Completed
Another Child
1 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This beautiful film is about what the human means.

The scenario (of Kim Yoon Seok) is superb. I was surprised how this simple story could show such an important and relevant matter as life, soul, death and love. After watching it we remain convinced that despite betrayals and affairs the world is rational and it’s a good place to live, because human relationships make us vulnerable, but at the same time strong.

It’s a rather simple, touching but a little uncomfortable for you story about women. It has a lot of drama aesthetic: low budget, focus on emotional development of characters, school and home environment, likable protagonists and good pace and ending, and this characteristic of Koreans deeply human understanding of life.

Everyone who love dramas will find something absorbing and satisfying here.

I highly recommend because it’s very comforting and warm to watch the girls' love for their little brother.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Goodbye Summer
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Goodbye Summer is a slice-of-life indie film that fell short of the basics of storytelling. It will take some imagination to understand the beginning and end of the main characters' story.

I think this was not intended to make the hearts flutter or feel each character's stages of happiness or grief. Their focus was on the choices that people make. One chooses to conceal his malady while the others chose to excuse oneself from pain and escape from an inevitable loss. Such unfavorable acts will likely raise viewers' eyebrows, feel indifferent or disappointed, or maybe, leave some of us heartbroken. It didn't make me bawl, but I felt a sense of guilt, isolation, and heaviness while watching Hyun Jae hear So Min's confession towards the end.

The story may seem incomplete, but to be honest, the story was like experiencing a typical day. It's simple, just unconventional. I guess I came in without expectation, so I was able to brush off the fallacy before its release. But then again, many indie films will always surprise(disappoint) its viewers with an abstract storyline or what the majority will consider weird or plain stupid.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Blind
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0

Fairly good even if the Chinese version is better for me

I am not really a fan of genre which involves murderous acts with psychotic suspects because I don't really get why are they doing it. It just makes me feel upset and I want to kill them myself. I watched this because I previously watched the Chinese version of this and I think it gave more impact than this Korean version. The plot is quite unique because it utilizes the idea that being handicapped is not a reason for you to stop trying. It doesn't make you less of a person.

Also it's good to see a younger version of Seung Ho as well on this movie and his presence actually gave a bit of an impact to this movie plus a bonus of Park Bo Gum on his younger years. The sound effect keep the mood going and adds more thrill to the scene. It's really not a type of movie that I would want to watch again due to personal taste but I think it is fine overall.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
3 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
If you want to watch a proper parody of Journey to the West, I suggest to watch the original version: A Chinese Odyssey (1995) part1&2 and the "prequel" of this movie that it's still greatly better with so many Easters from the classic adaptations. This time, Stephen Chow just wrote the script and didn´t direct it so maybe that's why...

I don't even need to justify why I didn´t like it, I simply watched better ones before and then I encountered this. I tried to enjoy it as a mere entertainment, but I couldn´t. The main character that is the monk, doesn´t convince me as a monk, the Monkey King is just plainly angry all the time, the pig has also another complex and the fish... I wouldn´t know how to describe it. In general, they don´t possess a very deep character development, even as a mere way of attempting to entertain, it was difficult to swallow.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Funky Forest: The First Contact
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
What is the purpose of Funky Forest? Even if one were to somehow enter the minds of the producers, their intentions in creating this bizarre film may still remain unclear. It is therefore up to the viewer to bestow this film with a purpose. For instance, the film may be taken as a series of disconnected dreams, linked only by common elements such as story threads, aesthetics and characters, that comments on the unconscious and the bounds of human imagination. A particularly memorable theory states that the 'human' characters are in fact aliens that seek to infiltrate mankind by learning about human behaviours- this explains the schoolroom settings, the characters' abnormal behaviours and their unfazed reactions towards the eldritch alien-miscellaneous object hybrids that permeate through much of the film. One might call it a musical, what with the multitude of dance numbers and songs of all kind. Another might classify it as an experiment in blending genres and mediums- a memorable scene involves a dance off between a real person and a host of animated characters. Perhaps this is the power and purpose of Funky Forest- to transport the viewer to their own 'Funky Forest' where their imagination begins to run wild and the surreal becomes all too real. Unfortunately, everyone that I have introduced this movie to stopped watching within the first ten minutes. I wonder why.

The soundtrack to this film is undeniably fantastic by the way- finessing orchestral works, single voice and guitar, solo piano, jazz, enka, c-pop, reggae, EDM, didgeridoo, a choir of screaming children, and more. Listening to it on its own is quite an experience. Surprising for such an esoteric film, it boasts an all-star cast with names such as Asano Tadanobu, Kikuchi Rinko, Kase Ryo, Anno Hideaki, a school-age Kaho and Andrew Alfieri, a young caucasian 'non-pro' who clearly cannot speak Japanese and may or may not be the star of the show. It is currently on Youtube.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
DOG x POLICE: The K-9 Force
0 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
I rarely watch films where animals are involved but this one was quite cute even though it also involved a serious theme: crime.

As a film it was good, at first I thought the film would involve lots of action and stuff but you can say it was kind of near to those pet films where the protagonist and his pet have a great owner-pet relation. This really puts you in a good mood while watching the film.

The actors were fine. Toda Erika wasn't annoying as expected from watching other works. So no much complaints in this regards.

The film's soundtrack was nice, it fits nicely and I really loved the ending song by Shikuramen (シクラメン).

Few things made me smile and it was their reference to a number of things from real life that I think were kind of unnecessary and could have been just passed through normally without making them stand out. One was referring to the computerised voice used by a wanted suspect to "Sorami Miku" (Hatsune Miku) and another was the awaited lecture by "Steve Jubs". Makes you feel those were all made on purpose to add some humour to the film.

The film wasn't a waste of time. Enjoyed the whole thing and didn't feel slightly bored. If you're looking for a little heart warming story with a little bit of seriousness from the crime genre then this one is a good choice.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Money
0 people found this review helpful
by Ange
4 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I went into Money not having an idea of what to expect, I was pleasantly surprised. In terms of story - it's primarily based on stock exchange which is largely a super dry topic for a lot of individuals but it's enhanced in this case with the initial premise and closing statement of the film - and this is not a spoiler - "I just wanted to be rich." Who doesn't want that?
When it comes down to it though, the writers have done an excellent job in making the story interesting by balancing their numbers game with drawing viewers into the cat and mouse thrill of the chase of money. Everything falls into place, everything makes sense and there is a great twist at the end, so look out for that.

With Ryu Jun Yeol and Yoo Ji Tae, you really never know what you're going to get in terms of story line because they both choose pretty decent roles that they know they can challenge well. The cast exceeded my expectations and even the supporting cast held their roles well. We see the differences in Cho Il Hyun and Jun Woo Sung as they grow separate in their job roles and friendships and the divides money can bring to friends, colleagues and family. The acting was done well. Also let's be real, we have stellar and experienced support role players here with Jo Woo Jin and Jung Man Shik - most of us know their faces even if we don't know their names. They're pretty great dudes.

The music was above average, though thinking about it now it's been about 15 minutes and regretfully, while I know I enjoyed it, I don't remember much of it, much less a standout piece.

Overall I rated a 9 because I feel it's hard to make the stock exchange interesting and though I expected to be comparing to Default (also excellent) or Wolf of Wall Street, I found myself not. Money also held my attention where usually I stray and multitask when viewing movies, but I was sat on the couch telling the ghosts who was screwed. I wanted to know how it ended. The ending was also super satisfying. While I couldn't see myself re-watching this in the near future, I can ultimately in about five to six years just because it's interesting. It was an interesting movie that I feel is worth a shot even if you think you won't enjoy it. There is the chance that you might even learn something too. Who knows?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Over Drive
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
A good movie for an entertainer. Very bromance heavy and I loved the way they fight their demons. But I feel like it's nothing special. It had the potential to have a stronger story but every time you feel okay maybe now they'll get more deeper but it remains on the sidelines of the deeper issues regarding the brothers and even though that line 'I'll fix it right up for you' was really the best part of the script, again, there was a lot lacking in the way they showed the brothers bond. This is what I didn't get. If you're making a movie about brothers without romance then the bromance should be Winchester level strong because without it, it's just a movie about cars. But this wasn't even 50 percent of Winchester level more like 25 at best because whether it was the acting or the direction or the script, it seemed to fall short of real emotional depth. But there's hot men, and workout shots, and cars so like I said entertaining but not remarkable.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
prince charming
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a 1980's Hong Kong rom-com. The story is nothing special two guys on holiday trying to be cool and pick up girls fail miserably. They return to Hong Kong where they have to swap identities to help uncover an embezzlement scandal, still trying to meet girls and still failing when they run into two girls that they met on holiday. Romance finally ensues but of course, there are lots of twists and turns on the way. Overall a decent, funny rom-com which I would watch again (and if I could actually find it on DVD/Blu-Ray/download I would buy it!)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Jinroh Shokei Game
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Another one of those films that will be special in my heart forever. This is like Battle Royale and just as good.
It's basically a sociopaths version of Mafia Game with life and death consequences. This honestly had the potential to be a series, they could have given details about a lot of things but then again that's not the point of this film.
It's a story about a bunch of disturbed students and their abusers. How these things ruined their lives. It's about these same people finding out the meaning of life, or at the very least, finding meaning in something in their lives. It's dark and gruesome but so beautiful.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Monsters Club
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
It's a story about loss and isolation that comes from not being able to accept that loss. Ryoichi has resorted to living in the mountains alone in his father's cabin. He doesn't believe in people becoming slaves to their employers, so he tries to disrupt and eventually end this system of oppression by killing the bosses who oppress by sending them bombs. But in my opinion, all of this isn't so much what Ryoichi wants but it's a way to get control over something meaningful while he mourns the loss of his family and is clearly wallowing all on his own, not even allowing his own sister , the only other living family, to touch him. And when she confronts him he acts coldly despite obviously loving her. Everything is going as Ryoichi plans when one day he gets visited by a ghost in the lone cabin who suddenly starts intervening in his life. But the ghost is here with a purpose. This is where we go deeper into our main characters psyche and see his descent into insanity. I thought this was a great film with a purpose. Definitely must watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ghost Squad
1 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 3.5
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
MyDramaList Watch Challenge 2019 - Watch something with less than one thousand members of the site marking it as complete. Completed status: 2

If I did a shot for every dumb or unnecessary, or over the top or just downright ridiculous thing in this movie, I'd be having my stomach pumped and be having a liver and kidney transplant right now.
I'm no stranger to over the top Japanese horror/horror-comedies - in fact, I'm quite a fan of a lot of the over the top horrors (i.e. Tokyo Gore Police, Liverleaf), but an hour and a half of this hour and forty-minute movie was just not needed at all.

This could have been a really decent film if the director has just toned it down a slight bit and it really could have been a serious 3-4/5 star movie. Shame that didn't happen, whoever recommended this to me owes me almost two hours of my life back.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Zebra
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Suga Kenta gave a kind of vulnerability to the role of a sociopath Aka so brilliantly I have no words. This is a seriously f*ckd up and convoluted film with an insightful script that uses extreme violence and sex to propel the audience right inside the lives of these characters, so forcefully, just like the characters you get trapped.

The dialog is so powerful --- right from the beginning, when Aka 'collects' Dora , well technically right after, Aka says to the girl he wants to 'show Dora there's a world even lower than this' meaning Dora hasn't seen sh*t in Aka's opinion even though Dora's life is no walk in the park.

But we all know the story is only just beginning.

And then Zebra -- Powerful stuff. That's all I'm going to say without any spoilers.

And it wasn't just Aka.

The same vulnerability, Ryusei Ryo gave to Dora's character who is pretty much consistently problematic but you still see his struggles. That resistance before he does something unspeakable.

The violence in the film is brutal and in-your-face but here's a kind of insane logic to the whole story that reels you in.

So, be careful but a must watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Double Mints
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
This film is a powerful gut punch for masochists ala --> ME. Jeez. Keep your sinus drops handy because you're going to be over working them. Seriously If you're one of those people who watched History Trapped and went 'not dark enough what sissy crap is this if only it was way way screwed up and sexual' you should watch this! Sadly, I am that person lol

Anyway, jokes aside if you know anything about me, you know by now I'm a sucker for obsessive love that goes beyond the boundaries of morality.

Absolutely one of those films and couples that will be my go to from now on.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
A Late Night
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
A Late Night is one of three short films from director Kwak Sae Mi featuring a young woman walking home late at night after murders have happened in her area.

This short film is a prime example of how to drive tension, using numerous techniques that are so simple to drive the atmosphere of something being wrong. This had me on the edge of my seat for quite a bit of it and the twist at the end was really well done. A very strong contender for one of my favourite thriller shorts and shorts overall.

This short alone has got me keeping an eye on Sae Mi and I can't wait to watch her other two shorts and for what she comes up with next. This is only seven minutes long, thriller/horror enthusiasts, I recommend giving this a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?