here, probably because there were more dramatic scenes. I also loved her kind-of friendship with Matsumoto in this one. That being said, I came for her romance with the handsome Irie--and in this movie, I felt nothing for them. Sure, I felt happy by the end of the movie, but I didn't feel the same level of elation as I did when I finished the drama.

[Quick spoilers]
The wedding scene was incredibly disappointing as well. It was one of my favorite parts in the drama, but it was just so quickly run through here. There wasn't any dreaminess or whimsy in it. Irie's "Talk" with Kinnosuke also left me feeling bothered and disappointed.
[End spoilers]

Anyway, if you're a huge fan of the drama and/or the anime, you might find yourself let down by the movie remakes. Maybe give it a shot if you're in a really good, lovesick mood.

Mischievous Kiss the Movie: High School | https://mydramalist.com/profile/7428780/review/43264
Mischievous Kiss the Movie: Campus | https://mydramalist.com/profile/7428780/reviews/43265

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mischievous Kiss The Movie: Campus
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Since a pretty essential part of the story was cut out in the first scene, this movie was a bit different from what you might have watched in Mischievous Kiss: Love in Tokyo 2.

Nothing really stood out in this movie for me. Like with the first, the acting was disappointing for me. The scenes that would've left me emotional from the drama version didn't affect me at all. At some point, I realized that I was only watching to keep the nostalgic feeling I had. It was really hard to connect to the characters. It seemed like the main actors had even less chemistry here than they did in the first movie.

I just watched this last night and already I can't remember too much about it. I definitely won't be rewatching this one.

Mischievous Kiss the Movie: High School Review | https://mydramalist.com/profile/7428780/review/43264

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Mischievous Kiss The Movie: High School
0 people found this review helpful
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I'm not a fan of the original Itazura na Kiss anime, but after falling in love with Mischievous Kiss: Love in Tokyo, I found myself getting attached to the story and the characters. The second I found out there was a movie version, I dove right into it.

That being said, while this movie made me feel happy in a nostalgic way, I was seriously disappointed by it. The cast members only have have the charm that the drama cast members had. Reina Visa as Kotoko has the looks and the voice, but she didn't have the same whimsy that Miki Honoka did in the drama. Sato Kanta made a fine, brooding Irie, but of course couldn't surpass my ultimate crush, Yuki Furukawa. I was most disappointed by Ishida Hikari as Irie's mother. She was cute and fun, definitely, but her spirit didn't match Nishimura Tomomi's from the drama.

Now, if you're going into this for the story, Mischievous Kiss the Movie: High School does closely follow the events of Mischievous Kiss: Love in Tokyo 1. Of course, a few scenes had to be altered, and a certain major scene was cut out, but for the most part, this stayed true to the drama version.

Overall, if I'm looking for a Mischievous Kiss kick, I'd find myself going back to the drama rather than this one. It was fun getting back into the story, though. Kudos to the cast for trying their best!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
18 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
Director Toshio Lee's latest Japanese comedy, despite his intriguing premises of having a wife who pretends to be dead every time her husband returns home, is really at the heart of the modern marriage. What I liked about the film is the way it addresses different aspects of a marriage and the importance of communication and understanding. Everything seems pretty basic on paper goes much deeper and engages with the audience as a result. The comedy has the power to penetrate the emotional arena as we laugh and weep with the characters played excellently by the young Nana Eikura and the firm Ken Yasuda.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kamen Rider Amazons - The Last Judgment
1 people found this review helpful
19 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
This review may contain spoilers
I went into this with really high hopes, having enjoyed season one but wanting for some closure after the fairly mediocre second season. For the most part, this was an utter mess. While the plot started off decently, making it seem as if Alpha and Omega were being hounded in to a final, climactic battle, the majority of the film ended up dealing with a grim yet unremarkable arc that would've fit better some place in season one, rather than in the supposedly dramatic conclusion- and then having the two main Amazons fight to the death as a seeming afterthought. I was looking forward to seeing Neo-Alpha in action, but, despite his interesting design and concept, he too was a disappointment- he didn't receive nearly enough action time and his agenda seemed weak and inconsequential in the face of not only the two main Amazons, but of the series as a whole. Furthermore, he literally had no background whatsoever, the writers having bypassed the need to explain him with flimsy plot devices that went unquestioned throughout the film.
Ignoring the film's lousy pacing, weak character interactions, the huge lack of music (which helped set the atmosphere in the first season) and the fact that you just didn't care when characters died, the greatest issue at hand was that it didn't fit in at all with Kamen Rider Amazons. Yes, the angst, suits, characters, gore and subdued colors were all there, but it felt like a hollowed out pumpkin- the depth of the first season and even parts of the second season was nowhere to be seen. Death, humanity and morality were all important themes in the series- what does it mean to be human? Are monsters deserving of life? Who are the monsters? The film briefly mentioned and played with these ideas before tossing them right out of the window- when Haruka and Jin reunited and then proceeded to start tearing each other into shreds, seemingly on a whim, I didn't feel any gravitas or tension whatsoever- frankly, it seemed like it was bordering on (rather poor) farce. Speaking of which, the attempted inclusion of comedy in the conclusion was utterly out of place, and was completely needless.
When Haruka got on his bike and rode off at the end, one thought entered my mind. "Is that it?"

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hello, Mrs. Money
0 people found this review helpful
19 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
"Hello, Mrs. Money" is a classic travesty farce, but it comes with this pedigree honestly - it is adapted from Brandon Thomas' comedy "Charley's Aunt," first shown in London in 1892 and on Broadway shortly thereafter. That his translation and adaptation of the British play to the Chinese play, to the Chinese cinema and to the worldwide subtitling of releases means that "Cha Li" is called "Richard" throughout the film. film tends to find something funny even when it makes strange or crazy choices.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Burning
0 people found this review helpful
19 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
This film!!!! I hate writing movie reviews but I feel like I have to for this masterpiece. Excuse me because it may be a little long and rambly, but I've included a TL;DR at the end of my review if you aren't in the mood for sitting through philosophical thoughts of this movie, sorry! I've tried to keep it mostly spoiler-free, but if you haven't watched it yet, I'd recommend skipping through the big chunky paragraphs and just reading the TL;DR at the bottom.

The Themes: I find that the most important part of this film (and any film really) are its themes. The director really pushed the ideas that reality is often skewed, nature is amoral, and how perspective can affect one's views. These are very important to focus on while watching, which is why I believe you may have to watch this film several times to truly understand it. These themes however are also very puzzling, and leave you confused with many parts of the film. This film isn't something you put on for the sake of watching a movie (I made the terrible mistake of starting it at 1am and it is now 4am because I'm still sorting out my thoughts of it, oops), there is thought that goes into watching it and after watching it. And that is what I think a lot of the viewers had forgotten about this film, is that it requires thought and you need to look at things from different perspectives. Several objects in the film (the well, the cat, the greenhouse that Ben burned) are what the director used as the theme of reality vs imagination, so therefore viewers have to questions every little thing that happens in the film. So then, after watching this movie, I was left wondering if Ben really killed Hae Mi, or if the final burning scene was a dream sequence or a part in Jong Su's novel, which is very frustrating! Many reviews that I read were by people who disliked confusing endings or where you had to think for yourself with how the story ended up, but personally I really enjoy the discussions I have with others about confusing films, questioning every little scene, and observing the finest details to try and further understand it. At first I left the film wondering what the point was, but that comes after watching it. Kinda weird, but it really lets you think for yourself.

The Story : I found it to be thrilling and enticing, yet also as I was watching it, slow paced. I could tell it was building up to something in the end, but it took a long time to get there, and even then I don't know if it was reality or not. I'm personally not a fan of slow burn pacing, I need something to grab my attention and hold it for the entire duration of the movie, and with two and a half hours it's difficult for this movie to do. But once you really get into the meaning of the film and begin to question every aspect of it, the story becomes phenomenal. At first I thought it was just another mystery/crime/thriller story, but the further you get in and the more you realize the reality/imagination theme, it becomes way more intriguing. I took off one star from my rating because of the slow pacing and somewhat confusing dialogue (but I also watched it with poor subtitles, so I might not be the most reliable source), although overall the plot is fantastically gripping and wonderfully confusing, in a good way!

The Cast : Definitely one of the best parts of this movie, I couldn't think of anyone else who could play the lead three characters as well as this cast did. They all felt so real, and their characters really developed as the plot moved on, and they made it easy to sympathize with them by truly understanding their motivation for each of their actions. I think the best example of its good casting was of Jeon Jong Seo who played Hae Mi. She hooked me at the pantomime/orange scene at the beginning, and I couldn't get over how amazingly she portrayed her character throughout the film (or at least when she appeared). Obviously a ten star rating for the cast, they were all perfectly suited for their parts.

TLDR: Overall, a phenomenal film. Despite my ten star rating, it is not a perfect film, but the satisfaction you get while watching and how it remains after finishing it is what's unique to film today. There aren't many movies I can compare this to, which is what I really appreciate about it. It left me with something, it made me think and question reality and perspective, and that is what a film is ought to do. It's a film you have to sit down and concentrate on for two and a half hours, which isn't ideal for most people, but if you're into deep analysis and the questioning of a film, then this is perfect. The purpose of the film may not just be within the film itself, but to truly get complete enjoyment out of it you have to think about it and get different viewpoints from others who've watched the film (perspective! themes!). I first felt displeased with the movie after I first watched it, as it didn't answer any questions and left me curious about the reality of everything, and I think that's what distinguishes those who enjoyed this film from those who didn't. If you're into thought-provoking films, watch this! If not, I would probably skip it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Sodom's Cat
0 people found this review helpful
20 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
Wow, that was one of the most explicit BLs I have seen. Basically have of the film is a lengthy sex scenes featuring five guys. The other half focuses on the psychological consequences of this act on the five men . I thought it was beautifully shot, with some amazing night scenes with the Taipei skyline in the background. It just made want to travel to Asia!

It's true that the story it's a little vague and arty but it's definitely worth the watch if only for the guys :P

Official film link: https://vimeo.com/ondemand/sodomscat
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Dark Figure of Crime
3 people found this review helpful
20 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.5
This movie is nothing new under the sun, but it's still a great thriller.

Kim Yoon Seok and Joo Ji Hoon are so damn good in this movie that their characters almost feels like fully fleshed out people. Even if the story isn't that unique or surprising by itself, following the characters in their cat and mouse game still makes it exciting. It's been a long while since I've last seen a serial killer this interesting and convincing in a movie. Joo Ji Hoon's acting is phenomenal here.

This is not a movie that will keep you at the edge of your seat, but you will not be bored for even a second!
So if you ask me this movie is definitely worth a watch if you are into crime and thrillers.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
A Round Trip to Love
0 people found this review helpful
21 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Probably one of my favorite movies. I do know it's not the best, but in general I don't really like watching movies, and re-watching is an absolute no from me; but (with this I'm referring to both 1 and 2 since I watched them together like it was a whole long movie) I really love to re-watch this every now and then. I'm also almost over reading the novel.
I really reccomend it, it made me understand the characters much better.
If you want to read it, I think you should read it from the start. Since A round trip to love was meant to be a tv series, things are pretty rushed and there are many things that have been cut, so you wouldn't understand things that happen after. (AAA there are many rape mentions in the novel, much more than in the movies.)

Also, the first time I watched it it didn't even have subtitles. For someone like me, who usually doesn't like watching movies, liking a movie without even understanding what is being said is something interesting. Even if I was like "what-did-he-say-WHY-IS-EVERYONE-GASPING-WHAT" the whole time, I still enjoyed it.

Not for everyone, but I def reccomend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?