Sort by:
Will You Be There?
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This film, t h i s f i l m

This film was very beautiful, i definitely think it's underrated.
Even though there are flaws in this film (in a logical sense some of the things didn't make sense) but it was overlooked by how intriguing the story line is.
I sat at the end of my seat waiting to see what the outcome would be.

If you're looking for a super read more romantic man, Soo hyun (Past) is your man, he is just so freaking adorable and he is aesthetically pleasing to the eye you'll be waiting for his scenes to come up. Soo hyun (future) is a romantic man too, but in a different way, you'll understand when you watch it! ~

This film is very suspenseful (well it was to me), i definitely think you will not get bored!
(and if you do, well, sorry ;;)

If you enjoy time travel, romance and (in a way) mystery I recommend this film to you!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shadows in the Palace
1 people found this review helpful
by mali
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I mistakenly watched this movie, thinking it was more historical relating to the lives of palace maids. I did not fully read the story summary, and I normally wouldn't choose to watch a thriller/horror type movie.
But I am glad I did. If this is your genre, this maybe one to add to your list. It packed punch. Although halfway through I started cringing at some scenes and realized omg this was read more a horror movie. I didn't drop it. This movie was well made and had such an eerie, creepy feel to it that I couldn't stop watching it. The acting was on point and some familiar faces that I normally don't see doing a thriller like this so that was a plus for me. So if you want a 2 hr Korean historical thriller. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unforgettable
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Hmmm all I can say is it's overhyped. I don't want to be that guy but I will. It's not really as sad as people make it out to be I think it's more of a regretful situation than a sad one. The reason I don't really find it sad is because the events that happen didn't need to be and felt rushed to me. The music was really good that's one read more thing that was really good in this movie. The music is the only thing that made it sad at all for me (the end). And it was more of a one sided love than a real romance if you ask me. The acting was great all around the friendship was really well done. I'm bad at reviews and I'm trying not to spoil anything so sorry if you think I did. But you could kinda tell what happens just from the synopsis.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rashomon
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
One classic!
Kurosawa is considered by many a genius. One can say that "Rashomon" introduced Kurosawa and the Japanese cinema to the audiences of the West, being this film considered one of its masterpieces.
The film has an unconventional narrative structure that suggests the impossibility of getting the truth about an event when there are conflicting points of view.
An intriguing story of a crime to be told from different points of read more view, including that of the victim, the suspect, and a witness ...
Curiously enough, "Rashomon" has become a proverb for any situation in which the truthfulness of an event is difficult to verify due to conflicting judgments of different witnesses. In psychology, the film lent its name to the so-called "Rashomon Effect".
Like all classic movies, it transcends place and time. Pretty much mandatory to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Death note has been considered as one of the best live action adaption ever, it has that legendary status that following its story is not a simple feat. It has been 10 years since the last one so the hype for it was unreal that in my opinion didn't help the movie.

The way death note ended gives lot of questions to us viewers just what happen to the world after? Given read more that death note still exist. This film tries to answer that question as 6 death notes spread around the world; it also clarifies some rules and expands it more which only makes it more interesting for possible sequels in the future. Also, the film did a nice job of portraying the post death note world as how we imagine it, death note used as a tool for terrorism and the idea of death note as the key for world order. Although even with interesting setting, fans of death note would be a bit disappointed here as it lacks the brain power of the original, nothing new as plot twist and tricks were all familiar, the execution was right but sometimes innovation is needed.

Although the movie's substance is a bit of a disappointment what it excels at is its stunning visuals it's so good, it's directed by Shinsuke Sato in the first place, the guy who directed Gantz and I am hero so you know what to expect if you watched those, the camera shots were awesome and the films atmosphere too, and also THE CGI WAS TOP NOTCHED RYUK here is miles better than the original.

Imagining death note without Light and L would be hard but at least their presence was felt from video recordings of them throughout the movie which IMO was a brilliant idea. As for the rivalry, it is now played by Ryuzaki and Shien which was subpar compared to the original but please do yourself a favor "DO NO WATCH THIS FILM WITHOUT WATCHING THE 3 PART MINI SERIES" this will make you connect with them and understand their motivation better. The acting from 3 main actors was excellent even higashide which at first I thought would be subpar compared to ikematsu and suda.


Got the same feeling from watching Crows Explode, just replicates the awesomeness of the original but offers nothing new. Felt a bit of cash grab. Felt a bit disappointed especially that actors played their characters well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Too Young To Die!
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Saw this 3 times at various festivals, and it just gets better and better with each viewing. Adore this film!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I will keep it brief.

I HATE sad endings. Hate them. If I catch a whiff of an unhappy or uncertain ending, I drop a drama or movie like a hot potato.

With this one, I didn't even care. No, it's not a "happy ending," but it's not totally depressing, either.

This is the best zombie movie I've ever seen, and I watch a lot of Walking Dead and have loved World read more War Z for a long time. This tops it.

Watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pandora
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The Korean movie industry has been producing good movies all year round and Pandora is not an exception. Quality-wise you can't criticize this movie. They didn't hold back from showing what radiation can do to the human body and the desperation with which people try to escape this fate in a nuclear disaster. Thanks to the actors and actresses, that I am sadly not familiar with, the movie came to life and read more was believable.

However, even though I am not an expert on nuclear power plants, I couldn't help but be sceptical in some scenes. For example if the radiation is that high and the people were clearly on site where the power plant is, then shouldn't they immediately die from the exposure? In these scenes they could have pushed the image of "horror" involving this disaster more. What irresponsible people worked there when they just ignore leakage and other important stuff? It kinda seemed unrealistic to me that they handled the issue of a power plant exploding this lightly.

On another note, I liked how they focused on the different point of views from governmental authorities and residents to workers and Jaehyeok instead of solely settling on a heroic position and telling a story through just one perspective. Even though "Pandora" didn't keep me on my toes for approximately the first half of the movie or more (due to slow progress) they managed to get me afterwards as slowly everything went downhill. I know they intentionally wanted to make the viewers emotional with sacrificing someone but I gladly accepted this emotional rollercoaster at the end since the acting convinced me that much.

Last but not least can! I! get! an! amen! Their critical approach towards Korea's current political situation and the usage of power plants definitely receives some plus points. When directors use their platform right to bring a message across to the audience it's always admirable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seven Days: Friday - Sunday
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I wrote a review/comparison of the live action and the manga on my blog
I do go more into detail there: http://wp.me/p87mzW-5Z6

Story (10/10)
I really enjoyed the premise of dating for seven days and finding out if you do or don't like the person you're with. Personally, I do think 7 days is enough to know if you do or don't want to continue a relationship, especially if you're hanging out read more so often, which is how Yuzuru and Seryou were. I loved their interaction. This is the second half of Seven Days and it gives enough information at the beginning to refresh our memories if we didn't watch this in one sitting.

Casting (10/10)
I originally read the manga first and casting is one of those big issues I have when stuff gets live action adaptations. I honestly didn't have an issue here as the actors fit Yuzuru's pretty features and Seryou's handsome/playboy look

Acting (5/10)
I decided to drop the acting score on this one because Fri -> Sun is the more emotional part of the movie. It's where the characters will break up at the end of the week and where they need to decide how they feel about the other. I don't feel we had the right emotions all the time plus the whole issue with little expressions I mentioned in my review for Mon -> Thu

Music (7/5)
I have no complaints but nothing stood out either

Rewatch Value (8/10)
I do think I could rewatch this, however, not immediately. It is short enough where it doesn't feel like you're stuck to a TV for too long and it ends at a place where watching this in 2 sittings isn't awkward

Overall (8.5/10)
I'm a huge fan of this story and the manga, and to see it faithfully following the manga really made my day! I do seriously think the acting could have been better and it does give off the feeling of being low budget, but still I recommend checking it out. Especially if you like Boy's Love
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I wrote a review/comparison of the live action and the manga on my blog
I do go more into detail there: http://wp.me/p87mzW-5Z6

Story (10/10)
I really enjoyed the premise of dating for seven days and finding out if you do or don't like the person you're with. Personally, I do think 7 days is enough to know if you do or don't want to continue a relationship, especially if you're hanging out read more so often, which is how Yuzuru and Seryou were. I loved their interaction

Casting (10/10)
I originally read the manga first and casting is one of those big issues I have when stuff gets live action adaptations. I honestly didn't have an issue here as the actors fit Yuzuru's pretty features and Seryou's handsome/playboy look

Acting (6/10)
I did have some issues with the acting. One of Yuzuru's biggest features, aside from having a pretty face, is his expressiveness. I didn't feel Yamada James Takeshi captured that in his acting. In fact, his expressions didn't really vary to me. Hirose Tomoki did a better job, only because he had more unique expressions (the smirk, the swagger), but I also think he could have done better. Unlike other dramas I watched, the acting here was more realistic and more in line with what you would see an everyday person doing

Music (7/5)
I have no complaints but nothing stood out either

Rewatch Value (8/10)
I do think I could rewatch this, however, not immediately. It is short enough where it doesn't feel like you're stuck to a TV for too long and it ends at a place where watching this in 2 sittings isn't awkward

Overall (8.5/10)
I'm a huge fan of this story and the manga, and to see it faithfully following the manga really made my day! I do seriously think the acting could have been better and it does give off the feeling of being low budget, but still I recommend checking it out. Especially if you like Boy's Love
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Great Wall
1 people found this review helpful
by QAS
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is Zhang Yimou's epic fantasy movie, and he pulled off an incredible feat of the imagination. I describe it as fantasy versus historical, because the monsters did not exist in historical times. The CGI was amazing, and took me back to the advent of Lord of the Rings. The movie was fast-paced, and the two hours zipped by quickly.

I looked forward to this movie because of Andy Lau and Lu read more Han.

Matt Damon, who had suprised me as Jason Bourne many years ago, stepped up the plate in his first Chinese movie. His only flaw was the accent. He spoke with an American accent, that did not exist before 1776. His character was an European mercenary in China during the Song dynasty.

Jing Tian was credible as Commander Lin Mae.

I was very impressed that the scriptwriter entrusted a lot of English dialog to Andy Lau, who showed his competency in the second language. Andy deserved third billing.

Lu Han did a very good job as the apprentice soldier, whose work experience was in the kitchen.

The monsters looked like relatives of the alien species in the Alien movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Battle Royale
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Hands down one of my favorite Japanese movies which inspired one of the greatest movie franchises of all time - The Hunger Games.

Of course, this movie was more brutal, not lacking the bloodbath scenes, a very common Japanese style horror/thriller movie. It was also very emotional, harsh and even a bit ridiculous sometimes (talking about the plot here) but in the end, it all falls in place. A classic indeed, always read more worth a re-watch with a group of friends or alone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Second Sight
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
It was ok but in a weird sorta way especially at the end...Crazy.....I love Pong but this movie was not for him.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Like For Likes
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I just loved it. So. Much.

I came across the trailer by chance on youtube and oh man, thanks to the algorithm who does the recommandations.

This movie has Love Actually vibes and as someone who absolutely loved and watch this movie almost every Christmas, I was curious to see this movie.
And it's awesome.
You'll find that it's predictable. But who cares, it's a feel good movie, with happy endings, and read more the ride is so nice and fluffy that you won't even mind. You'll just sit comfortably in your pyjamas, sip your tea while just enjoying a very nice and happy movie.
At least, it made me happy. It made me feel good. I smiled so much, and laughed, and even cried at the happy endings.
I just loved it (loved so much. I know i repeat myself. But i loved it. Did i say how much i loved it?).

The acting is great. It isn't over-acted (which is a nice change, compared to the dramas). Every actor pulled off their role perfectly.

The ost. Oh man. So in tune with the movie. The ambiance was absolutely gorgeous, from the music to the setting, to the colours, everything.

To be honest, I just finished it and I already want to rewatch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Rise of a Tomboy
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Even though the plot is pretty predictable it was defiantly an interesting story to follow.

Acting wise I think the cast did very well and showed their characters very well. Personal I didn't care to much for how much the female character ran over people to get what she wanted but it did show her personality well. I also didn't like that the male lead had pretty much almost little to almost read more nothing of a personality. It wasn't define and all I got from it was that he was a guy who pretty much got walked on his whole life. He gets hit like....a lot. Another thing I didn't like was how much she abused him physically. Even though through all of that, with how extreme her personality was from his I could see why they work out very well as a couple, because otherwise...... .__.

Music wasn't to special. It wasn't bad but nothing to really write about. Though I will say I did like the song he sang.

I honestly could not re-watch this movie. This couple was new to me and even though I enjoyed it somewhat the first time. I would have to yank my hair out to struggle to watch it a second time.

Overall it was something new that was very much predictable with characters that was almost unbelievable in their personality's. I would say its a good 7.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No