Completed
King of the Orangutans
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 5.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
"King Kong" meets "Tarzan" and meets David Hamilton, knows Asiakitsch! I can do without it. I did not put up with this movie until the end and I will not give a second chance, the story is horrible, what should change in the second great look already? Yes the transitions are grotesque, of course, I expected an unpleasant horror, but even if I approached now more realistically, turned to a trashy love story of the kitsch Tarzan with a giant monkey in the luggage, I would not like that kind of shit of any way.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Shoplifters
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
'Shoplifters' is not a loud, over the top, or pretentious film. There are no absolutes, right or wrong, cruel or kind. The actors don't yell, brawl or pull odd or dramatic facial expressions. There are no intense and pulse-pounding fights, chases, or confrontations. However, this film hits hard, with purity, sincerity, and unabashed truth. The film's sheer realism, shown in moments of cruelty and intimacy, speaks volumes about those who've been marginalised within society, and struggle to make it through each day, far more so than any melodrama or sob story. And this is because we are able to see the characters as fellow people, fellow family members, thanks to the spectacular performances delivered by the entire cast. When the mother and daughter take a bath together, when the father and son gleefully chase each other around, the only word and feeling that comes to mind is love. Even in moments of silence, where they just sit and stare, feelings such as sorrow and hopelessness resound intensely. Love, transcending social and familial norms, is what this movie is about.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Method
0 people found this review helpful
by J100
12 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers
Story 10/10
I think it' talking about dealing with getting out of the closet/be honest with yourself/ be truthful to your identity

There are 2 characters in life (the movie presented) :
1. The open one who is very sensitive, young love, doesn't efraid about what otheres think, can risk everything he have in the sake of love, go all the way until he even can kill himself.
(theat is why he go on the role like it's real, he hang himself almost kill himself for the role)

2. on the other hand, there is growen up old person who have an history, conservative life, he been through a lot in his life and has his pain. he depress all his feeling and emotions and settel down on something just to show the world he is "normal" that no one could ask him: are you gay? ! or destroy his acting creer( in this matter)
(Thats why Walter can never do the interview and come back to his wife even if he doesn't love her)

so this is the full conflict:
The old person = called walter , will be until the end the coward who stay in the closet.
the young person will stretch the limit , sometimes it could be very fightening and sycho but this what makes love what it is.

It's a genius movie and like a lot of SK films that are brilliant in so many levels

The finger on the floor present this : he will never be on the other side.he will ever stay broken
"Walter" come back to his wife , he will stay walter forever,

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Love So Divine
0 people found this review helpful
by RPS
12 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
I'm not someone who likes your regular cheesy and fluffy romance movies. This drama gives you a handsome, religious guy who wants to become a priest and he falls in love with a sassy non-religious girl (your average troublemaker). This makes for some funny scenes and an overall comedy. The movie is very light on the heart and definitely a recommendation if you're feeling down.

why I didn't rate it a 10:
*small spoiler alert*


they didn't kiss at the end, I found that necessary.

and

The girl was a bit dense at one point, which had me frustrated

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Rainbow Days
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I thought this movie was going to all about romance and how it sometimes breaks friendships but I was pleasantly surprised. Rainbow Days has a cute romance don't get me wrong but my favorite part was the friendship that the four male leads shared. They were youthful and made me want to have friendships just like them. The main romance was cute but the other characters stories also kept me interested.
Acting- The acting was good and I really enjoyed everyone's performance especially the second female lead.
Plot- It was a little generic but the friendship really shined through.
Overall I would recommend this to anyone who wants to watch a fun light-hearted movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tomorrow I Will Date With Yesterday’s You
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This review may contain spoilers
The movie cleverly utilised the concept of time to bring something quite unique if I should say but in the end there were some plot holes especially regarding the time concept n also a few other flaws hence tho i enjoyed it i clearly can't rate it as a masterpiece.

STORY 8/10 : Here, the TAKATOSHI is saved by EMI when he is 5 n also EMI is saved by TAKATOSHI when she 5. It might seem confusing but according to the plot EMI'S time travels backwards. According to the plot this enables them to connect with each other every 5 years for 30 days. Clearly if fails to explain the whole origin which I feel is a serious plot hole. Without them saving each other this connection would have never happened n at the same time it is this connection that enabled them to save each other n hence its contradictory.

ACTING/CAST 8.5/10 : Tho I feel some of the emotions of the drama could have been better expressed. However, I felt that both the EMI n TAKATOSHI were well acted. Also some supporting role could have been better but considering the screen time I felt it was acceptable.

MUSIC 7/10: Music was somewhat lacking in many scenes which could have been better portrayed with appropriate music but its wasn't bad either so a gracious 7. N BTW loved the ED the lyrics were well thought.

REWATCH VALUE 7/10: I believe this is a fairly high rewatch value coming from me. I actually enjoyed the overall movie n hence i might consider rewatching it sometime near in the future.

OVERALL 8/10: The movie was pretty decent even the movie effects were fairly good n I enjoyed it despite its flaws. Throughout the series there were some tear jerking scenes but it wasnt enough for me to cry. But hey its a review of my own opinion so I mean no offence to those who actually cried or actually thought it was a lmasterpiece.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Over Drive
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is simply a really heartwarming story about personal growth and the bond between two brothers.
I have to say, I loved the cast in this. I think they all complemented each other. I'm particularly biased towards Higashide Masahiro I think he's a great actor), Aoi Morikawa tends to be type cast a lot but she always manages to play her role well and she was very lovable in this (she has come across as annoying when playing these kinds of characters so I was pleased. Mackenyu is good at playing these kinds of characters and I think he has a lot of potential for growth as well! Even the supporting cast were great.
It's also a very visually pleasing film with lots of pretty scenery shots at times and just a nice color palette in general
The music was kind of noisy to me but that didn't affect my viewing process or what I thought about the movie.
I think overall, if you don't go into the movie expecting something specific, you will really enjoy this because while it's definitely not the best movie ever made it's still a pretty enjoyable one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Udagawachou de Matteteyo
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Story - A guy figures out his classmate crossdreses and follows him from that point.. many could call this harassment. I did not look upon him negatively because of this, but even if I saw him as having no fault.. there's not much of a plot AT ALL, so I do not understand why people like this.

Cast/Acting/Characters - I have no problem with either actor. They suited their parts fine and acted out the roles well. It's just that the way I'd describe their "love" for eachother is infatuated, fast-paced, and sexual. There is no real development in feelings.. I guess this is fan service which I AM NOT a fan of if it has no STORY.

Music - ??? I never remember music.

Rewatch Value - Never.

Extra - I assume people like this because it involves crossdressing? But I honestly don't care what clothes you wear.. so I have 0 bias towards this or against this. Therefore I think my judgement based on this drama is very rational. I love BL, but I don't like BL without a story or feelings because then it's just meaningless fanservice. Two boys just pressing their bodies onto eachother is not my definition of cute (we need something extra), so sorry.. next!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Say "I Love You"
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
If anything, I'd call this adaptation "soft." The romance between Yamato and Mei was sweet and genuine, and it was nice to see how they grew to understand each other more as the movie went on. The romances that went on between the supporting characters were lovely to watch as well.

Say "I Love You" is more than just a romance, though. It also deals with bullying and friendship, which was also wonderfully done. The issues presented weren't too in-your-face, but you can definitely feel the progression.

If you're looking for a sweet high school romance that won't give you a rollercoaster ride of emotions, try this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Over Drive
2 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a brotherly love type of story so don't expect any romance in this movie. Not to give much of the story away, let's just say something happen or someone involved that resulted to their conflict, I would say it's very cliché, but not in a bad way. Naozumi Hiyama (Mackenyu Arata), the younger brother, handles it with anger which is obvious with the way he drives, aggressive, reckless and dauntless. On the other hand Atsuhiro Hiyama (Masahiro Higashide), the older brother and also the chief mechanic, runs away and brushed it off as if it didn't happen, he just dedicate his time and works tirelessly with his team.

Some may compare this movie to fast and the furious but it is closer to a Ron Howard movie Rush. The pacing is similar to that movie where the story develops after each leg and while Rush is about rivals it's also somewhat similar to brotherly love.

Though with its heartful theme, the highlight of the movie are still the race scenes. I would say those racing sequences are executed really well, the camera shots are nice, the car zoom, skid, aerial shots and adrenaline pumping car crashes are brilliant. Though the visuals are very pleasing, there still some unrealistic events in this movie, like after a massive car crash you would see one character shirtless without any blood or bruises, but who gives a damn right as long as the movie is enjoyable and thrilling I am fine with that.

The acting in this movie is very impressive especially Higashide, never thought he could act this way. He is very expressive and you could feel his intensity as he shouts while giving instruction to his team. Mackenyu as the angsty younger brother did a good job too, I've seen him in Fugitive Boys, Todome no kiss and JoJo Live action so I already knew he was capable to play this type of character, I love his versatility as well.

I enjoyed watching this movie; time flew fast without realizing it's about to end. I wouldn't say it's the best racing movie though but compared to mainstream Hollywood movies such as fast and the furious I enjoy this better. Lastly if you are a girl this movie would be a heaven for you, lots of Ikemen from leads to supporting leads and would you ignore a shirtless Mackenyu? As a guy seeing that body inspires me to work out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Night Flight
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I don't usually write reviews. I just read some of the people's reviews. But after watching this on the second time I personally made one just to express my feeling toward this movie.

The movie was PERFECT. (Considering that I already watched almost all BL of different countries) this was a new taste. The plot was lit. Soundtrack was also good. After watching this you would come to realize that actions really speaks louder than words. You can tell based on thier movements that they really love each other but they are scared enough to express it to avoid being judged by people. The kind of story kinda looks like Brokeback mountain wherein they don't vocally express each other's feelings, you can see thier love through caring on each other which is a way better kind of love.

P.S : I've seen a lot of tragic/sad ending and this one is not even a sad one but I literally cried for like 3 hours straight after rewatching this movie and realizing many things.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
High School Debut
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 4.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I absolutely adore concepts like this one, with the guy-who-helps-the-girl-become-popular trope. Unfortunately, High School Debut didn't bring anything new or exciting to the trope. It was incredibly typical, and it was so hard to get attached to the characters. The actors were great, but it was so hard for me to connect to any of them.

The humor factor was definitely overdone as well. I found myself cringing at all the crazy costumes and weird antics. I know this is normal with Japanese shows, and I've enjoyed similar bits in Lovely Complex, but there was just something about High School Debut that lacked any real impact.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
One Smile is Very Alluring
0 people found this review helpful
14 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
'Love O2O' is one of the most popular Chinese dramas and as everyone else says it, it's a great drama. But the movie version, honestly, impressed me more. The cast of the movie version is greater and their chemistry was more amazing. And so was the action scenes and the graphics. The production is very fine and the movie really wowed me.

So, basically, if you've watched the drama, you should give the movie a try since this version is not a fail at all. If you haven't watched the drama version, I believe watching the drama version before this is a better choice.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
To Each His Own
1 people found this review helpful
by Iuly
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Brilliant movie.Eye-opening and truly inspirational.It catches your attention from the first five minutes and it closes with a wonderful and unexpected ending.
The characters are loveable and you can really feel their emotions.I know for me,it hit too close to home.
I liked the actors too,I think they did a pretty good job.
I'm glad that movie directors and writers decided to write something about a very sad but important problem that affects japan so much,which is karoshi(death by overwork).We need more movies like this.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Miss Baek
0 people found this review helpful
15 days ago
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
The South Korean film "Miss Baek" is a sad tale of a woman who simply wants to help a little girl who is not so different from who she once was. While it is often uncomfortable to watch because of several dark and terrible moments associated with domestic abuse, the film works primarily as a tough but honest drama, and we care much about two desperate characters at the center of the story. An open but always open and empathic look at a hidden social problem, Miss Baek is a promising and important Lee Ji-won who refuses to look away from the dark and inedible, but finds hope in the power of simple human kindness against cruelty and indifference.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions