Completed
Shoplifters
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
Completed 1
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.5
I went to watch this movie with high expectations as it is the Palme d'Or winner at Cannes and I wasn't disappointed, but I definitely expected something more.
The important think to know is that this is not a movie for everyone. It is slow paced, especially in the first half and I would definitely call the film raw. For me what Koreeda wanted to achieve was to tackle very important social issues, that foreigners and especially Japanese tend to hide in a corner knowing that they exist and at the same time smiling like nothing is wrong.
The acting was fantastic and if someone forced me to see the movie without knowing anything about it, I would probably say that it was a Koreeda film, not his best -from the ones I have watched- but certainly a good one.

This kind of movies are so realistic and at the same time unbelievable. Knowing that this kind of things are an issue not only in Japan, but I would dare say everywhere is heart-wrenching.

All in all this is not a movie someone should watch to just to pass their time. The film needs your attention and your understanding.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
L Storm
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
This film is clearly made to create and reflect an ideal image of cooperation between the ICAC and the Hong Kong police that did not work very well and the Chinese Anti-Corruption Bureau. And we can see that the logo of the Mafia Bank is similar to that of the Public Bank Berhad, suspected of having a certain connection with the mafias in reality. There is nothing negative without a point in the whole structure of the story that was simply poorly crafted for a totally tedious movie from beginning to end, not worth wasting time.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Train of the Dead
1 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
This takes the cake of being the worst movie I have ever watched. As evidence of this being terrible, I fell asleep four times while watching and it took me around three days to complete. The story is about these group of people, who are criminals, that board this train with a hostage. Originally, they were fleeing from the police in a truck. That truck crashed into this shop where this teen was. The people take the teen as a hostage and board a train in the trainyard. Anyways, the leader of the criminals has a plan to rob the train but never accomplishes his goal. If you wish to know, I'll spare you from watching the movie; every character is dead and is a spirit. The train is a spirit train that carries those aboard to Heaven or Hell. The criminals who drove the truck crashed and all of them died. The teen was wavering between death and being alive. The ending was unclear to me but from what I can gather, the teen ultimately died. Overall, the story was inadequate, the writing was atrocious, the characters were forgettable and the CGI was a knee-slapper. The genre of Train of the Dead is horror and nothing about this movie was scary at all. To be brutally honest, this should have been a comedy since everything about Train of the Dead was a joke. I watched this movie on Youtube and I was shocked to see comments saying that this movie was scary. What aspect of the movie was scary? Was it the atrocious writing? Was it the knee-slapping CGI? If you're scared over a movie like this, that's a serious problem. I know I should give this movie some slack and not be as critical since it was released in 2007 but that's no excuse; there are many legendary movies that were released in 2007 that had way better quality, scripts, CGI, etc. If you wish to watch this movie, be prepared to waste an hour and thirty minutes of your life that you'll never get back.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Honey
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Based on the popular Japanese manga "Honey", it's the kind of romantic comedy we've often seen about the sweet heart of school with a shy girl who finds trouble but a cute little boy. The Japanese public enjoys these clichéd stories and is exactly the kind of expectation of the expected type of film. The film is still fun, since the duo in question (played by Yuna Taira and Sho Hirano) is well suited and the sweet novel is easy to twist. Overall, "Honey" is not a special movie, nor does it have a "special" moment that makes it even more special. It's forgettable and probably worth watching just for fans of the manga series. To see how the pair go through trial and obstacles may be interesting, but ultimately director Koji Shintoku collapses to clichés and in reality, nothing of significance really happens.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Laplace's Witch
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.5
This review may contain spoilers
Before I begin let me tell you, the poster, trailer and the name are all pretty misleading in this movie. If you went in, like me, expecting an action movie with supernatural powers you will be disappointed.

Actually I have no clue about the director cuz many have said they were expecting more from him but for me the movie captivated me. The whole story is based on a single physics theory by Pierre Simone Laplace. I personally thought it was genius to base the story on that theory. Taking a physical theory that is not that much known to the public unless you are in that field and basing a whole story on it, in my taste is pretty impressive.

As you would expect the acting was top notch. Yes some might say and I agree the plot could have been slightly better but like I mentioned previously it completely captivated me. The cinematography and the whole feel of the movie was like-able. But for me the best part of the story would be its music score. It gave a heavy animesque feeling and I loved every time the BGM would start. One of the main reasons I am giving this movie a 8.5 is the music. Every time the music came on I almost felt I was watching an episode of Fate/Stay Night or Tsubasa rather than a movie itself.

One of the cons are that none of the characters hold you. They are not memorable characters that would stay with you. That was one of the things that could have been improved in the story/plot. One might argue that if the characters do not grab your attention that means the story itself is bad but I disagree. This movie is a perfect example on how the plot and the characters are different to each other.

Finally this may not be everyone's cup of tea but if you're more in to scientific movies I would say this is a nicely executed movie. Like one other reviewer mentioned, there are lots of sitting down and talking and making paper airplanes than actually fighting in here but surprisingly it can be of interest to few too.

PS- Another Pro is you see the beautiful Fukushi Sota's face :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Playboy and the Gang of Cherry
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 2.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 1.5
Rewatch Value 1.5
This review may contain spoilers
First of all what the heck, I mean I'm so confused I have no idea what I just watched. The only reason I don't regret watching it was cause baby gun was in it. Even though I don't know why but every two seconds he would spit at the ground like wtf. The story line is so confusing did gun die did the cherry die, like what the heckkk. I seriously have no Idea what I just watched. It makes zero sense. Its such a let down as well cause they made us wait almost 2 years before they released it just to give us this confusing ass movie. The cast is pretty amazing don't get me wrong, I'm shocked that these talented actors even agreed to be in this mess of a movie. The sound track is the exact same as the last movie its quite boring but not the worse. I'm personally not going to be rewatching this anytime soon, its such a mess I'm sorry. Just for how long I waited for this movie for it to be this bad, its disappointing.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
My Bromance
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
Oh man, this movie hits you right in the feels! Such a sweet, touching story filled with moments that make you swoon and moments that make you cry. Our two Flukes performed really well in their roles. Their chemistry was so good! And their romantic moments made me melt. Although there were a few moments where the dialogue felt a bit stilted and awkward, where these two really shined for me was their adept ability to portray a variety of emotions. I yearned when they yearned, smiled when they smiled, and hurt when they hurt, and easily connected with both of them from the very start because of this. The story itself was engaging beautiful. Perhaps my only critique was that at times the pacing seemed a bit fast, and I felt like we had to just assume things without getting the benefit of more thorough plot and character development. That said, it's not a huge issue given that this is a movie limited by time constraints. The ending is definitely not HEA, but I wasn't terribly upset by it since I knew about the special episode and forthcoming sequel. Overall, beautiful but emotional film that I'd recommend checking out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Secrets in the Hot Spring
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
English:

I found this on Netflix and decided to watch it since I am quite fond of horror/comedy fusions, one of my favorite movies is "Chilling Romance" after all. Sadly, it wasn't what I was hoping for and I am disappointed even though I told myself not to expect anything from it.

This was basically just a silly movie, with silly acting, and not really horror (unless you are a lightweight). If you are into this kind of genre or you just want some light "horror", you will probably enjoy it, but for me the cliched horror/comedy elements in this type of fused movie fell flat. I had hoped they would make more of the theme than what they did. If I am honest, it boring since even the humor in it didn't even as much tickle my humor much less made me laugh. Although, the story did have potential they didn't know how to make it work.

Español:

Encontré esta película en Netflix. Decidí verla ya que me gusta mucho este tipo de películas con los géneros de horror y comedia mezclados, una de mis películas favoritas es "Romance escalofriante". Lamentablemente, no era lo que esperaba y estoy un poco decepcionada a pesar de que me dije que no esperara mucho de ella.

Es básicamente un pelicula tonta, con actuación tonta. Tampoco es horror en realidad a menos que seas un peso liviano y te asustes hasta de tu sombra. Si este tipo de película es de de tu agradado o simplemente quieres algo con "horror" liviano, probablemente te guste, pero para mí no supieron hacer uso de los elementos de los géneros y me pareció bastante sosa y aburrida. La historia tenía potencial, pero en realidad no supieron como ejecutarla.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Cry Me a Sad River
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
Good theme and normal actors, will be great as wobushi Yaoshen if you have a good director. About the things described in this movie, you would never know until things happened on yourself, jumping more people to see you, then more attention, especially in China, and I also want to see more movies like this. It's good for China, actually. This would have been a great movie if it had not been so rushed and the execution was not so progressive. Some scenes were presented as flashes of images spit on you out of nowhere and they were really events that happened and you should have figured it out. In other words, you should pay close attention, use your imagination and do not mind the open end to like this movie. The performances were good and the scenery and scenery were very well filmed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Werewolf Game: Lovers
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
After watching couples of the movie's prequels, i would say that this movie is a lot more logical made.
Though it's quite slow in my opinion, it's still worth a watch if you like Suspense Drama.
The movie continues those previous movies with additional rules, which make the story more unpredictable and complicated. That's one of the good point of this movie, having more roles make the movies more interesting.

Good points: New roles, unexpected ending, better story, better scenes than previous prequels. Acting is decent enough.
Minus points: Music is somewhat terrible, and story being told quite slow. It could have been done a lot better than this.
However, i'm a huge fan of good story rather than music, i would rate this an 8.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Little Forest
0 people found this review helpful
by Mona
7 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This movie is a total hit for those who love to appreciate beautiful filmography and aesthetics of an indie film. Although the plot was a simple country girl struggling in the city and coming back to her roots, the movie did not feel dragged out. The movie captivates and takes you along with her through an entire year of self discovery. The characters are simple but can relate to different types of audiences.
There's a that friend who quit a job because they cannot seek happiness from it, that friend who hates their job but is reluctant to risk stability, and that friend who is still struggling for qualifications.
The highlight of the movie are the aesthetically presented cooking scenes where the main character is seen peacefully engulfed in creating, despite the haunting memories of her mother. For a movie which has perfectly fulfilled the requirements of its genre, I'm surprised this does not have ratings of over 9.5 stars.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
New York New York
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 3.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This movie rests on the on-again-off-again relationship between the leads and I couldn’t care at all about the female lead character. She basically has a bored expression for 90 percent of the movie which, while in character, makes her really boring. I don’t understand why we need to follow her journey or why these men want her. Ugh! I like my characters to earn empathy from the audience and she really did nothing for me.

The other characters are fine, but this is a sober story and it’s not enough to compensate for a snoozy female lead.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Playboy and the Gang of Cherry
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 2.5
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 1.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers
I don't recommend this AT ALL.

While it may be an erotic movie (which is really obvious), the 'plot' they tried to put in was really bad, and didn't work at all. Honestly, I spend 2 hours watching this movie, and I still have no idea what was actually going on, besides some people almost being murdered and constant sex between multiple of the characters. Fighting one second, but having sex only a minute after that, was a really weird transition and I couldn't get a hold of whatever was going on.

I don't want to waste anymore of my time on writing this, since it really was that bad.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
The Werewolf Game: The Villagers Side
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Completed 3
Overall 6.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Though the story is great, there are some minus points in acting, some unnecessary scenes and unclear scenes that are there for nothing.
The characteristic and the story behind of movie characters are not well transmitted. There are some scenes showing that some of the characters do have relationship between them, but that story is kind of hidden to the viewers, making some scenes illogical.
The movie developments are super slow. The good point is that it has some kinds of connection to the next sequel.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Inuyashiki
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
Visually, in the first half of the film there was not much use of artificial visual effects. Only in certain scenes does a character turn into a cyborg. Honestly, visual achievement is like the visual effects of Hollywood productions. It is precisely in conflict between the two figures that there are many visual effects that seem artificial, but it seems that almost all the live action adaptations of Japanese production are really weak in this regard. Overall, this movie has an interesting story concept, but the packaging is still lacking, especially in terms of stories, techniques, especially visual effects.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?