The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Method
3 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
Let me start with...for Korean movies, especiall movies dealing with being homosexual, Method is quite strong and mature and a big bite to digest. I did not expect this when I first heard about it and even though the trailer showed some teasers for how this movie was gonna be. BUT I'm still really happy I watched it.
I haven't been this fascinated by a movie in a long time. Sure, excited and caught by movies but not fascinated.

Story - the story is awesome. The ending did not really go for my taste but I liked it better than expected, let's say - it fits the movie well. While in the beginning you start thinking "Will this movie really be interesting?" the characters suck you into their life and feelings and you cannot stop watching until you know what's gonna happen. I liked how the story went along and like I said the ending fits quite well.

Acting/Cast - First off, I'm amazingly happy that the actor for Jaeha (I just forgot his name right now), a really known and popular actor, is in this movie and it's not just made by newbies or so. This gives this kind of mature movie a more serious and experienced feeling. As for the acting - it was awesome. I loved it. Nothing more to say.

Music - You don't really notice but then you do. It fits really really well.

Rewatch - Probably. Pretty sure.

Overall - Overall, Method is a piece of art where everything was put together neatly. It's definitely interesting, although not to everyone's taste I presume, and I think all the parts with so well together which makes it enjoyable to watch even if it is quite dark. I recommend it, definitely!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
One Missed Call Final
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This is the third installment of the One Missed Call franchise, a series that is fairly popular for horror fans. In my opinion, this was the best of the series.

Story: On the surface this is basically the same plot as the first two movies, a mysterious phone call predicts a person's death. However, this film utilized a few more things to create a new sense of tension and thrill while expanding on human nature. A new mind set was presented with this movie that made the scares more intense due to never knowing who or what to fear until it's almost too late. There is also more background and foundation given to the curse that fit the tone and added to the atmosphere and demonstrated how all three films are not only connected but come full circle, making the movie a very good finale for the series. As far as production goes, you can tell the film is somewhat old but that makes it no less scary. I was actually surprised how well jump scares and overall atmosphere were blended to create something new while still using what worked for all the previous movies.

Cast: The cast had pros and cons, I will not lie. There tended to be times where everyone overacted; as the movie progressed it fit the script more and more, adding not only to the idea of hysteria but reminding the viewer of the youth, naivety, and ignorant disbelief that teens have.  Although there were no real stand outs as far as I'm concerned. One must admit, though, it was nice to see Jang Geun Suk in a role other than the aloof pretty boy. His character had more substance than I was expecting - but you can also tell he was young and not always aware of his facial expressions on camera when not the focus of a scene.  Overall, not bad.

Music: Music and sound effects helped set atmosphere and tone for the movie, but there was nothing that really stood out other than a few scenes with what are now Japanese horror standards such as groaning and such. The use of these things did not make the movie cliche, but could be slightly tiring at times when it was louder than dialogue (disclaimer! that may just be the quality of the version that I was able to locate and watch and could be different with other copies).

Rewatch: Out of all three this is the part of the series I would readily rewatch. The pace steadily built up, rather than being fast the whole time and a mess or boring and too dull to pay attention to. The script was okay and the cast fit their roles pretty well; most of all, the film was creepy and had plenty of elements to keep you engaged.

Overall: I really enjoyed this movie and if you love horror, especially Japanese horror, this is a must watch. It isn't the best, but it's pretty good. Happy watching! :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love Online: Extra
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
STORY: This is a bromance, heavy on the bro, light on the mance. It is an entertaining show, the script is sharp and fun and watching the two characters go from hating each other to being best friends was nice. At the beginning and end it does seem to suggest they are a couple but it's only hinted at.

ACTING/CAST: They are very handsome guys and they act well.

MUSIC: Didn't pay attention.

REWATCH VALUE: Only if there was more than just a bromance.

OVERALL: If you are looking for a genuine BL story, look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful to you?
The Man From Nowhere
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Korean John Wick.

Such a good movie. Action was top notch. I liked how they didn’t show you in the beginning how kickass he was, really drew out the anticipation of seeing him fight. This movie was so dark! Don’t watch if you don’t want to be reminded of what a crappy world we live in and how it’s filled with so many crappy people. But I can appreciate it’s realism. I can appreciate the gore. In both those aspects, the movie really wants to captivate you. 

The MC can act! Apparently he’s an all star actor but since I’m newer to kdrama, I hadn’t seen him in anything yet. I’m definitely going to search for his other work. They touched on his past and his character just enough to help you understand where he’s coming from and why this girl matters ????  

The pacing was well done, no lulls. I don’t like slow paced stuff, I frequently get up and take breaks. Didn’t pause this movie once though ????

Oh! And the closing theme song was so beautiful!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Pandora
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
Ended on a strong message that we cannot close our eyes and cover our eyes to the damage we are causing to our planet. That if we care about our children's future, we must face down fear of the unknown with hope and dedication. 

The movie was really well done. Great cast and special effects. The storyline was crafted together well. Power plant meltdowns are not easy to explain to the general public but I thought they did a good job without making me feel bored.

I took a class on how government in the U.S. operates during natural disasters and I couldn't help but think about all the ways the government in this movie went wrong. It was an interesting thought experiment that added to the overall depth of the film. I feel like something was lacking in the film that is keeping me from running out to the store to buy it. I think the characters weren't fleshed out enough. If they had spent just a little more time on developing them and their relationships, I think the movie would've been a smash hit.

But I definitely recommend  watching it. My heart was racing the whole time which is truly the mark of a great thriller.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
One Missed Call 2
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
Story: On the surface this movie seems like a carbon copy sequel to the original, with no new plot lines - just new faces. However, I actually enjoyed this movie more than its predecessor due to the fact it actually was not the same story. Yes, the are phone calls that predict death but the manner in which it happens is new. The story was written in a more evolved and self aware manner that added to the experience; this curse is not stagnant it evolves, thinks and manipulates - making it that much more dangerous and creepy to watch. A wonderful aspect to this script was there was just enough background founded but not enough to dull the story and slow the pace to a crawl. A more coherent urban legend foundation is built, some loose ends are tied and groundwork for a future film are all set within under 2 hours. That being said, this film was not without some weak spots. This is a Japanese horror film and has many of the elements that you see in many of the films in the same area: angry ghosts, creepy children, crawling things, strange noises etc. but they used them fairly well so it wasn't a let down (especially considering the year of this movie being 2005).

Cast: The cast wasn't bad, but not really standouts either. Everyone was enjoyable and fit their roles well, although the chemistry between one couple wasn't 100% there. That doesn't detract from the watching experience though because it somewhat fit their characters' situation and this is a horror movie, not a rom-com.  

Music: The music and sound effects worked really well for this movie. The full songs were haunting and gave an eerie edge to watching, while the sound effects definitely added suspense. I would find myself tense at times, not from what was actually on the screen but what I could hear off screen and that's almost always a good thing for movies of this genre.

Rewatch: The movie is definitely good and rewatchable, but I would probably only rewatch it once in a while.

Compared to the first movie, this one is better (in my opinion). The creep factor is there, balanced by myth and even a very, very little bit of comedy at times. Overall, this is a 7.5 for me! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and happy watching :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Himizu
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 2.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I stopped watching 40 minutes in…
I understand other people enjoyed this movie, I did not. I'm sorry if this bothers you but it’s my opinion. To elaborate, I think the story of a group of people dealing with life after the devastating earth quake and tsunami has great potential.
The story, in short, features a boy trying to make a living form himself, he is stuck in a dysfunctional family and harassed/supported (depending on who's perspective) by a girl in a similar situation.
unfortunately, the story telling doesn't quite make this movie stand out, as it really should in my opinion. because the 2011 tragedy really deserves a great movie dedicated to it.
However, this film is filled with people yelling at each other and it leaves no impact, in fact it becomes rather boring after a while. They also just keep throwing punches while they’re at it. the music could have been another superb element, regrettably, most of the sound you'll hear is a loud buzzing to signify some type of overwhelming, unease or omniscience.
The whole progression of the story feels incohesive and down right chaotic. I am leaving this low rating because to me this movie was unbearably bad. And I decide to watch it based on its rating and the story description in the first place. As I said, I stopped watching around 40 minutes in.
I think this movie is overrated on this website.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Method
1 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
Let's start the review with praising the actors for their amazing job!
All the staff worked very hard to bring us the talent could see on the screen.

ACTING:
As I said before, the acting was the best point of the whole movie. It pulled me in so fast and refused to let go. I really loved the play and honestly, that scene shocked me so much. I know our Singer is a young actor, but....don't hate me, but I did NOT expect such amazing acting but I was very suprised and for sure I'll follow his future work as well. With our Jae Ha it was just as I expected and even better. The relationship which was potrayted in the movie is not easy to show but the two leads had such great chemistry between each other...I can't even explain with words how good it was. It was a match made in Heaven. Everything looked so real that for a second I really thought that they are together in real life.

STORY:
Before the movie came out, me and many others started to picture the movie in our heads and guess the plot/ending. I must say, yes, the movie was a bit predictable but still I enjoyed it and loved to see that my theories were in some parts true. The idea of method acting romance is amazing but I must say I want to see more. I expected it to give us the deeper insight in characters lives, not just Jae Ha's. If this was 2 hour movie I think it would be much better. I won't spoil the ending so watch it, but overall the story IS very good but not well described which is the fault of the run time.

MUSIC:
No comment. I have ALL the songs in my phone on replay, yes it is that good. I just love instrumental music so much and when u know at which scenes it was played, your head automatically takes u there.

REWATCH VALUE:
I watched it today, but i'm going to watch it again so yes, definetly in my top 10 fav movies.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I Don't Like Younger Men 2
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
Nothing  innovative, "I Dont Like Younger Men 2" as in the first film follows  more or less the same line, the story is extremely simple to understand,  has no highs or low, there are no surprises or moments of emotion, a  movie morbid in all the elements that make it up, the only  highlight is the costumes, simple but elegant, the cinematography is  good, the movement of the cameras give romantic subtlety, as far as  scenery is concerned, it is depressing, in short a very adult film below what is expected of the genre.
Was this review helpful to you?
Strange Circus
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
The film addresses a very serious subject. Incest, rape, torture and self-mutilation are just a few of the subjects that "Strange Circus" is interested in exploring. Approaching these ideas with verve and very little restriction. There is some double-body change that occurs with regard to incest, but that fits within the structure of the narrative. Strange  as it may be, it is even more relaxing in that he is cleverly able to  shift from the strangely macabre to the serious and without losing the  original idea. One  scene involves a character self-mutilating your legs which to the point  of view is effective when it comes to the purpose that serves in the  story. However,  when it comes to the effectiveness of gore, the practical effect of  knife-striking meat is very fake cinematographically speaking. The ending of the film is relaxing, but it is also a sequence that suffers greatly from the initial premise. In  short, the narrative presented was twisted and spinning, but the  narrative was presented in such a way that anyone should be able to keep  pace. The  ending takes the initial approach and feels the need to explain every  corner of what happened before just to ensure the audience really got  what they saw. This approach was not necessary and negatively affects the impact of the end of the film.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Story of a Prostitute
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
It's not really what it looks like. The story is based mainly on the comparison of a woman who gives  herself to men willingly and to the men who voluntarily surrender to the  Country.
A  woman, upset by the breakup of a love affair, travels with the Japanese  army to China during World War II to act as a "woman of comfort." In  reality, comfort women were typically non-Japanese women kidnapped and  forced into prostitution after their villages or towns were invaded by  the powerful Japanese army. This woman, however, goes because "I want to press against many men" to forget the true love that left her. She travels to an outpost in the country and starts work immediately. Women become a hesitant group of girlfriends, neither of whom is very upset about their fate. She falls in love with a silent "perfect soldier" who fits every whim  of her superior, a drunken jester, who ironically becomes wounded with  our heroine, Harumi.
To fall for the prostitute would be to disobey the orders of her superior. What is an ambitious soldier to do? Prostitutes are despised, and our heroine, in kind, despises men who blindly follow the orders of their superiors. There is a strong sense of Japanese pride everywhere. Or is it the Japanese ridicule on how a soldier acts in times of war? Especially important is the Japanese idea of surrender v. Suicide.
Suzuki went on to take pictures of Yakuza and this is considered his masterpiece Kubrickiana. There  are freezes, lighting effects in white and an incredible scene in which  Harumi crosses a battlefield in search of his lover who is thought to  be dead in a tail. She  is wearing full Japanese clothes, sandals, and kimono and crossing and  destroying as the bombs move around her in brilliant white flashes. The camera accompanies her for what appears to be a full mile. The  film is somewhat experimental for the modern audience and assumes that  the viewer knows where Japanese social norms diverge from Westerners.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Where Are We Going?
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
The film though  it is complex with deep connections, leaves to be desired in its  confused confinement, forbidden love story, ostracized love between one  in which the two lovers suffer discrimination. The  film that concentrates disparate universes and synthesizes the imagery  difficult to digest, is a film that to appreciate is obligatory to go  over certain technical shortcomings, such as cinematography for example. Very elementary and too complex for all audiences that leaves something to be desired.
Was this review helpful to you?
Return to the Wolves
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
Incredible Chinese documentary!
Firstly, this is a real documentary, which is a true story of a feature film clip filmed 7 years ago. Each  frame is not refined, in fact, however the cinematographic context  gives life to the touching story that film live movie, on account of the  real. "Return to the Wolves" has its own identity, its own  experience, no preformatted script came on the scene, it's all counted  naturally, molded, cut and then put together, bringing an amazing end  result. Technically flawed, this is a film with a particularly emotional, captive and self-sacrificing density that is worth it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Fatal Countdown: Reset
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I´ve never written a review before so bear over with me.

Story: I really liked the plot, even though I watched the movie without subtitles and barely understood what was being said, the plot was still good. There was action and thriller element in it. I might have flashforwarded quite a bit due to the fact that I did not understand what was being said, but the plot was really good! It especially got excited when she meets her other selves, and how Xia Tan becomes smarter and bolder each time she travles through time to save her son.

Acting: I´m not going to lie I watched this for Yang Mi, and she did not disappoint me, her acting was really great! Her characters desperation to save her son really hit me hard.  And her action scenes were pretty cool too.
Huo Wallace just has something about his looks and the vibe that he gives off that makes it believable that he is a bad guy, so definitely a thumbs up to him!

Music: I didn´t particularly care or listen to it, so that´s why I´m giving it a score of 5.

Rewatch value: I would honestly watch it again, because the plot was intriguing and the acting was really good!

Overall: This was a really great movie, and if you´re bored you should definitely watch it! If you love the actors, then you should definitely watch it to catch their awesome action scenes and acting skills.

If you actually managed to read this horrible review, then thumbs up to you XD!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sky On Fire
0 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 5.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
First off, let's throw plausibility out the window. Forget it. It doesn't exist in this world. Just think like that and you'll be fine.

The story for the most part is okay. It did one important thing and it was to keep me on my toes, wondering what was going to happen next and for an action thriller deal, that's exactly what you want.

The pacing and action scenes were great and realistic although the CGI could've used some work. The characters involved all served their purpose albeit at the expense of a plausible story. More notably, the hero of the story almost in every scene has to prevent three supporting characters from getting hurt or killed which really exposes the thinly fabricated backstory of the villain and more importantly why the bad guy did what he had to do. They never really explained it and I doubt it will be ever be explained.

And on a bigger note, some of the scenes were just plain violent. This is not for the weak of heart. Lots of fire, smoke and extras caught in the crossfire. I think on a larger scale, these scenes helped me stay invested but at the end of film, it got me thinking. Wasn't it just overkill at that point?  

Like I've mentioned watch it with an open mind, maybe with a cool beverage and a friend or two if they're around. So you can enjoy this thrilling movie and afterwards wonder, what the hell just happened?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?